View Full Version : LOI in Europe 2011

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74

abcd
07/07/2011, 9:42 PM
Quick question to those in the know about these kind of things: Pats and Bohs are both down to be away next Thursday meaning they'd both be home the following Thursday which I think UEFA don't allow. Would this result in 1 of the 2nd legs being moved to Tuesday or will one of the two LOI sides be at home yet?

Mario
07/07/2011, 9:51 PM
Very good result and well done to them.

But I reckon they'll come back from Kazakstan shattered, mixed blessing!

legendz
07/07/2011, 9:53 PM
It's a nightmare trip but if Pat's pull it off and get through, they could have a big game and a big name in the next round.

cornflakes
07/07/2011, 9:54 PM
Quick question to those in the know about these kind of things: Pats and Bohs are both down to be away next Thursday meaning they'd both be home the following Thursday which I think UEFA don't allow. Would this result in 1 of the 2nd legs being moved to Tuesday or will one of the two LOI sides be at home yet?

Two games in Belfast tonight, it might not be a problem

kdjaC
07/07/2011, 10:01 PM
That was a lovely evening for football. I'm gonna ask a stupid question, though: Pats sat back in the second half with 5 deep lying defensive midfielders and let the vikings boss possession. What is the thinking behind this?

Giving them space to play the ball 30 yards from the Pats goal resulted in 2 chances right at the end that should have put Pats out of the competition.

Is it down to lack of fitness that Pats didn't play a more advanced and pressing midfield? Makes no sense to me.

We were ****ed tbh, too many high intensity games and our players suffering bigtime.

Irelands European Club!

cestlavie
07/07/2011, 10:47 PM
Well done Pats. Lets hope the others can follow suit.

PartySaint
07/07/2011, 10:48 PM
I was never worried:D

robbieos88
07/07/2011, 10:59 PM
Very nervy finish but deserved to go through over the two legs. McFaul and Evan McMillan were superb. Great to get through but what a nightmare of a trip Karagandy will be travel wise.

07/07/2011, 11:00 PM
Very nervy finish but deserved to go through over the two legs. McFaul and Evan McMillan were superb. Great to get through but what a nightmare of a trip Karagandy will be travel wise.

I assume it will be far worse than the russia trip??

robbieos88
07/07/2011, 11:04 PM
I assume it will be far worse than the russia trip??

Ye well it's a good bit further than Samara. It borders China FFS! Lets all do the Asian Dance. I'd love to go but costs way too much. Can't see many fans going tbh

kdjaC
07/07/2011, 11:12 PM
Ye well it's a good bit further than Samara. It borders China FFS! Lets all do the Asian Dance. I'd love to go but costs way too much. Can't see many fans going tbh

have 3 hours morrow to sort it. if any fan wants to go ring the club and get a visa tru them otherwise you aint going.

07/07/2011, 11:12 PM
Irelands European Club!

Or Ireland's Asian Club...:fighter3:

10,000km to go :bye:

PartySaint
07/07/2011, 11:13 PM
Don't think any will be going Robbie, Would love to go myself but its not just the money problems, getting a visa at such short notice is a nightmare

07/07/2011, 11:19 PM
Well done Pats.

kdjaC
07/07/2011, 11:23 PM
Or Ireland's Asian Club...:fighter3:

10,000km to go :bye:

You do realise your now expected to win your game? being Irelands model club and only full time pro club be a shame if a part time club bettered you in Europe.

I mean we gave you your coefficent and tbh you and the rest of the league ****ing up our good work.

We are Irelands European Club, we win games in Europe consistently.

07/07/2011, 11:28 PM
I mean we gave you your coefficent and tbh you and the rest of the league ****ing up our good work..

That's how it's supposed to work. Pats get sent to Moldova, Kazakhstan, Russia and Iceland to get us the co-efficient to enjoy trips to Italy, sunny Israel and seeded trips to Estonia :cool2:

07/07/2011, 11:40 PM
Well done Pats, shame about the next game.

PartySaint
07/07/2011, 11:57 PM
Well done Pats, shame about the next game.

It's only a shame if we lose;)

08/07/2011, 12:18 AM
Goals

http://youtu.be/uGLHMaalO3Y

http://youtu.be/GVWIOpBJ72M

born2bwild
08/07/2011, 12:22 AM
A bottomless pit of cash would be great at times like these.

Failing that you could do it by train. Train travel is pretty cheap in the ex soviet union. But yeah, you'd have to leave now get a visa and dip into that bottomless pit of cash.

Mc Faul and Bradley were excellent tonight (although Bradser got booked for threatening that Ivan Drago lookalike number 6) which is why I'm puzzled as to why Pats sat back.

boovidge
08/07/2011, 12:41 AM
well done St Pat's and good luck in Kazakhstan! :eek:

08/07/2011, 12:58 AM
Goals

http://youtu.be/uGLHMaalO3Y

http://youtu.be/GVWIOpBJ72M
That's a great crowd to be fair and plenty of kids too. Hopefully they'll get a taste for it and come back on Sunday.

ger121
08/07/2011, 1:47 AM
Just home from a night out on the beer and was pleased to see Pats had won when I checked the teletext. Well done anyway and you should be confident going into the next round.

pateen
08/07/2011, 8:47 AM
How big was the crowd last night. Hope there was over 2000 for this

placid casual
08/07/2011, 9:01 AM
Good win for the LOI co-efficient,and moany pete mahon gets sent to outer mongolia(or
thereabouts)... Happy days.

swinfordfc
08/07/2011, 9:10 AM
Ireland now 34th in the Co-efficient ranking table

Straightstory
08/07/2011, 9:18 AM
Very enjoyable game last night. Two very even teams - Pat's got the breaks. Good crowd too.

08/07/2011, 9:31 AM
How big was the crowd last night. Hope there was over 2000 for this

Well over that. There was a problem with one of the metered stiles apparently so not sure on the official attendances but about 2,400-2,600 (including about 10 from Iceland)

Better team on the night, and over the two legs won. Good finish by Daly for his, and a well worked set piece for Doyle's

Fester
08/07/2011, 9:35 AM
Great game, good crowd say about 2,600. Nervy ending. Role on outer Kazakhstan.

Straightstory
08/07/2011, 9:38 AM
3,100 according to Extra Time. ('Unofficial estimate' - eg., a guess).

08/07/2011, 9:42 AM
Good result for Pats and nice goals both of them. Best of luck in the next round.

08/07/2011, 10:04 AM
Sounds like it was an enjoyable game. Waking up to a trip to Kazakhstan is the hangover.
IBV had to play their reserve keeper this time, he usually has a few heart testing lapses.
The IBV captain said it was similar to first game and as they expected, Pats were strong, pumping it long, playing an old fashioned british game and that the island village team had a few chances but didn't convert them, (the nippy striker aged 37, isn't as sharp as he was 15 years ago).
Three out of four wins so far in Europe for the Iceland league.

Mark
08/07/2011, 10:13 AM
2,100 was the official attendance given to us in the press box.

shep
08/07/2011, 10:20 AM
Sounds like it was an enjoyable game. Waking up to a trip to Kazakhstan is the hangover.
IBV had to play their reserve keeper this time, he usually has a few heart testing lapses.
The IBV captain said it was similar to first game and as they expected, Pats were strong, pumping it long, playing an old fashioned british game and that the island village team had a few chances but didn't convert them, (the nippy striker aged 37, isn't as sharp as he was 15 years ago).
Three out of four wins so far in Europe for the Iceland league.

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/2/24/DVD_cover_of_the_movie_Sour_Grapes.jpg/220px-DVD_cover_of_the_movie_Sour_Grapes.jpg

08/07/2011, 10:23 AM
Maybe it's a bit greedy after recent years but I'd have thought that to be a poor result for Pats - is that unfair?

you have to give credit where it's due, fair play to Pats for turning the tie around, saw the crowd as I was going through Inchicore and understandably everyone looked thrilled.
Will tickets be an issue for the home game v Karamaty? Wouldn't mind heading over.

Edit lol @ Geysir.

08/07/2011, 10:42 AM
For Pats fans heading to Kazakhstan, may I recommend reading this rather excellent and very, very readable book about on of the world's least understood countries? It's only £1.59 second-hand.

Apples Are From Kazakhstan (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Search-Kazakhstan-Land-That-Disappeared/dp/1861978685/ref=sr_1_4?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1310121788&sr=1-4)

JC_GUFC
08/07/2011, 11:10 AM
Ireland now 34th in the Co-efficient ranking table

Yeah we lost a lot of points from the 06/07 season, 2.833 to be exact, which was more than all bar one of the bottom 35 ranked countries so in the provisionaly 2012/13 rankings we've dropped a few places in the rankings.

A problem with getting teams into further advanced rounds is that you then don't get the points. For example Georgia have gone ahead of us on the basis of having gotten 0.875 points in the 1st qualifying round of the Europa League. St Pat's could only have managed 0.5 points had they won both legs of their tie.

Great for Pat's to qualify though and they should have a good chance of getting through in the next round. As hard as it is to get to Karagandy from Dublin it's equally as hard to get to Dublin from there!

Pat's to qualify on away goals, Rovers to qualify with a home win and an away draw and Bohs to lose away and draw at home.

08/07/2011, 11:16 AM
The IBV captain said it was similar to first game and as they expected, Pats were strong, pumping it long, playing an old fashioned british game and that the island village team had a few chances but didn't convert them, (the nippy striker aged 37, isn't as sharp as he was 15 years ago)

The IBV captain is talking through his hoop. As most losing captains do.

Its no surprise that most observers gave the MOTM award to one of McFaul, Bradley or Kavanagh (the 3 best footballers on the pitch)

08/07/2011, 11:16 AM
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/2/24/DVD_cover_of_the_movie_Sour_Grapes.jpg/220px-DVD_cover_of_the_movie_Sour_Grapes.jpg

All those bitter cold winters must be taking their toll....:D

sullanefc
08/07/2011, 11:35 AM
Surely Pats will have to get one/two of their league fixtures postponed seeing as they have to travel so far in Europe. It would only be fair.

cornflakes
08/07/2011, 11:44 AM
Surely Pats will have to get one/two of their league fixtures postponed seeing as they have to travel so far in Europe. It would only be fair.

Is the Pats-Bohs game off on the 15th, according to the Extratime fixtures (http://www.extratime.ie/fixtures/) it is

08/07/2011, 11:50 AM
Yeah, thats likely to be called off. Bohs in slovenia on Thursday, ourselves in Asia. Both wiht 2nd legs in Dublin the following thursday

Can't see either side objecting (unless the FAI force it)

08/07/2011, 11:52 AM
I thought Pats were streets ahead of IBV until they went 2-0 up and then seemed a lot more cautious. I was expecting 4 or 5 when the 2nd goal wqent in. In truth they weren't really troubled until that late flurry but it would have been a huge disappointment to have conceded a late goal given their early dominance.

I thought both sides tried to play football. IBV looked weak at the back though.

Spudulika
08/07/2011, 11:53 AM
Whoever goes to Karaganda will love it, especially the history of the place. It's pretty rugged, nice area around it and the people are very friendly. Been through it twice on the train and spent a night there 2 years ago, not much in the way of nightlife, but at least the BMI route direct from London will cut down on travel.

sullanefc
08/07/2011, 11:54 AM
I really don't understand why the FAI don't organise it so that teams involved in Europe would play an extra few league games around the start of June and have no league games in July to give teams competing in Europe a bit of a break when they are playing in Europe.

08/07/2011, 12:07 PM
Nice little 10,000k drive if any Pat's fans fancy it. It'll take at least 5 days though so might want to be hitting the road. http://maps.google.com/maps?saddr=Dublin,+Ireland&daddr=Karagandy,+Kazakhstan&hl=en&ll=44.339565,46.933594&spn=60.635753,112.675781&sll=42.55308,31.464844&sspn=62.123032,87.539063&geocode=FWj3LQMdml2g_ykvrCfqgA5nSDGgcTGXqccACg%3BF XVl-AIdS29cBClZBS3SWkZDQjEz1ETS4GsLqQ&mra=ls&t=h&z=3

08/07/2011, 12:13 PM
According to a fella on Bert Kassies forum, the groups for the draw will be this:

group 1
Atlético Madrid------------------------TPS Turku or Westerlo
Yorng Boys-----------------------------Legia Warsaw
FC Gagra or Anorthosis-----------------Juvenes/Dogana or Rabotnicki
Red Star Belgrade----------------------Olimpija Ljubljana or Bohemians
Alania Vladikavkaz---------------------Stromsgodest IF

group 2
AZ Alkmaar-----------------------------Khazar Lenkoran or Mac Tel Aviv
Rudar Pljevlja or Austria Vienna-------Flamurtari or Jablonec
Levski Sofia---------------------------Kecskemeti TE or Aktobe
Zeljeznicar or FC Sheriff--------------Floriana or AEK Larnaca
Suduva or Elfsborg---------------------Sligo Rovers

group 7
Palermo--------------------------------Slask Wroclaw or Dundee United
Dinamo Bucaresti-----------------------Paks or Tromso
Bursaspor------------------------------Shak. Karagandy or St. Patricks
Vitroria Guimares----------------------Differdange or Lev Tallinn
Rad Belgrade or Olymp. Volou-----------Iskra-Stali or Varteks Varazdin
I don't understand this though, I thought they dont divide the teams into groups til just before the draw, so how is it decided how to group them or is yer man wrong?

08/07/2011, 12:18 PM
Whoever goes to Karaganda will love it, especially the history of the place. It's pretty rugged, nice area around it and the people are very friendly. Been through it twice on the train and spent a night there 2 years ago, not much in the way of nightlife, but at least the BMI route direct from London will cut down on travel.

I'm not generally that nosey, but im intrigued to know what you work at that has you in these parts.

So if Pats progress who are they likely(can like is there 14/8 teams possible) to get?

08/07/2011, 12:22 PM
Nice little 10,000k drive if any Pat's fans fancy it. It'll take at least 5 days though so might want to be hitting the road. http://maps.google.com/maps?saddr=Dublin,+Ireland&daddr=Karagandy,+Kazakhstan&hl=en&ll=44.339565,46.933594&spn=60.635753,112.675781&sll=42.55308,31.464844&sspn=62.123032,87.539063&geocode=FWj3LQMdml2g_ykvrCfqgA5nSDGgcTGXqccACg%3BF XVl-AIdS29cBClZBS3SWkZDQjEz1ETS4GsLqQ&mra=ls&t=h&z=3

Be class to do somethign like that, but im sure it takes months preparations because of visas/security etc.

cornflakes
08/07/2011, 12:22 PM
I'm not generally that nosey, but im intrigued to know what you work at that has you in these parts.

Human trafficking