View Full Version : Everton and Liverpool discussion
27/12/2005, 3:00 PM
FTR, Crouch's header was initially touched onto the post by Given. The ball then went in via Given's head. OG.
still crouchs goal in my book;)
27/12/2005, 3:04 PM
still crouchs goal in my book;)*Checks how important De Town's book is*
No, not important:p.
JoeSemi
27/12/2005, 8:44 PM
Score Correction:
Crouch 0-0 Owen.
Liverpool 2-0 Newcastle
Gerrard, Given (og)
You'll have to come up with better than that.
The biggest wind up merchant ever. Its sad to think that a fella has to pretend to be a Liverpool fan to probably hide the shame of supporting some other second rate club, and that 'club' that play in hooped jerseys down EL1.:confused:
Give up on the Crouch vendetta like a good man cause your making yourself look like a bigger clown than you've already made yourself out to be. Owen is history, Newcastle are sh!te and Liverpool are on the way up with the players and management that we are all happy to have except for one clueless individual that goes by the name of mypost. I, and every other right-minded Liverpool supporter, would be happy to see scuttery goals like that from Crouch every week if it meant 3 points. I also happily accept his all round contribution like the beautifully cushioned ball into Gerrards path for his goal yesterday. Take note Michael Owen, its called a first touch! Its called an all-round game that doesn't just revolve around providing service for you in a one-dimensional way. Liverpool have moved on since his departure and there's no need for looking back. Infact, I'll just look back to that night in May once more that he could have been a part of but chose otherwise. All the best Michael, you didn't deserve what was dished out to you yesterday but Liverpool fans are knowledgable football people(with the exception of mypost) and we're more than happy with our lot of present!
Happy New Year mypost and hopefully you'll come to your senses!
27/12/2005, 8:49 PM
and that 'club' that play in hooped jerseys down EL1.:confused: What's even more sad is that you, as an Irishman, don't support an Irish team and probably know little about the EL in general(judging by your confused smiley there:p)
JoeSemi
27/12/2005, 8:55 PM
The smiley indicates my confusion at why he bashes Liverpool when he claims to be a fan, not what your insinuating.
I'd safely say I've kicked a lot more balls in EL football that your good self sligoman. If thats all the ammunition your throwing at me for stating the truth about mypost then you'll need to try better.;) :)
27/12/2005, 10:32 PM
I'd safely say I've kicked a lot more balls in EL football that your good self sligoman.So what, you're saying you used to play in the EL?:rolleyes:. What team in the EL do you support now then?
28/12/2005, 4:58 AM
The biggest wind up merchant ever. Its sad to think that a fella has to pretend to be a Liverpool fan to probably hide the shame of supporting some other second rate club, and that 'club' that play in hooped jerseys down EL1.:confused:
Give up on the Crouch vendetta like a good man cause your making yourself look like a bigger clown than you've already made yourself out to be. Owen is history, Newcastle are sh!te and Liverpool are on the way up with the players and management that we are all happy to have except for one clueless individual that goes by the name of mypost. I, and every other right-minded Liverpool supporter, would be happy to see scuttery goals like that from Crouch every week if it meant 3 points. I also happily accept his all round contribution like the beautifully cushioned ball into Gerrards path for his goal yesterday. Take note Michael Owen, its called a first touch! Its called an all-round game that doesn't just revolve around providing service for you in a one-dimensional way. Liverpool have moved on since his departure and there's no need for looking back. Infact, I'll just look back to that night in May once more that he could have been a part of but chose otherwise. All the best Michael, you didn't deserve what was dished out to you yesterday but Liverpool fans are knowledgable football people(with the exception of mypost) and we're more than happy with our lot of present!
Happy New Year mypost and hopefully you'll come to your senses!
I won't reply to vitriolic personal abuse.
28/12/2005, 11:11 AM
Cool it down in here everyone. You don't want to see such a longstanding thread locked now do you?
JoeSemi - don't reply/encourage him...it'll only get us all rational thinkers irate and say something we shouldn't.
I'm sure you can see exactly why such a thread has got a little heated, Poor Student.
mypost, 8 wins in the league and not a goal conceded and all you can waffle on about again and again (and again and again) is how much of a touch Given got or Pollitt got and whether we're expected to beat teams or not. There has been absolutely no comment on the recent performances because they don't fit your line of thinking of the current regime though. Confused smileys and not responding to personal abuse is seemingly your sum total of posts on Liverpool's run of victories.
I'm sure if we lose tonight or whenever we lose Luton maybe or Bolton perhaps, you'll be first to analyse every little bit though. It actually reminds me of ambulance chasing. Immediately something goes wrong, people jump on it and fail to think rationally that the injury sustained is not as bad as the doomsayers think..
jockser
28/12/2005, 3:54 PM
I won't reply to vitriolic personal abuse.
You didnt reply to me either when i asked you to comment on how good liverpool are playing at the moment :rolleyes:
jockser
28/12/2005, 3:58 PM
Now cmon you mighty redmen lets stuff the bitters tonight!!!!
Redtop
28/12/2005, 4:20 PM
FTR, Crouch's header was initially touched onto the post by Given. The ball then went in via Given's head. OG.
ah come on if was anyone else that got the header im sure you would say they got it jst because its peter crouch:confused: although it was a well directed header there wasn't much power in it but it was a great team performance again by liverpool:D :D
28/12/2005, 4:48 PM
ah come on if was anyone else that got the header im sure you would say they got it jst because its peter crouch:confused: although it was a well directed header there wasn't much power in it but it was a great team performance again by liverpool:D
Or maybe not. Benitez complained after the match that we should have won by more against Newcastle. (True) It was a solid performance, against a side who packed it in early.
The own goal has nothing to do with Peter Crouch. You may remember last season, I judged both Chelsea's winners against us to be own goals by Jamie Carragher, (which they were). There's no such thing as claiming goals. You either score or you don't, and in 5 months, Peter Crouch has actually scored as many goals for the team as Jamie Carragher.
28/12/2005, 7:19 PM
Peter Crouch has actually scored as many goals for the team as Jamie Carragher.The man himself has scored against Everton tonight. 2-0 so far. Crouch and Gerrard after 20 minutes.
28/12/2005, 7:44 PM
and not a goal concededJames Beattie just put an end to that:). Everton scored another goal that was unfairly(in my opinion) disallowed too. Come on ye blues!:p.
Redtop
28/12/2005, 8:06 PM
3-1,cisse c'mon the pool
JoeSemi
28/12/2005, 11:45 PM
So what, you're saying you used to play in the EL?:rolleyes:. What team in the EL do you support now then?
Yes, kicked being past tense as the season is a few months off starting again and I'm not currently kicking ball. There's no point in even getting into it because this thread is a Liverpool-Everton discussion and you've strayed totally off course like Everton's season!
29/12/2005, 2:21 AM
The man himself has scored against Everton tonight. 2-0 so far. Crouch and Gerrard after 20 minutes. Everton scored another goal that was unfairly(in my opinion) disallowed too.
Excellent performance. 2 early goals shut the crowd up. :p Great finish by Crouch for his goal. Everton's goal in the first half, was rightly disallowed, as all of the ball had crossed the byline beforehand.
Next up, one of our favourite opponents, West Bromwich Albion, as they guarantee us 6 points every season. :)
jockser
29/12/2005, 2:48 PM
Excellent performance. 2 early goals shut the crowd up. :p Great finish by Crouch for his goal. Everton's goal in the first half, was rightly disallowed, as all of the ball had crossed the byline beforehand.
Next up, one of our favourite opponents, West Bromwich Albion, as they guarantee us 6 points every season. :)
29/12/2005, 6:08 PM
Everton's goal in the first half, was rightly disallowed, as all of the ball had crossed the byline beforehand.Not a chance. It was clearly still in play. The linesman wasn't even in line with the ball or the line to give a proper judgement. Everton were robbed of a perfectly good goal!
29/12/2005, 6:11 PM
Not a chance. It was clearly still in play. The linesman wasn't even in line with the ball or the line to give a proper judgement. Everton were robbed of a perfectly good goal!
The ball was out.
29/12/2005, 6:17 PM
The ball was out.Hrmmm, I think I'm gonna take Andy Gray's opinion over yours, sorry!:rolleyes::p.
29/12/2005, 6:27 PM
Hrmmm, I think I'm gonna take Andy Gray's opinion over yours, sorry.
Is Andy Gray a new ref?? :confused:
I assume on that basis, that Neville's wild hack on Sissoko wasn't worthy of a yellow card then, no? :confused: :rolleyes:
29/12/2005, 6:33 PM
Is Andy Gray a new ref??
I assume on that basis, that Neville's wild hack on Sissoko wasn't worthy of a yellow card then, no? :confused: :rolleyes:No he's not a ref but he's been analysing games for a lot longer than you have so I tend to go with someone who has experience in that field. Sky aren't paying him cos he's crap;).
As for the Neville tackle, I didn't see it cos I missed the last 30 minutes or so, of the game. I'm sure the ref made the correct decision though.
29/12/2005, 6:45 PM
As for the Neville tackle, I didn't see it cos I missed the last 30 minutes or so, of the game. I'm sure the ref made the correct decision though.
He did.
Gray thought it wasn't correct however, which shows up his "experience" in match analysis. How anyone thinks that a wild swinging leg which catches an opponents ankle isn't worthy of a yellow card, in this case, a second yellow, beats me. :confused:
29/12/2005, 6:49 PM
Gray thought it wasn't correct however, which shows up his "experience" in match analysis. How anyone thinks that a wild swinging leg which catches an opponents ankle isn't worthy of a yellow card, in this case, a second yellow, beats me. :confused:Like I said, I didn't see the tackle so I can't really give a fair comment on weather Andy Gray's opinion was right or not. All I'll say is, Andy Gray is a very good commentator and is usually good at match analysis in my opinion;).
anto1208
29/12/2005, 8:54 PM
the ball was nt out but it would nt have made a difference liverpool were allways in control, the red cards were harsh especially 2 of them any chance everton had went after neville got sent off, the ref ruined what should have been a very good game ,
29/12/2005, 10:52 PM
the ball was nt out but it would nt have made a difference liverpool were allways in controlDon't agree there, goals always(well, most of the time) make a huge difference to a team's morale, weather Pool were in control before or not is irrelevant, scoring a goal like that could have been a big boost to Everton and certainly would have lifted the atmosphere in Goodison.
M@ttitude
29/12/2005, 11:22 PM
Great to see The Pool doing so well at this stage of the season for a change!! I can see us challenging Chelsea next season, seem to be attracting some useful players. Let the good times roll (again) I say..
30/12/2005, 12:26 AM
Liverpool about to sign another defender (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?p=412020#post412020):eek:. Who's gonna lose out to slot him in?
Galwayexile
30/12/2005, 6:19 AM
Jan Kromkamp will provide backup to steve finnan. He can also cover in midfield too.
It seems that rafa is trying to get good alternatives all over the park.
Reina - Dudek - Carson
Risse - Warnock
Finnan - Jan Kromkamp
Hyppia - Traore until liverpool sign someone else
Carragher - Same as above
Alonso - Hamann
Gerrard - Sissoko
Kewell - Zendon till he got injured
Garcia - Hopefully the new player gonzalez will provide once he joins next week. Also pognelle can play here.
Crouch - Mellor once he is fit.
Moro - Cisse
The above doesnt include the talented youngsters liverpool have in the reserves and youth team.
Liverpool are playing some great stuff atm and long may it continue. I was in sinnotts in stephens green on wednesday to watch the first half. The pub was jammed all going for the pool.When everton scored 4 people cheered lol. Where were all these supporters in the last 10 years i say. Finally in the last few years liverpool are now playing the kinda style that win titles. I may be gettin ahead of myself but who gives a toss. Role on the CL game against benfica now. Everton will be lucky not to get relagated as they have been dire this season and proved that last season was a one season wonder.
I wonder if the above poll will be correct!!
anto1208
31/12/2005, 11:12 AM
Don't agree there, goals always(well, most of the time) make a huge difference to a team's morale, weather Pool were in control before or not is irrelevant, scoring a goal like that could have been a big boost to Everton and certainly would have lifted the atmosphere in Goodison.
well considering that would have been 2-1 and everton did score a few mins later to make it 2-1 and it made no difference ,they were in controll and if they had nt taken there foot off the gas they could have easily scored 4 or 5
liverpool were very very good on the night , played like a bunch of pansies but good ones
anto1208
31/12/2005, 11:18 AM
[QUOTE=Galwayexile]Everton will be lucky not to get relagated as they have been dire this season and proved that last season was a one season wonder.
QUOTE]
yip finishing in the top 7 twice under moyes in 3 years has shown that they are a one season wonder allright ;)
they wont go down purely because sunderland brum and pompy are slighty worse ,but if VDM gets fit we ll start winning again , evertons good run started with him reaching full fittness and ended when he got injured again ! coincedence? . he is back next week and hopefully tommy grav or trundle will sign give us an extra boost .
31/12/2005, 2:32 PM
well considering that would have been 2-1 and everton did score a few mins later to make it 2-1 and it made no difference ,they were in controll and if they had nt taken there foot off the gas they could have easily scored 4 or 5
liverpool were very very good on the night , played like a bunch of pansies but good onesWell considering the disallowed goal would have brought it to 2-1 and then scoring a few minutes later would have made it 2-2 then yes, I'd say it would have made a massive difference:).
I'm not even an Everton fan and I'm arguing this:rolleyes:.
I can't keep up with Crouch now....
Crouch 7 - Injured (for months) Owen
Fairly expensive €25m for 5 months of on/off games for Mikey.....:rolleyes: :D
Redtop
01/01/2006, 2:17 AM
crouch 6 in 6 games
01/01/2006, 6:34 AM
crouch 6 in 6 games
Ahem...
Crouch revised total:
3 in 6 months!!!
01/01/2006, 12:25 PM
Ahem...
Crouch revised total:
3 in 6 months!!!
What are you on about?
3 goals:confused:
2 v Wigan
2 v team in World thingy
1 v Newcastle
1 v Everton
1 v West Brom
7 goals;)
anto1208
01/01/2006, 12:44 PM
im sure he means that the 2 goals in a friendly game dont count , and the one v newcastle was an own goal and allthough the one v wigan was given to( him ive no idea how )it was an own goal aswell.
i reckon he means
1 wigan
1 everton
1 WBA
3 goals
id give him 4 at a stretch 5 but dont count goals in friendlies if thats the case surely he has more in pre season warm up games
01/01/2006, 1:40 PM
im sure he means that the 2 goals in a friendly game dont count , and the one v newcastle was an own goal and allthough the one v wigan was given to( him ive no idea how )it was an own goal aswell.
i reckon he means
1 wigan
1 everton
1 WBA
3 goals
id give him 4 at a stretch 5 but dont count goals in friendlies if thats the case surely he has more in pre season warm up games
The World Club thingy isn't a friendly tournament:confused:
I'm tired of this, I follow Everton, fair enough, I hate Liverpool, but I wish people would give Crouch some credit.
01/01/2006, 3:55 PM
I'm tired of this, I follow Everton, fair enough, I hate Liverpool, but I wish people would give Crouch some credit.
I agree. I also hate Liverpool as a Man U fan but lay off him.
01/01/2006, 4:18 PM
i reckon he means
1 wigan
1 everton
1 WBA
3 goals
Correct. :)
Own goals, and "goals" in friendlies don't count. Gerrard's goal in said friendly also doesn't count.
So, we have bought a "fantastic" :rolleyes: €10m striker who has scored the whopping sum of 3 proper goals in 6 months. If we bought any decent goalscorer, he'd be in double figures by now, and we wouldn't be 15 points behind Chelsea. :(
anto1208
01/01/2006, 9:52 PM
[QUOTE=sligoman]Well considering the disallowed goal would have brought it to 2-1 and then scoring a few minutes later would have made it 2-2 then yes, I'd say it would have made a massive difference:).
I'm not even an Everton fan and I'm arguing thisQUOTE]
yea but if the first one hadnt have been dissaloud would we have scored the second one ? ever see back to the future ??:D :D
01/01/2006, 10:42 PM
yea but if the first one hadnt have been dissaloud would we have scored the second one ?That's something we'll never know, but I'd say yes;).
ever see back to the future ??:DYes:D.
02/01/2006, 4:00 PM
Bolton Wanderers 2-2 Liverpool RES
Jaidi 10--------------Gerrard pen 67
Diouf 71---------------Garcia 82
This is the start of it for ye now lads:D :p.
If you had offered me a 2-2 draw being twice behind against a very well drilled team who have conceded 2/3 goals at home all season, lost only once and able to outmuscle and bully us like last year and like they did to Arsenal, I'd snap it out of anyone's hand...
Notwithstanding a poor pitch, diving Diouf and at the end of a very hectic Christmas schedule...
02/01/2006, 4:24 PM
Bolton Wanderers 2-2 Liverpool RES
Jaidi 10--------------Gerrard pen 67
Diouf 71---------------Garcia 82
This is the start of it for ye now lads:D :p.
hehe!!!!
Super Bolton! :cool:
02/01/2006, 4:26 PM
If you had offered me a 2-2 draw being twice behind against a very well drilled team who have conceded 2/3 goals at home all season, lost only once and able to outmuscle and bully us like last year and like they did to Arsenal, I'd snap it out of anyone's hand...
Notwithstanding a poor pitch, diving Diouf and at the end of a very hectic Christmas schedule...Excuses trying to cover up the embarassment is it dfx?:rolleyes::p.
02/01/2006, 4:29 PM
diving Diouf
He was thought that at Liverpool ;)