View Full Version : LOI in Europe 2011

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 [66] 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74

SPXcyan
20/09/2011, 5:18 PM
I cried after Dunny's post there! fantastic ;)

20/09/2011, 5:49 PM
If they progress then it'll be interesting to see if/how he strengthens but paok & Rovers should be comfortable enough home wins even for a weakened side and even if Rubin win all 6 games 2nd place should be pretty achievable without having to draft in Bale, Modric etc..

Winning the group, gives you a return home leg, and avoids having to play the CL rejects next round.

Cuyahoga
24/09/2011, 6:34 PM
I watched Soccer AM this morning to see the Crossbar Challenge featuring Shamrock Rovers. Brief feature but Stadium looked good and players came across well. I hadnt watch Soccer AM for a while, i now know why I stopped watching it. Its a dreadful programme,the so called funny bits are crap. That Helen Chamberlaine does my head in . She keeps laughing at things that are not funny.I would love to slap her across the face with a wet fish!

cornflakes
25/09/2011, 11:11 AM
Pv6alyiZYZg

Rasputin
25/09/2011, 1:43 PM
That Helen Chamberlaine does my head in . She keeps laughing at things that are not funny.I would love to slap her across the face with a wet fish!
She really is a cancer.

joema
26/09/2011, 12:25 PM
Anyone London based LOI fans going Thursday?

Shannonsider
28/09/2011, 5:19 PM
I wonder did Real Madrid, Espanyol, Athletic Bilbao fans etc. sob with joyous emotion when Barca won the Champions League? :roll:

Im sure they did. I was at a Espanyol game a couple of years ago and while the Spainish fans have a huge hatred for many reasons (social, history etc..) for Barcelona, they love to see Spainish teams do well in Europe. It helps La Liga as a whole as so will Shamrock Rovers success for the LoI. Fair play to them and im sure the majority of real Bohs fans are delighted for them be obviously wish it was them in that position.

28/09/2011, 5:35 PM
I wonder did Real Madrid, Espanyol, Athletic Bilbao fans etc. sob with joyous emotion when Barca won the Champions League? :roll:

Iniesta gets applauded off the pitch for Barcelona home and away across Spain after his World Cup goal...

28/09/2011, 5:38 PM
Iniesta gets applauded off the pitch for Barcelona home and away across Spain after his World Cup goal...

I'll happily applaud Kilduff off the pitch when he scores the winning goal for Ireland in the world cup final.

But until then....

28/09/2011, 7:40 PM
...you get to enjoy the Carlsberg.

legendz
28/09/2011, 9:42 PM
Good luck to South Dublin Rovers tomorrow night. I hope it's an historic night for the club. I don't want to get into predictions. The side that finished 5th in the UK's southern league to qualify for this competition will be a very difficult opponent.

boovidge
28/09/2011, 10:20 PM
I'll be at the game. I hope Rovers at least make it competitive.

bullit
28/09/2011, 11:15 PM
I'll be at the game. I hope Rovers at least make it competitive.
Fair play to you,is there many Shams fans/others etc.. heading over to the match,i believe that there are a couple of "same day" charters heading over ??

28/09/2011, 11:18 PM

I don't think supporters of clubs in La Liga really have to worry about the standing of their league being effected by how their rivals do. If Barca go out early in the CL, other Spanish clubs' fans can laugh at them. If all of the Spanish sides in Europe got knocked out and only Atletico Madrid were left and went on to win the Europa League, they'd be loving it. If, however, an Irish team in Europe wins or loses a match it has a much bigger effect on the standing of our league in European football than the results of any single club in the established leagues (England, Germany, Italy, Spain) so it's not really comparable.

You ask if supporters of other Spanish clubs were happy when Barca won the Champions League. When Irish clubs have won the Champions League and Europa League a total of 19 times, as Spanish sides have, then the comparison will carry more weight.

Gorm agus Bán
29/09/2011, 8:49 AM
Good luck to Shamrock Rovers tonight. Hopefully they can put in a good performance and be competitive for as much of the game as possible. I'd like to see McCabe pit himself against the Spurs players, I thought it was strange that he didn't get playing -v- Rubin Kazan.

29/09/2011, 3:29 PM
I am heading to the match. Meeting up with a good few lads who wouldn't even normally go to Ireland matches.

I was even emailing other lads about work related stuff/other stuff non football related and mentioned i was going for pints and to the game and they are going too. Thats 15 lads i wouldn't normally expect to see at football matches, and im sure im just one of many in this position. Should be a sizable "rovers" support there.

ger121
29/09/2011, 4:40 PM
PAOK just equalised against Rubin. 2-2 now. Going to be tough for Rovers to pick up points in this group and PAOK look decent, even away from home.

29/09/2011, 4:44 PM
Well we always knew PAOK were Partizan-standard at worst. Rubin would have expected to beat them, but likewise PAOK will expect to beat Rovers.

29/09/2011, 6:02 PM
Rovers fans in Covent Garden

http://yfrog.com/nvdc7jj

29/09/2011, 6:06 PM
Lineups are here: http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuropaleague/season=2012/matches/live/index.html?day=2&session=1&match=2007301

29/09/2011, 6:22 PM
Come on Rovers!!!

29/09/2011, 6:34 PM
Roddy doesnt know the name of the league, eircom league, Airtricity league, Board gais league is next.

eelmonster
29/09/2011, 6:52 PM
Does anyone have a linky? Mon the Yiddywhites.

29/09/2011, 6:57 PM
Does anyone have a linky? Mon the Yiddywhites.

Aye: http://www.livesportsonweb.com/live/2067/1/Tottenham-Hotspur-vs-Shamrock-Rovers.html

29/09/2011, 7:02 PM
Martin O'Neill managing Rovers eh?

Spudulika
29/09/2011, 7:08 PM
Watching in a pub in the company of a Liverpool fan (from Liverpool), an Arsenal fan (born in London raised in Oz) and a bunch of Russians who love Ireland. Just want this to end well.

cornflakes
29/09/2011, 7:13 PM
sounds like a Rovers home game

crc
29/09/2011, 7:14 PM
Come on Rovers!

29/09/2011, 7:23 PM
Stream dumped out :(

bullit
29/09/2011, 7:25 PM
Stream dumped out :(

Try the TV3 stream DP.

bullit
29/09/2011, 7:26 PM
Great save from brushy !!

29/09/2011, 7:52 PM
Phew.

29/09/2011, 7:55 PM
Same again in the second half would be mighty. Goin' to be a case of the Alamo in the 2nd.

gormacha
29/09/2011, 7:59 PM
Did well in that half, didn't they? Ok, a couple of good saves and a bit of luck, but fair play.

I watched a bit of it on Channel 5, and the English commentators were generally impressed, even if their habit of referring to them as "Shamrock" did grate a bit.

There was a classic Graham Taylor moment: "I like the look of this lad, Rice. He's always available to support his teammates, and he does a lot of good one and two touch stuff. Players like him never get the recognition they deserve. Oh, except he does. He was their player of the year last season." Genius :)

sullanefc
29/09/2011, 8:02 PM
Did well in that half, didn't they? Ok, a couple of good saves and a bit of luck, but fair play.

I watched a bit of it on Channel 5, and the English commentators were generally impressed, even if their habit of referring to them as "Shamrock" did grate a bit.

There was a classic Graham Taylor moment: "I like the look of this lad, Rice. He's always available to support his teammates, and he does a lot of good one and two touch stuff. Players like him never get the recognition they deserve. Oh, except he does. He was their player of the year last season." Genius :)

Isn't that their name??

crc
Well done Rovers; good 1st half. More of the same now.

L.T.F.C.
Just threw on the Town jersey in small silly act of support! :D

29/09/2011, 8:03 PM
Isn't that their name??

Nope. It;s SDCC FC.

29/09/2011, 8:06 PM
If they can keep Spurs scoreless for the first 20 mins of the half they just might get something out of this....maybe :/

gormacha
29/09/2011, 8:07 PM
Isn't that their name??

I have never heard them referred to as "Shamrock" by anyone in my 35 years of watching LOI.

"Shamrock Rovers", yes; "Shams", yes; "Rovers", yes (and a few other less complimentary names). But never as "Shamrock".

29/09/2011, 8:08 PM
I have never heard them referred to as "Shamrock" by anyone in my 35 years of watching LOI.

"Shamrock Rovers", yes; "Shams", yes; "Rovers", yes (and a few other less complimentary names). But never as "Shamrock".

Aye but you're speaking as someone following from Ireland.

Candystripe
29/09/2011, 8:10 PM
I've £50 on Spurs @11/10. I don't see me getting my bet up the way this is going!

Great for the league but sh1t on my pocket lol

Edit: Spurs at minus 2 goals of course lol

gormacha
29/09/2011, 8:12 PM
Aye but you're speaking as someone following from Ireland.

I wasn't having a pop at them. In England, every team that I can think of that use the "Rovers" epithet, attaches it to a place name e.g. Doncaster Rovers, so they often drop the "Rovers" in common usage. It doesn't work so well when its a club name rather than a place name. "Shamrock" just sounds weird. They aren't to know that we don't drop the "Rovers" of course.

L.T.F.C.
29/09/2011, 8:13 PM
Hon the rovers!

bullit
Yee fukin haaaaa

innittt !!

cornflakes
yyyyeeeeessssss

crc
29/09/2011, 8:15 PM