View Full Version : Everton and Liverpool discussion
anto1208
01/03/2007, 3:23 PM
Mikel Arteta is Merseyside's Player of the Season so far
The official Barclays Premiership Actim Index has the Blues midfielder in 6th position in the 2006-07 playerS rankings list.
He is the highest-ranking Mersey-based player, and is only headed by Didier Drogba, Cristiano Ronaldo, Frank Lampard, Gareth Barry and Wayne Rooney.
Arteta has been in sparkling form as Everton continue the push for a European qualification position in the Premiership table and he is just ahead of Steven Gerrard and Steve Finnan in the rankings.
Tim Howard, who recently committed his long-term future to the Blues, has entered the list of the Top Five goalkeepers and the official list also confirms that Andy Johnson is the top striker on Merseyside this season.
The Everton top-scorer is ranked 17th in the Top 100, with Dirk Kuyt being his nearest local rival back in 29th.
01/03/2007, 3:23 PM
So there is no contact when you shoulder someone or when you fly into a tackle and knock the man off his feet but it's legal as you got the ball??
Laughable.
anto1208
01/03/2007, 4:00 PM
So there is no contact when you shoulder someone or when you fly into a tackle and knock the man off his feet but it's legal as you got the ball??
Laughable.
1.while running for a ball you can run shoulder to shoulder you can t push the player off the ball with you shoulder .
Hence my its a non contact sport BUT THERE WILL BE A LIMITED AMOUNT OF CONTACT
2.Yes as your winning the ball without knocking the player , he falls after you have won the ball. its a by product of the tackle , you arent knocking the player to win the ball .
Are you saying that if i go into a tackle with 2 feet and studs up ,one knocks the player but the other gets the ball then its legal just because i touched the ball ??
now thats laughable ..... but why dont you put a smart answer and some roll eyes smiley's as you normally do ...sure if you think your right then who cares.
Now im sure technically its a "contact sport" as there will be contact in the same way holding hands with your missus is contact, its a far cry from rugby tackling her .
in rugby you tackle the player in football you play the ball .
Can Réiteoir come in and help us & Anto here?:D
02/03/2007, 7:51 AM
Hence my its a non contact sport BUT THERE WILL BE A LIMITED AMOUNT OF CONTACT
Contradicting yourself AGAIN. Lets leave it there Anto. It's not funny anymore watching you trying to reason against reason.
anto1208
02/03/2007, 8:41 AM
Contradicting yourself AGAIN. Lets leave it there Anto. It's not funny anymore watching you trying to reason against reason.
Your an idiot of course there will be some contact every sport has contact basket ball has contact but its a non contact sport as well ,even a game a chess will have some contact FFS .
Im the one contradicting myself ...your the one saying its a contact sport but at the same time saying it was a peno because the defender made contact :confused: :confused:
But why im argueing with a liverpool fan that reads the Sun ill never know :mad:
02/03/2007, 9:05 AM
Your an idiot of course there will be some contact every sport has contact basket ball has contact but its a non contact sport as well ,even a game a chess will have some contact FFS .
But why im argueing with a liverpool fan that reads the Sun ill never know :mad:
Less of the insults Anto, don't take it out on me because you're showing yourself up and making a fool of yourself. The games over lad, give it up. ;) :D
I don't buy the Sun btw.
anto1208
02/03/2007, 10:51 AM
Less of the insults Anto, don't take it out on me because you're showing yourself up and making a fool of yourself. The games over lad, give it up. ;) :D
I don't buy the Sun btw.
You drive me to it with your condescending comments , think ill just ignore you from now on .
02/03/2007, 10:52 AM
Please do. I get no joy from showing you up.
casso36
02/03/2007, 11:10 AM
Anto,
Do us all a favour and ignor the website!!!!:D :D
Anto
As a fellow Everton supporter I admire your resilience at trying to come out of every discussion on top. Just do me a favour and ackowledge the fact you are posting on a forum where the point is to generate discussion on matters that are relevant to all. Please try and understand you are constantly contradicting yourself on this thread and your never ending tedium on Everton versus the "s**e" is an embaressment. Pulling statistics and opinions from a varity of sources and posting them as here as your opinion really shows a lack of imagination. The facts are that Liverpool is a city that loves football.
Liverpool and Everton are english football clubs.
Both have a connection with the Irish .
Liverpool are the more successful club in Liverpool
Everton are not.
Steve Gerrard is a cheat, so fcuking what its a win at all costs business
Andy Johnson is a cheat, as above
Neither club will win the premiership in the next few years, though Liverpool will get there before the club that we support.
Liverpool have 5 European cups we have none. Please don't show another lack of imagination and start spouting on about Heysel and the usually small dick Everton rhetoric about what could have been only for the ban....la la la la la .....
Prediction for tomorrow Everton will beat Sheffield Utd , Andy " the feather "Johnson will fall over in the box , we will get a penalty for a bad , missed timed tackle or the lack of intelligence from a Sheffield Utd defender who will block a run from someone and / or show intent to make a tackle....on and on and on we go.
Thank God its Friday and here my rant ends.
Come on the Toffees the second tier of European football needs you.
02/03/2007, 1:46 PM
Excellent post First. All true too except the Stevie Gerrard line ;) :p :D
anto1208
02/03/2007, 2:14 PM
Anto
As a fellow Everton supporter I admire your resilience at trying to come out of every discussion on top. Just do me a favour and ackowledge the fact you are posting on a forum where the point is to generate discussion on matters that are relevant to all. Please try and understand you are constantly contradicting yourself on this thread and your never ending tedium on Everton versus the "s**e" is an embaressment. Pulling statistics and opinions from a varity of sources and posting them as here as your opinion really shows a lack of imagination. The facts are that Liverpool is a city that loves football.
Liverpool and Everton are english football clubs.
Both have a connection with the Irish .
Liverpool are the more successful club in Liverpool
Everton are not.
Steve Gerrard is a cheat, so fcuking what its a win at all costs business
Andy Johnson is a cheat, as above
Neither club will win the premiership in the next few years, though Liverpool will get there before the club that we support.
Liverpool have 5 European cups we have none. Please don't show another lack of imagination and start spouting on about Heysel and the usually small dick Everton rhetoric about what could have been only for the ban....la la la la la .....
Prediction for tomorrow Everton will beat Sheffield Utd , Andy " the feather "Johnson will fall over in the box , we will get a penalty for a bad , missed timed tackle or the lack of intelligence from a Sheffield Utd defender who will block a run from someone and / or show intent to make a tackle....on and on and on we go.
Thank God its Friday and here my rant ends.
Come on the Toffees the second tier of European football needs you.
Oh YAWN ............
I dont claim things ive cut and pasted as my own , i dont claim everton arent english ,ive never said liverpool havent been more succesfull .
A win at all costs ?? Not for me id rather lose honestly than win cheating.
You say its a forum for discussion between everyone , am I not part of that everyone , and this page always goes dead until I rile up some reds its just a bit of a laugh FFS no one takes it seriously
[QUOTE=anto1208;634484]Oh YAWN ............
I dont claim things ive cut and pasted as my own , i dont claim everton arent english ,ive never said liverpool havent been more succesfull .
A win at all costs ?? Not for me id rather lose honestly than win cheating.
....;)
ye're blindness towards liverpool is unreal .If only everyone was as evenhanded and as rational as yourself. :D
It says a lot when even Everton fans are embarrassed of you.
05/03/2007, 1:21 AM
Prediction Everton-Sheffield Utd , Andy " the feather "Johnson will fall over in the box , we will get a penalty..on and on and on we go.
Spot on. ;)
anto1208
05/03/2007, 8:59 AM
just counting down till anto comes on and laughs at us
Glad to see your looking foward to it :D , but i feel no need to laugh at ye at all in fact im not going to disscuss anything liverpool any more that will make ye happy .
Im more concerned about Cahill who broke his foot and is out for the rest of the year , A kick in the stones if ever there was one hopefully fernandes steps up . An ok result at least it pushes us up into that 6th spot .
Looks like David Nugent is pushing again for his move to Goodison
The following is a cut and pasted quotation from an outside source the opinions included are not those of anto1208 nor of his management or affiliates Anto1208 accepts no liability for any loss, damage or inconvenience caused through relying on the information
"Hopefully I'll be in the Premiership with Preston this summer. If not, someone else as every young player wants to be there. Everton, for me, would be the dream. I've always wanted to play for them. It'd be unbelievable and, hopefully, it'll happen one day. That's where I want to be." DAVID NUGENT PRESTON
First
05/03/2007, 12:15 PM
[QUOTE=First;634425]
Prediction for tomorrow Everton will beat Sheffield Utd ,
Ooops:o
papa-j
06/03/2007, 2:28 PM
Lads, there is a group of us travelling to Liverpool on a stag this w/end. Its been a few years since I 've been there, anyone got a few pointers on where to go/ where to avoid for the nightlife. Can you also recomend a good bar to watch Ireland win the triple crown on Sat? cheers.
Roadend
06/03/2007, 4:02 PM
Loads of bars down Matthew street.
If you're there on a Friday try and get into the Grafton.
papa-j
06/03/2007, 4:14 PM
Loads of bars down Matthew street.
If you're there on a Friday try and get into the Grafton.
:D the grafton...been there mate too classy for our group:D
anto1208
06/03/2007, 5:00 PM
Lads, there is a group of us travelling to Liverpool on a stag this w/end. Its been a few years since I 've been there, anyone got a few pointers on where to go/ where to avoid for the nightlife. Can you also recomend a good bar to watch Ireland win the triple crown on Sat? cheers.
Mattews street or the circus( big square full of bars) are your best bets for plenty of boozed up scouse girls .
Dont know about during the day i normally drink in the Winslow but i wouldnt recomend it, its one of "the Firm" pubs .
Dont know about any strip joints,but as its liverpool if you have to pay for it there is something very wrong !! :D .
There used to be a strip place called Angels but last i heard its now a gay bar .
I'd say you have a hotel by now but the Dolby on the Docks is ok £50 a night but within walking distance of the city centre , Just dont ever stay in the Adelphi they have a very bad reputation for having rooms robbed .
Hope that helps a bit .
There used to be a strip place called Angels but last i heard its now a gay bar .
What a turn up that would be if you went there on a stag night! :D
anto1208
07/03/2007, 8:31 AM
What a turn up that would be if you went there on a stag night! :D
"This place is popular with the guys and everyone is so friendly" :D :D
papa-j
07/03/2007, 8:55 AM
"This place is popular with the guys and everyone is so friendly" :D :D
"great service, the bar maid is so friendly and keeps staring at me...strange but I've never heard of a bar maid called Dave before!!!:D
Roadend
07/03/2007, 9:13 AM
:D the grafton...been there mate too classy for our group:D
Curses, foiled again;)
07/03/2007, 4:34 PM
Concert Square is a great spot with loads of good bars there ditto mathew street , walkabout , modo , the office , revolution , bumper live , rubber soul all get the gustavo seal of approval .
4tothefloor
08/03/2007, 10:00 PM
I just won in the Uefa lottery, 2 tickets to the champions League Final in Athens. Come on u Redmen, we better ****in get there! :D
anto1208
09/03/2007, 8:29 AM
I just won in the Uefa lottery, 2 tickets to the champions League Final in Athens. Come on u Redmen, we better ****in get there! :D
Dam you i got the old .
We are sorry to inform you that, as a result of the lottery process, your ticket Application with the Booking ID: ***** for the UEFA Champions League Final 2007 has not been successful. :(
09/03/2007, 8:53 AM
I'll take them off you if Liverpool dont get there and you dont want them!
anto1208
09/03/2007, 9:57 AM
Good points on bluekipper re. moving out of the city
- When Everton first played on Stanley Park it was outside the city boundary.
- When Everton first played at Priory Road it was outside the city boundary.
- When Everton first played at Anfield it was outside the city boundary.
- When Everton first played at Goodison Park it was outside the city boundary.
- When Everton eventually play in Kirkby it will be outside the city boundary.
Map of Anfield/Stanley Park 1889: http://i1.tinypic.com/3ycdl3s.jpg
First
09/03/2007, 10:26 AM
Good points on bluekipper re. moving out of the city
- When Everton first played on Stanley Park it was outside the city boundary.
- When Everton first played at Priory Road it was outside the city boundary.
- When Everton first played at Anfield it was outside the city boundary.
- When Everton first played at Goodison Park it was outside the city boundary.
- When Everton eventually play in Kirkby it will be outside the city boundary.
Map of Anfield/Stanley Park 1889: http://i1.tinypic.com/3ycdl3s.jpg
And when Everton win something it will be out of this world:)
Erstwhile Bóz
09/03/2007, 11:01 AM
Quarter-final draw
AC Milan v Bayern Munich
PSV Eindhoven v LIVERPOOL
Roma v Manchester United
Chelsea v Valencia
(First legs to be played on 3/4 April and second legs on 10/11 April)
Semi-final draw
Chelsea or Valencia v PSV Eindhoven or LIVERPOOL
Roma or Manchester United v AC Milan or Bayern Munich
(First legs to be played on 24/25 April and second legs on 1/2 May)
Roadend
09/03/2007, 3:48 PM
And when Everton win something it will be out of this world:)
The Martian cup in 3478, have faith you may not have to wait that long.
reder
12/03/2007, 10:40 AM
Dam you i got the old .
We are sorry to inform you that, as a result of the lottery process, your ticket Application with the Booking ID: ***** for the UEFA Champions League Final 2007 has not been successful. :(
An evertonian applying for tickets for a game that Liverpool will probably be in. ;) ;) (Jumping on our bandwagon.)
Didnt apply for the CL final myself, will be sorted from the club. However since the UEFA cup final is in Hampden I decided to apply for that, (Its still open btw).
Avoid the Adelphi at all costs it is a complete hole, easily the worst hotel in liverpool city centre. I have heard of countless people who have had stuff (particularly tickets) stolen whilst staying there. Also the middle floor is full of prossies at the weekends.
anto1208
12/03/2007, 11:09 AM
An evertonian applying for tickets for a game that Liverpool will probably be in. (Jumping on our bandwagon.)
Didnt apply for the CL final myself, will be sorted from the club. However since the UEFA cup final is in Hampden I decided to apply for that, (Its still open btw).
Avoid the Adelphi at all costs it is a complete hole, easily the worst hotel in liverpool city centre. I have heard of countless people who have had stuff (particularly tickets) stolen whilst staying there. Also the middle floor is full of prossies at the weekends.
Oh that bandwagon is well and truly full :p
No one told me there were prossies there :D .
The cabby i got to drop me off warned me said he had mates over for the horse racing and they had a few grand taken from under the bed , i thought a they were prob just ****ed up paddy's untill that morning my room door opened and in walks some bird for a look around , i reckon if id been down for breaky id have been cleaned out .
Its bad when the cops are warning people not to stay there i remember reading that something like 50% of the hotel crime is in that one !!! .
papa-j
14/03/2007, 10:44 AM
Oh that bandwagon is well and truly full :p
No one told me there were prossies there :D .
The cabby i got to drop me off warned me said he had mates over for the horse racing and they had a few grand taken from under the bed , i thought a they were prob just ****ed up paddy's untill that morning my room door opened and in walks some bird for a look around , i reckon if id been down for breaky id have been cleaned out .
Its bad when the cops are warning people not to stay there i remember reading that something like 50% of the hotel crime is in that one !!! .
Lads, we had a great time at the w/end. The adelphi was fine, 23 of us stayed and nobody had anything taken or any problems at all. Breakfast was ****e though but the happy hour from 11am till 4pm made up for that, Stg 1.10 a pint. I think they have cleaned up their act recently. Mad city and very friendly, especially towards the Irish.
anto1208
14/03/2007, 12:37 PM
Mad city and very friendly, especially towards the Irish.
Especially the girls ;)
18/03/2007, 5:55 PM
Great win today.
18/03/2007, 10:38 PM
The reason our game was bad yesterday was because, the league season is over, and the fact that all the international players don't want to get injured before playing in the European qualifiers next weekend. Games like yesterday are typical of games played in March.
anto1208
20/03/2007, 9:01 AM
A massive win looking at the results around us it was important to get something out of the game & the way we have been playing lately I was quietly confident but 15 mins into the game I knew it was there for the taking. Restricted them to a hand full of chances mainly down the Lee carsley, I was glad to see him get the man of the match he has been playing that well all season but rarely gets the praise. some nice play by artetta and new boy Fernandes in midfield and AJ up front chasing everything . Great to see james Vaughan start after 14 months out . And of course yet another clean sheet . :D
46 points now as long as they dont do the obligatory everton end of season fall away they should get a Uefa spot .
Also this weekend the first summer signing Lukas Jutkiewicz from Swindon to add to the impressive list of young players moyes has brought into the reserves.
The people's club got an incredible 6751 through the gates for their "Unfinished business" with Barcelona.
Pretty sad (for the charity it was trying to raise money for) and embarassing. Some of the Barca fans cancelled because of a lack of crowd!
Just incase you are wondering about the "Unfinished business" title the promo will tell you all.
86 PAYBACK TIME.
Watch with us as our glourious team of 85 take on the might of Barcelona in what should have been a re-run of the 1986 European Cup Final. Ifitadntavebeenferdemmerrderrinredbastids......... ......20 European cups in a row... World domination.... Rooney would have stayed..... Kendall and Moyes dream ticket........ Nurse, the screens.
This DVD is not available in any shop.
anto1208
30/03/2007, 1:07 PM
The people's club got an incredible 6751 through the gates for their "Unfinished business" with Barcelona.
Pretty sad (for the charity it was trying to raise money for) and embarassing. Some of the Barca fans cancelled because of a lack of crowd!
Just incase you are wondering about the "Unfinished business" title the promo will tell you all.
86 PAYBACK TIME.
Watch with us as our glourious team of 85 take on the might of Barcelona in what should have been a re-run of the 1986 European Cup Final. Ifitadntavebeenferdemmerrderrinredbastids......... ......20 European cups in a row... World domination.... Rooney would have stayed..... Kendall and Moyes dream ticket........ Nurse, the screens.
This DVD is not available in any shop.
again a silly little snide remark aimed at everton about giving to charity from the club that gave an incredible £0 to charity .:rolleyes:
Charity donations
....team.....turnover....donation
1. spurs ......74.1m..................4.5m
2.Boro.........51.9m..................105,645
3.Everton.....58.1m..................82,984
12 Liverpool....121,676m...............0
Risse bankrupt WTF !!!!!
Erstwhile Bóz
31/03/2007, 11:54 AM
Fecking class goal for Liverpool after 4 minutes.
Erstwhile Bóz
31/03/2007, 12:24 PM
Crouch gets another, 34 minutes. Brilliant header :eek:
that gave an incredible £0 to charity .:rolleyes:
Charity donations
....team.....turnover....donation
1. spurs ......74.1m..................4.5m
2.Boro.........51.9m..................105,645
3.Everton.....58.1m..................82,984
12 Liverpool....121,676m...............0
Paper talk and nonsense as you well know Anto. By the sounds of things you know a fair bit about the city and you know both clubs contribute a lot to the local community. Kuyt has his own charity that he runs with his wife.
Things like this never seem to make the papers for some reason.. Bellamy charity (http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/news/drilldown/N155431070330-1327.htm)
PS : Alan Stubbs and a few other blues were in the hospital last week visiting kids and he spent a few hours there, spent a good 20 mins talking to my niece. She is a blue and it cheered her up no end, she was down in the dumps before that so I have to give him top marks for that.
It a shame the papers dont bother printing this type of thing, they are only interested in the negative stuff it seems.
anto1208
03/04/2007, 9:50 AM
Dissapointing last night , played so well in the first half then lost it with 10mins to go . Still it was a joy to watch artetta making an ass out of Mcann and Vaughan hitting the outside of the post from 30 odd yards .
Should have been a peno when Aj was taken out of it from behind still we are getting used to it now thats about the 10th stone wall peno not given this year ( even keith Hackett agrees ).
Still at least its a point away from home and keeps the push on , We still have to play Bolton but last 2 games are Utd and Chelsea :eek: so the next 5 games are must wins
Should have been a peno when Aj was taken out of it from behind still we are getting used to it now thats about the 10th stone wall peno not given this year ( even keith Hackett agrees ).
What's that cliche - these things balance themselves out over time...at last it looks true in this case ;)
anto1208
03/04/2007, 10:15 AM
What's that cliche - these things balance themselves out over time...at last it looks true in this case ;)
Good stuff that means we have loads of soft Steve G peno's coming our way so ;)
03/04/2007, 10:38 AM
We still have to play Bolton but last 2 games are Utd and Chelsea :eek:
Last two games are Portsmouth and Chelsea. United is before that.