View Full Version : LOI in Europe 2011

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 [56] 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74

Darkglasses
25/08/2011, 9:09 PM
Was never so proud to follow the League of Ireland, congratulations Shamrock Rovers. Fully deserved by all

ger121
25/08/2011, 9:09 PM
The breakthrough has been made. Think it was only half a point for the co-efficient but they got a bonus point for making the group stages. Even as a Bohs fan I have to admit it was an impressive result

25/08/2011, 9:10 PM
I think the draw is at 12 tomorrow?

http://www.uefa.com/

cornflakes
Still cant believe it

awec
I'd pay good money to be able to say "so who did Rangers/Celtic get in their group this year" when someone says "irish football is sh**e" to me.

Lucky gits! :D

All along we've been saying that we just needed to get that bit of luck in Europe- I think tonight Rovers got about 5 years of good luck.*

*This isn't in any way to take away from their excellent performance. :)

seand
25/08/2011, 9:12 PM
Well that's Celtic and Liverpool fans put in their place!

Amazing amazing stuff. A game changer for all of us. It's up to the rest of us to raise our game. Rovers still won't be able to put more than 11 players on the pitch and they now have to play another 4 games in Europe before the end of the LoI season, which is a great boost to Sligo and Derry in their chase for the title.

25/08/2011, 9:13 PM
Hurray for rovers, hurray for co efficient, hurray for the league, now does tallagh qualify for group games or will they be playing in the aviva?

total hoofball
25/08/2011, 9:14 PM
I wonder did Real Madrid, Espanyol, Athletic Bilbao fans etc. sob with joyous emotion when Barca won the Champions League? :roll:

athloneman
25/08/2011, 9:14 PM
so full of joy tonight for the league and the proper fans!!!! will rte now cop on and buy the rights for the europa league and show all of rovers games????

sullanefc
25/08/2011, 9:15 PM
Well done Shamrock.

Now, when are the PFAI going to start asking the players to strike over the fact that the games will go beyond the length of some contracts plus they will want a slice of all the wonga that Shamrock will make now.

davey
25/08/2011, 9:15 PM
For all the people that put the League of Ireland down. For all the people that tell you "I wouldn't watch that ****e". For all the people that walk about in foreign tops talking about "we" and "us". For all the Oirish clowns that turn up on SSN on a regular basis.

This night is wasted on you.

This is a night for people who do 10,000 miles a year on the road watching their team. People that beg, borrow and steal days off to go to games.

This is for people who travel to ****holes, to be looked at is as you have leprosy when you tell them you are going to a League of Ireland game. This is for people who bust their balls running raffles, selling tickets, writing programmes and keeping the game alive in this country.

This is for the likes of Buzz, Ash, Fergus and all the Hoops I know. But also, this is for people who sweat blood and tears for Irish football, against a tsunamni of negative. This is a night for Rovers. But this is a night for people who put money and their souls into Irish football, into the League of Ireland.

Great passionate post. Well Done Shamrock Rovers:D

Nah Nah Nah Nah
25/08/2011, 9:16 PM
so full of joy tonight for the league and the proper fans!!!! will rte now cop on and buy the rights for the europa league and show all of rovers games????

I think someone said that TV3 and Setanta have the rights already

Disgrace
Will give the finance required, and indeed the confidence, for Rovers to become a very big team indeed.. Bigger than we ever imagined for a LOI team, so for that, congratulations Rovers...

The other plus is that it will encourage competition. Maybe I'm getting ahead of myself, but a successful Rovers, with large crowds and an expanded stadium will have a knock-on effect. Number One, more fans will appear at home grounds when their teams face Rovers. Number Two, a natural competitor will arise, be it Derry, Pats, Sligo, or more likely now, Bohs - Due to investment on the strength that 'if they can do it, so can we' .. Whatever happens, this is the new beginning we have been waiting for...

Well done Rovers, you might just have saved the league

athloneman
barstolers must have just **** themselves, rovers were mentioned on sky sports news!!!!

25/08/2011, 9:17 PM
I wonder did Real Madrid, Espanyol, Athletic Bilbao fans etc. sob with joyous emotion when Barca won the Champions League? :roll:

Last time I checked, most Spanish people supported Spanish clubs and weren't glory hunting barstewards like 90% of Irish football fans though.

League of Ireland: One true faith.

And f*ck it, I don't care if this sounds arrogant. Away and cry into your Neil Lennon bedcover if you have a problem with it.

writerbk1969
25/08/2011, 9:19 PM
What you'll get as you wait to tell mates in work tomorrow and how proud you feel (even if not a Hoops fan) is well wishes but a section who'll try **** on it with the "Sure they'll only make a show of themselves" - as that the attitude of some Irish people. To give a compliment is actually insulting them . 110 years we've been waiting for this in a league founded whilst we were still fighting for our independence. Well done Hoops, well done

http://www.facebook.com/pages/The-awkward-moment-when-you-get-knocked-out-of-the-Europa-league-by-rovers/141924262563655

Bohs11
I cant understand why everyone is creaming themselves over this. Rovers will be the Anderlecht of our league. They are going to win it for the next five or six years, and with their soon to be financial dominance they are going to be competing for fans in Sligo, Dundalk and Derry when every barstooler hops on the Bandwaggon and are proper staunch Shamrock fans.

bullit
25/08/2011, 9:20 PM
I think someone said that TV3 and Setanta have the rights already
TV3 usualy show those matches on its sister channel sattelite,3e.Whats the betting that they move them to the terrestial channel now ??

SwanVsDalton
THE most historic night in the history of our league. Absolutely unreal, bizarre, fantastic and amazing. Congrats to Rovers and their fans - it's a proud day.

Also betting Shams will be distracted in the league race...it couldn't get any better ;)

mandrake
yeah well done rovers, as drogs fans, big congrats... wish it couldve been us in 2009 but .... hope yis get a draw against a abig club but drwan against winnable one inthe group as well....

25/08/2011, 9:21 PM
Generally, I'd agree with you. I don't support LOI teams in Europe 'cos they're my rivals the rest of the time.

However, this is an exception. Rovers have made a massive breakthrough, not just for themselves, but for the whole league. This isn't just going to benefit Rovers for the next few months, it will benefit the whole league for the next few years.

You'd want to be really bitter not to enjoy it.

25/08/2011, 9:23 PM
How much do Rovers stand to gain from this in prize money?

White Horse
25/08/2011, 9:24 PM
Generally, I'd agree with you. I don't support LOI teams in Europe 'cos they're my rivals the rest of the time.

However, this is an exception. Rovers have made a massive breakthrough, not just for themselves, but for the whole league. This isn't just going to benefit Rovers for the next few months, it will benefit the whole league for the next few years.

You're right this is not an ordinary victory. This is ground-breaking stuff.

You would have to be bitter, blind, and myopic not to see it. In other words, a Celtic fan.

Guinney
Ten-man Hoops crash out

http://www.skysports.com/football/match_report/0,,11065_3438011,00.html

White Horse
How much do Rovers stand to gain from this in prize money?

Enough not be have to sign recently "retired" players anymore ;)

total hoofball
25/08/2011, 9:25 PM
Last time I checked, most Spanish people supported Spanish clubs and weren't glory hunting barstewards like 90% of Irish football fans though.

League of Ireland: One true faith.

And f*ck it, I don't care if this sounds arrogant. Away and cry into your Neil Lennon bedcover if you have a problem with it.

And here we have 90% of the 'One True Faith' League of Ireland F.C. club glory hunting with sobbing emotion on the back on a rival club's taxpayer/creditor funded success.

Barstoolers, One True Faith F.C., no difference.

25/08/2011, 9:26 PM
Enough not be have to sign recently "retired" players anymore ;)

Aul Neale is already on the blower to MON... :D

25/08/2011, 9:27 PM

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_HS1spWnkn4o/Rz5K7g-My2I/AAAAAAAAA3o/vxPWc6jfTwc/s320/missingthepoint.png

25/08/2011, 9:29 PM
Congrats rovers!! Absolutely superb. The result we have been waiting so so many years.

Let's be fair, partizan were the better but when rovers did actually play and keep the ball, they looked very good. They shouldn't be intimidated by these type of teams, yes be conservative but when they went to 2 up front the difference was unreal.

And what a goal, honestly if messi scored that it would be repeated over and over.

Finally a really good news story for the league and its inspiration to all the other clubs in this country, what a well run club can do.

Also credit to setanta for showing the game and shame on our national broadcaster. I came home and saw the celtic game in the listings for setanta and was gutted. Burt glad it was wrong, who wants to watch scottish teams exit out of europe when we can watch our own champions qualify!!

total hoofball
25/08/2011, 9:30 PM

Are the FAI going to go socialist on the league by confiscating Rovers' €2,000,000+ prize money and splitting it amongst the other 20 clubs? There will be no trickling down effect.

Great night for Rovers, disaster for competition in the league

bullit
http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_HS1spWnkn4o/Rz5K7g-My2I/AAAAAAAAA3o/vxPWc6jfTwc/s320/missingthepoint.png
And the Bohs lad !!
http://provideocoalition.com/images/uploads/fuuuuuuuuuu.jpg

Most users ever online was 716, 25/08/2011 at 10:05 PM.

DannyInvincible
25/08/2011, 9:31 PM
I hope Colbert Report was watching this evening.

cornflakes
25/08/2011, 9:32 PM
Shamrock Rovers trending worldwide on twitter

25/08/2011, 9:33 PM
Going off on a tangent, i like the diagram not really sure it fits perfectly to what hoofball is saying all the same though.

25/08/2011, 9:34 PM
Well done Shamrock.

Now, when are the PFAI going to start asking the players to strike over the fact that the games will go beyond the length of some contracts plus they will want a slice of all the wonga that Shamrock will make now.

In fairness after the way they put their bodies on the line 2n, they all should be entitled to share in the financial success of this.

Let's enjoy tonight and the draw 2m. So much to look forward to. But also this must not be a one off, we need as a league to build on this.

kevincronin2000
25/08/2011, 9:35 PM
The least any group stage side appeared to get last season was Hadjuk Split at €1,225,078

Youths4Ever
25/08/2011, 9:36 PM
Great result for Rovers and hopefully a good news story for the league for the change

25/08/2011, 9:36 PM
I hope Colbert Report was watching this evening.

Ha ha very true it was only recently he was posting some of thre worst stuff I've seen him post on the league.

Fcuk the begrudgers.

Those type of emotional rollercoasters games are usually reserved for the national team but that was unreal and all the better, the sweet smell of success for a change!!

geezer
25/08/2011, 9:44 PM
to the hoops, Congrats to all of their supporters

25/08/2011, 9:48 PM
Jesus if O'Neill's Rovers can do this, imagine what Cook's Sligo will do in Europe this year

swinfordfc
25/08/2011, 9:50 PM
Congrats to Rovers from all down here in Mayo ..... its a massive achievement for league of Ireland football

DannyInvincible
25/08/2011, 9:50 PM
Will anyone spare a thought for Alan Mannus?

25/08/2011, 9:51 PM
I'm absolutely over the moon here. This is one if the greatest nights if sport I've ever experienced. Combine Dublin 95, Genoa 90, Cardiff 09... this is the night. MariborKev said it better than I ever could.

Say it loud....

I'm LOI and proud!!!
Congratulations Rovers. And let's not forget Sligo, Pats and Bohs in all of this, but this is the night!!!

Be proud lads it doesn't happen often!

Delighted. Come on!

25/08/2011, 9:52 PM
TV3 usualy show those matches on its sister channel sattelite,3e.Whats the betting that they move them to the terrestial channel now ??

3e isn't just on satellite, it's on terrestrial TV on Saorview.

25/08/2011, 9:52 PM
:Lads i mentioned it already, but fair play to all of you who thoroughly deserve it, but this thing is trending on facebook and twitter like the international team when henry handled the ball(the cheating cnut).

We argued on this before that something like this would make those who have no interest stand up and take notice, and it certainly has. Lets just hope it can be sustained or used positively.

Trainee
25/08/2011, 9:54 PM
if anyone wants to e mail sky sports with the rovers goal their e mail is u2us@skysports.com. The link for the goal is http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vOfNq6JY_BE&sns=fb

It would be great for the league if they showed this on skysports news.

KianD
25/08/2011, 9:57 PM
Goal shown on RTE2 there now.