View Full Version : LOI in Europe 2011

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 [40] 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74

born2bwild
31/07/2011, 10:36 AM
I remember watching that in a completely empty Irish pub in Tenerife. My brother and I were so distracted by the crushing disappointment of what we'd just witnessed that we left the bar in disgust genuinely forgetting to pay for our food and drinks. The barman did chase us out on to the street, mind, and we were very apologetic, although I think he suspected we were trying to pull a fast one.
I was in Ukraine for that match. Gutted.

Dave_SRFC
31/07/2011, 1:37 PM
Well done again to Sligo!

Aye well done to Sligo cracking result over there...

DannyInvincible
01/08/2011, 1:47 AM
Vorskla beat Karpaty 2-0 earlier. Did anyone watch it? My brother watched about twenty minutes whilst it was 1-0 and said that Karpaty looked the better of the two when he was watching, but didn't look all that great at the same time.

Here are the goals anyway:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6BCwAJNamYE

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r9Nrf4dQZ_g

And extended highlights:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8hpco_gWVVI

Vorskla are in the white; Karpaty are in the green. Nice touch at 3:15 from Artem Fedetskiy, the guy who scored Karpaty's opener against Pat's. Most of the action seems to favour Karpaty. Not sure how they lost 2-0.

01/08/2011, 4:40 PM
Didnt know whether to put this into the Super Cup thread or not, but thought it might get more coverage here. I'm sure some have seen it already:

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/0801/domestic.html

LIke the article I must say. I was chatting to a friend over here before the game, who is from well outside the "city" of sligo down towards curry, anyway, I was surprised to find out that he is/always was mad soccer and mad Sligo Rovers fan as I assumed he would be more GAA coming from the area he is from. He reckons since the FAI cup run and win last year there has been a new impetus and a buzz about the county for Sligo Rovers. I suppose the hard part is sustaining that.

shellyriver
01/08/2011, 5:41 PM
He reckons since the FAI cup run and win last year there has been a new impetus and a buzz about the county for Sligo Rovers. I suppose the hard part is sustaining that.

Not that hard to sustain if top of league! Come on Rovers! Gavin Peers header in the 88th minute for glorious home win on Thursday!

DannyInvincible
01/08/2011, 8:39 PM
According to Daniel McDonnell, Copenhagen are staying in the Plaza Hotel in Tallaght tonight. The hotel's Playhouse nightclub has a night on for the bank holiday Monday. Dunno what the night's like, but I'd strongly recommend everyone in the vicinity gets down and makes as much of a racket as possible. ;)

legendz
01/08/2011, 9:02 PM
In my own personal opinion, the biggest game in Irish football this year so far as I've seen it was Ireland playing away to Macedonia. There'll probably be more big games for the international side in the next few months. For now I see tomorrow's game as the biggest of the year. Good luck to Shamrock Rovers tomorrow night, I hope they pull off one of the biggest shocks.

01/08/2011, 9:37 PM
I really cant see it on the evidence of the game the last day. Possible but highly unlikely to get as far as penalties. For some reason i feel if they did get that far they wouldn't win either. But getting that far would be some achievement in itself. I just cant see copenhagen not scoring if rovers score.

However I feel if sligo play the way they did in the other game and don't make any stupid mistakes, they should win.

Best of luck to all 3 anyway, hopefully 1 will progress. Given last weeks results it would be a bit of a let down not to.

swinfordfc
01/08/2011, 10:30 PM
I wish Shamrock Rovers all the best tomorrow night - it would be some result to get into the 4th qualifying round ..... all the best from Mayo!

01/08/2011, 11:47 PM
Yep good luck to you all, give them hell from the stands :)

01/08/2011, 11:58 PM
Best of luck to Rovers. I haven't been this excited about a game not involving Bray in many a moon. It's a huge ask, but give them hell and you never know!

Might just cover myself for the ultimate anti-climax - 11/2 for Kobenhavn to be leading after 10 minutes.

I'm sure as soon as this game is over the excitement ahead of the other Rovers' euro clash will start to build, good luck to both. Would be great if Pats could get a result on the night as well, though I'd eat my hat if they went through.

02/08/2011, 12:30 AM
Can't wait. Have been given permission by herself to miss yoga tomorrow night. Oh yeah. I wear the trousers!

02/08/2011, 7:24 AM
No you don't.you do yoga.

Where's the other stu to come in and reign on the parade?!probably in bed at this time!

DannyInvincible
02/08/2011, 7:51 AM

Who isn't doing yoga these days? However, this match is so important, my other half has convinced me to ditch tonight's yoga and actually watch the game live.

02/08/2011, 7:54 AM

Where's the other stu to come in and reign on the parade?!probably in bed at this time!

Stu doesn't reign, he rules.

02/08/2011, 8:19 AM
Not not the fruit melon kind

what time is kick off

btw you meant tonight you posted at 1.30

02/08/2011, 8:25 AM
Not not the fruit melon kind

what time is kick off

btw you meant tonight you posted at 1.30

Thanks Paul.

I'll bear that in mind next time I fail to fall asleep by 640am.

02/08/2011, 8:29 AM
what time is kick off
7:45.

Spudulika
02/08/2011, 8:37 AM
Sounds a bit sad, but there will be a scouser, 2 Aussies, a Kazakh and 3 Russians huddled around my lap top hoping to get a feed of the game. By that time we'll all be well oiled, but if Rovers can win it'd be as bit an event as Shels beating Hajduk.

Thanks Paul.

I'll bear that in mind next time I fail to fall asleep by 640am.

You can tell exactly what time you fall asleep to the exact minute. Thats pretty impressive.

Fireworks woke me at about 3 this morning, I live about five minutes from The Plaza where the Copenhagen team is staying. I'm sure they had a lovely sleep.

Glad I got a ticket for tonight, I just hope Rovers can keep it tight early on and let the pressure build on Copenhagen. A lot of this will come down to the Rovers players attitude, if they can go out with a "nothing to lose" attitude they'll have a real chance, if they get nervous and start thinking about the potential rewards of getting through then they'll find it difficult not to tense up, if that happens they'll be beaten.

02/08/2011, 8:42 AM
Sounds a bit sad, but there will be a scouser, 2 Aussies, a Kazakh and 3 Russians huddled around my lap top hoping to get a feed of the game. By that time we'll all be well oiled, but if Rovers can win it'd be as bit an event as Shels beating Hajduk.

I think it would be far bigger. BUt if it was done in the same fashion with 2 goals in the last ten minutes then that would be something else and exactly how you would like to see if pan out, so that they aren't holding a lead all game.. Split are/were not on the same level copenhagen are on.

DannyInvincible
02/08/2011, 8:59 AM
I think it would be far bigger. BUt if it was done in the same fashion with 2 goals in the last ten minutes then that would be something else and exactly how you would like to see if pan out, so that they aren't holding a lead all game.. Split are/were not on the same level copenhagen are on.

Plus, if Rovers actually win this tie, they're guaranteed a place in the Europa League group stages at least.

02/08/2011, 9:29 AM

I just re-read that to see if it was just on first reading, but all i can imagine is 7 blokes of different nationalities around your knees.....

02/08/2011, 9:37 AM
You can tell exactly what time you fall asleep to the exact minute. Thats pretty impressive.

I can tell the time. And that was the last time I remember. I may have fallen asleep at 650 it could've been 647. But I definitely wasn't asleep by 640. Which is what I said. Jaysus.

02/08/2011, 9:38 AM
Sounds a bit sad, but there will be a scouser, 2 Aussies, a Kazakh and 3 Russians huddled around my lap...

I really want to hear the punchline to that joke.

Sliogán Dóite
02/08/2011, 9:53 AM
Any spare tickets going?
Presume they'll be gone come 7pm (earliest I can get there)

pateen
02/08/2011, 9:59 AM

Anyone have a link to watch it online for us expats?
Rte is for Ireland only unfortunately

A1 sharon
02/08/2011, 10:47 AM
Anyone have a link to watch it online for us expats?
Rte is for Ireland only unfortunately

I really need to know this also.

This might work...... http://cynicsunlimited.com/2010/03/28/using-firefox-and-modify-headers-plugin-to-view-blocked-video-streams/

I will report back if I get a fix.

02/08/2011, 11:37 AM
I can tell the time. And that was the last time I remember. I may have fallen asleep at 650 it could've been 647. But I definitely wasn't asleep by 640. Which is what I said. Jaysus.

Pauls only a part timer, lave him alone..:D

02/08/2011, 11:44 AM
Pauls only a part timer, lave him alone..:D

He needs to learn the ways of P&FD.

Spudulika
02/08/2011, 11:54 AM
myp2p.eu should be putting up a link. There is a Danish channel showing it so I think that's how we'll do it. I used to be able to get RTE feeds last year but since coming back to Russia it's almost impossible.

On the Hajduk/Copenhagen comparison, I think this Rovers team are better than Shels, Copenhagen are better than Hajduk, but it has the same feel about it. Irish team go away, get a good result and then come back and finish it off. I wouldn't be surprised if Copenhagen just try to smother the life out of the game, and it backfires on them!

02/08/2011, 11:58 AM
That would be delicious. I'm in two minds whether to hit the pub for this or stay in.

02/08/2011, 12:25 PM

I'll be giving an extra special shout just to accommodate his inability to be there supporting his brave green and white heroes. Anything to keep him happy..:kissed:

02/08/2011, 12:29 PM
He needs to learn the ways of P&FD.

Isn't everyone in the P&FD ;)

Buller
02/08/2011, 12:57 PM
Under 6 hours to go now... pre-match nerves are killing me! I'm really hoping the players take their mind off whats at stake and just play normally. Copenhagen manager Roland Nilsson is "confident they can progress" as they are "more prepared this time round". He obviously hasn't heard the Tallaght roar ;)

Thanks for the well wishes; really hoping we'll do the LoI proud and kick some danish a$$ ;)

Candystripe
02/08/2011, 1:49 PM
Good luck to rovers tonight. Might even take the night off work and go watch it in the Derry social club. (any excuse for a pint) ;)

Is there any chance of getting a ticket for the Sligo game on Thursday?

harleyleeds
02/08/2011, 1:51 PM
myp2p.eu should be putting up a link. There is a Danish channel showing it so I think that's how we'll do it. I used to be able to get RTE feeds last year but since coming back to Russia it's almost impossible.

On the Hajduk/Copenhagen comparison, I think this Rovers team are better than Shels, Copenhagen are better than Hajduk, but it has the same feel about it. Irish team go away, get a good result and then come back and finish it off. I wouldn't be surprised if Copenhagen just try to smother the life out of the game, and it backfires on them!

OVERPLAY.COM
8 bucks or so and you can get any country with proxy.

poster
02/08/2011, 1:55 PM
Is the Pat's game this week in Tallaght or did the taximan tell me a fib?

ger121
02/08/2011, 2:03 PM

He was indeed telling the truth. Which is a rarity when it comes to taxi drivers:-P

Rasputin
02/08/2011, 2:06 PM
Is there any chance of getting a ticket for the Sligo game on Thursday?
Not a hope, they are like gold dust up here.

punkrocket
02/08/2011, 2:07 PM
I hope that guy Delaney doesn't get a game, the possible poetic injustices are too much to consider.

02/08/2011, 2:40 PM
If he comes on and scores an own goal you could say for once Delaney does something good for Irish football

02/08/2011, 2:47 PM

Yep, pats using tallaght on Thursday. laods of tickets too. 7.45 kick off

A1 sharon
02/08/2011, 3:22 PM
RTE worldwide now apparently.......

GreenStar
02/08/2011, 3:29 PM
Update from Shamrock Rovers: "Tonight's match available worldwide excl Denmark via streaming on rte player. The club has forsaken any payment for these rights to allow as many Hoops fans as possible participate in another historic night for SRFC."

This should help a lot of people out there!

PS Match completely Sold Out now.

02/08/2011, 3:30 PM
Fair dues to Rovers for that. Very sensible.

Spudulika
02/08/2011, 3:54 PM
Which means me and my motley crew will be enjoying RTE commentary instead of some Dane who sounds like the chef in the Muppet Show! Lovely! My long suffering other half came back from holiday in Ireland this morning and brought with her a can of Kilkenny, though I think there are a few bottles of local cider which might do the trick better! Fingers crossed tonight!

02/08/2011, 3:56 PM
Fair dues to Rovers for that. Very sensible.

Not really very sensible, but I wouldn't have thought they got any extra money directly off rte but off the carrier, obviouslly bar denmark no one else wanted to show it worldwide and RTE just wouldn't pay extra....

ANyway fair play. Thats good be nice to see it on a proper stream.

Came back to where spudliuka?! ;) I thought kilkenny was only available OUTSIDE Ireland.

DannyInvincible
02/08/2011, 4:24 PM
Nice gesture by the club.

Is it true about fireworks going off outside the Plaza Hotel into the wee small hours last night, ha?