View Full Version : Everton and Liverpool discussion
jockser
08/02/2005, 3:40 PM
:D :p :eek:
SG in Blue! He'll be blue in a few months anyway- Jose Mourinho's blue! Andy Cole's equaliser in Anfield saturday told us all we need to know. Gerard lost the ball in midfield and instead of trying to win the ball back he resorted to standing in the middle of the park and watch Fulham score as a result. SG has lost interest in playing for Liverpool. He knows he'll never fulfill his ambitions as a player while he stays there. Liverpool are playing rubbish football and struggled for long periods over a mediocre Fulham.
Liverpool FC 3-1 Fulham FC
thank god we didnt play well against them :D :D
4tothefloor
08/02/2005, 6:50 PM
SG in Blue! He'll be blue in a few months anyway- Jose Mourinho's blue! Andy Cole's equaliser in Anfield saturday told us all we need to know. Gerard lost the ball in midfield and instead of trying to win the ball back he resorted to standing in the middle of the park and watch Fulham score as a result. SG has lost interest in playing for Liverpool. He knows he'll never fulfill his ambitions as a player while he stays there. Liverpool are playing rubbish football and struggled for long periods over a mediocre Fulham.
The 'clutching at straws' stage of Evertons season rears it's ugly head again! :D
09/02/2005, 4:22 AM
SG in Blue! He'll be blue in a few months anyway- Jose Mourinho's blue! Andy Cole's equaliser in Anfield saturday told us all we need to know. Gerard lost the ball in midfield and instead of trying to win the ball back he resorted to standing in the middle of the park and watch Fulham score as a result. SG has lost interest in playing for Liverpool.
Taking a trip back in time to our game at home to Palace in November, and their first goal...
...Kewell lost the ball in midfield and instead of trying to win the ball back he resorted to standing in the middle of the park and watch Palace score as a result.
Whether Kewell has lost interest in playing for Liverpool is debatable, but he won't be wearing Chelsea blue in a few months, and neither will Stevie G.
jockser
10/02/2005, 2:02 PM
:ball:
jockser
10/02/2005, 2:03 PM
just keepin this thread floatin :D :D
Saturday is big day for both Merseyside clubs.
Toffees have an early kick off (12:45) at home to Chelsea. The big guns are coming thick and fast with the mancs coming to town a week later :mad: . This is a mammoth task for Moyes' men but I firmly believe we will get a positive result. The same tie a few months ago saw Everton go down one goal to nil at the Bridge. However, the scoreline was a harsh reflection on the overall game as Everton created several chances and definitely deserved a point. It took an individual piece of brilliance from Robbenhood to decide the issue!
Dillo's verdict: Score draw ;)
Rafa's Red Army take on Birmingham at St. Andrews, k.o 3pm. While they have done well there in recent seasons, Birmingham are made of stern stuff as they showed last week in Old Trafford and I fully expect the Brummies to put it up to the scousers. Bruce's latest recruit Pandiani looks a promising prospect and let's hope he can secure all three points for Fat Head Bruce and co! Having said that I'd be satisfied if they hold the red sh!te to a draw. :rolleyes:
Dillo's verdict: Score draw :rolleyes:
jockser
11/02/2005, 8:28 AM
2 points to seperate the merseyside teams come monday......
12/02/2005, 3:36 AM
Saturday is big day for both Merseyside clubs.
Toffees have an early kick off (12:45) at home to Chelsea. The big guns are coming thick and fast with the mancs coming to town a week later :mad: . This is a mammoth task for Moyes' men but I firmly believe we will get a positive result. The same tie a few months ago saw Everton go down one goal to nil at the Bridge. However, the scoreline was a harsh reflection on the overall game as Everton created several chances and definitely deserved a point.
Dillo's verdict: Score draw ;)
Rafa's Red Army take on Birmingham at St. Andrews, k.o 3pm. While they have done well there in recent seasons, Birmingham are made of stern stuff as they showed last week in Old Trafford and I fully expect the Brummies to put it up to the scousers.
Dillo's verdict: Score draw :rolleyes:
How is it that we have done well at Birmingham in recent seasons? :confused: Our record down there is one win and a defeat in 2 seasons since they got promoted. Before then, our last visit there ended in a a 0-0 FA Cup 3rd Round draw in 1995, and a 3-0 win for us in the league in November 1985. Tricky game for us, but we're on a roll and should get at least a draw.
Moan-inho was busy whinging last week, that his team are the first of the top three to have to play this weekend after the internationals. Tough! He has more resources to deal with the scheduling demands of English football, than anyone else. You'd still fancy them to beat Everton, and increase the gap at the top to a staggering 12 POINTS.
DolansWaistcoat
12/02/2005, 8:33 AM
2 points to seperate the merseyside teams come monday......
Hopefully. :)
I don't see it happening though.
Can see the blue sh!ts scrapping out a dour 0-0 with Chelski and liverpool beating fat heads brigade 1-0.
4tothefloor
12/02/2005, 8:17 PM
From a Liverpool perspective, that was a disgraceful performance again today. Especially considering that they knew Everton had lost going into the game. No passion or effort at all, with Gerrard one of the main culprits. Having watched that performance I can't say Liverpool deserve to qualify for the Champions League. People like Djimi Traore shouldn't be allowed near a reserve team shirt, never mind the Champions League.
Can't say much for Everton either who I thought were putrid again today. Apart from set-pieces, do Everton know how to play football at all? James Beattie..... :rolleyes:
No doubting Chelsea played the better football but had Beattie not been sent off for that ludricious act the toffees would probably have snatched a draw. Thought Joseph Yobo was outstanding, Bent as usual ran himself into the ground while Martyn pulled off a string of world class saves. Chelsea are nearly home and dry now and who can begrudge Mourinho's men their first title in 50 years. They are without question the best team in the league.
Liverpool did well not to conceed anything in the second half! :rolleyes: :p :D
TheJamaicanP.M.
14/02/2005, 6:19 PM
No doubting Chelsea played the better football but had Beattie not been sent off for that ludricious act the toffees would probably have snatched a draw. Thought Joseph Yobo was outstanding, Bent as usual ran himself into the ground while Martyn pulled off a string of world class saves. Chelsea are nearly home and dry now and who can begrudge Mourinho's men their first title in 50 years. They are without question the best team in the league.
Liverpool did well not to conceed anything in the second half! :rolleyes: :p :D
Great post Dillo. Beattie's sending off was a huge blow to a highly-charged Everton. It was very much out of character for Beattie. I just hope he didnt damage his fringe when he carried out the head-butt. :) I agree that it will be great to see Mourinho and Duff win everything this season. It would be particularly nice if they win the Champions League as Mourinho will have more European tropies than Ferguscum.
DolansWaistcoat
15/02/2005, 3:19 PM
You know what I miss?
All those posts claiming that Gerrard is the greatest player in the world... :D
Don't worry Conor,when Gerrard plays a stormer in the second leg of the CL game with Bayer and helps get Liverpool through to the Quarters then the posts will be back and the speculation about Stevie going to Chelsea,Real Madrid or Man U(three of the greatest teams in the world by chance I suppose :eek: :D )will be all over the papers again.
Won't be long now. :p :D
jockser
16/02/2005, 8:15 AM
You know what I miss?
All those posts claiming that Gerrard is the greatest player in the world... :D
Even Roy Keane has joined the list now of people who are all wrong about Gerrard :rolleyes:
jockser
16/02/2005, 9:41 AM
Ohhhhhhhh, do you think Roy's opinion matters more than (i) Andy Gray or (ii) Alex Ferguson? Like I'm really interested in the hierarchy of Sky Sports punditry...
I see the Times (English) on Monday spoke about how mediocre Gerrard has been yet again this season. I didn't think it worth mentioning because I find reciting other people's opinion, Roy Keane, The Times or whoever, doesn't really add up to much. I'd much rather have my own tbh...
and so do i have my opinion which funnily enough Keane Ferguson Murinhio Perez etc seem to have the same on this subject
4tothefloor
17/02/2005, 12:20 AM
Gerrard has been found wanting since Alonso was injured, simple fact. IMO, Alonso is the most important player at Liverpool, not Gerrard. When Alonso plays, he dictates and controls midfield. Gerrard doesn't.
Unless Gerrard signs a new contract, he should be sold. Liverpool will look for upwards of £35m for him, I've even heard £50m being mentioned. Chelsea will pay it. They should take the money and run, rebuild the team, and in 3 years time when Liverpool are above a debt ridden Chelsea, offer to buy him back for £3m!
jockser
17/02/2005, 11:14 AM
Gerrard has been found wanting since Alonso was injured, simple fact. IMO, Alonso is the most important player at Liverpool, not Gerrard. When Alonso plays, he dictates and controls midfield. Gerrard doesn't.
Unless Gerrard signs a new contract, he should be sold. Liverpool will look for upwards of £35m for him, I've even heard £50m being mentioned. Chelsea will pay it. They should take the money and run, rebuild the team, and in 3 years time when Liverpool are above a debt ridden Chelsea, offer to buy him back for £3m!
I totally agree Alonso is an amazing footballer but gerard has suffered since alonsos injury big time coz he cant do everything and nobody is there to help him in midfield. Hamann was excellent last season and allowed gerrard to drag us into the CL but he is a shadow of the old hamann this year hence gerrard has no help in the midfield.
I couldnt see keane viera lampard or anyone else donig a beter job surrounded by so much dead wood.
Just coz gerrard hasnt won any games single handed recently which is what we got used to him doing, people start saying he is crap :rolleyes:
He is still number one target for Murinho and Perez, only for gerrard would never play for man utd ferguson would snap him up in a flash if he could and has said so himself.
To take the 35m from chelsea or to build a team around gerrard and alonso is a tough choice but personally id choose the latter
4tothefloor
17/02/2005, 9:54 PM
but if people who watch the games think Gerrard is worse than Alonso, then he can hardly be spoken about as a world great.
Not necessarly worse, the way I would look at it is Alonso fits into Benitez's style of play perfectly. When Alonso plays, Liverpool play the way Benitez wants them to play. Everything goes through him, he drops deep, dictates play, switches the play with one glorious pass. However, when there's no Alonso.............Lets just say Gerrard is not running the show like Alonso did. He's not pulling the strings, anyone can see that. And to be regarded as World Class, well Gerrard is going to have pull up his socks i'm afraid. IMO he has been mediocre this year. At the moment he reminds me of a headless chicken, trying to do it all, but not doing anything properly. His attitude stinks when Liverpool go a goal behind as well, at times recently he didn't seem to want to know.
No doubt he'll be up for the glamour ties in the CL and the League Cup Final, it wouldn't surprise me if he stars in these games. But he has been very disappointing in the premiership, the week in, week out slog doesn't seem to be appealing to him. He needs to sort his head out regarding his future.
19/02/2005, 3:41 AM
LFC fans wish good luck to the neighbours today in the FA Cup. Our only interest in the competition now is to see the red-and-blacks up the road, go out ASAP. Of course, now that we actually want them to win, they'll probably screw up big time. :rolleyes:
If you do manage to win, make the best of it, because we have bigger fish to fry next week, such as Leverkusen in the CL, followed by the League Cup Final at Anfield South next weekend. Enjoy the glamour, from the tv. ;)
4tothefloor
19/02/2005, 8:22 PM
The Everton fans are so stupid they thought Rooney was playing in goals and hit him with a missile, only to realise it was Roy Carroll. At least the Liverpool fans threw their missiles at the right man :p
The 'People's Club' outplayed and outclassed by the multi millioned squad of Manchester United- a term sharing more of the characteristics of an industry than a football club. While it's never nice to loose at anytime and especially not to those it was always going to take a gallant effort for a limited squad like Everton to go on and win the cup anyway. The Moyessiah has bigger fish to fry and a Champions League spot to secure which would cap off a fairytale season for the blues. Everton's next game, a trip to Villa Park holds much more significance than today's FA Cup encounter ever held. Fingers crossed we can do it! :cool:
DolansWaistcoat
19/02/2005, 9:56 PM
The Everton fans are so stupid they thought Rooney was playing in goals and hit him with a missile, only to realise it was Roy Carroll. At least the Liverpool fans threw their missiles at the right man :p
Everton could be in trouble for that incident but it depends on if Carroll and Utd make an official complaint i'd say.
It was probably a pound coin that hit Carroll but it was everton the game was at so a five pence piece would be more realistic. :D ;)
19/02/2005, 10:57 PM
It's up to the referee and fourth official to report it to the FA, nothing to do with United or Carroll. It was live on TV and seen by millions so they're obviously going to report it. Given that Everton have had warnings previously they're going to get severely punished, if they find whoever threw the coin he's going to be prosecuted too I'd say.
jockser
22/02/2005, 12:20 PM
thread was sinking dangerously low there lads!! cmon!!! :D :D
22/02/2005, 12:57 PM
It's up to the referee and fourth official to report it to the FA, nothing to do with United or Carroll. It was live on TV and seen by millions so they're obviously going to report it. Given that Everton have had warnings previously they're going to get severely punished, if they find whoever threw the coin he's going to be prosecuted too I'd say.
Sheer stupidity on behalf of Merseyside police allowing this to be played at 5.30, of course why wouldn't they be out drinking all day.
The crowd trouble is bad news.
33 arrested afterwards in fighting between both sets of fans.
I heard rumours also circulating that the more hardcore Utd fans are going out of their way to get involved in trouble in order to scare Glazer off.
The police seem to think it was fuelled by Utd fans (http://manchesterunited.rivals.net/default.asp?sid=891&p=2&stid=8373829)
Ah will ya p!ss off with your points deduction Conor like a good lad.
As for Liverpool tonight I really fear for their chances. Without their top man SG, they're going to struggle dreadfully. Realistically, if Liverpool want to progress, tonight is a must win game. As they found out a couple of years ago, Leverkusen are a formidable outfit at the BayArena. I cannot see this happening and as a result, this may be Pool's last home Champions League game for years to come. A certain Blue team will be there instead :) .
Having said that, I wish them every success in their bid to reach the last eight.
4tothefloor
22/02/2005, 6:45 PM
BL are very poor opposition at this stage of the competition, only Ramelow and Schneider and their goalie (Butt??) are up to scratch.
You're forgeting that Bayer are up against the dynamic Igor Biscan't, alongside grandad Hamann. Throw in an unfit, and probably half-ar*ed Harry Kewell, the mediocre Luis Garcia (which one will turn up tonight?) and the disasterous Djimi Tra-oh no!-ore. You simply cannot replace the quality of Gerrard, Alonso, Cisse, Morientes. We don't even have Pongolle to bring on. Conor74 - can't see how you can say that the side that will be out tonight should easily account for one that has hammered Real Madrid already in this competition
If Liverpool win at all tonight it will be some achievement.
23/02/2005, 3:22 AM
You're forgeting that Bayer are up against the dynamic Igor Biscan't, alongside grandad Hamann. Throw in an unfit, and probably half-ar*ed Harry Kewell, the mediocre Luis Garcia (which one will turn up tonight?) and the disasterous Djimi Tra-oh no!-ore. You simply cannot replace the quality of Gerrard, Alonso, Cisse, Morientes. We don't even have Pongolle to bring on.
If Liverpool win at all tonight it will be some achievement.
Well, the lads played well again tonight, but you can always count on Dudek to f -it up. That's 3 mistakes in 3 home games in the last 3 months, and they all led to goals. What is it with this bloke? The players have prepared for the last 10 days for the game, go 3-0 up, and he ruins the whole thing again.
We should have enough of an advantage, but we may need to nick a goal or two over there, especially given our away record this season, to complete the job. As Geri will be back for the second leg, it may make things a little easier to deal with. If that's the case Dillo, there'll be more CL home games for us. ;)
23/02/2005, 3:28 AM
Sheer stupidity on behalf of Merseyside police allowing this to be played at 5.30, of course why wouldn't they be out drinking all day.
The crowd trouble is bad news.
33 arrested afterwards in fighting between both sets of fans.
I heard rumours also circulating that the more hardcore Utd fans are going out of their way to get involved in trouble in order to scare Glazer off.
Two words caused the trouble at Goodison last Saturday.
Wayne Rooney
If he had stayed put at Everton last summer, all the trouble at the game would have been avoided.
jockser
23/02/2005, 8:22 AM
I reckon thats the straw that finally breaks the camels back. He wont be at anfield next season. Still you have to be happy with 3-1. Its like having a great night out with mates and someone ruining the end of it by getting into a fight!
We will win in Leverkusen if we play like that again.
4tothefloor
23/02/2005, 10:12 PM
We will win in Leverkusen if we play like that again.
The problem is we won't play like that away from home. Heard someone say that the two guys that got booked for Bayer, Freier and Ponto, are both suspended for the second leg. Their captain Nowotny (spelling) will be missing again as well. So that's good news, they'll actually be even weaker than they were last night.
We'll have Gerrard back, which is a big plus. I can see Benitez using his 4-5-1 line-up which worries me. Hamann, Biscan, Gerrard in the middle, Baros up front on his own, with Riise and Kewell supporting from out wide. It's the mentality that they go into the game with that is vital. If they go in with too defensive a mindset, they'll go out. That is the worry. F**k Dudek anyway, he basically halved their task from needing 4 goals, to now only needing 2.
Next up now are chelsea on Sunday. I'm pretty confident that we'll win this one now. We've nothing to lose, while Chelsea have a few question marks over them after this week. Mourinho was whinging again tonight, refusing to speak to the media after defeat. Chelsea looked tired, especially up front, Mourinho also looks under a lot of pressure. What are the odds of a Liverpool win on Sunday, and also being the only premiership side in the CL Quarter Finals? :eek: :D
jockser
24/02/2005, 7:48 AM
i reckon it will be a 4-5-1- formation for 2nd leg too but with riise and garcia on the wings and kewell on the bench.
I can see us scoring away from home also.
I think we will win on sunday also but thats saying it with the head not only just the heart :)
4tothefloor
24/02/2005, 1:57 PM
Wouldn't play Garcia in the second leg personally, he's too lightweight away from home when we are under the cosh.
Regards Sunday, either Chelsea will come roaring back or they'll be nervous and short of confidence. It'll be interesting, it's a good test of Mourinho's true worth as a manager. He's going to have to earn his money now with the injuries etc, which is no harm. I hope we win, if only to see the smugness wiped from his face afterwards. Then again, he probably won't give any interviews if he loses. If Benitez has any brain at all, he should try and have a friendly chat with the Ref at half-time, drive poor old Jose mad altogether :D
Excellent stuff from the boys in blue today. A huge morale boosting win after the week that was in it. Once again the rising star that is $Leon$ Osman proved his worth to this Everton side and the unthinkable- a place in Champions League is now becoming ever more of a reality.
In many ways, Liverpool's season hinges on tomorrow's Carling Cup :p . I'm not prepared to put money on it but I've a sneaky feeling Liverpool might shade this one. For the good of both Jose and Evertonians, I hope I'm wrong ;) .
TheJamaicanP.M.
27/02/2005, 12:10 AM
Agree with ya 100% Dillo. What a great 3 points for the Merseyside Blues today. I reckon they will go on and take that final CL position now. On a seperate note, I am finally beginning to come round to your way of thinking on Tim Cahill. He is a big talent alright.
However, I believe Jose will get his troops back on track against Liverpool with his first trophy as Blues manager.
27/02/2005, 6:37 AM
Excellent stuff from the boys in blue today.
the unthinkable- a place in Champions League is now becoming ever more of a reality.
Don't get too excited, you only beat Aston Villa away. No prizes for that. However, we have effectively 2 home games in hand on yous. If we beat yous in 3 weeks, and win the other game in hand, the gap is down to 2 points, and we've a handy run-in by comparison. Still fancy 4th?????
4tothefloor
27/02/2005, 9:05 PM
Well put it this way, I think you'll agree that if Everton don't finish above Liverpool this season, you'll never do it. Liverpool will be a bit demoralised after the cup final defeat, especially because they threw it away. To be honest I think all Everton need at Anfield is a point, and fourth is theirs. I have no problems predicting that we'll score against Everton at Anfield, it's keeping them out that's the problem. Dudek is just a joke of a keeper at this stage, while the defense falls asleep too often.
I have no confidence in us winning our away games, we could miss out on the CL because of it. Our only hope could be a premiership winner of the Champions League, which might mean 5th place getting a CL spot.
DolansWaistcoat
27/02/2005, 10:55 PM
Dudek is just a joke of a keeper at this stage, while the defense falls asleep too often.
I have no confidence in us winning our away games, we could miss out on the CL because of it. Our only hope could be a premiership winner of the Champions League, which might mean 5th place getting a CL spot.
Dudek's mistakes are getting more and more frequent allright but he is still more experienced and better than any keeper at the club.If he goes who do we have, an injury prone,and not that great Kirkland and a young fella from leeds.There aren't many great goalies around anymore with Cech being the only outstanding one in the prem.By the way I thought Dudek had a great game today.
Fourth should be easily attained still if the players really put in the effort,they are much better than everton and should be far too strong for them at anfield in 3 weeks.
4tothefloor
28/02/2005, 4:21 PM
By the way I thought Dudek had a great game today.
DolansWaistcoat, you're right, he had a great game. He also had a great game against Leverkusen. But he messed up as well in both of those games. His attempt at saving Chelsea's third is typical of Dudek, fumbling at crucial moments, and always when there is an opposition striker around to knock it in. Had he saved that, maybe we could have gone to penalties. I wasn't impressed with him for the second goal either, he didn't make himself very big against Drogba. In any case, he should've been jumping for that ball and punching it away, cammanding his 6 yard area. Hyypia was at fault as well, but not entirely. Just not good enough. Then there's the Leverkusen goal, after making some blinding saves earlier on in the game. Again, not good enough. What good is a 'keeper that plays superb for 80 minutes, and then goes to sleep for the last 10? Remember Portsmouth at home? I could go on and on and on.....
The fact that United and Arsenal have sh*t keepers as well is no consolation. IMO, Shay Given and Dean Kiely are two premiership keepers who are better than what we have. Carson can't be any worse than Dudek or Kirkland. I'd throw him in at this stage because it's only a matter of time before Dudek drops another clanger.
01/03/2005, 3:46 AM
DolansWaistcoat, you're right, he had a great game. He also had a great game against Leverkusen. But he messed up as well in both of those games. His attempt at saving Chelsea's third is typical of Dudek, fumbling at crucial moments, and always when there is an opposition striker around to knock it in. Had he saved that, maybe we could have gone to penalties. I wasn't impressed with him for the second goal either, he didn't make himself very big against Drogba. In any case, he should've been jumping for that ball and punching it away, cammanding his 6 yard area. Hyypia was at fault as well, but not entirely. Just not good enough. Then there's the Leverkusen goal, after making some blinding saves earlier on in the game. Again, not good enough. What good is a 'keeper that plays superb for 80 minutes, and then goes to sleep for the last 10? Remember Portsmouth at home? I could go on and on and on.....
The fact that United and Arsenal have sh*t keepers as well is no consolation. IMO, Shay Given and Dean Kiely are two premiership keepers who are better than what we have. Carson can't be any worse than Dudek or Kirkland. I'd throw him in at this stage because it's only a matter of time before Dudek drops another clanger.
Even after winning in midweek, I still didn't think we'd win the League Cup Final. With our fragile defence, you wouldn't expect us to hang on for 90 minutes without conceding. Still their equalizer came suddenly, and it was all downhill from there. They were helped by Dudek, who made not one, but TWO errors for their third goal. We have to wish good luck to Chelsea in their quest to buy sorry, win the title. The alternative is another summer of having to listen to how wonderful Fergie's club are. In other words, there is no alternative, Chelsea must win the title.
As for us, on the back of a League Cup Final defeat, we're off to Newcastle next week, who just happen to have won their last 4 games, and with us only getting 1 point there in the last 2 seasons, you'd have to say another defeat, thereby losing more ground to Everton for fourth. :mad:
DolansWaistcoat
01/03/2005, 6:28 AM
Even after winning in midweek, I still didn't think we'd win the League Cup Final.
As for us, on the back of a League Cup Final defeat, we're off to Newcastle next week, who just happen to have won their last 4 games, and with us only getting 1 point there in the last 2 seasons, you'd have to say another defeat, thereby losing more ground to Everton for fourth. :mad:
Always the optimist,eh mypost! ;)
A win against Newcastle,which is very possible and Everton dropping points at the weekend and we'll be laughin again.We will win against everton at Anfield,no doubt about that. :D
anto1208
01/03/2005, 12:54 PM
everton wont drop points at goodison against blackburn , but liverpool prob will drop some away to newcastle that will leave the gapp at 11 points , they wont catch everton , everton are a way better team this year .at anfield liverpool might snatch a draw if they play really well
4tothefloor
01/03/2005, 3:14 PM
Was just looking at the remaining fixtures there. Tried to predict roughly how things will go, and ended up with both sides finishing level on points. Liverpool will have the superior goal difference. Liverpool will have to go unbeaten to have any chance of the Champions League IMO, tough ask at the moment. Not confidet about facing a resurgent Newcastle, and that ***** Souness at the weekend.
Everton:
Blackburn (H) - win - 3 points
Liverpool (A) - lose -
West Brom (A) - win - 3 points
C Palace (H) - win - 3 points
Arsenal (A) - lose -
Man Utd (H) - lose -
Birmingham (H) - win - 3 points
Fulham (A) - draw - 1 point
Newcastle Utd (H) - draw - 1 point
Bolton W (A) - draw - 1 point
TOTAL - 15 points
Liverpool
Newcastle Utd (A) - draw - 1 point
Everton (H) - win - 3 points
Bolton W (H) - win - 3 points
Man City (A) - draw - 1 point
Spurs (H) - win - 3 points
Portsmouth (A) - draw - 1 point
C Palace (A) - draw - 1 point
Middlesbrough (H) - win - 3 points
Arsenal (A) - draw - 1 point
Aston Villa (H) - win - 3 points
Blackburn (H) - win - 3 points <<Liverpools game in hand>>
Total - 23 points
Don't get too excited, you only beat Aston Villa away. No Still fancy 4th?????
Yes mypost. I still very much fancy fourth. The best Liverpool can hope for is a draw at Newcastle. I'll be disappointed if the toffees don't pick up three points at home to Blackburn. At this stage Everton should and won't fear any premiership team- and that includes the top three. The forthcoming Merseyside derby is a huge game for both clubs. I feel very confident that the blues will at least take a point.
On a separate note, I was very pleased to see Jose take his first trophy in English football. His gesture to the media (the Liverpool fans ;) ) was priceless and tells us all we need to know about the 'Special one'. Barring a miracle, the Premiership title is also going to Stamford Bridge.
However, I believe this year's Champions League might be a step too far for Mourinho's blues. Having been to the Nou Camp mid week to watch the might of Barca take on Espanyol, it will take a gallant effort from Chelsea to overcome Rijkaard's charges. While the game finished scoreless, the Catalan giants as we all know play some exquisite stuff. If Chelsea fail to progress, I hope Barca win the CL. It is a special club and a special place.
06/03/2005, 6:48 AM
Liverpool 0-1 Newcastle
Total Garbage!!!!!!!!!!!!! :mad: :mad: :mad:
Next one up, home against the neighbours.
Dillo
06/03/2005, 12:46 PM
Liverpool 0-1 Newcastle
Total Garbage!!!!!!!!!!!!! :mad: :mad: :mad:
Next one up, home against the neighbours.
Are you still confident? :p I lowered myself to watch that game in James' Park yesterday. It was hard to look at. The standard of football from both sides was horrendous. If ye play like that in the Bayarena, Leverkusen will rip use apart. Sad times for football seeing Liverpool in the last 16 anyway. Pure muck, total garbage as you say yourself. :rolleyes:
4tothefloor
06/03/2005, 1:18 PM
Well they go from looking like world beaters at home to being absolutely clueless away every two weeks or so. I'm beginning to have my doubts about Benitez, he doesn't seem to be able to motivate the team, and his tactics away from home are absolutely shocking. As bad as the injury list is and as average as some of the players are, they should still be able to get results away from home. Man for man they are better than Everton in almost every department, yet as a team they don't come close.
Benitez has them going into every away game with a negative attitude. They make no attempt to win away from home, it's all defend with this one-man-up-front rubbish. They're then losing games by the odd goal more often than not, and from set-pieces and stupid individual mistakes. It's the same thing game after game, has Benitez not learned anything since the start of the season? This season has been a complete disaster and is as bad, if not worse, than anytime when Houllier was in charge. They'll go into the Bayer game on wednesday with the same attitude as all the other away games, so i'm not expecting to progress to the next round at this stage.
If Liverpool fail to qualify for the CL, it'll set the club back by about 2 years. Basically we are screwed. Our only saving grace now are the sales of Baros, Diouf and Gerrard, and with the rubbish the latter is serving up at the moment, we might not even get the £35m that everyone says we'll get. To be honest, Liverpool don't deserve to qualify for the CL anyway cos they have been abysmal on their travels this season. It's Everton's to throw away now.
Closed Account 2
06/03/2005, 2:41 PM
Yeah Liverpool were poor, never looked up for it yesterday. I dont see them catching Everton now, there arent enough games to make up the difference and even then I cant see Everton slipping up too much. Benitez has had bad luck with injuries to strikers, but even so he still plays a negative system too often, and with Dudek in goal for much of the season (I know Carson was in nets yesterday) playing defensive football is risky when your keeper has a proven track record of being unable to catch/stop long range shots.
Still you should be good enough to go thru in Germany and then if you get an easy tie next round (eg winners of PSV-Monaco or Werder-Lyon) you could well be in the semi's.
4tothefloor
06/03/2005, 3:47 PM
Bad slip up from Everton. Didn't see that one coming, a lifeline for Liverpool though. Steven Reid was outstanding, as was David Thompson. Pity we don't swap Nunez for Thompson.
if you get an easy tie next round (eg winners of PSV-Monaco or Werder-Lyon) you could well be in the semi's.
I'd prefer to face Inter Milan, or any of the english sides before Lyon. Lyon are sh*t hot at the moment and are serious dark horses for the CL. They're scoring goals for fun.
JoeSemi
06/03/2005, 8:05 PM
Well they go from looking like world beaters at home to being absolutely clueless away every two weeks or so. I'm beginning to have my doubts about Benitez, he doesn't seem to be able to motivate the team, and his tactics away from home are absolutely shocking. As bad as the injury list is and as average as some of the players are, they should still be able to get results away from home. Man for man they are better than Everton in almost every department, yet as a team they don't come close.
Benitez has them going into every away game with a negative attitude. They make no attempt to win away from home, it's all defend with this one-man-up-front rubbish. They're then losing games by the odd goal more often than not, and from set-pieces and stupid individual mistakes. It's the same thing game after game, has Benitez not learned anything since the start of the season? This season has been a complete disaster and is as bad, if not worse, than anytime when Houllier was in charge. They'll go into the Bayer game on wednesday with the same attitude as all the other away games, so i'm not expecting to progress to the next round at this stage.
If Liverpool fail to qualify for the CL, it'll set the club back by about 2 years. Basically we are screwed. Our only saving grace now are the sales of Baros, Diouf and Gerrard, and with the rubbish the latter is serving up at the moment, we might not even get the £35m that everyone says we'll get. To be honest, Liverpool don't deserve to qualify for the CL anyway cos they have been abysmal on their travels this season. It's Everton's to throw away now.
Agree with most of what you've said there 4, but to start doubting Rafa only has a knock on effect and that mindset can't be allowed to dominate in Liverpool supporters minds. The man IS proven and has to be allowed to stamp his own mark on the club, with a couple of years given to him to achieve this. Yes, we may fall behind in the short term and the cash injection might not come from CL football next season, but Rome wasn't built in a day as they say and more to the point , Man*re's dominance didn't happen over night either. Managers need time to adapt as much as players do to a new country and club. Judging by the adoration(bordering on Palestinian proportions!) on the streets of Cardiff last weekend, this will thankfully be granted.
The lingering circus that surrounds Gerrard is like a bad cough at this stage. London reporters in particular are having a field day and IMHO, they will have their way and get him a move to the Blue Sh*te of the South in the summer. Many supporters won't be sorry and i'm guessing some of the players will echo their sentiments. Liverpool have won more points on average without SG in the team and yet the media still love to glorify him by denouncing Liverpool as a 'one man team'. Igor Biscan showed in glimpses y'day what a central midfielder should do when on the ball, but strangely enough gets less of a rating in most papers than 'Mr.Liverpool' himself! The lad can do no wrong in the media's eyes, but he sure can let himself down when it comes to doing what an intelligent footballer and captain should be doing i.e capable of keeping the ball, leading by example, bringing the best out of other players, and not mouthing off after every poor result.
In the case of Steven Gerrard whats good for Everton is good for Liverpool. He should be allowed walk down the same road as his fat friend and join one of the darkside. Then, Liverpool can start thinking of challenging the elite again.