View Full Version : Limerick Premier Division 2007/08
Pike B
19/06/2008, 10:28 AM
If you keep posting for the sake of posting i think the other users will pest control you,give it a break. :p
Once again, sad little man.
I think I have a stalker... :D
Spudd
19/06/2008, 10:44 AM
Once again, sad little man.
I think I have a stalker... :D
You have a stalker....? Filthy bugger.
Dont think this is the time nor the website to be talking about 'hard on's' and 'little men' mate..
Sort it out.
Green_Hoop
19/06/2008, 11:58 AM
Whats the interest around here in a dedicated Junior football website?? Comprising of pretty much everything the LDMC site fails to provide, League tables,Fixtures,charts,etc. Would an interesting foray.
Philbert
19/06/2008, 1:16 PM
dom got 2 weeks and 50 euro fine
2 weeks in jail is it?
Green_Hoop
19/06/2008, 1:21 PM
Just talking today,who was the last Limerick player(schoolboy or otherwise) that went from a Limerick Club(as in played with them for at least a season or 2) and made it into an Academy in England/Scotland? Not talking about Trials either bare in mind.
leather
19/06/2008, 1:39 PM
Brian o'Callaghan????
gaidin
19/06/2008, 1:40 PM
Brian o'Callaghan????
Thats who I was thinking of.
But did Niall McNamara (Pike) go after him or before?
Also was Ger Barron in the Celtic academy or just on an extended trial?
Green_Hoop
19/06/2008, 1:56 PM
Did Shane Clark not spend some time over in England?
Ger Barron is a middle ground one too,since he's back playing in Limerick,last I heard he was apparently to be going back after exams or something along those lines. But that was awhile back.
It shows how much tighter and stringent the Clubs have gotten in the Selection process.
I remember watching that Football Academy programme on Sky1 Chelsea FC had last year. Literally thousands showed up for what was it 8 places? Its no wonder theres less Irish playing at the top levels these days.
37Beour
19/06/2008, 2:06 PM
The most recent schoolboys that have gone onto England for the longest spell as far as i know is Conor Kavanagh (Blackburn) and Shane Duggan (Plymouth Argyle). Both have done 2 and a bit years over the pond
paddy angelo
19/06/2008, 2:29 PM
damein mc crory for croom on professional contract with plymouth shane duggan released
Green_Hoop
19/06/2008, 3:07 PM
damein mc crory for croom on professional contract with plymouth shane duggan released
Whats duggan upto now then?
Shane Treacy made it to Arsenal reserves didn't he?
Did Shane Clark not spend some time over in England?
Ger Barron is a middle ground one too,since he's back playing in Limerick,last I heard he was apparently to be going back after exams or something along those lines. But that was awhile back.
It shows how much tighter and stringent the Clubs have gotten in the Selection process.
I remember watching that Football Academy programme on Sky1 Chelsea FC had last year. Literally thousands showed up for what was it 8 places? Its no wonder theres less Irish playing at the top levels these days.
Clarke was over for trials,Barron signed with UCD.....And didn't Paul Dillon of Geraldines captain Rotherham up to a few seasons ago,think he had to jack it in due to injuries,Abbeyvale would know more about him
Thats who I was thinking of.
But did Niall McNamara (Pike) go after him or before?
Also was Ger Barron in the Celtic academy or just on an extended trial?
i'm sure he went before,think it was Notts County or Forest..again Abbeyvale is the man to ask....Barron supposedly came back to finish his exams but its been said he was only offered a place on the bench for the reserves and wasn't happy with that,he was over there for a couple of months
Ha Ha! Your catching on fast young man, you've only just been promoted and already having a Pop at Pike,hilarious stuff.
i'd say you had the first pop!kilmallock were a lot better than the 2 teams from 1a you mentioned,it will be intersesting to see how they get on though,it is a big step up
abbeyvale
19/06/2008, 6:10 PM
sure abbeyvale takes care of that and if it wasn't for him i don't think anyone would have a f*cking clue what
was going on,,,,three cheers for alan lol:)
Cheers pal...............hip hip
abbeyvale
19/06/2008, 6:12 PM
Clarke was over for trials,Barron signed with UCD.....And didn't Paul Dillon of Geraldines captain Rotherham up to a few seasons ago,think he had to jack it in due to injuries,Abbeyvale would know more about him
Dont think he ever captianed Rotherham TBH, and had to pack in professional footy over 4/5 years ago............last seen as a sub for the Dines in 1A.
abbeyvale
19/06/2008, 6:14 PM
i'm sure he went before,think it was Notts County or Forest..again Abbeyvale is the man to ask....Barron supposedly came back to finish his exams but its been said he was only offered a place on the bench for the reserves and wasn't happy with that,he was over there for a couple of months
Niall originally signed with Forest then County as far as I know, then slipped down a few divisions and played non-league...........now due to complete his final course to become a full time physio.
abbeyvale
19/06/2008, 6:18 PM
Just talking today,who was the last Limerick player(schoolboy or otherwise) that went from a Limerick Club(as in played with them for at least a season or 2) and made it into an Academy in England/Scotland? Not talking about Trials either bare in mind.
Bobby Ryan.......Dines-Limerick-Galway-Bohemians-Shelbourne-Dunfirmline-St.Pats.
Balbec77
19/06/2008, 6:30 PM
i'd say you had the first pop!kilmallock were a lot better than the 2 teams from 1a you mentioned,it will be intersesting to see how they get on though,it is a big step upwe have a few players in the pipe line if we get them i think we will be ok i know it a big step up but we were there before and dont think we will make the same mistakes again we have a better set up now
Bonovox
19/06/2008, 7:02 PM
although stupid as it may sound.. a result for wembley tonite i think will condem corbally to 1a.. as balla would then go all out to beat ashling, s'ville and corbally!! That said its highly unlikely... and word on the rumour mill is that balla are going hell for leather to relegate s'ville, and letting corbally win due to the favours got during the year(corbally let balla use their pitch and facilities for some fai and munster junior matches).
balla will beat s'ville, lose to corbally and then crew and granville wil play out their pre-arranged draw... hence... imo summerville will go down!
At this stage it is a complete farce, God be good to Paddy Cusack, he would never have allowed this shambles to happen. LDMC and their chairman are a disgrace, no other league in the world would have been finished like our one. Time to get rid of the dinasours me thinks.
Balbec77
19/06/2008, 7:26 PM
any news on the pike match
silvercircle
19/06/2008, 8:07 PM
any news on the pike match
Pike won the prem tonight..beat wembley 4...1..not a great game.. no disrespect to a young wembley team but if Pike took their chances Pike could have been 5 up at half time Wembley keeper went off injured shortly into the 2nd half pike went 2 up wembley pulled 1 back..Pike then had a nervous 10 mins..kept their heads and finished off the game with a couple of more goals.
At this stage it is a complete farce, God be good to Paddy Cusack, he would never have allowed this shambles to happen. LDMC and their chairman are a disgrace, no other league in the world would have been finished like our one. Time to get rid of the dinasours me thinks.
i'd second that
Balbec77
19/06/2008, 8:21 PM
Pike won the prem tonight..beat wembley 4...1..not a great game.. no disrespect to a young wembley team but if Pike took their chances Pike could have been 5 up at half time Wembley keeper went off injured shortly into the 2nd half pike went 2 up wembley pulled 1 back..Pike then had a nervous 10 mins..kept their heads and finished off the game with a couple of more goals.congrats to pike on winning the league its the end of a long long season a lot of players will be looking forward to the break are pike and balla left in any cups
they play each other in the lawson final
Balbec77
19/06/2008, 8:33 PM
when and where should be a cracker
congrats to pike on winning the league its the end of a long long season a lot of players will be looking forward to the break are pike and balla left in any cups
ya fair play to pike,as i said the best team always win the league,i'm also sure the pike lads will be happy they won it the right way(not that they did anything wrong)
hope our a team get somethin out of the season after all there effort though
abbeyvale
19/06/2008, 9:33 PM
couldn't agree more...........fresh blood needed, preferably someone that knows what their doing, an ex player would be ideal.
abbeyvale
19/06/2008, 9:34 PM
ya fair play to pike,as i said the best team always win the league,i'm also sure the pike lads will be happy they won it the right way(not that they did anything wrong)
hope our a team get somethin out of the season after all there effort though
I second that............congrats to all at Pike, well done, and well deserved.
I wonder what teams Balla will put out against Summerville & Corbally now that the league is out of reach..........there other games will hardly be played now.......will they?
abbeyvale
19/06/2008, 9:37 PM
Premier League Table
Pike Rovers......... 22 / 56 (Max Pts 56)..........Champions
Ballynanty Rovers 18 / 43 (Max Pts 55)
Fairview Rangers 21 / 40 (Max Pts 43)
Regional United.... 22 / 39 (Max Pts 39)
Janesboro............22 / 35 (Max Pts 35)
Aisling Annacotty 21 / 32 (Max Pts 35)
Wembley Rovers..22 / 27 (Max Pts 27)
Summerville Rovers 21 / 20 (Max Pts 23)
Carew Park......... 21 / 20 (Max Pts 23)
Granville Rangers... 21 / 20 (Max Pts 23)
Corbally United.... 21 / 19 (Max Pts 22)
Star Rovers.......... 22 / 10 (Max Pts 10).........Relegated
Remaining Games
Aisling(1)- Balla,
Balla(4)- AISLING,CORBALLY,Fairview,Summerville
Carew Pk(1)- GRANVILLE,
Corbally(1)- Balla
Fairview (1)-BALLA
Granville(1)- Carew,
Summerville(1)-BALLA,
Fixtures
Thursday June 19th
Pike 4-1 Wembley
Balla OFF Aisling
Sunday June 29th 2008 (10.30)
Carew Park v Granville
Summerville v Balla
Tuesday 01st July (18.45)
Balla v Corbally
Thursday 03rd July (18.45)
Fairview v Balla
dalegend
19/06/2008, 9:37 PM
Well done pike congrats (god that was so hard)
hoops12
20/06/2008, 12:42 AM
I second that............congrats to all at Pike, well done, and well deserved.
I wonder what teams Balla will put out against Summerville & Corbally now that the league is out of reach..........there other games will hardly be played now.......will they?
in the interest of fairness balla should be trying to win both games but that just doesnt happen in limerick
Dirk Diggler
20/06/2008, 8:39 AM
Time for a major shake up in how the league is run. Just take a look at how the AUL is run, I know they've more registered players but the standard is the same. This league should be sponsored better aswell. Nivea sponsor the AUL and give trips away for the winners of the leagues. The winner of whats equivalent to the 1A league got a week long trip to portugal. What do the winners of our league get? bragging rights? a day or two on the **** with the trophy?
Roadend
20/06/2008, 9:06 AM
Its a nice trophy though
leather
20/06/2008, 9:28 AM
Well done to Pike Rvs on winning the Premier League..
The League table NEVER lies..
Pike B
20/06/2008, 9:30 AM
Very well done to our A team. Great effort all season and I've never seen a better organised set up than the one the two Declan's have up there now.
Here's to a Lawson Cup to go with the league title...
halo16
20/06/2008, 9:59 AM
in the interest of fairness balla should be trying to win both games but that just doesnt happen in limerick
well done to pike on winning the league.well deserved. the relegation battle will be interesting now.i personally cant see balla goin all out in the summerville or corbally games.the relegation battle far from over yet.in saying that though what an utter shambles.i heard iits going to drag out another week or 2.that will bring us into july.and it also makes it around 6 weeks since star,boro,aisling,and carew played.you can throw corbally into that also.think it was about a month ago at this stage when they played star?abbeyvale or starman might be able to confirm that for me.Somrthing has to be seriosly done next season about the fixture nightmare
Roadend
20/06/2008, 10:04 AM
The one thing in Summerville's favour is their match against Balla is on a Sunday morning at 10.30.
spacer
20/06/2008, 11:21 AM
when and where should be a cracker
I am pretty sure its on sunday.
Unsure of what time!
dalegend
20/06/2008, 1:02 PM
Yea but then again the balla lads have been hearing that summerville think they've the points in the bag a rude awakening me thinks!! to be honest i'd prefere summerville to go i just hate their horrible pitch its the worst in the league by a short mile ahead of stars one
blinkx
20/06/2008, 1:28 PM
Yea but then again the balla lads have been hearing that summerville think they've the points in the bag a rude awakening me thinks!! to be honest i'd prefere summerville to go i just hate their horrible pitch its the worst in the league by a short mile ahead of stars one
And Bateman Park is above those two then?
whitestripe
20/06/2008, 1:41 PM
Congratulations to Pike on winning the league, very well deserved.
Summerville have a very good set up these days, when is the new pitch going to be ready?
Philbert
20/06/2008, 3:10 PM
Few pages back, there was talk of wasted talent...
Dean Earls has to fall into that category... Gifted player
see's it
20/06/2008, 3:39 PM
never heard of him
pearse4t3
20/06/2008, 5:53 PM
Yeah agree, he won the oscar traynor youths about 3/4 years ago, disappeared since. Very good player.
no17 fan
20/06/2008, 6:15 PM
Congratulations to Pike on winning the league, very well deserved.
Summerville have a very good set up these days, when is the new pitch going to be ready?
the plans according to the chairman are that it will be ready for xmas next season ..it's looking great now the 8's 9's 10's are already playing on it, so fingers crossed it will look and play great next year,
no17 fan
20/06/2008, 6:20 PM
portland was not once unplayable this season,, it's no fairgreen pike or boro
but the days of portland being a marsh are long gone, even so thats no excuse
for wanting to see us relegated, if you hate the club say it at least that way
you're being honest
Philbert
20/06/2008, 7:13 PM
Yeah agree, he won the oscar traynor youths about 3/4 years ago, disappeared since. Very good player.
He won the Kennedy cup with Limerick in his age group also. Not many players can say that. Ran the show that year too...
Ridiculous waste... Could have played at the highest level
dalegend
20/06/2008, 8:05 PM
And Bateman Park is above those two then?
Aint played out in bateman this year out in lit yea, can only comment on what ive seen as for summerville no i dont hate ye get over yourself bud handy six points thats all i think of summerville