View Full Version : LOI in Europe 2011

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 [42] 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74

02/08/2011, 7:25 PM
YOu really have to cover the post. again its the age old concentration levels and quick thinking. Though a tired body is a tired mind...

born2bwild
02/08/2011, 7:25 PM
Arse biscuits.

02/08/2011, 7:28 PM
Sick. Can still win on the night.

02/08/2011, 7:29 PM
That Thompson is a header! How he's first choice over brush is beyond me..

Fair play rovers, all over them.

02/08/2011, 7:30 PM
Sick is not the word. Heart ripped out of me.

02/08/2011, 7:30 PM
Bo-urns.

Europe League it is then.

harleyleeds
02/08/2011, 7:31 PM
Sick. Can still win on the night.

doubt it .

dont want you to but fair play to ye so far not a bad performance .

White Horse
02/08/2011, 7:38 PM
Sham Rovers started to look tired after 30 minutes, especially Turner.

ped_ped
02/08/2011, 7:43 PM
Poor shor from Turner, but good movement from him and Finn in the run up. They can still get something out of this.

02/08/2011, 7:47 PM
If Rovers manage to go through now I'll eat the underwear I played football in yesterday and post the video on Youtube, Foot.ie and WPOF.

02/08/2011, 7:52 PM
they need to be taking these chances, turner looked like he felt he really shouldn't be there when he was free should have done a lot better.

Guinney
02/08/2011, 7:56 PM
Thompson first Jamaican to play in the Champions League!!

02/08/2011, 7:59 PM
where are the rovers fans, they should be singing.

DannyInvincible
02/08/2011, 8:02 PM
doubt it .

dont want you to but fair play to ye so far not a bad performance .

If you don't want Rovers to go through, fair enough, but surely you could at least acknowledge that them winning the tie 2-1 now, however unlikely it is, would benefit the overall co-efficient.

02/08/2011, 8:02 PM
There they are...

abcd
02/08/2011, 8:06 PM
Is the draw for the Europa 4th round on Friday? Any word on who Rovers could get? Good effort over the two legs, deserve something for their efforts. Dissapointing goal to concede. Rovers really need to freshen things up at this stage. Might as well lose 2 or 3 at this stage as let the game peter out.

Edit: Forget it all done and dusted 2-0. 3-0 on aggregate

Dublin Red
02/08/2011, 8:06 PM
Its boring stuff now. Shams should bloody go for it. 4-4-f*ckin-2.

EDIT: Copenhagen score as I say it. If only turners header went in... Still have a chance of making the group stages of Europa! And so do we should we win on thursday!

colonelwest
02/08/2011, 8:08 PM
And thats the end of that chapter....

02/08/2011, 8:08 PM
Dennehys crossing has been terrible.

DannyInvincible
02/08/2011, 8:09 PM
Good reaction save from Thompson but what he followed it up with was woeful. He was supposed to make himself big and cover the ball, not fall over with his arms by his sides...

ger121
02/08/2011, 8:11 PM
Was always a long shot anyway. When you compare the resources of the two teams, the score shouldn't be that much of a surprise

harleyleeds
02/08/2011, 8:12 PM
If you don't want Rovers to go through, fair enough, but surely you could at least acknowledge that them winning the tie 2-1 now, however unlikely it is, would benefit the overall co-efficient.

ya fair enough but thats gone now though.

cornflakes
02/08/2011, 8:12 PM

This round doesn't matter for the coefficient
http://kassiesa.home.xs4all.nl/bert/uefa/calc.html

The 3rd and 4th qualifying round of the Champions League are not rewarded with points because losing teams qualify for the next stage in the Europa League.

02/08/2011, 8:13 PM
But shows what a little bit of luck will do. AS LOI fans we should be proud of them.

White Horse
02/08/2011, 8:16 PM
Men against boys tonight. Rovers ran out of puff after 25 minutes.

02/08/2011, 8:20 PM
Can someone tell me how that game was supposed to have sold out. Loads of seats empty throughout the game.

DannyInvincible
02/08/2011, 8:21 PM
This round doesn't matter for the coefficient
http://kassiesa.home.xs4all.nl/bert/uefa/calc.html

You're referring to the team co-efficient. The national co-efficient could still have benefited, although that's pretty much academic now.

ger121
02/08/2011, 8:22 PM
Looking a good night all round for the Danish sides. OB just gone 3-2 up away to Panathinaikos, who will now need 2 in the last 6 mins. Shows the quality of their clubs

Edit. 4-2 now

Dublin Red
02/08/2011, 8:23 PM
Can someone tell me... whats the chances of a LOI team being seeded in the 2nd qualifying round of the CL again next year? How many more co-eff points would we need this year?.. This is very important if we are to make a group stage of either EL or CL anytime soon.

02/08/2011, 8:25 PM
I dont think this result reflects fairly on rovers to be honest.

born2bwild
02/08/2011, 8:27 PM
Damien Richardson talks through his hole
Oh well...didn't disgrace themselves anyhow....really fancy Sligo, though...any tickets still available?

02/08/2011, 8:29 PM
Good reaction save from Thompson but what he followed it up with was woeful. He was supposed to make himself big and cover the ball, not fall over with his arms by his sides...

I think that's harsh. Looking at the replay, he had his arms out.

harleyleeds

think it did cos after going 1 up cop laid back

cornflakes
You're referring to the team co-efficient. The national co-efficient could still have benefited, although that's pretty much academic now.

Yep, my mistake. More info here (http://europeancups.altervista.org/Regulations/Coefficients/UefaCoefficientsRules2010.pdf) from 2010 but I think it hasn't changed

harleyleeds
02/08/2011, 8:30 PM
Damien Richardson talks through his hole
Oh well...didn't disgrace themselves anyhow....really fancy Sligo, though...any tickets still available?

thats a joke right, the tickets bit

ped_ped
02/08/2011, 8:32 PM
Hard luck to Rovers. Definitely didn't deserve to lose by three overall. Hopefully a soft draw for the Europa League play-off now :)

harleyleeds
02/08/2011, 8:38 PM
Hard luck to Rovers. Definitely didn't deserve to lose by three overall. Hopefully a soft draw for the Europa League play-off now :)

Hopefully Rovers win thursday and draw shams in next round

02/08/2011, 8:39 PM

It doesn't but hopefully they'll take some pride from it and will help them in the next round.

DannyInvincible
02/08/2011, 8:40 PM
I think that's harsh. Looking at the replay, he had his arms out.

My reaction might have been coloured by immense disappointment in the aftermath of the goal. He does, however, have what you could only call a very unorthodox goalkeeping style, to be polite. :p

Ah well, very good performance from Rovers over the two ties. Certainly no shame in defeat and the scoreline would give the impression there might have been more of a gulf between the sides than there was in reality. Copenhagen and teams at that level are just that bit more clinical in both touch and mind. It's only natural they'll get the "rub of the green" and pluck goals out of casual half chances whilst the likes of Rovers are bursting their lungs and having to make do with desperately clipping cross-bars and such.

legendz
02/08/2011, 8:45 PM
It's disappointing to see Shamrock Rovers lose but sure they faced a step up in class. In this the third year of the champions path they have set a mini benchmark for champions from our league to match. There will be seasons with set-backs but all going well more often than not going forward, champions from the League of Ireland will at least make this third qualifying round. Rovers were right to keep their shape for the 90, with the Europa League play-offs to come, this experience will stand to them. When TNS of Wales bowed out at this stage last year they drew CSKA Sofia in the Europa League group stages. If Shamrock Rovers draw a team like that, I think they can give them a good game but there are other possible tougher ties.

02/08/2011, 8:45 PM
My reaction might have been coloured by immense disappointment in the aftermath of the goal. He does, however, have what you could only call a very unorthodox goalkeeping style, to be polite. :p

Ah well, very good performance from Rovers over the two ties. Certainly no shame in defeat and the scoreline would give the impression there might have been more of a gulf between the sides than there was in reality. Copenhagen and teams at that level are just that bit more clinical in both touch and mind. It's only natural they'll get the "rub of the green" and pluck goals out of casual half chances whilst the likes of Rovers are bursting their lungs and having to make do with desperately clipping cross-bars and such.

Yeah, Thompson doesn't completely fill me with confidence, especially from corners.

Agree with the rest as well. Copenhagen do have weaknesses, and I don't think they'll make the last 16 this year. But they do certain things very well and just had a bit too much about them.

02/08/2011, 8:47 PM
Brady just said another thing i mentioned on here before, that he reckoned n'doye was class but you can only ssee so much against the likes of rovers. Again if rovers or any other LOI side were playing in Group stages then their players could be assessed and judged more fairly. Its still a gamble/risk buying irish players and hence the crap transfer fees. This is another thing that would benefit the league as a whole, as fees would increase.

MeathDrog
02/08/2011, 8:48 PM
Why was Brady doing analysis on the game? The greedy ******.

Real ale Madrid
02/08/2011, 8:51 PM
Hopefully Rovers win thursday and draw shams in next round

If only this were possible...... a co-effiecient followers wet dream.......

02/08/2011, 8:51 PM
He probably has a contract to do Champions' League games with RTÉ so got the call.

Disgrace
02/08/2011, 8:56 PM
Thompson is a good keeper.. a bit flappy, but a superb stopper... and you could hardly blame him for the second considering he had to untangle himself from the net before he got back up

redarmyfaction
02/08/2011, 8:59 PM
Shams capitulated after the first goal, FCK just went through the motions after that, but Shams were still knackered at the 90. The concentration and fitness demands of two leg European ties may be too big an ask of the LOI.

02/08/2011, 9:29 PM
First of all, gutted.

Second, huge performance again after last week and proud to see the team outplaying superior opposition for long periods. Like the panelists said, the level of fitness and killer instinct that comes with playing at a higher level guided the Danes through. The two games have been really heavy in terms of injury with Oman and (hopefully not) Sullivan injured. I think Sullivan's been our most consistent player this season so he'll arguably be the bigger loss.

Third, provided the lads can regroup themselves quickly, we can look forward to the Europa playoff with confidence. The past week has proven Shamrock Rovers can compete at this level, which even I wasn't sure of at the beginning of the season.

02/08/2011, 9:39 PM
The real difference over the two legs was in the final third taking chances. Rovers had what, at least 6 clear chances over the two legs and failed to score one? That's why great goal scorers cost so much I suppose. I think you could actually hear 5,000 odd hearts break when the first Copenhagen goal went in, it was almost impossible for everyone to lift it again after that, to be honest I was impressed that the players recovered as well as they did. Hopefully the Europa draw will be kind and Sligo will be there too alongside Pat's who pull off a minor miracle.

legendz
02/08/2011, 9:44 PM
Sligo should learn from Shamrock Rovers. Sligo failed to take their chances last week, if they fail to take their chances on Thursday they could be paying the price for it.