View Full Version : LOI in Europe 2011

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 [47] 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74

Duggie
05/08/2011, 12:38 PM
might be lower in the seedings than copenhagen but will be much more technical and skillfull. i think we have less of a chance against these types of sides, esp away when if there on form could rip you open more so than a scandinavian side. i dont see shams progressing but i hope they can.

05/08/2011, 12:43 PM
Disagree with this. I'd prefer home first. The first legs are usually cagey affairs. I'd prefer to draw 0-0 at home first then draw 0-0 away from home first.

Then, if you go down 1-0 in the second leg away, you know that if you score once, you go through. In the same scenario at home second, you have to score twice to go through.

True, but its easier score at home than away, or at least it should be. Playing against superior opposition means they can score easier at home too.

I see your point, in the copenhagen game, it dictated how rovers played at home, which meant cagey and cautious and any lapse in concentration they were in serious trouble, which proved correct. LOI teams do suffer this quite a bit so i suppose its better suffer that away from home and look to score than at home knowing they need to score two.

Perhaps you are right :) I jsut feel if partizan went back to belgrade with a 0-0 they would be more than capable of scoring 2 at home.

05/08/2011, 12:44 PM
Better to get the home draw first IMO. With a little more pressure riding on the away leg, it should lead to more of a focus and lads actually taking the chances given to them..

Its not about focus, its about panic, that panic is part pressure part fear part inexperience part ability. Its certainly easier take your chances at home or at least it should be, all those negatives, are somewhat compensated by a relaxed, local, known environment.

05/08/2011, 1:36 PM
Knowing SFA about Partizan but reading from what has been written above, you would have to think Rovers have a chance. I thought they did well against Copenhagen the other night until they conceded a sloppy goal and that really took the wind out of their sails. Will need to find their scoring boots and to defend set pieces better.

But considered that Genk knocked out Belgrade, should there really be that much to fear!?!? Respect yes, but SR defo have a chance.

Spudulika
05/08/2011, 2:03 PM
Has anybody been to a match in Serbia? The Belgrade teams and Vojvodina (Novi Sad) have insane followers and there are probably some on here who remember how it was for the old Cork City under Rico. If I were JR I'd be calling the Partizan president and asking him to switch, Rovers can cause them trouble but as has been pointed out, need to score goals.

born2bwild
05/08/2011, 2:15 PM
Has anybody been to a match in Serbia? The Belgrade teams and Vojvodina (Novi Sad) have insane followers and there are probably some on here who remember how it was for the old Cork City under Rico. If I were JR I'd be calling the Partizan president and asking him to switch, Rovers can cause them trouble but as has been pointed out, need to score goals.
No, but I read this book (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Behind-Curtain-Travels-European-Football/dp/0752879456/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1312554071&sr=8-2): excellent read.
There are some total fruitcakes following football over there. Not like us at all (!)

Mario
05/08/2011, 3:31 PM
Rumours going around that Partizan fans attacked the ref after getting knocked out of champions league, so they might be kicked out of europe all together and Rovers get a bye into the group stages!

DannyInvincible
05/08/2011, 3:31 PM
Knowing SFA about Partizan

Well, you're right about them being Serbian Football Association. ;)

Personally, I think it's an excellent draw. I don't know how drawing the weakest seeded opponent (by ranking) couldn't be. What better could have been expected really? Beating a Macedonian side and losing to Genk to end up here is something that should strike no fear whatsoever into Shamrock Rovers. This has to be viewed as as good a chance as Rovers will get to reach the group stage.

yes danney i was way off the mark Rovers obviously never had a chance . Bit sad for you that this is what makes you happy but then just being someone who has never and will never have a club of your own slagging off others is as good as it will get for you . yes i am sickened at the loss, yes i thought we could win the game based on the performance last week but we never turned up and poltava were quite a few classes above us. The thing is danney i now look forward to my team in the other competitions they have left and if it isnt too outlandish to say i think they can still win the league and or the cup. you on the other hand have nothing but more criticising of teams and or fans who dont share your opinion. the thing about supporting your team is you can be as outlandish as you want but you not having a team to support will never have that pleasure. I will follow my team to the day i die through good days and ones like yesterday and am proud of the effort they put in against the ukranians (turns out they werent in the same class) ,next up Dundalk away. Danny i think we can beat them away and i hope im not being to outlandish for you but really follow your local gaa team it would suit you better than having no team. I make no appologies for making any claims about my teams capabilities wheither you like them or not , they are mine and im entitled to my opinion right or wrong . when we sat down to watch the game yesterday and saw the great work done by the lads on the Showgies before getting a lesson in football I was very proud to be a Rovers fan and after said lesson still just as proud . So danney I dont think my claims were outlandish just an over excited fan not seeing past the pride he has in the ROVERS , simple mistake really for someone with a team to love.

I didn't derive any pleasure from your prediction being wildly off track as I'd have loved to have seen Sligo progress. We all post on this public forum, however, and should rightly expect what we post to be subject to checks and examination from those who disagree. No big deal and no need to feel victimised; there is a point to this discussion forum, after all. When someone appears to frequently take the more contentious or outlandish (nay, over-excited) stances for whatever reason, it'll only draw greater criticism. When I take issue with something you write, it's not really me being personal or whatever; admittedly, what I see as your habitual irrationality and pig-headedness grates with me to an extent where I've, from time to time, wondered about your genuinity as a poster, but that's not really getting personal, is it? Or not in the context of an internet forum anyway. I don't think I've attacked anyone personally on this forum. Being personal would be me making unfounded remarks about you like how you've just done about me above. In fact, if you were to go back through your correspondences with me, you'd note that you were, in fact, the one who lapsed into asterisk-laden name-calling and such juvenile behaviour. I ignored it, bar a flippant remark as to its pettiness because it seemed so unnecessary and out-of place. You then jump to quite a few assumptions about me that I wouldn't agree with at all. Following this league has brought me great joy (and misery) on many an occasion and will continue to do so; being purposefully outlandish in my views, however, appeals not so much. Anyway, best of luck and all that. :good:

DannyInvincible
05/08/2011, 3:32 PM
Rumours going around that Partizan fans attacked the ref after getting knocked out of champions league, so they might be kicked out of europe all together and Rovers get a bye into the group stages!

Where are these rumours doing the rounds?

freewheel30
05/08/2011, 3:37 PM
Looks like an interesting book that. Yeah, sure didn't their national side's fans get banned recently after causing a bit of trouble in Italy . . .

Seems to me that Rovers have got the best possible draw here; they should fill Tallaght and the away trip won't break the bank . . .

On the footballing side I would be another who sees playing the home leg first as a good thing . . . try and get a good first leg result and then go out there and try to defend it. Three half decent away results last week counted for nothing when those opponents came back here.

Spudulika
05/08/2011, 3:38 PM
There will be a few people sitting in the crowd, and probably some in the directors box, who were a) war profiteers, or b) war criminals. Now that's nothing to shake an umbrella at! I'd like to see how Rovers hoolies will match up, they'd lose the small arms fight for a start :-)

05/08/2011, 3:49 PM

I think that's more wishful thinking than anything else...though it'd be a terrible shame to have to accept a bye :)

Either way, another big European name in Tallaght, we're collecting them up like stickers at this stage.

05/08/2011, 5:06 PM
All ye need now is another board where ye stick the scalps....oh wait ;)

dantheman
05/08/2011, 6:23 PM

Asked this on another forum (http://kassiesa.nl/uefa/forum2/viewtopic.php?p=136980#136980), sounds like balls (although he may have been hit by a lighter).

05/08/2011, 7:54 PM

it was probably me masquerading as a Partizan fan over on alwaysultras...

DannyInvincible
06/08/2011, 1:01 AM
Goals from Ukrainian television here.

Sligo-Vorskla:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ulRQkMA2nt0&NR=1

St. Pat's-Karpaty:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xDgWdY_j8TE

06/08/2011, 2:29 AM
Those were some quality goals Karpaty scored. They look like a decent outfit.

06/08/2011, 6:28 AM
There will be a few people sitting in the crowd, and probably some in the directors box, who were a) war profiteers, or b) war criminals. Now that's nothing to shake an umbrella at! I'd like to see how Rovers hoolies will match up, they'd lose the small arms fight for a start :-)

Not interested in that, just the game. Happy to leave the political stuff to those with that responsibility.

Not the best draw, not the worst draw. Some chance of progress, but in that respect, not happy to have the away leg as the return leg. I never am, regardless what team it is. The home side unless they're complete muck, have the advantage of knowing what they have to do with their own crowd behind them.

Straightstory
06/08/2011, 10:23 AM
Well, you're right about them being Serbian Football Association. ;)

Personally, I think it's an excellent draw. I don't know how drawing the weakest seeded opponent (by ranking) couldn't be. What better could have been expected really? Beating a Macedonian side and losing to Genk to end up here is something that should strike no fear whatsoever into Shamrock Rovers. This has to be viewed as as good a chance as Rovers will get to reach the group stage.

I didn't derive any pleasure from your prediction being wildly off track as I'd have loved to have seen Sligo progress. We all post on this public forum, however, and should rightly expect what we post to be subject to checks and examination from those who disagree. No big deal and no need to feel victimised; there is a point to this discussion forum, after all. When someone appears to frequently take the more contentious or outlandish (nay, over-excited) stances for whatever reason, it'll only draw greater criticism. When I take issue with something you write, it's not really me being personal or whatever; admittedly, what I see as your habitual irrationality and pig-headedness grates with me to an extent where I've, from time to time, wondered about your genuinity as a poster, but that's not really getting personal, is it? Or not in the context of an internet forum anyway. I don't think I've attacked anyone personally on this forum. Being personal would be me making unfounded remarks about you like how you've just done about me above. In fact, if you were to go back through your correspondences with me, you'd note that you were, in fact, the one who lapsed into asterisk-laden name-calling and such juvenile behaviour. I ignored it, bar a flippant remark as to its pettiness because it seemed so unnecessary and out-of place. You then jump to quite a few assumptions about me that I wouldn't agree with at all. Following this league has brought me great joy (and misery) on many an occasion and will continue to do so; being purposefully outlandish in my views, however, appeals not so much. Anyway, best of luck and all that. :good:

I declare Danny the winner. (More articulate, and correct use of capital letters).

oriel
06/08/2011, 11:07 AM
That looked to be one impressive team Sligo were up against, looked well beaten all over the park even from that short clip, makes their 0-0 result in the first leg look even better now. I like the look of the ground with the seating behind the goal, showgrounds def improving into a nice stadium. No disagrace losing to that lot.

06/08/2011, 11:37 AM
I like the look of the ground with the seating behind the goal, showgrounds def improving into a nice stadium.Seats are gone already, only hired out for the game.

HulaHoop
06/08/2011, 11:39 AM
That looked to be one impressive team Sligo were up against, looked well beaten all over the park even from that short clip, makes their 0-0 result in the first leg look even better now. I like the look of the ground with the seating behind the goal, showgrounds def improving into a nice stadium. No disagrace losing to that lot.

Can't help but feel Cook got it tactically wrong in the home leg. Had he been a bit more Michael O'Neillish and kept it defensive they might not have found themselves 2 down after 17 minutes. First goal came because their midfield was too far up the pitch ahead of their defence and weren't that quick to track back, second came when the keeper punted it long down the pitch, the ball actually bounces in the centre circle with no one jumping for it, as it bounces there a 4 Sligo players ahead of the ball up front. It breaks and the Ukrainians pass the ball to the right flank. Sligo left back is exposed as the player supposed to be protecting him is too far ahead of the play to defend so he gets sucked out and a simple one two down the flank leads to Sligo conceding again. Sligo were set up way way way too open and it cost them dearly. In europe you have to get players behind the ball otherwise these teams will pick you apart with ease. I thought Cook would have learnt from two years ago but obviously not.

poster
06/08/2011, 12:38 PM
. Had he been a bit more Michael O'Neillish and kept it defensive they might not have found themselves 2 down after 17 minutes.

That was our problem at times, we were too defensive. Kirby was our main link between midfield and Blinkhorn and he couldn't get into the game at all so Blinks had to come back to get the ball alot. Joey and Richie played way too deep until the second half, but it was too late at that stage. Cook needs to start using 2 up front when this 4-5-1 he's so fond of doesn't work out.

06/08/2011, 12:55 PM
Seats are gone already, only hired out for the game.

Thanks for this. Was wondering about it.

HulaHoop
06/08/2011, 2:58 PM
That was our problem at times, we were too defensive. Kirby was our main link between midfield and Blinkhorn and he couldn't get into the game at all so Blinks had to come back to get the ball alot. Joey and Richie played way too deep until the second half, but it was too late at that stage. Cook needs to start using 2 up front when this 4-5-1 he's so fond of doesn't work out.

But both goals came from having too many men ahead of the ball meaning when the Ukrainians got posession your defence was exposed. Look at the build up to the goals again, having more players behind the ball could have prevented both of them particularly the second.

06/08/2011, 3:05 PM
I thought Ndo was really shown up. Some lovely moments in possession but when he loses the ball it's not like the LOI where he can just amble back and expect the younger players to clean up for him. It seemed Cook realised that and ordered him to screen the defence at the beginning, but after 15 minutes or so he lost his discipline and the Ukrainians took full advantage of the space.

dong
06/08/2011, 3:11 PM
In my opinion Ndo was the only player to emerge out of that game who didn't look out of place against them.

06/08/2011, 3:24 PM
Well I don't think he'd get anywhere near their team. European football is a step up in class and I think he needed to be more of a guiding influence than trying to force the game himself. I thought Kirby and Ryan played well but Blinkhorn was by far Sligo's best player.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
06/08/2011, 3:41 PM
Well I don't think he'd get anywhere near their team. European football is a step up in class and I think he needed to be more of a guiding influence than trying to force the game himself. I thought Kirby and Ryan played well but Blinkhorn was by far Sligo's best player.

I thought Blinkhorn was useless. To me Ndo was our best player by a wide margin. Richie Ryan did well in the second half.

poster
06/08/2011, 3:45 PM
Well I don't think he'd get anywhere near their team.

I don't think any LOI player would get anywhere near their bench. Or that of Lyviv or Copenhagen by the looks.

06/08/2011, 3:47 PM
Ndo does things other players can't, so he always stands out for that, but I thought he gave the ball away more in the first ten minutes than he does in 90 in the LOI, and in dangerous positions too, putting his team under all sorts of pressure. He did some good stuff defensively when he stuck to his task of screening the defence but then he'd go wandering again and leave you vulnerable to counter attacks. Blinkhorn did the unfashionable stuff very well - more of than not when yous chipped a ball up to him, it'd stick.

poster
06/08/2011, 3:48 PM
But both goals came from having too many men ahead of the ball meaning when the Ukrainians got posession your defence was exposed. Look at the build up to the goals again, having more players behind the ball could have prevented both of them particularly the second.

Both their goals came from Vorskla being able to move the ball from their corner flag to our penalty area in seven passes. Having Danny Ventre out of position at right full didn't help either. When we looked to get back into the game we were far too deep, even when we moved Raf up front for a brief period. When Russell and Dillon came on, we went back to 5 in midfield and pretty much gave up at that stage.

HulaHoop
06/08/2011, 5:06 PM
Both their goals came from Vorskla being able to move the ball from their corner flag to our penalty area in seven passes.

Second goal was nothing like that. Clarke kicked it out, it bounced in centre circle with 4 Sligo players ahead of it up front (foolish). Vorskla gained posession and passed it to the right wing. Your left winger should have been there to cover but he was too far up the pitch, so Powell was sucked out of left back. Vorskla then exploited the space behind him. A goal that was easily avoided had your left winger (Greene?) protected his full back better.

born2bwild
09/08/2011, 10:03 AM
Just watching the footage of the Karpaty v Pat's match on MNS...the voice over said "when the replay made its way to Oshipko he made no mistake". Hardly a pun?

born2bwild
10/08/2011, 2:31 PM
For Pats fans heading to Kazakhstan, may I recommend reading this rather excellent and very, very readable book about on of the world's least understood countries? It's only £1.59 second-hand.

Apples Are From Kazakhstan (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Search-Kazakhstan-Land-That-Disappeared/dp/1861978685/ref=sr_1_4?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1310121788&sr=1-4)
Hey I bought this on your recommendation. Good read, thanks.

10/08/2011, 4:36 PM
Hey I bought this on your recommendation. Good read, thanks.

Glad to be of help, and pleased you enjoyed it.

shellyriver
10/08/2011, 5:21 PM

Seriously? You must have been looking at the highlights! If this is your assessment of the game having viewed the full 90 minutes, I am afraid your assessment of the team, in my opinion, is very flawed. Re Blinkhorn, every time he got the ball, which was lobbed to him as a 'target man' it simply bobbled aimless of his ceann and/or he collapsed looking for frees which were never given as they were so obviously not fouls.

Therefore, as he does always, he held up play, the ball is always behind him and he doesn't realise as a relatively tall player if he can't turn on the ball, he should then FLICK the ball over to create a one-two etc. In short, Blinkhorn is abject.

N'Do didn't get started in the first half -- but was much more in the game during the second.

The biggest problem was the team's general equilibrium was skewed with Keaneo out at right back and 'crazy horse' Danny Ventre in -- he being largely responsible for Rovers conceding twice.

On the left we had an unfit Powell in inside of Davoren - utterly crazy.

Ryan was lethargic generally throughout and having to engage in defensive duties throughout which he hates.

Bottom line was Cook played a four-five-one formation which simply invited trouble. Poltava started like a steam train, but when Rovers soaked up first 15 minutes and attempted counter-attacks the creaking weaknesses were exposed. He probably thought we would hold out til half time and see if pressure could be applied to Poltava. It back-fired horribly because play couldn't get started from the back, Kirby is getting on and was expected to back-track all the time and Ryan, N'Do, were off the pace in the first half and Ventre and Powell were off the pace all through the game.

Therefore, we were over-ran in midfield, outpace down the flanks and when the ball got foward, it was to an impotent striker. Similarly, clearing balls were aimless and Poltava marked up with precision and rapidity.

With Blinkhorn on instead of Doyle there was no cutting edge, energy or pace.

We needed to have our most potent best starting 11 there - they weren't. As a result the team was set up to fail. We needed Poltava to faff about for the first half -- they didn't.

Anyways, its water under the bridge. In hindsight we would have have only got to the next round, got defeated and derailed League campaign -- that's glass half full, approach.

placid casual
11/08/2011, 9:19 AM
Anyways, its water under the bridge. In hindsight we would have have only got to the next round, got defeated and derailed League campaign -- that's glass half full, approach.[/QUOTE]

Fook me,its mystic meg!
And the lotto numbers for friday are........

Perhaps,perhaps if sligo had of got through they would get a decent draw thus giving them a better chance of the EL group stages pot of silver,thus negating the need to ask the sligo fans to stump up the cash needed for the ground improvements(or whatever the €25 fee was for)
Think big my friend.

shellyriver
11/08/2011, 5:36 PM
Anyways, its water under the bridge. In hindsight we would have have only got to the next round, got defeated and derailed League campaign -- that's glass half full, approach.

Fook me,its mystic meg!
And the lotto numbers for friday are........

Perhaps,perhaps if sligo had of got through they would get a decent draw thus giving them a better chance of the EL group stages pot of silver,thus negating the need to ask the sligo fans to stump up the cash needed for the ground improvements(or whatever the €25 fee was for)
Think big my friend.[/QUOTE]

Lots of 'ifs' and 'buts' there. Point is the team didn't get through because of the game played on pitch.

'Perhaps, perhaps'... is Cystic Peg territory. Chicken, egg: egg, chicken? If the money wasn't raised the game wouldn't take place at home. I like to think big, laterally, creatively and with insight, but in the real world it also has to be supported with a plan and reality, otherwise its Tilting at Windmills, pancho san.

Ps why you holding out on the Lotto results?

Cuyahoga
12/08/2011, 12:39 PM
Its been confirmed that RTE 2 will show the Shamrock Rovers v Partizan Belgrade game next Thursday.

fionnsci
12/08/2011, 2:06 PM
RTÉ have confirmed that Shamrock Rovers' Europa League play-off first leg clash with Partizan will be broadcast live from Tallaght Stadium.
The Hoops take on the Serbian champions on Thursday in a play-off for the group stages of the UEFA competition and the match will be live on RTÉ Two.
Both Shamrock Rovers and Partizan were knocked out of the Champions League at the third qualifying stage with the Hoops losing to Danish champions FC Copenhagen, while the Belgrade outfit were beaten by Belgian side Genk.

A victory for the Irish champions would send them through to the group stages of the Europa League, guaranteeing another six European matches.
Confirmation of web coverage on RTÉ.ie will be announced shortly.

redrevival
12/08/2011, 10:31 PM
RTÉ have confirmed that Shamrock Rovers' Europa League play-off first leg clash with Partizan will be broadcast live from Tallaght Stadium.
The Hoops take on the Serbian champions on Thursday in a play-off for the group stages of the UEFA competition and the match will be live on RTÉ Two.
Both Shamrock Rovers and Partizan were knocked out of the Champions League at the third qualifying stage with the Hoops losing to Danish champions FC Copenhagen, while the Belgrade outfit were beaten by Belgian side Genk.

A victory for the Irish champions would send them through to the group stages of the Europa League, guaranteeing another six European matches.
Confirmation of web coverage on RTÉ.ie will be announced shortly.

Do Rovers get cash for the game being televised?

12/08/2011, 11:31 PM
In hindsight we would have have only got to the next round, got defeated and derailed League campaign -- that's glass half full, approach.

That's a minnow approach. Whatever happened to "never say die"?

All but 2 teams in Europe that enter competitions will go out, that doesn't mean they won't give it a go in the meantime.

TheBoss
13/08/2011, 12:39 AM
Just going back to Rovers v Copenhagen, I thought I remember reading on this forum a few years ago, that RTE said they did not have the rights to show Bohs v Salzburg as they only had Playoff Round onwards, but they showed that game the other week, surprised it was not brought up ?

SPXcyan
13/08/2011, 1:29 AM
I thought RTÉ only show Champions League matches?? so full of shyte like!

13/08/2011, 2:05 AM
There are no rights agreements for pre-group stage matches in either competition. They can be picked up relatively cheaply in any country.

13/08/2011, 9:47 AM
I thought RTÉ only show Champions League matches?? so full of shyte like!

They showed Rovers/Juventus last year.

13/08/2011, 10:23 AM
Maybe I'm confusing it with another match but I thought RTÉ did want to show the Bohs vs. Salzburg match but that they wouldn't meet Bohs asking price for the rights. It was definitely on RTÉ Radio 1 Extra at the time though I do remember that.

shellyriver
13/08/2011, 11:55 AM
That's a minnow approach. Whatever happened to "never say die"?

All but 2 teams in Europe that enter competitions will go out, that doesn't mean they won't give it a go in the meantime.

Funny, there was me thinking Shams were just pedestrianly going through motions when down against FKC. Didn't seem much evidence of 'never say die'! Anyways, if you keeping living in hope, you're hopes will probably die in despair. I have a sneaking suspicion we'll see who are minnows and who are sharks this week in Europa!

Buller
13/08/2011, 12:00 PM
Anyways, if you keeping living in hope, you're hopes will probably die in despair. I have a sneaking suspicion we'll see who are minnows and who are sharks this week in Europa!

:eek: :eek: :eek: Super-Gretna? is that you?!