View Full Version : Potentially eligible players thread

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110

08/06/2009, 12:25 PM
Cunningham wary on eligibility change

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/0608/ireland.html

Fizzer
08/06/2009, 12:45 PM
Would be a strange situation if Anton Ferdinand declared for us and played against England and Rio. Anyone ever heard of two brothers playing against each other for two different countries? (not sure if Anton's good enough to get in our squad anyway at the moment but he's young)

Deckydee
08/06/2009, 12:49 PM
http://www.eleven-a-side.com/worldcup2010/news.asp?n=36538

08/06/2009, 12:59 PM
Would be a strange situation if Anton Ferdinand declared for us and played against England and Rio. Anyone ever heard of two brothers playing against each other for two different countries? (not sure if Anton's good enough to get in our squad anyway at the moment but he's young)
Christian Vieiri's brother Massimiliano played for Australia - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Max_Vieri - Christian was born in Italy, but his brother was born in Oz after his family emigrated there

Another player that would become available is Matthew Connolly from QPR...he could be worth a look
Connolly was called into the U-19's a few years ago - http://www.rte.ie/sport/2005/0810/under19.html - but didn't play. Think he might have pulled out of the squad altogether.
Played for England U-19s nine months later: http://www.thefa.com/England/MensUnder19s/NewsAndFeatures/2006/England_u19_belgium.aspx

off topic, quite a few of that Ireland U-19 squad have gone on to gain full international caps, while only Micah Richards from the England squad has a full cap.

Wangball
08/06/2009, 1:13 PM
Anyone ever heard of two brothers playing against each other for two different countries?

In the last World Cup Ivory Coast & Holland were drawn together in the Group Stage, at the time Bonnaventure Kalou was captain of the Ivorian team while his brother Salomon was trying desperately to get Dutch citizenship so that he could play for Holland - Van Basten even left an open space for him in the squad, his brother was quite damning of hm saying he shouldn't even be considering this kind of thing and people in the Ivory Coast were up in arms (historcally it doesn't take much for this to happen!) calling it treason and what not but in the end his citizenship never came through, he never played for Holland and he's now an integral part of the Ivorian set up...funny how stuff like that happens!

Noelys Guitar
08/06/2009, 1:16 PM
Remember the Gallens at QPR. One brother declared for Ireland the other brother declared for England. Don't think either brother broke through into their senior international teams.

08/06/2009, 1:18 PM
Where is the evidence of Givens comments about Stephen Ireland.

republicofwhite
08/06/2009, 1:24 PM
as i say, save your Westwood vitriol for someone else more deserving of it. The guy cleared up the Catholic boy thing ages ago, it was tongue in cheek banter to some amateur journalist up in Carlisle and was completely misinterpretated. i was talking to him after the Nigeria match, he's a very humble and down to earth guy and was stressing how delighted he was to get the cap, and how it was a massive deal for him. Also the last guy to board the team bus by a mile, as he hung around chatting and getting pictures with all the kids and fans for as long as they liked. Lets not tar everyone with the same brush just because of their birth place, give them a chance to prove their interest and passion to play for us first. They're not all Terry Mancini's for instance.

Wangball
08/06/2009, 1:47 PM
What you mean the "im not Irish as such, Im a good catholic boy" quote from him?

http://www.sundaymercury.net/midlands-sport/midlands-football/coventry-city-fc/2008/06/21/coventry-city-new-boy-keiren-westwood-aims-to-set-record-straight-66331-21135286/

Get a grip. My 2 favorite Irish players of all time Gary Breen and Kev Kilbane were both British born. I've no problem with British born players playing for us-as a country that has our past history of emmigration to Britain we are always going to have british born players in the squad-but this lads inclusion is highly suspicious and opportunistic and there remains the possibility that if he is not capped as a full international in a years time then England may well come in for him.

Excuse me for not being psychic and knowing who your 2 favourite players are, fact is Westwood has been attracting attention from Premier League clubs from back in his Carlisle days, in fact any thing I've read about him has suggested that its destined that this boy will play at the highest level sooner rather than later, now if he is as opportunistic and England Cap crazy as you suggest why would he of ever came into our squad in the first place??

The Good Catholic boy thing was cleared up a long time ago

And just to make the point this break in the ruling means that any British born player currently playing underage Football for Ireland or indeed any Foreign born player who has never pregressed past U21 is now eligible for their country of birth...why have you singled out Westwood???

Its actually just dawned on me that this ruling thing is horrible for us....we could now lose Patrick Kohlmann to Germany...what were Fifa thinking??!?!?:eek:

Den Perry
08/06/2009, 1:54 PM
Phil Bardsley I think. Would be good addition.

Bardsley is scandalous...and I've seen him a few times

Deckydee
08/06/2009, 1:55 PM
Ok, for one I am delighted that this rule has been changed. A lot of you out there who don’t agree with it are all saying things like “they choose for England so they should stay with England” etc, but before saying stuff like that, please read my points below

Point 1 – Andy Townsend

Remember him? You just might, he capped Ireland over 70 times and got 7 goals to add to that as well and oh yeah, one more thing, he also captained the team.

Andy Townsend supported England against the Republic in Euro 88

Point 2 – Kevin Gallen

Kevin Gallen was bullied into choosing England by his then club QPR. It’s the club I support and I have been quick to point it out to fellow fans on another board, their answers make for some good reading. (Links below)

How many other players were forced into doing things because they were young? Kevin says that in his interview with the times, note the words ‘Young & stupid” Maybe Kevin Nolan THOUGHT it was the right thing to do then and now has changed his mind?

Did you ever do anything at 20/21 years of age that you have regretted since? I sure as hell have!

http://qprdot.org/viewtopic.php?t=36294&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=kevin+gallen+truth&start=0

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/football/article1049707.ece

Manner

I think the most important thing for the FAI to do now is to check the records and see what the player’s reactions were when they were first approached. Was it a ‘yes maybe’’? Was it ‘I will think about it?’

If Kevin Nolan needed time and eventually said ‘No’ then ok I think he should be given a second chance. However if Mark Nobles reaction was ‘Feck Off you Oirish Mick’ then he should be not considered. Do you see what I am saying?

08/06/2009, 2:00 PM
Nolan was actually over in Dalymount Park for a competitive fixture and was named in the team but at the last minute decided to tell Kerr he wanted more time to think about it and went home.

Deckydee
08/06/2009, 2:03 PM
Nolan was actually over in Dalymount Park for a competitive fixture and was named in the team but at the last minute decided to tell Kerr he wanted more time to think about it and went home.

Really?????!!! Are you serious?? Wow! :eek:

Would love to see a link on that one!

dr_peepee
08/06/2009, 2:06 PM
Now I know wikipedia is not always the most reliable source. However I am assuming that most of the time a players wiki page is updated/edited by themselves or somebody close to them?
I've been checking Nolan's wiki page regularly the last few days since the new eligability rule came in. Where it previously stated that that Nolan could no longer declare for the Ireland or Dutch squads, today it reads:

Republic of Ireland

'On Friday, the 5th June 2009, article 18 of the Regulations Governing the Application of the FIFA Statutes was ammended by FIFA Congress to allow players who have competed as a junior for one country to still follow an international career with another. This is excellent news for Kevin as it now enables him to offically declare for the Republic of Ireland (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Republic_of_Ireland_national_football_team). Nolan is known to be keen to pull on the green of Ireland and has had numerous discussions with previous Irish management teams on this matter. However, he has previously played for England at under-21 level, albeit in a friendly, which disqualified him from playing for the Republic of Ireland's senior team.'

Interesting.

Whoever said that isnt Quoting Kevin Nolan. He made it clear in the past he didn't consider himself Irish and didn't want to represent us. As did Kitson in fairness to them.

I dunno. If it's within the scope of the rules... It's within the scope of the rules. Any manager would be inclined to exploit them, and knowing Trap as we do now he's not going to do anything that he feels would be counter productive to the greater goal.

It's like the new offside rule with the big man "obstructing" the Keeper from a set peice. It's unsavoury somewhat but doesn't detract from the result if it's your team!!!

Saying that. Keeps it interest off the pitch. Is he elligable? What if this fella etc I love all that ****.

Deckydee
08/06/2009, 2:19 PM
Whoever said that isnt Quoting Kevin Nolan. He made it clear in the past he didn't consider himself Irish and didn't want to represent us. As did Kitson in fairness to them.

I dunno. If it's within the scope of the rules... It's within the scope of the rules. Any manager would be inclined to exploit them, and knowing Trap as we do now he's not going to do anything that he feels would be counter productive to the greater goal.

It's like the new offside rule with the big man "obstructing" the Keeper from a set peice. It's unsavoury somewhat but doesn't detract from the result if it's your team!!!

Saying that. Keeps it interest off the pitch. Is he elligable? What if this fella etc I love all that ****.

Hi Dr,

Are you sure about that? Would really love to find a link on that one. I think he wants to play unless someone can prove otherwise. Here is my proof BTW:

From rte.ie - Wednesday, 09 August 2006 2:13

Steve Staunton is still hoping that Kevin Nolan will don the green Irish jersey. Republic of Ireland manager Steve Staunton is hoping to cut through a mountain of red tape in a bid to lure Kevin Nolan into the fold.

Staunton and Bolton captain Nolan have discussed on several occasions the prospect of the midfielder pulling on the green of Ireland.

Staunton is eager to recruit a player of Nolan's calibre, yet there remain obstacles, even though he qualifies to play for the Republic via the grandparents' ruling.

Nolan has previously played for England at under-21 level, albeit in a friendly, and featured in a competitive game for the under-18s.

There is a precedent as Everton's Tim Cahill played for Samoa at youth level, yet now represents Australia after lodging a successful appeal with FIFA.

Staunton is not giving up just yet as he said: 'There's a lot of issues surrounding this one.

'Once we cut through the red tape then we will know where we are, and I cannot say much more than that.'

If we continue go on about Nolan BTW, can we change to here:

http://foot.ie/forums/showthread.php?t=33877&page=22

Maybe a moderator can have it re-opened?

Also, just found these

Republic lose out on Nolan - http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/internationals/republic-lose-out-on-nolan-663574.html

Nolan's final avenue to Ireland squad closed off - http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/nolans-final-avenue-to-ireland-squad-closed-off-133461.html

Does this prove he wants to play?

dr_peepee
08/06/2009, 2:40 PM
Since then though there was the 12 month amnesty for players to switch that he didn't take up.

Deckydee
08/06/2009, 2:45 PM
Since then though there was the 12 month amnesty for players to switch that he didn't take up.

Touché

dr_peepee
08/06/2009, 2:46 PM
Hi Dr,

Are you sure about that? Would really love to find a link on that one. I think he wants to play unless someone can prove otherwise. Here is my proof BTW:

From rte.ie - Wednesday, 09 August 2006 2:13

Steve Staunton is still hoping that Kevin Nolan will don the green Irish jersey. Republic of Ireland manager Steve Staunton is hoping to cut through a mountain of red tape in a bid to lure Kevin Nolan into the fold.

Staunton and Bolton captain Nolan have discussed on several occasions the prospect of the midfielder pulling on the green of Ireland.

Staunton is eager to recruit a player of Nolan's calibre, yet there remain obstacles, even though he qualifies to play for the Republic via the grandparents' ruling.

Nolan has previously played for England at under-21 level, albeit in a friendly, and featured in a competitive game for the under-18s.

There is a precedent as Everton's Tim Cahill played for Samoa at youth level, yet now represents Australia after lodging a successful appeal with FIFA.

Staunton is not giving up just yet as he said: 'There's a lot of issues surrounding this one.

'Once we cut through the red tape then we will know where we are, and I cannot say much more than that.'

If we continue go on about Nolan BTW, can we change to here:

http://foot.ie/forums/showthread.php?t=33877&page=22

Maybe a moderator can have it re-opened?

Also, just found these

Republic lose out on Nolan - http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/internationals/republic-lose-out-on-nolan-663574.html

Nolan's final avenue to Ireland squad closed off - http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/nolans-final-avenue-to-ireland-squad-closed-off-133461.html

Does this prove he wants to play?

Not the ones I read a couple of years ago but gives some indication of where his heart lies (or lay).

http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/tm_objectid=17700002&method=full&siteid=115875&headline=kev-still-aims-for-england--name_page.html

http://www.theboltonnews.co.uk/news/887004.0/

dr_peepee
08/06/2009, 2:52 PM
I wonder is Kevin Davies "a good Catholic boy"...

irishultra
08/06/2009, 2:59 PM
Kevin Nolan is crap, Keith Fahey is a better player than him, with way more style and Nolan shouldn't even figure in the squad.

I'm not big on nationalism, I'd never be one of these 'proud to be irish' people waving a green flag(for the record don't confuse that with not liking ireland), but it completely ruins the feeling of a team representing you if the players have not grown up or played football in the country, we have the bull**** situation here where many don't even play in our own national league, now this is just taking it too far.

Its not about 'foreign' but when it comes to international football as a fan you want to be able connect with players, its good players like Kilbane and McGeady or Tidim in the u-17's, but when you get a 26 year old being called up it makes the whole thing a joke.

Drumcondra 69er
08/06/2009, 3:07 PM
Waddock was still playing in 1994 for Bristol Rovers. He retired in 1995/96

Retired from International football, he was nowhere near the squad in 94.

08/06/2009, 3:14 PM
Trap's comments on the rule change.
"It's very important," said Trapattoni. "I know we have players in England who are already U-21 with the English team, but sure, we can look for these players in the future. But it depends on if they are willing to play for us. There are one, two, three players who can strengthen our team."
Sound enough.
Does anybody have anything to say about what most likely will be the reserved and selective policy towards the probable extra amount of players available to declare?
In other words, see what is there first, see what has come through the ranks and plug a few gaps.

ballsac7
08/06/2009, 3:22 PM
Of all the players mentioned Mark Noble has to be the most promising - Kevin Nolan four years ago maybe but he is struggling big time with injuries, Anton Ferdinand is brain dead, while Jamie O'Hara would probably be a good addition if he manages to climb off Danielle Llyod for a half an hour :)

cavan_fan
08/06/2009, 3:34 PM
Of all the players mentioned Mark Noble has to be the most promising - Kevin Nolan four years ago maybe but he is struggling big time with injuries, Anton Ferdinand is brain dead, while Jamie O'Hara would probably be a good addition if he manages to climb off Danielle Llyod for a half an hour :)

It would p*ss of Robbie if he didnt have the best WAG

SunderlandBohs
08/06/2009, 3:34 PM
Yeah it's true. I saw him there myself. He flew back to Bolton to have think about his future but decide against a move to Bohs as he knew he would take Kevin Hunt's place.

Kieron Richardson is another player in with a chance of a call-up. No wait, he's a Born Again Christain forget that!

howsyourtouch
08/06/2009, 4:29 PM
id want the irish team for players who consider themselves irish...even doh killer has an english accent id say if someone who didnt know him asked him what nationality he is he would reply irish!

Scooby Doo
08/06/2009, 4:54 PM

Seriously? Is that definately true? Bit of an eyebrow raiser if so!

MeathDrog
08/06/2009, 5:03 PM
From what I've seen of Nolan playing for Newcastle in his 6 months here (I'm a Toon fan), he would probably have more impact in a game if he just stood still. Would rather Andrews.

08/06/2009, 6:25 PM
I reckon we have zero chance of getting Noble. He'll be a key player in England's U21 campaign soon, one they might actually win.

I'm not too happy with the rule change. I think there's a bit more integrity about the team than in the past. I think FIFA should only have changed the rule for left backs :)

08/06/2009, 6:27 PM
Any previous posts about the accent are pointless. The accent has nothing to do with it. Just read the latest YBIG magazine and you can see that. Its whether the person considers themselves Irish or not.

ofjames
08/06/2009, 6:44 PM
Kieron Richardson is another player in with a chance of a call-up. No wait, he's a Born Again Christain forget that!

Richardson is tied to England. He has caps in competitive games

olegunnar
08/06/2009, 6:45 PM
i personally think that whatever improves our situation is a good thing. however, if u watch the sky sports ad for u21 champs, there is a clip of mark noble crying when England got knocked out, also Anton missing the crucial penalty.

I think a player should know by u21 level where he wants to be. But i am also in favour of a player without a distinguished u21 career being able to declare at older age.

Kevin Nolan, no way is he needed. O Hara, maybe. Ferdinand, no addition. But Barry Maguire is interesting, dutch born and bred of irish parents. He was included at u21 level, and opted out.

USA have had players lately that could declare for us, so maybe we'll see some of these in u19-u21's and then graduate to seniors?

When Clinton Morrison started, didnt he played b team/u21 matches first? Before getting into squad?

08/06/2009, 11:00 PM
Any dual international loyalties amongst us here?
Iceland ladies would always get my loyal support and first preference :)

http://www.mbl.is/frimg/4/82/482208A.jpg

irishfan86
08/06/2009, 11:15 PM

I'm a dual citizen (Irish and Canadian).

I love both countries and would be proud to represent either. If I was a world-class player I'd hold out for Ireland, but if I was just an average player that would get 1 or 2 caps with Ireland, I would play with Canada as I could do more for them.

Unfortunately I'm totally sh1t at football. :D

Fergie's Son
08/06/2009, 11:29 PM
Interesting change. Personally I think it should go on how Irish the player "feels". Subjective to be sure but look at it this way, as good as a player might be a non-Irish player (in thought and mind) could be very disruptive to a squad. As such, any benefits he brings could be off-set by the mercenary baggage that follows. That could have a knock-on effect on other players.

Someone like Nolan clearly doesn't want to play for Ireland. Therefore, why risk the potential team poison for a rather questionable benefit?

08/06/2009, 11:33 PM
I'm a dual citizen (Irish and Canadian).

I love both countries and would be proud to represent either. If I was a world-class player I'd hold out for Ireland, but if I was just an average player that would get 1 or 2 caps with Ireland, I would play with Canada as I could do more for them.

Unfortunately I'm totally sh1t at football. :D

my unborn son will be able to play for Ireland, Canada or Croatia. He will play for Ireland though or i will chop his legs off. :D

dodgycanadian
09/06/2009, 12:12 AM

Jonathan de Guzmán and his brother Christian declared for 2 different countries. Jonathan plays for Canada and his brother who has been with Feyenoord since he was a kid got his Dutch passport and has since played for the U21s.

dodgycanadian
09/06/2009, 12:14 AM
Nolan is a clown. I remember he was even talking about trying and declaring for the Dutch team. Ill try and find the link.

here it is... http://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/sport/football/bolton_wanderers/s/218/218964_dutch_doors_open_to_nolan_.html

"It's funny because I was at a soccer school in the summer in Spain and while we were having a question and answer session with the kids, my little cousin asked me why I hadn't been asked to play for Holland, obviously he's got a bit of Dutch in him, and why everyone's asking whether I can play for Holland. It just made me laugh."

The most likely outcome is that Nolan will try his luck with the Irish.

He added: "Not being in Europe with Bolton this year it could be one of those things where I could step into the international scene with Ireland. That's if Steve Staunton wants to pick me.

The lad is a joke, plain and simple as well as being a ****e footballer.

irishultra
09/06/2009, 12:23 AM
Iceland ladies would always get my loyal support and first preference :)

http://www.mbl.is/frimg/4/82/482208A.jpg

Well I could have, grandparents on my mums side were Ukrainian Jews. So I could play for Israel.:rolleyes:

joema
09/06/2009, 2:50 AM
What has Noble done to irk you? by the way, did you support Ray Houghton?

Noble has done nothing at all to irk me! In fact, I can safely say that I hold no strong feelings towards Mark Noble, be they positive or negative. Why would I, ffs?

As for the rest of your post...

You have well and truly missed my point...read all my posts on this issue and then maybe come back to me.

And I love Ray Houghton...and he wanted to play for us! Always read his interviews with great interest.

joema
09/06/2009, 2:59 AM
Lads,

One more thing:

Lets maybe look at this from a players point of view, and not just that of a supporter:

Take for example:

You are an Irish lad, love your country and love the game, it has always been your ambition to play for your country....you are doing well in your club career and finally it looks like you may get the chance of a lifetime and break into the senior squad...

Until...

An English lad, ala Morrison (I won't hear any defence of him, especially after how long it took him to declare for us) decides he wants to use his dubious connections (in previous cases such a connection has often been a dead grandparent that the player in question never even met) and throw his lot in with the Irish...

Hardly fair is it?

There are lads out there that really, really want to play for the country...and for the right reasons.

Hiring players who's hearts are not in the right place is not fair on the Irish lads who want to play for Ireland.

Colbert Report
09/06/2009, 3:32 AM
"decides he wants to use his dubious connections (in previous cases such a connection has often been a dead grandparent that the player in question never even met) and throw his lot in with the Irish..."

Jamie McCarthy?

09/06/2009, 3:33 AM
And I love Ray Houghton...and he wanted to play for us!

I always got the feeling he was a little bitter about not being picked by Scotland. More than most to be honest.

Agree with your general point though. No problem with the Kilbanes, Carsleys, Kellys of this world, I simply can't identify with the Townsends, Aldridges and Morrisons of this world.

irishfan86
09/06/2009, 4:02 AM
(in previous cases such a connection has often been a dead grandparent that the player in question never even met)

Can we please stop talking about dead grannies! :D

Wangball
09/06/2009, 8:40 AM
Lads,

One more thing:

Lets maybe look at this from a players point of view, and not just that of a supporter:

Take for example:

You are an Irish lad, love your country and love the game, it has always been your ambition to play for your country....you are doing well in your club career and finally it looks like you may get the chance of a lifetime and break into the senior squad...

Until...

An English lad, ala Morrison (I won't hear any defence of him, especially after how long it took him to declare for us) decides he wants to use his dubious connections (in previous cases such a connection has often been a dead grandparent that the player in question never even met) and throw his lot in with the Irish...

Hardly fair is it?

There are lads out there that really, really want to play for the country...and for the right reasons.

I'm Irish and I'm really keen to play foor Ireland, for all the right reasons, unfortunately though I'm not good enough and I accept that there are better players as eligible for Ireland as I am who are going to be picked ahead of me.

Your argument is stupid, if these English born lads qualify for a passport than they have as much right to play as anyone born in Ireland...thats just a fact

irishfan86
09/06/2009, 8:58 AM
You look at almost any national side out there and you will see players like these involved.

England has Hargreaves, Italy has Camoranesi, Germany has a couple of Polish forwards, and half of the rest of the world have naturalized Brazilians in their squads.

It's one thing sticking to your principles, but in my view we must use FIFA eligibility rules to make our team the best it can be.

I'd rather a team with 9 out of the starting players "truly Irish" (by whatever bizarre definition you want to choose) play in a major tournament, than see an all "purebred" Irish side just miss out because of some twisted sense of morality.

09/06/2009, 9:03 AM
I don't see any real difference between being smart with the rules off the pitch and being smart with the rules on the pitch.

09/06/2009, 9:04 AM
Nolan is a clown. I remember he was even talking about trying and declaring for the Dutch team. Ill try and find the link.

here it is... http://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/sport/football/bolton_wanderers/s/218/218964_dutch_doors_open_to_nolan_.html

"It's funny because I was at a soccer school in the summer in Spain and while we were having a question and answer session with the kids, my little cousin asked me why I hadn't been asked to play for Holland, obviously he's got a bit of Dutch in him, and why everyone's asking whether I can play for Holland. It just made me laugh."

The most likely outcome is that Nolan will try his luck with the Irish.

He added: "Not being in Europe with Bolton this year it could be one of those things where I could step into the international scene with Ireland. That's if Steve Staunton wants to pick me.

The lad is a joke, plain and simple as well as being a ****e footballer.
Number of direct quotes from Nolan saying he was interested in pursuing the Dutch option in the article = 0

09/06/2009, 9:23 AM
An English lad, ala Morrison (I won't hear any defence of him, especially after how long it took him to declare for us) decides he wants to use his dubious connections (in previous cases such a connection has often been a dead grandparent that the player in question never even met) and throw his lot in with the Irish...I quite like Clinton, and I'd have him back in the squad (not necessarily the starting XI, just the squad) in a minute. Always gave his all for the jersey when he played.
And IIRC his grandmother was present at a press conference he had in Dublin.

irishfan86
09/06/2009, 9:37 AM
I've backed up Morrison and I'll do it again. He always worked his socks off for us, and I remember in our away draw with France 0-0 during the Kerr era when he got injured, and looked absolutely heartbroken coming off the field.

In addition, I've heard of him attending 'B' and underage internationals to support his potential international teammates while he was involved with the senior side, which I thought was really cool, and after that I knew I'd never doubt his commitment.