View Full Version : Limerick Premier Division 2007/08

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 [58] 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80

da bishop
04/05/2008, 10:54 PM
cyril got the text message that conny has been sending all possible new signings....the door is always open:D:D.

Monster
05/05/2008, 7:24 AM
Who's come through?in the last 3-5 years say?

Aled Harkin? Gerldines sorry,Christy O'Neill?Gerldines,Stuart Byrnes?Granville,Robbie Kelleher?Summerville,the list goes on.

What has Martin done trophy wise in his "vast" management career? He took the OT job when no one else around town wanted it and then proceeded to fill it with Carew Park players..And since when was winning a Junior Int cap got just about anything to do with management?

You("messi") really showed your colors there with that lovely "Blinkered" comment about Pike,its hardly our fault that players show some ambition and actually want to win medals is it?

And you've made what 4 or so posts already and your already letting rip about Pike..
-----------------------------------------------------

Pike should have hit summerville for about 8/9 easily,complicated matters on occasion in the latter half of the pitch,tried to walk it across the goal line. Hartnett in fairness to him delayed leaving for a stag do in Liverpool to help out a depleted Pike team missing 3(not inc. the 2 long terms smackers and Jamie(who's off his crutches too))

Great goal from Wall too,strong header from the edge of the box,if only he played like today week in week out..

Rumour going about the Pike field this morning is Cyril is joining next season..

John Fitz,trevor higgins,john Mullane,Gary hannon all played this year and all played the majority of there schoolboys with fairview.

summervilleman
05/05/2008, 11:06 AM
[quote=mulla;935079][

Rumour going about the Pike field this morning is Cyril is joining next season..

no disrespect to Cyril but i dont think he would get into the pike team week in week out good squad player but would he really want that????

Big points for granville alright yesterday..Its really in our own hands to beat star now and maybe get somethin of regional or balla!!! But its a must win against star for us and that should put us safe .

Cyril aint going no where!!!

Green_Hoop
05/05/2008, 11:44 AM
who's at home for star V S'ville?

mulla
05/05/2008, 12:23 PM
John Fitz,trevor higgins,john Mullane,Gary hannon all played this year and all played the majority of there schoolboys with fairview.

john mullane ..dines,played minor with the view

Green_Hoop
05/05/2008, 12:28 PM
So its true to say that Fairview and Pike attract players because they win something year in year out yes?

summervilleman
05/05/2008, 1:46 PM
who's at home for star V S'ville?

Yeah star are at home...Heard its definately on this week!!!

Monster
05/05/2008, 3:43 PM
john fitz.. coonagh
trevor higgins... hyde

Both signed with fairview under 13s

Green_Hoop
05/05/2008, 4:13 PM
Both signed with fairview under 13s

So 3 out of about 20 or so..Not particularly great eh?

Green_Hoop
05/05/2008, 6:13 PM
Just thought I'd add this,nice initiative from Pike,another step on the ladder back to having schoolboys at all grades. Having a link up with Swindon can only benefit the club.

oscar
05/05/2008, 6:43 PM
i reckon the Pike-Balla game will decide the league,Pike must be favourites on current form,although both have to play the Boro,which won't be easy and Balla have to play Fairview,but i think their game against each other will decide it

05/05/2008, 7:27 PM
Just thought I'd add this,nice initiative from Pike,another step on the ladder back to having schoolboys at all grades. Having a link up with Swindon can only benefit the club.

Swindon? Didn't they nearly go down the swanny a couple of months ago? What benefit will they give?

Monster
05/05/2008, 9:10 PM

Fairview are supposed to have a similar 1 with middlesborough - not knocking Pike buts fairview tie's with boro have done nothing for the club.

Monster
05/05/2008, 9:12 PM
So 3 out of about 20 or so..Not particularly great eh?

NO should be a lot higher considering the talent that has gone through the schoolboy and minor teams in the last 7/8 years.

Monkfish
05/05/2008, 9:18 PM
its not,it has been called of due to communion in the parish

Ta, there was a stolen car flying around beforehand so I thought thats why Hogan Park was shut :o
Took in the 1st half of Pike v S'ville, left at HT before I was blamed as being a jinx. (conceeding 12 goals in 2 and a half games should do it) and went up to Corbally v Boro. Interesting to note neither team had subs and when a Boro player was taken to hospital (any news on this?) they played the rest of the game with 10 men and Alan Barry back in mid-field. Corbally then levelled with a few mins to go.

reality check
05/05/2008, 9:35 PM
because you arrived in the 2nd half you missed dom fitz getting a straight red after 20 mins, also john barry broke a thigh bone and is due to have an operation on it and is wished a speedy recovery from all that know him (also had a hand broken this year), boro had a sub and brought him on at this stage, corbally def made one if not two subs not sure, boro left players out with niggly injuries as they are playing fairview in the lawson thur night, hope this clears things up

Monkfish
05/05/2008, 9:40 PM
hope this clears things up

It sure does! Ta :)

Green_Hoop
05/05/2008, 10:02 PM
Fairview are supposed to have a similar 1 with middlesborough - not knocking Pike buts fairview tie's with boro have done nothing for the club.

3 days coaching from Swindon coaches can't do anything but help the underage setup,Reportedly going to be a bi-yearly thing.If anything its another feature to attract good schoolboys to the club.And for Swindon,well if they get even one decent player from there many feeder clubs its a success for them.

Green_Hoop
05/05/2008, 10:03 PM
It sure does! Ta :)

Charlie must love you Monkfish :P

Monkfish
05/05/2008, 11:40 PM
Charlie must love you Monkfish :P

Everyone loves a bit of Mr Fish. :)

lifegoeson
06/05/2008, 7:41 AM
because you arrived in the 2nd half you missed dom fitz getting a straight red after 20 mins, also john barry broke a thigh bone and is due to have an operation on it and is wished a speedy recovery from all that know him (also had a hand broken this year), boro had a sub and brought him on at this stage, corbally def made one if not two subs not sure, boro left players out with niggly injuries as they are playing fairview in the lawson thur night, hope this clears things up

Wish john a fast recovery

maestro
06/05/2008, 9:05 AM
How did he break his thigh bone? Doesnt bear thinking about really!!

Noddy
06/05/2008, 10:03 AM
And if one leaves they'll all leave the boro too. Boro are in a very precarious position if you ask me.

see's it
06/05/2008, 10:21 AM
he hardly done it in a tackle anyway!

Was talkin to a few corbally lads yesterday.. apparently most of them are signing for boro too next season, doesnt bode to well for their a team if they stay up!

like who?

Green_Hoop
06/05/2008, 10:31 AM
So that means Boro will have a squad of 25 players or so next season,your having a laugh there..you won't keep 25 players around,especially when your not winning much.

summervilleman
06/05/2008, 11:57 AM
Wish john a fast recovery

not me

booster 03
06/05/2008, 12:25 PM
whats the story with star now?? are they relegated?this is not a cheap pop now abbeyvale, just wondering if ye'l fulfill yer remainin games n ow?

their not relegated i dont think.. they've 3 games left and are 7 pts off safety!they'd have to win their last 3.

its gettin very tight at the bottom at the moment!fair play to granville, dead and buried a few weeks ago.

backodanet
06/05/2008, 12:44 PM
Pike v Balla on Sunday

see's it
06/05/2008, 1:25 PM
whats the story with star now?? are they relegated?this is not a cheap pop now abbeyvale, just wondering if ye'l fulfill yer remainin games n ow?

i like the way you didnt answer about your previous post ive a feeling your a bluffer

see's it
06/05/2008, 1:26 PM
not me

is there history between ye?

Noddy
06/05/2008, 1:29 PM
Pike v Balla on Sunday

I thought this game would be kept until the end of the season. Big chance for Pike a win and they are practically home and dry

Green_Hoop
06/05/2008, 3:42 PM
I thought this game would be kept until the end of the season. Big chance for Pike a win and they are practically home and dry

Paddy Cusack is in Hospital apparently or was,so he'd no influence on the fixtures.

Green_Hoop
06/05/2008, 4:03 PM
balla must win this game,plain and simple....where else are pike gonna drop points?

Only other possible chance is Away to the Boro' who always give us a game.

the only 1
06/05/2008, 4:57 PM
id say star are def gone now no chance of them staying up

Abbey Road
06/05/2008, 5:10 PM
balla must win this game,plain and simple....where else are pike gonna drop points?

Are both teams at full strength for Sunday's big game??

Rumour has it Balla could be missing one or two of their big name players,is this true??

abbeyvale
06/05/2008, 5:16 PM
Premier League Table
Pike Rovers......... 18 / 46 (Max Pts 58)
Ballynanty Rovers 16 / 39 (Max Pts 57)
Fairview Rangers 17 / 35 (Max Pts 50)
Janesboro............19 / 35 (Max Pts 44)
Regional United.... 18 / 32 (Max Pts 44)
Aisling Annacotty 18 / 26 (Max Pts 38)
Wembley Rovers..19 / 26 (Max Pts 35)
Carew Park......... 19 / 18 (Max Pts 27)
Summerville Rovers 19 / 16 (Max Pts 25)
Corbally United.... 18 / 16 (Max Pts 28)
Granville Rangers... 18 / 14 (Max Pts 26)
Star Rovers.......... 19 / 9 (Max Pts 18)

Remaining Games
Aisling(4)- JANESBORO,STAR,Balla,Granville,
Balla(6)- AISLING,CORBALLY,JANESBORO,Fairview,Pike,Summervil le
Carew Pk(3)- FAIRVIEW,GRANVILLE,WEMBLEY,
Corbally(4)- PIKE,REGIONAL,STAR,Balla
Fairview(5)- BALLA,Carew,Granville,Regional,Wembley
Granville(4)- AISLING,FAIRVIEW,REGIONAL,Carew,
Janesboro(3)-PIKE,Aisling,Balla,
Pike Rvs(4)- BALLA,WEMBLEY,Corbally,Janesboro
Regional(4)- FAIRVIEW,Corbally,Granville, Summerville
Star Rvs(3)-SUMMERVILLE,Aisling,Corbally,
Summerville(3)-BALLA,REGIONAL,Star
Wembley(3)-FAIRVIEW,Carew,Pike,

Fixtures
Sunday 11th May (10.30)
Carew v Fairview
Pike v Balla
Star v Summerville
Aisling v Boro
Corbally v Regional

Thursday 15th May (18.45)
Granville v Regional
Aisling v Star
Wembley v Fairview
Corbally v Pike

abbeyvale
06/05/2008, 5:18 PM

To answer your question we need to win our last 3 games v (H) Summerville & (A) Aisling & Corbally to have any hope of staying up, but we will fulfill all our remaining 3 fixtures regardless as it will effect the relegation outcome.

abbeyvale
06/05/2008, 5:19 PM
id say star are def gone now no chance of them staying up

Until we are mathematically gone we will keep going anyway and see where it gets us, but its a MUST win game for us now Sunday v Summerville, anything less and we can forget about it.

Abbey Road
06/05/2008, 5:28 PM
wasnt glasheen involved in an "incident" in town recently?and isnt this the reason he was thrown out?

Think issue's like the above are best left out of the site!

Abbey Road
06/05/2008, 5:40 PM

Boro have to play both and as far as i can remember Balla did Boro a favour by drawing with Pike near the end of last season.Balla will be hoping Boro can do them one this year!All in all tough fixture left for both.
I think though if Pike win Sunday then i think it will be very hard for Balla to catch them.

Green_Hoop
06/05/2008, 6:36 PM
Boro have to play both and as far as i can remember Balla did Boro a favour by drawing with Pike near the end of last season.Balla will be hoping Boro can do them one this year!All in all tough fixture left for both.
I think though if Pike win Sunday then i think it will be very hard for Balla to catch them.

If Pike win Sunday they can "afford" to lose a game and still win the title.Missing a good few players last Sunday against S'ville,but shouldn't be missing many if any bar the longer term casualties(Smackers/Jamie)

the only 1
06/05/2008, 7:07 PM
wont balla be missing players?there centre halfs

Abbey Road
06/05/2008, 8:36 PM

Are they injured???

Green_Hoop
06/05/2008, 10:09 PM
Abbeyvale's already posting in 1A,getting the ball rolling for himself I suppose,saying Hello etc :P

abbeyvale
06/05/2008, 10:15 PM
Abbeyvale's already posting in 1A,getting the ball rolling for himself I suppose,saying Hello etc :P

Ive been posting there all season if you bothered reading it, Ive also been posting in 1B, 2A etc,

There are other clubs in town besides the so called big clubs you know.

Green_Hoop
06/05/2008, 11:54 PM
Ive been posting there all season if you bothered reading it, Ive also been posting in 1B, 2A etc,

There are other clubs in town besides the so called big clubs you know.

In terms of the junior teams I only pay attention to the Premier and on the odd occasion 1B for Pike B(any note your man PikeB having like 11.80 posts a day,madness),I've no involving interests in any others,and it was only a Joke abbey! :|

Goals4fun
07/05/2008, 7:25 AM

sure there will be loads of rumours of who is missing etc.... people trying to play mind games from watching to many premiership managers interviews.
The only way to know is to see the team sheet on sunday morning !!!

see's it
07/05/2008, 8:27 AM
If Pike win Sunday they can "afford" to lose a game and still win the title.Missing a good few players last Sunday against S'ville,but shouldn't be missing many if any bar the longer term casualties(Smackers/Jamie)

casey and connie the subs last sunday they'l need fresher legs then that to beat balla this week...balla to win 1 nil

Green_Hoop
07/05/2008, 10:22 AM
casey and connie the subs last sunday they'l need fresher legs then that to beat balla this week...balla to win 1 nil

"We played Summerville at home in the league this Sunday. Missing eight players for various reasons, we started well and were 2-0 up at half time with goals from Pat Moloney and David Wall."

Thats an extract from the report on the Pike site,the start of the second sentence says it all really..

sure there will be loads of rumours of who is missing etc.... people trying to play mind games from watching to many premiership managers interviews.
The only way to know is to see the team sheet on sunday morning !!!

Training tomorrow night will tell all..

Comfortable win for Pike,3-1 on Sunday.

see's it
07/05/2008, 10:39 AM
balla will be at full strenght sunday players rested last week cos of the big games coming up for the club