View Full Version : Everton and Liverpool discussion

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61

4tothefloor
28/12/2004, 6:24 PM
Down to 6 points now already, with the return at Anfield still to come :D

We've got Chelsea & United in the next few games, and unless Everton can rebuild a good points lead in that time, forget about it.....

4tothefloor
28/12/2004, 6:29 PM
Apparantly Liverpool have made an official £8.5million (€12m) bid for Pablo Aimar on Monday night. Don't know how genuine this is...

http://www.sportnetwork.net/main/s342/st63881.htm?fromrss=1

Morientes and Aimar would be some christmas present, can't see them getting the two though.

29/12/2004, 6:24 AM
Liverpool Fantasy Transfer Window Selection:

Given/Cudicini,
Ayala,
Juninho,
Morientes,
Aimar.

Budget: 10 million Euro. Who will we buy?

4tothefloor
29/12/2004, 5:39 PM
Liverpool Fantasy Transfer Window Selection:
Juninho

I hope thats not the waste of space currently at Celtic :eek:

I think they'll sign Morientes, Scott Carson and a centre-half on the cheap, as Henchoz is on his way out in the window. I'd say he won't move for Aimar till next summer, his transfer fee will hopefully have dropped to about £4m\£5m by then.

DolansWaistcoat
29/12/2004, 10:21 PM
I hope thats not the waste of space currently at Celtic :eek:

I think they'll sign Morientes, Scott Carson and a centre-half on the cheap, as Henchoz is on his way out in the window. I'd say he won't move for Aimar till next summer, his transfer fee will hopefully have dropped to about £4m\£5m by then.

Aimar wants out of Valancia now because he can't get a regular place and he wants to move to Liverpool to hook up with his old boss so theres no reason why Valencia wouldn't let him go on the cheap to offload his wages.

Four English clubs(incl 'pool and newcastle)and two french are supposedly after Morientes so he could be costly.

If all comes to all and Liverpool can't get Morientes then they should make a move to take James Beattie from under the nose's of everton,villa and newcastle.Sur he'll jump at the chance to play at a big club like liverpool with a recognised very sucessfull manager and with a great chance of Champions league football each season.Why would he go to a small club like everton,who fight relegation battles almost every year and which is on a par or even lower down the pecking order of english clubs than Southhampton are.

DolansWaistcoat
29/12/2004, 10:34 PM
yea it's great,the 'massive' twelve point lead between the proper team in merseyside(not tranmere or everton reserves,Conor74 and Dillo) and everton has been halved and things are starting to right themselves again.Chelsea look like this years Arsenal and speaking of which the frenchies won again tonight and utd are winning away and keeping touch with the top two.

All we need now is for everton to finally stop getting their jammy wins and start falling all the way down the table to their customary position in the relegation battle and finish in 17th place 2 or 3 points above playing in the coca-cola league. :D :cool:

30/12/2004, 8:02 AM
Threads merged, both have been becoming more and more similar.

the ox
30/12/2004, 10:07 AM
Ummm, I've read it in English newspapers that have neither Messrs. Harris or Samuel in their payroll.

Yes, and Liverpool have roots in the Orange Order/Freemasons whereas Everton drew support from the Catholic (and one would presume mainly Irish) community. So while there may be plenty of geographical links, and you may indeed feel confident that 'Scousers, and Irish people get on well together' (btw was Liverpool the only English city to hold an annual Orange Order March) I don't think that alone answers why Liverpool have more Irish fans. I suspect winning all round them in the late 70s and 80s is a more realistic basis for the fanbase rather than some deep Scouse/Irish understanding...

I agree that the shedload of Irish support for Liverpool is due to their success and worldwide reputation, rather than a scouse-ireland bond. cos where are the tranmere and everton fans in ireland. there's not a lot! and i dunno if liverpool is the only city in england to have an orange march but the *******s take up half the city when they do it. i almost missed a 5-a-side match due to them!

Dillo
01/01/2005, 4:22 PM
Nil Satis Nisi Optimum- Only the best is good enough.

4tothefloor
01/01/2005, 5:47 PM
That result today was a load of b ollo x. Chelsea were shocking and deserved zilch from the game. I thought it was one of Liverpool's best performances of the season, but once again we were left frustrated by injuries and a lack of back-up. Mike Riley was a disgrace and at this stage it's quite obvious that he's not up to reffing (a) Big premiership games, and (b) Any game involving Man U, especially at Old Trafford. How this guy is still a Premiership ref is beyond me.

I thought Benitez got the tactics spot on - Duff, Robben, Gudjonsson, Lampard were largely ineffective, and all was working fine until that little $hit Cole scored yet another poxy goal. It's so frustrating to have the likes of Baros, Cisse, Kewell, Smicer, and now Xabi Alonso out of action. The injuries are beginning to really pi$$ me off :mad: We have had absolutely no luck whatsoever this season.

On another note, the Toffee's have begun to melt already! A few injuries to Martyn and Stubbs and its freefall :p Welcome to the real world toffee's, where it's not all plain sailing.........enjoy the next few weeks Dillo & Co, because by mid February we'll be above ye AND in a League Cup final ;)

02/01/2005, 7:04 AM
Yes, and Liverpool have roots in the Orange Order/Freemasons whereas Everton drew support from the Catholic (and one would presume mainly Irish) community. So while there may be plenty of geographical links, and you may indeed feel confident that 'Scousers, and Irish people get on well together' (btw was Liverpool the only English city to hold an annual Orange Order March) I don't think that alone answers why Liverpool have more Irish fans. I suspect winning all round them in the late 70s and 80s is a more realistic basis for the fanbase rather than some deep Scouse/Irish understanding...

I think it's fair to say that if we all supported English football clubs based on their political/religious allegiances, they would have no fans here, because most of the clubs playing in England are clubs who are not Catholic. If you want to watch foreign teams from a Catholic country, Spain, and Italy are the countries to watch them.

LFC always had and continue to have a large fan base here. If it was about success, then most of our fans would have gone to support the red-and-blacks up the road for the past 10 years.

As for yesterday's game, it was a sickener. :mad:

Carragher scored an own goal down there in September, and another one yesterday. We didn't have many clear cut chances, and our striker crisis was shown painfully. What a difference an Owen, a Baros, or a Morientes would have made. :(

DolansWaistcoat
02/01/2005, 11:45 AM
As for yesterday's game, it was a sickener. :mad:

Carragher scored an own goal down there in September, and another one yesterday. We didn't have many clear cut chances, and our striker crisis was shown painfully. What a difference an Owen, a Baros, or a Morientes would have made. :(

Yea,i'm still disgusted over yesterdays game.A good buddy of mine is a chelski fan and we watched the game together and he freely admitted that they deserved nothing from the match.Anyway Utd have won these type of games for years and it's that kind of luck in big games that will win chelki the league this year more than likely.

You can't blame Carragher for the goal yesterday,if someone had picked up that little sh!t Cole at the edge of the box he wouldn't have had a free shot.I thought it was class the way the cameras followed the teams down the tunnel at half time and caught Carragher giving out to that weasel Riley about the blatent penalty that he was about to give and changed his mind with the whistle in his mouth.''Ball to Hand'',he said what a joke. :mad:

Liverpool definately need a striker now and must keep onto Hamman who is out of contract in the summer,he's still well able to play at this level.

4tothefloor
02/01/2005, 10:01 PM
The official Liverpool site seems to be hinting that both Anelka (£7.5m) and Morientes are on their way, along with Pellegrino (centre-half, free transfer) from Valencia. Liverpool are only prepared to pay £4m for Morientes :eek: Can't see them pulling that one off! Henchoz to Man City or Southampton, Biscan to Southampton, Kirkland said to be available for £4m, thank god....

Nothing on Scot Carson or Pablo Aimar though. All rumours at this stage of course, but should be an interesting month ahead.

DolansWaistcoat
02/01/2005, 10:57 PM
According to the spainish press Newcastle United have offered more than liverpool for Morientes all ready but the player himself wants to go to anfield because of the spainish connection.

I'm still not sure about Anelka,great player at times but still has his little mood swings and imagine himself and Baros together in one side,two greedier strikers would be hard to find.

Everton seem to have got Beattie for 6m.Seems he thought the toffees had a better chance of Europe than Villa. :D I suppose if they win the Fa cup they'll get in. :eek: :D

03/01/2005, 5:19 AM
You can't blame Carragher for the goal yesterday,if someone had picked up that little sh!t Cole at the edge of the box he wouldn't have had a free shot.I thought it was class the way the cameras followed the teams down the tunnel at half time and caught Carragher giving out to that weasel Riley about the blatent penalty that he was about to give and changed his mind with the whistle in his mouth.''Ball to Hand'',he said what a joke. :mad:

I'm surprised they get a camera down our tunnel, let's just say it's rather old fashioned. There's no room to swing a cat down there, never mind a camera. It's like Arsenal's in terms of space. :D

The blame goes to Carragher for the own goal. Cole's shot was going nowhere, until Carragher steered the ball the other way. You just knew that if Chelsea were going to score, it would be something like that. :mad:

Morientes going to Newcastle, is about as likely as Newcastle winning the league!! How would he get his game against Shearer, Bellamy, and Kluivert? He'd be 4th choice again.

Still if we're stuck for a striker, there's always Les Ferdinand...... :D

DolansWaistcoat
03/01/2005, 10:07 PM
The blame goes to Carragher for the own goal. Cole's shot was going nowhere, until Carragher steered the ball the other way. You just knew that if Chelsea were going to score, it would be something like that. :mad:

It wasn't an own goal,Cole scored the goal because it was on TARGET(Dudek would have probably saved it,but that doesn't matter) although it did take a wicked deflection off Carragher who can hardly be blamed when a ball hits his leg at speed when he was marking another Chelski player in the box.

Like I said already nobody picked up Cole at the edge of the box and he got in a powerfull shot after Johnson headed it down to him and it happened to end up in the net.Unlucky for Liverpool and fortunate for Chelski,and we all now that the team who wins the title always gets a good chunk of luck in big games like these.

04/01/2005, 6:22 AM
It wasn't an own goal,Cole scored the goal because it was on TARGET(Dudek would have probably saved it,but that doesn't matter) although it did take a wicked deflection off Carragher who can hardly be blamed when a ball hits his leg at speed when he was marking another Chelski player in the box.

If Cole's shot had been saved by Dudek, (as it would have been) nobody would have cared who Carragher was marking at the corner. I say it was an own goal because Dudek was going to save the original shot. Accidental or not, Carragher steered the ball wickedly in the other direction, so the ball could only have gone in, from his touch. It's not the first time he's scored at the Kop for the opposition. He did it twice in one half against the red-and-blacks 5 seasons ago, which we lost as well.

As for Chelsea's performance on Saturday, does handling the ball, and pushing the opposition in the penalty area, count as great defensive organisation, as quoted by their boss, and players????? :mad:

4tothefloor
04/01/2005, 6:12 PM
It's not the first time he's scored at the Kop for the opposition. He did it twice in one half against the red-and-blacks 5 seasons ago, which we lost as well.

Tell me about it, I was at that game. I'm sure he'll put things right in a few weeks in the same fixture ;)

DolansWaistcoat
04/01/2005, 10:15 PM
If Cole's shot had been saved by Dudek, (as it would have been) nobody would have cared who Carragher was marking at the corner. I say it was an own goal because Dudek was going to save the original shot. Accidental or not, Carragher steered the ball wickedly in the other direction, so the ball could only have gone in, from his touch. It's not the first time he's scored at the Kop for the opposition. He did it twice in one half against the red-and-blacks 5 seasons ago, which we lost as well.

Every newspaper which had the match report and every soccer programme had Cole as the goalscorer,you're the one and only person who has said it was an own goal.
If every goal that took a deflection(even a whooping great big one like Carras the other day)off opposition players when it was struck ON TARGET like Cole's shot,then there would be a sh!t load of OGs in the scores section of the sunday morning papers.

Cole hit the shot on target and it ended up in the net,his goal,no arguments.Thems the rules,my post.

05/01/2005, 1:56 AM
Maybe that's why players get so many goals, they get help to score them from defenders!! In other countries, they decide goalscorers by who touched the ball last including goalkeepers, therefore resulting in many own goals.

Looking at the fixture list, we have 3 more visits to London left in the league, and only 2 more at home to London teams, (and er..Watford) next week. That reminds me... it provides the opportunity for revenge for our 0:1 home league defeat to them in 1999. It was their only away win all that season. :mad:

DolansWaistcoat
05/01/2005, 6:19 AM
Looking at the fixture list, we have 3 more visits to London left in the league, and only 2 more at home to London teams, (and er..Watford) next week. That reminds me... it provides the opportunity for revenge for our 0:1 home league defeat to them in 1999. It was their only away win all that season. :mad:

Ahh,the good aul league cup always brings out the best in the lads,I'd trade a place in the league cup final for one in the CL quarters any day of the week.I'm NEARLY sick of winning the third best trophy in England.

05/01/2005, 7:05 AM
we have 3 more visits to London left in the league, and only 2 more at home to London teams, (and er..Watford) next week. That reminds me... it provides the opportunity for revenge for our 0:1 home league defeat to them in 1999. It was their only away win all that season. :mad:

14 August 1999. I was there and loved every minute. Liverpool were utterly awful. I think my own mother, God bless her, would have scored against the Reds that day.

Anyway, mypost, here's a nostalgic link for you written from the winner's perspective. Enjoy.

http://www.bsad.org/9900/reports/lpool/ra1.html

:D PP

Dillo
05/01/2005, 9:32 AM
Young Osman to the rescue again last night! Sweet finish it was too! Some win over a very useful Portsmouth side. Stubbs once again proved his value to the side. Solid as a rock.

Beattie will prove to be bargain of the season. He's a class act and with Kilbane's pace down the flank I can see James being a real hero with the Goodison faithful. It's a sign of the times when you see quality like him arriving at Everton.

Scandalous to see the Mancs get a point from that game last night. Mendes got a perfect legitimate goal and for some reason it wasn't given. That sort of thing would only happen at Old Trafford though. Robbie Keane was the only one I seen disappointed at the final whistle. Great performance from Spurs but I'd be livid if I were Martin Jol.

05/01/2005, 12:36 PM
Liverpool can have few complaints about the result. It's not as if they battered Chelsea and had 15 shots on goal, the way they were playing a draw was the most they could expect, but I appreciate that the withdrawal of Alonso couldn't have helped. It was a poor game and poor decision from the ref to deny the peno.
I disagree, I spent the whole bloody day complaining about it and the day after, have really only come to terms with it in the last day or so.
The way the game was going it was heading for a 0-0 draw
The worst Liverpool should have got was a draw and with a penalty or two might have even won the game.
I do think the removal of Alonso from the game by Lampard had more of an effect than the penalties that were not given.
If one were a conspiracy theorist one might think that it was a deliberate plot to take Liverpools most dangerous player out of the game and negate them offensively which is exactly what happened.
Chelsea got lucky, Its a bloody cruel game sometimes.

05/01/2005, 12:49 PM
If Spurs had managed to get three points, they'd be a serious challenge for a European spot, though they are playing well enough to suggest they might get it anyway.
Fair enough they were robbed of what would've been the winner, but ffs -Shots - 23 v 7, On Target - 16 v 4, Odd Target - 7 v 2....

05/01/2005, 12:57 PM
Come on now Macy, next thing you'll be saying that you were unlucky...and people might think you are a Pool fan... ;)
No question that it should've been a goal, but at the same time you'd swear spurs were all over United and should've been winning anyway....

jockser
05/01/2005, 2:16 PM
Liverpool got lucky last night though. If Spurs had managed to get three points, they'd be a serious challenge for a European spot, though they are playing well enough to suggest they might get it anyway.

:D :D :D :D :D funniest thing ive read in ages

06/01/2005, 3:43 AM
Ahh,the good aul league cup always brings out the best in the lads,I'd trade a place in the league cup final for one in the CL quarters any day of the week.I'm NEARLY sick of winning the third best trophy in England.

You never get sick of winning trophies, however low down the priority they may be. If we finish 6th in the league, we'd have to win the league cup to qualify for Europe. Let's face it, we've no chance of winning the CL now, have we?

As for Plastic, if we play most of our first team in the first leg next week, and play like we have been at home this season, the Watford fans there, may need to bring an abacus to count up the goals we score. :D

Aldini98
06/01/2005, 8:52 AM
Everton won't make Europe, its the same as three seasons ago when they were great in the first half of the season and just didn't care after reaching 42 points to avoid relegation. :ball:

Dillo
06/01/2005, 9:05 AM
Talking through your John Thomas Aldini98. Toffees will definitely get a European spot. Th question remains will they get CL?? :cool:

I also reckon Everton are a good outside bet for the FA Cup this season. The ten year wait might just be coming to an end! Beattie to score on his debut against Plymouth at the weekend too.

Aldini98
06/01/2005, 9:58 AM
Talking through your John Thomas Aldini98. Toffees will definitely get a European spot. Th question remains will they get CL?? :cool:

I also reckon Everton are a good outside bet for the FA Cup this season. The ten year wait might just be coming to an end! Beattie to score on his debut against Plymouth at the weekend too.

dream on mate, they'll finish 7th as they did three years ago, most of the team are out of contract in the summer and won't give a toss.

Mark my Bark !!!!!! :cool:

06/01/2005, 10:00 AM
Stick around Aldini. I'll be keeping my eye on this thread for a few months yet to see if Mister Dillo is still as confident come April as he seems to be just now... :D

Dillo
06/01/2005, 12:34 PM
I'm always confident Paddy. ;)

4tothefloor
06/01/2005, 11:05 PM
Real Madrid are sniffing around Thomas Gravesen. If they bid he'll be off quicker than you can say bitter, and that'll be Everton up **** creek....

Dillo
07/01/2005, 4:57 PM
Sign of the times though 4tothefloor when you see a team like Real Madrid sniffing down Goodison way. Tommy G is staying put anyway. Both teams might meet each other in next year's CL- that'll be the closest Real will get to Gravesen. He's the one who's shovelling the coal into our steady locomotive. Long may it continue! :cool:

4tothefloor
07/01/2005, 7:56 PM
Gravesen is the only decent international player that ye have. Big deal :rolleyes: Sign of the times? In case you haven't noticed, Real have shopped frequently at Liverpool in recent times, namely McManaman and Owen, and are currently trying to get first option on Steven Gerrard. The irony is, they could sign by far and away yer best player, but he'd be little more than a squad player at Madrid.

BTW, the only time Everton will ever get to meet Real Madrid in europe is on the playstation :p :p

07/01/2005, 8:22 PM
BTW, the only time Everton will ever get to meet Real Madrid in europe is on the playstation :p :p

Seconded. Come on in Mister Dillo, your time is up. :p

4tothefloor
08/01/2005, 8:55 PM
Dillo better hope that Everton finish above Liverpool, cos i'm not going to let this thread die........ :D

TheJamaicanP.M.
09/01/2005, 11:59 AM
Plastic Paddy and 4thefloor, ye are far removed from reality. The Toffees are going to finish above Liverpool this season and Dillo will have the last laugh. By then Dillo will probably have scored as many times as an in-form James Beattie. :D

4tothefloor
09/01/2005, 5:39 PM
Is an in-form James Beattie a guy who scores goals, or a guy who polishes off other peoples left-overs at the dinner table? Because after watching him against Plymouth, it's the latter for me. Liverpool fans are $hitting themselves everywhere :rolleyes: (Something JB could do with doing, by the looks of things :D )

jockser
10/01/2005, 9:29 AM
I take it you didn't see Spurs on the telly Saturday?

i didi indeed

Now that's the way to play football. Attractive, measured, fast, loads of chances etc.

LOL everton being crap had nothing to do with it then??

Not 'give the ball to Stevie and he'll thump it forward' stuff.

ok we will try ignore the best midfielder in europe just to please you then :D :D
oh by the way who do leeds give the ball to to thump it forward LOL?

Can't see Spurs form lasting, but as a neutral when it comes to the Premiership it's good to watch good football. And it must be said that wherever you stand on the whole Liverpool/Everton debate, Merseyside could hardly be accuse of producing attractive footballing sides these days.

well we all cant play the long hoofing game of the championship division game now can we?? :D :D :D

jockser
10/01/2005, 12:56 PM
Again, I love your insight into football. Some sides in the Championship play ugly football, some play a good passing game. Wigan play good football for example. As Liverpool have proved in recent years, and Arsenal in the early 90s, being a 'big club' is no bar to playing negative football or a long ball game.

yeah yeah championship football is amazing :D :D

Btw I note you suggest that Everton are 'crap'. Remind me again, who won the last Merseyside derby? And what would that make the losing team? Oh yeah, 'unlucky' :D :D

LOL so arsenal got spannered at anfield that must make them even worse!!??? Hilarious arguements there by you again. and just what does that make man united then after last performance against the mighty exeter?

jockser
10/01/2005, 1:06 PM
Are you as dismissive of Irish football? Is that some joke to you?

irrelevant statement here... :rolleyes:

jockser
10/01/2005, 1:14 PM
Why is it irrelevant? Because you can't answer.

I mean, you keep bringing Championship football into a thread about Liverpool.

eh says the guy talking about how good spurs are and how theyll qualify for the CL :D :D :D

jockser
10/01/2005, 1:19 PM
??????

Are you making up stuff again? Did this come from the same dream where Gerrard was given World and European Footballer of the Year?

:D :D :D is this a kiddies forum or something LOL???

Dillo
10/01/2005, 6:24 PM
4tothefloor and the rest of ye lads are on a different wavelength than us blues. Beattie is a tremendous signing and as the PM remarked he'll probably have equalled Dillo's scoring ratio come the end of the season. I'd have far more faith in him than Morientes. In terms of footballing ability, Morientes is past his best and he'll be a big fish in a small pond at Liverpool. I can see the majority of Fernando's scoring been restricted to the Concert Square area.
On a separate note, I don't know what playstation games some of you lot play. I regularly play Pro Evolution Soccer on the X-box but would never lower myself to play with Liverpool or ManUre for that matter. I am usually Everton and beat the likes of Real with ease ;) .

TheJamaicanP.M.
10/01/2005, 6:30 PM
4tothefloor and the rest of ye lads are on a different wavelength than us blues. Beattie is a tremendous signing and as the PM remarked he'll probably have equalled Dillo's scoring ratio come the end of the season. I'd have far more faith in him than Morientes. In terms of footballing ability, Morientes is past his best and he'll be a big fish in a small pond at Liverpool. I can see the majority of Fernando's scoring been restricted to the Concert Square area.
On a separate note, I don't know what playstation games some of you lot play. I regularly play Pro Evolution Soccer on the X-box but would never lower myself to play with Liverpool or ManUre for that matter. I am usually Everton and beat the likes of Real with ease ;) .

Liverpool could be an interesting place over the next few months with both Beattie and Morientes in town. I just wonder is the city big enough for both of them. As you pointed out Dillo, they will certainly score lots in the Concert Square area. However, not since the days of Jamie Redknapp and the Spice Boys has Merseyside had so much to look forward to.

4tothefloor
10/01/2005, 7:30 PM
Conor74 is talking $hit again! Liverpool play a long ball game under Benitez? Gerrard hoofing the ball forward? You shouldn't be posting here when you're under the influence, it's embarrasing. I suppose that's what watching Leeds does to people :D

(Que the childish sarcastic reply, to mask a complete lack of football knowledge) ;)

11/01/2005, 9:02 PM
As for Plastic, if we play most of our first team in the first leg next week, and play like we have been at home this season, the Watford fans there, may need to bring an abacus to count up the goals we score. :D

It's Paddy btw, not "Plastic". Imagine if I called you "my". Hmmph. ;)

Well, if we were using the Liverpool FC abacus, there'd only be the need for one ball. Mind you, I couldn't spot a Liverpool player out there tonight who had two balls. Good thing the referee played his part and made sure of the home side's win, though. And people moan about penalties never being awarded at Old Trafford. :rolleyes:

Hey mypost, a grovelling retraction is in order. I await with keen interest. :D

12/01/2005, 2:12 AM
Well, if we were using the Liverpool FC abacus, there'd only be the need for one ball. Mind you, I couldn't spot a Liverpool player out there tonight who had two balls. Good thing the referee played his part and made sure of the home side's win, though. :rolleyes:

Hey mypost, a grovelling retraction is in order. I await with keen interest. :D

Retraction??? Sorry, you ain't gonna get it!!

Even if we didn't stack up the goals, we won the game, kept a clean sheet, and got our own back for the defeat in 99, now all we have to do is repeat our victory at Watford in 2000, (sorry :D) in the second leg, to play Chelsea in the final.

Oh, and another thing, moral victories don't win you league cups!!!