View Full Version : Everton and Liverpool discussion

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 [36] 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61

anto1208
31/10/2006, 11:56 AM
another great result for the blues , with half the team suffering from the flu and a number of others playing on with injuries its a wonder that everton got any points and bar a dodgy free kick they should have got all three .

another goal for cahill thats 7 allready this year what a bargin for 2 mill quid .

now we ve played 3 of the so called big boys and beaten spurs and the red****e pretty easily and getting a point away to the arse thats 7 points from 9 . hopefully injuries dont have the same impact as they did last year .

31/10/2006, 12:43 PM
another great result for the blues , with half the team suffering from the flu and a number of others playing on with injuries its a wonder that everton got any points and bar a dodgy free kick they should have got all three .

:D That's laughable Anto and typical of your over-reaction to a lot of things. Now don't get me wrong, it was a good result for Everton and I'm sure all the supporters would be happy with a point there but Arsenal had 7 shots on target and Everton had 2 (including the goals).

Also, Arsenal had 13 shots off target compared to Evertons 0. So all in all Arsenal had 20 attempts at goal compared to Evertons 2 and you think that you should have got all 3 points? Just be thankful you got a point in a game where Arsenal dominated you and stop this silly talk of being unlucky not to have had all 3.

BTW, agree with you about Cahill. Great player.

anto1208
31/10/2006, 1:33 PM
:D That's laughable Anto and typical of your over-reaction to a lot of things. Now don't get me wrong, it was a good result for Everton and I'm sure all the supporters would be happy with a point there but Arsenal had 7 shots on target and Everton had 2 (including the goals).

Also, Arsenal had 13 shots off target compared to Evertons 0. So all in all Arsenal had 20 attempts at goal compared to Evertons 2 and you think that you should have got all 3 points? Just be thankful you got a point in a game where Arsenal dominated you and stop this silly talk of being unlucky not to have had all 3.

BTW, agree with you about Cahill. Great player.

leading 1 nil with 10 mins to go and drawing, thats unlucky! ,they were 10 mins away from it plus it was a dodgy free kick awarded aswell .

playing well doesnt just come down to how many shots on target there is on the stats sheet , your defenders, keeper & midfield might play really well yet you only get one shot on target .

the everton players who where sick with the flu played out of there skin to keep arsenal at bay and deserved to take all 3 points.

31/10/2006, 2:30 PM

the everton players who where sick with the flu played out of there skin to keep arsenal at bay and deserved to take all 3 points.

Sentiment doesn't come into it. Statistics do. They were thoroughly outplayed therefore hardly deserved a point let alone 3.

anto1208
31/10/2006, 4:11 PM
if it was somebody that knew what they where talking about then id rise to the bait but its you:D i know there is no point explaining why you should nt judge a teams performance on the stats .

while 20 attempts on goal says they were all over us , 13 off target says they were reduced to pot shots from way out .

7 on target is below average for a home side of arsenals quality, shows that the everton defence were on top of there game ,and the keeper did his job .

Since i actually watched the game i can tell you while the arsenal fowards where better and created more chances than the everton fowards , the everton defenders and goal keeper outplayed any player on the pitch .

01/11/2006, 7:56 AM
So what does 2 shots in the WHOLE game tell you? I know you can be a bit simple at times but even you will struggle to tell me that you should have taken 3 points with that.

It REALLY is as simple as that Anto, when you're in a hole you can't get out of, you should stop digging. Defenders are paid to defend and while they played well, Arsenal still had TEN TIMES the amount of shots that Everton did. Just because you think they played well you say that Everton deserved the 3 points? Hilarious :D :D :o

01/11/2006, 8:30 AM
Attacking is only one element of the game. Defending is also a very important part. Everton's defence was class on Saturday as was Tim Howard in goals. For the defensive performance alone Everton deserved at least a point.

anto1208
01/11/2006, 10:03 AM
So what does 2 shots in the WHOLE game tell you? I know you can be a bit simple at times but even you will struggle to tell me that you should have taken 3 points with that.

It REALLY is as simple as that Anto, when you're in a hole you can't get out of, you should stop digging. Defenders are paid to defend and while they played well, Arsenal still had TEN TIMES the amount of shots that Everton did. Just because you think they played well you say that Everton deserved the 3 points? Hilarious :D :D :o

that it only takes everton 2 shots to do what took arsenal 20 shots .

so acording to you its who ever has the most shots deserves to win !!! , what if we just took 21 random shots from anywhere on the pitch so our stats read 21 shots to 20 would we have deserved the points then would we ?? thats the dumbest thing ive ever heard .

by the way you calling me simple is like a homeless man slagging the colour of my house !!

football is a team game your defenders and keeper are just as important to the team as the strikers. and if your defenders manage to keep a team as good as arsenal at bay for 80 mins and only come unstuck to a brilliantly taken free kick then they are unlucky to not get the win . it really is a simple concept : winning for 80 mins then drawing = unlucky

the defence worked so hard that day that they deserved all 3 points , im not saying everton out played arsenal or that arsenal didnt dominate the game but that the defenders deserved all 3 points for the effort they put in .

01/11/2006, 10:07 AM
Oh no another deluded Everton supporter who thinks they "deserved at least a point" because they managed to reduce Arsenal to only having ten times the amount of shots that Everton did. :D

It was a good point for you but in realistic and factual terms it was a fortunate point. On another day the Gunners could have had 4 or 5.

anto1208
01/11/2006, 10:07 AM
Attacking is only one element of the game. Defending is also a very important part. Everton's defence was class on Saturday as was Tim Howard in goals. For the defensive performance alone Everton deserved at least a point.

dont bother trying to explain in his world if a team has 4 crap shots on goal and miss them all and your team has 2 and sticks both of them the other team deserves the points !!!!!

plus he still manages to talk about matches he has nt seen , and tells people who did watch it what actually happed !!:D :D

01/11/2006, 10:14 AM
the defence worked so hard that day that they deserved all 3 points , im not saying everton out played arsenal or that arsenal didnt dominate the game but that the defenders deserved all 3 points for the effort they put in .

:D Keep it up! The defense worked so hard they deserved the 3 points. Sure God love 'em, they worked hard and were knackered so lets give them the points! I can't stop stop laughing.....really! Arsenal 62% possession which indicates they dominated which in turn led to 20 attempts at goal.

I won't mention anymore because you just can't see the common sense past the blue mist. You've seriously gave me my first good chuckle of the day though, good one lads;) :D

01/11/2006, 10:16 AM
P.S. Last word I promise. I play football on Saturday afternoons ;) so don't get to watch live games. I did see the extended highlights though and that was enough for a blind man to see Arsenal were well on top.

01/11/2006, 10:19 AM
No one is denying that Arsenal were on top. However being on top alone doesn't give you the points, you have to break down the defence you are playing in front of and only for a Dodgy free kick they had failed to capitalise on their dominance.

Roadend
01/11/2006, 10:23 AM
Just when you thought Everton had shaken the dogs of war reputation.....

anto1208
01/11/2006, 11:53 AM
P.S. Last word I promise. I play football on Saturday afternoons ;) so don't get to watch live games. I did see the extended highlights though and that was enough for a blind man to see Arsenal were well on top.

ill put it to you this way so since you play , you have a game on sat verses one of the best teams in the league , on the day you and 6 others on the team have the flu ( so your allready ******'d ) 3 others have other little injuries . you are away from home . all the chips are stacked against you getting anything from the game . you score first then brilliantly defend for 80 mins . your defenders play so well that only 6 shots get near the keeper all the rest go into the stand thanks to your defenders , the keeper plays so well that he stop all of the shots that come near him . your team has put in a massive effort to keep them out , then the ref gives a dodgy free kick and they score !!

and you think your team doesnt deserve even a point because you only had 2 shots on target ???

everton worked so hard for that point so hard in fact that they deserved all 3 because arsenal didnt put in the effort , of course they will have way more shots on target they are a top class team playing at home against at best top 10 team away and sick with the flu .

want to talk about deluded fans ??? who was it said there team where going to challenge chelsea for the the league !!!!! now thats deluded

01/11/2006, 7:31 PM
who was it said there team where going to challenge chelsea for the the league

Which is still very possible, btw.

anto1208
03/11/2006, 8:57 AM
Which is still very possible, btw.

saying it at the start of the season sounded dumb , now its just idiotic .

utd wont even manage to keep up with chelsea and there twice the team liverpool are .

lost to Utd
drew with blackburn
lost to bolton
lost to chelsea
lost to everton
drew with sheff utd !!!!!!!!

Roadend
03/11/2006, 12:24 PM
saying it at the start of the season sounded dumb

To non-football types it did, yes.

04/11/2006, 4:20 AM
saying it at the start of the season sounded dumb , now its just idiotic.

I refer you to last month's post:

we have valid excuses, in that we have to play away to all our rivals and Everton early on. We are off to Arsenal as well next month, so we may be quite a distance behind soon. But after that, our season should get going, with home games to all our rivals between January and March. Combine that with consistency in beating the cannon fodder and the biggies dropping points against each other, and we should be up there for the title by the spring.

When you have understood the above, you will also realise that we still have to play 28, yes 28 league games in 6 months to pull back 11 points.

In 1981/82, we only won 6 games by Christmas and were in mid-table, yet still won the league. In November 1985, we were 10 points+ behind the leaders, and won it. In March 1989, we were 18 points behind leaders Arsenal, and took the title race all the way to injury time on the final game that season. In Istanbul, we were 3 goals down at HT, and still went on to win the European Cup.

Who said we were out of the title race this year? Anto, Alan Green, and Andy Gray, that's who, who are all old enough to know better. :o Nobody is better at comebacks in England, than Liverpool FC.

casso36
06/11/2006, 7:56 AM
Is'nt it great to see the Blue****e!!! finally go where they deserve!!
Down the table!!:D

anto1208
06/11/2006, 8:14 AM
Is'nt it great to see the Blue****e!!! finally go where they deserve!!
Down the table!!:D

strange i could have sworn that was liverpool below us !?!

casso36
06/11/2006, 9:15 AM
strange i could have sworn that was liverpool below us !?!

On Goal Difference Only!!!! Well my prediction few weeks ago starting to come through now!!!

End of Januarary Blue****e 13th Liverpool 3rd, End of Season Liverpool Champions 06/07 Everton? i'll say 12th the best Blue****e will finish!!

06/11/2006, 10:09 AM
Casso, I admire you're optimism but given the poor start we had I'd say we're looking at 2nd at best and more likely 3rd. As much as I'd love to see it I think we've messed up our chances of being Champions this season.

casso36
06/11/2006, 10:23 AM
Casso, I admire you're optimism but given the poor start we had I'd say we're looking at 2nd at best and more likely 3rd. As much as I'd love to see it I think we've messed up our chances of being Champions this season.

Have Faith Drink!!:D

Think we will go very close, if we loose to Arsenal on Sunday then were screwed!!! Look at it this way, we still have Arsenal to Play twice, Cheski once, And Manc scum one, if we win all them thats 12 points and puts us 1 point ahead!!:D

So Have Faith!! And we'll all meet in THE PARK, Across from the stadium to celebrate!!!!;)

Roadend
06/11/2006, 12:46 PM
Have Faith Drink!!:D

Think we will go very close, if we loose to Arsenal on Sunday then were screwed!!! Look at it this way, we still have Arsenal to Play twice, Cheski once, And Manc scum one, if we win all them thats 12 points and puts us 1 point ahead!!:D

1) If we lose we're no more screwed than we are now.
2) If we win all those games we're only 6 points closer to Arsenal and 3 closer to the other two.

casso36
06/11/2006, 2:19 PM
1) If we lose we're no more screwed than we are now.
2) If we win all those games we're only 6 points closer to Arsenal and 3 closer to the other two.

Knew i should have stayed out of pub yesterday!!!! :o

She's always right!!! I never listen to Her!!:cool: :D

4tothefloor
06/11/2006, 11:13 PM
Anyone see Andy Johnson's theatrics again at the weekend? Hilarious but cringeworthy. The man is a joke, he's on a par with Robben. Andy 'the feather' Johnson :rolleyes:

06/11/2006, 11:53 PM
Anyone see Andy Johnson's theatrics again at the weekend? Hilarious but cringeworthy. The man is a joke, he's on a par with Robben. Andy 'the feather' Johnson :rolleyes:

What's worse are the 'expert' pundits who actually thought it was a penalty, ffs...and Rooney's as well.:rolleyes:

anto1208
07/11/2006, 12:45 PM

still not as bad as steven "there was intent " gerrard :D

4tothefloor
07/11/2006, 1:09 PM
steven "there was intent " gerrard :D
You'll have to think of a better one than that :D

casso36
09/11/2006, 8:02 AM
So where's all the Blue****e now???

How did he miss that at the end?? Donkey!!!

Typical knocked out already expect nothing better!!!

09/11/2006, 10:53 PM
Everton First Team 0 Arsenal "D" 1:) :)

anto1208
14/11/2006, 9:50 AM
[QUOTE=casso36;569125]Have Faith Drink!!:D

Think we will go very close, if we loose to Arsenal on Sunday then were screwed!!!

[QUOTE]

are ye finally going to admit it , even rafa has come out and said its all over :D when will ye learn every summer its the same thing :p

anto1208
14/11/2006, 10:27 AM
Cahill out for up to 12 weeks !!

evertons top scorer is out for up to 12 weeks after a clash with carsley on sat , he will be a big blow but hopefully they swap to 442 as moyes has had to play 5 in midfield with cahill on the pitch . hopefully moyes makes a move for alan smith who is availabe for loan .

Roadend
14/11/2006, 12:43 PM
Now, that's what you get for coming out with the comment on Liverpool, you realise that you are now a jonah.

15/11/2006, 12:17 PM
Cahill out for up to 12 weeks !!

evertons top scorer is out for up to 12 weeks after a clash with carsley on sat , he will be a big blow but hopefully they swap to 442 as moyes has had to play 5 in midfield with cahill on the pitch . hopefully moyes makes a move for alan smith who is availabe for loan .
That's a major blow for Everton.

Smith is going nowhere.

anto1208
21/11/2006, 3:40 PM
What a screamer from artetta to beat Bolton at the weekend , a big victory for the blues . just what they needed hopefully they can get back to winning ways now .

22/11/2006, 9:48 AM
What was that about Liverpool winning the league.

Roadend
22/11/2006, 10:37 AM
You follow spurs if I'm not mistaken :rolleyes:

26/11/2006, 6:34 AM
Post Arsenal-report:

2 games played, 4 points gained. With Portsmouth, Wigan, Fulham, Charlton, and Watford to play in the next 5 games, there is a good opportunity for 15 points to be gained, and with the big guns taking points off each other in that time, momentum for us to build on towards the top two.

Good luck to Chelsea today, btw.

casso36
27/11/2006, 1:03 PM
Blue****e on the way down!!! Happy Days!

I think my predictions are starting to come true!!

We can still catch them if they keep taking points off each other!

anto1208
29/11/2006, 10:40 AM
Its not looking good for tonight away to Utd , missing Howard, Hibbert , Cahill and AJ !!! Could get embarressing with dickie wright back in goals :o :(

anto1208
06/12/2006, 9:16 AM
Great win for the toffs when you consider they where without Hibbert , Neville
, Artetta , Cahill ,Davies and Aj with a dodgy hamstring , Delighted to see James vaughan score after being out for the last 18 months

This is taken from a Liverpool fanzine so ignore to glaring contradictions( like when it says “bill got investment from Earl” followed by “bills failure to get investment into the club” ) and sneaky little digs at everton but sums up the stadium situation at the moment and the feeling of selling out to the arabs that is going around the fans at the mo ( I know ye “fans “ on here would love to be the new cheslea despite the fact ye have constantly slagged them off for buying the league im looking foward to seeing how ye justify this one ye allways make me smile with ye're red blindness )

Liverpool's proposed takeover by Dubai International Capital will change the face of football on Merseyside.

And not just for those who have made Anfield their footballing home.

A key component of the plan by the Dubai government's investment arm, is that they will fund Liverpool's new £200m stadium in Stanley Park, just yards from The Kop.

You can expect this to lead to Everton confirming they are leaving Goodison Park and moving to a new stadium of their own.

Everton have not been governed by Liverpool's decision - far from it. They have been working behind the scenes making plans of their own.

They have been in talks with Knowsley Council about developing a new 55,000-seater stadium at nearby Kirkby.

Supermarket giant Tesco are also involved in the ambitious scheme - with chief executive Sir Terry Leahy a fanatical Everton fan and an advisor to the club's board.

Knowsley's council is desperate to attract Everton to what is expected to be a lavish £250m development - handing over land reportedly worth around £50m.

The sub-plot to Liverpool selling out to Dubai and receiving the cash for Stanley Park is that it closes off one of the three options Everton had considered.

They could share with Liverpool, redevelop Goodison, or move.

Dubai's takeover ends the share option - to which Liverpool had adopted an "over our dead body" approach.

Everton insiders have long regarded the re-development of the ageing Goodison Park as a non-starter, land-locked and surrounded by terraced housing.

And anyone who has watched one of the grand old stadiums become sadly dated in recent years can only agree with that view.

The romantics may say otherwise but they are living in a dream world.

So Everton are left with the move.

It has long been the favoured option, but previous attempts have run aground.

Now represents the most likely time and best opportunity for Everton to make their move.

And Everton fans should prepare themselves for an initial annoucement shortly that will bring the prospect even closer, perhaps even before the end of the year.

Chairman and owner Bill Kenwright can also move forward with a united boardroom after the recent departure of adversary Paul Gregg, who sold his 23% stake in the club to Planet Hollywood founder Robert Earl.

All the noises coming out of Everton suggest the Kirkby deal offers a fantastic opportunity, both from a financial and football perspective.

The involvement of the council and Tesco reduces the financial burden - and finally gives Everton the opportunity to cash in fully on their potential.

The only murmurs have come from traditionalist fans unhappy that Everton may end in a home outside the city boundaries - surely a minor consideration in the grand scheme.

Kirkby is barely outside Liverpool, but in situations such as this some doom and gloom merchants who follow the club would complain even if Everton announced they were building a golden footballing palace slap in the city centre.

The vast majority of Everton fans are likely to embrace the scheme with open arms, especially when they see their neighbours and rivals on the move to new premises as well.

Liverpool City Council is keen to keep Everton within its boundaries, but their interest looks to have come too late.

Everton have somehow missed out on the new investment in the Premiership - despite owner Kenwright claiming he is constantly searching.

This leaves a ground move as their best bet. Put your money on Everton moving to Kirkby.

06/12/2006, 10:13 AM
( I know ye “fans “ on here would love to be the new cheslea despite the fact ye have constantly slagged them off for buying the league im looking foward to seeing how ye justify this one ye allways make me smile with ye're red blindness )

The main difference IF it happens is that Liverpool has always been a family club and has always been a club with soul and tradition. Chelsea on the other hand have not in most people's eyes.

No matter what money the club will potentially have to play with, one of the most important things to every Liverpool fan is to continue to see homegrown talent given the chance to come through. I don't think that will ever change as it is a huge part of the clubs identity.

anto1208
07/12/2006, 8:45 AM
The main difference IF it happens is that Liverpool has always been a family club and has always been a club with soul and tradition. Chelsea on the other hand have not in most people's eyes.

No matter what money the club will potentially have to play with, one of the most important things to every Liverpool fan is to continue to see homegrown talent given the chance to come through. I don't think that will ever change as it is a huge part of the clubs identity.

Hey i think someone is logging on under your name and posting sensible answers , you should think about a password :D :D :D

07/12/2006, 9:05 AM
Hey i think someone is logging on under your name and posting sensible answers , you should think about a password :D

:p :D

11/12/2006, 1:42 AM
Post Arsenal-report:

11 points taken from 15 available, and into the CL qualifying positions. The fightback has begun. :)

11/12/2006, 11:11 PM
11 points taken from 15 available, and into the CL qualifying positions. The fightback has begun. :)

And meanwhile where might Everton be?:)

11/12/2006, 11:24 PM
I hear Newcastle have offered Liverpool 7million for Peter Crouch:eek:. While Pool will be trying to sign Torres from Athletico.

anto1208
12/12/2006, 10:26 AM
And meanwhile where might Everton be?:)

where we said we would be !! whats that ye are title contenders ho ho ho