View Full Version : Potentially eligible players thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 [45] 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110

19/01/2017, 6:59 PM
Except if they are Northern Irish.

Oh yeah, I went there!

http://i0.kym-cdn.com/entries/icons/facebook/000/006/026/futuramafry.jpg

TheOneWhoKnocks
20/01/2017, 4:52 PM
Just because someone said someone else said Robinson is eligible doesn't mean it's true. It's just Chinese whispers.

Del - Grealish played for us at under age level plenty of times. He came out and admitted that he identifies as English, that he supported England.

Lots of people play for lots of countries for purely footballing reasons.

If Bamford (or anyone) wants to play for Ireland they will do what Arter, Christie and McGoldrick done and declare their intentions.

They are grown men.

20/01/2017, 7:16 PM
Just because someone said someone else said Robinson is eligible doesn't mean it's true. It's just Chinese whispers.

Del - Grealish played for us at under age level plenty of times. He came out and admitted that he identifies as English, that he supported England.

Lots of people play for lots of countries for purely footballing reasons.

If Bamford (or anyone) wants to play for Ireland they will do what Arter, Christie and McGoldrick done and declare their intentions.

They are grown men.
*Arter only had to clarify that because of media speculation. He's played for us since he was 16.

But yes if Bamford wants to play for us,(or anyone) it would be nice if he nailed his colours to the mast so to speak.

If I were him, what would hold me back is that he's nowhere near our squad so it might come off as arrogant to do it now. He should wait until he's recovered some form and then just do a small soundbite with OTB or something. Quite simple.

DeLorean
21/01/2017, 9:25 AM
Don't get your point about Grealish TOWK? His first choice eventually turned out to be England but we already know Bamford's first choice is also England, he's clearly stated as much. That doesn't mean he doesn't also identify with his Irish heritage.

DannyInvincible
21/01/2017, 10:54 AM
Hello all. Not been around for a good while - been digital-detoxing - so I was just catching up and skimming through stuff I'd missed on this thread last night. Good to see it still thriving near the top, as ever. And, of course, TOWK still winding everyone up... :)

I saw someone mention a video where David McGoldrick discussed his life-long emotional connection to Ireland and how he used to always get his match programmes signed by the Irish players when he was younger (as his allegiance was/is still being questioned by TOWK, even though TOWK already accepted over two years ago, back in 2014, (http://foot.ie/threads/34729-David-McGoldrick?p=1791637&viewfull=1#post1791637) that McGoldrick has wanted to play for Ireland since he was a kid). This was the video in question:

https://vimeo.com/111545584

Also, TOWK was having a go at Arter and another player for referring to Ireland as "the country" instead of "my country". I'm pretty certain I've heard James McClean refer to Ireland as "the country" and "this country" (see: http://www.the42.ie/james-mcclean-reaction-ireland-austria-3078970-Nov2016/ and https://www.joe.ie/sport/watch-james-mccleans-passionate-and-emotional-post-match-interview/550195) in post-match interviews and only a brave man would attempt to cast doubt over his credentials, passion or commitment.

Gary Breen is another (former) player who has referred (http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/living-green-dream-is-pure-heaven-for-breen-1.1060084) to Ireland as "the country". He had two Irish parents and grew up feeling very much Irish. Or are we to question his commitment too?

Is it really that big a deal whether a player says "the country" or "my country" so long as he's doing the important talking for Ireland with his feet?

TheOneWhoKnocks
21/01/2017, 1:27 PM
Don't get your point about Grealish TOWK? His first choice eventually turned out to be England but we already know Bamford's first choice is also England, he's clearly stated as much. That doesn't mean he doesn't also identify with his Irish heritage.

My point is that it's an exercise in futility talking about Bamford because a) he is not good enough for an Ireland call up, let alone an England call up; b) England is his clear preference and people should respect that; c) I don't get the mentality behind people almost hoping someone doesn't fulfil their potential so they can play for us.

Jamie O'Hara and Wayne Rooney identify with their heritage too.

Plenty of eligible players have no interest in playing for Ireland for various reasons but still identify with their Irish heritage.

Just because an English player declares for Ireland doesn't make them more or less Irish.

You don't get my point about Grealish? You don't remember the bollockings I got when I correctly called that he would declare for England? You don't get my point, yet you thanked a comment referring to posts that are over a year old and have little or nothing to do with my comments over the last few pages.

Wangball
21/01/2017, 1:32 PM
An interesting aside but Rob Brennan, the anglo-Irish London based journo, put up a tweet about the FAI looking into the eligibility of Robinson and one of the people who liked it was Bradley Lewis, Bradley played with us up to U21 level and would've been a team mate of Robinson @ Villa! Some inside knowledge on the fact perhaps??

TheOneWhoKnocks
21/01/2017, 1:35 PM
*Arter only had to clarify that because of media speculation. He's played for us since he was 16.

But yes if Bamford wants to play for us,(or anyone) it would be nice if he nailed his colours to the mast so to speak.

If I were him, what would hold me back is that he's nowhere near our squad so it might come off as arrogant to do it now. He should wait until he's recovered some form and then just do a small soundbite with OTB or something. Quite simple.

In fairness, he played for Ireland up to U-19 level and hadn't played in several years since. Loads of players have bounced between countries.

I wasn't having a go at Arter, Christie or McGoldrick when I said that.

Ireland was not Christie's first preference, but he didn't faff about like Hogan and I can respect his transparency. That was my point.

Arter & McGoldrick, too, were always vociferous about their intentions. That too was my point.

There's no media circus like there was with Pilkington in the past, and now Hogan.

Although you can't blame the players in all circumstances as sometimes it's the Irish media pushing the issue, not them.

DeLorean
21/01/2017, 2:06 PM
My point is that it's an exercise in futility talking about Bamford because a) he is not good enough for an Ireland call up, let alone an England call up; b) England is his clear preference and people should respect that; c) I don't get the mentality behind people almost hoping someone doesn't fulfil their potential so they can play for us.

You don't have to involve yourself in a conversation you consider futile. I think he's plenty good enough to make Ireland squads but has just made a few poor career moves. He's played with us before and he said he'd be open to the idea of doing so again. Who are you to contradict him?

Jamie O'Hara and Wayne Rooney identify with their heritage too.

So what? I was only responding to you questioning the idea that Bamford might identify with his Irish heritage, it doesn't make him any less English if he does.

Plenty of eligible players have no interest in playing for Ireland for various reasons but still identify with their Irish heritage.

Bamford has already played for Ireland, so he was obviously interested in playing for Ireland. That doesn't mean he's interested in being tied though obviously but nobody is saying that he is as of yet. Nobody is disputing that England is his first preference.

Just because an English player declares for Ireland doesn't make them more or less Irish.

No idea why you've made this point.

You don't get my point about Grealish? You don't remember the bollockings I got when I correctly called that he would declare for England? You don't get my point, yet you thanked a comment referring to posts that are over a year old and have little or nothing to do with my comments over the last few pages.

You got the bollockings for your reasoning and your inability to accept that things aren't always black and white when it comes to national identity, not for your feeling that he would declare for England. You can pat yourself on the back for coming out the right side of a 50/50 prediction all you want but it doesn't mean your argument was any more reasonable or even logical.

If you're talking about me thanking Danny's post above it was more of a welcome back thanks than anything else, but as usual he schooled you with logic and reason and had the evidence to back it up, so that's always worth acknowledging too.

TheOneWhoKnocks
21/01/2017, 2:08 PM
I've just clicked on those links re: McClean and he says "this country", not "the country".

So not the same thing is it?

Never mind the added context.

Never mind the fact that the comment he alludes to was intended to be humorous in the first place.

TheOneWhoKnocks
21/01/2017, 2:16 PM
You don't have to involve yourself in a conversation you consider futile. I think he's plenty good enough to make Ireland squads but has just made a few poor career moves. He's played with us before and he said he'd be open to the idea of doing so again. Who are you to contradict him?

So what? I was only responding to you questioning the idea that Bamford might identify with his Irish heritage, it doesn't make him any less English if he does.

Bamford has already played for Ireland, so he was obviously interested in playing for Ireland. That doesn't mean he's interested in being tied though obviously but nobody is saying that he is as of yet. Nobody is disputing that England is his first preference.

No idea why you've made this point.

You got the bollockings for your reasoning and your inability to accept that things aren't always black and white when it comes to national identity, not for your feeling that he would declare for England. You can pat yourself on the back for coming out the right side of a 50/50 prediction all you want but it doesn't mean your argument was any more reasonable or even logical.

If you're talking about me thanking Danny's post above it was more of a welcome back thanks than anything else, but as usual he schooled you with logic and reason and had the evidence to back it up, so that's always worth acknowledging too.

- I know it's not a black and white issue. I always articulated my reasons for stating why I believed Grealish would declare for England over Ireland with logic, reason and facts. Several dozen times. And I never insulted you or Danny when doing so, while you two resorted to namecalling several times. Never the sign of someone winning a debate is it? It's completely asinine that you are ignoring this, but typical.

- I know (Bamford) was interested then. Well, as interested as Grealish and Crowley were. But after moves to Chelsea, Premier League football and lots of Championship goals he is not as interested.

- You posted that Bamford identified with his Irish heritage. In the links I was directed to he joked of having extended family members on one side of the family who wanted him to declare for Ireland. He didn't say anything specifically about identifying with his Irish heritage. Not that I see how it has any point.

- Yes, he is open to the idea of playing for Ireland in the future if he is not good enough to play for England. Until that day comes and he contacts the FAI..

DeLorean
21/01/2017, 2:28 PM
I called you a moron once and it had nothing to do with the Grealish discussion, it was after you were gloating when Keogh made his howler at Wembley in the playoff final. I apologised almost immediately and you said at the time that you accepted my apology and even understood why I snapped at you. What other "namecalling" have I engaged in? I'm sure you have several examples.

TheOneWhoKnocks
21/01/2017, 2:32 PM
It's not exactly a very rational thing to do is it?

I think you are being obtuse. I'm not going to sift through thousands of comments to find the offending ones, but I remember you and Danny making several offensive comments about my intelligence - which I complained about at the time.

Probably a synonym for moron.

21/01/2017, 2:48 PM
Gentlemen, we have a rule about attacking the post. You would do well to remember it.

DeLorean
21/01/2017, 2:52 PM
TOWK, if you're going to make accusations I think you should have to back them up. If what you say is accurate the comments should be either in this thread or the Grealish one, hardly that big a chore.

DannyInvincible
21/01/2017, 3:19 PM
You don't get my point, yet you thanked a comment referring to posts that are over a year old and have little or nothing to do with my comments over the last few pages.

The discussion on McGoldrick to which I was referring (http://foot.ie/threads/119079-Potentially-eligible-players-thread?p=1890154&viewfull=1#post1890154) was in the middle of September. Before last night, I hadn't posted on the forum since August, so it was just something I came across going through the thread since then and thought it worth posting the video that samhaydenjr had mentioned (as he hadn't posted it himself at the time) whilst also pointing out that you had already accepted over two years ago that McGoldrick had a desire to play for Ireland since he was a kid, so what the reason was/is behind your decision to go back on that more recently and argue with people about it again, who knows?

Your criticism of Arter and O'Dowda for having referred to Ireland as "the country" (http://foot.ie/threads/119079-Potentially-eligible-players-thread?p=1898307&viewfull=1#post1898307) was in mid-November (on page 105); also relatively recent. I thought it was very unfair on those lads, which is why I brought it up. What that has to do with your present discussion with DeLorean over Grealish, I'm not sure either.

I've just clicked on those links re: McClean and he says "this country", not "the country".

So not the same thing is it?

I referred to both his use of "this country" and "the country", which I'm pretty certain I've also heard him say, albeit not in the two links I provided.

Anyway, here are some examples of other players born in Ireland using the phrase...

Shane Long: https://www.joe.ie/sport/a-long-way-from-tipperary-joe-meets-shane-long/24456

[Stephen Ireland's] obviously a gifted player. I think it’s up to him, he has his own reasons for not playing for the country and who are we to judge?

David Forde: http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/international/david-forde-welcomes-competition-from-shay-given-1.2151218

He (Given) is entitled to do that (eye up his spot in the team). After what he’s done for the country, I’ve a lot of admiration for him; he’s been one of the best players for the country. It’s great that I’ve been playing for the last couple of years or whatever and long may that continue.

Robbie Keane: http://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/soccer/soccer-news/robbie-keane-says-emotional-wreck-8729782

All I did was want to do my best for the country and I think I’ve done that. I’ve no regrets whatsoever and the amount of messages I’ve got has been incredible.

Robbie again: http://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/soccer/soccer-news/keane-admits-surprise-brutal-axing-1775227

Kevin [Doyle] has done fantastic for the country since he started playing.

For some diversity, Robbie Keane referring to "the nation": http://www.the42.ie/ireland-germany-robbie-keane-2377090-Oct2015/

I keep saying, it doesn’t matter who is playing or not. It’s about the nation and about everybody pulling together to try to achieve one goal, and that’s to qualify for France.

I don't think I really need to bother searching for any further examples; they're examples of some of our most committed servants using it.

Does it perhaps only jar with you when you hear it in an English accent, or, more likely, simply because you just haven't really taken to the guy saying it?

Never mind the fact that the comment he alludes to was intended to be humorous in the first place.

Which comment? Your criticism of Arter and O'Dowda? You said their use of "the country" wound you up and jarred with you - if you were joking, fair enough - but, a few posts later (http://foot.ie/threads/119079-Potentially-eligible-players-thread?p=1898322&viewfull=1#post1898322), you contrasted them (along with Pilkington now too) from players born in Ireland who you said you'd never heard using "the country".

What was the reason for continuing the "joke" via making such a comparison if it wasn't to make a serious point and imply that there was something negative to be read from Arter, Pilkington and O'Dowda's use of the phrase? And if it was truly just a joke, why are you still arguing the point in respect of McClean?

- I know it's not a black and white issue. I always articulated my reasons for stating why I believed Grealish would declare for England over Ireland with logic, reason and facts. Several dozen times. And I never insulted you or Danny when doing so, while you two resorted to namecalling several times. Never the sign of someone winning a debate is it? It's completely asinine that you are ignoring this, but typical.

If you're going to accuse myself and DeLorean of "namecalling several times", I'd appreciate it if you provided some evidence or else retracted the accusation.

21/01/2017, 3:28 PM
Guess who's back
Back again
Danny's back
Tell a friend

TheOneWhoKnocks
21/01/2017, 8:01 PM
- McGoldrick had an Irish link through adoptive parents. He only found out he had a blood link through his maternal grandmother as an adult.

McGoldrick's research found that he also had a blood tie to Ireland as well as through his adoptive parents. "I got in contact with my birth mum a few years ago. She mentioned that her dad was Irish. She died a couple of weeks ago which is sad, but I'd gotten this interest in playing for Ireland."

http://www.goal.com/en-ie/news/3942/ireland/2014/02/02/4589701/david-mcgoldrick-hoping-for-ireland-call-up

I'm not going to retract the accusation over you and Delorean resorting to insulting me. Ye both insulted me several times and ye know fully well ye did! If I'm forced to find the insults (which have probably been edited in any case) I will do so, but I'm not going to spend hours sifting through comments now. I'll do it when I have the time.

Did I jokingly complain about Bamford saying "the country"?

No, I didn't. So stick to the topic at hand and stop dredging stuff up from several months ago just to wind someone up.

samhaydenjr
21/01/2017, 8:03 PM
Gentlemen, we have a rule about attacking the post. You would do well to remember it.

Gentlemen, you can't fight in here. This is the War Room.

CraftyToePoke
21/01/2017, 8:04 PM
Cat meet pigeons

Ryan Manning calls us 'they' and speaks of his ambition to play 'international football' - https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2017/0121/846784-manning-eyeing-ireland-future-while-impressing-qpr/

TheOneWhoKnocks
21/01/2017, 8:16 PM
"They are mentally tough to play over here and definitely, the League of Ireland is a good stepping stone towards getting to England.” - Ryan Manning

I'm assuming he's referring to League of Ireland players.

“I want to play international football for my country like every Irish footballer wants to do,” Manning told RTE Sport after Saturday’s 1-1 draw with Fulham, where the former Ireland Under-19 international scored his first league goal en route to picking up the man-of-the-match award.

Ryan Manning referring to his country.

CraftyToePoke
21/01/2017, 8:50 PM
And in the same breath

“They’re mid World Cup qualifiers at the moment so I’m just going to keep playing at club level, improve and play as many games as I can.

“And if Martin O’Neill feels that I deserve a call up, I’d be absolutely over the moon with it. So my long-term goal is to play international football.”

DeLorean
21/01/2017, 9:17 PM
I'm not going to retract the accusation over you and Delorean resorting to insulting me. Ye both insulted me several times and ye know fully well ye did! If I'm forced to find the insults (which have probably been edited in any case) I will do so, but I'm not going to spend hours sifting through comments now. I'll do it when I have the time.

Okay but just so we're on the same page, you'll be digging out examples of namecalling, as that was the accusation. I've only so much control over what you decide to get insulted by. Why would I engage in namecalling and then edit the post? You can only edit posts within a day or two anyway.

DannyInvincible
21/01/2017, 11:11 PM
- McGoldrick had an Irish link through adoptive parents. He only found out he had a blood link through his maternal grandmother as an adult.

http://www.goal.com/en-ie/news/3942/ireland/2014/02/02/4589701/david-mcgoldrick-hoping-for-ireland-call-up

So you accept that he's had a connection to Ireland since he was a kid and thus had an emotional desire to play for us? If so, good; we're on the same page.

Righto. Don't leave it hanging now...

Did I jokingly complain about Bamford saying "the country"?

No, I didn't. So stick to the topic at hand and stop dredging stuff up from several months ago just to wind someone up.

I'm confused now as I didn't mention Bamford. What has Bamford got to do with it? You targeted Arter, O'Dowda and Pilkington for using a particular phrase that you claimed Ireland-born players wouldn't use - your insinuation obviously being that use of this phrase might be evidence or some sort of indication that the former group may be lacking in genuine connection, commitment or emotional interest - so I've mentioned those three, but I've also provided evidence of numerous Ireland-born players (Robbie Keane, Shane Long and David Forde, for example) using the phrase too, so your observation or assumption that Ireland-born players wouldn't use the phrase is evidently incorrect, meaning your negative judgment of Arter, O'Dowda and Pilkington on the basis of them using said phrase is unfair.

In what way have I gone off-topic? I'm challenging stuff raised by yourself in the thread that stood out to me since I was last here. Challenging something with which you happen to take issue in a perfectly reasonable and civil manner - which is what I have done - isn't the same thing as winding someone up. Can't we just discuss the issues raised - they're totally valid and it's completely reasonable to pull you up on what you say - rather than you resorting to paranoid accusations and playing the victim? Why does every attempt to debate something with you have to devolve into that? Just take some responsibility for what you say and stop trying to deflect blame onto me. Please.

TheOneWhoKnocks
22/01/2017, 12:55 PM
He (McGoldrick, not you) says he developed an interest in playing for Ireland when he explored his biological mother's background in the article I posted.

What Bamford has to do with it is that the discussion is currently about whether he is likely to play for Ireland or not. The discussion hasn't been about Arter, O'Dowda or Pilkington saying my country/the country/Ireland/Timbuktu for months and months. And you bringing it up is borderline trolling. There are plenty of times I was going back and forth with you and decided to leave it for my own sanity. I could go back and revive an argument that ended 9 months ago just to boost my ego but I have the self-awareness to see that would be completely absurd.

The "evidence" you provided for McClean wasn't very evident. But then someone comparing Anthony Pilkington's Irishness to James McClean and Robbie Keane's kind of speaks for itself anyway.

And, of course, TOWK still winding everyone up...

That was in your first post since returning to the forum, yet I'm paranoid and playing the victim.

You're gas.

22/01/2017, 1:55 PM
The birth link only confirmed his eligibility, but he was already eligible through his adoptive family who themselves were Irish. That's what I thought anyway. I was under the impression that McGoldrick had always identified as being Irish. Can't be sure though as I don't get hung up about these things.

22/01/2017, 2:14 PM
McGoldrick says in the interview above there that he's wanted to play for Ireland since he's been a kid, but he says something like, "at the back of all the programmes, I've always had the Irish sign"... Am I picking that up correctly and, if so, what does he mean exactly?

Hold on a second. I thought he only discovered that he was eligible for Ireland/had any links to Ireland through his birth mother a year or two ago? I find what he's saying incredibly hard to believe in fairness unless something was lost in translation.

From my understanding, he grew up in an Irish family but, being adopted, didn't think he qualified. He recently looked into his birth parents and found out one of them had Irish nationality.

Ah I see. Fair enough.

i think he means the irish flag???

From earlier in the McGoldrick thread. "Ah I see. fair enough"!

Olé Olé
22/01/2017, 2:28 PM
The birth link only confirmed his eligibility, but he was already eligible through his adoptive family who themselves were Irish. That's what I thought anyway. I was under the impression that McGoldrick had always identified as being Irish. Can't be sure though as I don't get hung up about these things.

Yeah, he just was misinformed that he was ineligible by virtue that his adoptive Irish family wasn't his biological family. Then it was a double-whammy when he realised a) that he was already eligible through his adoptive family and b) he had Irish blood through his biological family anyway.

So, he was doubly eligible!

I like him. He seems to love playing for us, genuinely. And he has been desperate unlucky for both us and for his club. Remember when Leicester went up and bid for him? Well, he's desperately unlucky not to have a PL medal. Injuries have ruled him out at times and he's so skillful too, I wonder have injuries robbed him of some speed or fitness too.

DannyInvincible
22/01/2017, 2:55 PM
He (McGoldrick, not you) says he developed an interest in playing for Ireland when he explored his biological mother's background in the article I posted.

You've not answered the question. Do you accept that McGoldrick has had a connection to Ireland since he was a kid and thus had an emotional desire to play for us? The problem was that he didn't think he qualified until he traced his birth mother's family tree. You accepted that this was the case here (http://foot.ie/threads/34729-David-McGoldrick?p=1791637&viewfull=1#post1791637). Are you now going back on that?

This is what he said (http://www.eadt.co.uk/sport/republic_of_ireland_should_come_calling_for_red_ho t_david_mcgoldrick_so_says_ipswich_town_team_mate_ stephen_hunt_1_3273292) to the Irish Sun before everything was sorted with the FAI:

"I knew there was an Irish link to the McGoldricks, but I had been adopted so I didn’t think that counted. I was only 17 when I was first asked and I didn’t know my background so I didn’t think I would be able to play for Ireland.

My adoptive mum treated me as if she was my real mum so I didn’t need another mother. But it was always in the back of my mind that I wanted to find out where I came from and I got in contact with my birth mum a few years ago and it went alright.

She mentioned that her dad was Irish. His surname was Howley and my birth mum’s name was Karen. She died a couple of years ago which is sad but I had gotten this interest to play for Ireland.

I would like to follow it through. I haven’t been in contact with anyone from the FAI. I just want to get the paperwork done – it is up to me to prove the link and then make myself available for selection.

My club football is the most important thing but I would love to play for Ireland. With Martin O’Neill and Roy Keane there, as well as a lot of good players, it would be great to be a part of that."

And this is what he said in the FAI video I posted above after the confirmation came through:

"I've got lots of Irish connections, but it's just there was this complicated situation of chasing it all together. For a long time, I've wanted to play for Ireland. Since I've been a kid, on the back of the programmes, I've always had the Irish sign. But it's like, actually getting the confirmation of it, I'm delighted that it's gone through now and I'm really, really excited to put on the jersey if I can."

What Bamford has to do with it is that the discussion is currently about whether he is likely to play for Ireland or not. The discussion hasn't been about Arter, O'Dowda or Pilkington saying my country/the country/Ireland/Timbuktu for months and months. And you bringing it up is borderline trolling. There are plenty of times I was going back and forth with you and decided to leave it for my own sanity. I could go back and revive an argument that ended 9 months ago just to boost my ego but I have the self-awareness to see that would be completely absurd.

The Bamford discussion is a separate conversation in this thread. You raising it with me is a red herring. If you want my opinion, for what it's worth, I have no idea how likely it is that he might play for Ireland some day. I'd say it's only a possibility; not a probability.

The Arter/O'Dowda thing was first raised by you in this thread in mid-November; not "9 months ago" or "months and months" ago. Anyway, not that that should really matter if you were truly interested in sincere discussion and debate. I've taken up points and discussions with other posters that may be a few months old elsewhere on the forum. It's hardly trolling or absurd seeing as I've not been on for a while. I'm just adding my tuppence-worth to relevant discussions that stood out in particular, as I think I'm entitled to do, no? Discussion is fluid and you can have a few ongoing in a thread simultaneously; I think we're allowed to go back and forth to old points and new points, aren't we? What's the big issue? It's a discussion forum and some points you'd made in the thread jarred with me. Why not just discuss the matter rather than side-stepping it by making a big deal out of the fact your views have simply been challenged?

osarusan once posted this Ralph Waldo Emerson quote in another thread:

"Let me never fall into the vulgar mistake of dreaming that I am persecuted whenever I am contradicted."

I've always liked it, but I think it's very fitting here.

The "evidence" you provided for McClean wasn't very evident. But then someone comparing Anthony Pilkington's Irishness to James McClean and Robbie Keane's kind of speaks for itself anyway.

I said I was pretty certain I've heard McClean say "the country" and also provided two examples of McClean saying "this country". That was all. Anyhow, even if you wish to discount McClean, I've provided indisputable evidence of Robbie Keane, Shane Long and David Forde all using the phrase, so your point and the related presumption simply aren't valid.

Who's comparing Irishness? Strawman alert.

That was in your first post since returning to the forum, yet I'm paranoid and playing the victim.

You're gas.

That was actually my eighth post since Friday night and that comment was in light of your prior contentious form (which I noticed hasn't changed much (http://foot.ie/threads/219162-Irish-Players-signed-by-non-UK-managers-A-Report)), but it was also meant somewhat light-heartedly, hence the smilie. Hardly paranoia or victim-playing on my part. :/

TrapAPony
22/01/2017, 4:49 PM
Scott Hogan nearing West Ham move and expected to be completed this week according to Sky sources. I am mostly looking forward to his press conference when they ask about his future ambitions. That will put the International debate to bed.

TheOneWhoKnocks
23/01/2017, 12:31 PM
Again.

"I got in contact with my birth mum a few years ago. She mentioned that her dad was Irish. She died a couple of weeks ago which is sad, but I'd gotten this interest in playing for Ireland."

I.e. acquire; obtain

I have learned not to place much stock in footballer PR exercises anyways after the Grealish situation but believe what you want to believe!

I'm not interested in any kind of debate with you sincere or otherwise, just like all the people who block you on Twitter, because you are an absolute winder! It's not just that you have revived a debate that ended two months ago, it's the complete banality of it.

Questioning something I said over Bamford fair enough, but a light-hearted comment about footballers saying "the country"?!

It's not a strawman. Comparing Pilkington and Keane's Irishness sums up how you completely ignored the context of the quotes when you compared what McClean said to what Pilkington/Arter/O'Dowda said.

And, of course, TOWK still winding everyone up... :)

Maybe if you included one full stop instead of three it would be less obvious what your intentions were when you made that daft comment.

DeLorean
23/01/2017, 12:57 PM
When d'you reckon you'll be producing the namecalling evidence? Just want to know how long I'll be holding my breath.

23/01/2017, 1:04 PM
I'm have no interest in letting this drag out any longer, McGoldrick has demonstrated an affinity for the Irish team for a long time, and put significant effort into validating his eligibility before making his debut.
That's the end of the discussion.

TheOneWhoKnocks
23/01/2017, 1:05 PM
When d'you reckon you'll be producing the namecalling evidence? Just want to know how long I'll be holding my breath.

I will only go looking for it if I am forced to.

I'd have more respect for you if you just owned up to it, because you did it more than once and you're bound to remember.

Other people are bound to remember.

I'm guessing it happened before I took my sabbatical so I will start then (if I am forced to).

23/01/2017, 1:08 PM
I will only go looking for it if I am forced to.

I'd have more respect for you if you just owned up to it, because you did it more than once and you're bound to remember.

Other people are bound to remember.

I'm guessing it happened before I took my sabbatical so I will start then (if I am forced to).

Do it. Loser takes a week off.

TheOneWhoKnocks
23/01/2017, 1:09 PM
Can you give me until Wednesday?

It's going to take me ages.

23/01/2017, 1:13 PM
Can you give me until Wednesday?

It's going to take me ages.
Midnight tomorrow (i.e. Tuesday night/Wednesday morning)

TheOneWhoKnocks
23/01/2017, 1:18 PM
Okay.

I'm looking now. My post history only goes back to the beginning of January, so I'm searching every thread manually. If I can't find it by then I will accept the week ban graciously - although I do recall several instances where you deleted large swathes of posts so the relevant insults may have been deleted too.

Anyways, I will PM you if I find them. :sweat:

23/01/2017, 1:20 PM
I can still view deleted posts, if you think it's one of them, PM me a link and I'll check it out.

CraftyToePoke
23/01/2017, 1:24 PM
Isn't he already very busy with other homework you set for him ?

23/01/2017, 1:30 PM
Isn't he already very busy with other homework you set for him ?

I should certainly hope so.

johnnyc
23/01/2017, 7:33 PM
Is there any chance you lads can hold off on the pathetic bickering so the rest of us can chat about football?

No? Oh, ok. Grand so.

DeLorean
23/01/2017, 7:49 PM
Chat away Johnny.

Olé Olé
23/01/2017, 8:46 PM
Who would you like to see come on board, Johnny? Any interest in Hogan now?

25/01/2017, 3:12 AM
I wish I had a teacher in school as demanding as tets. I might have tried harder.

25/01/2017, 9:27 AM
You certainly wouldn't always be doing the nightshift.

25/01/2017, 12:24 PM
You certainly wouldn't always be doing the nightshift.

Spicy!

DannyInvincible
25/01/2017, 1:41 PM
Questioning something I said over Bamford fair enough, but a light-hearted comment about footballers saying "the country"?!

If it was just a joke and there was no serious point behind it, that's fine, but why did you persist with the argument back then and why have you been persisting with it even now if you were only joking? The reason I've taken issue with it - even if you consider it "banal" - is because it's another typical example of how you constantly try and chip away at players of ours who were born outside Ireland. Generally, they're decent, committed lads who are delighted to don the jersey and get in touch with their roots, and your suspicions and aspersions characterise them very unfairly as cartoonishly-cynical mercenaries.

It's not a strawman. Comparing Pilkington and Keane's Irishness sums up how you completely ignored the context of the quotes when you compared what McClean said to what Pilkington/Arter/O'Dowda said.

It's a strawman because only you raised the notion of "comparing Irishness". You were the one doing the comparing and contrasting of players born in and outside of Ireland on the basis of them using a particular phrase; not me. My point has simply been that you can't read very much into a player born outside of Ireland using the phrase you pinpointed seeing as the likes of Robbie Keane, Shane Long and David Forde have all used it too. Robbie used it in the exact same manner: "All I did was want to do my best for the country and I think I’ve done that." I can find further examples of Jeff Hendrick, Robbie Brady and Roy Keane all using the phrase "for the country" on Google. Why do you ignore these examples?

On the other nonsense you've posted:

i) I wouldn't press you so much if you weren't so loose with accuracy or facts and just answered a question straight, but if you don't want to discuss things with me, why are you replying to me? Just ignore me completely. Nobody's forcing you to engage.
ii) Stop making things up about me, as it puts me in this rather annoying position where I feel I have to defend myself, which only clogs up the forum with irrelevant nonsense and, no doubt, annoys other users. I haven't tweeted since early October and I wouldn't even know myself how many Twitter users might have me blocked, so I'm not sure how you would know either. Not that that's remotely relevant to anything we've been discussing anyway. And you can hardly pontificate about alleged name-calling and then engage in the very same yourself. :rolleyes:

25/01/2017, 1:47 PM
Lads dont start this messing again.

DI are you off work (again) or something :P

liamoo11
25/01/2017, 9:17 PM
I see Sean goss looks like signing for qpr from man Utd . I'm sure we have discussed this before that he is eligible for us . Any ideas?