View Full Version : Limerick Premier Division 2007/08

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 [50] 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80

abbeyvale
15/04/2008, 9:41 AM
Sure look at who's coming up possibly,Dromore,Kilmallock and the likes.Pike hammered Dromore this season something like 6/7-0...

As is always said those who stay up deserve it..

I agree.
Mungret are also in with a shout of coming up, and didnt Pike hammer them this season too??
So we'll see come the last day of the season.

L37Ultra
15/04/2008, 9:48 AM
I agree.
Mungret are also in with a shout of coming up, and didnt Pike hammer them this season too??
So we'll see come the last day of the season.

Ya well from what I have seen there is a massive difference between the Premier Divison and 1A, so any team coming up will struggle.

Bit Ironic the only 1 is constanly slagging off Star when hes a Granville man ;):o

the hoops
15/04/2008, 10:13 AM
If they werent good enough, they wouldnt be in it.

not for much longer:D

the dazzler
15/04/2008, 10:14 AM
At last, someone with a bit of common sense, thank you;)
And to make things worse!!! The Only One plays with Granville (who are worse off than Star), spare me

are u serious alan do u think yere good enough to be in it

abbeyvale
15/04/2008, 10:46 AM
are u serious alan do u think yere good enough to be in it

well we wouldnt have stayed up last season (when everyone wrote us off) if we weren't

abbeyvale
15/04/2008, 10:49 AM
Premier League Table
Pike Rovers......... 15 / 37 (Max Pts 58)
Fairview Rangers 15 / 34 (Max Pts 55)
Janesboro............18 / 34 (Max Pts 46)
Ballynanty Rovers..13 / 32 (Max Pts 59)
Aisling Annacotty 15 / 26 (Max Pts 47)
Regional United.... 14 / 25 (Max Pts 49)
Wembley Rovers..16 / 20 (Max Pts 38)
Carew Park......... 17 / 17 (Max Pts 32)
Summerville Rovers 16 / 13 (Max Pts 31)
Corbally United.... 16 / 12 (Max Pts 30)
Star Rovers.......... 16 / 9 (Max Pts 27)
Granville Rangers... 15 / 8 (Max Pts 29)

Thursday April 17 (6.30)
Corbally v Granville
Regional v Wembley

Sunday April 20th (10.30)
Fairview v Pike
Summerville v Granville

Tuesday April 22nd (6.45)
Ballynanty v Fairview
Regional v Carew
Aisling Annacotty v Summerville
Pike v Star

L37Ultra
15/04/2008, 10:49 AM

Maybe not, but the arguement was that they werent good enough to be in the Premier this year. They are in it, so therefore they are good enough. They would have got relegated last season if they were not good enough. Simple as.

Anyways, which clubs from 1A would people want to get promoted to make the Premier stronger next season.

I would say Dromore (:)) and Killmallock.

mulla
15/04/2008, 11:41 AM
Maybe not, but the arguement was that they werent good enough to be in the Premier this year. They are in it, so therefore they are good enough. They would have got relegated last season if they were not good enough. Simple as.

Anyways, which clubs from 1A would people want to get promoted to make the Premier stronger next season.

I would say Dromore (:)) and Killmallock.

exactly,you are in the league you are in for a reason and until you get relegated or promoted you are only good enough for that league

I reckon mungret ,kilmallock

Goals4fun
15/04/2008, 11:46 AM
Premier League Table
Pike Rovers......... 15 / 37 (Max Pts 58)
Fairview Rangers 15 / 34 (Max Pts 55)
Janesboro............18 / 34 (Max Pts 46)
Ballynanty Rovers..13 / 32 (Max Pts 59)
Aisling Annacotty 15 / 26 (Max Pts 47)
Regional United.... 14 / 25 (Max Pts 49)
Wembley Rovers..16 / 20 (Max Pts 38)
Carew Park......... 17 / 17 (Max Pts 32)
Summerville Rovers 16 / 13 (Max Pts 31)
Corbally United.... 16 / 12 (Max Pts 30)
Star Rovers.......... 16 / 9 (Max Pts 27)
Granville Rangers... 15 / 8 (Max Pts 29)

Thursday April 17 (6.30)
Corbally v Granville
Regional v Wembley

Fairview v Pike
Summerville v Granville

Ballynanty v Fairview
Regional v Carew
Aisling Annacotty v Summerville
Pike v Star

some big games at the top in the next week....

abbeyvale
15/04/2008, 11:53 AM
some big games at the top in the next week....

2 must win games coming up for Fairview I think.
If they win both I think they'll go on to win the league.
If Pike beat The View on Sunday, then The View could do them a favour by taking points off Balla next Tuesday night!!!

the dazzler
15/04/2008, 12:16 PM
smackers,jamie enright+mitchell out for pike did bennis go in for his op?

abbeyvale
15/04/2008, 12:25 PM
smackers,jamie enright+mitchell out for pike did bennis go in for his op?

whats wrong with those 3?

hoops12
15/04/2008, 12:30 PM
whats wrong with those 3?

smackers and jamie both did their ankle ligaments so prob wo,nt see them again this season.mitchell came off sunday with bad gash on his leg and also keith hartnett is away this weekend on a stag

hoops12
15/04/2008, 12:31 PM

jez give it a rest,yes i agree star are average enough but their still hanging in there and all credit to them

Green_Hoop
15/04/2008, 1:00 PM
jez give it a rest,yes i agree star are average enough but their still hanging in there and all credit to them

I think Abbey's finally got to hoops12...

Green_Hoop
15/04/2008, 1:02 PM
Thursday April 17 (6.30)
Corbally v Granville (Draw)
Regional v Wembley (Draw)

Fairview v Pike (Draw)
Summerville v Granville (Summerville win)

Ballynanty v Fairview (Draw)
Regional v Carew (Regional win)
Aisling Annacotty v Summerville (Aishling win)
Pike v Star (Pike win)

abbeyvale
15/04/2008, 1:09 PM
smackers and jamie both did their ankle ligaments so prob wo,nt see them again this season.mitchell came off sunday with bad gash on his leg and also keith hartnett is away this weekend on a stag

So those 3 will be out v Star Tuesday night also, along with Sniffer, Hartnett will be back though, would that be correct?

abbeyvale
15/04/2008, 1:11 PM
Thursday April 17 (6.30)
Corbally v Granville (Draw)
Regional v Wembley (Draw)

Fairview v Pike (Draw)
Summerville v Granville (Summerville win)

Ballynanty v Fairview (Draw)
Regional v Carew (Regional win)
Aisling Annacotty v Summerville (Aishling win)
Pike v Star (Pike win)

I'd agree with all bar maybe Regional v Wembley, Think Regional will have to much for them, and we might sneak a draw up in Pike:rolleyes:

abbeyvale
15/04/2008, 1:12 PM

I'd agree, we are average, but not desperate as stated in a previous post.:mad:

Green_Hoop
15/04/2008, 1:20 PM
Bennis as far as I know won't be having any Op until the season finishes,Hartnett will be back late Sunday night so will should be playing Tuesday,Sniffer's playing with Limerick Gaelic footballers permanantly,And Enright(Ankle),Smackers(Ankle) will be out, Mitchell should be playing Sunday(Only a gash on his leg),will know more after training..

We've had a strong panel of 15/16 for the last 3 matches,with a bench that includes Davy Wall,Morris,O'Donovan etc

abbeyvale
15/04/2008, 1:29 PM
Bennis as far as I know won't be having any Op until the season finishes,Hartnett will be back late Sunday night so will should be playing Tuesday,Sniffer's playing with Limerick Gaelic footballers permanantly,And Enright(Ankle),Smackers(Ankle) will be out, Mitchell should be playing Sunday(Only a gash on his leg),will know more after training..

We've had a strong panel of 15/16 for the last 3 matches,with a bench that includes Davy Wall,Morris,O'Donovan etc

Not many teams in town can boast a bench that strong.
Can we borrow one or two for Tuesday night??
We'll be lucky to get 11 on the field let alone have subs.

Monster
15/04/2008, 2:41 PM
If fairview can get the ball to kelleher and doyle up front i can see them creating awful hassle.Will be an interesting game to gauge how far Fairview have come since Pike stuffed em at the start of the season.

widow
15/04/2008, 2:46 PM
Was talking to a fairview man there at lunch. He told me fairview haven't beaten pike in 5 years! is that true...I was shocked by that

Monster
15/04/2008, 2:47 PM
yes that would be roughly correct id say

widow
15/04/2008, 2:48 PM
If fairview can get the ball to kelleher and doyle up front i can see them creating awful hassle.Will be an interesting game to gauge how far Fairview have come since Pike stuffed em at the start of the season.

Should be a good game, both teams are flying at the moment. Pike's experience might be too much for Fairview on the day but it'll be interesting. Draw would suit us down to the ground.

Monster
15/04/2008, 3:06 PM
Should be a good game, both teams are flying at the moment. Pike's experience might be too much for Fairview on the day but it'll be interesting. Draw would suit us down to the ground.

I personally dont see experience coming in to it and it certainly wouldnt be an excuse if fairview wee to get beaten.The spine of the team of Chucka, jason Purcell and Kelleher are all FAI winners, have all been capped and played league of Ireland football so i cant see inexperience being a problem.

I also hear that Colm heffernan could be on his way back to fairview.

Goals4fun
15/04/2008, 3:07 PM

how can you say that, haven't fairview got a few LoI players back and some guys who have been around a while.....
It should be a good match, it may even get the view a good gate...

the hoops
15/04/2008, 3:12 PM
I personally dont see experience coming in to it and it certainly wouldnt be an excuse if fairview wee to get beaten.The spine of the team of Chucka, jason Purcell and Kelleher are all FAI winners, have all been capped and played league of Ireland football so i cant see inexperience being a problem.

is he not playing loi at the moment?

Green_Hoop
15/04/2008, 3:13 PM

Kelleher isn't a FAI cup winner is he?Only been around about 4 years right?
Last time I saw purcell he was slow as anything,Kelliher overweight.Has that changed?

Monster
15/04/2008, 5:31 PM
Kelleher isn't a FAI cup winner is he?Only been around about 4 years right?
Last time I saw purcell he was slow as anything,Kelliher overweight.Has that changed?

Kelleher played on the side that beat Carrick.Purcell is slow??He would walk into any team in the country.Hadnt trained for 6 months and gave the supremely over hyped Keith Hartnett and Dave Wall the run around above in the Pike field before fatigue obviously set in.Still streets ahead in my opinion and a class act.Has been Fairviews best player over the last few months.

Green_Hoop
15/04/2008, 8:59 PM
Kelleher played on the side that beat Carrick.Purcell is slow??He would walk into any team in the country.Hadnt trained for 6 months and gave the supremely over hyped Keith Hartnett and Dave Wall the run around above in the Pike field before fatigue obviously set in.Still streets ahead in my opinion and a class act.Has been Fairviews best player over the last few months.

Walked around Hartnett and Wall? From what I remember they(Pike) were coasting in the FAI match back in November when they got caught by a messy goal that turn the game around. Pity he didn't walk around them at the start of the year for Pike's 5-0 win either...Jason Purcell is coming to the end of a good career in junior soccer...And I'd put money on it that Purcell wouldn't walk into the Killester side either...

hoops12
16/04/2008, 6:12 AM

keith hartnett overhyped,is this the same keith hartnett that finishes near the top of the goal charts every year and is concictently in irish junior squad

hoops12
16/04/2008, 6:14 AM
Walked around Hartnett and Wall? From what I remember they(Pike) were coasting in the FAI match back in November when they got caught by a messy goal that turn the game around. Pity he didn't walk around them at the start of the year for Pike's 5-0 win either...Jason Purcell is coming to the end of a good career in junior soccer...And I'd put money on it that Purcell wouldn't walk into the Killester side either...

that fai game would have finished 5 or 6-1 only for a stupid back pass from paddy mitchell .pike were running riot .true the view dominated the first half and should have had more than a 1 goal lead.but pike bullied them up until that back pass

superhero
16/04/2008, 8:50 AM
keith hartnett overhyped,is this the same keith hartnett that finishes near the top of the goal charts every year and is concictently in irish junior squad

I think you'll find there is no Limerick representatives in the squad this year

Monster
16/04/2008, 8:58 AM

Wouldnt have got on the Fairview FAI winning teams in my opinion and yes i think he is over rated.

abbeyvale
16/04/2008, 9:03 AM
Wouldnt have got on the Fairview FAI winning teams in my opinion and yes i think he is over rated.

In fairness lads, he is a very good player, I wouldn't say he is over rated but he is talked about a lot by Pike fans, and is probably their best midfielder.

He must be doing something right if he is in the OT team and is "often" capped at Junior International level, so give credit where it is due.

the dazzler
16/04/2008, 9:10 AM
he will be a bad loss for pike sunday

Monster
16/04/2008, 9:35 AM
In fairness lads, he is a very good player, I wouldn't say he is over rated but he is talked about a lot by Pike fans, and is probably their best midfielder.

He must be doing something right if he is in the OT team and is "often" capped at Junior International level, so give credit where it is due.

I never said he wasnt a good player but he is not as good in my opinion as he is perceived by Pike fans.

abbeyvale
16/04/2008, 10:43 AM
I never said he wasnt a good player but he is not as good in my opinion as he is perceived by Pike fans.

I do agree with you there, Pike fans really seem to talk him up a lot.
He is a fine player though.

the hoops
16/04/2008, 10:55 AM
he will be a bad loss for pike sunday

he wont be missing

Green_Hoop
16/04/2008, 12:30 PM

In fairness if Pike had Maradona,Pele,Zico,Cyruff you'd probably still say they wouldn't get on the "Magical" FAI winning team...I'm waiting for the "Jason Purcell is the best thing since sliced bread line" soon enough...The plain as day facts are there,He's consistently top scorer of at least 20+ goals a year for Pike,"Often" on the Irish Junior team and a consistent preformer year in year out..

the dazzler
16/04/2008, 1:57 PM
In fairness if Pike had Maradona,Pele,Zico,Cyruff you'd probably still say they wouldn't get on the "Magical" FAI winning team...I'm waiting for the "Jason Purcell is the best thing since sliced bread line" soon enough...The plain as day facts are there,He's consistently top scorer of at least 20+ goals a year for Pike,"Often" on the Irish Junior team and a consistent preformer year in year out..

is he missing for ye sunday?

kalyani
16/04/2008, 3:33 PM

yes i would agree with monster there, he was by far the best player on the pitch back in november in the FAI game, he dominated middle of the park and covered every blade of grass until injury and fatigue forced him to leave the field of play. and not a hope would harnett get on any of the fai winning teams in fairview. not a patch in my opinion on kevin mccarthy, barry flynn or jason purcell. there is league of ireland players out there who wudnt have got on those fairview teams guys and all of those players could have played at a far higher level but chose to stay with junior soccer.

summervilleman
16/04/2008, 6:27 PM
Big game below at the bottom tomorrow night with corbally playing granville..I suppose a draw would be the best result for us but i dont see it happening..I fancy granville to sneak it....Also can ye leave star out of it..They got up to the premier on Merit as did ourselves and there is a huge gap between 1a and the top 4 or 5 teams in the premier but if teams like ourselves and star can stay up for a few years and attract some players then maybe in time we may challenge the top 4 r 5 but until then teams like us have to make do with the players,staff and facilities we have!!

oscar
16/04/2008, 7:09 PM
both teams need to win,could make for a good game....

Goals4fun
16/04/2008, 9:24 PM
is he missing for ye sunday?

heard that fairview were looking for it off ? any truth in that ?

the hoops
17/04/2008, 6:51 AM
heard that fairview were looking for it off ? any truth in that ?

true ok there missing players

leather
17/04/2008, 7:31 AM
if that match is called off it is a joke....it would prove that some clubs can dictate when and whom they play.

abbeyvale
17/04/2008, 7:54 AM

I'm sure other clubs in the league are missing some important players at certain stages of the season (I know we were), but do you think they can get their games called off??? Not a hope.
I hope this isn't true, considering how people have spoke about how big and good the Fairview squad is this season,,,,,,,,,,well if it is that big, then missing a few players shouldn't really effect them that much, should it?

Aren't Pike missing players this weekend too!!!!!

Monster
17/04/2008, 8:00 AM

Any idea who is due to be missing - the game should go ahead regardless.