View Full Version : LOI in Europe 2011

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74

19/07/2011, 12:06 PM
Rovers at the top here, and should be for a good time to come, and with probably constant European football, why move when he's approaching 30

maybe he's been told by the manager that he's off too so he's jumping ship first...

Even if he has 5/6 years of an extra £100 a wekk, that will more than make up for the 2-4 European games a season he'd play with Rovers (If he was only interested in european game he wouldn't have left Linfield...). Most players born in the ROI have no emotional attachment to the League, and would jump ship to the UK for £50 so it can't be a surprise when a NI based player does it.

I think the only move thats ever really shocked me (in terms of thinking the player was above the move) was Hoolahan to Livingstone but that worked out for him too. maybe mannus is lookinga t the a similar route

19/07/2011, 12:20 PM
Will he oust Enckelman though? I know even sitting on the bench in Parkhead is probably more of an experience than quietly watching the action in Belfield, but would be hard to progress from a spot on the bench.

harleyleeds
19/07/2011, 12:27 PM
If you have eircom as your internet provider, you can get it here:

http://eircomsports.eircom.net/Setanta

thanks , dont have eircom though. can do proxy address if anything available.

dublinred
19/07/2011, 12:52 PM
Anyone see the bit in the star today that reckons Shams are in for a 530k windfall before matchday profits if they get a result tonight , thats serious money for a club who don't have to worry about ground improvements and would of already budgetted their rent for next few seasons so technically most of that money would then go towards squad improvments.

citybone
19/07/2011, 1:02 PM
Anyone see the bit in the star today that reckons Shams are in for a 530k windfall before matchday profits if they get a result tonight , thats serious money for a club who don't have to worry about ground improvements and would of already budgetted their rent for next few seasons so technically most of that money would then go towards squad improvments.

or maybe training ground?
youth development, paying off bills

harleyleeds
19/07/2011, 1:22 PM

what is the money for? its not prize money for winning the round is it?
if they win this game they still have 1 qual. round yes?
sorry cant find star online.

19/07/2011, 1:27 PM
what is the money for? its not prize money for winning the round is it?
if they win this game they still have 1 qual. round yes?
sorry cant find star online.

Worried that'll put a dent in Sligo's inevitable march to league domination?

shep
19/07/2011, 1:35 PM
Anyone else hope Rovers are whipped today????

19/07/2011, 1:36 PM
and europa league play-off too.

harleyleeds
19/07/2011, 1:41 PM
Worried that'll put a dent in Sligo's inevitable march to league domination?

whats with all the wumming on here I cant get the star and was interested in the piece.

harleyleeds
19/07/2011, 1:43 PM

sorry Ill be hoping they win.

19/07/2011, 1:45 PM
whats with all the wumming on here I cant get the star and was interested in the piece.

Or you could google the Champions League prize money...

Reagrdless, stop being so sensitive. if you post rubbish, expect people to pick up on it. happens all of us.

19/07/2011, 1:54 PM
Certainly happens dodge a lot :)

Dodge is "the" rubbish moderator......;)

legendz
19/07/2011, 1:57 PM

No. I want to see the league's champions making the 3rd round on a more regular basis. There will be the odd set-back but hopefully more often than not the league champion will make that 3rd round and at least the EL play-offs as a result.

harleyleeds
19/07/2011, 2:05 PM
Or you could google the Champions League prize money...

Reagrdless, stop being so sensitive. if you post rubbish, expect people to pick up on it. happens all of us.

ok ive no idea whats wrong with asking for info on an article I cant access or how thats rubbish.
I looked at prize money before and couldnt see that sort of money till group stages so I was curious as to where it comes from.

19/07/2011, 2:08 PM
If Rovers get past spread, will they be seeded in the second round for next years CL, or straight into the third round? Or is it down to individual countries ranking that sees them get past rounds? But how did sligo get into the 3rd round of the Europa league if that were the case....

harleyleeds
19/07/2011, 2:10 PM
cos winners went into CL I beleive.

19/07/2011, 2:14 PM
Mypost is just wumming.

When someone goes on about how small their catchment area is, it's time to examine that and correct it if necessary. No I don't expect the grand people of Boyle and Knock to trek to the Showgrounds every Saturday night, but it is their nearest PD team, so technically, it's in their "catchment area".

harleyleeds
19/07/2011, 2:19 PM
When someone goes on about how small their catchment area is, it's time to examine that and correct it if necessary. No I don't expect the grand people of Boyle and Knock to trek to the Showgrounds every Saturday night, but it is their nearest PD team, so technically, it's in their "catchment area".

your not wrong if they could be encouraged to attend it would be a great boost.
it would be good for the game if ireland could be like england and follow teams not actually in their back yard.

paul-oshea is in mayo but doesnt follow his closest team even though he likes LOI.

19/07/2011, 2:20 PM
cos winners went into CL I beleive.

That doesn't make sense, sligo won the FAI cup? I don't understand what you are saying.

harleyleeds
19/07/2011, 2:31 PM
That doesn't make sense, sligo won the FAI cup? I don't understand what you are saying.

i mean the europa winners qualified for CL so places opened up moving Rovers up a notch to the 3rd round.

legendz
19/07/2011, 2:36 PM

Distribution
The winners of the 2010–11 UEFA Europa League, Porto, would have been guaranteed a place in the group stage; however, as they qualified for the 2011–12 UEFA Champions League, this title holder spot reserved for them was vacated. As a result, the following changes to the default allocation system were made to compensate for the vacant title holder spot in the group stage:
The domestic cup winners of associations 16 and 17 (Scotland and Bulgaria) are moved from the third qualifying round to the play-off round.
The domestic cup winners of associations 28 and 29 (Belarus and Republic of Ireland) are promoted from the second qualifying round to the third qualifying round.
The domestic cup winners of associations 52 and 53 (Malta and San Marino) and the domestic league runners-up of associations 33 and 34 (Latvia and Moldova) are promoted from the first qualifying round to the second qualifying round.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2011%E2%80%9312_UEFA_Europa_League

19/07/2011, 3:23 PM
If Rovers get past spread, will they be seeded in the second round for next years CL, or straight into the third round? Or is it down to individual countries ranking that sees them get past rounds? But how did sligo get into the 3rd round of the Europa league if that were the case....

Its down to a couple of things. What round a team enters is down to the accession list;
http://kassiesa.home.xs4all.nl/bert/uefa/access2011.html

Whether they’re seeded or not is down to their individual seeds;
http://kassiesa.home.xs4all.nl/bert/uefa/data/method4/trank2011.html (this was the rank used for this season….)

So while Rovers were seeded in the CL qualifiers, Sligo wouldn’t have been.

Likewise even though Pats entered the Europa League in the 1st round, they were still seeded in the 2nd round

DannyInvincible
19/07/2011, 3:40 PM
Best of luck to Rovers. Hope they can finish the job. Looks like they sent a good crowd out.

harpstilidie
19/07/2011, 3:41 PM
Some crowd out there for Rovers, fair play!

19/07/2011, 3:50 PM
any link?im at work so one that is work friendly too if possible!

19/07/2011, 3:51 PM
http://www.fromsportcom.com/v-2/10/150/v-315089.html

19/07/2011, 3:55 PM
it let me watch that add for 45 seconds and then said broadcast is offline.

19/07/2011, 3:59 PM
The broadcast is definitely online, so maybe work-issues..

Hibs4Ever
19/07/2011, 4:16 PM
Jaysus, Flora are fooking terrible!

19/07/2011, 4:21 PM

The Star quoting figures? There's a surprise. They've been quoting how much LOI clubs stand to make from European games since 2004. The amount received is usually quite different.

We will make money from the European run, but we don't spend megabucks on players. That's unlikely to change no matter how far we go.

harleyleeds
19/07/2011, 4:27 PM
The broadcast is definitely online, so maybe work-issues..
http://magictv.co/

Straightstory
19/07/2011, 4:27 PM
This is like the first leg. Rovers dreadful from set pieces and their finishing is awful. But still the stronger side.

born2bwild
19/07/2011, 4:28 PM
They're rubbish but Rovers need to put their foot on it and get a couple of goals. Billy Dennehy's on the wrong wing.

harleyleeds
19/07/2011, 4:29 PM

your right but Shams need to get a goal to finish it. Flora will get bolder second half as nothing to lose perhaps?

19/07/2011, 4:30 PM
so is it still 0-0.

19/07/2011, 4:30 PM
Rovers are very comfortable and are clearly the better side, but need a goal when on top. The better side doesn't necessarily go through. A deflection, another dodgy penalty, og, offside, wonder strike...

19/07/2011, 4:34 PM
I thought Flora would be better than this. Rovers are obviously far superior but Flora have a couple of players who can create chances from scraps. I don't think they have a hope of getting 2 goals, but they could get one and force it to go the distance.

born2bwild
19/07/2011, 4:41 PM
Wow see those hot Estonian chicks outside the tunnel? Now, now, Chris Turner...

19/07/2011, 4:52 PM
still 0-0?

OneForTheFuture
19/07/2011, 4:54 PM
still 0-0?

Yup sure is!

19/07/2011, 4:54 PM
it is 0-0, Rovers putting on pressure.

OneForTheFuture
19/07/2011, 4:55 PM
The goal is coming you would feel

born2bwild
19/07/2011, 5:00 PM
0-0 yes

harleyleeds
19/07/2011, 5:09 PM
The goal is coming you would feel

but for who?

OneForTheFuture
19/07/2011, 5:14 PM
but for who?

I would have said Shams but that was a bit too close for the Estonians a few mins ago!

19/07/2011, 5:19 PM
http://nwxyz2.blogspot.com/p/channel-2.html

Good link here.

harleyleeds
19/07/2011, 5:19 PM
I would have said Shams but that was a bit too close for the Estonians a few mins ago!

ya thats the one i was refering to. you never know?

harleyleeds
19/07/2011, 5:20 PM
shams finishing is terrible.

Straightstory
19/07/2011, 5:30 PM
0-0 Full time.