View Full Version : Potentially eligible players thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 [62] 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110

irishfan86
13/07/2018, 11:37 AM
The more options for us the better, and at 23 there’s still room for improvement. But given our strength at centre back, he’ll have some work to do to get a place in our squad.

Olé Olé
13/07/2018, 5:16 PM
Ah, I dunno. I'd rather see Connor Shaughnessy, Paudie O'Connor or Sean McLoughlin called up sooner. And we have a selection of defenders in Scotland too- Charles Dunne, Daniel Devine, Carl McHugh, Joe Shaughnessy and a few more. That said, maybe he could turn out to be better than all the above and I've never seen him play. But I can't see why the "Irish Federation" would pursue him. He does play for the side that Pat Walker used to manage, not that he managed to influence his own sons when there appeared to be a chance.

liamoo11
14/07/2018, 10:20 AM
Okoflex has moved to Celtic from arsenal. On the face of it seems like might push him more to us. One Of The lads on ybig thought he might now be ineligible for England as he would not have resided there and went to school there for 5 years but I'd say it's fairly close.

gastric
14/07/2018, 12:20 PM
According to balls.ie he feels more of an Irish connection than English. Hopefully, but time will tell.

14/07/2018, 12:55 PM
According to balls.ie he feels more of an Irish connection than English. Hopefully, but time will tell.
The quote is from a short piece in the Irish Times last year: https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/new-irish-busy-making-their-sporting-mark-1.3178485

liamoo11
14/07/2018, 4:48 PM
The quote is from a short piece in the Irish Times last year: https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/new-irish-busy-making-their-sporting-mark-1.3178485

He has played a load for the brits since then

Olé Olé
14/07/2018, 10:30 PM
I'd be more worried he would head with Nigeria.

25/07/2018, 5:11 PM
Michael Duffy was on NewsTalk last night talking about his goal in Europe, and said he wouldn't be able to refuse a call up from Martin O'Neill:
https://cdn.radiocms.net/media/012/audio/000002/63479_media_player_audio_file425.mp3
The international discussion starts around the 11:30 mark, says that Martin O'Neill has been to Dundalk a few times

25/07/2018, 7:55 PM
Stephen Duke-McKenna earned a professional contract at Bolton after being released by Everton: https://www.bwfc.co.uk/news/2018/june/jack-earing-signs-pro-deal-as-trio-join-club/

Walsall's Callum Cockerill-Mollett is listed as being Irish on wikipedia, and made his debut last season in the league trophy

Olé Olé
27/07/2018, 6:32 PM
Brendan Hines-Ike has signed for KV Kortrijk in Belgium for $750k and is their record signing. The club is owned by the infamous Vincent Tan who also owns Cardiff City: https://www.starsandstripesfc.com/2018/7/26/17567422/brendan-hines-ike-belgium-kv-kortrijk

Pundit Arena also got comments from Hines-Ike on playing for Ireland: http://www.punditarena.com/football/oisinmcqueirns2758/meet-american-sweden-irish-footballs-next-star/

This might be an interesting one to follow.

CraftyToePoke
27/07/2018, 6:36 PM
This might be an interesting one to follow.

Looks all but done from what he is saying.

irishfan86
27/07/2018, 8:27 PM
I have no doubt he would accept a call up from either USA or us. Playing for either team would be the highest level he’s ever played. His comments RE: Ireland might simply be a way of scaring the U.S. into giving him a cap he might not otherwise receive.

liamoo11
27/07/2018, 9:01 PM
Looks all but done from what he is saying.

no way we should be capping this lad. he is pure american tge irish thing is just for his passport to make playing in a league like the top flight in england easier and best of luck to him for that but no way we should be capping him

27/07/2018, 9:10 PM
it'd be pretty weird if an American born in Colorado plays for Ireland, while an Irish player raised in Colorado plays for America!

Olé Olé
28/07/2018, 7:57 AM
it'd be pretty weird if an American born in Colorado plays for Ireland, while an Irish player raised in Colorado plays for America!

One of them has made much better strides in Europe than the other so we can't complain. Hines-Ike doesn't have a father who won an All-Ireland for Cork or an uncle who won an All-Ireland for Kerry either.

IsMiseSean
28/07/2018, 11:55 AM
Brendan Hines-Ike has signed for KV Kortrijk in Belgium for $750k and is their record signing

Speaking off the Belgian League.
Has Sandy Walsh made any comments about playing for Ireland? Although he is way behind Coleman, Doherty & Christie in the pecking order.

Olé Olé
28/07/2018, 1:58 PM
Speaking off the Belgian League.
Has Sandy Walsh made any comments about playing for Ireland? Although he is way behind Coleman, Doherty & Christie in the pecking order.

His mother is Dutch and of Indonesian descent. His Wiki is listing him as Indonesian (could have been anyone) but his Twitter page is full of references to Indonesia.

mark12345
29/07/2018, 6:37 PM
no way we should be capping this lad. he is pure american tge irish thing is just for his passport to make playing in a league like the top flight in england easier and best of luck to him for that but no way we should be capping him

A stunning statement Liamo.
"He is pure American, the irish thing is just for his passport"
Have you talked to him?

It would be a real stretch for Ireland to play someone with an Irish grandparent, wouldn't it?
Don't think I've ever seen that happen before?

Why don't you cut the lad some slack. He is no different from the procession of foreign born lads with Irish grandparents who have worn the green.
Doesn't matter if he was born in the Amazon, he qualifies.

liamoo11
29/07/2018, 7:46 PM
A stunning statement Liamo.
"He is pure American, the irish thing is just for his passport"
Have you talked to him?

It would be a real stretch for Ireland to play someone with an Irish grandparent, wouldn't it?
Don't think I've ever seen that happen before?

Why don't you cut the lad some slack. He is no different from the procession of foreign born lads with Irish grandparents who have worn the green.
Doesn't matter if he was born in the Amazon, he qualifies.

http://americansoccernow.com/articles/hines-ike-focused-on-orebro-amid-eredivisie-interest . article is from earlier this summer sets out why he is gettingbhis passport. no mention of wanting to play for us and clear aim to play atvtge highest level to be talked about more back in america.

seanfhear
29/07/2018, 9:14 PM
Is he any good ? We can do with as much good as possible .

Olé Olé
29/07/2018, 10:03 PM
http://americansoccernow.com/articles/hines-ike-focused-on-orebro-amid-eredivisie-interest . article is from earlier this summer sets out why he is gettingbhis passport. no mention of wanting to play for us and clear aim to play atvtge highest level to be talked about more back in america.

I don't know Liam. I think you're being harsh on him. There's no quote from him as to why he's getting the passport. And I think he might be as happy to play with us as the US. Those quotes don't see him stating that the US is his number one choice.

It's funny- links with Neagle and McNamara and O'Neill to us never came to anything. Will be interesting to see if this does.

liamoo11
29/07/2018, 11:02 PM
I don't know Liam. I think you're being harsh on him. There's no quote from him as to why he's getting the passport. And I think he might be as happy to play with us as the US. Those quotes don't see him stating that the US is his number one choice.

It's funny- links with Neagle and McNamara and O'Neill to us never came to anything. Will be interesting to see if this does.

true maybe harsh but as I read it he will do whatever he can to progress his club career which is completely the right attitude and fair play to him. There does not seem to be any emtion in it to play for us. Id like him to have said Im getting the passport to hopefully play for ireland cause its my dream. the much maligned pwarce at derby who is at a far higger level could have chosen scotland but threw his lot in with us cause he said he always wanted to play for us and has stuck with us showing up rarely getting a game. so the least i expect is this lad to say he wants us not the usa

Cathalsmart
01/08/2018, 8:45 AM
https://www.balls.ie/football/ryan-johansson-bayern-munich-ireland-393990

Massive egg on my face, Ryan will play for Ireland U18’s next month!

Cathalsmart
01/08/2018, 8:52 AM
I might be jumping the gun a little but seriously think MON should call him up and cap him soon, in a 3 way tug of war I wouldn’t be confident of keeping, Wales would have capped him if they were in our shoes.

Diggs246
01/08/2018, 9:10 AM
that's brilliant news, I would guess he will be promoted to the U21s very quickly and if he progresses then the senior team

01/08/2018, 9:17 AM
Is an u18 cap binding? As in, he'll have played for Ireland, Sweden, and Luxembourg at underage level, will he still be able to represent either of the other two?

Also, the original article is here is you want to read it: https://www.thetimes.co.uk/edition/ireland/ireland-claim-17-year-old-bayern-star-0jx7vd9w6
It is behind a paywall, but you get two free articles for registering

FWIW, when he was discussed recently on the forum, I checked his instgram account, and he had a photo of himself in a Sweden jersey from one of the games he played for them. Just checked again, and that photo has been removed...

Cathalsmart
01/08/2018, 9:26 AM
I think at around this level you can only make one switch, tbh but hugely confident of him staying until he play in a qualifier.

Diggs246
01/08/2018, 9:51 AM
[QUOTE=tetsujin1979;1970170]Is an u18 cap binding? As in, he'll have played for Ireland, Sweden, and Luxembourg at underage level, will he still be able to represent either of the other two?

Only if he officially changes association, he may not have to do that at under U18 level though ( but if he does apply to FIFA and change he is ours)

Cathalsmart
01/08/2018, 10:01 AM
I think when you play U19 on you have one switch after that, that’s why I’m still not that confident, he could play for us next month than just switch to Sweden for the U19 qualifiers without much effort.

liamoo11
01/08/2018, 10:22 AM
Is an u18 cap binding? As in, he'll have played for Ireland, Sweden, and Luxembourg at underage level, will he still be able to represent either of the other two?

Also, the original article is here is you want to read it: https://www.thetimes.co.uk/edition/ireland/ireland-claim-17-year-old-bayern-star-0jx7vd9w6
It is behind a paywall, but you get two free articles for registering

FWIW, when he was discussed recently on the forum, I checked his instgram account, and he had a photo of himself in a Sweden jersey from one of the games he played for them. Just checked again, and that photo has been removed...

no only friedlies at 18s so not binding. it seems he played a under 17 qualifier for luxenburg and just under 16 games for sweden so if he turns out for us in october for the under 19 qualifiers he will be tied to us

liamoo11
01/08/2018, 10:29 AM
I think when you play U19 on you have one switch after that, that’s why I’m still not that confident, he could play for us next month than just switch to Sweden for the U19 qualifiers without much effort.

my understading is that under 17 euro qualifiers are counted thats hoe mcguane at barcelona cant switch back to us if he wanted cause we played him in a european under 17s finals when he was under 16 and the following year he played under 17 qualifiers for the brits and was then tied to the brits

01/08/2018, 11:27 AM
I think Michael Keane did the same? U17 for us, U19 for England.

liamoo11
01/08/2018, 1:02 PM
I think Michael Keane did the same? U17 for us, U19 for England.

true but hooefully the brother will make up for it!

Diggs246
01/08/2018, 8:39 PM
Wales would have capped him if they were in our shoes.[/QUOTE]

Wales have qualified for one competition in the last 60 years!!. They are not barometer of how to do things

seanfhear
02/08/2018, 6:54 AM
Wales would have capped him if they were in our shoes.

Wales have qualified for one competition in the last 60 years!!. They are not barometer of how to do things[/QUOTE]
A bit better recently . It will be interesting to see how they do with Giggs and if he turns up for friendly matches and what he considers the less important matches ....Meow !

Cathalsmart
02/08/2018, 7:33 AM
Wales have qualified for one competition in the last 60 years!!. They are not barometer of how to do things
A bit better recently . It will be interesting to see how they do with Giggs and if he turns up for friendly matches and what he considers the less important matches ....Meow ![/QUOTE]

No still only one competition, they are the masters though at cap locking players though, no way in hell would
Wales not try cap a him.

seanfhear
02/08/2018, 8:00 AM
A bit better recently . It will be interesting to see how they do with Giggs and if he turns up for friendly matches and what he considers the less important matches ....Meow !

No still only one competition, they are the masters though at cap locking players though, no way in hell would
Wales not try cap a him.[/QUOTE]Hopefully not bust a cap in his Ass !

Olé Olé
02/08/2018, 9:41 AM
I'd still take Ethan Ampadu and he hasn't a competitive cap for Wales yet!

Cathalsmart
02/08/2018, 10:16 AM
I'd still take Ethan Ampadu and he hasn't a competitive cap for Wales yet!

A played with his promise would never declare for us:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

CraftyToePoke
03/08/2018, 7:27 PM
Ryan Nolan
Two year deal at Inter

- https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/transfer-window/irish-teenager-ryan-nolan-19-signs-for-italian-giants-inter-milan-37182753.html

liamoo11
07/08/2018, 3:01 PM
https://m.independent.ie/sport/soccer/premier-league/keeping-a-close-eye-on-future-stars-37185090.html. im always amazed When lads say usually On ybig, The fai dont try to recruit talent, a quick Look At any underage squad wood debunk that

CraftyToePoke
07/08/2018, 5:36 PM
Connor Mahoney to Birmingham for the season

- https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/45098389

CraftyToePoke
07/08/2018, 5:48 PM
im always amazed When lads say usually On ybig, The fai dont try to recruit talent, a quick Look At any underage squad wood debunk that

But then you hear of a lad in the Inter system saying he would love to play for Ireland but isn't watched, as far as he's aware, and there is no relationship there, six months later he is in the Inter side in pre season and the matter hasn't been addressed or progressed, I think things like that and PR, talking to the fans, being a weak point in the last two senior managers has shaken confidence we are as good as we need to be behind the scenes maybe, you reckon ?

09/08/2018, 8:57 AM
A fairly strong team, all of whom could have worn the green if they so wished. Still not too late for some:

CraftyToePoke
09/08/2018, 2:47 PM
Didn't know about Hart to be honest.

10/08/2018, 9:02 AM
Shelvey was the one who caught my eye.

Olé Olé
10/08/2018, 9:09 AM
Shelvey was the one who caught my eye.

https://m.herald.ie/sport/soccer/shelvey-spurns-ireland-despite-promise-of-cap-oshea-happy-at-blues-27928317.html

His father is a huge England fan as he stated in recent quotes. He was eligible for Scotland also.

17/08/2018, 8:10 PM
Dan Crowley started both games for Willem II this season, scoring the winner tonight.
http://www.football-oranje.com/crowley-strike-sees-willem-ii-down-groningen/

Diggs246
20/08/2018, 10:36 AM
Dan Crowley started both games for Willem II this season, scoring the winner tonight.
http://www.football-oranje.com/crowley-strike-sees-willem-ii-down-groningen/

He is just 21, surprised people are not looking for him to get into the provisional squad ( or are they?)

Olé Olé
20/08/2018, 11:10 AM
He is just 21, surprised people are not looking for him to get into the provisional squad ( or are they?)
But there was even some references by MON to having discussions with his father. I don’t get how it’s dragged on so long without him committing to switch over, regardless of what side he would be involved in. The longer it drags on the more of a notion it gives me that he’s waiting for England still.