View Full Version : LOI in Europe 2011

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 [58] 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74

26/08/2011, 12:43 AM
I like Dara, but he's forever spouting on about his Arsenal.

In fairness, he does live in London. we will allow it.

26/08/2011, 12:44 AM
Turned on the pc here this morning and went to this thread expecting to see the usual posts of 'Rovers doing ok so far', 'too defensive', followed by 'ah ******', and then a few posts about how they did ok despite going out.

But when I saw 19 pages of posts since last night, I began to think..........maybe? possibly? Then I kept reading and I did see the 'Doing ok so far' and the 'ah ******' posts, followed by the unprecedented 'comeback and qualification into group stages' posts.

Amazing, never-to-be-forgotten night for Rovers fans. Truly historic. As a Limerick fan who has never even seen his team in Europe, I can only imagine how it must feel, but genuine congratulations. (We concern ourselves with more mundane matters like getting a valuable point at home to Salthill.)

As for posters asking if Deportivo and Valencia fans were delighted when Barcelona won the CL(or some post to that effect) - you can't compare the two. The spanish league is not shunned by the majority of its own people, with serious (and often wrong) assumptions made about the standard of football played in it. That leage doesn't suffer an image crisis like ours does - there will not be anybody saying 'Wow, I used to think La Liga was crap but I might have to take another look' like here will be people saying it about LOI after tonight.

Though I'm a little sceptical on the financial boon to the league that people have talked about (in the 'success of one team benefitting the whole league' thread), Rovers' qualification for the EL certainly does benefit the entire league in the sense that it will encourage people to give the LOI a chance, rather than instantly dismissing it.

Kildare Lad
26/08/2011, 12:48 AM
Haven't posted here in a long time, but just want to say congratulations to Shamrock Rovers tonight. Really is a fantastic achievement for an Irish club to get this far, a truly historic night for Irish football.

DannyInvincible
26/08/2011, 12:49 AM
Haha, a few Rovers fans going a wee bit mad:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=heC8Lcx82bI&feature=player_embedded

26/08/2011, 1:03 AM
congrats to shamrock rovers on their fantastic achievement. I didnt even know that Setanta were showing it and watched the Newcastle game on sky.. at10.15pm a friend rang me sayin did you hear about the game I laughed at him and he said to check aertel. A few mins later did check aertel couldnt believe it.. Then switched over to Setanta to see if there was any reaction and realised that the highlights were on.. Watched the whole game.. unreal.. This is such a huge turning point for this league.. this is a victory for the underdogs .. delighted in particular for pat sullivan who was a legend for us in his only season for us.. that has to be goal of the season on not only mns but on sky!

26/08/2011, 1:10 AM
Wow. Still recovering.

First, just immensely proud of the team for going out and putting in that performance. I will excuse them all the 1-0 losses to UCD in the world for that.

Second, really touched by the reaction of fans of other teams. It might be Rovers who are into the Europa League groups, but Derry are top of the league and Sligo are right there, so next season it could easily be either of them. Fans of other teams might not like celebrating a Rovers win but all it really proves is that the upper echelons of our league is good enough to compete in Europe, so fans of other teams should be able to look at their teams and say they're only a performance or two away from qualifying for European finals.

Third, anyone who's watched Pat Sullivan week-in week-out for the past couple of years knows he's had this in his armoury. One of the technically best strikers of the ball in the league. Enda Stevens fantastic, Turner, Rice and Finn magnificent, Twigg tireless and everybody else left it all out on the pitch. Ryan Thompson isn't just an erratic goalkeeper, he's a lucky erratic goalkeeper and that's all that counts. Dan Murray, worst defender in the history of football but yet another European scalp for him. He must be the luckiest person in world history since that Jesus lad stumbled on a stash of loaves and fishes.

Delighted.

26/08/2011, 1:19 AM
Just re read over this thread now that I'm home.

Welled up reading it. Absolutely over the moon.
So proud of all of us here regardless of our real support. We are a credit to the League of Ireland.

Congratulations again to Rovers.

In bits. Get in. Good night.

26/08/2011, 1:22 AM
It's on Setanta Ireland in full at 1pm on Friday afternoon.

CraftyToePoke
26/08/2011, 1:46 AM
Just got in from work to find this news and I am absolutely delighted, well done to Shamrock Rovers and enjoy every minute of the adventure, superb night for Irish soccer, I am basking in reflective pride at your achievement tonight, absolutely delighted.

marinobohs
26/08/2011, 2:41 AM
jazus just typical - leave the country for a few weeks and all hell breaks loose:)congrats to shams on a truely historic achievement (and thank god I am in USA and not Dublin) well done to all in Tallaght

Spudulika
26/08/2011, 4:13 AM
I sat in an Irish pub, watching an illegal feed put up on a big screen, with only Russians, a couple of Armenians and an Uzbek wondering what was going on. I got in at 4am (under special licence) and now have to do 2 hours work before herself goes to visit her Dad in hospital. However she gave me a hug and mug of tea this morning and said - "you were right, well done." I'm delighted for Rovers, for what they've done, for how this will lift Irish football, and I just hope they will plough the returns into their youth sector to build on this huge result.

DannyInvincible
26/08/2011, 4:39 AM
Slightly better quality highlights video that includes Rovers' celebrations after O'Donnell scores the peno:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=floGPzbUMxY

Edit: Actually, more highlights shown in this one and it's from Setanta's coverage:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xp9iiuIB3H4

brianw82
26/08/2011, 5:18 AM
Congratulations to everyone involved with Shamrock Rovers! What a wonderful result, and one I never thought I'd see. Every plaudit is deserved!

26/08/2011, 6:01 AM
Sullivan's goal was Fox Soccer Report's "Highlight of the Day" here in the US (and Canada). Goal looked even better on TV!

Dublin Red
26/08/2011, 6:08 AM
I actually shed a tear tonight. All those days spent scrambling to find links to watch Irish teams playing in Europe, praying for the breakthrough that we thought would never come. I actually never thought that the moment it happened I'd be working my ass off in a restaurant in NY, only to be told by a text from my sis what was after happening. I always imagined myself glued to the comp screaming my head off and jumping for every ball! - like all of ye on here! (was great reading through it all btw)

It was the first LOI game in Europe in a long time I didnt try to take work off or go out of my way to watch - I thought (like most) that shams had no hope, I also feel like I was actually losing faith, losing faith that it'd ever happen, but just when your on the brink, the unthinkable happens... That's what makes sport a brilliant!

That is what that result means to a Sligo rovers fan, and perhaps more importantly tonight, a LOI FAN.

ciaróg eile
26/08/2011, 7:02 AM
Everyone's talking (rightly) about rubbing this in the faces of fans of English and Scottish football. Let's not forget our nordy friends who claim their teams are as good as ours, bless 'em

DannyInvincible
26/08/2011, 7:13 AM
Some more Twitter updates:

Floriana FC
Congratulations to our Irish friends Shamrock Rovers F.C. - They made it to the group stages of the Europa League.

Daniel McDonnell
Have to say, in terms of the bandwagon element, got a great voicemail from unnamed radio show researcher around midnight tonight...[ctd]

"Oh, sorry, heard foreign ring tone. You must be on holidays or something. I wanted to see if you could talk on show about Shamrock Rovers."

They're still rolling in thick and fast by the second. The club's name is being tweeted right around Europe as fans of competing clubs express hopes of drawing Rovers as part of their "ideal draw".

26/08/2011, 7:35 AM
Congrats to all involved with Shamrock Rovers FC. What a great night for the club and the league in general.

26/08/2011, 7:47 AM
AN incredible night for Shamrock Rovers. A ground-breaking night for Irish football. Historic. Brave. Fearless. No amount of adjectives can do it justice.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/shamrock-rovers-make-history-and-enter-europe-league-2858775.html

stann
26/08/2011, 8:19 AM
Congratulations Rovers, wonderful, heroic performance, truly phenomenal acheivement, take a bow each and every one involved with the club.
What a story over the last few years, fairytale stuff for the fans. Brilliant! :party:

Nah Nah Nah Nah
26/08/2011, 8:20 AM
Great to come into work today and hear everyone talking about the match last night

harps1954
26/08/2011, 8:25 AM
so full of joy tonight for the league and the proper fans!!!! will rte now cop on and buy the rights for the europa league and show all of rovers games????

Nope, Setanta and TV3 hold the rights for Ireland. I'm kinda glad to be honest. RTE are a shower of hoors for jumping on the bandwagon at any sign of success. Just look back at the under-19's a few weeks ago - once they qualified from their group, RTE took an interest. However, a complete lack of interest up until then. RTE SHOULD have shown last night's game, but just couldn't be bothered. Fair play to Setanta for stepping in and doing so.

26/08/2011, 8:28 AM
That victory is for all who went to the home game in turners cross.Don't mention it , sure twas only over the road. :D

A fantastic achievement considering where ye have come from over the last few years.
A true success story of a fan run club, from promotion out of the First Division to European Glory.
If that doesn't show our lads what they've got to do, I don't know what will.

26/08/2011, 8:30 AM
Anyone still on an absolute high from last night??? I know I am and Im not even a Rovers fan.

Looking forward to the draw at 12 now. Ah man this is fantastic-either way there will be one or two 'glamour' ties for Rovers. For some reason Id love them to draw Stoke or Fulham, it would be a good draw from a media/attendance point of view and I also think Rovers would give them a real good game.

Its a pity that the games cant be played in Tallaght, but with sensible pricing and perhaps closing the upper tiers (open only if required), maybe the aviva can be used to great effect.

Also, I know this may screw up the league scheduling a bit, but if necessary it should be extended to accomodate Rovers in Europe. We as a league should be supporting each of our clubs in Europe, not hindering them. (I hope Im wrong but) This opportunity may not come around again for a few years.

freewheel30
26/08/2011, 8:58 AM
Amazing, amazing result and performance. The quality and type of football they played make it even better. Had a good feeling about the tie all along, never thought those guys looked better than Copenhagen; they lacked a certainty maturity, something that Rovers proved they themselves did have. Great day for everyone who cares about football in this country.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ce14dbAR1Oc

punkrocket
26/08/2011, 8:59 AM
Some very decent, magnanimous folk on here, fair play all round.
As far as Shams go, great achievement to come back after being behind both at home and away, shows some cojones. And the Sullivan goal! reminded me of the Zidane cracker at Hampden Pk in the CL final, every bit as good. The penalty was good too must have been nerve shredding the way the ball wouldn't hold still.

sullanefc
26/08/2011, 9:04 AM
Well done Shamrock.

Now, when are the PFAI going to start asking the players to strike over the fact that the games will go beyond the length of some contracts plus they will want a slice of all the wonga that Shamrock will make now.

All this talk of €1 million in the media is making me very concerned about what the PFAI will do.

born2bwild
26/08/2011, 9:07 AM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/shamrock-rovers-make-history-and-enter-europe-league-2858775.html

Remember I said this to you: "In future, follow the maxim, 'Never let the truth get in the way of an optimistic article"?

Mad - you don't have to worry about the truth now!

Sunny Jim
26/08/2011, 9:08 AM
Still smiling this morning, still find it hard to believe. Waited years and years for this but deep down I assumed it would never happen. I really hope Rovers can give a good account of themselves now.

born2bwild
26/08/2011, 9:11 AM
turned on the pc here this morning and went to this thread expecting to see the usual posts of 'rovers doing ok so far', 'too defensive', followed by 'ah ******', and then a few posts about how they did ok despite going out.

But when i saw 19 pages of posts since last night, i began to think..........maybe? Possibly? Then i kept reading and i did see the 'doing ok so far' and the 'ah ******' posts, followed by the unprecedented 'comeback and qualification into group stages' posts.

Amazing, never-to-be-forgotten night for rovers fans. Truly historic. As a limerick fan who has never even seen his team in europe, i can only imagine how it must feel, but genuine congratulations. (we concern ourselves with more mundane matters like getting a valuable point at home to salthill.)

as for posters asking if deportivo and valencia fans were delighted when barcelona won the cl(or some post to that effect) - you can't compare the two. The spanish league is not shunned by the majority of its own people, with serious (and often wrong) assumptions made about the standard of football played in it. That leage doesn't suffer an image crisis like ours does - there will not be anybody saying 'wow, i used to think la liga was crap but i might have to take another look' like here will be people saying it about loi after tonight.

Though i'm a little sceptical on the financial boon to the league that people have talked about (in the 'success of one team benefitting the whole league' thread), rovers' qualification for the el certainly does benefit the entire league in the sense that it will encourage people to give the loi a chance, rather than instantly dismissing it.

*poty*

26/08/2011, 9:18 AM
fantastic result for the league, hopefully future years ahead will become a lot easier for other airtricity league teams to make it through to the group stages. Hope Shams get a great draw at noon today, some big games ahead would be fantastic !!

26/08/2011, 9:20 AM
I don't think it's possible to quantify quite what a momentous achievement this is. I'm over the moon for the Rovers supporters who dragged the club back from the brink and made it possible to achieve this. It's an occasion to savour for everyone who witnessed all the near misses and put up with the scorn from the naysayers, when they knew in their hearts the league was on the verge of making this breakthrough. Shels and Derry set the tone with some great performances, Drogheda came so close in Kiev, I was in the RDS when Pat's gave Hertha a massive fright, was in Dalymount when Bohs were minutes from putting Salzburg out and now this is the payoff for all the disappointment and near misses.
The players will go into the history books and the performance will be forever etched in our minds. Now all Irish teams should be inspired to shake off the inferiority complex and realise the group stages are attainable and in a sustainable manner too. I said after the last game that the inferiority complex seemed to be slowly slipping away but I really thought this season was a step too far, the quality of the goal last week was superb and then it was somehow surpassed this week, surely there couldn't be a better advertisement for the league of Ireland as a collective. Onwards and upwards.

26/08/2011, 9:27 AM
All this talk of €1 million in the media is making me very concerned about what the PFAI will do.

Probably preparing strike notice as we speak.

26/08/2011, 9:45 AM
Where is Skstu?

26/08/2011, 9:47 AM
Where is Skstu?

Canada?

26/08/2011, 9:52 AM
I can only imagine what it must feel like to be a Shamrock Rovers fan today, or even a LOI fan. There will be some serious sore legs and even sorer heads coming off that plane today and I hope they saviour the moment and get a good welcome home party when they get back.

Ive enjoyed my 10 years or so following LOI clubs in Europe through mainly streams - since I left Dublin - and although teams were getting close each year, I actually thought that the pedigree and amount of teams that were increasing at a level faster than Irish sides I wasn't really sure the breakthrough would come. But it has and i really do hope that this can be the push that Irish soccer people need to get them through the turnstiles/merchandise/whatever. For shams as a club hopefully the money is spent wisely and used rather as an investment than an immediate spend, an investment to make more money.

I think a LOI club needed that luck, and after all the years of being luckless in Europe it finally came for Rovers. Again, Congratulations one and all and I hope the feeling of goodwill from those "on the outside" stays for a long time yet.

Me personally I never wake up early or before 8(woke up an hour early through excitement) as I'm wrecked but today I woke up with a great feeling, and more than anything a feeling of hope, hope for the future and what it might mean for Irish football as a whole. I've spent the morning reading here (a few times over) and trawling any papers I can find, I hope I can find some more.

26/08/2011, 9:55 AM
Canada?

Thats not what i meant ;)

26/08/2011, 10:22 AM
Just woke up there and for a moment forgot what happened. Still can't believe it.

26/08/2011, 10:25 AM
Jees O'neill was changing his clothes a lot on the sideline......

http://photos.independent.ie/gallery/Shamrock_Rovers_Glory_Night_/slideshow/Shamrock_Rovers_manager_Michael_O%27Neill._UEFA_Eu ropa_League_Play-off_Round_Second_Leg%2C_Shamrock/0edYa4peJle8F

If O'Donnell had missed it should have been retaken anyway:

http://photos.independent.ie/gallery/Shamrock_Rovers_Glory_Night_/slideshow/Stephen_O%27Donnell%2C_Shamrock_Rovers%2C_shoots_t o_score_his_side%27s_second_goal%2C_from_the_penal ty_spot./03uC4hV1sA8bm

punkrocket
26/08/2011, 10:33 AM
And his face. That first one is magilton

26/08/2011, 10:36 AM
I know, I was being sarcastic.

I think there was another one where they got dennehy wrong as well.

Jees murray is a lump his arm is huge and sives has an awful big nose. :D

The partizan security fella clapping sullivans goal is funny too.

26/08/2011, 10:52 AM
Draw live on Eurosport now

SwanVsDalton
26/08/2011, 10:59 AM
Live on UEFA.com too. There's a lot of teams to be drawn but a proper thrill an Irish team are among them.

26/08/2011, 11:01 AM
Yer one is cracking!

Spudulika
26/08/2011, 11:01 AM
Love it if they get Lokomotiv Moscow. I know the club were impressed with Rovers last night and Loko would lose in Dublin. Plus I've season freebies :-)

boovidge
26/08/2011, 11:03 AM
Christ, they drag this out don't they?

26/08/2011, 11:04 AM
Celtic have lodged an appeal?

26/08/2011, 11:07 AM
Celtic have lodged an appeal?

Ya Sion were playing supposedly illegible players that they had just signed. Something about 2 transfers or something.

I didn't really give much there did i? But platini and Uefa general secretary seem to be siding with(tom) celic thus far.

Yer one is cracking!

Would it be a down the dress or up the dress job?

boovidge
Yeah, aparrently Sion fielded in ineligible player.