View Full Version : LOI in Europe 2011
20/06/2011, 12:46 PM
Dunno; the Croatian league has been very hit and miss recently, particularly the smaller clubs. Cliftonville beat a Croatian team last season for example. Though it'll probably be Ljubljana who get through.
You'd imagine Pat's and Rovers should be favourites in their games (though not necessarily big favourites).
PartySaint
20/06/2011, 12:50 PM
First round we should go through but second round doesn't look very good
20/06/2011, 12:51 PM
Yeah, second round is nasty alright. Tis always the hoor of a round between the one ye should win and the one ye should be making money off.
TheBoss
20/06/2011, 12:52 PM
Boh's will take on: Siroki Brijeg (Croatia) or Olimpija Ljubljana (Slovenia)
They are from Bosnia !
20/06/2011, 12:53 PM
And actually, they beat Olimpija 5-0 in the UEFA Cup last year (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NK_%C5%A0iroki_Brijeg).
20/06/2011, 12:58 PM
Fulham coming to Northern Ireland to play Crusaders if they win 1st round, keep the barstoolers happy.
legendz
20/06/2011, 1:02 PM
RTE reporting:
Bohemians will face the winners of the clash between Welsh side Neath and Norwegian outfit Aalesund in the second qualifying round.
PartySaint
20/06/2011, 1:07 PM
That was match 9, not even close in the draw, idiots
noddy102
20/06/2011, 1:43 PM
Here is a picture of the stadium, there are worse places to play your football!
http://imagecache.soccerway.com/venues/300x225/400.jpg
Edit, the IBV stadium
Anyone else think if they had some cows though it could easily be mistaken for Gortakeegan?
The game is to be played in Reykjavik though, in this stadium, so thats not so bad...
http://www.fotbolti.net/getImg.php?id=70969&table=newspictures&w=388
Cuyahoga
20/06/2011, 2:13 PM
RTE reporting:
Bohemians will face the winners of the clash between Welsh side Neath and Norwegian outfit Aalesund in the second qualifying round.
Typical RTE. I see they have changed it now. This is the same organisation that said that snooker player John Higgins was Alex Higgins's son.
Terrible day:(
Think it's time to wheel out those three fans roaming the eastern fringes of Europe again :)
Tallinn could be a very difficult tie, especially big game at home first, but nice trip. Possibly expensive, but it should be easy to get to at least..
PartySaint
20/06/2011, 2:51 PM
Could be even less than 3 if we have to go to Kazakhstan
It's not even in fecking Europe
Could be even less than 3 if we have to go to Kazakhstan
It's not even in fecking Europe
On the other hand, their potassium is very good and their prostitutes are among the cleanest in the region.
http://im12.it/g/10420
20/06/2011, 4:41 PM
Yeah, FC Flora Tallinn, it'll be a tough game.
Are ye joking me - easy for rovers, no problems
Mixed bag. Nothing is ever certain with LOI sides in Europe but Rovers should advance hopefully which is the most important tie for any of the LOI sides, even though I remember another Talinn side ending Stephen Kenny's tenure at Bohs.
Iceland side could be a tricky game for Pats, tough for the 1st round anyway with some of the other unseeded teams in the draw. KR Reykjavik pushed Shelbourne all the way the year they played Deportivo. Also Icelandic sides had a good co-efficient last year afaik. Potential 2nd round doesn't look easy either.
Bohs will have to be dissapointed with that draw. Seeding didn't do them many favours. That Bosnian side are alright if I am remembering the right side from last year.
Who knows though who'd have seen the Bohs or Shamrock Rovers results from last year.
20/06/2011, 7:12 PM
Shamrock Rovers fans obviously.
Good draw for Pats, as long as they don't implode in their away leg, they'll be fine.
Rough draw for us, and no "season" advantage either, but last year's 2nd Round tie was rough too, and we came through it. Win this and we get at least 4 more games.
20/06/2011, 7:17 PM
Without having seen Tallinn, I'd wager Bnei Yehuda are a good bit better than them, but we're not so good that we can consider any opposition hard or easy. We're in that bracket of teams where the weaker side will lift their game to match the stronger in most instances. It'll be a tough tie but I fancy Rovers to do it.
legendz
22/06/2011, 6:22 PM
Are Boh's likely to be competitive in Europe? When their future for a Premier licence was looking dicey, it was looking likely Dundalk could've been heading for Europe. It's hardly good for Ireland's coefficient for a team that has fallen back so much to be involved. I don't mean any offence to Boh's, I hope to see them get back on track over the next few years.
No mate, i dont think we will. We have a tough draw regardless of who we face. We havent a pot to **** in, so much so that we couldnt send a delegate to the draw on Monday.
Fenlon is quoted as saying the Europa League is not a priority right now as there are bigger things to worry about on and off the field.
legendz
22/06/2011, 7:03 PM
If it's not a priority, could the not just have opted out or is it to do with the bit of money that they will get for the European game?
22/06/2011, 7:07 PM
Have the official fixture dates/times been announced yet for Pat's & Shams games?
Found Pat's actually:
Íþróttabandalag Vestmannaeyja Vs. St. Pat's June 30th
St. Pat's Vs. Íþróttabandalag Vestmannaeyja July 7th
What about Shams?
Many fans of either club got flights booked/planning on going?
22/06/2011, 7:08 PM
The club said this morning they were still awaiting confirmation. Should have been sorted today.
Pats away leg kicks off at 7pm Irish time on Thursday (6pm local time)
If it's not a priority, could the not just have opted out or is it to do with the bit of money that they will get for the European game?
i think you receive around 80k per round in the Europa though fans of other clubs may have a better idea. I suppose its a question of cost vs. reward. It could be mind games by Fenlon (though id doubt it). Im not sure why its not a priority. I think what he is saying though is that it will be a priority when the time comes.
22/06/2011, 7:21 PM
No mate, i dont think we will. We have a tough draw regardless of who we face.
On the flip side there is less pressure on Bohs this time compared to last year and ye still have a decent enough squad. You never know ye might gat a result or two in it.
PartySaint
22/06/2011, 7:37 PM
90k per round
peadar1987
22/06/2011, 8:31 PM
No mate, i dont think we will. We have a tough draw regardless of who we face. We havent a pot to **** in, so much so that we couldnt send a delegate to the draw on Monday.
Fenlon is quoted as saying the Europa League is not a priority right now as there are bigger things to worry about on and off the field.
Hmm... Interesting tactic. Spending like mad didn't get ye anywhere in Europe, so now you're giving not giving a toss a try!
damned if you do and damned if you dont, eh Peadar?! ;)
legendz
22/06/2011, 9:47 PM
Hoefully Boh's can do well anyways, we need clubs getting to round 3 at least. Boh's need to restore some of their credibility in Europe after last season though it's not easy after the winter and troubles they've had.
22/06/2011, 10:05 PM
Have the official fixture dates/times been announced yet for Pat's & Shams games?
Found Pat's actually:
Íþróttabandalag Vestmannaeyja Vs. St. Pat's June 30th
St. Pat's Vs. Íþróttabandalag Vestmannaeyja July 7th
What about Shams?
Many fans of either club got flights booked/planning on going?
nice use of the "thorn" there.
No th's for sligoman! :)
peadar1987
22/06/2011, 10:24 PM
nice use of the "thorn" there.
No th's for sligoman! :)
Aþlone Town
damned if you do and damned if you dont, eh Peadar?! ;)
Don't forget damned inbetween as well, Stu... :)
26/06/2011, 3:52 PM
A question. I know that for the earlier rounds if an unseeded team beats a seeded team then it gets to keep the co-efficients of the team that have beaten (for a few earlier rds). But if they actually get further into the rounds and make a group stage do they get to still keep the beaten teams co-effs or do they revert back to their original co-effs??????
They only 'keep' the co-efficient for the next draw. And it only applies to draws done before the round is finalised
For example the draws for Europa League Round 1 and 2 were done together so if a seeded team is beaten by an unseeded team in Rd 1, it could face a lower seed in rd 2.
The draw for round 3 is held before Rd 2 is finalised so the same principle applies
The draw for round 4 (the play offs) is done after round 3 so everybody uses their own co-eff.
Ezeikial
27/06/2011, 9:33 AM
There may be another side to this story, but Pete Mahon is well annoyed with Shamrock Rovers for refusing to move Sunday's league meeting back to Monday.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/mahon-slams-hoops-refusal-to-move-derby-2806384.html
Rovers were happy to get UCD's co-operation on postponing a fixture during their Euro run last season, but appear none to eager to provide any sort of co-operation to others.
hoops1
27/06/2011, 9:47 AM
Thats some rant by Mahon. The rant of a man who has never won a senior trophy.
27/06/2011, 10:05 AM
Hardly a rant. He answered some questions.
He was probably ****ed off that MON was in Friday's paper talking about how he wanted the upcoming Rovers/Drogheda game to be cancelled to help their euro preparations
Apparently Rovers background staff happy to have the game on Monday as it wouldn't clash with Dublin hurlers in some final or other, but MON wouldn't agree to it. The 2pm kick off is because of the hurling apparently
Hibs4Ever
27/06/2011, 10:08 AM
Mahon is right (as usual). Shams want the FAI and other clubs to help them out with fixtures when in Europe, but have no interest in doing same for other clubs themselves
Ezeikial
27/06/2011, 10:49 AM
Thats some rant by Mahon. The rant of a man who has never won a senior trophy.
Why deflect the question raised by trying to castigate Mahon? Perhaps because it is as petty minded by Rovers as it appears from what Mahon said?
In any case Mahon and Gill are the obvious management team of the year taking St Pats to the top of the table with a modest squad.
hoops1
27/06/2011, 10:51 AM
Hardly a rant. He answered some questions.
He was probably ****ed off that MON was in Friday's paper talking about how he wanted the upcoming Rovers/Drogheda game to be cancelled to help their euro preparations
Apparently Rovers background staff happy to have the game on Monday as it wouldn't clash with Dublin hurlers in some final or other, but MON wouldn't agree to it. The 2pm kick off is because of the hurling apparently
Of course its a rant. Childish at that. He says he sees Sligo as a bigger threat, So Pats and Sligo are going to be fighting it out? Regardless of the results the other night we will be the team to beat at the end. If Mahon thinks its going to be a Sligo Pats battle hes deluded. Sunday will be Pats first real test as league challengers and hes whinging already.
hoops1
27/06/2011, 10:54 AM
Why deflect the question raised by trying to castigate Mahon? .
Because its a trait hes had down the years, once he gets a team to a good positon his default setting is to give the reasons his team might lose or not win silverware.
27/06/2011, 10:56 AM
Childish at that. He says he sees Sligo as a bigger threat, So Pats and Sligo are going to be fighting it out?
No, he said Sligo was the best team in the league. He never mentioned anything about Pats being in a title race. He's praised Rovers as well this season ("best squad" etc). its pretty clear he sees Rovers and Sligo as the two favourites for the league
Not once has Pete talked about Pats winning the league, but continue to feel like every comment made is a direct insult to your club
Ezeikial
27/06/2011, 10:56 AM
Any Hoops fans care to tell us why the refusal to co-operate with St Pats request to put the match back 24 hours?
hoops1
27/06/2011, 10:58 AM
Because Pats are 2 points ahead in the league and we are playing them.
Its not really rocket science.
hoops1
27/06/2011, 11:05 AM
No, he said Sligo was the best team in the league. He never mentioned anything about Pats being in a title race. He's praised Rovers as well this season ("best squad" etc). its pretty clear he sees Rovers and Sligo as the two favourites for the league
Not once has Pete talked about Pats winning the league, but continue to feel like every comment made is a direct insult to your club
So you dont think the in a game between Pats and Rovers that saying, I think Sligo are a better team is odd or in any way relevant, other than a way to have a pop.
27/06/2011, 11:08 AM
So you dont think the in a game between Pats and Rovers that saying, I think Sligo are a better team is odd or in any way relevant, other than a way to have a pop. He was asked about Rovers losing in Sligo, so he answered that he thinks Sligo are the best team in the country. What is he supposed to say "yeah, shocking defeat for Rovers, Sligo are brutal"
Hibs4Ever
27/06/2011, 12:43 PM
Of course its a rant. Childish at that. He says he sees Sligo as a bigger threat, So Pats and Sligo are going to be fighting it out? Regardless of the results the other night we will be the team to beat at the end. If Mahon thinks its going to be a Sligo Pats battle hes deluded. Sunday will be Pats first real test as league challengers and hes whinging already.
So do you think MON is deluded? He clearly think St Pats are a danger to Shams league title ambitions
27/06/2011, 12:53 PM
Rovers were happy to get UCD's co-operation on postponing a fixture during their Euro run last season, but appear none to eager to provide any sort of co-operation to others.
Bad form, even Rovers fans will agree with that i'd say.
hoops1
27/06/2011, 12:59 PM
We played Juve away on the Thursday in terrible conditions and then Beat Bohs 3-0 on the Sunday. So why should we change for Pats.
PartySaint
27/06/2011, 1:09 PM
We played Juve away on the Thursday in terrible conditions and then Beat Bohs 3-0 on the Sunday. So why should we change for Pats.
I think the problem is, MON was in the papers only last week saying your game against Drogheda should be postponed after the Champions league game but he has no problem with our game going ahead 2 days after we get back from Iceland
The only problem with it for me is that I mightn't be able to get off work, Top of the table clash, You always want to try get any advantage you can