View Full Version : LOI in Europe 2011

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 [68] 69 70 71 72 73 74

30/09/2011, 9:55 AM
I heard about this, didnt witness it myself, but it was going around alright.

Pretty pathetic but the majority of fans were respectful and they were respected by spurs fans too, being clapped as they left the stands. But as I said to stu, it only takes a few to paint "a whole picture".

What i did find pathetic is how some of the fans model themselves on the English football system, and singing english chants and all that sh1te. Get over yer inferiority complex and come up with something original and Irish.

Having said all that the support was phenomenal and really really something special.

marinobohs
30/09/2011, 9:56 AM
Cant copy the ones from last night, they are floating around though

Out of a sizable crowd of Shams regulars / ex Pats / tourists and assorted day trippers there are a few morons - who would have thought it :rolleyes:
On the pitch (this is still a football forum right ?) I thought they did OK. Ricer had a very good game and Brush made some excellent saves. Never felt they were going to win (even when they took the lead) but good effort and certainly let no one down. Not the slaughter bar stool EPL fans were expecting.

30/09/2011, 10:04 AM
Got this from a mate who was in the actual rovers end south stand lower that is behind the goal. He isn't really that big into soccer, so was in his work suit and whatever, but it appears they were well received by all accounts.

"the rovers fans were quite funny. wanted to be everybodys mate. chatting and shaking the coppers hands. playing with the horses. talking to lorry drivers loading lorries...."

30/09/2011, 10:05 AM
What i did find pathetic is how some of the fans model themselves on the English football system, and singing english chants and all that sh1te. Get over yer inferiority complex and come up with something original and Irish.

Do elaborate.

TiocfaidhArmani
30/09/2011, 10:14 AM
Shamrock Rovers - Ireland's shame.
I was in The Twelve Pins in Finsbury Park yesterday to meet a few rovers fans that I know. We get a beer and head outside. The rovers fans were in good voice, chanting away. About a dozen of their casuals start belting out 'Spurs are on their way to Auswitch', complete with Sieg Heil chants and nazi salutes. Not one rovers fan challenged them.

Post on the Huddleboard from London CSC. Nothing to do with LOI so no reason to lie. Delighted they lost, can not hide my hatred for the supporters and large scum element that support that horrible club. Well done Spurs.

marinobohs
30/09/2011, 10:15 AM
Do elaborate.

.... better still, please dont. We have had this "debate" about LOI fans mimicking EPL fans on numerous occassions. It happens all over the world - especially Europe - and is a tired subject at this stage.

pateen
30/09/2011, 11:08 AM
Heard it from people at the game, was reported by a few on Twitter too. If they didn't have previous for it I probably wouldn't have believed it either
Nope

Was at the game too.
Saw nothing of the sort

30/09/2011, 11:17 AM
North London is sh!te London is sh!te full stop.would be class anywhere else.anyway in Tue Irish centre now on pretoria road goose craic.even if stutts and pineapple stu started helping themselves to a mates client dos food.

Anyway unreal atmosphere.best ive ever experienced.

Thought third goal was very unfair free on Sullivan.and def Peno at the end. Fair play to rovers did loi proud and anyone associated in anyway with football in Ireland
I thought the food was laid on for the punters!

Great effort by Rovers. Fans superb.* Credit to LOI and all in the Irish game.

Would like to see the national side being prepared to pass the ball as much as Rovers were.

*occasional English-style stuff like "Who are ya, who are ya" as PO'S alluded to, but generally the singing was vocal, enthusiastic and Rovers-idiosyncratic.

PartySaint
30/09/2011, 11:18 AM
Headlines from RTE

O'Neill Salutes Hoops effort
O'Neill Hails gutsy Hoops DisplayClearly a Nazi:rolleyes:

30/09/2011, 11:28 AM
Was at the game as well - great support all throughout the game, Spurs def raised their effort after the Rovers goal, and won handy in the end. Never heard any nazi songs or nazi salutes and sounds to me if thats a load of bull as most of the rovers fans i saw in convent garden and at game were cool, friendly and giving the LOI a good name.
Was great while it lasted!
http://cache.virtualtourist.com/4/5868793.jpg

L.T.F.C.
30/09/2011, 11:33 AM
People posting the stills from the crowd.

Left hand, right hand, it doesnt matter to shamrock fans

You mean it doesn't matter to people like you.

gormacha
30/09/2011, 11:39 AM
Would like to see the national side being prepared to pass the ball as much as Rovers were.

Yeah, I agree. What was interesting though was that Rovers seemed more prepared to pass their way out from the back than they were against Ruben Kazan. Or maybe Spurs backed off a little more than RK did when Rovers got the ball in their back four?

Anybody who was at both games have a view on this? Its one of those things that you get much more of a sense for when you're actually there...

30/09/2011, 12:02 PM
Was at the game as well - great support all throughout the game, Spurs def raised their effort after the Rovers goal, and won handy in the end. Never heard any nazi songs or nazi salutes and sounds to me if thats a load of bull as most of the rovers fans i saw in convent garden and at game were cool, friendly and giving the LOI a good name.
Was great while it lasted!
http://cache.virtualtourist.com/4/5868793.jpg

Similar to that famous picture of Rangers 0-3 Shelbourne. Sigh.

Mad Moose
30/09/2011, 12:30 PM
Well done Shams. Thoroughly enjoyable watch. Always proud of the LoI and as this one was accessible for me I'd like to have travelled the few miles south but for other committments. Fantastic support and really respected commentary over here. Graham Taylor was particularly complimentary of 'Shamrock'. He did eventually, post match actually call them Shamrock Rovers but he was very honest in his comments on their performance and he did say he hoped it would not end up with more goals conceded as Shamrock Rovers didn't deserve that.

30/09/2011, 12:36 PM
Harry's comments were completely lacking in the usual platitudes. It was really nice to see.

30/09/2011, 12:40 PM
Harry's comments were completely lacking in the usual platitudes. It was really nice to see.

Is it up online anywhere?

alltogethernow
30/09/2011, 12:54 PM
You mean it doesn't matter to people like you.

People like me??!!

Clearly Rovers arent a facist/racist club.

What pi**es me and others, including Rovers lads I know, is the complete denial by the club that nothing goes on. there have been a number of incidents over the last few years which have been denied dispite proof.

If the numbers doing these things are small as said surely the club should sort it?? But they don't, they don't even ban known hooligans.

30/09/2011, 1:06 PM
Is it up online anywhere?

Snippets on RTÉ. I'm sure BBC carry more.

boovidge
30/09/2011, 1:49 PM
"Shamrock Rovers- Ireland's Shame" on a Celtic messagboard? I'm not a Rovers fan but this really annoys me from a club whose fans are continuously involved in sectarian and pro-terrorist chanting. There can't be much of their glass house left surely?

hoops1
30/09/2011, 2:38 PM
Brilliant effort from all the players, Mon and Magilton deserve great praise too. Fantastic atmosphere.
Great craic had between Spurs and Rovers fans. It was a perfect day apart from a ten min spell in the second half.

30/09/2011, 2:44 PM
Rice scoring is even less likely than Brush, but absolutely delighted for him. The 10 minutes of Barca style olé possession and 90 minutes off it, great stuff. It took Pavlyuchenko, Defoe and a Barca youth to apply the finishing touches. Pavlyuchenko's header was the pick of their bunch, Ricers goal was far superior. :)

TiocfaidhArmani
30/09/2011, 3:20 PM
"Shamrock Rovers- Ireland's Shame" on a Celtic messagboard? I'm not a Rovers fan but this really annoys me from a club whose fans are continuously involved in sectarian and pro-terrorist chanting. There can't be much of their glass house left surely?

One mans terrorist is another mans.....but a Nazi is a fricking Nazi. We don't have a hooligan issue either, they do. They shamed us again and reminded me why I can't stand them. I just don't think Shels fans would behave like them on the road.

bluemovie
30/09/2011, 3:38 PM
People like me??!!

Clearly Rovers arent a facist/racist club.

What pi**es me and others, including Rovers lads I know, is the complete denial by the club that nothing goes on. there have been a number of incidents over the last few years which have been denied dispite proof.

If the numbers doing these things are small as said surely the club should sort it?? But they don't, they don't even ban known hooligans.

Ah the scourge of facism. As my friend always says "ugly girls need loving too".

bluemovie
30/09/2011, 3:42 PM
I thought Rovers were magnificent against one of the top clubs in the world. Put it this way, they did much better than Liverpool did at White Hart Lane a few weeks ago. The two strikers for Spurs are worth about £40 million alone. Rovers did unbelievably well against that level of opposition. It's just not realistic to expect a part-time team to go to London and beat Spurs so I think they did exceptionally well in the circumstances. Fair play to them. Keep doing the league proud.

30/09/2011, 3:46 PM
If the reports are true, clearly these people are a disgrace and should be rooted out.

Back to the match, it was incredible to watch. An incredible effort to be 1-0 up but in the end when you're up against a strike force of world class players like Defoe, Pavlyuchenko and Dos Santos they're going to make goalscoring opportunities for themselves. Great effort, roll on PAOK.

30/09/2011, 4:00 PM
If the reports are true, clearly these people are a disgrace and should be rooted out.

Where, foot.ie reports from people who were not at the game - where is the evidence, apart from a silly celtic forum?

30/09/2011, 4:00 PM
I don't know about Nazi salutes, but I did hear the hokey cokey at one stage...I guess for a split second there was 2,000+ rovers fans giving a Nazi salute while singing a childrens song?

TiocfaidhArmani
30/09/2011, 4:09 PM
I thought Rovers were magnificent against one of the top clubs in the world.

Steady on!

Put it this way, they did much better than Liverpool did at White Hart Lane a few weeks ago. The two strikers for Spurs are worth about £40 million alone. Rovers did unbelievably well against that level of opposition. It's just not realistic to expect a part-time team to go to London and beat Spurs so I think they did exceptionally well in the circumstances. Fair play to them. Keep doing the league proud.

Fair play to them but you can't compare a full-strength team Spurs teams to a relative Spurs reserve side playing a Premiership match to a tournament they obviously couldn't care less about. Fair play they did alright, but were lucky not to have been completely hammered if truth be told against a team that couldn't be bothered.

TiocfaidhArmani
30/09/2011, 4:17 PM
Where, foot.ie reports from people who were not at the game - where is the evidence, apart from a silly celtic forum?

Just passing it on what someone from London said. He's from where the match was so I'd say he is as good a source as any and unlike others he has no agenda.

30/09/2011, 4:33 PM
I heard rumours of the Auschwitz chants around the time they were alleged to have happened. I don't know if it really happened or to what extent, but unfortunately you sometimes have bold boys who go to football matches and make a show of the club, like the Manchester United fans chanting about Istanbul at Elland Road the other week. I do think certain people are a little too happy the rumours have surfaced though.

30/09/2011, 4:34 PM
They shamed us again and reminded me why I can't stand them.
Are you for real? Feeling shame about alleged actions at a match you weren't at, reading reports from a football forum in a country not involved in the game, going off only those second-hand reports that you want to hear and not bothering your hole to work out for yourself what really happened? A tabloid attitude at its most ridiculous.
Rovers fans were a credit to the club and the league last night. Paul_oshea rightly notes that some Tottenham fans stayed behind to applaud them. I was at Arsenal v Olympiakos on Wednesday as well and the Rovers fans were singing for much longer than the Greeks (and the Greeks are well known for the atmospheres they can create). Place went mad when the goal went in; the reply was fairly vicious, but expected really - Spurs were generally far better than Rovers throughout.
Good craic though; I think I owe paul_oshea and Crafty a pint still - getting your round in early in a group that keeps increasing in size is always awkward! The food robbing was entirely Stutts' fault though...

TiocfaidhArmani
30/09/2011, 4:46 PM
Are you for real? Feeling shame about alleged actions at a match you weren't at, reading reports from a football forum in a country not involved in the game

The fella who commented is from that very city it was played in. There's pictures going around of them doing it apparently, I can't see it in work.

The pub full of Celtic fans I was in went wild when Rovers scored and all. If only they knew the attitude of LOI fans to them. Looks I was getting when I cheered Spurs goals :D

30/09/2011, 4:54 PM
Just flicking through the channels here in Thailand and the Rovers game is on. Sweet.

30/09/2011, 4:54 PM
There's pictures going around apparently?! Ah well that changes everything. :rolleyes:

And a Londoner confirmed this for you? Well, he must know every single thing that goes on in London, seeing as he's from there.

30/09/2011, 5:17 PM
I wonder if mypost has a vacant seat on the spaceship for chucky

L.T.F.C.
30/09/2011, 5:21 PM

Back to the match, it was incredible to watch. An incredible effort to be 1-0 up but in the end when you're up against a strike force of world class players like Defoe, Pavlyuchenko and Dos Santos they're going to make goalscoring opportunities for themselves. Great effort, roll on PAOK.

If Dos Santos is world class, I'm twice as good as Messi.

hoopy
30/09/2011, 5:23 PM
Looks I was getting when I cheered Spurs goals :D

I'm sure you got the attention you craved.

30/09/2011, 5:32 PM
I thought the food was laid on for the punters!

Great effort by Rovers. Fans superb.* Credit to LOI and all in the Irish game.

*occasional English-style stuff like "Who are ya, who are ya" as PO'S alluded to, but generally the singing was vocal, enthusiastic and Rovers-idiosyncratic.

Stutts i turned to you just after half time and said id rovers can play like this away from home against far superior opposition this proves exactly what i have been saying about trap and Ireland. rovers played football we Ireland fans could only dream about at times.it was very entertaining. It really put paid to the whole defenders of the trap system and it was great to see.

Really enjoyed the shamrock rovers champions....when everyone was singing.sounded very good.the arsenal chant was funny too.

30/09/2011, 5:37 PM
rovers played football we Ireland fans could only dream about at times.it was very entertaining. It really put paid to the whole defenders of the trap system and it was great to see.

Yeah but in the end, as impressive as it was, Rovers lost. Ireland haven't.

TiocfaidhArmani
30/09/2011, 5:41 PM
I'm sure you got the attention you craved.

No, as a member of the GAA, I remember their adoption of loyalist anthems and screaming it like English hooligans, and believe me the cheering of Spurs came from the heart!

And a Londoner confirmed this for you? Well, he must know every single thing that goes on in London, seeing as he's from there.

He was in a pub full of them yesterday, he doesn't know what goes on everywhere in London, but he knew what went on in that pub because he was there. Why start a thread about it and make up a fake story? What motive has he got to lie about a club he knows little about and cares little about?

30/09/2011, 5:43 PM
Have we even seen this thread or have we only got your word for it?

30/09/2011, 5:44 PM
Yeah but in the end, as impressive as it was, Rovers lost. Ireland haven't.
In fairness, the difference in clas between Spurs and Rovers is probably greater than that between Spain and Ireland.

born2bwild
30/09/2011, 5:49 PM
Great night for Irish footie - jaysus when they went 1 up it was real 'pinch yourself this can't be happening' stuff. Of course, Spurs brought everyone back to earth fairly quickly and I think a Shels win tonight will be a better night for Irish footie, but they did us proud.
Really good PR for the league.

hoopy
30/09/2011, 5:49 PM
No, as a member of the GAA, I remember their adoption of loyalist anthems and screaming it like English hooligans, and believe me the cheering of Spurs came from the heart!

What were these loyalist anthems? As a Celtic fan myself I'm intrigued.

What motive has he got to lie about a club he knows little about and cares little about?

Sounds very like your good bogball buddy from Thomas Davis

TiocfaidhArmani
30/09/2011, 5:51 PM

You can't see it, it's a members only viewing forum. I copy and pasted it. Would you like to see a screenshot?

hoopy
30/09/2011, 5:51 PM
Great night for Irish footie - jaysus when they went 1 up it was real 'pinch yourself this can't be happening' stuff. Of course, Spurs brought everyone back to earth fairly quickly and I think a Shels win tonight will be a better night for Irish footie, but they did us proud.
Really good PR for the league.

Perhaps you can have a word with your Shels friend. He seems to be troubled by something.

TiocfaidhArmani
30/09/2011, 5:52 PM
Sounds very like your good bogball buddy from Thomas Davis

Bogball? How clever.

30/09/2011, 5:53 PM
Bogball? How clever.

Are you new to this?? christ on a bike... Hows about stickfighting?

born2bwild
30/09/2011, 5:53 PM

What is this...someone alleging Shams fans made fascist salutes and sang Austwitz chants?

It was a great night with so much to celebrate and admire. Out of all that solid good news, what kind of fan of the LoI is going to choose to focus on the alleged carry on of a tiny minority of cretins????

born2bwild
30/09/2011, 5:56 PM
Perhaps you can have a word with your Shels friend. He seems to be troubled by something.
No, man, I'm too hungover to bother my hole with that. Besides, I'm heading down to Tolka now...good luck, lads.