View Full Version : LOI in Europe 2011

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74

06/05/2011, 10:21 AM
UCD might be playing in Europe next year through the fair play table (http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/5566/fai-grant-5-uefa-licences/). Not sure how that works
The New Year Fair Play update showed Ireland in fourth, 0.02 off third. The top three countries get their Fair Play winner into the UEFA Cup First Round - no draw any more. 0.02 sounds like very little, but the figure is an average, and everyone scores in and around the same score at games (around 8), so it's harder to make up than you might think.

placid casual
06/05/2011, 10:55 AM
Ah yes, the 4 "provincional" superpowers theory, presumably Shams, Sligo, Cork and Derry ? That between them in the last decade have won 2 League titles ? And three of them have gone bust. yep, a real League of Ireland to look forward to.

Just cos your club are in the league of
irelands version of a hospice doesnt mean you have to bring down the rest of us with our hopes and plans for the future.
Lie back there and take a rest. Fancy a grape?

HulaHoop
06/05/2011, 10:56 AM
three of them have gone bust

I don't remember us or Sligo going bust?? We went into examinership and came out the other side which I'm sure you realise is not going bust.

On the broader point, I believe redobit was talking about what potentially could happen in the future (sadly for you, your club doesn't seem to have a very bright one to look forward to) i.e. Rovers, Cork and Derry are the three clubs with the potential to sustain high attendances and as we know high attendances drive everything else so in theory those three could become the dominating force in the league. Sligo also have huge potential but a question mark remains whether they could sustain attendances as high as the other three. I'd also add Dundalk into the mix, not much between them and Sligo.

marinobohs
06/05/2011, 11:09 AM
I don't remember us or Sligo going bust?? We went into examinership and came out the other side which I'm sure you realise is not going bust.

On the broader point, I believe redobit was talking about what potentially could happen in the future (sadly for you, your club doesn't seem to have a very bright one to look forward to) i.e. Rovers, Cork and Derry are the three clubs with the potential to sustain high attendances and as we know high attendances drive everything else so in theory those three could become the dominating force in the league. Sligo also have huge potential but a question mark remains whether they could sustain attendances as high as the other three. I'd also add Dundalk into the mix, not much between them and Sligo.

Yep, those high attendances have done soooooo much good for Cork, Derry and shams. And where, pray tell, were your mytical hoardes when you left Milltown ? Fact is your club might still be there had the support existed. Must have got lost trying to find Tolka, Santry and Dalymount (thats why they went.... whoops, into examership) or perhaps it was another sham "boycott" ?. The fact is most LOI fans are fickle and because you are currently attracting the band wagon brigade is no guarantee on future trends.
By all means add Dundalk into your mythical "superpowers" and remind everyone the number of League titles won in the last decade by them all combined (despite massive support base). But still ONCE the crowds start flocking in........:rolleyes:

Rasputin
06/05/2011, 11:14 AM
The penny finally drops. Now that wasnt that hard.
Ahh ya, good man yourself hoops1.

Rasputin
06/05/2011, 11:19 AM
I think the difference with attendances between ourselves and Derry is marginal.
Realistically Shams and Cork are way ahead with regaurds attendances and the whole spin off finances that can create, the only clubs I can see that would regularly pull 4000+.
Like I said when Cork do eventually get up they are the only hope against a dark decade of hoops dominance.

06/05/2011, 11:41 AM
Its all cyclical. For years Dundalk and Derry had far bigger crowds than anyone else. Rovers have always been up there. We had aa couple of seasons in the sun. The only thing guaranteed about this league is that no one will ever dominate. In the 25 years since the premier divison was established we've had 8 different champions. All bar 2 have been relegated/demoted. Every team in the first divsion now has played in the premier (bar the newcomers wexford, mervue and Salthill)

Fans of Pats, Rovers, Bohs, Shels, Derry, Dundalk, Drogheda and Cork have at one stage or another spoke about dominating Irish football. And while some have had extended periods at the top, none have.

Rovesr have a good team, with a great base now. But they won't dominate for years and years and years. It can't happen in this league

Rasputin
06/05/2011, 11:52 AM
Im speaking with regaurds the next decade, unless the financial wheels fall off the bandwagon I cant really see any team realistically challenging them when you look at their spending power, bar maybe Cork if they get their act togethor.

A N Mouse
06/05/2011, 11:54 AM
Yep, those high attendances have done soooooo much good for Cork, Derry and shams. And where, pray tell, were your mytical hoardes when you left Milltown ? Fact is your club might still be there had the support existed. Must have got lost trying to find Tolka, Santry and Dalymount (thats why they went.... whoops, into examership) or perhaps it was another sham "boycott" ?. The fact is most LOI fans are fickle and because you are currently attracting the band wagon brigade is no guarantee on future trends.
By all means add Dundalk into your mythical "superpowers" and remind everyone the number of League titles won in the last decade by them all combined (despite massive support base). But still ONCE the crowds start flocking in........:rolleyes:

Your general assertion is correct, but think you're being more than a little disingenuous there.

Remind us how many of the previous 10 champions have, in the same time-frame, had no financial problems of their own making?

HulaHoop
06/05/2011, 12:38 PM

All about the past with you isn't it and thats because Bohs have such a ****ty future to look forward to. Question for you marino, if you were a betting man what teams would you bet on winning the league over the next five years?

marinobohs
06/05/2011, 1:39 PM
All about the past with you isn't it and thats because Bohs have such a ****ty future to look forward to. Question for you marino, if you were a betting man what teams would you bet on winning the league over the next five years?

Past = fact (unless you reinvent it like your lot tend to do), future = speculation. 3/4 years ago Bohs were "made" for the next 50 years with the Danninger deal and shams were struggling. Yes, things have changed dramatically in recent years ask Cork or drogheda fans of recent vintage and given your club currently running up debts it is very likely to happen again.
Next 5 years ? in the League of Ireland ? Jez, anyone with an ounce of sense would not bet on next season never mind five years.
Anyway apols for diverting off topic, back to who LOI clubs are likely to play in europe

marinobohs
06/05/2011, 1:44 PM
Your general assertion is correct, but think you're being more than a little disingenuous there.

Remind us how many of the previous 10 champions have, in the same time-frame, had no financial problems of their own making?

Still off topic and finishing it here but would suggest if financial problems to win titles is bad then how bloody stupid is it to have financial woes to win little or nothing (dont count League cups :p ) shams, Derry and Cork - of the so called "elite" have all encountered financial troubles (to put it mildly) in last decade for little return, so much for the power of their "massive" support.

Anyway, back to clubs playing european football this season.

A N Mouse
06/05/2011, 2:04 PM
Anyway, back to clubs playing european football this season.

Try Naming Some :p

06/05/2011, 3:00 PM
Try Naming Some :p

do you want to APOELogise now or later? :D

El-Pietro
06/05/2011, 3:14 PM
Cork City won the league in 2005, and the FAI cup in 2007. We didn't spend silly money until 2008, after Rico got the sack. Arkaga and then Tom Coughlan apprently couldn't count and ran us in to the ground.

Does anyone think we're ever likely to let that happen again? At least in the next 10 years? I doubt it. We won't be running up any debts, we may not win trophies but our club will be secure for a long time.

06/05/2011, 3:20 PM
You're off your rocker if you don't think Pat Dolan was spending 'silly money' as far back as 2003

A N Mouse
06/05/2011, 11:08 PM
do you want to APOELogise now or later? :D

Wouldn't want to rub salz in old wounds, but you're talking bull.

IF Knew anything, you'd see

Talking Nonsense Son.

There No Shame there.

T'was No Suprise

Tallinn Nutsy's Stupefication

TheBoss
07/05/2011, 9:29 PM
Back to the point of the thread:

Sarajevo 0-0 Zeljeznicar
Borac 2-1 Olimpik Sarajevo

Borac 26 57
Zeljeznicar 26 49

4 Games left, and 8 points clear.

HulaHoop
07/05/2011, 9:58 PM
Back to the point of the thread:

Sarajevo 0-0 Zeljeznicar
Borac 2-1 Olimpik Sarajevo

Borac 26 57
Zeljeznicar 26 49

4 Games left, and 8 points clear.

Happy days, looks more and more likely we will be seeded. Still some tough unseeded teams in the pot though.

sparky12345678
08/05/2011, 2:51 PM
Happy days, looks more and more likely we will be seeded. Still some tough unseeded teams in the pot though.

toughest thing about the unseeded pots is the away trip... tough atmosphere im sure in some of those random country... altho u guys didnt let that be a prob in israel...

TheBoss
15/05/2011, 2:25 PM
Bosnia Update:

Zeljeznicar win 3-0
Borac lose 1-0

Borac 27 57
Zeljeznicar 27 52

Gap now 5 points, with 9 left. They still have to play each other aswell.

PartySaint
15/05/2011, 7:20 PM
The Europa League first qualifying round will not be regionalised this year, We could end up anywhere:(

15/05/2011, 7:38 PM
It's been reported on fotball.no that Ireland didn't get the Fair Play place - top three stayed as Norway, England (probably Fulham) and Sweden.

15/05/2011, 8:42 PM
Thank feck for that.

15/05/2011, 8:57 PM
Yup. Anyone as bad or us - or worse, so bad they can lose to us - shouldn't be in Europe ever.

Get Sligo the feck out of there!

15/05/2011, 9:44 PM
Yup. Anyone as bad or us - or worse, so bad they can lose to us - shouldn't be in Europe ever.

Get Sligo the feck out of there!Yes, ye bet us so that means yer a better team.

Not to mention how bad a European game would look in front of a crowd of 500 or so at Belfield.

16/05/2011, 12:22 AM
A vital issue to all Sligo fans, I'm sure. We should similarly hope teams who lose to a team trying to lose never qualify for Europe again.

16/05/2011, 12:38 AM
We should similarly hope teams who lose to a team trying to lose never qualify for Europe again.Yeah, rumours are great alright.

16/05/2011, 12:48 AM
Almost as great as this argument.

Rasputin
16/05/2011, 8:05 AM
We should similarly hope teams who lose to a team trying to lose never qualify for Europe again.
Ohh dear...

16/05/2011, 8:08 AM
Dacia did as expected win the league in Moldova. It is down to Borac now. 2 home wins against teams down the league will give them the title even if they lose to Zeljeznicar. Maribor could blow up in Slovenia but unlikely as they have a weak team left.

If Borac win the league then Rovers are seeded. I know they could still get a tough draw but much easier teams in the unseeded pot.

PartySaint
16/05/2011, 12:44 PM
Dacia did as expected win the league in Moldova. It is down to Borac now. 2 home wins against teams down the league will give them the title even if they lose to Zeljeznicar. Maribor could blow up in Slovenia but unlikely as they have a weak team left.

If Borac win the league then Rovers are seeded. I know they could still get a tough draw but much easier teams in the unseeded pot.

Are Rovers not already seeded?? Sparky8673799276552413 said earlier i the thread that if United beat Schalke then Rovers will be seeded, which they did

peadar1987
16/05/2011, 1:00 PM
Are Rovers not already seeded?? Sparky8673799276552413 said earlier i the thread that if United beat Schalke then Rovers will be seeded, which they did

Yes, but the palm-readings, astrology charts and animal sacrifice always have a big effect on the coefficients. Has dahamsta slaughtered the goat yet?

16/05/2011, 1:18 PM

Not if Zeljeznicar win the Bosnian League. 5 points behind with 3 games to go but still have Borac at home.

Note I'm assuming Maribor will win the Slovenian league because if Domzale catch them then rovers will also be seeded.

A N Mouse
16/05/2011, 2:38 PM

Yeah, what gspain said.

Basically with both finalists already qualified everyone gets to move up a bit.

If you look at this link

http://www.xs4all.nl/~kassiesa/bert/uefa/seedcl2011.html

You can see that rovers would definitely be unseeded if Georgians and Swedes hadn't moved up.

But now fall into the unknown category, until BH and Slovenia are decided - the two numbers for the co-efficient for those countries represent the min and max values possible. So Shams will only be unseeded if two clubs with higher co-efficients qualify from those countries. Maribor, have to be odds on to win in Slovenia, would definitely be seeded. Therefore the only, faint, threat to shams being seeded appears to come from Zeljeznicar.

PartySaint
16/05/2011, 4:22 PM
Not if Zeljeznicar win the Bosnian League. 5 points ahead with 3 games to go but still travel to Zeljeznicar.

Note I'm assuming Maribor will win the Slovenian league because if Domzale catch them then rovers will also be seeded.

Now I'm no expert on Bosnian football but i'm pretty sure these are the same team

ger121
16/05/2011, 5:00 PM
Now I'm no expert on Bosnian football but i'm pretty sure these are the same team

It's their clever way of making sure they come 1st and 2nd

16/05/2011, 7:42 PM
It's Borac we want to win the Bosnian league - they are 5 points ahead. If Zeljeznicar win it then Rovers won't be seeded.

16/05/2011, 8:25 PM
It's Borac we want to win the Bosnian league - they are 5 points ahead. If Zeljeznicar win it then Rovers won't be seeded.:confused:

So it's Zeljeznicar we want to win it then ;)

17/05/2011, 12:51 PM
It is in the interests of all our clubs if Shamrock Rovers are seeded - better chance of winning and boosting our national coefficient thus boosting the chances of any of our clubs being seeded.

17/05/2011, 12:51 PM
Just looking at Bertie Kass' site -If Shamrock Rovers get through the first rd what odds they get rangers in next rd?!

A N Mouse
17/05/2011, 1:10 PM
Just looking at Bertie Kass' site -If Shamrock Rovers get through the first rd what odds they get rangers in next rd?!

1 in 10?

A N Mouse
17/05/2011, 2:14 PM
1st QR for Europa league almost sorted

Possible opponents for Pats

EL3 Bos ##
EL2-3 Mon **
Birkirkara Mlt
EL2-3 Hun *
---------------
EL2-3 Hun *
Glentoran Nir
EL2-3 Mol ***
Banga Gargzdai Lit
Daugava Daugavpils Lat
Olimpija Ljubljana Slo
Cliftonville Nir
EL2-3 Mac #
KS Flamurtari Vlorė Alb
Vllaznia Shkodėr Alb
Trans Narva Est
EL2-3 Azb
Irtysh Pavlodar Kaz
Zeta Golubovci Mon
Banants Yerevan Arm
Kalju Nomme Est
IBV Vestmannaeyjar Isl
NSI Runavik Far
Ulisses Yerevan Arm
EL3 Wal
FC Lusitanos And
UE Santa Coloma And
IF Fuglafjųrdur Far
EL2 Lux
EL3 Lux
EL2 Sma

* Debrecen - in fourth - would be seeded Paksi/Ferencvaros [surprised by this] would have national score
** Could be one of 3, but, depending on Mol/Mac none would be seeded
*** 3 way battle for 3rd, Milsami would be unseeded, Olipmia - could also be CW - or Zimbru would be seeded
# Metalurg - also in CF - would be unseeded, Renova and/or Rabotnicki would be seeded
## Bosnian team should be safe, uless 5th/6th somehow manage to take last slot

Too many variables for next round, might be clearer after this weekend.

A N Mouse
17/05/2011, 2:16 PM
2nd QR still with too many variables, but rough breakdown of seeding

Unseeded 2 QR
Olimpi Rustavi Geo*
Örebro SK Swe
BK Häcken Swe*
Suduva Marijampole Lit
KR Reykjavik Isl*
The New Saints Wal*
FC Vaduz Lie
TPS Turku Fin
NK Koper Slo*
CW Mol
FK Tauras Lit
CW Alb
Sligo Rovers Irl
KuPS Kuopio Fin
CW Mon
EL2-3 Mon*
Birkirkara Mlt*
EL1 Hun
Sant Julią And
EB Streymur Far
CW Azb
CW Geo
CW Mac
Mika Ashtarak Arm
Llanelli FC Wal
Crusaders Belfast Nir
Lokomotiv Astana Kaz
Juvenes Dogana Sma
Floriana Mlt
CW Lux

Seeded
FP Eng*
Anorthosis Famagusta Cyp
Nacional Funchal Por
EL4 Ukr
IF Elfsborg Swe*
EL3 Ned
EL3 Tur
EL3 Gre
EL3 Sco
EL3 Den
Maccabi Tel-Aviv Isr
EL3 Bel
EL2-3 Isr
FK Jablonec Cze
EL4 Rom
FK Ventspils Lat
EL3 Sui
Vålerengen IF Nor
EL2-3 Cyp
Tromsų IL Nor*
St. Patrick's Athletic Irl*
Garabag Agdam Azb*
EL2-3 Aut
EL2-3 Aut
Aalesunds FK Nor*
FK Aktobe Kaz*
EL2 Srb
Bohemians Dublin Irl
EL3 Bul
Dinamo Tbilisi Geo*
Honka Espoo Fin*
Levadia Tallinn Est

Unknown
EL2 Cro
EL3 Cro*
Shakhtior Saligorsk Bls
FK Minsk Bls*
EL2 Pol
EL3 Pol*
FH Hafnarfjardar Isl
Metalurgs Liepaja Lat*
------
EL2 Svk
EL3 Svk*
EL3 Srb*
EL2-3 Mac*
EL2-3 Mol*
CW Bos
EL3 Bos*
EL2 Bos
EL2-3 Hun*
CW Slo

*from 1st QR, based on co-efficient

17/05/2011, 2:51 PM
what are the odds for TNS getting Bohs,lol!:p

A N Mouse
17/05/2011, 4:06 PM
what are the odds for TNS getting Bohs,lol!:p

There's more chance of TNS getting Bohs, than Bohs getting TNS :o

17/05/2011, 5:02 PM
There's more chance of TNS getting Bohs, than Bohs getting TNS :o

Yeah. But they could go into remission.

DaveyCakes
18/05/2011, 9:57 PM
Sligo Rovers moved to Europa league 3rd qualifying round. Cheers Porto.

bullit
18/05/2011, 10:43 PM
Sligo Rovers moved to Europa league 3rd qualifying round. Cheers Porto.
Nice money(i will resist the NEW tables joke )

19/05/2011, 12:27 AM
The FAI feel that a more likely scenario is an alteration in the size of the second round.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/sligo-rovers-in-line-to-profit-from-porto-victory-2649930.html

Still think we'll be in 3rd round, FAI just covering themselves.

If so, got as far as Shams did in Europe last year and we haven't even kicked a ball yet :).