View Full Version : Limerick Premier Division 2007/08
Philbert
27/05/2008, 12:30 PM
Any team news on the boro for tonight?
Big game
summervilleman
27/05/2008, 2:34 PM
Fixtures on the paper last night were made up to the 17th of June with no sign of the Premier League being resolved top or bottom. Anyone any idea what's going on?
I think the story is the ldmc are going to see how teams pan out in the cups and as team start to drop out they will shove a league fixture in here and there..Think if they dont have it on the paper they will notify both clubs....Its a bit sad really as people can't plan anything......Sure we will see what happens...If the league is won sunday week there is still important games to be played at the bottom!!
MitreSize5
27/05/2008, 8:14 PM
Boro 2 - Pike 3
great display of heart, commitment, disipline and football from Pike to bring them one win away from the league title
2-1 at half time having played all the football, won it well in the in the end. Goals from Boyle (2) and Purcell
Anyone who has seen me post on this website for the last 3 years knows Im not one for the name calling and bitterness associated with a lot of posters here but I cant let it pass by without saying the Boro team were an absolute disgrace to their club tonight.
2 sent off and a stronger ref would have sent off another two. And as for O Hanlon on the line, they are better off without him next year. It was a credit to Pike that they maintained they're disipline though out.
A home game against Wembley on Sunda week to win the second title in three year
Philbert
27/05/2008, 8:25 PM
What were the reasons for the sendings off? Do you know who the players were?
Details man, details
what a load of rubbish,were you at the same match as me,if anyone was a disgrace it was the clown who came on the pitch and tried to attack Alan Barry.Pike deserved their win,they stuck at it and never gave up,but were second best in the first half,they settled early in the second half and I don't think Bennis was tested in the second half,as for your comments on Shane he was no worse than Connie,screaming for cards throughout the game,but getting back to the game,well done to Pike,looks certain they'll win the league,a fine side and deserved league winners
Balbec77
27/05/2008, 8:52 PM
any of the bottom teams playin 2 nite who is safe on who is gone down
Philbert
27/05/2008, 9:04 PM
Anyone care to tell who and why got their marching orders?:eek:
Alan Barry and Adrian Healy,both got 2 yellow cards
Goals4fun
27/05/2008, 9:11 PM
what a load of rubbish,were you at the same match as me,if anyone was a disgrace it was the clown who came on the pitch and tried to attack Alan Barry.Pike deserved their win,they stuck at it and never gave up,but were second best in the first half,they settled early in the second half and I don't think Bennis was tested in the second half,as for your comments on Shane he was no worse than Connie,screaming for cards throughout the game,but getting back to the game,well done to Pike,looks certain they'll win the league,a fine side and deserved league winners
have to agree with some of that. Good result for pike with great heart and determination. Both sidelines were a joke. Everybody was screaming for cards, fans, managwers, players.. but that is the footbal today, anything to get an edge. The ref was slow to show cards and then showed a ferw. He should have sent that supporter outside the ground for that and alan could have walked for that alone.
anyway good game, exciting and 3 points in the bag for pike !!
summervilleman
27/05/2008, 9:39 PM
any of the bottom teams playin 2 nite who is safe on who is gone down
No bottoms team played and none fixed either..Star are relegated and its between granville,summerville,corbally and carew....Granville on 14 points with 3 games to play,summerville on 17 with 2 to play and corbally and carew are 19 i think..corbaly have 1 to play and carew have 2..
see's it
27/05/2008, 9:50 PM
have to agree with some of that. Good result for pike with great heart and determination. Both sidelines were a joke. Everybody was screaming for cards, fans, managwers, players.. but that is the footbal today, anything to get an edge. The ref was slow to show cards and then showed a ferw. He should have sent that supporter outside the ground for that and alan could have walked for that alone.
anyway good game, exciting and 3 points in the bag for pike !!
a supporter ran onto the field during the game,to do what?
Balbec77
27/05/2008, 10:01 PM
No bottoms team played and none fixed either..Star are relegated and its between granville,summerville,corbally and carew....Granville on 14 points with 3 games to play,summerville on 17 with 2 to play and corbally and carew are 19 i think..corbaly have 1 to play and carew have 2..cheers .its fair tight at the bottom any predictions
Balbec77
27/05/2008, 10:21 PM
Overcast with the odd shower, temperatures of around 15 degrees. :D :D :D
Well you asked mate!!!funny man ha ha ha
oscar
27/05/2008, 10:40 PM
a supporter ran onto the field during the game,to do what?
attack Alan Barry,question to all genuine Pike fans,will there be any actions taking against this so called supporter...or will he get off scot free?ye must admit he was out of order,as was Alan,he should of known better and not got involved,but surely this mans actions deserve some sort of punishment,is this the kind of support ye want
Dirk Diggler
27/05/2008, 11:13 PM
Regarding Barry and the supporter, don't know what it was about but it was totally out of order. Knowing the pike commitee they'll deal with that privately. We deserved the win our discipline showed. I agree with a previous comments about both sidelines being as bad as each other but thats all apart of it. The ref was poor tonight and incensed the players with a few of his decisions. Good heart from boro thats the way we want to win leagues by teams going all out to beat us. Lets hope they show the same heart if they have to play balla in the league again. One game to go against Wembley at home to win the league in fairness we can only throw it away after tonight.
summervilleman
28/05/2008, 4:34 AM
cheers .its fair tight at the bottom any predictions
Well with star already gone i will be hoping that granville lose all there remaining match's and thereby putting them down but we have 2 games to go and we will be going all out to try win them and try finish as far away from the bottom as we can....i am hoping it will be star and granville to go down but with no one knowing when the league games are going ahead and who is playing who its going to make it tough as players will need to keep training away and hope the fixtures come along soon or the season will be dragging into mid june...Most pre-seasons start in early july so there won't be much rest!!!!Hopefully they might do something new with the fixtures next year to try prevent this!!!
see's it
28/05/2008, 6:30 AM
attack Alan Barry,question to all genuine Pike fans,will there be any actions taking against this so called supporter...or will he get off scot free?ye must admit he was out of order,as was Alan,he should of known better and not got involved,but surely this mans actions deserve some sort of punishment,is this the kind of support ye want
was he a tall baldy guy by any chance i was at a schoolboy game recently and a so called pike supporter entered the field of play to have a go at a ref.this is not on and i hope pike are doing something in house to sort it
the hoops
28/05/2008, 6:49 AM
was he a tall baldy guy by any chance i was at a schoolboy game recently and a so called pike supporter entered the field of play to have a go at a ref.this is not on and i hope pike are doing something in house to sort it
hes name is mark quinn a bit of banter on the sideline then barry came over and both threw a few digs which none connected barry shud have went for that 2mins later then he blocked bennis kickout which cost boro the came boro shud get rid of him hes a disgrace
the dazzler
28/05/2008, 6:52 AM
agree with you about barry he will never learn boro should get rid he gets sent off 4 or 5 times a year the over player healy just wanted 2 get sent off to tackles 2 yellows he was just laughing coming off the field taught bolye had a great game
hoops12
28/05/2008, 7:16 AM
totally agree ,great win for us but apologies to everyone invloved with the boro for the so called pike supporter who let himself and the club down with a bang,i made it my busuness to see alan barry after the match and cant put my apologies into words im dat disgusted
hoops12
28/05/2008, 7:17 AM
he will be reprimanded i can assure you ,and i hope the ref has it in his report and ldmc throw the book at him,total disgrace
hoops12
28/05/2008, 7:34 AM
hes name is mark quinn a bit of banter on the sideline then barry came over and both threw a few digs which none connected barry shud have went for that 2mins later then he blocked bennis kickout which cost boro the came boro shud get rid of him hes a disgrace
banter ,you must be joking,his comments were a disgrace no place for that behaviour in our club.take the blinkers off if it were balla or carew last nite we,d be slating them for months to come ,time for us to stand up and take responsibility and stamp this out of our club
abbeyvale
28/05/2008, 7:49 AM
Premier League Table
Pike Rovers......... 21 / 53 (Max Pts 56)
Ballynanty Rovers 17 / 40 (Max Pts 55)
Fairview Rangers 19 / 39 (Max Pts 48)
Regional United.... 20 / 38 (Max Pts 44)
Janesboro............21 / 35 (Max Pts 38)
Aisling Annacotty 20 / 32 (Max Pts 38)
Wembley Rovers..20 / 26 (Max Pts 32)
Corbally United.... 21 / 19 (Max Pts 22)
Carew Park......... 20 / 19 (Max Pts 25)
Summerville Rovers 20 / 17 (Max Pts 23)
Granville Rangers... 19 / 14 (Max Pts 23)
Star Rovers.......... 22 / 10 (Max Pts 10).........RELEGATED
Remaining Games
Aisling(2)- Balla,Granville,
Balla(5)- AISLING,CORBALLY,JANESBORO,Fairview,Summerville
Carew Pk(2)- GRANVILLE,WEMBLEY,
Corbally(1)- Balla
Fairview(3)- BALLA,Granville,Regional,
Granville(3)- AISLING,FAIRVIEW,Carew,
Janesboro(1)- Balla,
Pike Rvs(1)- WEMBLEY
Regional(2)- FAIRVIEW, Summerville
Summerville(2)-BALLA,REGIONAL,
Wembley(2)-Carew,Pike,
BallBreaker
28/05/2008, 8:51 AM
Wasn't at the match but i am asking the question,did Alan Barry leave the field of play to engage with this so called supporter (if he did he had to be sent off) or did the supporter come on to the pitch (my thoughts on this is the players should be protected from raving lunatics and Alan Barry should not have received a caution and the supporter removed from the ground) there are a few refs on the site can we have their thoughts on this incident. Also agree Pike have to make an example of this madman and expel him from the club.......:cool::ball:
the only 1
28/05/2008, 9:12 AM
Wasn't at the match but i am asking the question,did Alan Barry leave the field of play to engage with this so called supporter (if he did he had to be sent off) or did the supporter come on to the pitch (my thoughts on this is the players should be protected from raving lunatics and Alan Barry should not have received a caution and the supporter removed from the ground) there are a few refs on the site can we have their thoughts on this incident. Also agree Pike have to make an example of this madman and expel him from the club.......:cool::ball:
alan came over to the sideline there were pushing each other alan thought he was been sent off himself as he walked away off the field he was shocked as any1 when the ref only gave yellow only for pike telling the ref about the 2nd player who got sent off he was giving him 2yellows ref was a joke:mad:
new leaf
28/05/2008, 9:12 AM
regardless of the sideline nonsense, refs decisions etc etc, who were the better players for the sides??
the hoops
28/05/2008, 9:34 AM
regardless of the sideline nonsense, refs decisions etc etc, who were the better players for the sides??
for boro alan carrol pike boyle man of the match purcell+mc garry in defence moloney up top grady had a great game with wall in midfield
alwaysblue
28/05/2008, 9:45 AM
banter ,you must be joking,his comments were a disgrace no place for that behaviour in our club.take the blinkers off if it were balla or carew last nite we,d be slating them for months to come ,time for us to stand up and take responsibility and stamp this out of our club
as a neutral watching, i thought the carry on of both teams wasnt on. but pike, for a club that pride themselves on history and tradition were an absolute disgrace. from the players harrassing the ref to the manager insulting opposition players, not to mention the pike supporter that screamed for alan barrys leg to be broken!! absolutely disgraceful.
alwaysblue
28/05/2008, 9:58 AM
supporter was wrong ya players ur wrong both teams were at it manager dont know wat your on about explain did u not hear o hanlon+glasheen roaring at the pike supporters calling them scumbags even after they put the ball out when dom fitz hurt his hand in the box
you musnt have been wearing the bi focals because it was a boro player who had to put it out cos pike wouldnt! which would explain o hanlons name calling.
abbeyvale
28/05/2008, 10:01 AM
for boro alan carrol pike boyle man of the match purcell+mc garry in defence moloney up top grady had a great game with wall in midfield
typical answer , thats half the bloody pike team:rolleyes:
Roadend
28/05/2008, 10:25 AM
Anybody who attends junior games know that refs get harrassed by teams all the time. I'm surprised that poeple are pretending to be surprised by it, come out from under the rocks you've been living under.
Abbey Road
28/05/2008, 10:27 AM
alan came over to the sideline there were pushing each other alan thought he was been sent off himself as he walked away off the field he was shocked as any1 when the ref only gave yellow only for pike telling the ref about the 2nd player who got sent off he was giving him 2yellows ref was a joke:mad:
I heard that the Pike supporter was actually on the field of play!Who was the ref last night?Surely a strong referee should be assigned to these type of encounters ie.Pike V boro Balla V Pike.Not condoning irrational behaviour but it only encourages players and managers to be more out of control when a weak ref is in charge.
the hoops
28/05/2008, 10:50 AM
typical answer , thats half the bloody pike team:rolleyes:
i was asked who played well those six did not my fault if only alan caroll played well for boro if they had more i wud have named them:rolleyes:
the hoops
28/05/2008, 10:51 AM
I heard that the Pike supporter was actually on the field of play!Who was the ref last night?Surely a strong referee should be assigned to these type of encounters ie.Pike V boro Balla V Pike.Not condoning irrational behaviour but it only encourages players and managers to be more out of control when a weak ref is in charge.
micky weldon
Abbey Road
28/05/2008, 10:59 AM
micky weldon
Enough said..........as stated already harassing referee's should not be condoned but Micky Weldon is not up to it as a referee!
barryk
28/05/2008, 11:37 AM
Anyone know who scored in Balla's 2-0 win over Ashling last night?
What Balla team played?
Green_Hoop
28/05/2008, 11:45 AM
In my opinion if the Ref had taken to showing 1-2 yellows early in the game it would have settled it as a match,but he failed to book any player until 5mins into the second half.
As for the Alan Barry incident, I was fairly close to it and heard Barry been called a f**k**g w***er to which Barry retorted come onto the pitch and say that. At which point Barry proceeded over to the touch line with the aforementioned Pike man taking a step in. What ensued wasn't a fight more like Handbags as neither actually managed to land a Punch.
If the letter of the law was to be followed Barry would have been Red carded there and then for an attack(regardless of who started it) on a "Fan"(a la Trevor Brennan anyone?) The incident came up in the Pike committee meeting last night,and is I'm told being dealt with from the Pike point of view.
As for the game itself,Pike dominated for large spells,and deserved the win,although both Boro' goals were corkers. A good win for Pike considering.
Question, Doesn't this mean Barry is out of contention for the OT final this weekend? Surprised no one has mentioned it at all..
Green_Hoop
28/05/2008, 12:07 PM
Ye muppets calling him a disgace, some fat fool gets hyped up listening to ye screaming for players legs to be broke thinks he's rocky nd decides to walk on to the pitch to take on alan. No pike supporter and the sideline was full of them tried to stop it suppose they said ''nice one barrys going here'' that was the disgrace. I'd have pulled his head off, there's ye're chance of signing him gone, so its safe to call him a disgrace, get a grip
You say it like he strolled into the Penalty box and provoked the fight with Barry, which isn't the case,he walked I'd say 2 steps maximum onto the pitch,Barry did the majority of the movement towards the fight. End of the day Boro' were lucky to have only 2 sent off as mitre said..
paddy angelo
28/05/2008, 12:27 PM
alan barry is not the first player to carry on like that,players are well able to mouth off and shout abuse at other players and ref's when their standing on the sideline.i blame firstly the clubs because the officers are standing there watching all this going on doing nothing and secondly the ldmc who now attend alot more matches than ever are letting the clubs and players away with it
the hoops
28/05/2008, 12:30 PM
THATS RIGHT HE WALKED ON TO THE PITCH!!!!!!!! I dont care how many steps he took he was looking to make himself a name nd he did we called him casper cos he went as white as a ghost when barry walked at him. He like the rest of us thought some of the pike supporters would pull him back but nah like i said muppets
ya your right poor alan hes an angel on the field:rolleyes:
Philbert
28/05/2008, 12:35 PM
Alan Barry is a joke... Everytime i see the man play he's involved in some sort of bullsh*t like this.
He has a serious attitude problem. No need for that sort of carry on. Some anger management classes are well needed i think
Dirk Diggler
28/05/2008, 12:51 PM
In my opinion if the Ref had taken to showing 1-2 yellows early in the game it would have settled it as a match,but he failed to book any player until 5mins into the second half.
As for the Alan Barry incident, I was fairly close to it and heard Barry been called a f**k**g w***er to which Barry retorted come onto the pitch and say that. At which point Barry proceeded over to the touch line with the aforementioned Pike man taking a step in. What ensued wasn't a fight more like Handbags as neither actually managed to land a Punch.
If the letter of the law was to be followed Barry would have been Red carded there and then for an attack(regardless of who started it) on a "Fan"(a la Trevor Brennan anyone?) The incident came up in the Pike committee meeting last night,and is I'm told being dealt with from the Pike point of view.
As for the game itself,Pike dominated for large spells,and deserved the win,although both Boro' goals were corkers. A good win for Pike considering.
Question, Doesn't this mean Barry is out of contention for the OT final this weekend? Surprised no one has mentioned it at all..
Don't agree with you much Green Hoop but this is exactly what happened. Everyone can stop getting carried away with it. How that ref got a game like that last night should be the real debate going on here.
abbeyvale
28/05/2008, 12:57 PM
i was asked who played well those six did not my fault if only alan caroll played well for boro if they had more i wud have named them:rolleyes:
So let me get this right.
The Boro only had one player that played well (probably just as well then)
Pike had 6 players to play well.
The Boro finished with 9 men.
And Pike won by the odd goal in 5!!!!!
abbeyvale
28/05/2008, 12:58 PM
Anyone know who scored in Balla's 2-0 win over Ashling last night?
What Balla team played?
what was that in?
abbeyvale
28/05/2008, 1:04 PM
THATS RIGHT HE WALKED ON TO THE PITCH!!!!!!!! I dont care how many steps he took he was looking to make himself a name nd he did we called him casper cos he went as white as a ghost when barry walked at him. He like the rest of us thought some of the pike supporters would pull him back but nah like i said muppets
Lads, lets face it, yes Alan Barry is hot headed, but he is for me the best striker in town, and in all fairness (provoked or not) I dont think the incident would have happened if the Pike supporter wasn't on the pitch (whether it was 1/2 steps or 10/20 steps) end of the day, he shouldn't have been on the pitch.
Now lets move on........is Alan Barry suspended now for the OT final next week??? or do Boro have a game fixed in between....
leather
28/05/2008, 1:12 PM
Only saw bits of the first half as i was involved with the small sided game on the top pitch.Both teams and I Stress both teams did not leave a very good impression on the schoolboy teams playing on the top. I agree that the ref was not up to it, head of refs there to watch match, but some guys were going down like they had been hit by an IED.What happened to respect for you opponents , their club and they game...i did not see the 2 nd half, but if what has been decribed here about supporters encroaching onto the pitch is correct, we might as well pack it it.. as for the aforementioned M.Quinn..
barryk
28/05/2008, 1:17 PM
what was that in?
Tuohy Cup
the only 1
28/05/2008, 1:24 PM
So let me get this right.
The Boro only had one player that played well (probably just as well then)
Pike had 6 players to play well.
The Boro finished with 9 men.
And Pike won by the odd goal in 5!!!!!
carroll was only decent boro player who done well pike played very well outplayed boro 2nd half could have been 4-1 boro had 2nd player sent off in injury time
leather
28/05/2008, 1:28 PM
how could it of been 4-1 when the boro scored 2 goals in the 1st half???
as posted earlier by a pike supporter 2 superb goals..
from what i saw in the first half C.lynch and A.barry were giving you a lot of trouble...
if we had only 1 decent player wasn't a great result for you then...!
glendale
28/05/2008, 1:32 PM
Tuohy Cup
balla had reasonably full strength side with the exception of a keeper (dunphy was in goals) and didnt see earls either. two goals scored by lad that was up front with frank lee - not sure of his name. both goals came from aisling mistakes in first half but aisling, even though they played some decent football in the second half, didnt create enough chances. balla had several chances in second half and aisling keeper lade some good stops.