View Full Version : Everton and Liverpool discussion

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 [45] 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61

06/06/2007, 12:36 AM
See this is what i mean about liverpool fans liverpool are the hoof ball merchaints remember those chelsea matches

Are you for real? :confused:

You brand us a long ball team because we played a few long balls against Chelsea. Maybe that's why we're the only team to beat them 5 times since Mourinho turned up. :rolleyes:

Against Chelsea, we play winning football, and it's effective. When we destroy the small fry, we can play how we like.

anto1208
06/06/2007, 8:23 AM
Are you for real? :

You brand us a long ball team because we played a few long balls against Chelsea. Maybe that's why we're the only team to beat them 5 times since Mourinho turned up. :

Against Chelsea, we play winning football, and it's effective. When we destroy the small fry, we can play how we like.

:eek::eek: good god :eek:

06/06/2007, 8:24 AM

oHKkoyoA9xA

reder
06/06/2007, 10:16 AM
Jesus does every bitter have those goals in their favourites on the pc.

06/06/2007, 11:56 AM
See Graham Poll has admitted that Hutchison goal was legit and shouldn't have been disalowed!

http://downloads.bbc.co.uk/rmhttp/downloadtrial/fivelive/thefootballphone-in606/thefootballphone-in606_20070605-1300_40_st.mp3

reder
06/06/2007, 12:03 PM
See Graham Poll has admitted that Hutchison goal was legit and shouldn't have been disalowed!

http://downloads.bbc.co.uk/rmhttp/downloadtrial/fivelive/thefootballphone-in606/thefootballphone-in606_20070605-1300_40_st.mp3

Oh my god, contact the fa. Subract Liverpool a point for that season and give everton the 3 points. Alter all the derby stats accordingly. I wonder how everton fans cope with all these injustices. The whole world is against the inevitable rise of Everton fc to the top it seems.

06/06/2007, 12:04 PM
Oh my god, contact the fa. Subract Liverpool a point for that season and give everton the 3 points. Alter all the derby stats accordingly. I wonder how everton fans cope with all these injustices. The whole world is against the inevitable rise of Everton fc to the top it seems.

See how hard was it to admit that? :D

reder
06/06/2007, 12:16 PM
See how hard was it to admit that? :D

What are you going to do if Collina, the greatest ref in world football in the past 10 years, decides to announce that on reflection he should have allowed that goal.

You could have progessed to the group stages and gone on the win the CL that season. ;)

anto1208
06/06/2007, 12:46 PM
What are you going to do if Collina, the greatest ref in world football in the past 10 years, decides to announce that on reflection he should have allowed that goal.

You could have progessed to the group stages and gone on the win the CL that season. ;)

He did , its been established that goal should have stood , a free was given for a foul by Bent but its clear that he was the one getting fouled , and considering the team we matched got to the semi final then anything is possible . if a bunch of nomarks like liverpool got there twice and we beat them off the park then who knows

Roadend
06/06/2007, 1:02 PM
considering the team we matched got to the semi final then anything is possible

I declare this to be whimsical joke of the year. Top notch stuff.

anto1208
06/06/2007, 1:07 PM
I declare this to be whimsical joke of the year. Top notch stuff.

thanks do i get a medal or just a certificate ??

Roadend
06/06/2007, 1:13 PM
I can't get to JJ Kenelly's so it'll have to be a cert. Bugger, I can't do caligraphy so it'll have to be nothing.

anto1208
06/06/2007, 1:16 PM
I can't get to JJ Kenelly's so it'll have to be a cert. Bugger, I can't do caligraphy so it'll have to be nothing.

what kind of a half arsed competion are you running here :rolleyes::p

Roadend
06/06/2007, 1:18 PM
One as half arsed as your spelling of competition, it would seem:p:p

anto1208
06/06/2007, 1:25 PM
One as half arsed as your spelling of competition, it would seem:p:p

oh its a competition i thought you where running a competion :D

Roadend
06/06/2007, 1:31 PM
oh its a competition i thought you where running a competion :D
Right here.

06/06/2007, 2:12 PM
He did, its been established that goal should have stood , a free was given for a foul by Bent but its clear that he was the one getting fouled , and considering the team we matched got to the semi final then anything is possible . if a bunch of nomarks like liverpool got there twice and we beat them off the park then who knows

If we had another 20 seconds in this year's ECF, who knows what would have happened....

The goal wasn't given by the best ref in the world, so obviously he was right. Yous lost the tie at home, ffs.

As for the possibility as the Toffees going as far in the comp. as Villarreal....:D :D :D

anto1208
06/06/2007, 2:56 PM
If we had another 20 seconds in this year's ECF, who knows what would have happened....

The goal wasn't given by the best ref in the world, so obviously he was right. Yous lost the tie at home, ffs.

As for the possibility as the Toffees going as far in the comp. as Villarreal....:D :D :D

thats different we actually had the ball in the back of the net fairly , it was unfairly ruled out , just because he was the best ref doesnt mean his mistakes are actually right ( considering he admitted it himself that he was wrong !!!)

its logic they beat us 2-1 away we would have beaten them 2-1 away therefore we are as good as them over 2 legs .

reder
07/06/2007, 12:15 PM
its logic they beat us 2-1 away we would have beaten them 2-1 away therefore we are as good as them over 2 legs .

What, can you elaborate on this?

anto1208
07/06/2007, 1:27 PM
What, can you elaborate on this?

its not rocket science villa beat us 2-1 at goodison , at villa it was 1-1 everton score a goal that should make it 2-1 to everton ( level even on away goals ). who knows what would have happened in the last few mins but everton wouldnt have pushed everyone foward and got caught on the break for villa last goal .

I realise its a if my aunty had balls..... conversation but we matched them for the first leg and for 80 odd mins of the 2nd leg

anto1208
13/06/2007, 2:58 PM
Delighted to see two toffees top the polls on www.skysports.com

Faddy for goal of the season for his flick over the defender and volley 2 mins into injury time V charlton.

And Arteta for midfielder of the season , He has been in top form all season rated top midfielder on merseyside in the opta index , Evertons players and fans player of the year aswell as other websites POTY .

In transfer news rumours about the place are that Fernandes , Nugent and Baines will hold talks with Everton once the under 21's are finished .

Leaving : joining wright and pistone free transfer ,shandy Van der Meyde will be sold for hopefully 1 million which might just clear his bar tab .

reder
18/06/2007, 9:11 AM
In transfer news rumours about the place are that Fernandes , Nugent and Baines will hold talks with Everton once the under 21's are finished .

Leaving : joining wright and pistone free transfer ,shandy Van der Meyde will be sold for hopefully 1 million which might just clear his bar tab .

Nugent is talking to Sunderland also. Is Beattie not going? What are your fixtures like? We got Villa away first day and the Chavs at home. Game v West ham has been postponed.

anto1208
18/06/2007, 11:00 AM
Nugent is talking to Sunderland also. Is Beattie not going? What are your fixtures like? We got Villa away first day and the Chavs at home. Game v West ham has been postponed.

Well he cant talk to anyone untill the under 21's is over , but from what ive seen of the games he has nt set it alight , i feel Vaughan is probibly better at the moment .

Hopefully beattie will go think its time to call time on him just isnt happening has lost his confidence loosing your palce to 2 18 year olds would spur on some players it hasnt for him .

Wigan opening day at goodison , derby 20 of oct goodison so thats a easy 3 points :p

Signed this kid from Shels up and coming irish striker ( from evertonfc.com )

Everton have signed youngster Karl Sheppard from Shelbourne.
The striker was on Merseyside earlier this month to undergo a medical and the deal can now be confirmed.
Sixteeen-year-old Sheppard had an impressive scoring record last term, scoring over 20 goals for the Irish side's youth team.
He is also a regular for the Republic of Ireland under 16 side and has been tracked by Everton's scouts for 18 months having trained at the Academy last year.
Everton beat several Premier League sides to capture Sheppard, who was delighted to sign on for the Blues.
"Clubs were coming in but Everton was the team for me. It's a really nice club to be at," he told evertonTV.
"For the first year my ambition is to break into the under 18s side and then within a year and a half try and get into the reserves."
The youngster is confident his ability will show through once he settles on Merseyside.
"Settling in in England will be hard but once I get going I will be grand," he said.
"Pace would be one of the best things about my game, that and finishing."

reder
18/06/2007, 12:58 PM
Taken from the wikipedia european cup page. Second paragraph makes interesting reading - two history making teams on Merseyside...

There was controversy when Liverpool won the competition in 2004/2005, but finished fifth, and thus outside the top four in the Premiership. The Football Association ruled that Everton F.C. (who finished fourth) would get the final spot. However, UEFA came to an agreement that both Merseyside rivals would be allowed to enter the competition with Liverpool starting from the first qualifying round and Everton starting from the third qualifying round.

Liverpool duly became the first team to negotiate all three rounds of qualification and reach the Champions League group phase (a feat matched by Artmedia Bratislava of Slovakia in the same season) and went on to become the first team to reach the knockout phase (Quarter Finals) from the first qualifying round, while Everton were eliminated from both the Champions League and UEFA Cup competitions in the qualifying rounds during the same season, again another first.

18/06/2007, 1:10 PM
That's incorrect because if you lose in the 3rd qualifying round of the CL you go into the 1st round of the UEFA Cup.

reder
28/06/2007, 3:53 PM
Protests are taking place in Merseyside over the proposals to relocate Everton Football Club to a new location outside of Liverpool.
Plans are being considered to move the club to a purpose-built 55,000-seater ground in Kirkby town centre.

A two-day public consultation on the town's regeneration is taking place.

Keep Everton in Our City campaigners and the Kirkby Residents Action Group (KRAG) are demonstrating outside Knowsley Council offices.

Campaigners who want Everton to remain in Liverpool are telling local residents about the congestion and disorder a new stadium might bring to Kirkby town centre.

History and traditions

They were also showing them CCTV video footage from Merseyside Police of Everton and Manchester United fans fighting.

Alfie Hinks, secretary of the Keep Everton in our City campaign, said: "[Everton] say that Goodison Park can't be redeveloped into an up-to-date stadium.

"We feel it's important to keep the history and traditions of Everton in Liverpool - the club is 129 years old and is probably one of the oldest clubs in the league to still be within its original boundary.

"We have suggested a couple of sites in the north of the city which we think would be ideal - both in terms of infrastructure, access and location."

Artists' impressions

The suggested move to Kirkby is part of a larger regeneration plan for the city which includes shops, a hotel and a Tesco:D:D superstore.

Over the next two days artists' impressions of how the town centre could look will be on display at the council offices before the exhibition goes on tour around Kirkby to let as many people as possible have their say.

In a commons motion earlier this month former Labour Minister Peter Kilfoyle said the city council had failed to offer the club any "realistic sites" in the city.

However, a Liverpool City Council spokesman said: "We are keen to see Everton stay in the city and we have discussed two potential sites with the club that we believe could meet their needs."

Everton chairman Bill Kenwright has said he does not want to be the "guy who moves Everton away from Goodison Park", but that remaining at the club's ageing ground was not a financial option.

anto1208
28/06/2007, 4:14 PM
That KEIOC group are a joke

They are showing fans fighting talking about congestion etc , as if its ok to do that to the people around goodison but not Kirby . The secectary has stated that everton shouldnt move to Kirby and that he has located an other site but guess what the site he picked is also outside the city bounds .

Its strange how a KIRBY resident with a bussiness near goodison doesnt want everton to move ......hhmmmmmm clubs best interest i think not .

Im not sure on the move myself yet . I think a new ground is needed ill need to see the plans of the new ground before i make up my mind but at least it will be put to the fans .

And ill have a vote .

What is being put foward is if the council give Tesco planning permission for a superstore they will pay for 70-80% of evertons stadium , as they wont get planning with out everton .everyone wins . (the majority of the amount needed by everton will be coming from sellign the naming rights to the ground ).

Tesco get planning permission
Everton get a stadium
council get Everton .

galwayhoop
29/06/2007, 10:57 AM
(the majority of the amount needed by everton will be coming from sellign the naming rights to the ground ).

Tesco get planning permission
Everton get a stadium
council get Everton .

and you get to go to the Tesco Dome!! :eek: :D

anto1208
29/06/2007, 11:00 AM
Good news :)

Everton have concluded negotiations over new long-term deals for midfield duo Mikel Arteta and Tim Cahill.

The players have agreed new five year deals with the Blues, tying them to the club until 2012.

Both players had three years remaining on their existing deals but the Blues were keen to further extend their contracts and reward the duo for the success they have achieved at Goodison in recent seasons.

FarmHoop
29/06/2007, 11:09 AM
Everton are the merseyside club, they cant be moved!

reder
29/06/2007, 1:32 PM
Everton are the merseyside club, they cant be moved!

Liverpool is closer to the city centre. You better have a word with the bitters then cos they are moving. Kirby is awaiting their arrival.

29/06/2007, 1:55 PM
Liverpool is closer to the city centre. You better have a word with the bitters then cos they are moving. Kirby is awaiting their arrival.
Liverpool is a few hundred meters closer to the city centre.
The proposed move to Kirby is far from settled.

jockser
29/06/2007, 9:13 PM
come on in Torres :)

reder
02/07/2007, 2:10 PM
Everton singing shambles. (http://www.football365.com/story/0,17033,8652_2462807,00.html)

anto1208
02/07/2007, 2:34 PM
Everton singing shambles. (http://www.football365.com/story/0,17033,8652_2462807,00.html)

Yea i got caught with this opened up the official home page to see Requelme signs 3 year deal . Nearly had a heart attack :D

Knew pretty much instantly it was a balls up ( its everton for god sake as if he'd join ) but still had fingers crossed untill the apoligy apeared :(

Still at least i hadnt rang the Echo or ran around the office sticking it to the RS like some did :o .

anto1208
03/07/2007, 8:16 AM
Some good news instead so :

Expecting Bids for Jagielka, Alan Smith, Kieran Ricardson And Jason Koumas around 17mill .

Jag , Smith And Koumas would be good buys Ricardson im not sure on will that daft bird from big bro start hanging around goodison ?? :eek:

reder
03/07/2007, 8:26 AM

Expecting Bids for Jagielka, Alan Smith, Kieran Ricardson And Jason Koumas around 17mill .

Jag , Smith And Koumas would be good buys Ricardson im not sure on will that daft bird from big bro start hanging around goodison ?? :eek:

I also agree that Ricardson is a bit of gamble and id add Jagielka to that list. I have been an admirer of Koumas for a long time, I think he is an excellent player. Smith will be a very good signing for you.

The lack of interest which Rafa pays to young british players in lower divisions always worries me. Would love a few more british players in our squad. Torres is a big risk imo, his goal scoring record isnt the greatest and for €32m + Garcia, I expect goals to arrive pretty quickly. Hopefully, I will be wrong on this one and I will be eating my words when we lift number 19 & 6, next season.

Just wondering, are you worried about the effects of the extra games in europe? A bitter mate from Liverpool is convinced it is going to result in poor league form. (Players tired etc, Carsley, the diver, arteta, cahill) cant play twice a week for weeks on end he maintains.

anto1208
03/07/2007, 9:14 AM
I also agree that Ricardson is a bit of gamble and id add Jagielka to that list. I have been an admirer of Koumas for a long time, I think he is an excellent player. Smith will be a very good signing for you.

The lack of interest which Rafa pays to young british players in lower divisions always worries me. Would love a few more british players in our squad. Torres is a big risk imo, his goal scoring record isnt the greatest and for €32m + Garcia, I expect goals to arrive pretty quickly. Hopefully, I will be wrong on this one and I will be eating my words when we lift number 19 & 6, next season.

Just wondering, are you worried about the effects of the extra games in europe? A bitter mate from Liverpool is convinced it is going to result in poor league form. (Players tired etc, Carsley, the diver, arteta, cahill) cant play twice a week for weeks on end he maintains.

I think having the fixtures messed up ( thurs and sunday )and the travelling will effect them more ( this is presuming they do better than the last time !!) than playing 2 games a week . they are profesional footballers they should be able to manage it . But it is a worry its quite a small squad but there is cover for every possition now and pretty good cover .

You have
Howard : one of the best keepers in the league, Turner as cover decent young keeper

Yobo and Lesscott : two of the finest defenders in the league stubbs as cover

Then you have hibbert and nuno ( average but ok ) with neville and naysmith as cover maybe Jageilka if he joins .
Midfield then Arteta ( Genius ) and cahill ,Carsley ,Mcfadden, Osman, De silva . Maybe VDM and Koumas and Ricardson if they join .
Up front then AJ and Vaughan with Vic anchovie and beattie ( if he stays ) as cover . and if smith joins AJ and smith

So its an ok squad id be happy with top 6 again and a bit of a run in the Uefa cup . Early exit from League cup would help , maybe a run in the FA cup if we're finished with europe by jan.

If they lined up liek this id be happy

Howard

Jagielka Yobo Lesscott Nuno

Artetta Carsley Cahill Koumas

Smith AJ

I think spending 32 mill on any player is a gamble take into account the year to settle in the prem and the pressure put on you at liverpool he could easily be a flop first season and move on . I also think he needs more home grown talent not just scousers but british at least . But they are hugely overpriced and there isnt that many good ones .

I think smith would be a great buy for liverpool would really sicken everton fans aswell :D

KildareFan
03/07/2007, 12:42 PM

I don't think Koumas would be a good signing. He is 27 and has never made an impact onthe Premiership. He isn't a natraully wide player and isn't particularly quick. He would be a good squad player but not at the 5m price being quoted.

Richardson is worth a gamble i think. He would add natrual width and pace to the team, two things that we don't have in abundance.

We're linked with Leighton Baines as well, he would be an excellent signing for us i think.

reder
03/07/2007, 1:09 PM
I don't think Koumas would be a good signing. He is 27 and has never made an impact onthe Premiership. He isn't a natraully wide player and isn't particularly quick. He would be a good squad player but not at the 5m price being quoted.

Richardson is worth a gamble i think. He would add natrual width and pace to the team, two things that we don't have in abundance.

We're linked with Leighton Baines as well, he would be an excellent signing for us i think.

Koumas was excellent when he played in the PL. He was head and shoulders above everyone else in that side. Smith would obviously be the best and most expensive singing but I cant believe you would discount Koumas.

We will have to agree to differ on Richardson. Baines would be an excellent signing even for us (the mighty reds) but I think he may be looking to go down sauwth!

Also wheres all this cash coming from, I thought you were broke!

anto1208
03/07/2007, 1:21 PM
Koumas was excellent when he played in the PL. He was head and shoulders above everyone else in that side. Smith would obviously be the best and most expensive singing but I cant believe you would discount Koumas.

We will have to agree to differ on Richardson. Baines would be an excellent signing even for us (the mighty reds) but I think he may be looking to go down sauwth!

Also wheres all this cash coming from, I thought you were broke!

Comes from Blue Bill taking really good care of the club , JJB now running the club shop , big keith streamlining the running of the club and of course the big fat bag of cash from SKY 60 millish smackerooneys goes a long way

anto1208
04/07/2007, 8:00 PM
Woohoo ! first player signs in about time too hope its just the first of many .

http://www.evertonfc.com/news/archive/blues-sign-jagielka.html

reder
05/07/2007, 8:47 AM
Comes from Blue Bill taking really good care of the club , JJB now running the club shop , big keith streamlining the running of the club and of course the big fat bag of cash from SKY 60 millish smackerooneys goes a long way

You like Bill!!! Wow, thats a first.

anto1208
05/07/2007, 9:36 AM
You like Bill!!! Wow, thats a first.

I know ill never understand the grief he gets he basically saved the club completely turned it around has us on the verge of being back among the big boys on very little money and without selling our souls to some corporation .

But one major problem with the everton fans is they are a bunch of moany ****s !!! .

I was reading on toffeepleb one guy who spent a week slating moyes for not picking Turner against Utd , saying he should give the kid ago etc etc . then after the game when moyes did pick Turner & Turner messed up leaving them back into the game , he was slating moyes for not picking wright :eek: . saying moyes has no ambition and Turner ( the guy he wanted playing ) was nt good enough

anto1208
05/07/2007, 7:32 PM
Naysmith going the other way 1 mill to sheff Utd . thats 2 left backs that have left the club this summer . Wonder will moyes be looking for a new one or hoping nuno gets a season injury free .

Another strange one is VDM is back for first team training looking fitter than ever and talking about how he wants to make up for his errors and prove his worth to the blues . Great news but a sense of deja vu think ive heard this before :D. Still id like to see him and beattie Really make a go of it this year .

Both have shaved the heads and look liek thye mean bussiness ......we 'll wait and see but 5 wont hold my breath !!

ciaran76
06/07/2007, 10:43 AM

Is this the same Kenwright who sold of the youth acedemy grounds ?
Is this the same Kenwright who didn't want to sell Rooney ?(And did)
Is this the same Kenwright who fcuked up the NTL deal? Kings Dock? Also the Fortress Sports Fund?
Is this the same Kenwright who sold the rights to the shops to JJB ?

Some call it asset stripping !

Everything isn't as rosey as made out to be. Also why would Everton need to get a £14 million mortgage in April of this year?

anto1208
06/07/2007, 11:45 AM
Is this the same Kenwright who sold of the youth acedemy grounds ?
Is this the same Kenwright who didn't want to sell Rooney ?(And did)
Is this the same Kenwright who fcuked up the NTL deal? Kings Dock? Also the Fortress Sports Fund?
Is this the same Kenwright who sold the rights to the shops to JJB ?

Some call it asset stripping !

Everything isn't as rosey as made out to be. Also why would Everton need to get a £14 million mortgage in April of this year?

Yea and then build one of the best training facilities in the league out in finch farm opening next month for first team and youth teams .

yea after Rooney put in a transfer request because he wouldnt work with moyes after he thought moyes leaked the story about the prossies . ( thats from rooney not Bill )

NTL deal ! So what ,deals dont come off all the time , Kings dock you do realise we would have just been tennents in the ground it would have belonged to LCC . While a great location there is a load of reasons why this didnt go ahead . Fortress Fund wanted to buy the club 51% for 50 mill we got into champs league so the value went up they would nt pay any more and there where questions over the running of the fund . Very good call not to sell to them .

Sold the rights to JJB and for the first time ever the shops turned a Profit !!! So instead of loosing us money every year its now making us money .

First i heard of any 14 mill mortgage this april have you any link for this ?

frog-gufc
06/07/2007, 2:48 PM
im a mssive liverpool fan but have to give everton credit for the signings over the last couple of years, moyes has brought in good home based players for a fraction that overseas players would cost, yobo,cahil,johnson,neville(solid) and now jagielka, moyes is a good manager and the club would put many to shame

reder
09/07/2007, 10:33 AM
im a mssive liverpool fan but have to give everton credit for the signings over the last couple of years, moyes has brought in good home based players for a fraction that overseas players would cost, yobo,cahil,johnson,neville(solid) and now jagielka, moyes is a good manager and the club would put many to shame

Steady on there! Moyes is a good young manager but I think you are going a little OTT with the praise. He aint Shanks!

anto1208
09/07/2007, 11:25 AM
Steady on there! Moyes is a good young manager but I think you are going a little OTT with the praise. He aint Shanks!

True while he has done well he has also made some mistakes ( wright krolldrop beattie davies there's about 20 mill worth of mistakes)

I also think he has paid over the odds for home grown players when you look at the 8.6 mill on AJ and compare that to say McCarthey at blackburn who got i think 18 goals last season and cost less than half .But thats just the market nothing much he can do about that , But then again he has bought some bargins Cahill 2m Arteta 2.5 mill yobo and lesscott 4.5 and 5 mill , They have to be worth 40 mill + now

But he is a young manager and as long as he learns from his mistakes and makes the team better ill support him , IE: against spurs he went defensive with 10 mins to go at home and the game 1-1 , spurs then changed to a attacking formation and nicked it . Moyes got booed off the pitch the very next game he had changed to an attacking 442 and beat watford off the pitch ended up being 3 nil but could have been 5 or 6 . Most fans see that as a turning point in our season when we normally get nervous and try to scrap our way to the end of the season and fade away they finished on a possitive note and it showed . Bar disscracefull refering against chelsea we would have won that game and taken 3 points and 5th spot .