View Full Version : Limerick Premier Division 2007/08

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80

see's it
01/10/2007, 1:35 PM
Ive seen peno's given for less, and I'd say so have you.
I think a draw would have been the fairest result yesterday, but that doesn't always happen in football.

at this early stage it doesnt look good for star and granville.dont think granville have anybody to come in to improve them whats the story with star injuries wise?

rooney10
01/10/2007, 1:38 PM
will some1 answer me how is stuart burns getting on with fairview ......

Green_Hoop
01/10/2007, 1:39 PM
Thats only like your third post,its not like you've been asking for years..calm it down a bit..

see's it
01/10/2007, 2:03 PM

his getting on grand nice of you to ask.....

abbeyvale
01/10/2007, 2:32 PM
at this early stage it doesnt look good for star and granville.dont think granville have anybody to come in to improve them whats the story with star injuries wise?

Injury wise, Star are missing the following players and in brackets is when they are due to return..

Ger Collopy (Sunday), Eddie Wallace (2 weeks), Eoin Casey (Sunday), Pa Barry (January), John Collopy (????), Shane O'Loughlin (2 weeks) and Derek McNamara (2-3 weeks).

see's it
01/10/2007, 2:50 PM
john collopy ???? that just sumes up john totally

timmy
01/10/2007, 2:51 PM

hes getting on alright but the game i saw him play a few weeks ago he was very bad. seems very slow.

balls
01/10/2007, 4:24 PM
MSC
Avondale 3 - Pike 1,We didn't play well at all,its only a nonsense of a competition for junior clubs.No really benefit.

just cause ye were beaten it doesnt benefit. im sure ye wouldnt complain if ye won senior cup in fact ud prob be boasting about it on here. did the last couple weeks benefit ye hammering meanus etc 13 and 14 nil

Green_Hoop
01/10/2007, 4:36 PM
just cause ye were beaten it doesn't benefit. I'm sure ye wouldn't complain if ye won senior cup in fact ud prob be boasting about it on here. did the last couple weeks benefit ye hammering meanus etc 13 and 14 nil

Replying to this..If you happened to read the other junior threads you'd have noted my post in the "FAI Junior Cup 2007/2008" Posted on the Old 24/09/2007, 7:54 PM ,Basically a week ago..

Should really have a preliminary round(Yes I know they have a preliminary of sorts..)but for the weaker clubs to stop some of the above score lines,doesn't do anyone a favour tbh..

Thats to answer the first half of your post...And then if you had been there or even bothered to pick up the local tonight you'd have read that the game was very tight,with pike taking an early lead,going in at half time 1-1 and only losing to a bad penalty decision from the ref with 10 minutes to go...And considering Avondale have one the Intermediate Fai cup the last 2 years,taking them that close for a junior side isn't half bad..

Goals4fun
01/10/2007, 8:46 PM
At 2-2 and with 10mins to go Wembley full back played a back pass to their keeper who let it slip under his foot and over the goal line (by at least a foot) and their keeper eventually got back and scooped the ball from behind the line, but everybody else had stopped play expecting a goal to be given, but it wasn't, Wembley went on to score the winner in injury time.

Spoke to a Balla player and supporter (who were behind the Wembley goals) and they confirmed what we all saw, 2 Wembley supporters also confirmed it, along with Wembley keeper after the game.

Ref's response was "I couldn't give either".

Ah well, we'll plug away anyway.

how did the keeper keep it out ? de he slide and kick it or did he dive and handle it?
If it was the later then he should have been sent off and a peno if he handled it. Deliberate handball to prevent a scoring chance.

Jock MIB
01/10/2007, 8:55 PM
how did the keeper keep it out ? de he slide and kick it or did he dive and handle it?
If it was the later then he should have been sent off and a peno if he handled it. Deliberate handball to prevent a scoring chance.

No it would be an indirect free kick on the edge of six yard box for handling a pass back.. goalkeeper can't be penalised for a deliberate handball in his aera only outside his aera... i think only new to the business :D

summervilleman
01/10/2007, 11:07 PM
ten times the striker u are bud. regular scorer in premier for last 3 or 4 years.

Who said i was a striker?? I never said i was any good...Just giving my own personal opinion!!

abbeyvale
02/10/2007, 7:57 AM
No it would be an indirect free kick on the edge of six yard box for handling a pass back.. goalkeeper can't be penalised for a deliberate handball in his aera only outside his aera... i think only new to the business :D

He slid and kicked it out from behind the line.

Its over and done with now, theres nothing we can do about it.

All I'll say is that there are only a hand full of decent referee's around this town that get the big decisions correct more times than incorrect.

Jock MIB
02/10/2007, 8:19 AM
He slid and kicked it out from behind the line.

Its over and done with now, theres nothing we can do about it.

All I'll say is that there are only a hand full of decent referee's around this town that get the big decisions correct more times than incorrect.

i was only responding to the post earlier when he said if the goalkeeper used his hands to stop it , it would consitute a deliberate handball and goal scoring oppurtunity so should be a peno and sending off... which is false.

see's it
02/10/2007, 8:50 AM
the refs arent good enough,the pitches are crap,2 games in a week,injuries,short pitches.anymore excuses lads.did ye ever think the best team one on the day???

shanman2
02/10/2007, 9:00 AM
the refs arent good enough,the pitches are crap,2 games in a week,injuries,short pitches.anymore excuses lads.did ye ever think the best team one on the day???

Think he meant WON.:D:D

gaidin
02/10/2007, 9:23 AM

In all fairness though some of the refs today can be shocking.

Although they dont get much support from any of the sidelines. With the abuse they take sometimes its easy to see why they make mistakes.

see's it
02/10/2007, 9:31 AM
Think he meant WON.:D:D

spot on

KevB76
02/10/2007, 12:54 PM
how did the keeper keep it out ? Deliberate handball to prevent a scoring chance.

Am I missing something here ? Isnt that the whole point of a keeper :confused: :D

KevB76
02/10/2007, 12:55 PM

Correct - as anyone who watched Pike v Meanus a few weeks ago can testify.

see's it
02/10/2007, 2:22 PM
what fixtures are on this weekend?

Super Rovers
02/10/2007, 2:26 PM
what fixtures are on this weekend?

think its fai and munster matches this weekend

Jock MIB
02/10/2007, 3:46 PM
think its fai and munster matches this weekend

No thats next weekend , its mostly league games with a few cup games this weekend

timmy
02/10/2007, 4:16 PM
looks like most peoples relegation predictions wembley and summerville are gonna stay up. i know its early days but if they keep up this form they could comfortably avoid relegation. what has happened to corbally and granville anyone know.

tho wembley may struggle. heard that 4 or 5 of their regular starters last year haven featured this year are leaving/left. u need a squad to survive in this division. do wembley have a b team. they could call on these players to fill the gap.

anyway i reckon corbally and granville to go down and pike to win it.

owngoal
02/10/2007, 5:01 PM
looks like most peoples relegation predictions wembley and summerville are gonna stay up. i know its early days but if they keep up this form they could comfortably avoid relegation. what has happened to corbally and granville anyone know.

tho wembley may struggle. heard that 4 or 5 of their regular starters last year haven featured this year are leaving/left. u need a squad to survive in this division. do wembley have a b team. they could call on these players to fill the gap.

anyway i reckon corbally and granville to go down and pike to win it.

I think it will be tight for the 2nd relegation spot. I think granville are dead certs. Star are not as bad as people here make out, they should have got at least a draw v Summerville and wembley, and they have to play both teams at home at the end of the season(i think)

Corbally will pick it up i reckon, but i think summerville and star will be fighting to stay up.

Balla for the league on form so far.

What are the league fixtures for the weekend?

HuRya
02/10/2007, 6:08 PM
I think it will be tight for the 2nd relegation spot. I think granville are dead certs. Star are not as bad as people here make out, they should have got at least a draw v Summerville and wembley, and they have to play both teams at home at the end of the season(i think)

Corbally will pick it up i reckon, but i think summerville and star will be fighting to stay up.

Balla for the league on form so far.

What are the league fixtures for the weekend?

On currant form, Regional and Aisling are the best 2 teams in Limerick at the moment closely followed by Balla, Pike and Fairview... A lot of Balla's wins in the league this season were by the odd goal and were not deserved but their luck will run out.. There could be a surprise or two yet before the seasons' end..

As for fixtures there's 4 down for the weekend: :
Aisling v Carew Pk
Fairview v Regional
Star Rvs v Balla
Corbally v Wembley (I think)

abbeyvale
03/10/2007, 7:38 AM
Ballynanty 6 / 15
Carew Park 6 / 13
Regional United 6 / 13
Aisling Annacotty 7 / 13
Fairview Rangers 7 / 12
Pike Rovers 6 / 10
Summerville 7 / 9
Wembley 6 / 9
Janesboro 6 / 8
Corbally Utd 6 / 3
Star Rovers 7 / 2
Granville Rangers 6 / 1

Sunday 07/10/07 (10.30ko)
Aisling v Carew Pk
Fairview v Regional
Star Rvs v Balla
Corbally v Wembley

Concept
03/10/2007, 10:53 AM
On currant form, Regional and Aisling are the best 2 teams in Limerick at the moment closely followed by Balla, Pike and Fairview... A lot of Balla's wins in the league this season were by the odd goal and were not deserved but their luck will run out.. There could be a surprise or two yet before the seasons' end..

Balla are the current form team in the league at the moment having won all their games since the opening day defeat to Carew beating Regional and Aisling (both away) in two of those games..............But it is still far too early to tell who will win the league.

abbeyvale
03/10/2007, 11:52 AM
Why cant Granville play Summerville in Portland Park this weekend?

Neither team are down for a fixture in the MJC or the FAI and although they played each other up in Glenbrook a few weeks back, surely it would make sense to play their 2nd fixture against each other, especially with the bad weather we'll have around xmas and back log of games.

Is it purely because the LDMC want the first round of games played before any teams meet for the second time?

Or is it that one of these teams have a free weekend?

owngoal
03/10/2007, 11:55 AM
Why cant Granville play Summerville in Portland Park this weekend?

Neither team are down for a fixture in the MJC or the FAI and although they played each other up in Glenbrook a few weeks back, surely it would make sense to play their 2nd fixture against each other, especially with the bad weather we'll have around xmas and back log of games.

Is it purely because the LDMC want the first round of games played before any teams meet for the second time?

Or is it that one of these teams have a free weekend?

Summerville have a free weekend. Been booked off for months. Not ideal with a sticky fai match against croom the following week.

abbeyvale
03/10/2007, 1:19 PM
Summerville have a free weekend. Been booked off for months. Not ideal with a sticky fai match against croom the following week.

That answers that then!!!!

BigBird
03/10/2007, 6:46 PM
I think Summerville have a free weekend this week due to the retirement of their 'former' goalkeeper Cozzy. He will be sadly missed, especially by strikers who loved playing against him!!!

summervilleman
03/10/2007, 6:57 PM
Summerville Rovers 50th Year Anniversary Dinner Dance on Saturday night...Thats why its a free weekend for us!!!

see's it
04/10/2007, 12:40 PM
Summerville Rovers 50th Year Anniversary Dinner Dance on Saturday night...Thats why its a free weekend for us!!!

eddie clancy and charlie up giving it loads on the dancefloor!

how old are the other clubs around town?

leather
04/10/2007, 1:14 PM
Janesboro 64 years in existence this year, i think that shelbourne and a few more are longer out there,..(balla, Fairveiw, , pike... not sure)

leather
04/10/2007, 1:18 PM
Fairview 61 years and pike 69 years

Roadend
04/10/2007, 1:25 PM
Summerville Rovers 50th Year Anniversary Dinner Dance on Saturday night

50 years in existence and yet Portland is still a marshy wasteland:p

whitestripe
04/10/2007, 2:53 PM
:D:D:D

summervilleman
04/10/2007, 10:04 PM
50 years in existence and yet Portland is still a marshy wasteland:p

Ah give it time...Rome wasn't built in a day...Hopefully next season the new pitch will be up and running and we might stop the long ball tactics then!!:)

Unreal Madrid
04/10/2007, 10:16 PM
Fairview 61 years and pike 69 years
can not confirm this leather,think prospect 1904 and shelbourne 1910,do you know.

leather
05/10/2007, 9:05 AM
Would Gues That Prospect Might Be 1940 Wasnt Built Untill Around Then.. I Think That Shelbourne Are The Oldest Club Locally

Green_Hoop
07/10/2007, 12:00 PM
Pike 3 -Abbey 0 in the MJC

Looks like Carew's season has imploded...same old same old.Lost apparently 3-1 to Ashling this morning.Not confirmed though.

Nesta
07/10/2007, 12:25 PM
Fairview 4 - 1 Regional.

Any other of todays results?

booster 03
07/10/2007, 4:16 PM
Fairview 4 - 1 Regional.

saw fairview match this morning, must say, fairview looked very good, dark horses for the league????

Super Rovers
08/10/2007, 9:29 AM
Fairview 4 - 1 Regional.

corbally 4 - 1 wembley

corbally proably should have had about 10 goals in the first half even though they were only 1 up at half time. if we keep playing like this we will find ourselves in a relagation battle.

Dirk Diggler
08/10/2007, 9:41 AM
how did star and balla get on?

candystripes
08/10/2007, 9:45 AM
how did star and balla get on?

match was called off

whitestripe
08/10/2007, 9:57 AM
Pike 3 -Abbey 0 in the MJC

Looks like Carew's season has imploded...same old same old.Lost apparently 3-1 to Ashling this morning.Not confirmed though.

2 - 1 to AA

Edgey
08/10/2007, 10:09 AM
Was there a bit of trouble at the AA/Carew match? Mike Aherne mentioned a 'few nasty incidents' on the lunchtime sports yesterday.

superhero
08/10/2007, 10:57 AM
I heard that Robert Mitchell headbutted Aidan Hurley off the ball