View Full Version : Limerick Premier Division 2007/08

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 [29] 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80

Neutral Jo
17/01/2008, 10:25 AM
Not saying there is anything wrong with it. I totally accept that
players want to achieve but the point you may have missed is that
players playing for a club that is not strictly there own will lead to long term implications such as -
(1) There will be another Wembley in a few years mark my words
(2) Players you will find that join @ U17 & U18 level will return to their own clubs leaving the clubs like wembley in trouble at Junior level.This has happened at Fairview most recently.
(3) After youths (u18) if there is a squad of 16 players at wembley tell me where will they go next? Not all can go to Wembley Juniors so these players are left in no man's land in my opinion? Only a few will make it to the Juniors some will go to Limerick and some will become a victim of the system.....

Neutral Jo
17/01/2008, 10:29 AM
Ya Big Mac agree with you 100%
I was just reviewing the Premier Teams.
Keith McNicholas is an example to all players of loyalty.

Super Rovers
17/01/2008, 10:41 AM
Not saying there is anything wrong with it. I totally accept that
players want to achieve but the point you may have missed is that
players playing for a club that is not strictly there own will lead to long term implications such as -
(1) There will be another Wembley in a few years mark my words
(2) Players you will find that join @ U17 & U18 level will return to their own clubs leaving the clubs like wembley in trouble at Junior level.This has happened at Fairview most recently.
(3) After youths (u18) if there is a squad of 16 players at wembley tell me where will they go next? Not all can go to Wembley Juniors so these players are left in no man's land in my opinion? Only a few will make it to the Juniors some will go to Limerick and some will become a victim of the system.....

granted alot of players will leave for bigger and better things ie: john teirney, john grant, darren harrington, eddie brazier to name a few and others will return to their own clubs that they started with or live near. i never said that wembley were going to get them at junior level, but my point is that everyone seems to say wembley are destroying the underage structure by the so called "poaching" of players. the fact is we have them at underage level and then they move to the big clubs in town from there. but the thing is everyone seems to say wembley "poach" them when in fact they are really poached off us to. ie christy o neill never played for fairview before this year, cant say he is a clubman.

MitreSize5
17/01/2008, 12:07 PM
Littleman
In response to your post i think you have maybe stumbled upon
the Pike phenomenon. Comparing them with Liverpool however is
absolutely ridiculous.
In my humble opinion there is much wrong with Pike as i watch a
lot of Junior Football in my old age.
(1)Lack of pace all over the pitch!Outlined this before.
Its a valid point but there are very few pacy players around, we've managed to get by locally but will probably always struggle at a higher level for pace
(2)Player unrest at stories of certain players getting paid etc.
This has ben done a thousand times already - Im not going there
(3)Players 'represent' club as opposed to fight for it and love it.
This didnt stop fairview winning a hat full of FAIs backboned by a Dub, a couple of Geraldines men - J.Purcell, B.Buckley, a few from Granville - Gaga, T.Barrett and a smattering from other clubs and counties
(4)Underage structure
This one really ****es me off and has been used a stick to beat Pike with for years. Pike at the moment have a thriving schoolboy structure fully supported by the committe. There are junior players at a lot of clubs in town who played schoolboy with Pike in the last batch that came through.
(5)General antagonism between board and everyone.
A new chairman and 'Board' we appointed this year

Other clubs are becomming stronger in Limerick as well.
Teams of the future are Regional Aisling and Wembley
with aisling and wembley having strong underage structures.
Wembley seem to poach where as aisling have the catchment area.
Balla have always been there or there abouts.
Carew seem to be in trouble.
Corbally are inconsistent.
Janesboro have Pike like problems.
Summerville,Star,Granville yoyo clubs
Fairview potentially on the rise again very young squad

It never stops amazing me peoples pre occupation with Pike. Its now got to the stage that a bloke who probably never seen pike play (littleman) is passing judgement :confused:

anyway for what its worth I've responded above

Hoops 1967
17/01/2008, 1:38 PM

Didn't he play underage with Geraldines

Gerry the ferry
17/01/2008, 1:44 PM
In all fairness its only what that club deserves they'll never get anywhere players run that club.
Agreed,Players are definately running that club
Anyone that says otherwise is talking noncense

Gerry the ferry
17/01/2008, 1:51 PM
Great player,great loyalty......
Deserves to be playing Premier Football every season

superhero
17/01/2008, 2:24 PM
Mc Nicholas is only at Mungret because he is afraid of what his Mrs would do if he left! ;)

abbeyvale
17/01/2008, 4:44 PM

Keith McNicholas has played with Croom, Dines, View & Mungret and the the last 3 in the last 10years,:rolleyes:

abbeyvale
17/01/2008, 4:48 PM
It never stops amazing me peoples pre occupation with Pike. Its now got to the stage that a bloke who probably never seen pike play (littleman) is passing judgement :confused:

anyway for what its worth I've responded above

Tommy Barrett never played with Granville, he played with the Dines.

summervilleman
17/01/2008, 9:24 PM
Have to agree managers pick the teams and not the players, any truth that the summerville keeper has handed in a transfer request sville man to drop down to the b team..?heard this from a mate of he's in work.Wots going on at all over there in long ball wonder land.

Yes i heard a wee rumour about our keeper alright but he ain't going anywhere i'd say....As for the b team...I would gladly play for them..Was signing a C form at the start of the year but was asked to Play A's again so i couldn;t say no...MAYBE next year i will take the plunge down..Probably still won't be good enough to play in them leagues either according to half of ye :)

MitreSize5
18/01/2008, 7:58 AM
Tommy Barrett never played with Granville, he played with the Dines.

talk about splitting hairs

themerryman
18/01/2008, 11:07 AM
Yes i heard a wee rumour about our keeper alright but he ain't going anywhere i'd say....As for the b team...I would gladly play for them..Was signing a C form at the start of the year but was asked to Play A's again so i couldn;t say no...MAYBE next year i will take the plunge down..Probably still won't be good enough to play in them leagues either according to half of ye :)

Havent seen u play much so dont know if u are good enough for them or not
So jury is out on that , what seems to be upsetting all these players anyway
pretty strange that half a dozen players would want to leave just half way through a season.
Lucky for ye that ye have a big squad and can cope with the loss .

summervilleman
18/01/2008, 3:57 PM
Don't know why they are all thinking of leaving..Half of them are mad anyways he he...Sure we will have to see what happens in the coming weeks..I'll keep ye posted on proceedings...Its been a rough enough year though with losing a manager and all that!!

Monster
21/01/2008, 9:06 AM
Brian Buckley gone back to Fairview.

abbeyvale
21/01/2008, 9:13 AM
Brian Buckley gone back to Fairview.

Rumour or Fact?
Great signing for View if its a fact and they will now be in with a great chance of winning the league!!

abbeyvale
21/01/2008, 9:14 AM
1.Fairview Rangers 10 / 21
2.Ballynanty Rovers 8 / 19
3.Janesboro............9 / 17
4.Aisling Annacotty 9 / 16
5.Carew Park......... 11 / 16
6.Regional United.... 9 / 16
7.Wembley Rovers..11 / 15
8.Pike Rovers......... 7 / 13
9.Summerville Rovers 9 / 9
10.Corbally United.... 12 / 9
11.Star Rovers.......... 9 / 6
12.Granville Rangers... 8 / 4

Fixtures:
Sunday 20/01/08
Balla v Summerville OFF

Green_Hoop
21/01/2008, 9:20 AM
Rumour or Fact?
Great signing for View if its a fact and they will now be in with a great chance of winning the league!!

Massive rumour...

Monster
21/01/2008, 9:22 AM
Its a fact lads

studsup
21/01/2008, 3:48 PM
just wonderin is there any site to view the limerick district youth table and fixtures or where could i find that info??

inexile
21/01/2008, 4:09 PM
if its a fact its a great signing

Neutral Jo
22/01/2008, 10:31 AM
1Balla
2Fairview
3Pike
Anybody think anybody else is in the title race?
Possibly Regional Boro or Annacotty?

abbeyvale
22/01/2008, 10:52 AM
1Balla
2Fairview
3Pike

We are more or less at the half way point in the league now, so has anyone any predictions for both champs and relegation (incl Div 1A promotion)??

Neutral Jo
22/01/2008, 10:56 AM
Relegation
Granville & Star

Champions
Fairview

manalishi
22/01/2008, 10:57 AM
Three Limerick District League players selected for Irish Junior Panel.
Keith Hartnett, Alan Barry, Mark Sheehan.
This is a panel of 26 to be cut down to panel of 20 for upcoming Quadrangular
Tournament.

leather
22/01/2008, 11:17 AM
Tournament.

Well done to the 3 players selected. hope you all make the final squad.
Delighted for Alan Barry, he had a bad injury last season and has worked himself back with great dedication. good to see a good guy rewarded.

abbeyvale
22/01/2008, 12:02 PM
Delighted for Alan Barry, he had a bad injury last season and has worked himself back with great dedication. good to see a good guy rewarded.

Yeah I agree, Nice guy and congrats to him and the other 2 picked.

the dazzler
22/01/2008, 12:06 PM

id say hes well rewarded down in the boro already:D

abbeyvale
22/01/2008, 1:08 PM
We are more or less at the half way point in the league now, so has anyone any predictions for both champs and relegation??

Prem
1. Balla
11. Corbally
12. Granville

Div 1A
1. Killmallock
2. Mungret

Hoops 1967
22/01/2008, 1:27 PM
Tournament.

Did the lads have trials or were they just selected based on club/OT performance's?
Mark Sheehan is a bit of a suprise.

beenaway42long
22/01/2008, 1:43 PM
Did the lads have trials or were they just selected based on club/OT performance's?
Mark Sheehan is a bit of a suprise.

i dont think so. probably the most consistent left sided player in town. very good on the ball and deserves his call up IMO

superhero
22/01/2008, 2:41 PM
Agree with that, Mark is IMO the best left full in Limerick so well deserved, also congrats to the other lads too.

widow
22/01/2008, 2:59 PM
Mark Sheehan is a surprise because there wasn't any talk of him getting capped. Well done to him though. Anyone who gets a cap deserves one as they are hard to come by and its a great honour. Well done to Alan Barry also much deserved and Keith Hartnett aswell. How many caps has he now?

Goals4fun
23/01/2008, 7:15 AM
Tournament.

well done to all 3. good solid performances for the OT team so far and obviously doing well with their clubs.
Hope all 3 make the final squad

abbeyvale
23/01/2008, 7:38 AM
1.Fairview Rangers 10 / 21
2.Ballynanty Rovers 8 / 19
3.Janesboro............9 / 17
4.Aisling Annacotty 9 / 16
5.Carew Park......... 11 / 16
6.Regional United.... 9 / 16
7.Wembley Rovers..11 / 15
8.Pike Rovers......... 7 / 13
9.Summerville Rovers 9 / 9
10.Corbally United.... 12 / 9
11.Star Rovers.......... 9 / 6
12.Granville Rangers... 8 / 4

Fixtures:
Sunday 27/01/08
Pike v Granville
Summerville v Carew Pk

summervilleman
23/01/2008, 2:22 PM
[/B]

i dont think so. probably the most consistent left sided player in town. very good on the ball and deserves his call up IMO

I personally think mark is a good player and a fine left sided player at that but i also think james o donnell for summerville is a very good left sided player and also very consistant player...Was on the OT last year but for some reason not picked this year....???
Could have gotten a call as well??

Gerry the ferry
23/01/2008, 4:07 PM
Predictions for Sunday
Pike 3-O Granville
Sville 1-1 Carew pk

allab
23/01/2008, 6:32 PM
I personally think mark is a good player and a fine left sided player at that but i also think james o donnell for summerville is a very good left sided player and also very consistant player...Was on the OT last year but for some reason not picked this year....???
Could have gotten a call as well??

LOL is all ill say

mulla
23/01/2008, 9:51 PM
Mark Sheehan is a surprise because there wasn't any talk of him getting capped. Well done to him though. Anyone who gets a cap deserves one as they are hard to come by and its a great honour. Well done to Alan Barry also much deserved and Keith Hartnett aswell. How many caps has he now?

believe it or not I met him over the xmas period and he had a few drinks taken but he told me himself that he was a cert for an irish cap this year,dunno how he knew that but thats the truth,
fine player and nice guy, well deserved too,it wasn't long ago that he was in 1b with regional!!
as for summerville man you must be havin a laugh about james o donnell,not that he's a bad player but he's just not in that class

abbeyvale
24/01/2008, 7:54 AM
believe it or not I met him over the xmas period and he had a few drinks taken but he told me himself that he was a cert for an irish cap this year,dunno how he knew that but thats the truth,
fine player and nice guy, well deserved too,it wasn't long ago that he was in 1b with regional!!
as for summerville man you must be havin a laugh about james o donnell,not that he's a bad player but he's just not in that class

I agree, O'Donnell's a good player but not at Junior International level, I'm afraid.

bald eagle
24/01/2008, 8:45 AM
1Balla
2Fairview
3Pike

Summerville With a late surge

summervilleman
24/01/2008, 3:33 PM
I agree, O'Donnell's a good player but not at Junior International level, I'm afraid.

I agree not an international and didn't imply that...good enough for OT THOUGH??

cartman
24/01/2008, 5:20 PM
he couldn't be good enough for the OT if the junior international left back is also from limerick...
in saying that, limericks junior international left back didnt start with the oscar traynor side last year - strange stuff really

summervilleman
24/01/2008, 6:30 PM
Indeed,,,,,,strange

dell hell
25/01/2008, 7:05 AM
mark got a all up to the j international side ahead considering he's far from the best player regional have, seamus o connell pobably had to suck a little d*ck to make that happen..

abbeyvale
25/01/2008, 8:07 AM
I agree not an international and didn't imply that...good enough for OT THOUGH??

For the OT squad yes, but not the starting 11.

themerryman
25/01/2008, 8:35 AM
For the OT squad yes, but not the starting 11.

ya probably should be in the squad but not good enough to start , strange how he wasnt in as back up do. But then again if a team is struggling very bad cant see a ot manager been 2 interested in going watching their matches.

superhero
25/01/2008, 8:35 AM
mark got a all up to the j international side ahead considering he's far from the best player regional have, seamus o connell pobably had to suck a little d*ck to make that happen..

What does that matter if he's not the best player Regional have, he is the best left full Regional have and in other peoples opinion the best left full in Limerick (OT Manager) and in other peoples opinion one of the best left fulls in the country (Gerry Smith) so putting your theory to the test, let say for arguements sake that Danny Galvin is the best player at Regional, he should be picked ahead of Mark Sheahan at left full because he is a better player??? Doesn't make sense does it.........

themerryman
25/01/2008, 8:48 AM
:lets make people laugh and say frank Browne and Mike aherne are the best players out there ..hahahaha:D

Mercurial Vapor
25/01/2008, 8:53 AM

Mark Sheehan is the best left full in Limerick by a mile and deserves his call-up. He reminds me a bit of Joe Hannon that used to play with Fairview. By that I mean that you only realise how good he is when you actually play against him.