View Full Version : LOI in Europe 2011

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 [71] 72 73 74

marinobohs
21/10/2011, 9:49 AM
Saw most of the game and thought shams were very good second half (although lucky to be only one down at HT). Thought Dennehy and Ricer were excellent and Murray awesome at times defencively. Sheppard up front also impressed and got through a lot of work (and deserved goal). Two good strikes for PAOK but when shams equalised I could really see them getting something from the game.

Very steep learning curve for LOI players and the fact that many are disappointed/frustrated with a 2-1 defeat, away from home shows how far shams have come.

marinobohs
21/10/2011, 9:49 AM
Saw most of the game and thought shams were very good second half (although lucky to be only one down at HT). Thought Dennehy and Ricer were excellent and Murray awesome at times defencively. Sheppard up front also impressed and got through a lot of work (and deserved goal). Two good strikes for PAOK but when shams equalised I could really see them getting something from the game.<BR><BR>Very steep learning curve for LOI players and the fact that many are disappointed/frustrated with a 2-1 defeat, away from home shows how far shams have come.&nbsp;&nbsp;

21/10/2011, 3:35 PM
http://kassiesa.net/uefafiles/2012-13-uefa-access-list.pdf

Access points for irish clubs (and most mid-lower ranked nations) has changed for next season

Now the Cup winner will enter in QR 2, while League runner up and other qualifiers enter in QR1

Last year Bohs as League runners up entered in QR2 (Sligo entered at Qr3 but that was always a bit of a fluke)

ger121
02/11/2011, 8:06 PM
So does anyone have any predictions for tomorrow night? I predicted Rovers would get 2 points in this group. This is one of the games were I thought they'd get a positive result (Last game against Spurs being the other) Going for 1-1.Paddy Power have this result or a 1 nil to PAOK as the most likely outcome.

born2bwild
02/11/2011, 9:21 PM
I think I'm in the right thread but what is it with Villareal and their inability to deal with teams playing in light blue?

GreenStar
03/11/2011, 7:36 AM
Have a good feeling for Rovers in this one. With a little bit of luck on their side, this could be the night that elusive first point(s) is(are) notched up. Heavy, heavy rain just now though!

DannyInvincible
03/11/2011, 5:00 PM
Any streams for the game?

TiocfaidhArmani
03/11/2011, 5:11 PM
1-0 paok!

El-Pietro
03/11/2011, 5:13 PM
Any streams for the game?
http://www.tv3.ie/3e/live.php

03/11/2011, 5:13 PM
How on earth was that not a penalty against Sives? Super save low to his right.

DannyInvincible
03/11/2011, 5:21 PM
http://www.tv3.ie/3e/live.php

That can only be viewed in Ireland. I've found one or two others but they're really choppy.

03/11/2011, 5:22 PM
Kazan 1-0 Spurs. About half an hour to go there. Not good for the hopes of getting a draw off an already-qualified Spurs in the last game.

03/11/2011, 5:35 PM
2-0 now. Rovers shooting themselves in the foot. Could be 4 or 5 at this rate.

03/11/2011, 5:38 PM
3-0. Super finish. No idea what Murray (?) was watching though.

TiocfaidhArmani
03/11/2011, 5:43 PM
3-0 and not even half time. Delighted this will put them back in their place and stop their delusions of grandeur they had. Belgrade away was a freak result that went to their head.

03/11/2011, 5:45 PM
Turner and Sheppard have been decent. Murray, McCormack and a few others have looked so bad it's unreal. How many times have Rovers had men up and failed to put the ball into the box or beat the first man?

03/11/2011, 5:54 PM
Just in the door and saw the score.

Cripes.

Were the lads on the beer the week or what?

What was the general play like outside the goals?

03/11/2011, 5:56 PM
Rovers just not at the races. Sluggish up front, getting into a couple of decent positions on the right but failing to get any decent ball in. Their keeper's made one good save (same number as the Rovers defence!). Even before the goal, PAOK had a peno denied, hit the post and had a blatant handball overlooked, all in the space of ten seconds.

03/11/2011, 6:01 PM
Turner and Sheppard have been decent.
Turner off anyway. McCabe too. Twigg and Killer on.

03/11/2011, 6:04 PM
Rovers just not at the races. Sluggish up front, getting into a couple of decent positions on the right but failing to get any decent ball in. Their keeper's made one good save (same number as the Rovers defence!). Even before the goal, PAOK had a peno denied, hit the post and had a blatant handball overlooked, all in the space of ten seconds.

saw that handball. BLESSED!

Come Dine With Me is Over. I get the TV back. Rock.

03/11/2011, 6:08 PM
3-1. Super free from Dennehy. Just as Dolan was ****eing on about omens and how both Rovers' goals so far were in the first five minutes of the second half.

03/11/2011, 6:09 PM
Cracking free. Come OOOOOOOOOOOONNNNNNNNNNNNNN!!!!

03/11/2011, 6:11 PM
Killer making a massive difference, just like when he came on against Kazan.

03/11/2011, 6:16 PM
Sheppard and Kilduff have given the defence nightmares here. Dennehy has been hit and miss.

03/11/2011, 6:21 PM
What a pathetic statement from Dolan there re Sheppard that he goes down well as if it's a virtue for anything other than a prostitute. Pathetic commentary.

Real ale Madrid
03/11/2011, 6:28 PM
Really hate to make the statement as he gives 110% but Murray just gets exposed far too often, Rovers are a much more solid unit when Oman plays.

03/11/2011, 6:29 PM
Really wasteful finishing from PAOK. Could have had 5 or 6 by now; instead, Rovers are still fighting. Need something soon though to set up a good finale.

03/11/2011, 6:29 PM
What a pathetic statement from Dolan there re Sheppard that he goes down well as if it's a virtue for anything other than a prostitute. Pathetic commentary.

I do hate that from commentators. I remember when Ireland played Spain at the WC in 2002 the commentators were lamenting how easily the Spanish went down, but were full of praise for Damien Duff 'being clever and winning free-kicks' when he wasn't drawing fouls, he was diving!

03/11/2011, 6:32 PM
Dodgy continental keeper doesn't like it up 'im!

03/11/2011, 6:48 PM
Dodgy continental keeper doesn't like it up 'im!

he's greek - im pretty sure he does... ;)

born2bwild
03/11/2011, 8:35 PM
Just in the door and saw the score.

Cripes.

Were the lads on the beer the week or what?

Yeah, I was at the match tonight and Rovers looked really sluggish - one or two definitely looked like they were suffering the after effects of a week on the lash.

Sives was dire, as was McCormack. Even Dennehy looked very ordinary. Thompson was, plain and simple, a liability. It was not looking good at the break. MON's tactical and personnel changes shored things up (puzzled as to why he took McCabe off, though)

03/11/2011, 8:47 PM
Thompson was woeful tonight.

I wanna put it down to end of season yadda yadda yadda but he has been no 1 since August. He needs to sort it out. Rovers need to strengthen in that dept. He's just not good enough.

03/11/2011, 8:57 PM
Malmö and AEK Athens both lost tonight, so at least there's still three teams on zero points.

ger121
03/11/2011, 9:05 PM
Malmö and AEK Athens both lost tonight, so at least there's still three teams on zero points.

Plus Maribor lost again, which prevented them closing the gap for Slovenia in terms of the coefficient.

03/11/2011, 9:08 PM

I love the way we Irish strive for a chink of light in any dark cloud! *cough*

03/11/2011, 9:27 PM
Belgrade away was a freak result that went to their head.

Well at least it was a result on the pitch, and not in an office.

placid casual
03/11/2011, 10:02 PM
3-0 and not even half time. Delighted this will put them back in their place and stop their delusions of grandeur they had. Belgrade away was a freak result that went to their head.

its Illusions of grandeur we have at Rovers. Ilusions. got that.

your ignorance seemingly knows no bounds.
perhaps thats what has you living in sweaty-land.

03/11/2011, 10:09 PM

Leave our beloved Mons out of this.

03/11/2011, 11:13 PM

I was watching my team play in the Europa League at home tonight a week after winning the league. It's not going stop anything or put us anywhere. Just so you know.

Thought the second half was a cracking game. PAOK fans were easily the loudest and best travelling fans in Tallaght. Will no doubt put the plastic uninterested Spurs fans to shame. Kilduff gave Rovers an outball instead of passing it around at the back which will only lead to disaster when teams push up on Rovers like Sligo, Derry and Rubin have done before. Murray and Sullivan were outstanding with Sives probably not fit. Dennehy good, Sheppard had the measure of the full back and there were two dodgy slightly mental keepers on the pitch.

04/11/2011, 12:33 AM
Will no doubt put the plastic uninterested Spurs fans to shame.

Are Spurs bringing any fans over??

Some of the Rovers fans at the games are plastics aswell tbf. :p

Still Irish plastic>>>>>> Oirish plastic I suppose.

hoopy
04/11/2011, 6:17 AM
(puzzled as to why he took McCabe off, though)

Most of us were puzzled as to why McCabe was on the pitch in the first place. Useless.

hoopy
04/11/2011, 6:20 AM

What members board did you see this on?

Spudulika
04/11/2011, 6:44 AM
Fair play to Rovers and their supporters, and members, for not getting carried away. I know that moral victories are grand and there needs to be a positive result soon, I reckon it'll come in Kazan, a nice point away from home. I watched a Russian feed last night (via Greece) and was impressed by the attitude of supporters not getting on their teams backs. I'd hoped Rovers would pick up 4-5 points, but the good thing is that they're learning, showing the LOI abroad and it can only be good for Irish football.

04/11/2011, 7:31 AM
Leave our beloved Mons out of this.

They are out of it. Armani knows what I'm on about.

TiocfaidhArmani
04/11/2011, 11:41 AM

We're not making a show of ourselves in it though despite having a group with an Italian, Spanish and French side. A win at home to Athletico and we're in second place for the final game. You're making a show of the league as I predicted. Zero points on the way. Delighted, won't be long until your bandwagon comes crashing and takes out the thousands of plastic fans with it.

ger121
04/11/2011, 12:06 PM
We're not making a show of ourselves in it though despite having a group with an Italian, Spanish and French side. A win at home to Athletico and we're in second place for the final game. You're making a show of the league as I predicted. Zero points on the way. Delighted, won't be long until your bandwagon comes crashing and takes out the thousands of plastic fans with it.

I'm no Rovers lover,but even I can see they haven't made a show of themselves or the league. They are playing against teams with vastly superior players and budgets and haven't been hammered by anyone to date. The only person making a show of themselves is you, with the rubbish you constantly sprout on here.

04/11/2011, 1:03 PM
You're making a show of the league
As a Shels fan I thought you'd be a little slower to say anyone else had made a show of the league in Europe

Chukunyere ar lá is a better pun than Tolk-about a European nightmare (http://www.thefreelibrary.com/Football%3A+TOLKA-BOUT+A+EUROPEAN+NIGHTMARE%3B+CHAMPIONS+LEAGUE+1st. ..-a089547745/)

poster
04/11/2011, 1:49 PM
Most of us were puzzled as to why McCabe was on the pitch in the first place. Useless.

Would this be the majority opinion on Gary in Tallaght?

HulaHoop
04/11/2011, 1:54 PM
As someone on our forum put it, Rovers playing at this level in europe is akin to Italy joining the 5 nations back in 2000. They weren't able to compete very well for a while only winning one game in the first three years. Rovers have entered the group stages of europe for the first time, it's a huge step up as we have seen, we're not used to playing at this level and it's going to be quite a while before any Irish side is able to match or beat teams at the level of PAOK, Rubin and Spurs. The fact that we're not getting thumped 5 or 6 nil every match is an achievement in itself. The main goal for Rovers is to build on this year, make sure this isn't a one off and to get to this stage on a regular basis from now on. If we can do that eventually we will improve to the level where we can compete with these teams and take points off them. It won't happen overnight, it will be a slow process but that is the goal, improve every year until we get to that level.

El-Pietro
04/11/2011, 2:19 PM

you are so tedious