View Full Version : Everton and Liverpool discussion
jockser
20/01/2005, 9:23 AM
True. Or at least you could certainly say it about other investment situations - I can't think of another time a country wanted to invest in a club, but certainly one could raise questions about the ethics of taking huge sums of money from Nike (ManU) while they continue to operate sweat shops, use child employees and ban trade unions from their factories in third world countries, or one could question what Roman exactly did to make billions when most in his country struggle to get by.
so conor you have no Nike Addidas Umbro Reebok clothing or footwear? Give it a rest lad will ya!!! :confused: :confused:
jockser
20/01/2005, 10:58 AM
:D :D
When Liverpool fans 'gang up'...
yet again avoiding the topic :rolleyes:
4tothefloor
20/01/2005, 10:08 PM
Not at all. I've said all I want to say, and people like 4tothefloor seem to delight in the 'I hate Kerrymen'
EDIT: Actually, couldn't be bothered replying anymore to this rubbish. :rolleyes: (Whistles........)
Back to the thread topic. Will Everton finish above Liverpool this season? If Dudek & Traore start every week, yes they will. Otherwise, no!
jockser
21/01/2005, 8:34 AM
Not at all. I've said all I want to say
Praise the Lord!!! So no more silly made up comments about Liverpool??
Excellent!!!! But i doubt youll be able to hold your tongue for long....
Im gonna hold you to that statement :p
jockser
21/01/2005, 8:35 AM
will carson go straight into the first team?
can he be any worse than dudek?? Is that possible??
4tothefloor
22/01/2005, 7:58 PM
Didi Hamann probably had his worst ever game today, but to say he is past it is short sighted, and to be fair - a typical barstool slogan.
Garcia worked hard today, but didnt get the rub.
Did you see these two again today? Even barstoolers, whatever thay are, can see at this stage that these are two of our many duds. Absolutely useless. Hamann was so bad, Biscan actually made a difference when he came on! :eek: Dudek hopeless again today for the first goal. For Pellegrino, read Laurent Blanc.
On a better note, Traore was dropped today. I'd like to see the same happen with Hamann, Garcia and Dudek as well.
Rumours are rife that Owen will return in the summer, with Baros getting the boot. Let us pray.....
Dillo
23/01/2005, 12:24 AM
Poor day for Merseyside but to two different extents. We lost a valuable three points at home to a dogged Charlton side. Great strike by Mattie it must be said. But we fought hard and it just wasn't to be. We definitely need a few quality additions to the squad very soon as we appear to be running out of steam in certain areas. We're still very much in line for that Champs Lge spot so fingers crossed.
Things are going from bad to worse on the red half and I'm rather enjoying it. A shambolic display again today against fellow strugglers Southampton! Rafa looks a very stressed individual at the moment and could end up going down the same road as a certain Mr. Houllier.... the faulty ticker and all that! There are so many poor players in the pool side at the minute. It really is alarming. Their season rests on tuesday night on whether they can cling onto that one nil lead away to Watford. Here's hoping the Hornets can turn it around and condemn the scousers to even more failure.... if that's posssible!
4tothefloor
23/01/2005, 6:57 PM
On the other hand, Sunderland and Leeds are supposed to be interested in Le Tallec. Is he as bad as everyone says?
Was rated well ahead of a certain Cristiano Ronaldo (not that this would be hard....) at the World youth championships not too long ago. Le Tallec is a playmaker, most effective in the hole behind the strikers. Under Houllier, he never got a chance in that role....surprise, surprise. So at the start of this season, he demanded first team football from Benitez. Benitez thought this was a bit cheeky and unrealistic from a 19 year old, so he packed him off to St. Etienne on loan. His loan move to France is a complete waste of time as he is not going to learn anything about English football over there. He seems to have a bit of an attitude problem, mainly because he has been destined for greatness for some time, but none of it is really working out.
His demands pre-season were a major own goal on his part, as he would probably be playing a prominant role with Liverpool had he stayed, considering the injuries and lack of attacking options. He's a far better player IMO than Pongolle, so hopefully some English club will sign him on loan and get him used to the English game. Norwich & West Brom are said to be after him as well.
As for the game on Tuesday, Hyypia is out injured now, so Watford have every chance. Why? Because it will mean Djimi Bambi returning to a defence, probably alongside Pellegrino - if that isn't a recipe for disaster.....
Am pretty disgusted with Benitez making Traore a scapegoat.
OK shocking mistake against Burnley but until then he had been one of the most solid performers on the team.
We wouldn't have a lead to take into Tuesdays game but for him.
Sticks Warnock in left back and where do the 2 goals come from?
You guessed it. Rafa basically went and shot himself in the foot.
Apart from that a spineless, gutless empty performance by players who look as if they couldn't care less.
And what about Gerrard? A total passenger on saturday. I dont buy this - he's tired excuse at all. He doesnt want to be there full stop. If Benitez is cute, he'll sell him now, get big bucks for him, and invest in the team.
I also think that Traore was hard done by. Okay, his history with Liverpool has been poor, and I was a huge critic, but from what Ive seen of him this season, he has done very well. He tackles well, gets forward alot and floats in some nice ball. Okay, the OG the other night was brutal, but these things do happen in football. Also, after he went off the other night, I noticed he was sat in the dug out alone. I felt this was very poor management, and showed a distinct lack of team spirit. The guys confidence was obviously shot, so after he was taken off there should have been someone there to put an arm on the shoulder. I certainly doubt that if Wayne Bridge did similar for Chelsea that Mourinho would let him sit alone.
4tothefloor
24/01/2005, 8:42 PM
I certainly doubt that if Wayne Bridge did similar for Chelsea that Mourinho would let him sit alone.
Funnily enough, he probably would! Mourinho doesn't have much time for him apparantly, next man out the door at Chelsea.
Just watching Diouf for Bolton at the moment. Causing loads of controversy again, but is getting the job done. Could do with him at Anfield at the moment, especially when you consider that such class acts as Nunez, Garcia & Mellor are playing in his positions.......we need a bit of fight, too many pansies
25/01/2005, 4:50 AM
Poor day for Merseyside but to two different extents. We lost a valuable three points at home to a dogged Charlton side. Great strike by Mattie it must be said. But we fought hard and it just wasn't to be. We definitely need a few quality additions to the squad very soon as we appear to be running out of steam in certain areas. We're still very much in line for that Champs Lge spot so fingers crossed.
Things are going from bad to worse on the red half and I'm rather enjoying it. A shambolic display again today against fellow strugglers Southampton! Rafa looks a very stressed individual at the moment and could end up going down the same road as a certain Mr. Houllier.... the faulty ticker and all that! There are so many poor players in the pool side at the minute. It really is alarming. Their season rests on tuesday night on whether they can cling onto that one nil lead away to Watford. Here's hoping the Hornets can turn it around and condemn the scousers to even more failure.... if that's posssible!
Well, after we lost on Saturday, Everton's "ten-point lead" over Liverpool celebration party was cancelled after Matt Holland's classic strike. It hasn't escaped my attention that Everton are so overjoyed at beating us, they've only won 2 league games since. They only care about beating us. :( Who's Charlton's next league game against? Take a wild guess!!
In the FA Cup quarter-finals in 1986, we had to go to Watford, in the old tip that was Vicarage Road, for a replay. Our season looked over when John Barnes scored for Watford, putting them 1-0 up with 5 minutes to go. We went straight up the other end, scored from a penalty, won it in extra-time, and went on to win the double. While the game tonight, may not be as important to neutrals, the game may well be a turning point in our season again, good or bad. Hopefully, the '86 game will be a good omen.
Looks like it has gone from bad to worse for Liverpool on the injury front.
Poor ol Pongolle was on the pitch all of 3 minutes last night before being stretchered off with what looked like a knee ligament injury.
On the other hand, there is talk of signing Bellamy from Newcastle. This guy is definitely a good player, but his temprement/commitment have to be questioned after last weekneds debacle with Souness. That said, Souness has a history of this as well. He drove Yorke, Cole and David Dunn out of Blackburn.
26/01/2005, 9:50 AM
On the other hand, there is talk of signing Bellamy from Newcastle. This guy is definitely a good player, but his temprement/commitment have to be questioned after last weekneds debacle with Souness
I hope to God that petulant little pr!ck gets nowhere near the gates of Anfield :mad:
As well as having a reputation amongst his team mates of being a moaner, he also has a p!ss poor record as a goalscorer (odd considering he doesn't like getting played out of position :rolleyes: ).
"He is a first-class moaner. Newcastle’s fans shouldn’t be surprised as he’s acting totally to type. I’d call him a poison dwarf but that would be an insult to dwarves."
Coventry fanzine editor Neville Hadsley gives his unique insight into former Sky Blue Craig Bellamy.
eleven-a-side.com
jockser
26/01/2005, 10:43 AM
Are we feckin cursed with injuries or something???? :( :(
On a brighter note i just booked me flight and accomodation to Cardiff :D :D
4tothefloor
26/01/2005, 11:42 AM
Are we feckin cursed with injuries or something???? :( :(
On a brighter note i just booked me flight and accomodation to Cardiff :D :D
Was going to do the same, but tickets are proving difficult to track down. I've about 20 people between here and the UK on the lookout for me. The packages to the final will be on sale tomorrow, but will prob cost an arm and a leg, especially if it's V Man U.
BTW jockser, where you flying in to and where are you staying? PM me the details if you can please.
On Bellamy, put it this way, he'd be better than what we've got in certain areas at the moment. For £5m, i'd sign him like a shot. We need some home based influence badly.
M@ttitude
26/01/2005, 11:57 AM
http://saints.rlfans.com/fusion_images/steviegerrard.JPG
26/01/2005, 12:24 PM
Could be facing stiff competition from Stoke...
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/n/newcastle_united/4208747.stm
That's priceless that! Talk about a slap in the face for him :D
jockser
26/01/2005, 12:27 PM
nexcastle have said they would listen to loan offers..... he would defo come to us on loan so i think that would be the best option
4tothefloor
26/01/2005, 1:00 PM
http://saints.rlfans.com/fusion_images/steviegerrard.JPG
That's a bit confusing cos Gerrard has always openly said that he grew up watching Liverpool from the Kop, as a Liverpool fan. He looks about 5 yrs old there, so it was probably his Dad trying to force him into being an Evertonian, during their one brief period, sorry no, SEASON, of success. The boy obviously got sense shortly after that photo :D
jockser
26/01/2005, 1:03 PM
saw that pic a few weeks ago its not gerrard anyway its his brother.....
get my PM 4tothefloor?
The women of Liverpool can now work legally!!
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/merseyside/4207391.stm
Keep it quiet.
The Mrs will never let me go again if she hears that.
Well, after we lost on Saturday, Everton's "ten-point lead" over Liverpool celebration party was cancelled after Matt Holland's classic strike. It hasn't escaped my attention that Everton are so overjoyed at beating us, they've only won 2 league games since. They only care about beating us. :( Who's Charlton's next league game against? Take a wild guess!!.
The toffees still rule the roost. Hang your head in shame. Loosing two nil to Southampton is the pits. You've some cheek to challenge an Evertonian after that. God help the scousers when Mourinho's men go into war in Cardiff. Yer one and only hope of a trophy and that hope is now banished! :D
4tothefloor
27/01/2005, 10:05 PM
The women of Liverpool can now work legally!!
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/merseyside/4207391.stm
Wayne Rooney will have a f**kin field day :D
Got it Jockser, although you never said what airport you're flying into....
TheJamaicanP.M.
29/01/2005, 10:49 PM
Great to see Everton marching on in the Cup today. Might be the only hope of silverware for Merseyside this season.
4tothefloor
29/01/2005, 11:19 PM
So yer going to win the FA Cup now as well...... :D
TheJamaicanP.M.
30/01/2005, 9:14 AM
So yer going to win the FA Cup now as well...... :D
Im not an Everton fan and I never said they would win it, but lets face it, its the only chance of silverware for Merseyside this season. The Carling Cup is as good as being on Jose Mourinho's mantle-piece.
4tothefloor
30/01/2005, 1:28 PM
The Carling Cup is as good as being on Jose Mourinho's mantle-piece.
Well we'll just have to wait and see, won't we? By the way, you have to get to the final in ordr to win the cup, which rules out any chance of Everton winning it. No prizes either for being 4th in January.
A comprehensive win over Mick's Black Cats saw Moyes's men march on in the cup! Super turn by Beattie and a great finish... the first of many I shall expect.
Next come ManUre to Goodison. Having been to Old Trafford at the weekend :rolleyes: I must say I am not overly confident off beating the scum. They beat Boro with ease with some very impressive performances. Fat Wayne is sure to get a good reception on his homecoming! :p
31/01/2005, 8:51 PM
Of course he was well built with Everton..
4tothefloor
31/01/2005, 9:06 PM
Having been to Old Trafford at the weekend :rolleyes:
I can't understand why a non Man Ure fan would go to Old Trafford when their team isn't even playing, especially a fan of a Liverpool club. :eek:
I'd rather eat sh*t and die than go their myself.....
01/02/2005, 3:34 AM
The toffees still rule the roost. Hang your head in shame. Loosing two nil to Southampton is the pits. You've some cheek to challenge an Evertonian after that. God help the scousers when Mourinho's men go into war in Cardiff. Yer one and only hope of a trophy and that hope is now banished! :D
Sorry to remind you, but the last time the toffees ruled any roost, was in 1987. Btw, when did Everton last win the League Cup??
So what if you're 4th now, we'll make up those 7 points, no problem. We've made up bigger deficits before. We've still got yous at home on Paddy's weekend, and the last game of the season also at home to come. We may have lost at Southampton, but I believe you've had many similar results over the years, and relegation struggles too. You've been in a few "pits" before, haven't you?
I see the Press, so angry that they got it wrong last summer, are fuelling more false rumours that Stevie G would leave us. The latest rubbish, is that he was "househunting in Surrey" last week. It's no coincidence of course, that we were playing at Watford then. Every time we don't win, it's always the same. "Gerrard's off to Chelsea".
Steven Gerrard is on a long-term contract with LFC. He isn't going to leave before it ends, full stop. Yes, he's frustrated about our progress at the moment, but so is everyone connected with the club, but things will improve with time. It was interesting to hear a quote from Kenyon saying that Chelsea's purse strings "will have to be tightened", following their record financial losses. I think that's all the proof we need. Stevie is staying.
DolansWaistcoat
01/02/2005, 6:24 AM
Next come ManUre to Goodison. Having been to Old Trafford at the weekend :rolleyes: I must say I am not overly confident off beating the scum. They beat Boro with ease with some very impressive performances. Fat Wayne is sure to get a good reception on his homecoming! :p
I was delighted when I heard the draw,knowing one of these scumbag teams will be gone before the quarter final stage but then I realised that utd will prob hammer the poor old toffees once again.
Do everton still have the only chance of silverware of any merseyside club? :D :p
I can't understand why a non Man Ure fan would go to Old Trafford when their team isn't even playing, especially a fan of a Liverpool club. :eek:
Fair enough. I went over there with a fellow manc and I'll be the first to admit it was low of me to sit in the North Stand watching the shower but at the end of the day I'm not just an Everton supporter- I'm a football supporter. Let's just say I was an a scouting mission ;) !
United won't have it easy in Goodison and it may well take a replay to decide it. At least we're still in the cup unlike a team who were recently knocked out by giant killers Burnley!
4tothefloor
01/02/2005, 6:34 PM
At least we're still in the cup unlike a team who were recently knocked out by giant killers Burnley!
Hardly Giant Killers, they're a championship side just outside the playoff spots, and were playing against a predominantly reserve\U21 side. I would say most championship sides are better then premier reserve sides, thus Rafa's own goal. I certainly wasn't surprised that we lost, just dismayed. On a better note, we have just had a weekend off, and another one upcoming. We need it due to injuries.......so it might be a blessing in the long run. Smicer & Kewell are already on the way back :)
BTW mypost, this Stevie Gerrard thing is beginning to get on everyones nerves. It's like a cloud over the club. To be honest, I think Xavi Alonso is far more important to Liverpool than Gerrard is in the long-term. When Alonso plays, everything goes through him, he controls games and dictates things from deep. Gerrard? He's all action, maurading, does dramatic passes and long range shots. He's great when there's an Alonso to do control work, as he can attack which is his best attribute, but without an Alonso, he's not so great. He can't control games and dictate things, hasn't got the discipline cos he tries to do too much. Roy Keane showed this up at Anfield, and Gerrard hasn't played well since Alonso's injury if you ask me.
If we lose Gerrard, we'll get £30m+ (it'll probably be nearer £35m, Parry will fleece Chelsea 'cos he doesn't have to sell). Add that to the £20m that we usually spend during the summer, and you have £50m+ to rebuild the team. It won't be the end of the world if he leaves, and to be honest, I cannot see Gerrard having the same passion for Chelsea as he does for Liverpool. He might be there in person, but his heart will always remain at Anfield. Chelsea might not get what they pay for. It's all hypothetical of course.....I too believe that Gerrard is going nowhere ;)
02/02/2005, 12:09 PM
Very impressed over all last night, Garcia is starting to play and Morientes looks class, even Baros is laying off the ball though I feel he needs a goal at the moment.
Awful goal to give away, in fairness to Traore there were 3 players and him at the far post, he didn't know who to mark.
Kiely kept the score respectable after that, some superb saves.
I think I prefer Igor in the centre instead of Dietmar. Last nights team seemed to be our strongest available 11.
Thoroughly deserved win and done playing some lovely stuff, support was excellent too, Charltons biggest gate in 27 years.
4tothefloor
02/02/2005, 2:33 PM
Yeah Liverpool were excellent last night, hopefully the same team will turn up on Saturday. Could be a turning point, they need to put a run of wins together now. Next month and a half is crucial
03/02/2005, 3:24 AM
If we lose Gerrard, we'll get £30m+ (it'll probably be nearer £35m, Parry will fleece Chelsea 'cos he doesn't have to sell). Add that to the £20m that we usually spend during the summer, and you have £50m+ to rebuild the team.
If Chelsea couldn't sign Scott Carson, they've no hope of signing Steven Gerrard. Chelsea don't need him, we do. Gerrard is our best player at the moment, by a mile. Even if the worst happened, and we had 60 million Euro to spend in the summer, what good is that when we have just lost our leader. Houllier had 200 million Euro to spend when he was in charge, and look where that got him....the sack!
Btw, if we still had Michael Owen, we would be fourth by now!!
4tothefloor
03/02/2005, 10:22 PM
If Chelsea couldn't sign Scott Carson, they've no hope of signing Steven Gerrard. Chelsea don't need him, we do. Gerrard is our best player at the moment, by a mile. Even if the worst happened, and we had 60 million Euro to spend in the summer, what good is that when we have just lost our leader. Houllier had 200 million Euro to spend when he was in charge, and look where that got him....the sack!
Btw, if we still had Michael Owen, we would be fourth by now!!
Don't agree mypost, you're over-looking the fact that Houllier was an incompetent who played puke football. His masterplan was, sign players who are 6ft+ and well built, and barge his way to success. It worked a treat initially cos teams didn't know what hit them playing against a team of giants that defended deeply and used the likes of Owen on the break. Teams sussed this strategy eventually though. When it came to the art of management, i.e. signing the players to move you up to the top level and win you the major trophies, his incompetence was shown up. He wasted £20m on Diouf, Diao & Cheyrou (young players with no prem experience), instead of going out and spending it on Damian Duff , Steed Malbranque or Frank Lampard. All players that were available, what a plonker. He could have got Duff for £12m!
On the other hand, Benitez is a proven winner with Valencia, whose teams play good football, and go about things the right way. When Houllier was in charge, French football was at its strongest. But what top French players did Houllier bring to Anfield? None. Benitez has already brought in two class performers & two of Spains best players in Alonso & Morientes. Garcia is up and down at the moment, but he will get better once he gets used to the physical side of English football. Already you can see as a manager Benitez is in a different class. Once he gets rid of the rest of Houlliers rubbish, you're going to see a very different Liverpool to the one at the moment. Patience my friend... ;) This man isn't going to waste much money, especially £50m if he was given that amount.
Regarding Carson\Gerrard scenario, you can't really compare at all. I actually agree with Conor74! :eek: :D
TheJamaicanP.M.
03/02/2005, 11:38 PM
Don't agree mypost, you're over-looking the fact that Houllier was an incompetent who played puke football.
Thats a but like Pat Spillane's analogy of Ulster football. :D
Closed Account 2
04/02/2005, 12:29 AM
Do everton still have the only chance of silverware of any merseyside club? :D :p
No way, not at all in fact. Tranmere (which is located just inside Merseyside) have a great chance of winning league one, 3 points behind the leaders (Luton Town) and got a 1-1 creditable draw at theirs last weekend (Luton got a very lucky penalty). The worst case scenario is Tranmere end up in the playoffs, and with only 3 other teams in that competition, a chance of Rovers' silverware would be very high indeed.
St. Mary's is never an easy place to go (as Liverpool will tell ya! ) so one must be happy with a point after a poor, lacklustre performance from Everton. Nice to see Beattie score his first Premiership goal against his former club! A satisfactory point means the gap is down to five points. I'll take that come May!
4tothefloor
06/02/2005, 5:56 PM
Yer playing Chelsea next, which will probably be more points dropped. By the time the merseyside derby comes around, there won't be much between the two i'd say. I still fully expect Liverpool to finish fourth, Everton are struggling more game by game. It'll come down to whether Liverpool can win away from home, which is our big problem.
On another note, Morientes is looking good......a few more signings like that and it'll make a big difference. I see Figo is looking to come to the premiership next season ;) I think Benitez should have a serious look at Richard Dunne as well, he's playing unbelievable stuff at the moment and would cost a fraction of what Ledley King would. Needs to replace Hyypia, who is really struggling these days.
DolansWaistcoat
07/02/2005, 6:26 AM
5 points and closing,everton poxed another point yesterday but surely Chelski will be too strong for the journeymen at Goodison. :D I can't wait for the merseyside derby now. :cool:
Everton are grinding out results but its not stopping the gap being cut.
They are getting a lot of luck too lately.
It frustrates me that referees didn't see the handball against Norwich the other night and then again yesterday.
Both inside the box, both stonewall penalties, neither given.
They have been fortunate in lots of games this season, it has to end at some stage. Just pray that its soon. Maybe starting next Saturday.
07/02/2005, 5:34 PM
Any of you Mersey heads recognise this cheeky little chappie..Dillo should appreciate this..
4tothefloor
07/02/2005, 6:40 PM
Any of you Mersey heads recognise this cheeky little chappie..Dillo should appreciate this..
It's already been mentioned, it's Gerrards brother. Gerrard grew up as a Liverpool fan on the kop. True red, always has been.
07/02/2005, 6:49 PM
Fair enough, missed that bit of the thread,you can see why people say it was him though, feckin spit of him.
08/02/2005, 4:33 AM
The toffees still rule the roost. Hang your head in shame. Losing two nil to Southampton is the pits. :D
I take it, that the fact you didn't win down there either is just as bad then, for a team that technically is ahead of us in the league.
In December the gap between them and us was 12 points, now it's down to 5. Yous don't want to play in the Champions League, you're just happy you're ahead of us, for the moment.
Our next home league game is in 6 WEEKS, on Paddy's weekend at home to yous. And if we're ahead of you by then, hopefully you'll come out to play, instead of just lumping the ball out of your own box all day, like you normally do at our gaff. As you've only won 3 league games since the derby, and have to play the teams above you in your remaining games, those 5 points will be made up, no probs. You only have to predict the weekend when the inevitable happens, and we go above yous again. :)
:D :p :eek:
SG in Blue! He'll be blue in a few months anyway- Jose Mourinho's blue! Andy Cole's equaliser in Anfield saturday told us all we need to know. Gerard lost the ball in midfield and instead of trying to win the ball back he resorted to standing in the middle of the park and watch Fulham score as a result. SG has lost interest in playing for Liverpool. He knows he'll never fulfill his ambitions as a player while he stays there. Liverpool are playing rubbish football and struggled for long periods over a mediocre Fulham.