View Full Version : Everton and Liverpool discussion
KildareFan
26/11/2007, 10:18 AM
:D See this is why we hate liverpool fans in ireland there are just so many of these kinda guys that the real fans get lost , its not the team i dont like i wouldnt look for there result or hope they loose it doesnt really bother me unless i have them backed in the pools.
Ive found Rafa's moaning a bit much this season Fixture conspiracy transfer funs etc etc , everyone plays the same amount of games and he has had more than enough money to spend.
Sunderland where bad you have to be to loose by 7 but not as bad as some have made out they had chances and scored and came close on a few occasions its just Everton s best performanc eunder moyes and bags of luck as well it seemed like everything they did came off. Artetta had a great game. There is a lot of talent now across the middle with Him Cahill Osman and Pienaar ( a must buy for moyes in jan ) and then Carsley to break up the play. 3 winnable game s coming up before xmas .
Next week's game is a big one, if we beat portsmouth, we go level on points with them, if we lose, we are 6 points behind them. This is a tough test for us and will give a better idea of how good we are than trouncing Sunderland.
You not playing in midweek? Dont tell me you are out of Europe already!! Massive game v Porto on Wed and the Spion is going to be rockin. With all the nonsense that is going on, a mighty big f off to the yanks is in order and will be delievered to let them know how we feel.
KildareFan I will put you comments about Rafa into the ultimately bitter column. Anyway I see AJ was out for a game on Saturday!!
AJ goes for goal (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0q9BtetCesg)
KildareFan
26/11/2007, 3:51 PM
You not playing in midweek? Dont tell me you are out of Europe already!! Massive game v Porto on Wed and the Spion is going to be rockin. With all the nonsense that is going on, a mighty big f off to the yanks is in order and will be delievered to let them know how we feel.
KildareFan I will put you comments about Rafa into the ultimately bitter column. Anyway I see AJ was out for a game on Saturday!!
AJ goes for goal (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0q9BtetCesg)
We're taking a week out of europe this week to give the rest of the teams in our group a chance to catch up!!
Yeah, I'm sure the americans will be really bothered.
I'm not even one bit bitter about Benitez, I'm glad he is still managing Liverpool and I wouldn't swap Moyes for him in a million years!!
26/11/2007, 4:05 PM
With all the nonsense that is going on, a mighty big f off to the yanks is in order and will be delievered to let them know how we feel.
What convinces you that they'll take any notice?
The club wouldn't take the money from DIC last year. We're with the Yanks now, so we have to get on with it.
26/11/2007, 7:44 PM
theres probably more everton fans in dublin than ucd even they
would have more then 284* fans in the area of a friday night
*actual attendence at a premier division game ucd v longford
Only 16,277 Everton Fans bothered to watch them play us, at Goodison Park in the Cup Winners Cup back in 1984/85 season. They went on to win the League and Cup Winner's Cup that season . What's your point?
26/11/2007, 7:45 PM
7-1 Biggest win in 11 years what a great game. Sunderland in fairness to them where not that bad they had chances just a few silly mistakes and meeting everton in top form.
As we have been saying injury free we have a great team but missing any players is really noticabe thats our first gmae with everyone fit. 5 goals in 7 now for Cahill. Wonder how we will fair when 4 of the first team go off to Africa for 6 weeks after xmas.
Fairly ****ed off with RTE as well couldnt get to the game or see it on tv so i watched it on the laptop on a little screen that kept jumping so i settled in to the premiership thinking they wont have a better game to show that they will show Utd as they all ways do but surely we are up second as there was 8 goals in the game but no yet again up last, didnt show the build up to any of the goals didnt show any of the other chances any of the brilliant skill Artetta came out with. No replays of the goals no interview with Moyes and after that they spoke about Sunderland !!!!!! not one mention of everton :mad:
Watch Match Of The Day instead....
I'm glad he is still managing Liverpool and I wouldn't swap Moyes for him in a million years!!
Im glad your happy with Moyes. I will gladly stick with Rafa for many years to come.
anto1208
27/11/2007, 10:01 AM
Im glad your happy with Moyes. I will gladly stick with Rafa for many years to come.
Changing teams so soon yea ?? :D
anto1208
27/11/2007, 10:24 AM
Ah the good old FA there ref makes a complete **** up of the derby match and get away scot free but moyes gets fined :rolleyes:
Cant be too upset since it was that injustice that has sparked the run of 6 wins and a draw ( v chelsea at the bridge ).
Everton manager David Moyes has been hit with an FA charge.
The charge relates to comments he made about referee Mark Clattenberg following the controversial Merseyside derby at Goodison Park on October 20th.
The Blues boss has been charged with two breaches of FA Rule E3 in respect of comments he made immediately following the game and also comments he made in the press conference the following week.
The FA charge states that ‘It is alleged that the comments made referring to referee Mark Clattenberg on each respective occasion amount to improper conduct as they call into question Mr Clattenberg's integrity and/or imply that Mr Clattenberg was motivated by bias.'
KildareFan
27/11/2007, 10:29 AM
Many years??? He will be doing well to reach Christmas at this rate.
How come it took the FA a couple of days to charge Ferguson about his abuse towards Clattenburg but it's taken 6 weeks to charge Moyes?!?!?!?
anto1208
27/11/2007, 12:09 PM
Good stuff Setanta have the game on sat dont have to watch it on the laptop
2:30pm
Live Barlcays Premier League - Portsmouth v Everton
Available in ROI only. Live coverage from Fratton Park as Portsmouth entertain Everton in this year's Barclays Premier League.
anto1208
29/11/2007, 8:33 AM
5-1 win for the ressies last night Vaughan scored and played well but the forgotten man Andy Van der Meyde scored :D . Anyone reckon there is any chance of him gettign a run in the first team at all , Maybe if we get an easy 3rd round FA cup game.Vidarsson scored aswell he is a player i have high hopes for any time ive seen him play he has really impressed me .
Everton Reserves did their best to emulate the senior team's recent goal exploits, bashing five past a hapless Wigan team at Robin Park. James Vaughan opened the scoring in typical style and helped Andy van der Meyde get on the scoresheet before the Latics got one back. But three more goals from Vidarsson, Jutekiewicz and Rodwell sealed a great road win for the Blues.
an_ceannaire
29/11/2007, 10:10 AM
All players fit and on form, who would you pick as a first 11
I think its damn impossible!!!
Off the top of my head i would say
Howard
Nev, Joey, Lesscott, Baines,
Faddy, Carsley, Cahill, Arteta
AJ Yak
But there are so many I am leaving out!!!!
I just dont know anymore......
(great prob to have!)
anto1208
29/11/2007, 10:36 AM
Its a good problem to have first time in a long time every player on the bench can add something to the team.
Its going to be hard to force your way into the team at the moment i think the team on sat was our best Artetta Pienaar and Ossy are very skillfull players then you have Carsley who is outstanding every game and Cahill breaking foward for the goals. Yak is scorign so will keep starting but playing in the prem and still in 3 cups we have lots of games and can change formation/players depending on who we play.
When you see Wessels ,Hibbert, Nuno, Stubbs, Jags, Faddy, Vic, Vaughan, VDM , Tommy G and AJ all unable to get into the starting line up its a good sign. Thats 11 decent enough players i remember times at everton where we had 11 fit players and the bench was made up of under 18's !!!!
an_ceannaire
29/11/2007, 10:50 AM
Remember Gareth Farrelly Carl Tiler Mitch Ward and Mark "Howand Marks "Ward
Its a very good problem! Its hard to find a place for Fester. Since he came back he hasnt been fit but even when he is, what do u do
i fear we will lose faddy to celtic in the window, He is too good a player to be on the bench. He is a better option to Ossie if u ask me, ossie doing well and a moyes favourite but i would go for faddy. Touch of class.
Pienarr very close too. See ideally i want arteta and cahill in the centre with pienarr on the wing, bur Cars has to play so then drop AJ? I just dunno
and leaving out vaughan......the man has a phenomenal goals per game ratio!
Solid performance on Wednesday night. I thought the scoreline flattered in truth but we definitely deserved the win. We must win against Marseille and get through.
It would be such a shame for the CL if we didnt get through taking our greatness into account. We are just too big a club to not be in the later stages of the CL. On the flip side it would be a heavenly draw for any UEFA cup side to come up against us. Stuff dreams are made of for them.
Bolton at home on Sunday and I expect nothing less than 3 points. Bolton will probably put 10 men and the team bus in their 18 yard box and pray for a point but we will be too good. A point away to Pompey would be a good result for Everton.
Roadend
30/11/2007, 10:32 AM
Though Mascherano was very poor on Wednesday, Laboured when passing and often gave it away. The difference between Gerrad on Saturday and Wednesday was huge. Played the simple ball on Saturday, back to the hollywood ball on Wednesday.
KildareFan
30/11/2007, 10:57 AM
Solid performance on Wednesday night. I thought the scoreline flattered in truth but we definitely deserved the win. We must win against Marseille and get through.
It would be such a shame for the CL if we didnt get through taking our greatness into account. We are just too big a club to not be in the later stages of the CL. On the flip side it would be a heavenly draw for any UEFA cup side to come up against us. Stuff dreams are made of for them.
Bolton at home on Sunday and I expect nothing less than 3 points. Bolton will probably put 10 men and the team bus in their 18 yard box and pray for a point but we will be too good. A point away to Pompey would be a good result for Everton.
Ha ha ha, yeah I am sure Europe would be devestated if Liverpool and their Wimbledon circa 1988 tactics didn't make it through. If Liverpool don't go through, they have only themselves to blame and it will be because they weren't good enough.
As for the UEFA Cup, one more win will see us top the group which would mean we wouldn't get any of the champions league dropouts in the last 32 but I wouldn't mind a merseyside derby in the last 16 if Liverpool make it that far. We owe Liverpool one after the robbery at Goodison Park earlier in the season.
Roadend
30/11/2007, 11:33 AM
Liverpool and their Wimbledon circa 1988 tactics .
Everton 2 - Wimbledon 2 - 1988
Everton 1 - Liverpool 2 - 2007
You are soooooo wrong again.
30/11/2007, 12:13 PM
Ha ha ha, yeah I am sure Europe would be devestated if Liverpool and their Wimbledon circa 1988 tactics didn't make it through.
Well done, only an hour and a half to bite.
30/11/2007, 1:33 PM
Ha ha ha, yeah I am sure Europe would be devestated if Liverpool and their Wimbledon circa 1988 tactics didn't make it through.
Since when have Everton been qualified to lecture us about tactics?? :confused:
Though Mascherano was very poor on Wednesday, Laboured when passing and often gave it away. The difference between Gerrad on Saturday and Wednesday was huge. Played the simple ball on Saturday, back to the hollywood ball on Wednesday.
Mash isnt on top 'on the ball' form. He did put in some solid tackles in front of the back four on Wed but his passing was poor and has been for some time. In truth he doesnt look like a £17m player (inc. wages) but I fear we will end up in Didi world again if we dont buy him. (i.e. realise his true value when he is gone.)
KildareFan, Liverpool are recognised the world over for their European successes. Everton are mere virgins on that front. Playing us in european is something you know you should avoid. We are in a completely different class.
anto1208
30/11/2007, 4:17 PM
KildareFan, Liverpool are recognised the world over for their European successes. Everton are mere virgins on that front. Playing us in european is something you know you should avoid. We are in a completely different class.
Thats why ye have to cheat to beat us :p
anto1208
03/12/2007, 8:41 AM
Well that was a far cry from the sunderland game , both teams put 5 in midfield then proseeded to knock it over them taking 10 men out of the game. the pitch is so tight any one that took the ball down got crowded out of it . Still a point away to pompy at the moment is good result keeps us ticking away still a bit off the pack above we need to get two wins in a row v fulham and west ham before Utd at old trafford to stick with the group.
Why oh why does neville with one of the best midfielders in the prem in front of him knock long balls to a lone striker .... .oh wait it because he is sh*t .
Most annoying thing about watching the game was the most annoying fans in the world those pompy t**ts with the bell and drum all the way through the game ding ding ding ding ding ding :mad:
Roadend
03/12/2007, 9:15 AM
I found the lack of quality the most annoying thing.....
KildareFan
03/12/2007, 10:03 AM
I found the lack of quality the most annoying thing.....
Some days are meant for free flowing football and some are meant for grinding out results. A point at Fratton Park was the most important thing. Because of the bad start that we made and a few stupid defeats, we are going to have to turn some of these games into wins between now and the end of the season.
3 big games in a week now, our season will really take shape after them.
Some days are meant for free flowing football and some are meant for grinding out results.
So when should we see Everton playing attractive football. 12th of ...... never I suspect.
KildareFan
04/12/2007, 4:50 PM
The mini derby is on Liverpool TV tonight for anybody with setanta.
The everton line up is:
Everton: John Ruddy, Shaun Densmore, Patrick Boyle, John Irving, Jack Rodwell, Ryan Harpur, John Paul Kissock, Bjarni Vidarsson, Lukas Jutkiewicz, James Vaughan, Andy Van Der Meyde. Subs: Kieran Agard, Lars Stubhaug, James McCarten, Eunan O'Kane, Steven Morrison.
anto1208
05/12/2007, 8:28 AM
Nothing much came out of the AGM last night even the KEIOC report told us nothign we didnt know , Earl is now a director made a loss of .5 mill outsourced the food and club shops and that if kirkby fails then rebuilding goodison or scotland road options are plan B and C .
Big game tonight Zeneth are the best team in the group but we only need a point to go trough , Howard has a dose of the sh*ts and Yobo has a knock everyone else should be ok. Hope AJ starts up front with Yak , with Cahill artetta carley and Pienaar .
Its on ITV4 anyone know if sky ireland has that on the box ive only got cable in my gaff and it doesnt have it
Roadend
05/12/2007, 8:33 AM
Hey, don't neglect to mention the mini-derby, tut tut tut.....
You can get ITV4 on Sky Ireland but it must be tuned in. The refquency is 10.758 V 22.00 5/6, then store and access under other channels
anto1208
05/12/2007, 9:21 PM
Great game tonight Good performance from every one kept pushing for the goal did nt thinkwe'd get it with artetta missing a peno having a free kick brilliantly save in the top corner , carsley hiting the post and two clearences off the line . Penalty and red card shouldnt have been given .
i had Artetta backed to score first with him stepping up to take the penalty i was counting my chickens :o
KildareFan
10/12/2007, 4:41 PM
So when should we see Everton playing attractive football. 12th of ...... never I suspect.
If you still need proof of how everton are playing, check out Yakubu's third goal on Saturday, or 4 of the goals against Sunderland or Ossie's goal against Larissa.
We're playing great stuff at the moment, winning games comfortably that we should be winning. I'm delighted to have been proved wrong by the Yak so far, that was a great hat trick. Only 3 points behind 4th spot now, this really could be a special season.
We're unbeaten in the last 10 games, winning 8 of those and keeping 6 clean sheets in the process. Great stuff.
Tough couple of weeks for us now, 4 away games on the trot. The Carling Cup game is a big one now for us, this is a cup that we could realistically win!! I'd love a trip to Wembley!!
anto1208
11/12/2007, 10:25 AM
dont get carried away just yet we are on a good run but a loss or a few injuries could knock it back very quickly.
two wins against west ham this week now will set us up nicely.
Ah well, suppose we'll have to leave Everton alone to try win the little UEFA cup then:)
anto1208
12/12/2007, 9:50 AM
The wife of footballer Steven Gerrard was confronted by four hooded burglars at the couple's mansion last night.
Steven Gerrard and Alex CurranAlex Curran was left shaken but not injured in the incident.
The raid happened as Gerrard was in France playing in a Champions League game against Marseille.
It is just the latest incident where criminals have targeted the homes of Liverpool footballers when they playing abroad.
A Merseyside Police spokeswoman said four men entered the property in Formby, Merseyside, just before 9.30pm and stole items of jewellery.
She said forensic examination of the property was taking place today and house to house inquiries have begun.
The spokeswoman said: "Officers were called to the address just after 9.30pm following the call from the residents that four men had broken into the house and stolen items of jewellery.
"The men are described as white between 5ft 7 and 5ft 9 and were wearing dark clothing, hoods and balaclavas."
She added: "The residents along with another person were shaken up by the incident but were uninjured."
Roadend
12/12/2007, 10:55 AM
Everton fans no doubt:p
12/12/2007, 11:17 AM
Penalty and red card shouldnt have been given .
You moan when you get a peno, you moan when you don't....:rolleyes:
anto1208
12/12/2007, 12:22 PM
Everton fans no doubt:p
Or the ganster that got her knocked up :D breaks into the " the babies not yours the babies not yours" song
You moan when you get a peno, you moan when you don't....:rolleyes:
You either win fair or there is no point , something liverpool fans have no concept of
Roadend
12/12/2007, 12:37 PM
Or the ganster that got her knocked up :D breaks into the " the babies not yours the babies not yours" song
Now that you mention it, he probably had all the inside info he needed to grab the most valuable stuff and make a quick getaway. Damn you pancake.
12/12/2007, 1:07 PM
You either win fair or there is no point
Winning at all costs usually works, especially when there's millions of €'s at stake. Winning fairly is for something useless or harmless, like netball.
Well, the wrongs of the home game against Marseille were put right last night. From the word go we got into them and never looked like losing. We simply destroyed Marseille and put them in their place. We belong in the later stages of the CL, its our rightful place and thankfully we are there. All the media hype before the game was completely OTT and they looked like fools after the game.
Roll on the mancs and 3 points on Sunday.
anto1208
13/12/2007, 8:23 AM
Another game where we go one down and come back to win. Great going semi final now , last 32 of UEFA a win at the weekend will see us close the gap on 4th. and Vogel should be joining in Jan.
We will miss pienaar when he goes to africa Missing link between midfield and the stikers we have been crying out for for years. Need to cut out the diving hate seeing that sh*te if he does he will be a great player.
11 games unbeaten now should make it 12 on sat then off to Utd.
Much as I hate to say it, credit where credit is due to Everton. Going behind at West ham and coming back to win is very rare. Lets hope we beat Chelsea next week and we can both progress to a Merseyside cup final at Wembley.
15/12/2007, 4:35 PM
Feed the Yak and he will score. Quality striker, think he has the best record out of all Premierships strikers in the past five seasons.
Can see a tight game at Anfield tomorrow. I'd say it will be 0-0 or 0-1.
Feed the Yak and he will score. Quality striker, think he has the best record out of all Premierships strikers in the past five seasons.
Can see a tight game at Anfield tomorrow. I'd say it will be 0-0 or 0-1.
You can see into the future. Awful game at the weekend. Deserved what we got, nothing.
anto1208
19/12/2007, 10:42 PM
chelsea in the semi final away in the first leg very hard but if we dont throw it away in the first keg who knows , hope yak and yobo can get an extention away from nigerian meet up prob first leg doubt it for the 2nd
cheifo
19/12/2007, 11:42 PM
I presume Moyes will be handed some funds for the transfer window now that their season is taking on increasing possibilities.
anto1208
20/12/2007, 12:58 AM
I presume Moyes will be handed some funds for the transfer window now that their season is taking on increasing possibilities.
I dont think he wants to spend much himself i can see Vogel coming in on a free and maybe a defender as cover few loan deals but thats about it too many new faces could upset things as well .
20/12/2007, 6:47 AM
Saw the Liverpool vs Chelsea game last night. Liverpool have some really mediocre players (e.g. Sissoko, Babbel (Bambi on ice) and Voronin (excuse spelling). They really need a decent wide man for some quality width.
Don't know what possessed Crouch to make that "tackle". Frustration?
Roadend
20/12/2007, 8:13 AM
The thing about the Crouch tackle that annoyed me most was that the execution was just so useless. If you're going to get yourself sent off at least do it properly.