View Full Version : Everton and Liverpool discussion

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 [43] 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61

anto1208
03/04/2007, 11:51 AM
Last two games are Portsmouth and Chelsea. United is before that.

did it not get moved due to tv or fixture pile up , utd chelsea game got moved to around then as well .

03/04/2007, 1:43 PM
Hadn't heard that.

reder
04/04/2007, 4:48 PM
Are you not due your end of season slump about now?? If you do get into the UEFA cup dont plan any celebration tour around the city in or around May 24th-25th, we will be parading number 6 around then.

First
05/04/2007, 3:05 PM
Why are ye parading 1 of Mad Jacks burro's around Liverpool.

anto1208
05/04/2007, 3:21 PM
Are you not due your end of season slump about now?? If you do get into the UEFA cup dont plan any celebration tour around the city in or around May 24th-25th, we will be parading number 6 around then.

Yea should be along any time now :D .

Its very late this year dam global warming .

anto1208
07/04/2007, 9:18 AM
4-1 :D Goals from the old and the new carsley , stubbs, Vaughan and Vic

5th spot now

anto1208
10/04/2007, 8:26 AM
Another good point keeping us on track , Terrible to see poor James Vaughan carried off after an accidental clash with what turns out to be a severed artery, blood was pumping out of him I suppose he is lucky he didn’t break anything . Poor bugger though just spent over 14 months coming back from a really bad knee injury forced his way into the starting 11 . Started the last 3 games scoring twice and hitting the post twice as well as putting in 3 very good performances . I’d be surprised if he makes it back this season but fingers crossed .

5 games left

Charlton Home
West Ham Away
Utd Home
Pompy Home
Chelsea Away .

3 games there we could take 9 points from that would gives us 60 points and should secure a place in Europe barring a big drop off in performance .

10/04/2007, 9:01 AM
Good stuff that means we have loads of soft Steve G peno's coming our way so ;)Haven't ye been getting them all season courtesy of Bambi Johnson?

anto1208
10/04/2007, 9:43 AM
Haven't ye been getting them all season courtesy of Bambi Johnson?

No we have nt thats the problem , There have been at least 10 or 12 stone wall peno's that havent been given this season if we had gotten all of those we'd be up in the top four .

There was ten incidents that keith Hackett said at the very least 8 should have been penalties then there was the one where Aj was clean through v arsenal and he was pulled back twice once by the defender then by Leman . then against villa when petrov tackled him from behind upended him and didnt even touch the ball !!! ( not that that matters when you go through the back of a player to get it )

still thats football we have gotten away with a fair few as well

Erstwhile Bóz
10/04/2007, 10:04 AM
Good enough for him. I hope he never gets another penno for the rest of his life, the little ****bag. Filleann an feall ar an bhfeallaire.

anto1208
10/04/2007, 10:35 AM
Filleann an feall ar an bhfeallaire.

what kind of english is that ;)

10/04/2007, 8:14 PM
Oh isn't it wonderful to have a handy CL quarter-final to look forward to this time tomorrow.........:) :)

anto1208
11/04/2007, 3:21 PM
Looks like James Vaughan will be back in 3 weeks great news .

anto1208
15/04/2007, 11:16 PM
What a finish from Mcfadden has to be one of the goals of the season

5th spot again 4 games to go and 7th spot opened up to uefa cup the push is on now .

anto1208
20/04/2007, 4:23 PM
Moyes is sueing rooney for £300,000 for damages over the allegations made in his "book" . Where rooney claims moyes leaked the story about the prossies to the press .

Now if rooney took a minute to think about the only person to gain from this story coming out , Him falling out with moyes , and wanting to leave liverpool then he'd find the leaker !!!.

reder
22/04/2007, 12:22 PM
Handy predicatable win for us yesterday and a surprising loss for the blueshtie. Actually expected you to win down at West ham.

The last day of the season could actually be interesting. Just realised that the mancs are playing West Ham at O.T. and we are playing Charlton at the home of the 6 times european champions to be.

We will beat Charlton sending them down, West ham will get something at OT thus saving themselves and Man u will lose the title race against Chelsea.

Chelsea will then go on to beat the mancs in the fa cup final and do a domestic treble, we will win the CL, the mancs will end up with nothing, fergie will retire, keane will drop Sunderland like a hot stone to move to OT (and slag off everyone there in doing so)

AND

everton will actually qualify for the UEFA cup.

anto1208
23/04/2007, 2:27 PM
Barring a miricle It now looks like Intertotto cup :(

Spurs and reading have all winable games , bolton should win 2 of there 3 .

Pompy have a hard few games including us but i dont think they ll catch 8th spot .

Evertons last 3 games

Utd
Pompy
Chelsea

anto1208
30/04/2007, 8:30 AM
blew it today anto :rolleyes:

Who are you telling 2-nil up and cruising , but with an under 21 keeper in goals you ll get mistakes i just didnt think it would be that bad for there first , then another mistake from neville to score an own goal ,then another mistake from hibbert to gift them a third . No complaints about the last one but they didnt deserve any of the first 3 goals .

After the 2nd goal moyes should have taken off osman and put on beattie to hold the ball up top and give the defence a break .

Still a balls of a game but with no fit striker and an under 21 keeper i was nt expecting anything out of it anyway .

30/04/2007, 9:00 AM
Who are you telling 2-nil up and cruising , but with an under 21 keeper in goals you ll get mistakes .

That keeper had been on loan at Wednesday and had played really well. The ironic thing is that two goalkeeping errors by his replacement on Saturday at Birmingham meant Wednesday lost out on a chance of a play-off place. Such is life :rolleyes:

Dillo
30/04/2007, 1:55 PM
United were lucky and that is the story of their season

If Cahill, AJ and Howard were available I have no doubt things would have turned out differently.

30/04/2007, 2:01 PM
if Man Utd had Vidic, Daha, Ferdinand, Neville etc it might have been different also!

30/04/2007, 2:50 PM
United were lucky and that is the story of their season
Was it luck or were there some more sinister reasons behind the Everton defeat.
Conspiracy Theorists should have a field day with this one

anto1208
30/04/2007, 2:57 PM
Was it luck or were there some more sinister reasons behind the Everton defeat.
Conspiracy Theorists should have a field day with this one

Double agent neville :D

Utd win the league & cups we get 1.6 mill . ( but dont mention the millions we ll loose from finishing 9th instead of 5th & missing europe )

I still think it was poor form not allowing Everton to play Howard even though the deal has been made pernament .

Still thats all ifs buts and maybe's .

Gotto get it together for sat V pompy saw them V liverpool there were terrible . beat them and hope the league is all over for our visit to the bridge .

30/04/2007, 5:44 PM
Who are you telling 2-nil up and cruising , but with an under 21 keeper in goals you ll get mistakes i just didnt think it would be that bad for there first , then another mistake from neville to score an own goal ,then another mistake from hibbert to gift them a third . No complaints about the last one but they didnt deserve any of the first 3 goals.
How can you say Man Utd didn't deserve any of those goals? You can only beat what's put in front of you.

anto1208
01/05/2007, 8:08 AM
How can you say Man Utd didn't deserve any of those goals? You can only beat what's put in front of you.

Keeper had it in his hand and dropped it to john o sheas foot . Phil neville kicked it into his own net and hibbert passed it across the box to an unmarked man , oh well done utd i can see the effort put in all week in the training ground to work on those goals :rolleyes:

03/05/2007, 12:08 PM
Very interesting article here (http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/columnists/martin_samuel/article1733890.ece)

anto1208
03/05/2007, 1:48 PM
You mean uninteresting surely , its a very common clause to not allow a player on loan to play against you when the teams meet .

And then that nonsence about the 1.7 mill, how can everton help utd win the champs league and fa cup ?? that leaves 1/2 mill from the league but loosing to UTD prob cost us 2mill and prob europe aswell .

Lazy story

Roadend
03/05/2007, 3:55 PM
Hardly surprising its lazy, Martin Samuel wrote it.

anto1208
03/05/2007, 3:57 PM
Hardly surprising its lazy, Martin Samuel wrote it.

:D :D

05/05/2007, 5:08 PM
Well, Everton have as good as Qualified for the UEFA cup. 3 points ahead of Reading with a vastly superior goal difference, only freak results would see the Toffees slip out of the top six. Hopefully this will be a platform to break back into the top four next year.

anto1208
05/05/2007, 6:47 PM
Well, Everton have as good as Qualified for the UEFA cup. 3 points ahead of Reading with a vastly superior goal difference, only freak results would see the Toffees slip out of the top six. Hopefully this will be a platform to break back into the top four next year.

Couple of key signings and the retention of players like arteta and we should have a good side for next year , i dont think we are near a top 4 side just yet but we are getting there .

Loose beattie and get in another good striker keep manny and get 2 decent full backs plus Either get VDM fit or get in an other winger and who knows :D

Happy with the season overall :cool:

reder
06/05/2007, 11:23 AM
any reds going tomorrow to the champions league semi

Was there on tues, crazy stuff but we pulled through like we always do. Went to fulham yday, had a feeling we would slip up. We have nothing to play for in the league. Still hope Rafa puts out a decent side next week v Charlton. I will get a ticket to the final but the cost of travel puts the trip way beyond me. A lot of the lads I was talking to yday say it looks far beyond them which is a terrible shame.

Anyhow, the bluesh1te are europe bound again. Fair play to them, if they put the effort in against the mancs they could have got their in style but with phil neville in their colours they were always at a disadvantage. The situation regarding Howard not playing has risen up properly. Aparently the powers that be are looking into it and points may be deducted (but that highly unlikely cos the mancs are involved).

Lets hope everton adapt to the referees and their style quicker this year. We dont want another Collina incident. Maybe a lower ranked ref should be assigned to their games. For anyone who doesnt know the evertonians blamed Collina (probably the best ref in the world for years) for their last CL exit.

06/05/2007, 2:47 PM
Lets hope everton adapt to the referees and their style quicker this year. We dont want another Collina incident. Maybe a lower ranked ref should be assigned to their games. For anyone who doesnt know the evertonians blamed Collina (probably the best ref in the world for years) for their last CL exit.

Most over-rated ref in the world, an Italian ref no less, the day before his retirement. Robbed for one reason and one reason only- UEFA didn't want 5 English teams in the group stages and as they broke their own rules to gift it to the Redsh1te someone had to make way.
Does that sound bitter? :D

reder
06/05/2007, 5:54 PM
Most over-rated ref in the world, an Italian ref no less, the day before his retirement. Robbed for one reason and one reason only- UEFA didn't want 5 English teams in the group stages and as they broke their own rules to gift it to the Redsh1te someone had to make way.
Does that sound bitter? :D

I could have typed your response myself. So Clive Thomas is not the worst referee ever!

06/05/2007, 6:05 PM
Clive Thomas is/was not even a referee! :D

anto1208
07/05/2007, 12:00 PM
Anyhow, the bluesh1te are europe bound again. Fair play to them, if they put the effort in against the mancs they could have got their in style but with phil neville in their colours they were always at a disadvantage. The situation regarding Howard not playing has risen up properly. Aparently the powers that be are looking into it and points may be deducted (but that highly unlikely cos the mancs are involved).

From the FAPL:
"As a result of recent comments we had sought further clarification from both clubs and are satisfied that it remains the case that there were no agreements that breached any of our rules. "

jockser
09/05/2007, 1:49 AM
:D http://img408.imageshack.us/img408/952/beersx2.jpg :D

09/05/2007, 8:01 AM
:D http://img408.imageshack.us/img408/952/beersx2.jpg :D

I suppose that is funny.

anto1208
09/05/2007, 8:24 AM
Looks like moyes will move quickly again this summer , First up Barton then i reckon either Bent or Nugent and a left winger .

http://football.guardian.co.uk/News_Story/0,,2075356,00.html

Hope he gets this sorted before all the nonsence blows over and the bigger clubs realise he is there for only 5.5 mill . Great addition to the squad .

reder
09/05/2007, 9:27 AM
Looks like moyes will move quickly again this summer , First up Barton then i reckon either Bent or Nugent and a left winger .

Barton would be an excellent singing for you on the field. However, he comes accross as a right gobby little ****. You not think you are running the risk of bringing in someone who might upset the apple cart??

You in the market for a striker? We could give you a good deal on Bellamy!! Also whats the bluenose view on Beattie, do you want to see the back of him?

anto1208
09/05/2007, 9:52 AM
Barton would be an excellent singing for you on the field. However, he comes accross as a right gobby little ****. You not think you are running the risk of bringing in someone who might upset the apple cart??

You in the market for a striker? We could give you a good deal on Bellamy!! Also whats the bluenose view on Beattie, do you want to see the back of him?

You can keep Bellamy at least Barton only hits blokes :D .

There is the risk of him upsetting things but the fight last week was about a player not putting in the effort in training so he gave him a few digs , He also had ago at the Lazy foreign players , So it seems to me that lazy players that don t work for the team annoy him . And at 5.5 mill a Bargain .I think Moyes can handle him and the work ethic at everton would suit Barton .

On Beattie I think we have given him a fair crack now and he hasn’t performed , his place was taken by 2 18 year olds this year who did more in one game than he did all year.. I think if they can get £3mill for him they should snap there hands off .

Preston want £10 mill for Nugent not a hope id pay that for him , considering AJ was 8.5

09/05/2007, 1:47 PM
I suppose that is funny.

Not really - more accurate, I'd say

11/05/2007, 10:25 AM
Irish Independent

The League's regulations state that players on loan cannot turn out against their parent club.

However, one leading sports lawyer questioned the League's consistency over the Tevez and Howard cases, saying: "The rule states that someone who is not the player's registered club cannot materially influence that team's policies.

"It would seem to me that one club telling another they can't pick him is a potential breach.

"There may have been some difference in the severity of the offence but that doesn't mean United and Everton shouldn't have been charged," he added.
In full here (http://www.unison.ie/sportsdesk/stories.php3?ca=12&si=1828064)

11/05/2007, 11:12 AM
Dead right. It stinks.

11/05/2007, 1:35 PM
I think Barton would be a great signing for Everton. I don't think he's good enough for the top level but more than good enough to be a main player for any team trying to reach that level.

I wouldn't touch Nugent for £10m btw. That's crazy money for a guy who hasn't played at the top level. Celtic have been linked with Beattie recently but I could only see that happening once Strachan gets rid of 1 or 2 of the strikers there at the moment.

11/05/2007, 1:55 PM
I think a move to Scotland would do Beattie the power of good. He'd be a huge success there.

11/05/2007, 1:59 PM
I don't know about that but I certainly think it will either make him or break him. A few goals to get the confidence flowing again and who knows. That said, I never thought he was top quality though so it could just be that he has had his purple patch and has been found out now.

14/05/2007, 8:26 AM
UEFA qualification is a superb achievement when Everton's resources were considerably less than some other clubs who didn't feature in the race for Europe (Villa, Newcastle etc.) I think this years finished goes to show that the top four finish of the year before last was no flash in the pan and that Moyes is one of the best managers in the Premiership. A few good signings will see us challenge for the top four next year. Its going to be an interesting season next year with a stronger Everton and a Stronger Spurs pushing for membership of the Elite.

anto1208
14/05/2007, 2:42 PM
Nugent for £10mill i suppose they are claiming he is an england international with a 100% strike rate :D

I think barton could sign , Pitty Sidwell is going to chelsea apparently .

reder
16/05/2007, 3:53 PM
Pitty Sidwell is going to chelsea apparently .

I think that is a shocking decision. He must have very poor people around him giving him advice. He is going to spend all bar a few carling cup games warming then bench at best.

If he went to a club who finished in the uefa cup places, he would be guaranteed european football and a first team place also. A move to Newcastle or Villa would have even been better.

I really dont see any of the uefa cup teams breaking into the top 4 next season. They may close the gap. Liverpool's league form will improve (particularly our away form) without a doubt, ditto for Arsenal and Chelsea and Man u are simply to far advanced.

I actually have a feeling Arsenal could pose a very strong challenge next season. Wenger is a very shrewd customer and he build a very impressive football side at the moment.