View Full Version : Limerick Premier Division 2007/08
MitreSize5
31/03/2008, 3:50 PM
wouldnt believe a word that comes out of hartnetts mouth to be honest, think the young fella likes the attention more than anything else
you have some serious issue with Keith Hartnett:confused:
Never once seen you post a good word about him when most one here regard him as the most consistently good player in the league over the last few years ... even your own crowd
and to say he likes the attention more than anything else shows just how little you know about the bloke
inexile
31/03/2008, 4:14 PM
who is my own crowd?
i have had several dealings with the man and dont like him as a person or a player and i think he is decidedly over rated
striker10
31/03/2008, 4:27 PM
you have some serious issue with Keith Hartnett:confused:
Never once seen you post a good word about him when most one here regard him as the most consistently good player in the league over the last few years ... even your own crowd
and to say he likes the attention more than anything else shows just how little you know about the bloke
i know keith personally and i have to say aswell as beign a top junior player he's a decent bloke and if he does join lim37 pike will miss out on 20 goals a season and from midfield that's irreplaceable,he's a junior international and he's earned the right to be,over the last few seasons there's been no better midfielder in the town no wander he likes the attention he deserves it, but he dont bring it on himself other people start the rumours because they dont like him, maybe if they get to know him it might change their minds! i dont think he'll leave pike to go to lim37 but if he did nobody could begrudge him another crack at it
Pike B
31/03/2008, 4:35 PM
i know keith personally and i have to say aswell as beign a top junior player he's a decent bloke and if he does join lim37 pike will miss out on 20 goals a season and from midfield that's irreplaceable,he's a junior international and he's earned the right to be,over the last few seasons there's been no better midfielder in the town no wander he likes the attention he deserves it, but he dont bring it on himself other people start the rumours because they dont like him, maybe if they get to know him it might change their minds! i dont think he'll leave pike to go to lim37 but if he did nobody could begrudge him another crack at it
Well said Keith... ;)
striker10
31/03/2008, 4:43 PM
who is my own crowd?
i have had several dealings with the man and dont like him as a person or a player and i think he is decidedly over rated
20 goals a season for the last three seasons and few international caps on top of that how can that be over rated give the man some credit he's a top player and a top bloke and pike would surely miss everything he brings to the team if he does leave!
Pike B
31/03/2008, 4:46 PM
20 goals a season for the last three seasons and few international caps on top of that how can that be over rated give the man some credit he's a top player and a top bloke and pike would surely miss everything he brings to the team if he does leave!
Again, well said Mr. Hartnett.
striker10
31/03/2008, 4:52 PM
Well said Keith... ;)
just standing up for a friend thats all i know him better than that bloke who dose'nt like him,he must have been chasing shadows playing against keith,maybe thats why he dont like him!but give credit when its due the lad is a top player!
Pike B
31/03/2008, 6:00 PM
just standing up for a friend thats all i know him better than that bloke who dose'nt like him,he must have been chasing shadows playing against keith,maybe thats why he dont like him!but give credit when its due the lad is a top player!
Was just taking the mick bud.. ;)
abbeyvale
31/03/2008, 6:53 PM
I always pay my E3 unlike some of the alley dwellers, but iv been called a jinx due to the results your having since iv been up! still if its goals you want then the ville are the team!:)
keep going to all summerville games so please.;)
Monkfish
31/03/2008, 9:33 PM
keep going to all summerville games so please.;)
Il do all I can to help my fellow Northsiders! ;)
Fairkop
31/03/2008, 10:58 PM
in junior terms harnetts c.v is very impressive,dont think he,s up to EL but good luck to him if he goes.big loss to pike if it happens,conny will have to get the cheque book out...not too many goal scoring midfielders about.
the hoops
01/04/2008, 6:48 AM
did keith not get left out of the latest junior squad?
leather
01/04/2008, 7:16 AM
all the limerick players did... lads lets get off the KH crap and back to the footy
abbeyvale
01/04/2008, 7:46 AM
all the limerick players did...
Typical.
It wouldnt be a Dub in charge by any chance, would it?
striker10
01/04/2008, 7:50 AM
Typical.
It wouldnt be a Dub in charge by any chance, would it?
a dub in charge of what bud?
Monster
01/04/2008, 8:36 AM
who is my own crowd?
I can only agree here - very over rated.The morning Pike played Fairview in the Fai Jason Purcell ran the show in the middle of the Park in the first half agaisnt Wall and Hartnett before running out of steam due to the fact he had not trained in about 3 months.I can only imagine what he would have done to them in his prime.
striker10
01/04/2008, 8:44 AM
all the limerick players did... lads lets get off the KH crap and back to the footywell said bud! back to the footy:ball: i think its harsh all the players from limerick been dropped,they've all been consistent in there performances over the last few seasons, we know enough about keith at this stage he should be in! alan barry is 1 of the best strikers in the country and to come back the way he did after breaking his leg last year still the same player desrves credit he's a top class striker at junior level and he scores plenty of goals, i think he deserves to be capped!mark sheehan also, he's developed into the best left full in town over a few short seasons and is a consistent player for regional he should be capped on merit,and there's about 5 or 6 more players in town worthy of call up.
abbeyvale
01/04/2008, 8:52 AM
a dub in charge of what bud?
The Irish Junior Squad
progress
01/04/2008, 8:56 AM
who else is worthy of a cap apart from those mentioned
historynut
01/04/2008, 8:58 AM
Know I asked previously re League history of past champions, and was grateful for suggestions, though difficult when not Ireland based. Have taken a gander at a number of Club websites and if correct
Ballynanty Rovers champions 1958/59, 59/60, 60/61, 61/62,62/63, 81/82
Fairview Rangers champions 1969/70, 1973/74, 75/76, 76/77, 88/89, 90/91, 91/92, 92/93, 93/94, 95/96, 96/97, 97/98, 98/99, 99/2000, 2002/03
Mungret Region Champions 1987/88
Pike Rovers Champions 2001/02 runners up 2002/03
Can anyone tell us details of champions and if possible runners up since 2002/03, and any other Premier league wins not shown above. Thought that Pike with their history would have had more titles.
Many thanks for any info forwarded.
Monster
01/04/2008, 9:12 AM
Alan barry is an excellent striker but in my opinion he is not as good as Killesters front 2.He must be worth a place on the panel though.Gives a different option to the Killester speedsters.
Dirk Diggler
01/04/2008, 9:23 AM
Know I asked previously re League history of past champions, and was grateful for suggestions, though difficult when not Ireland based. Have taken a gander at a number of Club websites and if correct
Ballynanty Rovers champions 1958/59, 59/60, 60/61, 61/62,62/63, 81/82
Fairview Rangers champions 1969/70, 1973/74, 75/76, 76/77, 88/89, 90/91, 91/92, 92/93, 93/94, 95/96, 96/97, 97/98, 98/99, 99/2000, 2002/03
Mungret Region Champions 1987/88
Pike Rovers Champions 2001/02 runners up 2002/03
Can anyone tell us details of champions and if possible runners up since 2002/03, and any other Premier league wins not shown above. Thought that Pike with their history would have had more titles.
Many thanks for any info forwarded.
Pike also won a premier leage in 94/95 season. Before that I can't tell you I'm afraid. Pike are the only team in the premier league to never be relegated out of the top division in Limerick. Alot of their history comes from playing in the Munster Senior League.
Dirk Diggler
01/04/2008, 9:25 AM
They also won the premier league in 2005/2006
striker10
01/04/2008, 9:44 AM
who else is worthy of a cap apart from those mentioned
alan carroll (boro) ger bourke (regional) paul cummins (aishling) brian buckley (fairview) that's only four plus the players that went up for training and add pat mcgarry to them that's 8 players that i think should be capped at some stage! mcgarry and buckley would make some partnership at centre half! what do you think?
abbeyvale
01/04/2008, 9:59 AM
alan carroll (boro) ger bourke (regional) paul cummins (aishling) brian buckley (fairview) that's only four plus the players that went up for training and add pat mcgarry to them that's 8 players that i think should be capped at some stage! mcgarry and buckley would make some partnership at centre half! what do you think?
Buckley isnt even playing centre back for the view at the moment, is he?
striker10
Alan barry is an excellent striker but in my opinion he is not as good as Killesters front 2.He must be worth a place on the panel though.Gives a different option to the Killester speedsters.
i agree the killester pair are top class and work very well together, as balla found out recently, but we'll never know how good alan can be at international level if he dose'nt get the chance to prove himself.for some reason its harder to get selected if your playing in limerick.
leather
boro won leaguetitles in 72,77,83,91,2001,2007
think there might have been a couple more in the 80's not sure..
runners up to fairview a lot in the 90's
striker10
01/04/2008, 10:02 AM
Buckley isnt even playing centre back for the view at the moment, is he?
he is ya! he's only back a few weeks but he has to be good enough for a cap!
abbeyvale
01/04/2008, 10:07 AM
he is ya! he's only back a few weeks but he has to be good enough for a cap!
well he didnt play centre back against us a few weeks back, he got the run around at left full by shane walters ex l37 (u21)
leather
01/04/2008, 10:21 AM
STAR Rvs won a good few leagues in the eighties
Geraldines won a few in the late 70,s and early 80's
striker10
01/04/2008, 10:24 AM
well he didnt play centre back against us a few weeks back, he got the run around at left full by shane walters ex l37 (u21)
he played centre half against balla on sunday and was solid! that young lad must be a good player if he gave "chucka" the run around, the only other player i seen give him the run around was frankie stewart when he played with pike, a load of times and "chucka" was an international centre half at the time! where's frankie playing these days i dont see his name on the paper that often
abbeyvale
01/04/2008, 11:10 AM
he played centre half against balla on sunday and was solid! that young lad must be a good player if he gave "chucka" the run around, the only other player i seen give him the run around was frankie stewart when he played with pike, a load of times and "chucka" was an international centre half at the time! where's frankie playing these days i dont see his name on the paper that often
Shane did give Chucka the run around and even Monster and Nesta will agree with me.
Frankie is signed with Regional but I'm not sure if he doesn't turn up for them or if he is injured.
Monster
01/04/2008, 11:38 AM
Was at the game-wasnt his best but it was also one of his first games in a long time so bound not to be sharp.Anyway playing Buckley at left full is madness.You put him in center half where he can dominate and play to his strengths.He is never gonna be the type of player that is overlapping the left winger.
striker10
01/04/2008, 11:39 AM
Shane did give Chucka the run around and even Monster and Nesta will agree with me.
Frankie is signed with Regional but I'm not sure if he doesn't turn up for them or if he is injured.
i was shocked when i heard he left regional,but i never knew he went back i thought he was injured he's a good little striker too!
Monster
01/04/2008, 11:42 AM
yes not often he gets given the run around.One player i always thought did well against him was nabs in his first season or 2 with Pike
striker10
01/04/2008, 11:45 AM
Was at the game-wasnt his best but it was also one of his first games in a long time so bound not to be sharp.Anyway playing Buckley at left full is madness.You put him in center half where he can dominate and play to his strengths.He is never gonna be the type of player that is overlapping the left winger.well said!he's a top class centre half and a great addition to the "view".
historynut
01/04/2008, 11:47 AM
Appreciate replies to my earlier enquiry, if you know any other past champions keep them coming
Out of curiosity does the Trophy for winning the Limerick Premier League have a particular title ?
Though posted on relevant thread, would I be correct in that the Lawson Cup is seen as principle cup for the Limerick League ?
Though no longer a Premier team note that Caledonian FC from their web-site produced a souvenier History booklet in 2007 does anyone know how I can obtain a copy, dont seem to find a contact on web-site.
If anyone interested willing to post list of past champions (known).
striker10
01/04/2008, 11:54 AM
yes not often he gets given the run around.One player i always thought did well against him was nabs in his first season or 2 with Pikeya nabs was good in his first season,he scored 32 goals and won a cap but he had the brain of a gold-fish and he went down hill after that season! a sound young fella too if you know him just easily led.
leather
01/04/2008, 12:07 PM
Appreciate replies to my earlier enquiry, if you know any other past champions keep them coming
Out of curiosity does the Trophy for winning the Limerick Premier League have a particular title ?
Though posted on relevant thread, would I be correct in that the Lawson Cup is seen as principle cup for the Limerick League ?
Though no longer a Premier team note that Caledonian FC from their web-site produced a souvenier History booklet in 2007 does anyone know how I can obtain a copy, dont seem to find a contact on web-site.
PREMIER LEAGUE TROPHYUSED TO BE CALLED THE CUSACK CUP.
NEW TROPHY INTRODUCED FOR 2005-06 SEASON
THE NEW PREMIER LEAGUE TROPHY IS CALLED THE FRAN MULLALLY CUP
A FITTING TRIBUTE TO A FINE FOOTBALL MAN.
allab
01/04/2008, 12:09 PM
well said!he's a top class centre half and a great addition to the "view".
not too sure but can ex LOI stil get capped?? think there is only 1 tournament they can play in??
striker10
01/04/2008, 12:10 PM
ballananty 03/04,04/05, pike 05/06, janesboro 06/07, the trophy is caled the Fran Mulally cup in memory of a great pike rovers man, its in its third season,and it was pike managed by Frans younger brother Pat that lifted the trophy first, a lovely piece of silverware too!
L37Ultra
01/04/2008, 12:11 PM
not too sure but can ex LOI stil get capped?? think there is only 1 tournament they can play in??
They can get capped cant they?
They just have to be with a Junior Club at the time of the Irish game.
Sure Keith Hartnett was capped when the Irish Junior squad and he played with Limerick F.C a few seasons ago.
striker10
01/04/2008, 12:24 PM
not sure either pal,can they play oscar traynor?
striker10
01/04/2008, 12:29 PM
They can get capped cant they?
They just have to be with a Junior Club at the time of the Irish game.
Sure Keith Hartnett was capped when the Irish Junior squad and he played with Limerick F.C a few seasons ago.
It might be different for players just coming back from loi, it think they have too play a certain number of games at junior level before been available for selection!Dont quote me on that.
L37Ultra
01/04/2008, 12:33 PM
It might be different for players just coming back from loi, it think they have too play a certain number of games at junior level before been available for selection!Dont quote me on that.
I wont :D
I think you may be right though.
I presume it is Brian Buckley that you are talking about here.
Dont think he can play in that Junior Tournament coming up because as you said, he hasnt played a full season as a Junior player as he was with Limerick last year.
smellyfeet
01/04/2008, 12:39 PM
A Player can't play for Amatuer Intl. team if he has played or even signed Semi/Pro football at any stage in his career. I understand that in the next few years this will change. Players that have been out of Semi/Pro football for 5 years or more will be eligible to play.
A player can play Junior Intl. if he has played Semi/Pro football in the past.
There is also a rule that Players have to be under 35 years of age if they are to play Intl. at Amatuer Level.
striker10
01/04/2008, 12:56 PM
A Player can't play for Amatuer Intl. team if he has played or even signed Semi/Pro football at any stage in his career. I understand that in the next few years this will change. Players that have been out of Semi/Pro football for 5 years or more will be eligible to play.
A player can play Junior Intl. if he has played Semi/Pro football in the past.
There is also a rule that Players have to be under 35 years of age if they are to play Intl. at Amatuer Level.Is there a difference,i thought it was an ameture side consisting of both junior and senior league {not pro} players,Davy Wall got capped earlier this season,and he just came back from loi with lim37!
hoops12
01/04/2008, 1:20 PM
ya nabs was good in his first season,he scored 32 goals and won a cap but he had the brain of a gold-fish and he went down hill after that season! a sound young fella too if you know him just easily led.
could,nt have sais it better myself
smellyfeet
01/04/2008, 1:44 PM
Is there a difference,i thought it was an ameture side consisting of both junior and senior league {not pro} players,Davy Wall got capped earlier this season,and he just came back from loi with lim37!
Difference is, Amatuer grade is players that have never played Semi/Pro Football.Players that are Junior or Senior as in Leinster or Munster Senior League players are OK as long as they have never signed as Semi/Pro.
Players that have played Semi/Pro or even Leinster or Munster Senior League
football at some stage in their career are OK for Junior Intl Team as long as they playing Junior Football. For example, if Junior Intl. Team have a game next week, a player is eligible as long as he is playing for a Junior Club.Davy Wall was playing for Pike when he played for the Junior team, isn't Eligible for Amatuer because of playing Semi/Pro in the past.
Hope that clears it up.
abbeyvale
01/04/2008, 2:05 PM
C.Janesboro......pl 22 / Pts 52
2.Pike Rvs.........pl 22 / Pts 50
3.Regional Utd...pl 22 / Pts 49
4.Ballynanty......pl 22 / Pts 40
5.Fairview.........pl 22 / Pts 34
6.Corbally Utd....pl 22 / Pts 29
7.Aisling A'cotty.pl 22 / Pts 25
8.Granville Rgs....pl 22 / Pts 23
9.Carew Park......pl 22 / Pts 21
10.Star Rovers....pl 22 / Pts 20
RELHerbertstown.pl 22 / Pts 15
RELCharleville.......pl 22 / Pts 8
Lads
Above is LAST SEASONS table for what its worth.
Handy to have for a guidline (especially for relegation).
I reckon 18-20pts will see you safe this season.