View Full Version : Everton and Liverpool discussion
09/12/2004, 7:05 PM
Just to get back to the original point of the post.
As a Pool fan I don't think Gerrards heart is at Liverpool anymore and think he will go at the end of the season.
ummm...the original point of this thread was my glee at seeing l'pool crash out of the CL, only to see my dreams implode b4 my eyes in a 8 minute spell...then it erupted into god knows what.... :confused:
10/12/2004, 10:04 AM
Getting back to Liverpool FC.....is it true that the Kop actually no longer exists. I know its the Kop end of the ground, but someone recently said, I think it was Lawrenson, that the Kop now sadly was a McDonalds...can someone kindly explain?? :confused:
ummm...the original point of this thread was my glee at seeing l'pool crash out of the CL
Thanks for reminding me. Oh how I laughed when I read it first.
As for the Kop, I know there's a McD. in the back of it since they re-built it. Whether it's called 'the McDonalds Kop' or something, I'm not too sure of.
10/12/2004, 10:43 AM
Thanks for reminding me. Oh how I laughed when I read it first.
As for the Kop, I know there's a McD. in the back of it since they re-built it. Whether it's called 'the McDonalds Kop' or something, I'm not too sure of.
Just glad to be bringing a smile to your friday Noby :D
Any other interesting MacDonalds near grounds?
Don't think colours are that much of an issue at any other grounds. That is a story that you really couldn't make up.
10/12/2004, 10:55 AM
Theres a McDonalds in Shea Stadium New York, where on NFL Match Days the staff dress up in the Jets gear, padding, helmets the works..They pretend to play football behind the counter...quite sad, really..
10/12/2004, 2:33 PM
Theres a McDonalds in Shea Stadium New York, where on NFL Match Days the staff dress up in the Jets gear, padding, helmets the works..They pretend to play football behind the counter...quite sad, really..
Mets play in Shea. Jets play in the Giants Stadium. GO JETS!!!
Eh,no that was the year before last I think yet another game where ye came to anfield hoping for a point and defending as if yer lives depended on it,i'm talking about last season when ye were battered senseless for ninety minutes,the everton goalie got man of the match i'm sure.
Anyway everton might win saturday but they are still sh!t and the pool will finish miles ahead as usual.
rOLL on the last 16 of the Champions leagUE. :D
You're making about as much sense as Pat Dolan's Waistcoat! You reckon Everton might win on Saturday but still maintain they're ****! :confused:
Fair play to the Pool for making it to the last sixteen but that's as good as it's going to get. Ye defeated a depleted greek side who totally fell apart in the second half. Ye still played poorly on the night and were an absolute shambles in the first half.
4tothefloor
10/12/2004, 8:13 PM
Ye defeated a depleted greek side who totally fell apart in the second half.
Name their full side so, as opposed to the side that started on Wednesday night. I think you'll find that you're talking $hite.
If anyone was depleted it was Liverpool. Hamann was out, Garcia was out, while Baros was totally unfit (he probably won't even start tomorrow), plus Nunez isn't exactly flying fit either. At least three key players there. Name me three key Olympiacos players that didn't play? :rolleyes:
Everton are at full-strength tomorrow and playing well. With home advantage, if you don't beat Liverpool tomorrow, you'll never beat them.
4tothefloor
10/12/2004, 8:29 PM
I think it was Lawrenson, that the Kop now sadly was a McDonalds...can someone kindly explain?? :confused:
Yeah, Neil Mellor is their customer of the year, 3 years in a row to boot. You have to hand it to the lad in fairness.
4tothefloor
10/12/2004, 8:32 PM
GO JETS!!!
Americans are so gay.
What a day lads!! Drinkfeckarse, 4tothefloor, Conor 74, Dolanswaistcoat, Kingdom and whoever else had the cheek to adorn my thread...... did ye enjoy that today?? Because I certainly did. :cool: What a victory. And it took that man Lee O' Carslaigh to hit the winner and once again to silence his many critics! If he continues in this vein form he could become European Player of the year :p !! Pool are in dire straights and cannot manage back to back wins for love nor money.
Only three points separates the Merseyside blue from the Jose's North London Blue at this stage. And the amazing thing is we could and probably should be top of the league had a bit of luck come our way back a few weeks ago. Everton played Spurs off the park at Goodison a few weeks back and still managed somehow to loose the game. Similarly they drew at home to Villa when really they should have won quite comfortably. I think it's a foregone conclusion at this stage that the above poll will work in my favour. I reckon a poll as to who will make the Champs League or who will the Premier league might prove more challenging. Actually I reckon Everton would probably top it too. :)
JoeSemi
11/12/2004, 8:49 PM
You can have your day in the sun Dillo. The outpouring of joy at the shack across Stanley Pk. spelt out how narrow minded Evertonians are. Granted, it was the biggest derby since Wembley 89', but you'd think you lot had won the title the way that victory was celebrated. It also shows the bitterness(respect even) the bluenoses have towards Liverpool and how much more of a progressive club Liverpool is on every level that you get such a massive kick out of one derby win. Oh yeah, and the massive kick I've just mentioned just about summarises in two words what Everton are all about at the moment. I kinda feel sorry for you lot at times and its nice to see you making strides, however temporary they may be ;)
I've the upmost respect for David Moyes and what he gets out of his limited squad, but Rafa's overhaul of Liverpool is only beginning and he's still the real deal as far I'm concerned. If he can shut our captain up from making silly statements and convince him of his beliefs for the club then Liverpool will continue to reign supreme on Merseyside. On that note, our own former Evertonian should be given consideration for the captaincy if SG doesn't cop on. A man who sits with the supporters on away trips when not playing (that being very rare), plays with an assuredness and passion of some of our former greats and gives everything to the cause with little fuss. Rafa even mentioned him in the same breath as his former rock Roberto Ayala. Not quite perhaps, but that'll do for me.
Back to today. Few poor decisions from El Boss, but I think today should have given him the wake up call he needs regarding Josemi and Diao. If it does, I might just about suffer one derby defeat in six years for the future good of the team.
Every dog has its day. And 11 of them had theirs today :cool:
4tothefloor
11/12/2004, 8:53 PM
And the amazing thing is we could and probably should be top of the league had a bit of luck come our way back a few weeks ago. Everton played Spurs off the park at Goodison a few weeks back and still managed somehow to loose the game. Similarly they drew at home to Villa when really they should have won quite comfortably.
You forgot to mention the poxy own goal that won you 3 points instead of 1 against Bolton.......
This is what you call bad luck, on top of a depressing injury list to boot.
Luis Garcia's perfectly good goal ruled out V Bolton away - cost us a point
Luis Garcia's perfectly good goal ruled out V Boro away - cost us at least a point
Muzzy Izzit's blatent hand ball on goal line V Birm home - cost us 3 points
Free kick which led to Silvistres 1st V Man U away - never a free - cost us a point
Free kick which led to Coles goal V Chelsea away - never a free - cost us a point
Nobby Solanos free kick last week - never a free - cost us 3 points
If\should are no good to you, it's what actually happens that counts. Everton are playing well at the moment, have no injuries, and have all the luck. It's no surprise at all that ye won today, especially against the team that Benitez put out. A major ****-up there on his part, he deserved all he got, and gets, for the team he picked. he lost the game for Liverpool before a ball was even kicked.
Having said that, it's Evertons first win over Liverpool in 5 years. It's their first win over Liverpool at goodison park since 1997. By the law of averages, ye were due one, so it's no big deal. If Liverpool fans were to come on here and gloat every year Liverpool beat Everton it would get tiresome. Enjoy the win, but ye will not finish above Liverpool this season, even after today. ;)
Few poor decisions from El Boss, but I think today should have given him the wake up call he needs regarding Josemi and Diao.
Ha ha ha! What did I tell you about Josemi?! Will you be changing that user-name now, after you've realised how amazingly S H I T he is?! :D
JoeSemi
11/12/2004, 9:16 PM
Ha ha ha! What did I tell you about Josemi?! Will you be changing that user-name now, after you've realised how amazingly S H I T he is?! :D
Does my user name spell Josemi or JoeSemi?! Its more a p!ss take at this stage which your slow to click! Enough about me and him anyway :)
We can curse our luck til the cows come home, but thats football. You can take a certain amount of injuries but Melwood has become a cast for Casualty at this stage. Whats got on my nads more is the sloppy goals we've conceded and the petulant acts from Gerrard, which are becoming all too frequent. Jerzy back in for Kirkland? I think its time the Pole was reinstated in our goal.
Reasons to be cheerful:
1) A manager who is on a par with the best. Reigned over the aristocrat tw*ts at Real with Valencia and is only beginning to stamp his own mark at Anfield.
2)A new stadium in the near future which Everton won't boast. Not with us anyway or for how many years thereafter...............
3)Two of the best young midfielders in Europe who Fergescum has made enquiries about. Thankfully he'll never get his filthy hands on either.
4)Two of the best young strikers in Europe........which two I don't know, but take your pick from 3. I won't get too greedy!
5)Finally, a Champions Lge fixture that Evertonians haven't experienced and probably never will....... :D
4tothefloor
12/12/2004, 5:58 PM
Everton are 12 points ahead of Liverpool as of now, with a game more played. Liverpool's game in hand is Tuesday night at home to Portsmouth. Considering their home form this season, Liverpool should win that one. That would be a 9 point gap, with a return game at Anfield to come. Liverpool will beat Everton at Anfield, so thats a realistic 6 point gap. There's no way in my opinion that Everton are good enough to sustain a 6 point gap over Liverpool from here till the end of the season. That's why i'm not worried, at all!
12/12/2004, 10:49 PM
And that is relevant, how??? :confused:
DolansWaistcoat
13/12/2004, 11:58 AM
What a day lads!! Drinkfeckarse, 4tothefloor, Conor 74, Dolanswaistcoat, Kingdom and whoever else had the cheek to adorn my thread...... did ye enjoy that today?? Because I certainly did. :cool: What a victory. And it took that man Lee O' Carslaigh to hit the winner and once again to silence his many critics! If he continues in this vein form he could become European Player of the year :p !! Pool are in dire straights and cannot manage back to back wins for <a href="http://www.ntsearch.com/search.php?q=love&v=56">love</a> nor <a href="http://www.ntsearch.com/search.php?q=money&v=56">money</a>.
Only three points separates the Merseyside blue from the Jose's North <a href="http://www.ntsearch.com/search.php?q=London&v=56">London</a> Blue at this stage. And the amazing thing is we could and probably should be top of the league had a bit of luck come our way back a few weeks ago. Everton played Spurs off the park at Goodison a few weeks back and still managed somehow to loose the game. Similarly they drew at <a href="http://www.ntsearch.com/search.php?q=home&v=56">home</a> to Villa when really they should have won quite comfortably. I think it's a foregone conclusion at this stage that the above poll will work in my favour. I reckon a poll as to who will make the Champs League or who will the Premier league might prove more challenging. Actually I reckon Everton would probably top it too. :)
Fair dues to everton for winning a very close game that could have gone either way.
The first win for the blues in 10 attempts,bravo.If ye win another derby in the next 10 ye'll be doing well i'd say. :rolleyes: :D
13/12/2004, 12:05 PM
What a day lads!! Drinkfeckarse, 4tothefloor, Conor 74, Dolanswaistcoat, Kingdom and whoever else had the cheek to adorn my thread...... did ye enjoy that today?? Because I certainly did. :cool: What a victory. And it took that man Lee O' Carslaigh to hit the winner and once again to silence his many critics! If he continues in this vein form he could become European Player of the year :p !! Pool are in dire straights and cannot manage back to back wins for love nor money.
Only three points separates the Merseyside blue from the Jose's North London Blue at this stage. And the amazing thing is we could and probably should be top of the league had a bit of luck come our way back a few weeks ago. Everton played Spurs off the park at Goodison a few weeks back and still managed somehow to loose the game. Similarly they drew at home to Villa when really they should have won quite comfortably. I think it's a foregone conclusion at this stage that the above poll will work in my favour. I reckon a poll as to who will make the Champs League or who will the Premier league might prove more challenging. Actually I reckon Everton would probably top it too. :)
Fair play, every dog has it's day as they say ;)
Still think they are massively overachieving and the 'Pool underachieving.
Long way to go though ;)
Lads yer trying to be gracious in defeat but deep down it's hurting. Yer still licking yer wounds while we're still rubbing salt into them! :p Oh, I'm still on a high...... Rafa is still Beneathus and will still be on Christmas day.... the perfect Christmas present!
In his pre-match press conference he described Steven Gerard as the "best midfielder in the world"..... if that's the case why is he only playing for the second best team in Liverpool? :confused: :p On another note, it's quite obvious Rafa does not yet understand the nature of a Merseyside derby. Think he's learnt his lesson! ;)
Every dog has his day my ar$e. If that's the best ye can come up with it's a sad day. Once again our defence was flawless with David Weir and Alessandro Pistone outstanding. The tireless Zidane, sorry Kilbane tormented Josemi and for his hard work alone fully deserved his man-of-the-match award.
No matter what ye sad loosers say, Moyes men have quality. We are not in second place by chance. We are there on merit. And long may it continue!
4tothefloor
13/12/2004, 8:47 PM
And that is relevant, how??? :confused:
About as relevant as talking about McDonalds and NY stadiums in a thread about Liverpool FC, smart arse. :rolleyes: ;)
13/12/2004, 10:13 PM
About as relevant as talking about McDonalds and NY stadiums in a thread about Liverpool FC, smart arse. :rolleyes: ;)
Sounds like you need to get out more...relieve some of that pent-up sarcasm. The thread was following a fairly jovial, mannerly theme, so if you can't continue in that vein, find another thread.. :p
14/12/2004, 1:21 AM
Am I alone in thinking that the transfer window will disrupt Everton if players are brought in? It's often the case that one or two new players disrupts the dressing room atmosphere a little, if you buy in a player it means that one of the lads who's been in the team all season is now under threat, in theory this can be a good thing but often times it doesn't work that way, remember Newcastle in '96 when Asprilla was bought?
I really admire what David Moyes & Co have done this season but I can't help but feel that a fall is coming.
DolansWaistcoat
14/12/2004, 6:26 AM
Lads yer trying to be gracious in defeat but deep down it's hurting. Yer still licking yer wounds while we're still rubbing salt into them! :p Oh, I'm still on a high...... Rafa is still Beneathus and will still be on Christmas day.... the perfect Christmas present!
In his pre-match press conference he described Steven Gerard as the "best midfielder in the world"..... if that's the case why is he only playing for the second best team in Liverpool? :confused: :p On another note, it's quite obvious Rafa does not yet understand the nature of a Merseyside derby. Think he's learnt his lesson! ;)
Every dog has his day my ar$e. If that's the best ye can come up with it's a sad day. Once again our defence was flawless with David Weir and Alessandro Pistone outstanding. The tireless Zidane, sorry Kilbane tormented Josemi and for his hard work alone fully deserved his man-of-the-match award.
No matter what ye sad loosers say, Moyes men have quality. We are not in second place by chance. We are there on merit. And long may it continue!
It must be a great relief not to be fighting a relegation battle again this year for a change. :p
Anyway things will sort themselves soon enough and everton will finish 10th (a great season for the blues!)and the pool will be back in the champions league positions for next year.
Am I alone in thinking that the transfer window will disrupt Everton if players are brought in? It's often the case that one or two new players disrupts the dressing room atmosphere a little, if you buy in a player it means that one of the lads who's been in the team all season is now under threat, in theory this can be a good thing but often times it doesn't work that way, remember Newcastle in '96 when Asprilla was bought?
I really admire what David Moyes & Co have done this season but I can't help but feel that a fall is coming.
Good point Longfordian. It's a worry for all clubs. But we all have great faith in David Moyes. He said himself earlier this week he will try and strenghten the squad but will only do so if he finds what he's looking for. Like all good managers, he won't purchase for the sake of purchasing. After all, the toffees unlike Chelsea, Manure and Arsenal and the like don't have the luxury of splashing huge amounts on one single player. He's brought in the likes of Kilbane, Cahill and Bent for buttons and boy haven't they proved shrewd investments! ;) I can't forsee any major fall at this stage. A successful christmas period could see the blues wrap up the title by April. :cool:
TheJamaicanP.M.
14/12/2004, 12:00 PM
I can't forsee any major fall at this stage. A successful christmas period could see the blues wrap up the title by April. :cool:
Funny enough. Jose Mourinho was saying the same thing a few weeks ago. :D
jockser
14/12/2004, 12:47 PM
To me, World-Class meansthat he is so good that he would automatically walk on to any team on this earth. With Gerrard, that is not so;
Man Utd: Ronaldo, Keane, Scholes, Giggs.
Arsenal: Pires, Vieira, Ljungberg, Fabergas, Gilberto Silva.
Real Madrid: Figo, Guti, Beckham, Zidane
Chelsea: Robben, Lampard, Tiago, Makelele, Duff.
Barcelona: Xavi, Ronaldinho, Deco, Van Bronckhorst
Milan: Gattuso, Pirlo, Seedorf, Kaka
Theres 6 club midfields that he'd struggle to get into on a guaranteed basis week in, week out.Of those, Keane, Vieira, Zidane,Deco, Seedorf, Kaka are all better central midfield options than him, and certainly aren't any way inferior to him.
ABSOLUTELY HILARIOUS statement here!!!! Gerrard is better than all of these players and he is still 24. Bar Ronaldinho and Zindane who are different types of players. But Gerrard is worth just as much as them at the moment. Ask Murinho why he wants Gerard so much and is isnt offering money for any of the others above. Keane, Schole; Giggs Ronaldo are better the Gerrard are they??? :D :D :D :D :D
14/12/2004, 12:55 PM
Getting back to Liverpool FC.....is it true that the Kop actually no longer exists. I know its the Kop end of the ground, but someone recently said, I think it was Lawrenson, that the Kop now sadly was a McDonalds...can someone kindly explain?? :confused:
The Kop end of the ground is obviously all seater now but behind the Kop facing out on to the Road is McD's, its right next to the Club Superstore.
14/12/2004, 2:24 PM
ABSOLUTELY HILARIOUS statement here!!!! Gerrard is better than all of these players and he is still 24. Bar Ronaldinho and Zindane who are different types of players. But Gerrard is worth just as much as them at the moment.
Keep taking the tablets... ;)
14/12/2004, 2:46 PM
On the evidence of last weekend he's about as good as Cahill and Graveson...
On the evidence of last weekend he's almost as good as Cahill and Gravesen...
jockser
14/12/2004, 3:46 PM
Keep taking the tablets... ;)
give us a few
jockser
14/12/2004, 3:49 PM
!!!!!!!!
Better than Deco? Lampard? Kaka? You're having a laugh surely.
On the evidence of last weekend he's about as good as Cahill and Graveson...
what a rediculous statement
On the evidence of wednesday night and against arsenal and the whole season he is twice as good as deco and lampard together!
Please you are saying Lampard is better than Gerrard!!
This is a point childish debate now
jockser
14/12/2004, 4:09 PM
That was the evidence of a game where he stamped on a player, went missing for large periods, but did pop up with a great goal against some Greek team that have not won a single away game in the CL...a typical piece of 'magic' that Liverpool fans pluck from his CV.
I will concede he is better than Fabregas. He is 7 years older...
:D :D
LOL eh maybe its the bitter fans who cant stand him coz he is so good who pluck bad points like everton (where he was not great but still almost got the draw )from his CV. Explain Villa away Arsenal at Basel away (i could name the rest but cmon)and all of last season.
Hell sure lets ask sir drunken nose and the french professor(snigger) who they want to buy next summer....
jockser
14/12/2004, 4:35 PM
Oooooh, Villa and Basel, those giants of European football!!
Gerrard has had some great moments, like England's win in Germany 3 years ago. Since then he has done little at the top level, and his ability was pretty badly exposed at Euro 2004...but this has all been thrashed out in some other post surely...
so what do you want Giants of europe?
How about world giants?
Just like you say Germany 3 years ago in Germany when he destroyed them at 21 years old.....queue the "but germany were rubbish crap" now
are arsenal giants of europe? no! are manu giants of europe ? dont make me laugh !!! but he has wiped the floor with viera and pires 2 weeks ago and on numerous occasions against manu home and away
Since then he has done little at the top level
what do you consider the top level? european cup world cup? you cant expent him to carry the usless england teams also can you? especially when they have muck like rooney and lampard in them
why does wenger, ferguson, murihno, and perez want him?
coz hes is the best midfielder in the premiership.
No?
right thats enough pointless debating on my behalf... :rolleyes:
jockser
14/12/2004, 11:51 PM
Really? Are you his agent, because you seem to know more than most (indeed Chelsea were recently reported as saying they definitely wouldn't bid next January, but MAY at some future date, hardly a ringing endorsement)?
you are making yourself look even more silly now kid....i guarantee you arsenal and chelsea will bid for him in the summer. those quotes you are using were made AFTER he scored that goal against olympiacos. if he had not there would have been a january bid.
anyway what is your point from that above? Its still a fact he is the most wanted midfielder in england......will you disagree on that?
Oh, and those names, are these the same people that 'wanted' Wreh, Djemba Djemba, Kezman, Woodgate etc. etc.
again another ridiculous statement.....nothing got to do with the fact that Gerrard is not a class midfielder?
Is it not a little embarassing for you as a Lpool fan that you define football greatness by whether the ManU manager, or a Spanish businessman, thinks that player is good?
the only thing thats embarrassing is how you interpret my words mate i said nothing of the sort. The fact that these people DO want him simply points to the fact that he IS a class player......see his goal again tonight for exmaple.... but this is not how football greatness is defined :rolleyes:
At least we can agree that he played well in a game three years ago...
so he was not his awsome self in the euro2004.....that must make Henry ****e too then does it??
4tothefloor
15/12/2004, 12:52 AM
Conor74, you are full of (stereotypical) South Kerry $hit. You truly are THE salmon of knowledge on these boards :rolleyes: . No surprise there, seeing that you come from that bastion of soccer that is Kerry......stick to the bog ball. You're either a $hit stirrer, or you know nothing about football. I can't decide which one it is :confused:
15/12/2004, 3:34 AM
ha ha fcuk the lot of ye. liverpool have been needing a result like this to get their season on track. they have dominated some teams this seaon and now they look like starting to get the results. its better than the arsenal result!
Back to reality!! :mad:
Last night's game was our game in hand for the last 4 months, and we blew it in injury time. Another 2 points thrown in the bin! That's what the board gets, for selling Owen on the cheap to a club who didn't want him. Disgrace!! :mad:
Theres a lot to be said for dodgy undeserved late equalisers eh Conor.
It's why we love the game though, you've gotta take the lows with the highs.
if I had a cat it'd have got some kickin last night though.
If you're referring to last Friday, it was a clear cut penalty, it was the third clear cut penalty following a tackle on Pugh and an obvious handball, and the draw was well deserved.
No, I was referring to Lua Lua last night.
Thought the handball was a peno but the actual penalty was harsh, I think he only gave it cause he realised he messed up on the handball 30 secs earlier.
Karlos
15/12/2004, 8:54 AM
Oh, and those names, are these the same people that 'wanted' Wreh, Djemba Djemba, Kezman, Woodgate etc. etc.? ...
I won't have a bad word said about Christopher Wreh's time at Arsenal, vital goal Vs Wimbledon in '98, only goal in the fa cup cup semi-final in '98 in our double winning season and started ahead of wrighty in the cup final. One season, 2 historic goals (in Arsenal history), and 2 winners medals. Maybe not the best player EVER put hardly on the evidence a bum signing considering a price tag of 1 million!!! Now 28 million for Veron, that's a bum signing!! :D :D
oh and what a great song he had to - to the tune of the iconic show stingray "Chris Wreh, Chris Wreh, di di di di"
Karlos
15/12/2004, 9:07 AM
Oooooh, Villa and Basel, those giants of European football!!
Conor, you're leaving yourself open to attack here from the 'european cup' brigade who reckon your only world class if you have performed in it or a big club if you have one it!! Some of these experts will consider Villa a EUROPEAN GIANT after the european cup success 20 odd years ago!!! :D
Us mere 2nd rate teams have to survive on doubles, going unbeaten for a season and winning a championship in almost every decade since the 30's and never EVER been relegated - woe is me! :D
15/12/2004, 9:13 AM
I will concede he is better than Fabregas. He is 7 years older...
I wouldn't even say that....Fabergas is already an excellent player with the potential to keep improving.
jockser
15/12/2004, 9:54 AM
I wouldn't even say that....Fabergas is already an excellent player with the potential to keep improving.
This thread wouldnt exist only you were determined to make yourself look like a fool last week....which you did impecably may i add
There is no need to prove the point evem more :rolleyes:
15/12/2004, 10:04 AM
If I felt like a 'fool' as you so put it, then I would have deleted the post at the start....And why do you insist on adding to a thread that was started by a fool??
We have an unwritten rule here that you attack the thread, not the poster. I'm not going to get into a slagging match with you over this, but it might serve you better on this board, and maybe in life in general, if you developed some manners.
4tothefloor
15/12/2004, 12:34 PM
Back to reality!! :mad:
Last night's game was our game in hand for the last 4 months, and we blew it in injury time. Another 2 points thrown in the bin! That's what the board gets, for selling Owen on the cheap to a club who didn't want him. Disgrace!! :mad:
Yeah it was shocking stuff last night, but you can't legislate for individual error after individual error. The last 4 goals conceded have all been goalkeeping errors, 3 of them have cost Liverpool 7 points, while the other nearly cost champions league football. It must be exaspirating for Benitez. However, I think he got it wrong again last night tactically - one man (an unfit one at that) up front was a joke. Bringing Josemi on also cost us the game - he created havoc and uncertainty in his 5 minutes on the pitch, was the cause of Taylor almost scoring, and then left the same player completely unmarked for the cross which caused the goal. Josemi is, without doubt, the worst Liverpool defender I have seen in years. I wouldn't even call him a player. Nunez is a donkey as well.
As for Owen being sold, I don't think they had a choice - do you really think that they are happy with £8m + Nunez for Owen? The sooner Moores goes the better because at this stage he is holding the club back. They need about a £50m investment in the team, just to get them challenging, while Moores has clearly stated that he is not going to invest anymore of his own money in the club. This leaves a dependence on CL money, which is worrying.
On another note, I didn't like Steven Gerrards goal celebration last night. As he celebrated he appeared to shout "I'm the fcuking man, yeah, I'm the fcuking man" at the Liverpool supporters, while pointing to himself repeatedly. As he walked away he then put his fingers over his mouth, which appeared to be a gesture to tell the Liverpool fans to shut up. Some have said that this was meant for the media in the pressbox, but I have my doubts. If it's a thing his head has got too big for him and he thinks he's bigger and better than the club, well he can fcuk off for himself. World class or not, I'd rather the £35m than an attitude like that.
Conor74, bitter Leeds fans are even funnier ;)
Lomana Lua Lua last night shattered any little hope Liverpool might have had of finishing above the toffees!! :p It's a sorry state of affairs at Anfield when ye can't manage to beat Pompey at home. Fourth is becoming ever unlikely even at this early stage.
TheJamaicanP.M.
15/12/2004, 6:10 PM
Lomana Lua Lua last night shattered any little hope Liverpool might have had of finishing above the toffees!! :p It's a sorry state of affairs at Anfield when ye can't manage to beat Pompey at home. Fourth is becoming ever unlikely even at this early stage.
Fourth from bottom maybe?
Might be a more realistic objective alright!! :D :p ;)
16/12/2004, 2:50 AM
Josemi is, without doubt, the worst Liverpool defender I have seen in years.
As for Owen being sold, I don't think they had a choice - do you really think that they are happy with £8m + Nunez for Owen? The sooner Moores goes the better because at this stage he is holding the club back. They need about a £50m investment in the team, just to get them challenging, while Moores has clearly stated that he is not going to invest anymore of his own money in the club. This leaves a dependence on CL money, which is worrying.
In fairness to Josemi, he's only just back from injury, and over the years, I've seen a lot worse than him. The names drip off the tongue: Piechnik, Babb, Dicks, Kvarme, Ziege, Traore, "Handball" Henchoz, and several more. All a waste of money, and who never won a league title. :(
Moores is a waster: He was the one who wouldn't sack Souness until we lost at home to Bristol City in the FA Cup after 3 games!! He was the one who brought in the disasterous "joint manager" farce, when everyone knew it wouldn't work. He then gave 200-odd million Euro to Houllier to waste on French rubbish then, after going 11 league games without a win 2 seasons ago, (our worst ever league run) wouldn't get rid of him, until Houllier had gone beyond ridicule at the end of last season. Moores has overseen most of the problems at the club since we last won the league.
One of the first things Benitez said after the win last week, was how the win would bring extra finances. Great, but so what? Who could we buy with 10 million Euro? Furthermore, who fancies coming to a club who is sixth in the league? :confused:
As for Owen, yes the choice was there. Owen was worth 20 goals a season to us at least. He was the main reason why we got into the CL this season. He was our most important player, and he had to stay. But Moores sold him for about a third of what he's really worth. Now we have no strike force, and with nearly half the season gone, CL qualification for next season is looking difficult. If we can't beat Birmingham, and Portsmouth at home, what hope do we have against Chelsea, and you know who, next month??
The club is still paying the price, for Souness selling all of our best players in '91, and '92, and haven't recovered since. So who are we up against on Sunday??
Souness -hardly a coincidence. :(
DolansWaistcoat
16/12/2004, 6:20 AM
[/B]
Fourth from bottom maybe?
Naw,relegation battles are everton's thing not the proper football club in merseyside's cup of tea at all.Liverpool haven't fibnished out of the top five or six in the english top division in about 40 years while everton hang on by the skin of there teeth year after year after year after year for the past twenty years....ye get the drift anyway.Thats why this thread is such a joke.
Theres only one team on merseyside and their nickname isn't a sticky sweet. :p :D