View Full Version : LOI in Europe 2011

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74

27/06/2011, 1:11 PM
We played Juve away on the Thursday in terrible conditions and then Beat Bohs 3-0 on the Sunday. So why should we change for Pats.

Why was O'Neill talking about getting your game with Drogheda postponed to help with your euro preparations?

for the record I don't think League games should be postponed unless its for trips to the likes of Kazakhstan. Sunday evening/Monday evening are fine with me.

hoops1
27/06/2011, 1:20 PM
Can you not see a difference between helping a club prepare for Europe(not in comp with LOI teams) and helping them when return(in comp with LOI Teams).

27/06/2011, 1:30 PM
So why should we change for Pats.

Because its fair play .... Its not rocket science ;)

PartySaint
27/06/2011, 1:36 PM
Can you not see a difference between helping a club prepare for Europe(not in comp with LOI teams) and helping them when return(in comp with LOI Teams).

Em well we have the second leg on the following Thursday so a postponement would help us prepare for that:)

27/06/2011, 3:55 PM
After his Derry have to beat Rovers nonsense earlier in the season, I don't think anyone takes Moany Pete seriously..

PartySaint
27/06/2011, 4:04 PM
After his Derry have to beat Rovers nonsense earlier in the season, I don't think anyone takes Moany Pete seriously..

Ah you're right yeah, I wish we had a manager like Michael O'Neill................. yeah right

Jicked
27/06/2011, 5:01 PM
Bad form, even Rovers fans will agree with that i'd say.

Not at all. We played Bohs in a crunch game, later in the season, having to charter a flight back from Italy leaving straight after the final whistle on a Thursday night. That was a morning/afternoon game too, as are all our Sunday game that I can think of off the top of my head. It was very good of UCD to agree to move our game to help preparations last time, and it'd be great if Drogheda did the same this year. No-one could have expected Bohs to help us out for no reason last year, and I wouldn't expect UCD to have facilitated a fixture for Drogheda or Galway if it was a vital relegation clash. Can you see a situation where Man Utd agree to postpone a game on Sunday because Liverpool have a Europa League game on the Thursday?

27/06/2011, 5:08 PM
Perhaps we should just lose the match in the spirit of total co-operation. Actually on current performances that'll probably happen anyway.

PartySaint
27/06/2011, 5:19 PM
And if yous could get a few suspended for your game against Derry aswell, that would be nice

27/06/2011, 5:20 PM
Ah yeah, get the excuses in early ;)

27/06/2011, 5:59 PM
Em well we have the second leg on the following Thursday so a postponement would help us prepare for that:)

You're saying Pats can't play 2 games a week anymore?

Perhaps we should just lose the match in the spirit of total co-operation. Actually on current performances that'll probably happen anyway.

No chance of that happening, as Mahon plays for a point against us. It's got him 3 draws in the past 12 months, and a penalty kick away from another. He hasn't won against us over 90 minutes for well over 12 months, but as long as he gets a point, he's happy.

Instead of moaning about his fixture list, he should be grateful Pats got into Europe through the back door. But no, that's not enough for him.

27/06/2011, 7:29 PM
You're saying Pats can't play 2 games a week anymore?

pats wanted to play Rovers this week

No chance of that happening, as Mahon plays for a point against us.
He hee. The irony of a Rovers fan complaining about negative tactics. You'll be moaning about 5 in the middle next

It's got him 3 draws in the past 12 months, and a penalty kick away from another. He hasn't won against us over 90 minutes for well over 12 months, but as long as he gets a point, he's happy.
in Mahon v O'Neill games it's 2-4 in wins? Hardly a landslide. 12 months indeed

Instead of moaning about his fixture list, he should be grateful Pats got into Europe through the back door. But no, that's not enough for him.[/QUOTE]

27/06/2011, 7:53 PM
pats wanted to play Rovers this week

Wrong. They wanted to play us next week, forgetting that it's Pats' own European campaign that has rearranged the fixture.

In Mahon v O'Neill games it's 2-4 in wins? Hardly a landslide. 12 months indeed

Since he last won, he's drawn 3 and lost 5. That's what happens when he sets out his stall for a draw. But if he wants to keep doing it, we'll be happy to keep up our recent record. For many years, the reverse happened.

27/06/2011, 8:08 PM
Wrong. They wanted to play us next week, forgetting that it's Pats' own European campaign that has rearranged the fixture.
And you're forgetting taht your original post was about pats not wanting to play 2 games in a week, which is still the case.

abcd
27/06/2011, 9:01 PM
Good luck to Pats on Thursday, they're on a great run, hopefully they can get through the 1st round anyway.

Rovers strength in depth should eventually tell in the title race but they're making heavy weather of it.

27/06/2011, 9:58 PM
Pats 2st leg in Iceland to be streamed here. £8 (sterling) apparently for those interested

http://www.sporttv.is/frettir/

27/06/2011, 10:03 PM
Pats 2st leg in Iceland to be streamed here. £8 (sterling) apparently for those interested

http://www.sporttv.is/frettir/

bargain.

28/06/2011, 3:37 AM
And you're forgetting taht your original post was about pats not wanting to play 2 games in a week, which is still the case.

The original post was about what PartySaint and your coach are saying.

legendz
28/06/2011, 7:27 AM
I think the saints are a bit hard done by when they did Dundalk a favour last year. At the same time, my understanding is that Shamrock Rovers European strategy is games on Wednesday-Saturday-Wednesday-Saturday. On the same basis, Pat's should be able to play Thursday-Sunday-Thursday-Sunday. Teams across the water generally seem to play games on a Saturday after Wednesday or Sunday after Thursday. LoI fixtures have to be played. Part of being in Europe is that it's something that has to be coped with. At least Pat's get more days to prepare for the second-leg.

Is getting to the 3rd qualifying round a fair barometer for judging the performance of all Irish clubs in Europe? It's great the league was in a position that the cup winner could get forwarded straight to that round. When a look is given on the list of teams in each round, it's the 3rd round where potential big games start to come up. The majority of Irish clubs should be able to make the 3rd round of their respective competitions.

28/06/2011, 7:44 AM
If we get to CLQ3, we get two shots at making a European group stage. Then the anti-LOI ignorants might start paying attention to this league, and what it has to offer.

28/06/2011, 7:49 AM
The original post was about what PartySaint and your coach are saying.

And they both said Pats should play twice in a week, so what's your point?

legendz
28/06/2011, 7:58 AM
If we get to CLQ3, we get two shots at making a European group stage. Then the anti-LOI ignorants might start paying attention to this league, and what it has to offer.

I think people will pay attention if it's not a one hit wonder. Do that for 2 or 3 years and people are bound to sit up and take notice.

sullanefc
28/06/2011, 8:51 AM
I think the saints are a bit hard done by when they did Dundalk a favour last year. At the same time, my understanding is that Shamrock Rovers European strategy is games on Wednesday-Saturday-Wednesday-Saturday. On the same basis, Pat's should be able to play Thursday-Sunday-Thursday-Sunday. Teams across the water generally seem to play games on a Saturday after Wednesday or Sunday after Thursday. LoI fixtures have to be played. Part of being in Europe is that it's something that has to be coped with. At least Pat's get more days to prepare for the second-leg.

Is getting to the 3rd qualifying round a fair barometer for judging the performance of all Irish clubs in Europe? It's great the league was in a position that the cup winner could get forwarded straight to that round. When a look is given on the list of teams in each round, it's the 3rd round where potential big games start to come up. The majority of Irish clubs should be able to make the 3rd round of their respective competitions.

Teams from across the water can afford to charter planes.

athloneman
28/06/2011, 5:09 PM
interesting

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/0628/sligorovers.html

28/06/2011, 5:12 PM
surprised this hasnt been mentioned yet... fair play to John Delaney (wow) for pledging e5k of his own wonga to get the 3rd round Europa League fixture to Sligo town.

a big draw would obviously be fantastic to a town like Sligo and Sligo Rovers.

shellyriver
28/06/2011, 5:30 PM
If Showgrounds can't host the game, I have heard members of the Rovers committee are considering going to a Connacht stadium -- to keep the game in the West of Ireland. Delighted to see Delaney take a lead on this. Hope the courage and will is present at Sligo and that a derogation can granted by UEFA.

28/06/2011, 6:13 PM
So thats Drogheda and Sligo paid off.

can't wait for ours

Cuyahoga
28/06/2011, 6:20 PM
surprised this hasnt been mentioned yet... fair play to John Delaney (wow) for pledging e5k of his own wonga to get the 3rd round Europa League fixture to Sligo town.

a big draw would obviously be fantastic to a town like Sligo and Sligo Rovers.
When you are on his wages its small change it is equivolent to an average earner giving 300 euro.

28/06/2011, 6:33 PM
So thats Drogheda and Sligo paid off.

can't wait for ours

i cant wait either, anything short of e6million would be a bloody disgrace.

28/06/2011, 6:34 PM
When you are on his wages its small change it is equivolent to an average earner giving 300 euro.

rubbish argument if you ask me.

28/06/2011, 6:40 PM

Isnt he a great fella - nice headline (PR) for him all the same:rolleyes:

28/06/2011, 6:45 PM
Fortunately for Pats, their game against IBV will be played in Reykjavik rather than the Westman islands.
Not at the national stadium but at a small club stadium close enough to the city centre. The match tickets are €12, have been selling well. Might well be sold out soon. Pats would be doing very well to get a draw.
IBV don't play the most stylish football in the league, more strong and direct but effective.
Here's the highlights from their game against Breidablik in the green shirts - they being a team which like to play and entertain.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SJyeQOaomqI&feature=related

Hibs4Ever
28/06/2011, 7:18 PM
The match tickets are €12, have been selling well. Might well be sold out soon.

Tickets are 20 pound sterling

Pats would be doing very well to get a draw.

Considering Iceland clubs have a terrible record in Europe and one of their teams was hammered by a Maltese team 2 years ago I think St Pats would be dissapointed with less than a draw

28/06/2011, 7:29 PM
I think people will pay attention if it's not a one hit wonder. Do that for 2 or 3 years and people are bound to sit up and take notice.

It'll be 6 games. TV changes public perceptions. Basically, if you're not on tv, you're invisible. The EPL is on morning, noon, and night for 10-11 months of the year. People are interested and want to watch it. In the LOI, we're on tv once (twice if we're live) a week. There is a difference.

6 games in a group stage however, gives us unprecedented media exposure at home and abroad, for 3 months of the year. People will notice.

28/06/2011, 7:32 PM
It'll be 6 games. TV changes public perceptions. Basically, if you're not on tv, you're invisible. The EPL is on morning, noon, and night for 10-11 months of the year. People are interested and want to watch it. In the LOI, we're on tv once (twice if we're live) a week. There is a difference.

6 games in a group stage however, gives us unprecedented media exposure at home and abroad, for 3 months of the year. People will notice.

seem pretty sure of yourself there.

28/06/2011, 8:26 PM
Tickets are 20 pound sterling
In Iceland, tickets bought in advance are €9, otherwise €12.
One price - all seats.

Considering Iceland clubs have a terrible record in Europe and one of their teams was hammered by a Maltese team 2 years ago Is that < or > than getting hammered by a Welsh team?
That same year, Fram got through to 3rd qual round and went out 5-3 to Basle while Pats credibly scraped through to the playoff round and got hammered there.

I think St Pats would be dissapointed with less than a draw
It's rare that a club competing in Europe as a seeded team would be anything less than disappointed to lose a game.
That doesn't change the outlook that Pats will be doing well to get a draw and should be content with that when the final whistle blows.
IBV are taking this game serious and it sounds like half the island's population are traveling to the game.

28/06/2011, 8:36 PM
dont you just hate when you come up against someone who knows what theyre talking about...

Hibs4Ever
28/06/2011, 8:38 PM
In Iceland, tickets bought in advance are €9, otherwise €12.
One price - all seats..

Interested to know where you got this info cause Pats fans were told (and charged) by IBV that tickets are 20 pound sterling

That doesn't change the outlook that Pats will be doing well to get a draw and should be content with that when the final whistle blows.

Yes, they will be happy with the draw, they are away from home, but they will also very dissapointed if they lose as they are a better team and expected to win the tie

dont you just hate when you come up against someone who knows what theyre talking about...

Does he? He has the match ticket pricing all wrong for a start, the rest is just opinion

28/06/2011, 8:48 PM
you based your opinion on the fact that "one of their (Icelands) teams" lost to "a Maltese team" 2 years ago.

Geysir has some actual details and, i would say, a better supported opinion.

28/06/2011, 8:51 PM
Interested to know where you got this info cause Pats fans were told (and charged) by IBV that tickets are 20 pound sterling

Hot off the island press
http://www.eyjafrettir.is/frettir/2011/06/28/forsala_lykur_a_morgun
Miği í forsölu kostar (tickets bought in advance cost) 1.500 krónur, annars (otherwise) 2.000 kr[/I].

approx 165kr/1€

Anybody here traveling?

28/06/2011, 8:54 PM
That same year, Fram got through to 3rd qual round and went out 5-3 to Basle while Pats credibly scraped through to the playoff round and got hammered there.
so Pats 'scraped' through to round 4, losing 5-1 to Steaua in a hammering

Yet Fram were heroic runners up to Basel only losing 5-3 in the round before?

OK

born2bwild
28/06/2011, 8:56 PM
Hot off the island press
http://www.eyjafrettir.is/frettir/2011/06/28/forsala_lykur_a_morgun
Miği í forsölu kostar (tickets bought in advance cost) 1.500 krónur, annars (otherwise) 2.000 kr[/I].

approx 165kr/1€

Anybody here traveling?
Do other Scandinavian languages use the thorn? Wish it was in still English

28/06/2011, 9:02 PM
Curious that IBV should state a sterling figure for tickets to fans from a Euro zone country.

Possibly they are trying to raise next months payments for their few English players :)

28/06/2011, 9:04 PM
so Pats 'scraped' through to round 4, losing 5-1 to Steaua in a hammering

Yet Fram were heroic runners up to Basel only losing 5-3 in the round before?

OK
I was just using Hibs' previously used definition of a 'hammering', fact!
I didn't comment one way or another about Fram's heroism, double fact!

You should know better than to make stuff up based on reading between the lines :)

28/06/2011, 9:09 PM
Curious that IBV should state a sterling figure for tickets to fans from a Euro zone country.

Possibly they are trying to raise next months payments for their few English players :)
The sporttv.is website is also charging in sterling for their stream

poster
28/06/2011, 9:24 PM
Where are IBV in the league as we stand/did they finish?

28/06/2011, 9:33 PM
The Icelandic krona is particularly weak against the pound at the moment so I assume that's the reason. I'm sure it's handy for the government too since they're basically just sending it all back to the British government.

28/06/2011, 9:36 PM
Where are IBV in the league as we stand/did they finish?

The football season is short, mid May to early Sept with a long pre-season:).
12 teams, 22 games, 8 have been played so far, IBV are in second place, W5 d1 L2.

28/06/2011, 9:38 PM
The Icelandic krona is particularly weak against the pound at the moment so I assume that's the reason. I'm sure it's handy for the government too since they're basically just sending it all back to the British government.
Those baxstards aren't getting anything yet.
The Kronur has been stable since it collapsed in 2008 :)

28/06/2011, 10:27 PM
Isnt he a great fella - nice headline (PR) for him all the same:rolleyes:

i cant believe you gave me post to Cuyahoga negative vibes, ya big benny!