View Full Version : Limerick Premier Division 2007/08

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 [41] 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80

bald eagle
12/03/2008, 10:41 PM
just saw it there,stupidity from the first lad but a horrible allenge from the second one and then trying to hit the refs hand after it,crazy

saw the footage of view v dundalk.I think fairview rangers football and tae kwando club should be justifiably proud of their young players. If they continue stealing players they should try to keep the discipline these young men have been taught at reputable clubs.What kind of coaching are they getting in fairviews thirst for success

Mr. Reality
13/03/2008, 7:25 AM
i think the view will be too strong for wembley,i fancy them for league,balla second and regional third
I reckon 1.Fairview 2.Pike 3.Balla 4.Regional. Surprised if Pike finish outside top 3.

Hoops 1967
13/03/2008, 7:43 AM
Lads can anyone fill in the blanks?

League wiinners

2007 Janesboro
2006 Pike
2005 Balla
2004 Balla
2003 ?
2002 ?
2001 Janesboro
2000 Fairview

Fairview in 03 and pike in 02.
How about the years before 2000??

leather
13/03/2008, 8:37 AM
2000 - 20007
8 Titles
2 Each For Pike,fairview,balla, & Janesboro

Fair To Call Them The Big 4???

Mr. Reality
13/03/2008, 8:45 AM
2000 - 20007
8 Titles
2 Each For Pike,fairview,balla, & Janesboro

Fair To Call Them The Big 4???
Thats correct. Big 4 of Limerick. Who can be the Everton and break through??? Regional, Aishling?

leather
13/03/2008, 9:40 AM
I would fancy regional to be the team to break it up...

Super Rovers
13/03/2008, 9:55 AM
I think wembley will actually win this one....3-1
By the way super rovers i was fouled that time.Why would i dive if i could've put the bal into the net!!!

thats what i thought but the ref had a better view than me and he said no so i presumed you dived. ah well sure summervilleman you might get a goal in your next match:D

Halfback
13/03/2008, 10:03 AM
ya no club would appreciate it but thats what happens, didn't the boro's pitch or fairviews get ripped appart there a few weeks back, what's the excuse for aisling 'sorry ref our pitch is fine and it's playable but lets not cause it'll get mucky' If thats the case then no games in town between november and april.. thats the first of many strokes to be pulled in the title run in not counting balla's!!!! paddy has them sorted

What strokes have Balla pulled ??? I think the myth of as you say "Paddy sorting Balla "is long gone

summervilleman
13/03/2008, 10:05 AM
thats what i thought but the ref had a better view than me and he said no so i presumed you dived. ah well sure summervilleman you might get a goal in your next match:D

Doubt it somehow as we are playing Balla again...And we have them in the league again and we have them in the divisional cup and we had them in the fai...Sick of balla to be honest...he he....
Summerville 1-5 balla!!

I reckon probably regional or aisling to break the top 4 this year with the latter being the better team...Fairview to drop off the pace!!!

Nesta
13/03/2008, 5:03 PM
Doubt it somehow as we are playing Balla again...And we have them in the league again and we have them in the divisional cup and we had them in the fai...Sick of balla to be honest...he he....
Summerville 1-5 balla!!

I reckon probably regional or aisling to break the top 4 this year with the latter being the better team...Fairview to drop off the pace!!!

Summervilleman, a few weeks back you had predicted that ye would beat Fairview...ye lost 6-1. Then 7 days later you reckoned that View would beat Balla in LIT (match didnt go ahead).

Now you think that Wembley will beat Fairview 3-1 this sunday and that Fairview will finish outside of the top 4!? Some major swings there in your predictions! You know something the rest of us don't? :rolleyes: Or is it because you managed to sneak a poxy goal against em that you don't think they are up to much? :p

Green_Hoop
13/03/2008, 6:46 PM
Summervilleman, a few weeks back you had predicted that ye would beat Fairview...ye lost 6-1. Then 7 days later you reckoned that View would beat Balla in LIT (match didnt go ahead).

Now you think that Wembley will beat Fairview 3-1 this sunday and that Fairview will finish outside of the top 4!? Some major swings there in your predictions! You know something the rest of us don't? :rolleyes: Or is it because you managed to sneak a poxy goal against em that you don't think they are up to much? :p

We'll see how the View get on playing a Top four team before we make any predictions eh?

leather
14/03/2008, 10:48 AM
Lads,just a quick question concerning bookings.... have any of your clubs players been suspended for reaching 5 booking in the season.

thanks..

razbar
14/03/2008, 12:32 PM
Lads,just a quick question concerning bookings.... have any of your clubs players been suspended for reaching 5 booking in the season.

thanks..

do you honerstly think the ldmc could keep track of that cosidering they cant even update their own website:D:D

Bonovox
14/03/2008, 12:41 PM

thanks..

Leather - LDMC have issued suspensions this week to players who reached 5 bookings. I got suspended myself, didn't even know the rule existed and didn't know I was booked 5 times! Do they think they are FIFA or something?

Goals4fun
14/03/2008, 1:22 PM
the 5 card rule is good, and be benefical if you work it right for a weekend...
i know a few players who have had the suspensions,
the players should get letters stating when the 5 cards was recieved , but i bet that does not happen...

leather
14/03/2008, 1:25 PM
players are also fined 30 euro...with the suspension
bet this new 5 booking rule will only be used or should i say not used with certain clubs and players.
more ways to screw the clubs for cash...

abbeyvale
14/03/2008, 5:32 PM
players are also fined 30 euro...with the suspension
bet this new 5 booking rule will only be used or should i say not used with certain clubs and players.
more ways to screw the clubs for cash...

Is there a contact within the LDMC that provide a list of bookings to date for each club?

Just curious to see who or how many players (if any) are on 4 yellow's for our club?

Then again, both Aertel and I tried to make contact with the LDMC regarding setting up a Limerick Soccer page on Aertel, and do you think the LDMC have replied to Aertel??? ha ha,,, no way.

Begrudger
14/03/2008, 5:39 PM
what time thae l37 game kickin off tonight

abbeyvale
14/03/2008, 5:59 PM
what time thae l37 game kickin off tonight

think its 7.45pm ko

hoops12
14/03/2008, 10:35 PM
one for pike and one for fairview id say
pike in 03 the view in 02 but not 100%

correct and right

hoops12
14/03/2008, 10:38 PM
Fairview in 03 and pike in 02.
How about the years before 2000??

id say the view won majority ,i think they won 11 under dermot finnan in total.pike won it in 95 and id say apart from that the view won the rest in 90s

starbar
14/03/2008, 10:43 PM
think its 7.45pm ko

how did limerick junior 37 get on

hoops12
14/03/2008, 11:22 PM
how did limerick junior 37 get on

won 2 nil ,they got pen with 3 mins left and second 1 in injury time.

oscar
14/03/2008, 11:33 PM
Is there a contact within the LDMC that provide a list of bookings to date for each club?

Just curious to see who or how many players (if any) are on 4 yellow's for our club?

Then again, both Aertel and I tried to make contact with the LDMC regarding setting up a Limerick Soccer page on Aertel, and do you think the LDMC have replied to Aertel??? ha ha,,, no way.

ur wasting ur time abbeyvale,they don't want to know.progress is a dirty word in HQ

Bonovox
15/03/2008, 11:41 AM
won 2 nil ,they got pen with 3 mins left and second 1 in injury time.

Is Shane Treacy back playing with Limerick from Galway?

foxtrot
15/03/2008, 11:52 AM
Is Shane Treacy back playing with Limerick from Galway?

ya he's on loan with limerick 37 for the next few months. He wasn't getting first team football in galway

summervilleman
15/03/2008, 6:01 PM

exactly.....Lets just see how it pans out i just think that wembley are very good at homr and ar a better footballing team then fairview....

starbar
15/03/2008, 10:42 PM
ur wasting ur time abbeyvale,they don't want to know.progress is a dirty word in HQ

HQ with a shower of yes men,who have no interset in progress or anything that mite bring soccer on a bit in limerick.

abbeyvale
15/03/2008, 11:08 PM
HQ with a shower of yes men,who have no interset in progress or anything that mite bring soccer on a bit in limerick.

shame really, we're falling behind because of them

hoops12
16/03/2008, 3:05 AM
ur haven a laugh summervillenman are u taking drugs or something:ball:

summervilleman you need a large dose of kop on.the league table does,nt lie.

oscar
16/03/2008, 7:22 AM
i suppose next you'll be telling us that ye are going to put a string of results together and finish the season strongly

Nesta
16/03/2008, 1:35 PM
Wembley OFF Fairview

Wembley seem to have pulled a fast one this morning. Match was called off and Fairview find out at 9.50 just as they were leaving the club. Everyone warmed up and togged out. Bad form seeing as there didn't seem to be rain overnight and it was a great morning for a game. A few Fairview lads went out to see the pitch anyway and said it was a joke that it was called off. Some Polish ref i think.

Its turning into a bit of a farce really, 2 months ago the boro match went ahead in the view when it was completely covered in snow and the pitch hasn't been the same since. Whats worse is the weekend it falls on too. If Wembley did the right thing and declared the pitch unplayable yesterday then at least it gives everyone involved a chance to change their plans instead of sticking around for a match that to be honest I had a feeling was not going to go ahead a few days ago. Were Wembley possibly short a few?? Is Shane Clarke suspended after his red against Tramore??

Green_Hoop
16/03/2008, 3:42 PM
Wembley OFF Fairview

Wembley seem to have pulled a fast one this morning. Match was called off and Fairview find out at 9.50 just as they were leaving the club. Everyone warmed up and togged out. Bad form seeing as there didn't seem to be rain overnight and it was a great morning for a game. A few Fairview lads went out to see the pitch anyway and said it was a joke that it was called off. Some Polish ref i think.

Its turning into a bit of a farce really, 2 months ago the boro match went ahead in the view when it was completely covered in snow and the pitch hasn't been the same since. Whats worse is the weekend it falls on too. If Wembley did the right thing and declared the pitch unplayable yesterday then at least it gives everyone involved a chance to change their plans instead of sticking around for a match that to be honest I had a feeling was not going to go ahead a few days ago. Were Wembley possibly short a few?? Is Shane Clarke suspended after his red against Tramore??

Didn't Fairview pull a fast one last weekend?Claiming they were missing "Vital" Players who were playing with their Youths team...

Neutral Jo
16/03/2008, 4:50 PM
This is turning into a farce.
Games that are called off should be

This situation is a farce.
Games that are being called off should be called off
the day before the game and not the morning of the game.
This an absolute ridiculous situation and completely
inconsiderate to players,managers referees and everybody
involved. This is made worse with the 10:30 kick-offs.
Premier league games should be played in the afternoon
as well. 10:30 is stupid when the weather is poor. At least
afternoon games would allow work to be done to the pitches.

Nesta
16/03/2008, 5:20 PM
Didn't Fairview pull a fast one last weekend?Claiming they were missing "Vital" Players who were playing with their Youths team...

There is a big difference between what happened last week and this week. Fairview asked a number of days in advance for the game off, allowing the LDMC to get another fixture for Balla (Granville), so therefore all parties are kept relatively happy with the outcome. Difference this week is players have scheduled a bank holiday weekend to suit the match on sunday....only for it to be abandoned literally last second. I know its an amateur level we are playing at but it would be nice to see things done/ organised a bit more professionally. I've noticed in a few other threads that similar stuff has happenend in recent weeks in the lower leagues too. Its not good enough.

hoops12
16/03/2008, 9:25 PM
There is a big difference between what happened last week and this week. Fairview asked a number of days in advance for the game off, allowing the LDMC to get another fixture for Balla (Granville), so therefore all parties are kept relatively happy with the outcome. Difference this week is players have scheduled a bank holiday weekend to suit the match on sunday....only for it to be abandoned literally last second. I know its an amateur level we are playing at but it would be nice to see things done/ organised a bit more professionally. I've noticed in a few other threads that similar stuff has happenend in recent weeks in the lower leagues too. Its not good enough.

nesta why do you bother even trying to explain.most of the people on this thread just use a match been cancelled to have a go at pike/view etc

L37Ultra
16/03/2008, 9:30 PM
I said during week on here that the Wembley-Fairview game would be called off as I seen the pitch during week and it was in bits.

They should have called it off earlier than this morning. Bad form on a Bank Holiday Weekend

foxtrot
17/03/2008, 9:39 AM
Through out the years i have never seen a club to call off as many games as wembley. They are very protective of their pitch and if its in any bit of a dodgy condition they won't play a game on it. Schoolboy games are always been called off there too its a joke. The season will be going on for a long time yet if games aren't being played in these conditions

the hoops
17/03/2008, 10:19 AM

are wembly missing players this wkd in the mjc?

timmy
17/03/2008, 12:55 PM
Wembley OFF Fairview

lads in response to this to get a neutral version. I was up at this match at about 10.20. was talking to the ref and he said wembley were trying to convince him for 20mins to get the match on cause they have munster junior next week. he said he played a match a few weeks ago in the snow boro and fairview and got slated for it and if he played this the pitch would be unplayabe for months. it looked grand outside so i walked it with a few of my friends and we all agreed that it should have been called off.

Then i asked ref again why didnt wembley call it off yesterday and apparently the power has been taken away from the club to call off match day before up to the ref on a sunday morning.some clubs a few weeks ago were caught calling off matches when pitches were playable.

dont think wembley were mssing much they had a squad of 18-20.

very frustrating for everyone involved including myself.

Jock MIB
17/03/2008, 1:31 PM
lads in response to this to get a neutral version. I was up at this match at about 10.20. was talking to the ref and he said wembley were trying to convince him for 20mins to get the match on cause they have munster junior next week. he said he played a match a few weeks ago in the snow boro and fairview and got slated for it and if he played this the pitch would be unplayabe for months. it looked grand outside so i walked it with a few of my friends and we all agreed that it should have been called off.

You have wrong referee there , the referee who did that fairview and boro game you mentioned , wasn't refereeing any match at weekend. :)

starbar
17/03/2008, 1:55 PM
Through out the years i have never seen a club to call off as many games as wembley. They are very protective of their pitch and if its in any bit of a dodgy condition they won't play a game on it. Schoolboy games are always been called off there too its a joke. The season will be going on for a long time yet if games aren't being played in these conditions

thats wembley for you

Hoops 1967
18/03/2008, 10:32 AM
This situation is a farce.
This is made worse with the 10:30 kick-offs.
Premier league games should be played in the afternoon
as well. 10:30 is stupid when the weather is poor. At least
afternoon games would allow work to be done to the pitches.

I have to agree with the above, why do premiere games kick off at 10:30 on a sunday morning, not only is it bad for the players and everyone involved but also for spectators...whos' going to get up that early on a sunday to watch a game of football...it's a joke!

timmy
18/03/2008, 10:48 AM
You have wrong referee there , the referee who did that fairview and boro game you mentioned , wasn't refereeing any match at weekend. :)

sorry he said some match a few weeks ago. just presumed it was the boro view match.

summervilleman
18/03/2008, 2:15 PM
I have to agree with the above, why do premiere games kick off at 10:30 on a sunday morning, not only is it bad for the players and everyone involved but also for spectators...whos' going to get up that early on a sunday to watch a game of football...it's a joke!

Well from what i heard a few years ago the reason that the higher divisions match's are on in the morning times is because b4 the lower divsion matchs were down for the mornings but because most of the people playing in the lower divisions weren't as committed to football they often seen a lot of matchs called off because of lack of players..So they switched the top leagues games to the morning and players who are committed enough would not go out on a saturday night and be up for a game on a sunday morning...Any truth in this does anyone know..?? i am all for afternoon games!!
Premier fixtures for this weekend
Carew v Corbally ..... M.Kiely
Star V Fairview........R Peiper
Janesboro v Summerville...M Bourke
Granville V Pike................T Mazur

papa-j
18/03/2008, 4:23 PM

Lads I dont agree at all. IMO 10:30 is a great KO time. Game over at 12.30 and you still have the whole day to spend with the family, go to the pub, watch the football on TV etc.

inexile
18/03/2008, 4:27 PM
there is an argument for both morning and afternoon matches, personally i prefer the afternoon starts but thats just me.

on a slightly different topic, i am surprised one of the more progressive clubs have not put in floodlights and play their games on a friday night leaving peoples weekends free

balls
18/03/2008, 6:52 PM
if refs are doing 2 games a day makes more since to have premier games first as they will be faster pace and ref will be fresher

abbeyvale
18/03/2008, 7:55 PM
Lads I dont agree at all. IMO 10:30 is a great KO time. Game over at 12.30 and you still have the whole day to spend with the family, go to the pub, watch the football on TV etc.

Sunday noon kick offs would suit everyone I think.

abbeyvale
18/03/2008, 7:57 PM
Premier League Table
1.Ballynanty Rovers..10 / 25 (Max Pts 61)
2.Fairview Rangers 12 / 25 (Max Pts 55)
3.Pike Rovers......... 11 / 25 (Max Pts 58)
4.Regional United.... 11 / 22 (Max Pts 55)
5.Janesboro............13 / 21 (Max Pts 48)
6.Aisling Annacotty 11 / 20 (Max Pts 53)
7.Wembley Rovers..13 / 18 (Max Pts 45)
8.Carew Park......... 14 / 17 (Max Pts 41)
9.Summerville Rovers 14 / 12 (Max Pts 36)
10.Corbally United.... 13 / 9 (Max Pts 36)
11.Star Rovers.......... 12 / 9 (Max Pts 39)
12.Granville Rangers... 12 / 7 (Max Pts 37)

Sunday 23.03.08
Carew Park v Corbally
Star Rvs V Fairview
Janesboro v Summerville
Granville V Pike

I know the fixtures were posted already but I'm just trying to keep the table and fixtures together, as it makes life easier.