View Full Version : LOI in Europe 2011
harleyleeds
28/07/2011, 9:54 PM
Why did you censor idiot?
Of course I would assume ***** was a swear.
Maybe the denizens of foot.ie are more ambitious than yer brethern on bito'red?
I would be disappointed with the result if I was a Sligo fan. Same way I was disappointed with the 0-0 with Deportivo in 2004.
cos STU pulls me on everything so playing it safe.
as politely as i can say this you dont matter when it comes to being happy with a Rovers result and have you any idea how arrogant you sound saying your more ambitious than ROVERS FANS about ROVERS results. and I really mean no offence just you are out of order putting down the best result of the 3 in europe so far.
28/07/2011, 9:58 PM
the ***** stands for idiot but you can make what you want of it . On the ROVERS forum everyone is delighted with that result but here its not good enough cos of the coefficiant.
btw no way should Rovers have won comfortably or really at all. A draw was a good and fair result.
You said they werent any great shakes all along though? You were making out ye would beat them. Ye still can at home, but you seemed to have come near full circle!
28/07/2011, 10:03 PM
cos STU pulls me on everything so playing it safe.
as politely as i can say this you dont matter when it comes to being happy with a Rovers result and have you any idea how arrogant you sound saying your more ambitious than ROVERS FANS about ROVERS results. and I really mean no offence just you are out of order putting down the best result of the 3 in europe so far.
Oh. Wow.
Tongue. In. Cheek. Much.
Stop going out of your way to be offended. Free Presbyterianism doesn't suit you.
harleyleeds
28/07/2011, 10:04 PM
You said they werent any great shakes all along though? You were making out ye would beat them. Ye still can at home, but you seemed to have come near full circle!
sorry compleatly missing your point. I said a draw away and a win at home was attainable. bookies had us at up to
20/1 . They wernt great at all. sorry cant get it please explain.
harleyleeds
28/07/2011, 10:08 PM
Oh. Wow.
Tongue. In. Cheek. Much.
Stop going out of your way to be offended. Free Presbyterianism doesn't suit you.
im not offended just pointing out Rovers fans are happy with the result you probably wouldnt like it if they started telling you how bad your results were in the first division if you were happy with them.
Ceirtlis
28/07/2011, 10:43 PM
he biggest problem with the first was rogers being a pussy and not committing himself to it. Absoloutely no excuse, almost grobbleresque on the make. The second he should be coming down on that ball and saving it into his chest any rebound he dives straight down on. Very poor goalkeeping.
I stupidly said over hte last few days it appeared those with experience in europe(and not managed by fenlon) didnt give away or make these stupid mistakes, but those 2 pats goals are just harrowing. After all the good work and then two totally stupid mistakes. I mean i dont get to see any real LOI games, so i dont know, but does this happen the whole time? I Wouldn't have thought so, because i wouldn't expect St Johns athletic u12s to make these mistakes.
In fairness Paul, Rogers is a bog standard loi keeper. The first one was a balls up but could happen in the loi, the second one would have been normal for the loi.
The speed at which players are expected to think on the ball is greater in Europe I think and that is what leads to bad decisions like the back passes by Bohs this year and against Red Bull a couple of years ago.
The Lep
28/07/2011, 10:51 PM
They get into the Europa League play off or the 4th round.
Has it been decided who they could get in the 4th round yet(i mean a list of teams or whatever, when is that draw tomorrow or next week)?
Time and date of the next draw.
05/08/11
12.00CET Nyon UEFA Champions League
Play-offs
05/08/11
13.30CET Nyon UEFA Europa League
Play-offs
DannyInvincible
28/07/2011, 10:54 PM
In fairness Paul Rogers is a bog standard loi keeper.
But what about Gary? :p
Ceirtlis
28/07/2011, 10:59 PM
Ha ha mea culpa i forgot the , after Paul
Straightstory
28/07/2011, 11:04 PM
Yes - second goal against Pat definitely offside. Well spotted.
Kirby's miss for Sligo still unbelievable. I think they may have cause to regret it.
Have to say, following Irish clubs in Europe has become great fun. (Thanks in large part to the internet). Hope both Rovers get through. Pats are gone, I'm afraid.
DannyInvincible
28/07/2011, 11:06 PM
Next Thursday, I see Setanta Ireland are to broadcast Hajduk Split-Stoke City...
bullit
28/07/2011, 11:10 PM
Yes - second goal against Pat definitely offside. Well spotted.
Kirby's miss for Sligo still unbelievable. I think they may have cause to regret it.
Have to say, following Irish clubs in Europe has become great fun. (Thanks in large part to the internet). Hope both Rovers get through. Pats are gone, I'm afraid.
I was switching between the two streams today and i missed Kirbys so called "bloomer" !! Was it on the RTE sports news earlier or is it on Youtube yet???
MeathDrog
28/07/2011, 11:11 PM
I was switching between the two streams today and i missed Kirbys so called "bloomer" !! Was it on the RTE sports news earlier or is it on Youtube yet???
It's on youtube.
DannyInvincible
28/07/2011, 11:22 PM
Check the previous page (http://foot.ie/threads/150691-LOI-in-Europe-2011?p=1513451&viewfull=1#post1513451). :)
28/07/2011, 11:23 PM
In fairness Paul Rogers is a bog standard loi keeper.
Fair good singer though.
corkharps
28/07/2011, 11:24 PM
Needless to say RTE's coverage on the News was .............................
DannyInvincible
28/07/2011, 11:38 PM
Vorskla play Karpaty on Sunday at 5PM Irish time. Will be interesting to see how they compare. The game should be streamed somewhere. So far this season, Vorskla lie in 3rd position in the Ukrainian league (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2011%E2%80%9312_Ukrainian_Premier_League#League_ta ble) after three games and Karpaty are in 14th with one point. Tonight was Karpaty's first competitive win of the season. I don't rate Vorskla at all from what I've seen - their keeper is ridiculously suspect - and think Sligo have the beating of them, but I don't think St. Pat's should be too dejected either. If they give it a good go in Tallaght, who knows what might happen. Bohs looked like a comeback might have been on against Olimpija Ljubljana in Dalymount until that horrible defensive error.
I also came across this on Wikipedia:
On 12 August 2010, the Football Federation of Ukraine punished Metalist Kharkiv and Karpaty Lviv for fixing a match in 2008; both teams were handed a fine and deducted nine points each. The FFU then released a statement on 19 October 2010 that the point deductions will be applied for the 2011–12 season. However, Karpaty Lviv have indicated that they will take the matter to the Court of Arbitration for Sport at Lausanne; the table will hence not include the deductions until a final verdict has been made.
Hadn't been aware of that.
bullit
28/07/2011, 11:38 PM
Check the previous page (http://foot.ie/threads/150691-LOI-in-Europe-2011?p=1513451&viewfull=1#post1513451). :)
Cheers lad.
WTF !! horrorible miss :mad:
peadar1987
28/07/2011, 11:54 PM
Next Thursday, I see Setanta Ireland are to broadcast Hajduk Split-Stoke City...
Well, I'm happy!
29/07/2011, 1:34 AM
Qualifying, they were heavily beaten by...a Cypriot...Israeli side - Tel Aviv perhaps in the previous round, only for the opposition to be disqualified..and then got hammered by Liverpool.
Tel Aviv won the tie in 2001, then got thrown out the next day for fielding an ineligible player, and Haka were awarded a 3-0 win. Liverpool went to Helsinki for the CLQ to play in front of Liverpool-supporting Finnish fans and won 9-1 overall to make the group stage for the first time.
As for us next week, I hope we get chances like these, only take them. They're from Drogheda's tie in Kiev in 2008. Drogheda put up a great fight, but the two misses on 1'50" and 3'00" turned out to be 2 of the most expensive misses in LOI club football.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KneARgE1JPI
Apologies for the local language commentary.
bullit
29/07/2011, 2:19 AM
As for us next week, I hope we get chances like these, only take them. They're from Drogheda's tie in Kiev in 2008. Drogheda put up a great fight, but the two misses on 1'50" and 3'00" turned out to be 2 of the most expensive misses in LOI club football.
[/video]
Ahh the doomed Drogheda 2million Euro squad.
Someone remind me what happened there ??:rolleyes:
Are yee not the €2m part-time side also going in the same direction:D
legendz
29/07/2011, 8:27 AM
Tel Aviv won the tie in 2001, then got thrown out the next day for fielding an ineligible player, and Haka were awarded a 3-0 win. Liverpool went to Helsinki for the CLQ to play in front of Liverpool-supporting Finnish fans and won 9-1 overall to make the group stage for the first time.
I remember watching that game. The miss by Hughes was the main chance really. It was very disappointing that they didn't claim that scalp. It would've been a huge result. The defeat was nearly as disappointing as Ireland's near misses in qualifying.
legendz
29/07/2011, 8:34 AM
If true, that is a disgrace. They should rename themselves Setanta England.
Duggie
29/07/2011, 9:01 AM
Needless to say RTE's coverage on the News was .............................
sure they were doing us a favour just letting us know the score..pathetic station
29/07/2011, 10:42 AM
Ya i remember that game i mentioned it, robinson missing a sitter kinda like kirbys yesterday. How you can hit over the bar from 2 yards out is actually more difficult I really don't know how they do it.
Ceirtlis, I agree that the decision making and the decisions have to be instinctive you don't get the time in Europe to be in anyway hesistant. A cool, assured decision is needed. However I do think that this can be learned to an extent too, through experience, and Pats have plenty of that now.
Even if Rogers is a bog standard LOI keeper, I'd expect a bog standard junior league keeper to make that first one. There is absoloutely no excuse and this is the stuff that gets me, and it is a factor that would put others off watching it, its always the stick that football fans in Ireland who watch their local sides or whatever else, use to beat it.
DI, in my fit of negativity and disbelief, i never spotted he was offside. Great spot. Unlucky for the second goal, i still think though Rogers could have done better with the initial shot.
29/07/2011, 11:02 AM
Very proud of the lads great performance once we got up to speed with the Ukranians. Some of their diving was hilarious. Thought Joseph Ndo was superb amongst many great performances. No way that 2nd goal should have been disallowed. I'd say if the keeper had caught the ball instead of making a balls of it it wouldn't have been a foul. Looking forward to the 2nd leg now.
29/07/2011, 12:31 PM
Was N'do that influential before he went to Sligo or are Sligo just using him properly?
dublinred
29/07/2011, 12:46 PM
Think N'do has matured now he is the main man now all the other players look up to him Cook plays him in the centre and he appeears to be loving it , he is a really good influence on and off the pitch even trains like a tropper and goes for runs in his spare time hard to believe considering some of the comments of what we were expecting rom the pats fans.
MeathDrog
29/07/2011, 1:16 PM
6 away games in Europe this term for LOI sides, only 1 away goal. For all the progress made this year, that is a poor return. Really need to take the chances away from home.
DannyInvincible
29/07/2011, 1:59 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KneARgE1JPI
I remember watching that in a completely empty Irish pub in Tenerife. My brother and I were so distracted by the crushing disappointment of what we'd just witnessed that we left the bar in disgust genuinely forgetting to pay for our food and drinks. The barman did chase us out on to the street, mind, and we were very apologetic, although I think he suspected we were trying to pull a fast one.
WindmillWarrior
29/07/2011, 2:32 PM
I remember watching that in a completely empty Irish pub in Tenerife. My brother and I were so distracted by the crushing disappointment of what we'd just witnessed that we left the bar in disgust genuinely forgetting to pay for our food and drinks. The barman did chase us out on to the street, mind, and we were very apologetic, although I think he suspected we were trying to pull a fast one.
You'd wanna try being at the bloody game! Maddest end to a game I've ever been at. I nearly had a couple of heart attacks! There was a wide range of emotions in the Drogs crowd that day, very funny when you look back. I remember turning around to see one auld fella just roaring up at the sky, arms and fist raised, like he was calling God out or something!
Actually did many Pats and Sligo fans make the journey over does anyone know?
29/07/2011, 2:42 PM
I lost my voice shouting at the tv for that game.
The raw emotion of the LOI in Europe is really something.
DannyInvincible
29/07/2011, 3:09 PM
I lost my voice shouting at the tv for that game.
The barman was probably glad to see the back of us by the end of it, to be honest. There were loud profanities echoing around the bar per second in those dying moments.
redobit
29/07/2011, 3:52 PM
Adam 'I slipped in the shower' Hughes. Tosser.
29/07/2011, 3:53 PM
Great isn't it. It was like me in O'Garas the other night watching Shams.
BohsFans
29/07/2011, 5:21 PM
6 away games in Europe this term for LOI sides, only 1 away goal. For all the progress made this year, that is a poor return. Really need to take the chances away from home.
legendz
29/07/2011, 5:26 PM
I agree with that. Around the country I think there's a good number of people with that emotion who aren't lucky enough to have a local LoI club.
29/07/2011, 5:40 PM
I agree with that. Around the country I think there's a good number of people with that emotion who aren't lucky enough to have a local LoI club.
Still don't see why they can't adopt one while they wait.
Not sure where you are in Kerry but I would say there's a fair few Lims heads potentially in and around Listowel and Athea.
I get your point however.
legendz
29/07/2011, 6:28 PM
Still don't see why they can't adopt one while they wait.
Not sure where you are in Kerry but I would say there's a fair few Lims heads potentially in and around Listowel and Athea.
I get your point however.
For adopt I would say passing interest. I do have a passing interest in Limerick but it's not the same. Watching the Kerry League take on Waterford United was a good buzz.
29/07/2011, 6:30 PM
You can adopt me anytime legendz
DannyInvincible
30/07/2011, 1:23 AM
Was just discussing this with my brother as he spotted a Daniel McDonnell tweet about it the other night whilst the teams were warming up on the pitch before Shamrock Rovers' game. Didn't see it mentioned here but thought it was pretty funny. Apparently, the Shamrock Rovers team emerged for their warm-up to the sound of this:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oCe_Zh-Wobs
The erudite @paulohehir tells me that Rovers emerged for warm-up to Johnny Logan/Bohs anthem 'Hold Me Now..' #mindgames
27 Jul
Two frozen frames from the second Karpaty Lviv goal against Pat's here:
http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc12/poguemahone85/stpats.png
The first is fractions of a second before the Karpaty player kicks it and the second is fractions of a second after. Rogers goes on to save that effort before the chap, who is clearly standing in an offside position in both, volleys it into the roof of the net. Bad decision to let that stand.
was never a free in either.
Tired now...
30/07/2011, 1:37 AM
Bohs were similarly screwed by poor officiating in Slovenia. I think you really need a slice of luck at any away game in Europe and Pat's seem to have been denied that.
30/07/2011, 5:27 AM
Bohs were similarly screwed by poor officiating in Slovenia. I think you really need a slice of luck at any away game in Europe and Pat's seem to have been denied that.
And bad tactics by fenlon, that slovenian team were there for the taking
30/07/2011, 10:50 AM
was never a free in either...
you can see the free from about 55 seconds in here. Horrendous decision
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AJsfjfWIU9g
30/07/2011, 11:12 AM
A big part of the Каrpaty team's strategy is obsessive compulsive diving.
hoops1
30/07/2011, 11:20 AM
Never a free in and offside.
Pity the only enjoyment Bohs get these days in Europe is when JL is played
30/07/2011, 1:37 PM
Actually did many Pats and Sligo fans make the journey over does anyone know?About 100 of us over, some of their fans mad for a fight near our hotel after, a couple got jumped. Guards stayed around the area for most of night. In saying that though, most of their fans were sound, shaking hands with us after, swapping scarves etc.
Anyone who thinks this is a poor result is an idiot imo. Yes we could have won it with the chances we had, especially Kirby's. But are people forgetting all the chances Vorskla had? Especially in the 1st half. Clarke saved us many times, they were walking through our defence for fun in the 1st 35/40mins or so. Very quick passing etc. It was 27 degrees at kick off time, the team had a lot of travelling to do Tuesday leaving Sligo at 3am and getting into Poltava about 10pm so wouldn't have been the sharpest. Vorskla by comparision are chartering a flight straight to Knock which cuts out a lot of stuff we had to do. I'm not trying to make excuses as all teams have to deal with heat/travel when playing the away leg but it does make this a good result.
I'm disappointed we didn't win but we could have been 4 or 5 down in the 1st half also. I'm not overly confident of going through in the 2nd leg, they're a good side and the fact we've no away goal I think that could kill us. We also got lucky with the number of chances saved, their defence are shakey though so we're still in with a shout. I do think our 2nd disallowed goal should have stood but apart from that the ref was very good and far better than anything I've seen in LOI.
Not sure if highlights have been posted as was away all week so not going through the whole thread
3m63sgxJpTk
30/07/2011, 4:41 PM
3m63sgxJpTk
I tried my best to understand what the commentator was saying. I got a little bit........Sligoa Rovers and Brendana Clarka
born2bwild
31/07/2011, 10:34 AM
I tried my best to understand what the commentator was saying. I got a little bit........Sligoa Rovers and Brendana Clarka
Well done again to Sligo!
I'm actually over in Ukraine now..arrived the day after Sligo's match. How did they play in that heat?
By the way Karpaty are playing Vorskla today in a league match:
What's the bets they field reserve teams?
http://livetv.ru/en/eventinfo/81233_karpaty_vorskla/
Anyway, check out Vorskla's sh1te goalie and centre halves again ...long ball them out of it in the Showgrounds!