View Full Version : Limerick Premier Division 2007/08
26/02/2008, 12:36 PM
Sunday March 1 (10.30)
Ballynanty v Fairview, LIT
Wembley v Janesboro, Rathuard
The rest of the teams are involved in the Lawson cup.
Looks like our choice man.
Game 1 - Handy for Monkfish
Game 2 - Handy for LTID
Decisions, decisions :)
26/02/2008, 12:37 PM
Limerick GAA football team.
He players local junior footy with Pike.
Good player, strong and scores goals.
Now I get ya
Cheers.
abbeyvale
26/02/2008, 12:38 PM
Sunday March 1 (10.30)
Ballynanty v Fairview, LIT
Wembley v Janesboro, Rathuard
The rest of the teams are involved in the Lawson cup.
Waht a game we have in store at LIT this Sunday!!!!
I'll go for Balla, just on home advantage, but its a must win game for both teams I think.
Mr. Reality
26/02/2008, 12:46 PM
Limerick GAA football team.
He players local junior footy with Pike.
Good player, strong and scores goals.
Very good Abbeyvale he is indeed with the Limerick football team. And fair play to him. No greater honour than representing your county.
26/02/2008, 12:54 PM
No greater honour than representing your county.
Ya, but Football?? :eek: :p
Mr. Reality
26/02/2008, 1:41 PM
Ya, but Football?? :eek: :p
Hey man, we're on a junior soccer site! Football is a couple of miles north of this level!! And Hurling is way above this. This is why I am Mr. Reality. The guys on this site need a reality check. Junior soccer= Mickey Mouse.
Monkfish
26/02/2008, 1:46 PM
Junior soccer= Mickey Mouse.
Get ready for the backlash! :D:D
inexile
26/02/2008, 1:49 PM
Who is this sniffer and has he signed for Limerick??
Or am I missing the point entirely :o
Also, anyone have the fixtures for next weekend??
your missing the point a small bit there bud, sniffer is dermot phelan, he has been called into the limerick senior football panel as far as i know, which will render him unavailable to pike for the majority of the rest of the season
Mr. Reality
26/02/2008, 1:49 PM
Get ready for the backlash! :D:D
Ha ha ha.... Truth hurts. But I'm open to opinions and debate. Maybe you guys can sway me. Maybe...
Mr. Reality
26/02/2008, 1:51 PM
your missing the point a small bit there bud, sniffer is dermot phelan, he has been called into the limerick senior football panel as far as i know, which will render him unavailable to pike for the majority of the rest of the season
Well my point is made. Senior football or Junior soccer? No contest..
Mr. Reality
26/02/2008, 1:52 PM
And before anybody says it, no I'm not some GAA loving Soccer bashing Country Good OL' Boy!! Just stating the facts..
inexile
26/02/2008, 1:57 PM
no to be fair your dead right, im a keen junior follower but a opportunity like that means he has to give the gaelic football a shot at least, i wouldn't say junior soccer is mickey mouse though.
Mr. Reality
26/02/2008, 1:58 PM
no to be fair your dead right, im a keen junior follower but a opportunity like that means he has to give the gaelic football a shot at least, i wouldn't say junior soccer is mickey mouse though.
Even in comparison to Inter County football?
MitreSize5
26/02/2008, 2:01 PM
inter county football in Limerick is a joke - its never been supported by the county board
In fairness to Sniffer though you couldnt turn down an opportunity to represent your county. He's doing well with the panel as well and has scored goals in their first two matches. I fear we've seen the last of him in the hoops
inexile
26/02/2008, 2:04 PM
Even in comparison to Inter County football?
not exactly, obviously its not as good but i wouldnt dismiss it as mickey mouse, i have played both and there isn't much difference in the effort put in by the more successful/better junior football teams and an inter county team
Tasty! ;) but this 'lawless' cup will have us going to LIT methinks.
its a league game between balla and fairview..
Monkfish
26/02/2008, 2:52 PM
its a league game between balla and fairview..
I know ya, guess i should have said because Carew Park and Pike would be in cup id rather the Balla/Fairview, anyway no matter, sound!
Dirk Diggler
26/02/2008, 3:26 PM
Pike were always in control on sunday. At times they were shocking but sometimes you have to win ugly to win a league. Pike got 3 points for that win the same as they got 3 points when they beat fairview 5-0. I'm not buying into the hype around fairview just yet, we'll wait and see how they get on against Balla on sunday. It'll be a good test to see how far they've come. It'll be pike and balla challenging for the league in my opinion. Pikes small squad might be their downfall come the midweek games, but boro won it last year with a small squad if they don't pick up any major injuries they'll be there or there abouts.
the hoops
26/02/2008, 4:48 PM
Star were missing, Collopy, Griffin, Joyce, Morton, Waters, Flynn, to name a few, but you dont hear them bitching about it!!!!
Anyway, ye'r missing Sniffer every second match, and Mitchell isn't a usual starter, so ye were really only missing 2 regular starters, where as at least 4 of the above 6 Star players would normally start.
morton not bitching about missing players:D
Waht a game we have in store at LIT this Sunday!!!!
I'll go for Balla, just on home advantage, but its a must win game for both teams I think.
I don't see anyone complaining about where the match is on,thats for all those who said balla would bring the good sides to batemen
abbeyvale
26/02/2008, 5:35 PM
morton not bitching about missing players:D
No, It was a Pike supporter that brought up the "missing players" subject.
I agree with Dirk Diggler,
I too think the league is between Pike and Balla, but in fairness I think Balla have a bigger squad, but not by much.
This Sunday will give us a good indication of how strong the View can challenge.
If the View win they'll be 9pts clear of Balla, if they lose they'll be 3pts clear of Balla, and Balla will have 4 games in hand. (Massive difference)
Green_Hoop
26/02/2008, 7:12 PM
I too think the league is between Pike and Balla, but in fairness I think Balla have a bigger squad, but not by much.
This Sunday will give us a good indication of how strong the View can challenge.
If the View win they'll be 9pts clear of Balla, if they lose they'll be 3pts clear of Balla, and Balla will have 4 games in hand. (Massive difference)
With Balla to play pike in the Pike club,they're a hard run in from what I can see.
hoops12
26/02/2008, 9:48 PM
I couldn't agree more. Pa Moloney spends more time on the floor than Frank Bruno.... Pike need to sign a greedy fox in the box but where do they get one??????
should never have taken him back,not many clubs would have him and he will let us down with a bang b4 season ends
Andyryan24
26/02/2008, 10:24 PM
not even abbey would have him....like last sunday he just would not let off the easy ball to players in better positions....ye should have takin him off and gave him his onw ball
dell hell
26/02/2008, 11:10 PM
Who is this sniffer and has he signed for Limerick??
Or am I missing the point entirely :o
Also, anyone have the fixtures for next weekend??
stupid question of the month... plays football for Limerick already get with the program kid:rolleyes:
hoops12
26/02/2008, 11:29 PM
not even abbey would have him....like last sunday he just would not let off the easy ball to players in better positions....ye should have takin him off and gave him his onw ball
i have nothing against most of what he does on the field ,its just that his off field antics
Mr. Reality
27/02/2008, 7:20 AM
i have nothing against most of what he does on the field ,its just that his off field antics
He has no more intrest in the Pike jersey and club than Considine has in returning to Fairview. He will walk when he gets tired of them and next season be cursing and cheating against them like he used to.
Mr. Reality
27/02/2008, 7:26 AM
not exactly, obviously its not as good but i wouldnt dismiss it as mickey mouse, i have played both and there isn't much difference in the effort put in by the more successful/better junior football teams and an inter county team
I agree a few teams in Limerick make a concerted effort to be some way organised in their approach, but 80,000 in Croke Park as a final compared to 200 in Jackman. Small time.. Club Gaa is more in line with Junior football. My point in all of this really is Sniffer won't even think of playing for Pike while he's in the Limerick panel. And rightly so. By the way, fair play to you if you did play both.
Mr. Reality
27/02/2008, 7:31 AM
Tell me this hoops12, would you play a less talented player up front, if they had Pike in their heart?? Cause your manager wouldn't... Example: Dave Morris. And in my opinion he is actually a better player. Aswell as being one of the few real Pike men in their squad.
Mr. Reality
27/02/2008, 7:32 AM
Fairview will beat Balla.
27/02/2008, 10:05 AM
stupid question of the month... plays football for Limerick already get with the program kid
Ya I know.
That's how you find stuff out though, by asking.
Someone told me a few pages back. :rolleyes:
In future for your own benefit, when you're getting someone to read the forum to you, you might want to get them to read the whole thing and not just the most recent stuff.
Otherwise you only end up lookin stupid telling people stuff they already know. ;)
Andyryan24
27/02/2008, 10:38 AM
Tell me this hoops12, would you play a less talented player up front, if they had Pike in their heart?? Cause your manager wouldn't... Example: Dave Morris. And in my opinion he is actually a better player. Aswell as being one of the few real Pike men in their squad.
dave should be first in the squad well before the likes of maloney and to be honest would do more damage up front than him too. why bother with him when ya have dave morris ????????????????????
Noddy
27/02/2008, 10:49 AM
Pa has been doing well the last few games. He's scored in his last 3 games so can't argue with that. morris has been injured and is just back
Goals4fun
27/02/2008, 11:16 AM
Pa has been doing well the last few games. He's scored in his last 3 games so can't argue with that. morris has been injured and is just back
plus he has been out of the country with work...
Mr. Reality
27/02/2008, 11:27 AM
He now has 5 goals this season. Not good enough for a striker. I think he's level with Lescott of Everton!!
abbeyvale
27/02/2008, 12:59 PM
All I'll say to that is , Dave Morris is certainly wasted at left full.
dell hell
27/02/2008, 1:29 PM
Ya I know.
That's how you find stuff out though, by asking.
Someone told me a few pages back. :rolleyes:
In future for your own benefit, when you're getting someone to read the forum to you, you might want to get them to read the whole thing and not just the most recent stuff.
Otherwise you only end up lookin stupid telling people stuff they already know. ;)
:eek:reading ahead in future noted
Mr. Reality
27/02/2008, 1:38 PM
All I'll say to that is , Dave Morris is certainly wasted at left full.
That was enforced as far as I know. A lot of their defenders were missing.
inexile
27/02/2008, 3:18 PM
I agree a few teams in Limerick make a concerted effort to be some way organised in their approach, but 80,000 in Croke Park as a final compared to 200 in Jackman. Small time.. Club Gaa is more in line with Junior football. My point in all of this really is Sniffer won't even think of playing for Pike while he's in the Limerick panel. And rightly so. By the way, fair play to you if you did play both.
agreed, the point i was trying to make is that the players wouldn't see it as mickey mouse though, but obvioulsy playing for your county is a bigger deal than playing junior, id even go as far to say that its bigger than league of ireland
just saw on another thread that the winners of the AUL this year win a week in Japan. A couple of weeks ago Kilester went to cape town or somewhere like that for winning it last season. Nivea sponsor the AUL league. I'm wondering how many players there are involved in the junior leagues in limerick as opposed to the AUL. Why don't the LDMC push for better sponsorship for the league.
abbeyvale
27/02/2008, 7:26 PM
That was enforced as far as I know. A lot of their defenders were missing.
Morris played left full for some of last season as well as far as I can remember.
abbeyvale
27/02/2008, 11:17 PM
just saw on another thread that the winners of the AUL this year win a week in Japan. A couple of weeks ago Kilester went to cape town or somewhere like that for winning it last season. Nivea sponsor the AUL league. I'm wondering how many players there are involved in the junior leagues in limerick as opposed to the AUL. Why don't the LDMC push for better sponsorship for the league.
LDMC cant even update their website, going through the motions up there for a long time.
hoops12
28/02/2008, 1:05 AM
to answer your question,first of all dave morris would be in my 11 every week and thats on his ability,i hear pike people knock dave year in year out but still you will see his name up around the top of the scoring charts at the end of every season.we know pike need a top class striker but in my opinion it would only be to compliment dave.as for playing someone with less ability than moloney i would play with ten if i could rather than see him in a pike jersey but you have made a very valid point and most of it i agree with
hoops12
28/02/2008, 1:10 AM
Morris played left full for some of last season as well as far as I can remember.
correct and right,we cant seem to solve this problem position,but to me conny is still a top class full back and do,nt understand why he doesnt still play cos id say he still has the hunger
Mr. Reality
28/02/2008, 7:19 AM
Thats true.
Mr. Reality
28/02/2008, 7:20 AM
to answer your question,first of all dave morris would be in my 11 every week and thats on his ability,i hear pike people knock dave year in year out but still you will see his name up around the top of the scoring charts at the end of every season.we know pike need a top class striker but in my opinion it would only be to compliment dave.as for playing someone with less ability than moloney i would play with ten if i could rather than see him in a pike jersey but you have made a very valid point and most of it i agree with
Well I'd certainly agree with that assessment. You know your club..
Mr. Reality
28/02/2008, 7:23 AM
correct and right,we cant seem to solve this problem position,but to me conny is still a top class full back and do,nt understand why he doesnt still play cos id say he still has the hunger
Hunger he has no doubt. And in the Premier League he can certainly still do a job. But in the FAI and Munster Junior I'd reckon ye need a bit more in the way of legs and pace. But he's not finished. Not yet.
summervilleman
28/02/2008, 12:48 PM
Don't think conny would be still up for it to be totally honest...A bit passed it..
Luckily we have a break this weekend...Some very bad dismal results for us of late...D break will do us good hopefully to re-group.....Getting pretty tight at the bottom at the moment..
I also think fairview will beat balla this weekend..It will be close eitherway but in saying that i said we would beat fairview last week and look what happened..
Mr. Reality
28/02/2008, 1:33 PM
Don't think conny would be still up for it to be totally honest...A bit passed it..
Luckily we have a break this weekend...Some very bad dismal results for us of late...D break will do us good hopefully to re-group.....Getting pretty tight at the bottom at the moment..
I also think fairview will beat balla this weekend..It will be close eitherway but in saying that i said we would beat fairview last week and look what happened..
Ye have a great set of lads there who play for each other. Good to see teams like ye in premier league. I am an admirer of Summervilles way of running their club. Would love to see ye do well. Just get portland flat and ye are up there with the rest.
Green_Hoop
28/02/2008, 5:36 PM
Ye have a great set of lads there who play for each other. Good to see teams like ye in premier league. I am an admirer of Summervilles way of running their club. Would love to see ye do well. Just get portland flat and ye are up there with the rest.
You mean Charlie's way of running the club?