View Full Version : Everton and Liverpool discussion

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61

4tothefloor
06/03/2005, 8:29 PM
Agree with most of what you've said there 4, but to start doubting Rafa only has a knock on effect and that mindset can't be allowed to dominate in Liverpool supporters minds. The man IS proven and has to be allowed to stamp his own mark on the club, with a couple of years given to him to achieve this. Yes, we may fall behind in the short term and the cash injection might not come from CL football next season, but Rome wasn't built in a day as they say and more to the point , Man*re's dominance didn't happen over night either. Managers need time to adapt as much as players do to a new country and club. Judging by the adoration(bordering on Palestinian proportions!) on the streets of Cardiff last weekend, this will thankfully be granted.

That's one way of looking at it, and I agree with you that he should be given time. I'm not saying get rid of him, I just have my doubts, that's all. Next season he has it all to prove. I'm looking at it from a different perspective, which is this. We gave Souness far too much time and suffered. We gave Evans too much time, and messed around with an Evans-Houllier partnership before giving him the inevitable boot. We gave Houllier far, far too much time, and too much money. We are paying for that now. This season has been a disaster (may be saved yet by Evertons inability to kill us off), but of course Benitez should be afforded the benefit of the doubt. That's without question. But he has some serious questions to answer next season, and if those answers aren't forthcoming I don't want to see another situation where we are putting blind faith in (another) dud manager. I think in this case having some doubt is a good thing - I don't believe in having blind faith in people, they should be judged objectively.

We need to start buying British and Irish players, and fast. Where we are going to get the money, I have no idea. We have no soul, too many foreigners who can't even speak english. I can even think of a couple of scousers playing in the premiership who would be better than what we have in their positions. A few papers today are saying that Moores is beginning to realise that he may have to write off his 51% shareholding as no investors are willing to buy him out because it would cost too much money. He'll certainly have to relenquish control of the club to any new investor. This is good news as it means the majority of any new money will go straight into the clubs coffers and on players. All hypothetical I know, but something has to happen or we're ****ed.

JoeSemi
06/03/2005, 9:10 PM

We need to start buying British and Irish players, and fast. Where we are going to get the money, I have no idea. We have no soul, too many foreigners who can't even speak english. I can even think of a couple of scousers playing in the premiership who would be better than what we have in their positions. A few papers today are saying that Moores is beginning to realise that he may have to write off his 51% shareholding as no investors are willing to buy him out because it would cost too much money. He'll certainly have to relenquish control of the club to any new investor. This is good news as it means the majority of any new money will go straight into the clubs coffers and on players. All hypothetical I know, but something has to happen or we're ****ed.

This has been said before and has some truth, but again its an issue of buying the right players, at the right price. As regards the too many foreigners label, I don't agree. Look at Milan, Arsenal and Chelsea. Good footballers are good footballers regardless of where they're from. Of course Liverpool haven't got the quality of foreign player the 3 aforementioned have, but team spirit is something that is reliant on every body pulling in one direction. And we know there's a certain individual pulling the other way of late and he's not foreign. A bad signing can't be called such because of where they're from. Yes, we'd all love an English/Irish heartbeat in the side, but how many have been a success in recent years? There hasn't been too many. The same quality doesn't exist in England and certainly not at the same prices. If Alonso was English we'd be talking of a 20m tag on his head. He cost 10m, is top class and can speak English(thanks to a couple of summers down my way when he was a young lad!)

There are only a couple of scousers playing outside the city capable of playing for Liverpool. David Thompson is one, but has been injury prone. Fat Boy Rooney would be one, but there's more chance of me or you signing, and after that I'm stuck. The only realistic English/Irish signings come this summer would be SWP, Woodgate and Scott Parker. But if the same calibre of player was to arrive from the continent with no English I wouldn't give two fcuks to be honest.

09/03/2005, 5:00 AM
Well they go from looking like world beaters at home to being absolutely clueless away every two weeks or so. I'm beginning to have my doubts about Benitez, he doesn't seem to be able to motivate the team, and his tactics away from home are absolutely shocking.

Benitez has them going into every away game with a negative attitude. They make no attempt to win away from home, it's all defend with this one-man-up-front rubbish. It's the same thing game after game, has Benitez not learned anything since the start of the season? This season has been a complete disaster and is as bad, if not worse, than anytime when Houllier was in charge.

I never wanted him to be our new coach, because he didn't have a long and successful track record. Sure, he coached a few Spanish teams before, and happened to be coach of Valencia, when Real Madrid threw away two league titles. He won the UEFA Cup, but er... so did a certain G. Houllier, and look what happened to him. He sold our main striker, Owen before the start of the season, then said he had enough forwards in the squad. 3 months later, we only had 1 proven striker, so when he bought another one in January, he wouldn't play the pair of them in the League Cup Final. What happened??? We lost. :mad:

Another mistake he made is flooding the squad with Spaniards. Generally, Spanish players playing in England never settle. The reverse is also true. The cultures in Britain, and Spain are so different, both socially, and football-wise, added to the fact that many of the players can't speak the language, means they struggle to fit-in. Playing one man upfront in games, is not going to get us into a derisory 4th place, to try and qualify for the Champions League next season.

This may be Beni's honeymoon season, and in fairness, he has had some awful luck with injuries, but half of the team every week is of players that he signed, and a lot of the problems at the club at the moment, are of his own making. 4th place should not be a target for this club. No disrespect to the neighbours, but we should not be having to settle for that every season, with the resources we have. The fans don't care about finishing 4th, (GH got sacked after finishing 4th last season), only the board do.

10/03/2005, 3:29 AM
Flashbackto 01/01: Us 0-1 Chelsea.

That result today was a load of b ollo x. Chelsea were shocking and deserved zilch from the game. Mike Riley was a disgrace and at this stage it's quite obvious that he's not up to reffing (a) Big premiership games, and (b) Any game involving Man U, especially at Old Trafford. How this guy is still a Premiership ref is beyond me.

It's amazing how foreign referees have eyesight isn't it? In the Chelsea-Barcelona game, a Chelsea defender handles the ball in his own box, in exactly the same way that Tiago handled the ball in his own box against us at Anfield. This time, a penalty was given.

It's a pity, that Collina can't ref in the Premiership. If he can spot it and award a penalty, why can't the likes of Mike Riley do the same?

DolansWaistcoat
10/03/2005, 6:28 AM
Flashbackto 01/01: Us 0-1 Chelsea.

It's amazing how foreign referees have eyesight isn't it? In the Chelsea-Barcelona game, a Chelsea defender handles the ball in his own box, in exactly the same way that Tiago handled the ball in his own box against us at Anfield. This time, a penalty was given.

It's a pity, that Collina can't ref in the Premiership. If he can spot it and award a penalty, why can't the likes of Mike Riley do the same?

Because it's Chelsea who are supposed to win the league this year to make the league a little more interesting(and profitable),and Riley nearly forgot that and put the whistle in his mouth for a second

Anyway well done to the the reds and the blues(Chelski not toffees)for two great performances and a place in the last 8 of the CL. :D

10/03/2005, 11:42 AM

He missed the blatent free out when Chelsea were scoring their winning goal though.

4tothefloor
10/03/2005, 8:11 PM
They're all as bad as each other if you ask me. How in gods name was the Baros trip not a penalty last night? We ended up winning the game at a canter, but had they scored first that penalty incident would have been a big talking point. I can't understand blatent decisions like that not being given. It's not just the referee, what are the assistant-referees doing? Are they blind? I could write a thesis on how poor referee decisions have cost Liverpool points this season....

DolansWaistcoat
16/03/2005, 6:28 AM
The next two games are vital for Liverpool if they want that 4th spot.The game in hand tonght against Blackburn and then the visit of the Blue noses at the weekend.6 points would be the job.The gap could be as low as two or if the worst possible scenario occurs then the toffees will be 11 points clear with only 8 games left and then the fat ladie will really be singing.

Anyway if the 'pool finisg fifth they can still win the Cl league this year and everton will be dumped into the Uefa cup by the FA where they will probably be humiliated just as much as if they were in a CL qualifing match. :)

CL draw is friday. :cool: :D

4tothefloor
16/03/2005, 1:52 PM
CL draw is friday. :cool: :D

I want Chelsea.....Alonso back for the second leg to break Lampards ankles :D

jockser
16/03/2005, 3:44 PM
as long as we avoid Juve i dont mind who we get

17/03/2005, 4:29 AM
Whoever we get will be a hard draw. Hopefully, we'll be away first next time.

Something rather more important was the two more points dropped last night. Both Liverpool clubs seem to have developed an allergy to collecting Premiership points lately. Everton have only won 4 times since the last derby, and we've only won twice this year, and have only picked up 4 points from the last 5 games. Not good enough!!

It all points to a tense derby on Sunday, and after our last 4 league games at home against Everton resulting in draws, we need a home derby win now. Games are running out, and who drops most points until May will decide who will try to qualify for next season's CL.

Dillo
18/03/2005, 2:02 PM
Alright boyz!! I'm sure yer all extremely optimistic ahead of Sunday! Having watched yer shambolic display against Blackburn on wednesday night I'm more confident than ever that Everton will at least get a point. Ye were pathetic against Rovers and there's no doubting Pool are contributing to their own downfall from the word go. This is a wonderful opportunity for the toffees to reach the CL and there's no doubt in my mind that the Moyessiah will have his troops firmly focused.
On a separate note, Liverpool can kiss goodbye to their CL dream- a dream is all it is. Juve will come through both legs with ease as they possess quality in every department unlike the red sh!te.

4tothefloor
18/03/2005, 6:43 PM
Ye were pathetic against Rovers and there's no doubting Pool are contributing to their own downfall from the word go.

Pot calling the kettle black. Ye were worse, ye lost to them! Everton's form is worse than Liverpool's, so I don't know what you're on about. For what it's worth I think Everton will get a point on Saturday, because they'll just come with a very defensive attitude, and as we showed on wednesday, we struggle against teams like that. Everton will continue to drop points though, so it'll still go down to the wire.

JoeSemi
20/03/2005, 7:15 PM
In the white heat of the 201st Merseyside derby Everton succumbed to a far superior Liverpool team, anchored by the imperious Jamie Carragher. Having set the tone from the outset, Liverpool dominated a first half in which they deservedly took the lead through a measured Steven Gerrard free kick. In what was always going to be a battle first and foremost, Liverpool's authority was stamped by the early dominance of Didi Hamann and Steven Gerrard against the three in Everton's midfield. The lead was doubled by the excellent Luis Garcia after a dipping volley by Morientes left Martyn only touching it onto the crossbar, after back-tracking in a manner that befits his age. 2-0. Liverpool were cruising. Having already lost the services of Warnock through injury, further blows were dealt when both Hamann and Morientes picked up knocks. Everton had yet to threaten however, but when Luis Garcia hobbled off at half time it looked as if Liverpool needed the Mourinho bus to park across the penalty area.

The bus never arrived for the second half, but Garcia did; playing manfully through the pain barrier, but admittedly leaving Liverpool a man light. Beattie was added to spice up an Everton attack, but looked off the pace and didn't impact in the way Moyes had hoped. Liverpool got the whiff of a third goal when Everton's onslaught didn't materialise and the game should have been sealed when Milan Baros had a clear run on goal, but couldn't master his dribbling ability. Another opportunity arrived for Baros shortly after and that again was foiled, by Martyn this time. Frustration grew amongst a fervent Anfield, as their dogged opponents hadn't been well and truly put back in their kennels.. Milan Baros' influence grew even more after this, but not in the way envisaged by his manager. Chasing down the right flank with his usual eagerness, he then left a trailing leg around Alan Stubbs' left knee. Not pretty, and not without its immediate and long-term consequences. Duncan Ferguson had entered proceedings by now, with his usual uncompromising style and fist-clenching thuggery coming to the fore. Everton, like a good sniffer dog, had got a scent of something. That something was a well executed goal by Cahill; which left the mass of red on the Kop wishing they'd brought a change of underwear.

Where Liverpool had before crumbled beneath such aerial bombardment, they now stood strong. Jamie Carragher epitomised the Liverpool spirit in a man of the match display that proves he falls in the bracket as one of the three best defenders in England. The questions were asked of Liverpool in every sense and they answered emphatically. Did they have the team spirit that a Liverpool team should have? Without doubt. Was the hunger there? Certainly. Could the foreign lads stand the heat of a thunderous Merseyside derby? The answer was there to see in the reaction of the supporters and all the players afterwards.

The big question mark over this Liverpool side is whether they can reproduce a similar performance in the Bolton game. If so, Everton will be caught. If not, the impetus again lies with the blue half. All games are tough in the run-in, and there'll be no ounce spared from any opponent, home or away. Liverpool look threadbare again, after another clutch of unfortunate injuries that have blighted the season. This may, ultimately, dictate what happens- and whether Everton can overhaul Liverpool as Merseyside's top team for the first time in 18 years.

Dillo
20/03/2005, 8:14 PM
Just as Everton proved the better team when the sides met a few months ago, Liverpool, today ruled supreme and deserved their victory. Having said that however, David Moyes felt his team could have got a point out of the derby had the referee Rob Styles allowed more than three minutes of stoppage time at the end. The Moyessiah did not hide his disappointment with the match officials.

Asked if he felt Everton could have got a draw Moyes replied: "If we had been given enough time at the end yes, but the officials had other ideas. I mean it wasn't three minutes was it? It was at least five. We scored and the Liverpool fans wouldn't give the ball back and Dudek was time wasting walking from one side to the other with his goal kicks.

"I thought Liverpool were very good in the first half but we went for it in the second half and were a little unlucky. Liverpool did things they haven't done all season. They played well.

"We are still in the position they want to be in so it's great for Everton. We haven't got the same financial resources as teams like Liverpool so it's great for us. If we had won this game and gone four points clear of Liverpool then I would have been dancing up and down the pitch. We are in a great position."

On a separate note, Milan Baros' tackle on Stubbsy was horrific and he was rightly given his marching orders. Baros is a headless chicken at the best of times and on another day could have finished the career of the imperious Stubbs with such a tackle.

Next up for the blues is a trip to the Hawthorns to a face a resurged Baggies outfit. Make no mistake about it, this is a very tricky game for Everton but if they approach it in the right manner they'll reap the rewards. Unlike the red sh!te, Everton have been merseyside's most consistent team all season and one must still fancy Moyes' men to take that precious fourth spot. Fingers crossed.

Thunderblaster
20/03/2005, 11:58 PM
All we have to do is beat Bolton and put Everton on tenderhooks. Everton does not have the bottle. Instead of Rafa Beneathus, it will be Rafa Aboveyou Benitez. Stevie G, WHAT A STRIKE!!!!!!!!!!!!! Champions League, you're having a laugh!! Big Dunc, what a thuggish waster.

21/03/2005, 4:42 AM
Result from Beni-dorm:
Merseyside 2-1 Moyeseyside.

It took 4.5 years to beat them at home but we did it, and no matter who finishes fourth, we've got the bragging rights over yous 'til next season. :)

As for Baros' tackle, while it was late, I don't think it deserved a straight red. You see such tackles in every game, every week. Most players only get booked. They spent the whole game kicking our players, yet as soon as we retaliated, our player got sent-off. :mad: No wonder our fans at the touchline told the ref, what they thought of it. As for the "could have finished the career of Stubbs" comments, he got up after treatment. However, we had to make 3 subs before the break, and finish the game with effectively 9 players.

Unlike the red sh!te, Everton have been merseyside's most consistent team all season

4 wins in 3 months; 11 points from your last 11 games, that ain't consistent, toffee. That's relegation form, for the one-season wonders who are already in decline. Next year, you'll be back down where you belong, in the bottom half of the league once again.

Well done, Reds. That's more like it. Keep it up!! ;)

jockser
21/03/2005, 3:00 PM
Great result yessss :)

4tothefloor
21/03/2005, 3:29 PM
the imperious Stubbs
lol, easily the worst player on the pitch, how he is the centre-half of a top four side is perplexing.......all a red shirt had to do was break into a jog and Stubbs was left in no-mans-land. Had Milan Baros scored his easy chances, it would have been an embarrassment for Everton. Instead he got sent-off at a time when Everton were just resorting to long-balls up to Dunc-the-drunk (very unlike them to be fair.... :rolleyes: ) . That's Baros' Liverpool career over anyway.

If that is what Everton have to offer, it would be an absolute disaster for the premiership if they qualified for the CL. They'd be an embarrassment for the league, they wouldn't even win the qualifier. They're form over the last 3 months is a true reflection of the real Everton - relegation fodder punching above their weight. Their saving grace now is the amazing injury situation at Anfield, 5 of the starting 11 on Sunday now injured as well. Typical of the lack of luck Benitez has had to endure this season. But if I was a betting man, i'd say Everton won't even finish above Bolton.

DolansWaistcoat
22/03/2005, 6:21 AM
4 points behind with 8 games left,not bad considering the gap was about 12 points at one stage,still a bit of work to do for the 'pool.

4tothefloor
22/03/2005, 6:10 PM
4 points behind with 8 games left,not bad considering the gap was about 12 points at one stage,still a bit of work to do for the 'pool.

The injury situation will kill us, we just don't have enough first teamers left to get fourth. Who is going to score our goals?

23/03/2005, 3:59 AM
The injury situation will kill us, we just don't have enough first teamers left to get fourth. Who is going to score our goals?

Stevie G will have to brush up on his free-kick technique. He's one of the few players fit at the moment.....yet!!
Either that, or we'll have to play the League Cup Team for a few games. Our treatment room resembles an A&E ward at the moment. Despite that, Ritchie Partridge still can't get a game.

DolansWaistcoat
23/03/2005, 6:21 AM

Hopefully Mori will be back for the next league game.Maybe beni will put Gerrard as supporting striker/attacking midfielder like against Bayer away.

Does Baros start his ban straight away and miss the Bolton game?This game is as big as the merseyside derby just was and if Bolton win it could be sixth and not fourth that liverpool are playing for this year.

My post you mentioned Richie Partridge,who Still can't get near even the bench at this injury stricken moment,it's gone beyond a joke for the small fellla. :(

jockser
23/03/2005, 9:46 AM
Partrige is never bloody fit. i reckon we will Anthony Le Tallec up play front with Stieve G behind him. Good chance also for Potter to get a run!

4tothefloor
23/03/2005, 10:19 PM
Nah, Gerrard will have to play in midfield, otherwise you are looking at a Biscan - Potter engine room :eek: He'll play Smicer up front, with Nunez filling in for Smicer in midfield, or vice versa. Biscan for Hamann. Garcia should be fit. Morientes, Warnock and Hamann all def out for 3 weeks.

Dudek
Finnan -- Pelle -- Carra -- Riise
Garcia -- Gerrard -- Biscan -- Nunez
Smicer -- Le Tallec

Disaster of a team........

jockser
24/03/2005, 8:04 AM
Nah, Gerrard will have to play in midfield, otherwise you are looking at a Biscan - Potter engine room :eek: He'll play Smicer up front, with Nunez filling in for Smicer in midfield, or vice versa. Biscan for Hamann. Garcia should be fit. Morientes, Warnock and Hamann all def out for 3 weeks.

Dudek
Finnan -- Pelle -- Carra -- Riise
Garcia -- Gerrard -- Biscan -- nunez
Smicer -- Le Tallec

Disaster of a team........

No No No lad....nunez on the right? no chance

here try this

dude
finnan pelle carra traore (if djimi not fit carra and sami in center)
nunez stevie igor riise
--------garcia
--------le tallec

subs smicer potter nunez carson sami

smicer is absolute muck and rafa cant wait to get rid of him i reckon(i hope)
ill forward this on to rafa now :D :D

stojkovic
24/03/2005, 10:29 AM
How long is Hamman out for.
If back by next week put him in the middle an put Gerard up front.
We've nothing else at the mo.
I thought Le Tallec was injured ?

Dillo
24/03/2005, 3:29 PM
All the redmen feeling sorry for themselves with their injuries.... :rolleyes: It was a case of men against boys last Sunday- fair enough Liverpool won the game but Everton surely won the fight! In Stubbs, Hibbert, Cahill, Carsley and Pistone we've got some of the toughest men in the business. The toffees' 'stickability' has been a key component to our success this season. More so than any other team in the league, Everton have a tremendous work ethic and a never say die attitude and when are backs are to the wall we can still come up trumps. I am resigned to the fact that fourth place will go down to the wire. It's a question of who wants it most. NO man or club wants it more than David Moyes and Everton.

4tothefloor
24/03/2005, 10:45 PM
All the redmen feeling sorry for themselves with their injuries.... :rolleyes: It was a case of men against boys last Sunday- fair enough Liverpool won the game but Everton surely won the fight! In Stubbs, Hibbert, Cahill, Carsley and Pistone we've got some of the toughest men in the business. The toffees' 'stickability' has been a key component to our success this season. More so than any other team in the league, Everton have a tremendous work ethic and a never say die attitude and when are backs are to the wall we can still come up trumps. I am resigned to the fact that fourth place will go down to the wire. It's a question of who wants it most. NO man or club wants it more than David Moyes and Everton.

What a load of horse****. I'd hate to be an Everton supporter, clinging to (supposed) morel victories :p If only Carsley would reconsider his retirement from the Ireland setup........goddammit, what a waste...... :rolleyes:

caino
31/03/2005, 12:48 PM
I agree. I think the tide is finally turning, Im not a toffees fan, but if it came to it, I prefer everton to Liverpool any day of the week. I would love to see Everton up there putting some serious pressure on the top teams, David Moyes is a fantastic manager.

Dillo
31/03/2005, 2:05 PM
I agree. I think the tide is finally turning, Im not a toffees fan, but if it came to it, I prefer everton to Liverpool any day of the week. I would love to see Everton up there putting some serious pressure on the top teams, David Moyes is a fantastic manager.

Here here caino. ;)

anto1208
31/03/2005, 5:07 PM
well one thing for sure everton are throwing it away every week they should have had 4th spot wrapped up ages ago .

liverpool dont deserve it all this talk of injuries is rubbish they have more fit players than everton and its plain to see what can be achieved if the players really want it ,

everton need to start playing 442 if they do this 4th place is theres if they persist with playing one up front liverpool will pass them .

4tothefloor
31/03/2005, 9:45 PM
Jaysus will someone get that Cork City site back up and running NOW...

You from Mayfield or Mallow?? :p

01/04/2005, 4:43 AM
You from Toxteth or Bootle?
I think refs. to "we", "our" or "us", is common from posters when describing their foreign teams, don't you think?

jockser
01/04/2005, 10:05 AM
We are Liverpool :)

anto1208
01/04/2005, 5:00 PM
[QUOTE=mypost][B]

4 wins in 3 months; 11 points from your last 11 games, that ain't consistent, toffee. That's relegation form, for the one-season wonders who are already in decline. Next year, you'll be back down where you belong, in the bottom half of the league once again.

QUOTE]
one season wonders so we didnt spend months in the top 4 2 years ago ???

we anounced today a transfer budget of 30 mill plus we have youngsters like vaughan and hopkins who are better than rooney coming through plus stevie g's cousin anthony gerrard and andy fowler !!!

plus an extra 50 mill investment in the summer plus the best young manager in the prem , while liverpool still fall further behind the big 3 .
the futures bright the future is blue :D

4tothefloor
01/04/2005, 8:01 PM
we anounced today a transfer budget of 30 mill plus we have youngsters like vaughan and hopkins who are better than rooney coming through plus stevie g's cousin anthony gerrard and andy fowler !!!

plus an extra 50 mill investment in the summer plus the best young manager in the prem , while liverpool still fall further behind the big 3 .
the futures bright the future is blue :D

Liverpool spend £30million every other season, in fact most seasons. This year Liverpool have spent over £40m, and will be spending similar, if not more next season. As you can see yourself with James Beattie, big money investment isn't always what it is cracked up to be. As for your youngsters coming through, that's all they are, youngsters. I bet you'll be doing well if just the one is good enough to really make it. Gerrards cousin is nothing to get excited about, that I know. We've heard it all before with Michael Branch and Franny Jeffers, and they were both useless when it came down to it. Rooney is the exception in a long line of failures. Michael Ball anyone? One definate though is that Stevie Warnock at Liverpool is going to be some player ;)

I am not one bit concerned by Everton because their style of football is limited and destined to struggle. Team spirit is their mantra, but that isn't enough alone. They have been clueless for the last few months since Gravesen left. If I was an Everton fan i'd be more worried about the likes of Spurs and Newcastle and the money they are investing, because if you think that Everton are one of the 'big boys' now and are Champions League material, you're sadly mistaken! Shades of Leeds Utd and Ipswich Town spring to mind, clubs who fought at the top end of the table only to be relegated not long after...

Thunderblaster
04/04/2005, 12:56 AM
Liverpool 1-0 Bolton Wanderers
WBA 1-0 Everton

The Toffees cannot handle the pressure!!!!!!

Only one point in it. Bye bye Moyesie!!!!!!!!

Rafa is nearly not Beneathus.

ciaran76
04/04/2005, 7:26 AM
Liverpool 1-0 Bolton Wanderers
WBA 1-0 Everton

The Toffees cannot handle the pressure!!!!!!

Only one point in it. Bye bye Moyesie!!!!!!!!

Rafa is nearly not Beneathus.

The fact that Lpool fans are happy to be 1 point behind Everton at this stage in the season shows how much Lpool have dropped their standards !

Everton have lost their bottle i think and haven't a good enough enough squad to keep the 4th place postion.

And people who think Everton are going to get 50 million in the summer well that is very naive i think Kenwright is taking the ****. I think this is the 3rd time he said there was money to spend and nothing has come of it.

The only good thing is that Moyes looks like he is a capable manager but how much longer will he take the bullsh1t from Kenwright ?

anto1208
04/04/2005, 5:00 PM
Liverpool spend £30million every other season, in fact most seasons. This year Liverpool have spent over £40m, and will be spending similar, if not more next season. As you can see yourself with James Beattie, big money investment isn't always what it is cracked up to be. As for your youngsters coming through, that's all they are, youngsters. I bet you'll be doing well if just the one is good enough to really make it. Gerrards cousin is nothing to get excited about, that I know. We've heard it all before with Michael Branch and Franny Jeffers, and they were both useless when it came down to it. Rooney is the exception in a long line of failures. Michael Ball anyone? One definate though is that Stevie Warnock at Liverpool is going to be some player ;)

I am not one bit concerned by Everton because their style of football is limited and destined to struggle. Team spirit is their mantra, but that isn't enough alone. They have been clueless for the last few months since Gravesen left. If I was an Everton fan i'd be more worried about the likes of Spurs and Newcastle and the money they are investing, because if you think that Everton are one of the 'big boys' now and are Champions League material, you're sadly mistaken! Shades of Leeds Utd and Ipswich Town spring to mind, clubs who fought at the top end of the table only to be relegated not long after...

typical know nothing know it all liverpool fan . :rolleyes:
jeffers sold for 10 mill , ball for 8 mill rooney 30 mill such useless talent !!!, and gerrard has been sent on loan to get first team games under his belt , and you dont get on the bench of a premier league side in the top 4 unless you are good enough,liverpool fans kept saying rooney wasnt good enough shows what they know :rolleyes: as for vaughan fowler and hopkins youngsters with a better strike rate than rooney and are considered better by the same people who trained rooney into being the best youngster in england i think time will tell and yet again prove ye wrong

id leave off slagging evertons style of play when liverpool become a watchable side i know plenty of liverpool fans that wont watch there own team coz its so boring . everton fans know we have nt a great squad and we know that champs league is beyond us difference is we can admitt that where as liverpool fans keep thinking they can compete for the tittle every year ,

last year pool finished 4th spent 40 mill (that now puts them 80 mill in debt)and will barely finish 4th again
where as everton spent under 10 mill ( and with a debt of only 25 mill )went from 17th a top 6 finish at least ,and we dont go blaming our poor results on injuries which should be no problem to a team with a squad the size of liverpool s

anto1208
04/04/2005, 5:02 PM
The fact that Lpool fans are happy to be 1 point behind Everton at this stage in the season shows how much Lpool have dropped their standards !

Everton have lost their bottle i think and haven't a good enough enough squad to keep the 4th place postion.

And people who think Everton are going to get 50 million in the summer well that is very naive i think Kenwright is taking the ****. I think this is the 3rd time he said there was money to spend and nothing has come of it.

The only good thing is that Moyes looks like he is a capable manager but how much longer will he take the bullsh1t from Kenwright ?

there is allready 30 mill for the transfer budget and the 50 mill is from cris samulsons sports fund , that will go to redeveloping goodison and clearing the debts

4tothefloor
05/04/2005, 12:44 AM
jeffers sold for 10 mill , ball for 8 mill rooney 30 mill such useless talent !!! What they sold for means nothing, those prices were paid at a time when the market was gone crazy. All the top strikers being sold these days for less than Franny Jeffers proves that! Where are they now anyway? Bench warmers at crap clubs.

id leave off slagging evertons style of play when liverpool become a watchable side i know plenty of liverpool fans that wont watch there own team coz its so boring . everton fans know we have nt a great squad and we know that champs league is beyond us difference is we can admitt that where as liverpool fans keep thinking they can compete for the tittle every year Firstly, you're referring to Houlliers boring Liverpool, which is just a lazy attempt at a slag. Liverpool have played some superb football under Benitez, did you not watch us make mince meat of you at Anfield, with an understrength side to boot? Secondly, Everton fans know that you're not on the same planet as Liverpool, could you honestly see an Everton side win their way to a CL Quarter Final against Juve? lol!

last year pool finished 4th spent 40 mill (that now puts them 80 mill in debt) Liverpool are £80m in debt? Really, where did you get those figures einstein? Leeds Utd are'nt even that much in debt :rolleyes: Liverpool have a consistant debt of between £28 - £30m, as their spending is balanced against an income which is one of the top 10 in world football........stop talking sh1te

and we dont go blaming our poor results on injuries which should be no problem to a team with a squad the size of liverpool s The only problem there is, of the £40m spent this season, nearly £30m of it has been out of action for most of the season, i.e. Cisse (£14m), Alonso (£10.5m), Josemi (£2m) all long term, with Garcia and Morientes in and out with injuries. Then there's Kewell, Gerrard missed the first 3 months, Baros has missed months etc - I'd like to see how Everton would cope with equivelant injuries, without having any recognised strikers, having to play inexperienced kids, having to do without their key players. I'd actually like to see how Utd, Arsenal, Chelsea would cope, cos I don't think they would.

Benitez has worked a miracle so far to get to a cup final, a CL quarter and in contention for CL qualification - wait till he has a full squad next year and a few more top signings ;)

By the way, where's Dillo? That blue tide of his seems to have turned to a ripple...... :p :p

ciaran76
05/04/2005, 8:12 AM
there is allready 30 mill for the transfer budget and the 50 mill is from cris samulsons sports fund , that will go to redeveloping goodison and clearing the debts

There is no money from any Sports fund. If you do believe that money is there then fair play to you.If all that money was there do yoyu think Everton would have one of the smallest squads in the Prem. ?
Chris Samuelson is as dodgy as €2 note.
Not 1 penny of his money is in the Goodison coffers. Look at his history he said Everton would have the money in Autumn last year ! Then at Christmas then a few days after Christmas. The money never appeared.

Oh and if the money does appear then the whole Everton board has to ratify the money coming in.Can't see that happening.

Just because you seen this magic money coming to Goodison on their offical site doesn't make it true i am afraid.

If you want to see what Kenwright has said in the past year and what has actually happened you should look here.
http://www.billyliar.info/ The man is a joke :mad:

ciaran76
05/04/2005, 8:19 AM
jeffers sold for 10 mill , ball for 8 mill rooney 30 mill such useless talent !!!,

Anto i am not picking on you here i know it might seem like it but Rooney was sold for 21 million. The rest was dependant on Cup wins in Europe etc etc and caps.I doubt Everton will get anything near 30 millin for him. Oh and Ball wasn't near 8 million as you prob. know Rangers and Everton came to an agreement just around X-mas time because Rangers couldn't afford to pay Everton the final segment of the tranfer fund.

anto1208
05/04/2005, 10:17 AM
Anto i am not picking on you here i know it might seem like it but Rooney was sold for 21 million. The rest was dependant on Cup wins in Europe etc etc and caps.I doubt Everton will get anything near 30 millin for him. Oh and Ball wasn't near 8 million as you prob. know Rangers and Everton came to an agreement just around X-mas time because Rangers couldn't afford to pay Everton the final segment of the tranfer fund.

dont worry i dont mind people that can make decent arguements unlike the liverpool injury list stuff 4to the floor comes out with .but rooney's deal is 24 mill cash 10 last summer 10 this summer then 10 the following summer and 4 the last year , and upto 5 mill on performance plus a 25% sell on fee . it could be close to 30 mill allthough i am rounding up the figures , final fee paid for ball was 7.5 mill the final 1/2 mill everton have waved so he could continue to play for rangers after reaching his appearence limit

about the size of the squad the transfer budget is for this summer so it would nt really affect the squad this year , and in fairness to bill he allways finds some money from some where its not like people are queing up to invest over the last few years , and this year our budget is 30 mill not bad for a team riddled with debt and nearly relegated last year ,its a huge turn around , if you dont count beattie who has started only 2 games we spent 2.4 mill ,

but yea chris sam. is dodgy but look at the tai guy looking to invest in liverpool or roman at chelsea hardly model business men ?

anto1208
05/04/2005, 10:23 AM
The only problem there is, of the £40m spent this season, nearly £30m of it has been out of action for most of the season, i.e. Cisse (£14m), Alonso (£10.5m), Josemi (£2m) all long term, with Garcia and Morientes in and out with injuries. Then there's Kewell, Gerrard missed the first 3 months, Baros has missed months etc - I'd like to see how Everton would cope with equivelant injuries, without having any recognised strikers, having to play inexperienced kids, having to do without their key players. I'd actually like to see how Utd, Arsenal, Chelsea would cope, cos I don't think they would.

yawn yawn same story even with 30 mill worth of players on the bench that leaves 10 mill worth fit ( everton didnt even spend 10 mill ) . even at the height of liverpools injury list they still had more fully fit players than everton who have a squad of 15 first team players . reconised strikers !!!!! bent is the only striker we have bar big dunc but he is injured !!!!!! key players we also lost rooney and graveson they are key players .

06/04/2005, 11:50 AM
bent is the only striker we have bar big dunc but he is injured !!!!!!How many strikers do you need ? Just the 1 you lump everything up to, so why buy Beattie when there is no need for him.

anto1208
06/04/2005, 12:24 PM
How many strikers do you need ? Just the 1 you lump everything up to, so why buy Beattie when there is no need for him.

no you see it was pointed out to me that since liverpool have had no reconised striker all season because of injury this was why liverpool were in 5th , so i pointed out that everton have only had bent yet they are in 4th .so the injury list excuse is rubbish

06/04/2005, 12:55 PM
no you see it was pointed out to me that since liverpool have had no reconised striker all season because of injury this was why liverpool were in 5th , so i pointed out that everton have only had bent yet they are in 4th .so the injury list excuse is rubbishBut if Liverpool had 2 fit strikers they would play them, Everton would not. The reason Everton are 4th is cos there system was working pretty well, credit to the manager, it has now broken down so maybe time to change tic tacs. I mean if Bryan Robson is after figuring it out then its deffo time to change.

anto1208
06/04/2005, 1:01 PM
But if Liverpool had 2 fit strikers they would play them, Everton would not. The reason Everton are 4th is cos there system was working pretty well, credit to the manager, it has now broken down so maybe time to change tic tacs.

no we had to change to 4141 this year coz rooney and radsinski left and we were left with bent ,dunc cambell and chadwick . cambell and chadwick have now also left so that leave 2 strikers one of which is carring an injury and cant play 90 mins (plus he wouldnt last 90 mins with out getting sent off :D ),
we have used mcfadden and osman up front with bent to good effect but faddy is now injured .

but looks like the kid vaughan could get his start v palace he is 16 has a bag of goals in the reserves 2 goals in 2 games for eng under 17's . we just cant stop breading these wonder kids we have 4 more coming through including a 10 year old who in the youth team (under 15 )