View Full Version : LOI in Europe 2011

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 [60] 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74

26/08/2011, 11:49 AM
yaunless it ends up like hearts getting hammered at home.

thats teh worst draw who wanted that.

GuisaSaigon
26/08/2011, 11:50 AM
Tough group but Spurs and Rubin Kazan should draw big crowds. Exciting times for Rovers fans and the LOI.

26/08/2011, 11:51 AM
That's it. It happened. Now to relive the joy of last night.

The Lep
26/08/2011, 11:51 AM
top 2 qualify so could still do it.

Real ale Madrid
26/08/2011, 11:53 AM
Thought 'Arry was only going to play reserves un Europa League?

SwanVsDalton
yaunless it ends up like hearts getting hammered at home.

thats teh worst draw who wanted that.

Yeah it was the group to avoid, although group D and I were horrendous too. Every chance Rovers will out perform Hearts though, just to underline last night's point about the leagues.

Spudulika
Rubin are not unbeatable, but Rovers should pick up a point at home. Great draw!

MeathDrog
26/08/2011, 11:54 AM
They have to hope that Spurs wallop everyone and effectively make it a best of 3. Draws between Rubin and PAOK and you never know..

TiocfaidhArmani
26/08/2011, 11:56 AM
I really hope they make a good account of themselves against Spurs. If they get hammered I'll need to stop speaking to folk, you'll never hear the end of it from folk goin' "I told you that bleedin' league is shoite".

Draw your away games, win the home games, et voila!

endabob1
I think it's a bad draw because Spurs will send a B team, which is a hiding to nothing, won't draw a crowd & will still be a massive ask to get anything from it.
Redknapp has already said it will only be fringe players in the EL

Tough trip to Russia but PAOK should be a target.

SwanVsDalton
26/08/2011, 11:57 AM
I really hope they make a good account of themselves against Spurs. If they get hammered I'll need to stop speaking to folk, you'll never hear the end of it from folk goin' "I told you that bleedin' league is shoite".

You get that a lot.

TiocfaidhArmani
26/08/2011, 11:57 AM
Yeah it was the group to avoid, although group D and I were horrendous too. Every chance Rovers will out perform Hearts though, just to underline last night's point about the leagues.

Fair play to Hearts getting a draw at White Hart Lane, even if it was dead, I thought 1/3 was great odds for a home win.

26/08/2011, 12:00 PM
From a selfish point of view at least totenham wont be too far away to go. Although being more selfish and from a rovers point of view fulhams group would have been better :)

26/08/2011, 12:02 PM

You must only know folk from dublin

SwanVsDalton
26/08/2011, 12:02 PM
Anyone know when the fixtures will be out? Usually they're pretty soon after the draw, would look to get to White Hart Lane if timing was right.

26/08/2011, 12:04 PM
I think it's a bad draw because Spurs will send a B team, which is a hiding to nothing, won't draw a crowd & will still be a massive ask to get anything from it.
Redknapp has already said it will only be fringe players in the EL

Tough trip to Russia but PAOK should be a target.

Phew i was worried we hadn't seen you on here in a bit :)

Do you honestly believe that he will send out a b team against kazan? He is only saying that, for less meaningful games thats true. BUt up in hearts he played defoe etc.

cornflakes
26/08/2011, 12:04 PM
Rovers fans celebrate in a pub in Ringsend

http://pikchur.com/v/gqn

26/08/2011, 12:06 PM
Anyone know when the fixtures will be out? Usually they're pretty soon after the draw, would look to get to White Hart Lane if timing was right.

You could meet another of your Derry folk there too :)

Nugget
26/08/2011, 12:19 PM

Don't mention the riots

26/08/2011, 12:21 PM
Rovers home to Spurs first according to MNS twitter.

ger121
26/08/2011, 12:24 PM
Rovers home to Spurs first according to MNS twitter.

Could be good time to play them from a crowd perspective. Will be a lot of hype building up to the game. On the football side,I'm not sure whether it is better to play them early, when they may not be in their stride or later, when they may have already qualified.

Patrick Dunne
26/08/2011, 12:26 PM
Will have to be played in the Aviva - between Rovers supporters, LOI people, Irish based Spurs fans, away supporters and the Premiership brigade, surely 40,000 punters attending is a possibility.

26/08/2011, 12:29 PM
Will have to be played whereever is most financially attractive to rovers(pre-requisites met obviously).

Nah Nah Nah Nah
26/08/2011, 12:32 PM

You're usually the one saying that

Park_Lane
26/08/2011, 12:45 PM
15th september Rovers V Spurs

crc
26/08/2011, 12:53 PM

That's class! Especially like the guy with crutches jumping around :)

SPXcyan
26/08/2011, 12:57 PM
I couldn't sleep last night at all! I couldn't imagine how I'd be if it was my own club! lucky shlutsssss ye!

colonelwest
26/08/2011, 1:02 PM
Just said on Sky Sports News there that games are switched to Landsdowne no quotes on that though. Wee little interview with Johnathan Roche too who came across well. Said that our clubs have been knocking on the door the last 5 years and that the league is not as well supported as it should but hopefully this will get people behind not just Rovers but all the clubs in the league. Spurs secretary very complimentary of Rovers achievement in his interview as well.

26/08/2011, 1:04 PM
Just saw the goal finally. F**k me that was a sweet strike.

Davey Rogers eat yer heart out! :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VIxHcILzZEE

26/08/2011, 1:08 PM

Still watching the game on Setanta now but that video has me in tears. Haven't seen such unbridled joy since Keane scored against France in Paris.

Thanks Rovers for great Summer.

punkrocket
26/08/2011, 1:11 PM
I think that this is a great draw. Spurs are the biggest crowd pullers so obviously good for the coffers/profile and the russian teams, whilst playing at a higher standard have been shown to be beatable by LOI teams. They've got to fancy their chances against PAOK as well after what they've done over both legs against Partizan. Anyway the important thing is that they are there, anything else is a bonus.

punkrocket
26/08/2011, 1:16 PM
I think it's a bad draw because Spurs will send a B team, which is a hiding to nothing, won't draw a crowd .

Oh yeah? Have you not seen the way that the Irish footballing public pack out grounds all over the country for english teams like Liverpool Geriatrics and the like?

26/08/2011, 1:43 PM
Nice article on Football365 (http://www.football365.com/f365-says/7126200/The-Game-Still-Has-Room-For-Dreamers)

The result was incredible on so many levels - and was the most fantastic reward for those who would just not give up. The Europa League may be derided by many, but in a country where the efforts of domestic football clubs are so often dismissed and ridiculed by a largely unsympathetic public hooked on "sports events" rather than actual sports, Rovers' achievement is a landmark - a truly massive breakthrough for the game in Ireland.

26/08/2011, 2:01 PM
Still astonishing stuff. Rovers also feature on the front page of the Guardian sports section:

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football

The fact that Shamrock Rovers chairman Jonathan Roche spent the aftermath of his side's unlikely victory over Partizan Belgrade figuring out how to get from the Balkans to Monaco for Friday's Europa League group stage draw suggests he may not have been hugely confident of success in last night's second leg. Playing their football in an Ireland where the majority of grown men watch their football perched on bar stools and have long referred to Premier League clubs such as Manchester United and Liverpool as "we", the men in green and white hoops have spent decades dealing with everything their sport has to throw at them except acclaim.
http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/blog/2011/aug/26/shamrock-rovers-hoop-dreams

And mentioned on the liveblog

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/blog/2011/aug/26/football-live-blog-26-august

Surreal, it really is.

26/08/2011, 2:06 PM
Just saw the goal finally. F**k me that was a sweet strike.

Davey Rogers eat yer heart out! :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VIxHcILzZEE

Anyone got a link to this goal other than youtube? Trying to show the goal to a few lads in work, you know the typical lads who only have ever seen the EPL. Ive been raving about this goal all day.

Decent draw, I really hope they give a good account of themselves and particulalry against Spurs as unfortunately thats the game many barstoolers will actually tune into watch. Should be a good draw from a €€€€ point of view and also prospect of picking up a few points. Would like to play Spurs away late in the group, with the hope they were qualified at that stage.

SwanVsDalton
26/08/2011, 2:18 PM
Still astonishing stuff. Rovers also feature on the front page of the Guardian sports section:

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/blog/2011/aug/26/football-live-blog-26-august

Surreal, it really is.

Is that the Kevin Davies whose first comment is on the live blog post? Surreal is the word...

DannyInvincible
26/08/2011, 2:22 PM
Just reading through the BBC's breaking sports news text service (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/front_page/9573292.stm) and I see they mention Rovers in bold now like one of their very own:

1307: FOOTBALL - Tottenham and Shamrock Rovers have been drawn together in Group A of the Europa League along with Rubin Kazan and PAOK Salonika.

Whether Rovers should take that as an insult or a compliment, I don't know. :p

Trainee
26/08/2011, 2:26 PM
Rovers fixtures here
http://www.uefa.com/MultimediaFiles/Download/competitions/Draws/01/66/84/06/1668406_DOWNLOAD.pdf

26/08/2011, 2:28 PM
so how long till i see kids walking around in longford wearing rovers gear calling them us? :p rovers now have the luxury of sky hype and by extension the league so good times, never before have i seen an Irish anything mentioned so many times in one morning on sky news

26/08/2011, 2:29 PM
Spurs in Dublin is the last game in the group apparently, 15th December. Should be a good floating crowd around at that time of year with Christmas get togethers etc. Rubin at home is up first on 15th Sept.

26/08/2011, 2:37 PM
Medo is some scummer.

TiocfaidhArmani
26/08/2011, 2:38 PM
so how long till i see kids walking around in longford wearing rovers gear calling them us? :p rovers now have the luxury of sky hype and by extension the league so good times, never before have i seen an Irish anything mentioned so many times in one morning on sky news

It's class though eh. Now is a good time for the FAI to market and promote supporting the league. I'd love SKY to take on our league, they'd do a great job of it and would give the league more credence with SKY behind it.

Spurs in Dublin is the last game in the group apparently, 15th December.

I was hoping it was nearer the start. If they're already out it won't generate as much interest and will affect the crowd etc.

26/08/2011, 2:51 PM

Surreal, it really is.

Like this one from the blog:

12.56pm: Shamrock Rovers will grace Group A, featuring Rubin Kazan, PAOK and Spurs! Pity Robbie Keane has left White Hart Lane, he could have played against his hometown club, which may well be one of the few he didn't support as a lad.

26/08/2011, 3:11 PM

i have irish bomb.

26/08/2011, 3:26 PM
UEFA has confirmed the fixtures for Shamrock Rovers in UEFA Europa League Group B.

The home venue for Shamrock Rovers is yet to be confirmed. TV3 has confirmed it will broadcast every Shamrock Rovers game live in the UEFA Europa League.

Matchday One - Thursday, September 15 (6.00pm)

PAOK FC v Tottenham Hotspur FC

Shamrock Rovers FC v FC Rubin Kazan

Matchday Two - Thursday, September 29 (8.05pm)

FC Rubin Kazan v PAOK FC
Tottenham Hotspur FC v Shamrock Rovers FC

Matchday Three - Thursday, October 20 (8.05pm)

Tottenham Hotspur FC v FC Rubin Kazan
PAOK FC v Shamrock Rovers FC

Matchday Four - Thursday, November 3 (6.00pm)

FC Rubin Kazan v Tottenham Hotspur FC
Shamrock Rovers FC v PAOK FC

Matchday Five - Wednesday, November 30 (8.05pm)

Tottenham Hotspur FC v PAOK FC
FC Rubin Kazan v Shamrock Rovers FC

Matchday Six - Thursday, December 15 (6.00pm)

PAOK FC v FC Rubin Kazan
Shamrock Rovers FC v Tottenham Hotspur FC

26/08/2011, 3:27 PM
rovers chairman on the radio now, says there going to try and expand the stadium to 10-12k and hold the games there

MrBlueMadness
26/08/2011, 3:41 PM
Well done to Shamrock Rovers getting into the groups stages with spurs.

26/08/2011, 3:43 PM
Would hope that they can do what they can to get the games into Tallaght. Would probably mean I won't be able at all to get a ticket but what harm.
Will defo be at White Hart Lane though.

DannyInvincible
26/08/2011, 3:46 PM
Not sure if it's been mentioned, but article 12.10 of UEFA's regulations for this season's competition (http://www.uefa.com/MultimediaFiles/Download/Regulations/competitions/Regulations/01/62/69/60/1626960_DOWNLOAD.pdf) states:

In principle, from the group stage, a club must play all its matches in the competition at one and the same ground. Matches may be played either at the ground of the home club or at another ground in the same or another city within the territory of its association, or, if so decided by the UEFA administration and/or the UEFA disciplinary bodies, in the territory of another UEFA member association for reasons of safety or as a result of a disciplinary measure.

So all home games will have to be played in Tallaght or whatever ground is chosen.