View Full Version : Potentially eligible players thread
seanfhear
02/02/2024, 6:30 AM
CJ Egan-Riley loaned from Burnley to PSV Eindhoven - might be worth keeping an eye on himPerhaps Reggie Perrin could do that job ( one for the oldies )
Diggs246
02/02/2024, 7:10 AM
CJ Egan-Riley loaned from Burnley to PSV Eindhoven - might be worth keeping an eye on him
Yep. If yes playing at right back for PSV we need to keep more then an eye on him. We've let Conor Bradley go and we have to look at possible replacements for Seamus
02/02/2024, 7:19 AM
Can you let go of something you never had?
02/02/2024, 8:18 AM
It's fair to say we probably missed out on him though.
Diggs246
02/02/2024, 9:04 AM
Can you let go of something you never had?
We had him from birth!
Eirambler
02/02/2024, 9:44 AM
Think it's Dutch second division side Jong PSV that Egan Riley has signed for. His younger brother (also presumably Irish eligible) has signed for Tottenham.
EalingGreen
02/02/2024, 2:02 PM
With Michelle about to take charge, we will have unity next year and then one team, so he will be one of our own!:oI'd say Michelle will be too busy in her role of helping administer British rule in Ireland to worry about garrison games and the like, but thanks anyhow.
P.S. I won't be needing your Lottery numbers for this weekend, either. :cool:
seanfhear
02/02/2024, 2:18 PM
I suppose Mary-Lou McDonald and Michelle O'Neill may well be picking the Northern Ireland football team for awhile alright.
Eirambler
02/02/2024, 3:35 PM
I'd say Michelle will be too busy in her role of helping administer British rule in Ireland to worry about garrison games and the like, but thanks anyhow.
Well, either way, she and her mates are running the place going forward and the demographics are only going one way so get used to it would be my advice. There might well not be another unionist first minister there ever again.
gastric
02/02/2024, 6:45 PM
I'd say Michelle will be too busy in her role of helping administer British rule in Ireland to worry about garrison games and the like, but thanks anyhow.
You must have never heard the phrase 'the enemy within.' They will work for what is best for Irish people.
Goal for McAteer this afternoon as Leicester take a 2 goal lead. A shot from distance that took a deflection along the way.
A James McConnell on the bench for Liverpool today and he started a recent FA Cup game. Born in Newcastle. With that name though…?
EalingGreen
04/02/2024, 6:06 PM
A James McConnell on the bench for Liverpool today and he started a recent FA Cup game. Born in Newcastle. With that name though…?Reminds me of the time Aidan McCaffrey was at Newcastle and their manager, Gordon Lee, was saying he should play for ROI.
"But I'm not eligible", said McCaffrey.
"What, with a name like yours? You must be", spluttered Lee.
At which point Malcolm McDonald chipped in: "Then why didn't you ever play for China, Boss?"
Diggs246
04/02/2024, 6:54 PM
Reminds me of the time Aidan McCaffrey was at Newcastle and their manager, Gordon Lee, was saying he should play for ROI.
"But I'm not eligible", said McCaffrey.
"What, with a name like yours? You must be", spluttered Lee.
At which point Malcolm McDonald chipped in: "Then why didn't you ever play for China, Boss?"
The long winter days must have just flown by
CraftyToePoke
09/02/2024, 6:19 PM
Aston Villa reportedly spent one million on a sixteen year old midfielder from WBA in the window, Kielan Quinn. His father Kieran is from Co. Tyrone. Sion Swifts FC up there carried it on their FB page. He has been involved in England underage camps. Little bit of confusion as to whether the move went through or not, differing reports but whatever club he is at it seems he is eligible.
EalingGreen
11/02/2024, 5:32 PM
It's fair to say we probably missed out on though.
[B]Conor Bradley was never going to switch to the Republic, says Declan Devine
Bohemians boss Declan Devine believes there was never a question of his former protégé Conor Bradley choosing the Republic of Ireland over Northern Ireland as he was embedded in the IFA’s set-up at an early age.
Derry native Devine had a spell on the IFA staff and played a role in converting Bradley from being an attacking player into a full-back.
A photo which emerged of a young Bradley wearing a Republic of Ireland top provoked debate about his international allegiance, even though the Tyrone lad is firmly committed to Northern Ireland with no prospect of a change of heart.
And Devine says he stayed out of that conversation as Bradley and his family were content with Conor’s place in the Northern Ireland panel.
“From my point of view, I never had to work with that at all. That would always be a decision for the player and family. I’ve never influenced any players before,” said Devine.
“I’ve had players who’ve moved from one association to the other. That’s something as a coach or manager you never get involved in. To be fair to Conor, he’s extremely well treated by the Irish Football Association, there has been a lot of development there.
“That’s a decision Conor and his family made, that’s credit to them. Certainly he is a lad who would have had attention from both associations.
“There’s been changes with other players but he’s seen that as the path he wanted to take, and the family wanted to take. Good luck to him,” added Devine, who first worked with Bradley with Northern Ireland’s emerging talent squad when he was 12.
https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/football/international/conor-bradley-was-never-going-to-switch-to-the-republic-says-declan-devine/a1327319114.html
CraftyToePoke
11/02/2024, 6:07 PM
Kieran Morrisson - 17 / Midfielder
https://www.tribalfootball.com/articles/kieran-morrison-agrees-new-liverpool-deal-4485427
Born in England, plays for the north. Eligible for us. New three year deal at Liverpool.
Finn Delap made his debut at the weekend for Burton. Didn't know Rory Delap had a second son that was also a footballer.
https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/finn-delap/profil/spieler/876626
Olé Olé
09/03/2024, 10:42 AM
Dermot Mee on the bench as third choice keeper for Manchester United today I see. Did he flirt with us before? NI underage from Birmingham.
Eirambler
09/03/2024, 11:05 AM
Looking at his stats relative to his age I'd say he'd be well advised to steer clear of us if he wants any sort of international career of note. It's one position where we probably don't seem too enticing a prospect to a dual national unless they're desperately keen to play for us.
Liam Kitching. 24yr old left footed CB that also played LB when breaking into senior football. Got the assist for Coventry's goal against Wolves.
CraftyToePoke
17/03/2024, 12:42 PM
Gavin Cooney in The42 confirmed Kiernan Dewsbury Hall is eligible today. No England underage representation. 25. 10 goals & 12 assists this season at Leicester. Probably already been approached, been mentioned here & there a few times in recent years.
https://www.the42.ie/ireland-midfield-options-6328992-Mar2024/
Olé Olé
17/03/2024, 1:15 PM
I was going to say he's a good move and a good season away from England caps.
I saw him mentioned as a target for Brighton, Brentford and even Arsenal in January.
I would say that the reason for the Arsenal link (if anything in it) is the same reason he might not make the England squad too easily.
From what I have seen, he's an out and out 8. He's not a 6 or wide forward player or 10. Arsenal set up with two 8s a lot. However, England don't. He would actually have an awful lot to do to get in there. He'd need a move to Arsenal or another top half side and good run.
Gavin Cooney in The42 confirmed Kiernan Dewsbury Hall is eligible today. No England underage representation. 25. 10 goals & 12 assists this season at Leicester. Probably already been approached, been mentioned here & there a few times in recent years.
https://www.the42.ie/ireland-midfield-options-6328992-Mar2024/
That one was not on my radar at all. Good to know and hopefully goes somewhere and worth watching.
Eirambler
12/04/2024, 8:51 PM
Need to know more about this lad, he sounds like just what we need! :)
Good article on it (and him) here
https://www.balls.ie/football/tomas-oconnor-and-the-other-irish-descendants-making-waves-in-argentinian-football-553795
There's also a Thiago Dowd mentioned :D makes me think of 90's GAA footballer Tommy
05/05/2024, 1:03 PM
McGlynn made his debut for the US National team earlier this year. It was a friendly, so he is still eligible, but I doubt he's interested in declaring.
CraftyToePoke
17/06/2024, 10:26 PM
Christopher Seamus Michael Conn-Clarke, 22, from Antrim has just signed for Peterborough United. Has underage previous up to 21s with our northern brothers. Scored 23 goals & 12 assists in the National League last season. Plays as a 10 or as a striker.
17/06/2024, 11:07 PM
Christopher Seamus Michael Conn-Clarke, 22, from Antrim has just signed for Peterborough United. Has underage previous up to 21s with our northern brothers. Scored 23 goals & 12 assists in the National League last season. Plays as a 10 or as a striker.
Grand total of 1 goal in 15 games for Waterford last season in the LOI First Division. Wasn't great. Surprised he got this move.
CraftyToePoke
17/06/2024, 11:12 PM
Grand total of 1 goal in 15 games for Waterford last season in the LOI First Division. Wasn't great. Surprised he got this move.
£350k the fee being reported. Does seem like one good season alright with not a lot before that.
He's Peterboroughs third double barrelled Clarke in recent years, Clarke Harris, Mason Clark & now this boyo. So maybe they just wanted that really strange trio Nigel. For quiz purposes or some madness like that.
Eirambler
18/06/2024, 7:13 AM
If he gets a run of games in League 1 the north will cap him this side of Christmas. He's from a nationalist background but the best we could offer him is to ask him to sit tight, play better and get a move to the Championship, at which point he might get a game for us in a couple of years time.
We're never going to compete for these lower league lads because we can't just start capping them in the Nations League the way they do, nor should we even try. It's the same as Eoin Toal. If someone (like Sykes) is particularly keen to play for us and genuinely believes that they're good enough to make it with us they'll wait it out. But the reality is that most will take the handy caps on offer with the north.
EalingGreen
18/06/2024, 5:10 PM
We're never going to compete for these lower league lads because we can't just start capping them in the Nations League the way they do, nor should we even try.Name me one youngster from a Nationalist area whom we've capped even once in any Nations League game, as some form of inducement towards us, or as a ruse to keep them from heading towards the south.
To make it easier, you can find all our NL games, with line-ups, here:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Northern_Ireland_national_football_team_results_(2 020%E2%80%93present)
P.S. You probably don't want to waste too much time looking :wink:
CraftyToePoke
19/06/2024, 12:52 AM
While I wouldn't be much of a northern watcher myself ( the odd quick Google to check which new & creative ways unionism has found to keep its heel pushed down hard on the self destruct button aside ) I did take a wee peep at your squad there and found Oxford / Kilmarnock / St Mirren / Fleetwood / Leyton Orient / Stevenage / Larne as well as a few unattached players.
So if this Conn Clarke has a pulse come September you'll be eyeing him up at the dance, ye wee hures. Aye. Etc.
If he starts any way decent at L1 we should be making a phone call & telling him we're watching & to sit tight a while. Do well for a year & see where he's at. Thing is you need a manager ideally for elaborate maneuvers like that.
EalingGreen
19/06/2024, 11:19 AM
While I wouldn't be much of a northern watcher myself... ... I did take a wee peep at your squad there and found Oxford / Kilmarnock / St Mirren / Fleetwood / Leyton Orient / Stevenage / Larne as well as a few unattached players. Maybe, but that's just a reflection of where we're at, playing pool-wise.
Which is very different from Eirambler's claim that NI give out "handy" caps to young Nationalists in NL games, solely in order to keep them from the clutches of the FAI etc.
Which is why he will prove unable to cite even a single example from the three series of NL games I provided for him.
So if this Conn Clarke has a pulse come September you'll be eyeing him up at the dance, ye wee hures. Aye. Etc. CCC has been capped by us at U-17 level (when he was at Linfield), U-19's (Glentoran) and U-21's (Fleetwood), so he's been on our radar for a few years now.
He was highly rated back then, but seemed to lose his way for a bit, before making a (relatively) spectacular "comeback" at Altrincham, whose fans absolutely loved him:
http://altyfans.co.uk/index.php?PHPSESSID=90mqhvaahhq4s2f3iq8oas9pee&topic=26883.45
Or see what this non-league blogger had to say when selecting him for his National League Team of the Season:
"The final player on this list is one that has dazzled all season with play-off side Altrincham, and that is wide player Chris Conn-Clarke.
Conn-Clarke was one tipped in the summer as having the potential to be one of the standout signings, if not the standout signing, and he has more than lived up to that as being the jewel of a Robins attacking crown that has shone bright all season long.
The Northern Irishman finished the campaign with 22 goals in 46 appearances and helped himself to a further (recorded, at least) six goal involvements with assists, and so has contributed to nearly 2/3rd of The Robins entire output in the final third this year.
A mesmeric player with balletic dribbling and the man for the big occasion be it intelligence to set up his team mates or the ability to go it alone, he has been a joy to watch."
https://offtheline599656488.wordpress.com/2024/05/07/national-league-team-of-the-season-2023-24/
My guess is that Posh will make a Lge One player out of him, which should put him on the fringes (no more) of NI squads, especially should we suffer injuries etc in his position. Whether he goes beyond that, who knows, but based on Posh's record, I'm cautiously optimistic.
Either way, Michael O'Neill's pronouncements and selections have consistently demonstrated that he will NOT give player caps just to keep him away from the FAI.
If he starts any way decent at L1 we should be making a phone call & telling him we're watching & to sit tight a while. Do well for a year & see where he's at. Thing is you need a manager ideally for elaborate maneuvers like that.Do your worst - though you don't want to upset James McClean, who probably wouldn't appreciate the competition. :wink:
Eirambler
19/06/2024, 12:14 PM
Which is very different from Eirambler's claim that NI give out "handy" caps to young Nationalists in NL games, solely in order to keep them from the clutches of the FAI etc.
Actually I never said that at all. What I said was:
"We're never going to compete for these lower league lads because we can't just start capping them in the Nations League the way they do"
The stuff about giving caps to Nationalists solely to keep them away from the clutches of the FAI is your own addition/invention. I wasn't saying that at all. What I was saying is that your squad is fundamentally crap, so lads like Conn-Clarke can get capped easier, so they usually just take the caps rather than waiting around for an FAI call that may never come. As happened with Toal.
Fixer82
19/06/2024, 1:45 PM
There's a simple answer. A United team
seanfhear
19/06/2024, 1:51 PM
There's a simple answer. A United teamHow much better would a United team be ?
Just for fun ~ Which of the North's players would improve our team and squad ?
elatedscum
19/06/2024, 2:08 PM
How much better would a United team be ?
Just for fun ~ Which of the North's players would improve our team and squad ?
Squad wise, Conor Bradley, Jamal Lewis and Shea Charles...
You'd have Price, Hume and McCausland with the 21s I think
19/06/2024, 2:18 PM
Bradley. Maybe Shea Charles with time. And maybe you could argue for one of their CBs but that a position where we have strength in depth. Don't think the North produces that many (good) players tbh.
Eirambler
19/06/2024, 2:52 PM
Not convinced Charles would make our squad as things stand unless we had a few out injured. The full backs would though - Bradley because he looks to have a high ceiling and Lewis because we have next to nothing at left back. After that they have a couple of defenders and not a lot else, but we have loads of defenders (other than left backs) so they probably wouldn't get picked any more often than someone like Darragh Lenihan does.
The more important question though is that, given that is the case, why have we not been outperforming them in the last couple of years? And I think we all know the answer to that one.
EalingGreen
19/06/2024, 3:48 PM
Actually I never said that at all. What I said was:
"We're never going to compete for these lower league lads because we can't just start capping them in the Nations League the way they do"
The stuff about giving caps to Nationalists solely to keep them away from the clutches of the FAI is your own addition/invention. I wasn't saying that at all.When you pointed out that CCC is "from a nationalist background" [sic], the implication was clear, otherwise why distinguish capping him from capping comparable-standard players from eg a Unionist background, or from GB?
And to return to my original question, who exactly are these young lads from a Nationalist background to whom we have given "handy" caps in NL games? Come on, name them. One, even.
19/06/2024, 4:08 PM
Lads, play nice or go home.
elatedscum
19/06/2024, 4:16 PM
The more important question though is that, given that is the case, why have we not been outperforming them in the last couple of years? And I think we all know the answer to that one.
Not really. Most recently:
Nations League:
Ireland 3rd in League B with 7 points
Northern Ireland 3rd in League C with 5 points
Euros qualification:
Northern Ireland: 5th in a group with Denmark, Slovenia, Finland, Kazakstan and San Marino
Ireland: 4th in a group with France, Netherlands, Greece, Gibraltar
Northern Ireland's results are more akin to The Faroe Islands, Luxembourg, Gibraltar, Belarus, Azerbaijan, Malta etc. etc.
19/06/2024, 4:30 PM
Yeah, the last four years haven't been great for them, losing to the likes of Kosovo and Kazakhstan.
EalingGreen
19/06/2024, 9:04 PM
The point is we would have a wider playing pool to choose from and be more competitive. Who do you mean by "we"?
That assumes that I and other NI fans are up for it. While the (ahem) simple fact is, we don't want to combine with ROI any more than we want to cmbine in a UK team (the only option which FIFA would countenance as things stand btw).
Either way, you might be happy to lose your* team, but we don't want that, nor should we have to. As for being "more competitive", so what? I support my team win, lose or draw.
Or what is so difficult to understand about such (ahem) simple concepts? You know, belonging, affiliation, tradition, history etc, the things which go towards making a fan.
* - Unless, of course, you see this proposed team as merely being a further continuation of your old team, with a few extra Prods added.
Imagine we didn’t have the Ulster lads in the rugby squad. We wouldn’t win as many 6 nations for sure!What's rugby got to do with any of this other, perhaps, than to remind everyone that Ulster Rugby never broke away from the all-Ireland governing body? Unlike your people with Football.
Meanwhile, I'll probably get censored for the sin of sticking up for my own team, even though it was someone else who brought up the hoary old subject of a "united" [sic] team. Again.
Razors left peg
19/06/2024, 9:22 PM
Who do you mean by "we"?
That assumes that I and other NI fans are up for it. While the (ahem) simple fact is, we don't want to combine with ROI any more than we want to cmbine in a UK team (the only option which FIFA would countenance as things stand btw).
Either way, you might be happy to lose your* team, but we don't want that, nor should we have to. As for being "more competitive", so what? I support my team win, lose or draw.
Or what is so difficult to understand about such (ahem) simple concepts? You know, belonging, affiliation, tradition, history etc, the things which go towards making a fan.
* - Unless, of course, you see this proposed team as merely being a further continuation of your old team, with a few extra Prods added.
What's rugby got to do with any of this other, perhaps, than to remind everyone that Ulster Rugby never broke away from the all-Ireland governing body? Unlike your people with Football.
Meanwhile, I'll probably get censored for the sin of sticking up for my own team, even though it was someone else who brought up the hoary old subject of a "united" [sic] team. Again.
Will you feel more comfortable with it once we have a United Country called Ireland? :)
EalingGreen
19/06/2024, 9:43 PM
Will you feel more comfortable with it once we have a United Country called Ireland? :)I've been hearing that since 1966 (50th anniversary and all that). It's now more boring than anything else, esp since it is invariably brought up by someone on your side of the house, and after your results have been crap.
Besides which, there's always this:
https://www.theguardian.com/world/2024/jan/02/hong-kong-beat-china-at-football-for-first-time-in-29-years
Note the date. And the result. :wink:
Eirambler
19/06/2024, 9:44 PM
When you pointed out that CCC is "from a nationalist background" [sic], the implication was clear, otherwise why distinguish capping him from capping comparable-standard players from eg a Unionist background, or from GB?
And to return to my original question, who exactly are these young lads from a Nationalist background to whom we have given "handy" caps in NL games? Come on, name them. One, even.
Once again, no. The "implication" you have taken from it is woefully incorrect I'm afraid. The reference to his background was simply to note that he might be a player who may hold some interest in playing for us, as there has rarely been much interest in playing for Ireland from players of a unionist background.
With all due respect I'd suggest that, in future, you might be better served by responding to what posters have actually written, as opposed to whatever bizarre assumptions or conclusions you may have jumped to based on your own biases. Once again, my point wasn't that the north are going around capping lower league players in some race to keep them away from the FAI, it was that the north are doing it because their squad is crap.
EalingGreen
19/06/2024, 10:09 PM
Once again, no. The "implication" you have taken from it is woefully incorrect I'm afraid. The reference to his background was simply to note that he might be a player who may hold some interest in playing for us, as there has rarely been much interest in playing for Ireland from players of a unionist background.
With all due respect I'd suggest that, in future, you might be better served by responding to what posters have actually written, as opposed to whatever bizarre assumptions or conclusions you may have jumped to based on your own biases. Once again, my point wasn't that the north are going around capping lower league players in some race to keep them away from the FAI, it was that the north are doing it because their squad is crap.You picked out CCC and Eoin Toal (for their Nationalist background), but never even considered the likes of Ethan Galbraith, Trai Hume, Ross McCausland or Dion Charles, playing at a similar standard. (Charles plays in the same team as Toal, btw).
I mean, when you cannot even bring yourself to type "NI", when that is accurate, respectful and quicker etc, it shows what you really think.
https://letmegooglethat.com/?q=Dog+Whistle+statements