View Full Version : Everton and Liverpool discussion
Dillo
13/03/2006, 10:57 AM
[QUOTE=anto1208]crouch is a joke, and after his day in the sun people can finally see that all he brings to the team is some one to aim all those long balls at . he missed yet another free header from 6 yards out .
i still can t belive liverpool fans where compairing him and beattie and they called beattie the waste of money .
beattie 25 starts 11 goals
crouch 33 starts 6 goals
I didn't even bother bringing up the Beattie/Crouch debate anto!:D
There's no point rubbing it in anymore! :p
Crouch, Cisse, Kewell, Traore... the list goes on
JoeSemi
13/03/2006, 7:40 PM
So what's your take on the fabulous achievement of another big game defeat, at Arsenal?? A game which featured yet another classic Crouch contribution; an awful miss from a free header, 6 yards out. :rolleyes: That was the sum total of his contribution to the cause for the day.
= Liverpool 1-2 Arsenal
While far from being solely responsible for our problems, That bloke (I'm being nice), is costing us a lot more than €10 million in results. Centre forwards score goals, he doesn't. When you consider the amount of money we paid for him, the fact he's played every week since, the fact he has scored a miserly total of 4 goals in 8 months, he takes a large share of the responsibility for our bad results. He must be sold asap, for someone who knows where the net is.
Let's take Crouch first then. I'm by no means a psychologist but by the sounds of your one-dimensional attack on Crouch I sense the lad's appearance may have something to do with your dislike for him? Yes, yo'ure great with your stats and people are happy to listen to tripe like that for so long, and then it gets boring. See the bigger picture like a good man. Peter Crouch is by no means the finished article and, yes, he hasn't scored enough goals. I think I'll trust Rafa Benitez on this one and not the master tactician that is mypost;)
You mentioned the word problems? It's really problematic when they have considerably reduced the gap on Chelsea from last season-and Man USA for that matter. They are comfortably sitting above Arsenal and have just been knocked out of the Champions Lge as current holders. The manager is probably the most coveted in the world right now and there is a fan base of global proportions. Money is a bit tight but I think Rafa has done more than enough in his short space of time to satisfy true Reds fans.
Just as a matter of curiousity, do you know where the net is yourself?!
JoeSemi
13/03/2006, 7:44 PM
Arsenal totally deserved their win yesterday. Garcia's goal should never have stood as Cesc was clearly fouled but thankfully Henry got the just reward. Alonso should not have been sent off but there's no doubt the gunners deserved the three points. Henry and co are a different class.
Easy on Cesc Dillo, your very protective of him. Although Xabi, like yourself, should know not to dive into Cesc at his age:p
14/03/2006, 1:30 AM
by the sounds of your attack on Crouch I sense the lad's appearance may have something to do with your dislike for him?
It's problematic when they have considerably reduced the gap on Chelsea from last season.
20 points/37 points. Much of a muchness if you ask me. Tell me what you win for finishing the season way behind the champions? Even Fergie hasn't figured that one out yet, and he's been in this game for 20 years.
The manager is probably the most coveted in the world right now.
Money is a bit tight.
That coming from one of the richest clubs in Europe, and a G-14 member. :D
See the bigger picture.
Sure, no problem.
Worst start to a season since 1992/93.
Out of the League Cup in Round 1.
Out of Europe before Paddy's Day.
Scored less than 35 goals in 29 league games.
A yawning 20-point gap to the league leaders by March, and more worringly, increasing.
That is the bigger picture
jockser
14/03/2006, 9:58 AM
mypost...do you want me to quote you where you said 2nd place is looking assured now (for liverpool)but thats not good enough?!?!
Stop making an ass of yourself!:D
anto1208
14/03/2006, 12:31 PM
[QUOTE=JoeSemi] Peter Crouch is by no means the finished article and, yes, he hasn't scored enough goals. I think I'll trust Rafa Benitez on this one and not the master tactician that is mypost;)
You mentioned the word problems? It's really problematic when they have considerably reduced the gap on Chelsea from last season-and Man USA for that matter. They are comfortably sitting above Arsenal and have just been knocked out of the Champions Lge as current holders. The manager is probably the most coveted in the world right now QUOTE]
there is no way crouch should be on any prem team never mind the england squad he is just bad at football his height has gotten him this far all he has to his game is headering and he is very poor at that even , but he does suit rafa's long ball tactics so i see why he bought him .
i dont buy this he wasnt bought to score goals does rafa apply this to all the strikers he brings in ?:D have they got 10 between them yet .
:D :D
Worst start to a season since 1992/93. Best defensive run the club has ever had.
Out of the League Cup in Round 1. Go support Wigan then
Out of Europe before Paddy's Day. Go support Arsenal then.
Scored less than 35 goals in 29 league games. Second best defence in the country. A yawning 20-point gap to the league leaders by March, and more worringly, increasing. Go support Chelsea then.
Whatever you do don't think you support Liverpool.
anto1208
14/03/2006, 1:54 PM
:D :D
Whatever you do don't think you support Liverpool.
why because he doesnt blindly follow like the rest of ye sheep :)
the very fact he doesnt rate crouch and wont accept second place proves he is a real fan that wants to see his team succeed rather than plod along like the rest of ye seem happy to do
papa-j
14/03/2006, 2:40 PM
the very fact he doesnt rate crouch and wont accept second place proves he is a real fan that wants to see his team succeed rather than plod along like the rest of ye seem happy to do
If you dont rate crouch as a footballer, then you know nothing about football.
He is not & never will be a prolific goalscorer but that does not mean he is not a good footballer. He is a target man / hold up player with a great touch & good vision. He also never gives up which is an admirable quality considering some of the chancers playing in the premier league. The problem is that we failed in signing our primary goalscoring targets during the summer & jan window. That will be put right this summer & then all you begrudgers will see why crouch is highly rated by the Liverpool manager/players/ fans & most pundits. However Traore/Garcia/Cisse & morientes will all be moved on as they are not good enough for Liverpool. Apparently Everton are interested in signing Traore.....go figure
anto1208
14/03/2006, 3:49 PM
If you dont rate crouch as a footballer, then you know nothing about football.
He is not & never will be a prolific goalscorer but that does not mean he is not a good footballer. He is a target man / hold up player with a great touch & good vision. He also never gives up which is an admirable quality considering some of the chancers playing in the premier league. The problem is that we failed in signing our primary goalscoring targets during the summer & jan window. That will be put right this summer & then all you begrudgers will see why crouch is highly rated by the Liverpool manager/players/ fans & most pundits. However Traore/Garcia/Cisse & morientes will all be moved on as they are not good enough for Liverpool. Apparently Everton are interested in signing Traore.....go figure
oh great an other one of these i know more about football than you debates let me nip this in the butt right now .
target men gets goals and sets them up for his fellow strikers
crouch 7 goals 1 assist in 35 odd games end of discussion ,4 prem league goals 1 cup goal and i think 2 were from that friendly tournament that no one bar liverpool fans count . we ll say 5 goals in total
yip he is great
papa-j
14/03/2006, 4:06 PM
oh great an other one of these i know more about football than you debates let me nip this in the butt right now .
target men gets goals and sets them up for his fellow strikers
crouch 7 goals 1 assist in 35 odd games end of discussion ,4 prem league goals 1 cup goal and i think 2 were from that friendly tournament that no one bar liverpool fans count . we ll say 5 goals in total
yip he is great
for a blue nose you sure are arrogant. Of course you would miss the main point in the post. Now take your time & read it again, then sit down & think rather than rattle off stats.
then sit down & think rather than rattle off stats.
Nah, that won't happen....I'd say half of anto's and mypost's posts have been statistics that suit their biased opinion - i.e. facts they pick out to suit them (instead of looking at how many Liverpool conceded, mypost looks at how many were scored etc. etc.) I'd give up if I were you.
Stats are perfect for the lazy, uneducated about football comments - pity they don't understand how the stats come about (i.e. not understanding football matches). Stats they can understand, but anyone can read stats, not everyone can understand football, it seems.
14/03/2006, 5:20 PM
for a blue nose you sure are arrogant. Of course you would miss the main point in the post. Now take your time & read it again, then sit down & think rather than rattle off stats.
Cool it down there papa-j.
anto1208
14/03/2006, 9:27 PM
Nah, that won't happen....I'd say half of anto's and mypost's posts have been statistics that suit their biased opinion - i.e. facts they pick out to suit them (instead of looking at how many Liverpool conceded, mypost looks at how many were scored etc. etc.) I'd give up if I were you.
Stats are perfect for the lazy, uneducated about football comments - pity they don't understand how the stats come about (i.e. not understanding football matches). Stats they can understand, but anyone can read stats, not everyone can understand football, it seems.
id dont need stats to know crouch is bad they are for ye're benifit as ye seem unable to crasp the concept that peter crouch is bad at football
also a point holds more weight if you back it up with a thing called facts aka stats rather than just the ramblings of a mad man .
maybe with ye're huge crasp of football knowlege ye can explain to me
1) what does atarget man do if he does nt score & does nt set up goals cant head & gives the ball away ,does nt defend has bad controll and is a poor passer . other than give ye a target for all the long balls hoofed up the pitch :p
14/03/2006, 9:36 PM
the very fact he doesnt rate crouch and wont accept second place proves he is a real fan that wants to see his team succeed rather than plod along like the rest of ye
My point exactly. Can't put it better than that!
Too many posters who claim to support the club here, have the Brian Kerr football mentality.
"Sure, so what if we failed to qualify for the World Cup, we were only losing in the qualification group for 20 minutes, weren't we? Aren't we great to have managed that. We only conceded 5 goals in the campaign, fantastic defensive record." :rolleyes: Where did it get us? 4th place in the group, and Brian Kerr the sack.
Winners win, also-rans console themselves. I want Liverpool, like Rovers and Ireland to win, not be collecting comfort crumbs for competing.
Dillo
15/03/2006, 12:20 PM
for a blue nose you sure are arrogant.
What's that supposed to be mean??
The way the toffees are playing at the moment, blue noses can afford to be arrogant and cocky. ;)
Peter Crouch m ar$e. :D :rolleyes:
Dillo
15/03/2006, 12:21 PM
for a blue nose you sure are arrogant.
What's that supposed to be mean??
The way the toffees are playing at the moment, blue noses can afford to be arrogant and cocky. ;)
Peter Crouch me ar$e. :D :rolleyes:
anto1208
15/03/2006, 12:36 PM
Its typical liverpool fans they come on slag off beattie for being a waste of money some one who has scored 11 goals allready this season , when we point out crouch they get all defensive and pull out the old you know nothing about football responce .
i think regarding crouch as a good player and beattie as rubbish proves very well who doesnt know what there talking about .:p
jockser
16/03/2006, 2:08 PM
Rafa to sign til 2010...GET IN!!!:)
anto1208
20/03/2006, 10:01 AM
the toffees now in flying form 4 -1 vs villa pushing them up into the top half of the table and looking to lead a late charge on the europeen spots ,
Scored less than 35 goals in 29 league games.
A yawning 20-point gap to the league leaders by March, and more worringly, increasing.
That is the bigger picture
1. 35 in 29 turns into 43 in 31. Still the second best defence in the country though.
2. An increasing 20 point gap? I think you'll find it has massively increased up to a whopping 14 point gap now.
3. More points than last year already.
4. More away wins than last year by February of this year.
Personally I'd prefer to be an also ran who had to put up with Crouch and sneaking second place with delusions of first place than playing beautiful Beattie and trying to sneak an Intertoto spot with delusions of adequacy.;)
anto1208
20/03/2006, 12:12 PM
Personally I'd prefer to be an also ran who had to put up with Crouch and sneaking second place with delusions of first place than playing beautiful Beattie and trying to sneak an Intertoto spot with delusions of adequacy.;)
then you should be happy so shut up moaning :D :D
the toffees now in flying form 4 -1 vs villa pushing them up into the top half of the table and looking to lead a late charge on the europeen spots ,
It just keeps getting better and better!
Should maintain the winning streak on saturday too. ;)
20/03/2006, 6:04 PM
1. Still the second best defence in the country though.
2. 20 point gap? I think you'll find it has massively increased up to a whopping 14 point gap now.
3. More points than last year already.
4. More away wins than last year by February of this year.
In case you missed it earlier...
Too many posters who claim to support the club here, have the Brian Kerr mentality. "Sure, so what if we failed to qualify for the World Cup, we were only losing in the qualification group for 20 minutes, weren't we? Aren't we great to have managed that. We only conceded 5 goals in the campaign, fantastic defensive record." Where did it get us? 4th place in the group, and Brian Kerr the sack.
Crumbs, crumbs, crumbs, cru....
JoeSemi
20/03/2006, 9:50 PM
Story of your life by the looks of it!
jockser
21/03/2006, 8:27 AM
Story of your life by the looks of it! LOL the way he quotes HIMSELF to back up his arguements is hilarious!!:D :D
Not forgetting that the quotes of himself used by himself miss the point entirely (still not missing it as much as a Drogba shot though ;) )..
jockser
22/03/2006, 9:05 AM
15 goals in 3 games....lovely :D
right ! who is next for a whipping!!!???:cool:
22/03/2006, 9:11 AM
I think liverpool have been very good this season against the average and lowly clubs but when they have come up against the top teams they have failed. 2 defeats to Chelsea in the League. One point from Man Utd. 3 points from Liverpool.
There last 3 games have been handy games and that is why the up turn in their form. It was the same before and just after x mas that they went on a great run due to the fact that they had no hard games. The minute they had to play the top teams they went out of the Champions League and lost to Arsenal Chelsea and Man Utd.
jockser
22/03/2006, 10:56 AM
I think liverpool have been very good this season against the average and lowly clubs but when they have come up against the top teams they have failed. 2 defeats to Chelsea in the League. One point from Man Utd. 3 points from Liverpool.
There last 3 games have been handy games and that is why the up turn in their form. It was the same before and just after x mas that they went on a great run due to the fact that they had no hard games. The minute they had to play the top teams they went out of the Champions League and lost to Arsenal Chelsea and Man Utd.
dont agree with you there, your arguement is way to simplistic and selective.. They lost to arsenal but beat them 2 weeks before that. they also beat manu in the cup 2 weeks after they lost in the league(the game they lost to manu at old trafford they were by far the better team) they lost to chelsea at stamford bridge......no harm in that as everyone looses there. They lost to benfica because they played very poorly NOT because benfica outplayed them.Your point on them winning 10 games in a row were all "handy" games is rediculous as there are very few "handy" games in the premiership.....if there were why dont the top teams do it all the time?
Its only liverpool 2nd season under Benitez and he has done a fantastic job and has improved the team greatly in each year. They will continue to get better and better under him.
I really don't get why people go on about only beating the poor teams - I thought we had already had this argument during the season. There are 4 excellent teams in the Premiership and 16 others.
You'll go much further winning against the 16 than against the four. It's why Chelsea will win the league for the Abramovich years because they don't need a good manager or good tactics or impressive form to win the league. They can just steam roll over Charlton, Tottenham, West Brom at a canter over 38 games.
Against Liverpool in the CL this season and last they failed when it was put to them, against Barcelona they failed miserably and feebly when it was put to them, Charlton offered some resistance in the manner of just good form in the Carling Cup, Chelsea go out. The master tactician Mourinho put on all three subs against Newcastle and go out of the FA Cup last year. Fulham put resistance to them, Chelsea don't know how to deal with it and turn to a rabble of Terry upfront and desperate.
Yet they'll still canter to the league because over 38 games, because they'll whittle the Birminghams etc. over more often than not.
22/03/2006, 6:52 PM
You see Neil, that when I point this out, I get all kinds of abuse. But I guess it's ok for you to do it, especially as you're also right.
Ermm, I've just argued it.................................AGAIN. I am sick of arguing it again and again and again - I'm sure I'm not the only one... :rolleyes:
jockser
23/03/2006, 7:36 AM
Quick click here now and save 4 pounds!!!!
http://www.play.com/play247.asp?page=title&r=R2&title=924193&p=57&g=72&pa=sr
:D :D :D
hilarious!!!
jockser
23/03/2006, 7:38 AM
well he wasnt right....either are you so where is the problem? :D
anto1208
24/03/2006, 12:31 PM
Gerrard and Beattie will be wearing the numbers 08 on their backs tomor as both clubs back the city of culture 2008 .
25/03/2006, 12:14 PM
Gerrard gone after mins. 1st yellow for dissent, 2nd a min later for foul on Kilbane.
25/03/2006, 12:17 PM
Gerrard gone after mins. 1st yellow for dissent, 2nd a min later for foul on Kilbane.Tis great ha?:D. The tackle on Kilbane should have been a straight red, never mind a second yellow! Two footed tackle, nowhere near the ball.
jockser
25/03/2006, 1:54 PM
Ah yes the bluesh*te live up to their name as usual and get spanked by a 10 men super red team!!!:D :D
jockser
25/03/2006, 1:55 PM
Tis great ha?:D. The tackle on Kilbane should have been a straight red, never mind a second yellow! Two footed tackle, nowhere near the ball.What is great? like every other scum fan you seem to comment more on a liverpool thread than on your own team :rolleyes:
25/03/2006, 2:00 PM
What is great? like every other scum fan you seem to comment more on a liverpool thread than on your own team :rolleyes:Cos Man U fans don't crave attention:p.
Everton had 10 men too, you failed to mention that;).
jockser
25/03/2006, 2:19 PM
Cos Man U fans don't crave attention
Everton had 10 men too, you failed to mention that.
You dont crave attention yet you always comment on a liverpool everton thread!?!?:D
Everton go 2-0 down to 10 men super reds.....at one point possession was 75% to liverpool....and all before everton had some usless git sent off :D
Aonther boring liverpool game :rolleyes:
25/03/2006, 3:48 PM
It just keeps getting better and better!
Should maintain the winning streak on saturday too.
Yes, it does keep getting better, and better. :D :) :p
Merseyside remains Merseyside.
jockser
25/03/2006, 4:47 PM
thats 18 goals in 4 games mypost!
and how class was Alonso today!!!
Now he is a player who you can truely say is a CLASS player
Phil Neville and James Beattie in the England team, eh....?
........................:D :D
Form seems to remain temporary afterall..:cool:
anto1208
27/03/2006, 10:24 AM
well thats that game out of the way , it was going to be tough with out artetta on the pitch and kilbane starting ( it s like starting with 10 men ), then liverpools tactics of kick everton off the pitch coupled with hoof long balls at crouch all day plus the cheating to try to get everton players booked and sent off worked a treat ( and liverpool fans slag chelsea about being cheats and playing long balls FFS :rolleyes: )
gerrards tackle should have been a straight red same with alonso 's one when he went in with his studs up on neville . the first goal was clearly out of play from the corner allthough nevilles header was a joke . wright was totally at fault for the second made an easy chance into a simple chance by rushing out .
everton let themselves down the way they have being playing lately they should have passed them off the pitch .
the VDM red card was a joke ,again liverpool players hassling the ref and looking for a red card for a nothing clash between 2 players going for a header , there was a much worse one in the bolton game yesterday not even a free kick .
ColinR
27/03/2006, 10:33 AM
the VDM red card was a joke ,again liverpool players hassling the ref and looking for a red card for a nothing clash between 2 players going for a header , there was a much worse one in the bolton game yesterday not even a free kick .
there was a much worse one in the first half from garcia!
overall, as a neutral, thought liverpool easily deserved the win. everton were the better team until gerrard's stupidity. as soon as liverpool had ten men, everton didn't seem to know what to do. liverpool's defence was immense, the amount of high balls, long throws, corners etc into their box - hypia and caragher cleaned up everything.
the most annoying thing for everton fans must be that it was their mistakes that won the game for liverpool though.
ref was clueless. didn't need to book cahill for his foul, and then seemed to deciede that each and every foul deserved a card.
poor game, though kewells goal was great.
27/03/2006, 10:43 AM
well he wasnt right....either are you so where is the problem? :D
Well it depends on what standards Liverpool fans want. Remember this is a club that has won 18 League championships but has not won one since 1990. That is 16 years and counting. If they want to win the league they need to get more points from playing the top teams. My point was thas Liverpools problems last season were they could not get points against the average teams and played well in the big games. This season it is the opposite. Liverpools strikers have no problem scoring against very poor defences but it is against the top teams they struggle. Also Benfica beat Liverpool fair and square and won 3-0 on aggregate which is a bit of a hammering in European terms.
27/03/2006, 10:48 AM
Again Everton felt the need to make up for lack of ability by being over physical. Crouch got battered all day pushed, shoved dragged and kicked.No complaints with the red card for Gerrard, Cahills tackle had its desired affect and was obviously a ploy to rile him early on, it worked.
Fair play to Kilbane just got up and got on with it.
I did think Van der Meydes one was harsh, maybe worthy of a yellow.
Alonso was immense and I think the 10 men helped rather than hindered Liverpool.
The better team won in the end and Moyes was right, the ref was over fussy. The Stubbs-Kewell bookings being a point in case.
well thats that game out of the way , it was going to be tough with out artetta on the pitch and kilbane starting ( it s like starting with 10 men ), then liverpools tactics of kick everton off the pitch coupled with hoof long balls at crouch all day plus the cheating to try to get everton players booked and sent off worked a treat ( and liverpool fans slag chelsea about being cheats and playing long balls FFS )
gerrards tackle should have been a straight red same with alonso 's one when he went in with his studs up on neville . the first goal was clearly out of play from the corner allthough nevilles header was a joke . wright was totally at fault for the second made an easy chance into a simple chance by rushing out .
everton let themselves down the way they have being playing lately they should have passed them off the pitch .
I am not going to rise to that terrible terrible post, but I would like to add that the grass was the wrong type of colour green so how could anyone expect Everton and their far superior players to win..?:eek:
I mean to break 10 men down and pass them off the pitch with substitutes like Big Dunc's silky skills, you can't have the colour of the grass go against you as well...
So many excuses made up - the way you go on about the game being over with like you have bigger fish to fry is delusional beyond usual Everton levels.
Of course you can pass through Liverpool with the likes of Ferguson, Weir, Naysmith, Hibbert and Stubbs at the heart of the Brazilian football that Everton love...whereas the likes of cheap imports such as Alonso, Kewell, Garcia, Finnan, Riise just resort to the high hoof. Of course you'd think Everton would be perfectly suited to defending against the high hoof. Even moreso, we still haven't beaten Everton 11 against 11 under Benitez so really none of the three victories out of four can really be regarded as wins.
The perfect quoite I heard from an Everton fan second hand is thus: "The Gerrard red card was terrible news for us - we had to change our gameplan"
And changing the gameplan of sitting back and sneaking it 0-1 was a bit too far for the Everton side yesterday. Even Moyes admitted that after the red card he was happy to ge this players in at half time at 0-0 because it was their "worst period" of the match...they couldn't cope with trying to be defensive and rough and having to attack at 10 men.
Oh and as for the cards issue, I think 8 yellows and 1 red compared to three yellows and one red is a bit too much of a gap to say that Liverpool kicked anything that moved and Everton were just the innocent victim of the referee.....9 cards to four - over double the amount of cards, but Everton were hard done by of course....;)
Oh well, go back to 'sneaking a European spot' - Beware though of Barcelona robbing all your silky stars - they need a left back and Naysmith surely fits the bill, Stubbs would be a perfect foil for Puyol and who needs Henry for millions when you can have big Dunc.
But please leave us hoofing and cheating teams to buy cheap imports and sell them a few months later (having not played) and go about finishing well above you.:)