View Full Version : LOI in Europe 2011

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 [38] 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74

monkey9
28/07/2011, 6:53 PM
Strong line-up from Sligo:

http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc12/poguemahone85/Sligolineup.png

Cheers for that!! :) I needed a laugh!! :(

born2bwild
28/07/2011, 6:54 PM
First 10mins of the game it looked like we were the better team. Then suddenly we found ourselves under the cosh for the rest of the half, and the Ukrainians could have had a few in that time.

2nd half was a different story, we had 3 CLEAR CUT opportunities that we should have put away. Polskia had nothing of note in the 2nd half. A game of two halves. But we should be taking an away goal back to the Showgies.

Still a great result, and we'll beat them in the showgies. You watch.
Who's Polskia?
Definitely deserved the win. I was curious to see how Sligo's skill level compared with Vorskla's - they were a match. Well done Sligo and well done, Paul Cook. Bizzarely, I think a long-ball approach might have been a bit more effective as Vorskla's defence and goalie are rubbish in the air.

28/07/2011, 6:56 PM
letting the 2nd goal in right at the end is a bit of a disaster ... well done rovers

harleyleeds
28/07/2011, 6:59 PM
Anyway, it's a good result and one I'd have taken before kick-off. Just disappointing to see such chances wasted when they're so few and far between for Irish teams in Europe. I'd have Sligo favourites to progress after what I've seen. Was a very good performance, bar the finishing. Sligo didn't actually have a shot on target.

had two goals though

DannyInvincible
28/07/2011, 7:00 PM
Their keeper has butter fingers, but sadly referees seem to disproportionately favour keepers in 50-50 clashes for the ball, despite the goalkeeper already being put at an advantage by the use of his hands. There was another incident where the keeper came out to collect the ball and Cretaro, sliding along the ground on his knees, unwittingly headed it out of his hands and back into Cretaro's possession. This keeper is rubbish.

born2bwild
28/07/2011, 7:02 PM
This keeper is rubbish.
He makes Ryan Thompson look like Alan Mannus.

DannyInvincible
28/07/2011, 7:03 PM
had two goals though

One was a knee out of the keeper's (loose) grasp - was probably a fair enough call to rule it out I think - and the other probably should have stood as the keeper was helpless rather than impeded.

Dublin Red
28/07/2011, 7:05 PM
The Ukrainians were laughing in the press box after Cooks interview... he said we could have won with a bit of luck, and its all to play for in the next leg.
Very true in my eyes, cocky feckers.

28/07/2011, 7:05 PM
That's excellent for Sligo. Couldn't say they deserved to win, but they missed some great chances...

when comparing to last nights game(fck v SR), they(sligo rovers)certainly matched voskla and although they weren't unlucky, it was just very poor finishing which didn't see them win tonight. They were easily as good as the ukranians.

I alluded to the point that it was into the unknown and that these ukranians are assumed good because of the top 3 teams in ukraine. this team were very ordinary and at times looked far inferior to sligo especially at the centre of defence.

DannyInvincible
28/07/2011, 7:06 PM
The Ukrainians were laughing in the press box after Cooks interview... he said we could have won with a bit of luck, and its all to play for in the next leg.
Very true in my eyes, cocky feckers.

Laughing at the notion that Sligo could have won tonight? :confused:

Jesus, I don't know how Sligo failed to win.

PartySaint
28/07/2011, 7:08 PM
Great result for Sligo. They really deserved it the way they played. Great to see. Pats didn't disgrace themselves either. Unlucky to concede the late second goal. Still they still have a chance next week in Tallaght. Will definitely pop along to see them.

And we thank you for your support, Anyone else that has nothing to do next Thursday should come along to the game and help with the atmosphere, We can definitely beat this lot, Not sure about going through but give it a right F*cking go anyway

DannyInvincible
28/07/2011, 7:08 PM
this team were very ordinary and at times look far inferior to sligo especially at the centre of defence.

Just correcting that for you. :)

28/07/2011, 7:09 PM
when comparing to last nights game, they certainly matched volska and althought they weren't unlucky, it was just very poor finishing which didnt see them win. They were easily as good as the ukranian.

I alluded to the point that it was into the unknown and that these ukranian are assumed good because of the top 3 teams in ukraine. this team were very ordinary and at times look far superior to sligo especially at the centre of defence.

what are you trying to say in the bolded bits?

28/07/2011, 7:13 PM
I'm not sure :( Edited. My browser keeps freezing when i use yahoo messenger chat via the browser.

inchicore_saint
28/07/2011, 7:17 PM
2-0 down will probably be to much but look what happened in Russia two years ago so ya never know.

28/07/2011, 7:21 PM
"om a free kick on 93 minutes to leave the Dublin side with a huge hill to climb in the return leg at Tallaght Stadium next Thursday. "

well at least its not a mountain to climb....

maksimir
28/07/2011, 7:32 PM
A huge well done to all three teams in Europe this week. The nice thing is all three are well in touch score wise meaning there is hope with big crowds now guaranteed and banging atmospheres. Both Rovers possibly sell-outs? And I'm sure Dub based fans will rally round Pats for their 'away' home leg. Best of luck to all three in the return legs.

legendz
28/07/2011, 7:46 PM
After last season, the two Rovers' probably will have been expected to have done best in representing themselves, Ireland and the league. Both have played well this week, I hope they can match it and better next week. Having watched the Rovers game tonight, I'm confident Sligo can progress. Their opponent can ruin that dream though, all to play for next week.

oriel
28/07/2011, 7:54 PM
Sorry if asked previously, what stage do Sligo enter if they get past this? One more round then the group stages ?

Superb result, but need to finish the job at home now and be totally concentrated. Pats unlucky with that late goal. Pity, but still in with a chance if they get an early goal.

culloty82
28/07/2011, 7:57 PM
Fourth Round - so would still need to win a tie to make the group stage.

28/07/2011, 7:58 PM
They get into the Europa League play off or the 4th round.

Has it been decided who they could get in the 4th round yet(i mean a list of teams or whatever, when is that draw tomorrow or next week)?

28/07/2011, 8:01 PM
what the co efficient after that draw ? I don't know how the league will ever make a group stages of a major European club competition if they cant score away from home.

culloty82
28/07/2011, 8:03 PM
Bilbao, Birmingham, Besiktas, Celtic, Lazio, PSG, PSV, Roma, Schalke, Sevilla, Spartak, Sporting and Tottenham are all glamorous automatic fourth-round qualifiers.

28/07/2011, 8:04 PM
How many points do you mean? I doubt sligo would be rated very high considering they have only a couple of seasons in Europe.

Oh so no one is kept apart. Thats tricky for them alright.

legendz
28/07/2011, 8:10 PM
Sorry if asked previously, what stage do Sligo enter if they get past this? One more round then the group stages ?

Superb result, but need to finish the job at home now and be totally concentrated. Pats unlucky with that late goal. Pity, but still in with a chance if they get an early goal.

As mentioned by others, the next round is the play-offs. It's the round Shamrock Rovers could be dropping into though hopefully not if they can progress further next week.

oriel
28/07/2011, 8:23 PM
Thanks for replies, be great if they got past this round to have a go at that, also they would be 'reasonably' fresh too having only played 2 games in europe. Fulham will have played 6 at that stage in comparison.

As a side note, I cant understand why the NI clubs dont change season, all went out without a fight again, we comfortably took care of Linfield in Setanta and we'll do very well to make the top 4 this year. The standard must be appaling. I cant even see how they could have an apetite for playing in europe knowing how hard it is for them to compete, last season being a rare occassion with Clifftonville & Portadown making 2 rounds.

The Lep
28/07/2011, 8:24 PM
Bilbao, Birmingham, Besiktas, Celtic, Lazio, PSG, PSV, Roma, Schalke, Sevilla, Spartak, Sporting and Tottenham are all glamorous automatic fourth-round qualifiers.

Cmon Sporting :)

28/07/2011, 8:36 PM
Thanks for replies, be great if they got past this round to have a go at that, also they would be 'reasonably' fresh too having only played 2 games in europe. Fulham will have played 6 at that stage in comparison.

As a side note, I cant understand why the NI clubs dont change season, all went out without a fight again, we comfortably took care of Linfield in Setanta and we'll do very well to make the top 4 this year. The standard must be appaling. I cant even see how they could have an apetite for playing in europe knowing how hard it is for them to compete, last season being a rare occassion with Clifftonville & Portadown making 2 rounds.

The standard in the Irish League is appallingly low anyway nevermind that they don't change season. Even if they did what we do and played through the summer there's no guarantee that the standard would improve.

I rather enjoy them getting hammered in Europe to be honest so long may it continue.

abcd
28/07/2011, 8:37 PM
Congrats to Sligo on the night but still all to play for. Could have gone either way so 0-0 is a good result. Hopefully they'll get the win they require at the Showgrounds. Tough for Pats, 2-0 might be a bit too much but they've caused surprises before, hopefully they can get themselves in with a shout going into the final 10-15 mins.

Decent week for the league overall. Hopefully there'll be something concrete to celebrate next week.

harleyleeds
28/07/2011, 8:45 PM
what the co efficient after that draw ? I don't know how the league will ever make a group stages of a major European club competition if they cant score away from home.

f*** the co efficiant we got a good result and can win it at home.

28/07/2011, 8:46 PM
Poor goals given away by Pats tonight.
Goals here for anyone who hasn't seen them.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rbd-Dzh8VHw

Horrid miss by Kirby for sligo. Haven't seen any of the rest yet but fair play still to come away from Ukraine with a draw.

28/07/2011, 8:51 PM
Terrible goals to concede.

DannyInvincible
28/07/2011, 8:51 PM
f*** the co efficiant we got a good result and can win it at home.

Erm, if it wasn't for the national co-efficient, Sligo wouldn't be starting out in the third qualifying round of the Europa League.

harleyleeds
28/07/2011, 8:53 PM
Erm, if it wasn't for the national co-efficient, Sligo wouldn't be starting out in the third qualifying round of the Europa League.

who cares 2nd or 3rd

DannyInvincible
28/07/2011, 8:55 PM
Some (fairly limited) highlights of Sligo's game:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tOR7uUg6FmQ

Kirby's miss:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dQlr9ZElEsc

DannyInvincible
28/07/2011, 8:58 PM
who cares 2nd or 3rd

They wouldn't be seeded in the second either.

28/07/2011, 9:02 PM
http://images1.fanpop.com/images/image_uploads/Kirby-Squeek-Squad-kirby-1093892_1024_768.jpg

http://www.straferight.com/photopost/data/500/medium/double-facepalm.jpg

http://62.15.226.148/tc/2011/06/15/27510785.jpg

harleyleeds
28/07/2011, 9:04 PM
They wouldn't be seeded in the second either.

really dont care about it

DannyInvincible
28/07/2011, 9:04 PM

Horrid miss by Kirby for sligo. Haven't seen any of the rest yet but fair play still to come away from Ukraine with a draw.

I can't get my head around what Rogers was trying to do for the first. Watch at 0:59; does it actually bounce through his legs? Was he cowering out of collecting the ball for fear of injuring himself in a clash with the oncoming opponent or something? Terrible to watch a goal like that.

The second was off-side, absolutely no doubt about it.

harleyleeds
28/07/2011, 9:05 PM
oh and rovers did score 2 good goals so leave Kirby alone

DannyInvincible
28/07/2011, 9:08 PM
really dont care about it

By the sounds of things, you'd be happy if Sligo scraped a 1-0 victory over Ballymote Celtic's under-12s.

harleyleeds
28/07/2011, 9:10 PM
By the sounds of things, you'd be happy if Sligo scraped a 1-0 victory over Ballymote Celtic's under-12s.

your an ***** rovers got a good result whats your problem

28/07/2011, 9:11 PM

As well they aren't affiliated with Roscommon SL...

Like last night with Shams you would have bitten off the hand of the man who would have offered you 0-0 away from home; however on the evidence of tonight Sligo should have won and I would say comfortably after viewing a bit more of the game and reading on here.
It's understandable that people would be a little disappointed with the result.

It's great to have disappointment for not winning a game rather than what Pat's fans must be going through now after the defensive hames they made for both goals.

also Harley, language elsewhere. DI is hardly an enemy of Irish football.

28/07/2011, 9:14 PM

he biggest problem with the first was rogers being a pussy and not committing himself to it. Absoloutely no excuse, almost grobbleresque on the make. The second he should be coming down on that ball and saving it into his chest any rebound he dives straight down on. Very poor goalkeeping.

I stupidly said over hte last few days it appeared those with experience in europe(and not managed by fenlon) didnt give away or make these stupid mistakes, but those 2 pats goals are just harrowing. After all the good work and then two totally stupid mistakes. I mean i dont get to see any real LOI games, so i dont know, but does this happen the whole time? I Wouldn't have thought so, because i wouldn't expect St Johns athletic u12s to make these mistakes.

harleyleeds
28/07/2011, 9:20 PM
the ***** stands for idiot but you can make what you want of it . On the ROVERS forum everyone is delighted with that result but here its not good enough cos of the coefficiant.
btw no way should Rovers have won comfortably or really at all. A draw was a good and fair result.

DannyInvincible
28/07/2011, 9:28 PM

I wasn't dismissing Sligo's result tonight with my remark. Sligo got a great result (even if they could and should have won) and I commend their performance. We'd all have accepted a 0-0 away from home in Ukraine before kick-off. Did the league proud on that front. I wasn't referring to tonight though. I was referring to your non-support for Irish clubs in Europe in general and your failing to see the overall benefits of Irish clubs doing well or even acknowledging the merits in bettering the overall standard of the league. What I can't understand is what I see as your general "minnowist" attitude in the long run. You're admittedly happy to wallow in mediocrity, just so long as Sligo are winning something; anything. If it was the Mickey Mouse™ Connacht Championship, it seems you'd be content. Why not strive for better? You fail to see the bigger picture. You can only measure your own level of success by contrasting it with the level of your opposition.

28/07/2011, 9:30 PM
Why did you censor idiot?

Of course I would assume ***** was a swear.

Maybe the denizens of foot.ie are more ambitious than yer brethern on bito'red?

I would be disappointed with the result if I was a Sligo fan. Same way I was disappointed with the 0-0 with Deportivo in 2004.

DannyInvincible
28/07/2011, 9:41 PM
the ***** stands for idiot but you can make what you want of it .

Oh. :(

I thought you were calling me a 5-star poster for a sec.

DannyInvincible
28/07/2011, 9:44 PM
Two frozen frames from the second Karpaty Lviv goal against Pat's here:

http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc12/poguemahone85/stpats.png

The first is fractions of a second before the Karpaty player kicks it and the second is fractions of a second after. Rogers goes on to save that effort before the chap, who is clearly standing in an offside position in both, volleys it into the roof of the net. Bad decision to let that stand.

28/07/2011, 9:45 PM
Nice work DI. Completely missed that.