View Full Version : Robbie Keane

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 [103] 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154

Crosby87
07/11/2011, 11:39 PM
You ever fly charter though Noely? Different experience. Way easier.

Noelys Guitar
07/11/2011, 11:56 PM
Can't say I have Crosby.

08/11/2011, 12:49 AM
Yeah, plus he's a professional athlete who's used to flying all over the place a couple of times a week. He'll have his body clock sorted and get his sleep at the right times.

boovidge
08/11/2011, 1:13 AM
Wow, Beckham can still whip a great cross in! Anyway, great to see that Keane's in a bit of form in America. We won't be up against a world class defence against Estonia with all respect to them so it's more important he's sharp and confident, even if the MLS isn't of the highest standard.

EastTerracer
08/11/2011, 2:12 AM
Robbie's post-match interview..... he has his priorities right anyway as he's already thinking about the game on Friday

DzX0wHB4QWs

EastTerracer
08/11/2011, 2:16 AM

No private jets for our Robbie (a charter flight has a different meaning in Ireland, Crosby) - this is the FAI we're talking about so he was on a scheduled flight this morning - probably connecting in Chicago or London. He will be up the front of the plane though so I think he'll be fine by Friday.

08/11/2011, 8:10 AM
Charter to me means "private hire" essentially with a private commercial pilot(cpl) flying ET. I'm sure most see it as the same.

It doesn't matter whether there is 1 person or 80 people on the flight.

Junior
08/11/2011, 10:14 AM
Charter to me, means plane full of chavs, fcuk all leg room and paying for your meal, drink, use of toilet etc... oh and heading to Benidorm.

the bear
08/11/2011, 10:16 AM
Robbie's post-match interview..... he has his priorities right anyway as he's already thinking about the game on Friday

DzX0wHB4QWs

if she kept smiling and nodding at me like that while i was answering her questions i would turn around and walk away from her

hunt4the
08/11/2011, 10:20 AM
ive a feelin robbie will do the business for us in these 2 games,
gettin nervous already

08/11/2011, 10:29 AM
if she kept smiling and nodding at me like that while i was answering her questions i would turn around and walk away from herI'd do a lot worse to her.

Sullivinho
08/11/2011, 11:15 AM
if she kept smiling and nodding at me like that while i was answering her questions i would turn around and walk away from her

Standard practice when encountering someone speaking in tongues.

EastTerracer
08/11/2011, 11:42 AM
Charter to me means "private hire" essentially with a private commercial pilot(cpl) flying ET. I'm sure most see it as the same.

It doesn't matter whether there is 1 person or 80 people on the flight.

I think that must have been a relic of your years in America, Paul or maybe it's just an age thing! Junior's definition of charter is the first thing that springs to my mind for me - JWT and Budget Travel charter flights to Spain in pre-Ryanair days (the only thing approaching a cheap flight in those times).

the bear
08/11/2011, 11:44 AM
I'd do a lot worse to her.

Metrostars
08/11/2011, 2:05 PM
With the MLS season almost over (Nov 20), I wouldn't be surprised if Keane gets a loan to a Prem team for a few months like Donovan(Everton) and Beckham(Milan) have done in the past.

08/11/2011, 2:18 PM
With the MLS season almost over (Nov 20), I wouldn't be surprised if Keane gets a loan to a Prem team for a few months like Donovan(Everton) and Beckham(Milan) have done in the past.

think he is already on record saying that he is not interested in a loan deal during MLS off-season.
qualification for the Euros and the need to stay fit could change that though

cclinton
08/11/2011, 8:51 PM
there's really no need for a loan to stay fit. MLS teams get back together in late January and the 2012 season will start around Paddy's Day. Christmas at home in Dublin with a couple of visits to Gibneys, sure life is grand. Ideal ramp up for being sharp in the Summer, I would think.... compared to others who will have been playing non stop since last July.

Murfinator
08/11/2011, 9:20 PM
Break would do him much better with June in mind than continuous gametime.

Hale
08/11/2011, 9:23 PM
We have to beat Estonia first before he can start thinking of June.

dr_peepee
09/11/2011, 8:32 AM
Break would do him much better with June in mind than continuous gametime.

A break from what? It's not as if he's had persistant football for the last couple of seasons to suffer burnout. If we qualify he should seek out a loan move. He's the type of player that needs a run of games.

09/11/2011, 10:34 AM
If we qualify, I recklon a season starting ion March would be ideal I'd have thought. Too many players arrive at summer tournaments burnt out.

Trap made a good point recently. He's been training hard since he was 14. It doesn't take these guys long to get back to peak fitness.

It's a pity the LOI doesn't start until March. A few months on loan at Tallaght Stadium would give the LOI great publicity!

09/11/2011, 11:38 AM
It's a pity the LOI doesn't start until March. A few months on loan at Tallaght Stadium would give the LOI great publicity!Queue the "it was always my boyhood dream to play for" quotes!

Murfinator
09/11/2011, 2:41 PM
A break from what? It's not as if he's had persistant football for the last couple of seasons to suffer burnout. If we qualify he should seek out a loan move. He's the type of player that needs a run of games.

Read what I said again, the break will do him good "In June", not right now. In June. He'll be much fresher after 4 months of gametime than 11 months stretching back to the previous seasons Spurs pre-season.

09/11/2011, 9:18 PM
It's a pity the LOI doesn't start until March. A few months on loan at Tallaght Stadium would give the LOI great publicity!

I suppose playing against the likes of Monaghan, Shels, Bray and Dundalk week in, week out is exactly what Robbie needs building up to the Euro Champs ;P

DannyInvincible
09/11/2011, 10:41 PM
Came across this photo of the lads in training earlier:

http://a4.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/301392_298630153489071_239295259422561_1211823_130 0559815_n.jpg

But just because Robbie's moved to LA doesn't give him licence to wear skinny jeans in training!

09/11/2011, 11:11 PM
Do Umbro make jeans now?

10/11/2011, 8:13 AM
Do Umbro make jeans now?

Wouldn't be surprised. Though they look like trackies to me.

Eh, you should pop into their store on Westmoreland st. when it initially opened it was aimed at the lifestyle fashion market now its firmly a soccer shop.

punkrocket
10/11/2011, 12:41 PM
I wouldn't have thought there was that much money to be made just selling socks.

14/11/2011, 3:35 PM
Ken Early tweeted this: https://twitter.com/#!/kenearlys/statuses/136118675144056832

LA galaxy asked robbie to return. he refused - doesn't want to miss what could be "one of the greatest nights in irish history for myself."

SwanVsDalton
14/11/2011, 3:36 PM
Ridiculous for LA Galaxy to ask.

14/11/2011, 3:36 PM
Ken Early tweeted this: https://twitter.com/#!/kenearlys/statuses/136118675144056832 (https://twitter.com/#%21/kenearlys/statuses/136118675144056832)
LA galaxy asked robbie to return. he refused - doesn't want to miss what could be "one of the greatest nights in irish history for myself."
Holy Sanctimony.

14/11/2011, 5:09 PM
Originally Posted by Robbie Keane

swinfordfc
14/11/2011, 5:25 PM
If he was to get 2 goals tomorrow night ... he becomes the leading goal scorer in euro qualifying matches. Think he one behind at the moment

koneinc
14/11/2011, 5:36 PM
If he was to get 2 goals tomorrow night ... he becomes the leading goal scorer in euro qualifying matches. Think he one behind at the moment

You're right, he just needs one to go level, I hope he gets the two!

irishfan86
15/11/2011, 4:05 AM
Ridiculous for LA Galaxy to ask.

A bit ignorant of them perhaps but it wasn't a demand, just an inquiry I'm sure to feel out the situation.

What does it hurt to make the request? Obviously they're going to try and look after their interests which is trying to win an MLS Cup, and in fairness they've spent a lot of money on Robbie hoping for that success.

That said, glad he's staying with Ireland obviously.

EDIT: Galaxy coach Bruce Arena has said that after talking with Trap he says, "Keane needs to be there for Ireland."

“He’s the captain of the team. They’ve not qualified yet for the European Championship and Robbie will be there.”

“I had asked Mr. Trapattoni if he would give it consideration,” Arena said. “However in reflecting on that, I really believe that he does belong with the Republic of Ireland for this game in that he’s the captain and they haven’t made it [yet]. I wanted him to at least consider limiting his minutes if that was possible.”

“They need to do what they need to do to qualify. If there’s an opportunity for Robbie to get limited minutes, he will. We’re hopeful that happens,” Arena said. “Obviously the Republic of Ireland has to make sure they assure their qualification into the championship next year.”

All perfectly reasonable IMO: http://www.mlssoccer.com/news/article/2011/11/14/las-arena-hoping-keane-sees-limited-minutes-roi

theworm2345
15/11/2011, 4:27 AM
^^It is ridiculous for them to think Robbie would miss out on the Qualifying celebrations for some Mickey Mouse cup but you're right no reason not to ask. Wouldn't be surprised if Arena was actually stupid enough to buy that crap about him staying because we're not qualified.

AlaskaFox
15/11/2011, 9:04 AM
That Mickey Mouse Cup will probably be the biggest thing Robbie has ever won. Well except for the Nations Cup.

The Legend
15/11/2011, 9:20 AM
they paid a lot of money for him to win the mickey mouse cup so made sense for them to ask.. i still think he can play for them on sunday unless he goes on the pis tueday night... that might pis them off alright.

dr_peepee
15/11/2011, 9:37 AM
Sure how would they now if the clowns with the camera phones keep them in their pockets!!

15/11/2011, 10:15 AM
they paid a lot of money for him to win the mickey mouse cup so made sense for them to ask.. i still think he can play for them on sunday unless he goes on the pis tueday night... that might pis them off alright.
Surely that's the whole reason he's staying!

Duggie
15/11/2011, 11:29 AM
he will be grand for sunday id say, not a chance in hell he was going to go back and miss tonights occasion after all his hard work. maybe trap can take him off after we go 2-0 up....

15/11/2011, 2:07 PM
Jesus, even if he does go on the ****, I've never met anyone who had a 5 day hangover. No difference in that and any of the rest of the lads playing in England. Least Robbie can sleep it off on the plane.

15/11/2011, 2:23 PM
That Mickey Mouse Cup will probably be the biggest thing Robbie has ever won. Well except for the Nations Cup.

And the European Championship Cup obviously.

15/11/2011, 2:24 PM
Bruce Arena should know better than to ask Robbie to miss the opportunity for a singsong.

Metrostars
15/11/2011, 2:26 PM
There is no issue here just newspaper talk like the piece in the Independent today. Arena is a former international manager and knows about qualifying/fifa rules etc and even said

“Robbie is the kind of guy that can step off the plane and play,” Arena said. “That’s the way he is. We’re going to certainly give us a couple of easy days and have him ready for Sunday.”
Keane will likely be back in LA by the end of Wednesday, Thursday at the latest. Plenty of time to prepare for the MLS Cup Final on Sunday.

loscherland
15/11/2011, 2:28 PM
Jesus, even if he does go on the ****, I've never met anyone who had a 5 day hangover. No difference in that and any of the rest of the lads playing in England. Least Robbie can sleep it off on the plane.

Eh, I think I've got a 5 day hangover from Tallinn... currently in day 3 of it!... :think:

Seemed like a pretty naive request from Galaxy... while you might understand why they'd like him back two days earlier, they could not honestly have expected him to do it! Robbie's absence in tonights game would have reflected badly on our approach to the game... Robbie himself would be have been sick to miss it... the fans want him there to share in what will hopefully be a brilliant nights celebration... and his presence in Dublin for one more night will probably help swell Coppers' already swollen profit margins for the YTD! :D

theworm2345
15/11/2011, 2:33 PM
As a relative of mine taught me, it would be like the being the world's tallest midget.

20/11/2011, 2:08 PM
Just a reminder for anyone interested that the match is on tonight (Monday morning 2am)
so if you want to see Robbie winning (or losing) his first bit of silverware there are internet streams available
ad it is also on ESPN if you have it.

Irwin3
20/11/2011, 2:31 PM
:p0 (http://img.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2008/03_01/KingKeaneCup_468x506.jpg)0

http://img.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2008/03_01/KingKeaneCup_468x506.jpg

20/11/2011, 2:49 PM
http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-lI0hgc_ZcEo/TeLXdRxCBLI/AAAAAAAABS0/8WCOQ2cROnA/s400/robbie%2Bcarling%2Bnations%2Bcup.jpg
Silverware you say?