View Full Version : Potentially eligible players thread
Olé Olé
24/09/2018, 2:56 PM
I wouldn't be surprised if he has the passport already. The paperwork with FIFA might the issue. If he held talks with MON a year or so back there is obviously some line of communication with the FAI and someone has surely had the cop on to get the ball rolling.
Diggs246
01/10/2018, 3:26 PM
If I was MON, I would have made it my business to have positive news ready in relation to Dan Crowley. eg I've talked to the lad and the paperwork has been filed
He will have to deal with "bad news" questions on Thursday in relation to Rice and probably Arter too
01/10/2018, 6:34 PM
If I was MON, I would have made it my business to have positive news ready in relation to Dan Crowley. eg I've talked to the lad and the paperwork has been filed
He will have to deal with "bad news" questions on Thursday in relation to Rice and probably Arter tooI agree but I have zero faith that O'Neill will call him up and I have a fair degree of doubt as to whether he even knows much about him or where he plays.
DeLorean
02/10/2018, 10:17 AM
I agree but I have zero faith that O'Neill will call him up and I have a fair degree of doubt as to whether he even knows much about him or where he plays.
Unfortunately I feel the same way. The Eredivisie may as well in Siberia, to paraphrase the man himself.
02/10/2018, 1:11 PM
Do you two just follow eachother around replying to eachothers posts?! :rolleyes:
DeLorean
02/10/2018, 1:33 PM
I can only speak for myself but yes.
Havent posted on here in a while - mostly due to the Stutts/Del love in.
Disgusting.
03/10/2018, 10:43 AM
I feel dirty giving thanks. I violated myself.
liamoo11
07/10/2018, 4:04 PM
Crowley played full game against feyenoord in draw today he has been ever present in their nine games. I really hope that paperwork is in progress.
18/10/2018, 4:39 PM
Ryan Johansson played for Luxembourg U21s this week
Lost 2-0 to France: https://www.uefa.com/under21/season=2019/matches/round=2000803/match=2022515/lineups/index.html?iv=true
Beat Bulgaria 1-0: https://www.uefa.com/under21/season=2019/matches/round=2000803/match=2022508/lineups/index.html?iv=true
18/10/2018, 6:50 PM
Lost 2-0 to France: https://www.uefa.com/under21/season=2019/matches/round=2000803/match=2022515/lineups/index.html?iv=true
Beat Bulgaria 1-0: https://www.uefa.com/under21/season=2019/matches/round=2000803/match=2022508/lineups/index.html?iv=true
i thought it was confirmed he was to be declaring for us?
liamoo11
18/10/2018, 11:26 PM
Be interesting to see if the senior Luxembourg side call him up for next months nations cup games get him tied down and move on
IsMiseSean
19/10/2018, 11:51 AM
If that kid chooses Luxembourg over us - we may as well pack it in and jump on the Rugby bandwagon.
DeLorean
19/10/2018, 12:10 PM
If that kid chooses Luxembourg over us - we may as well pack it in and jump on the Rugby bandwagon.
England could probably apply the same logic to Rice. :D
liamoo11
19/10/2018, 5:40 PM
In fairness he was born there and lived there till 15 or 16 and I assume it's still home when he goes back to his parents from Bayern.
Diggs246
20/10/2018, 8:57 AM
https://tbrfootball.com/patrick-bamford-should-accept-republic-of-ireland-call-up/ re patrick Bamford
seanfhear
20/10/2018, 9:16 AM
https://tbrfootball.com/patrick-bamford-should-accept-republic-of-ireland-call-up/ re patrick Bamford
O’Neill telling him he is no good and what he can’t do will do wonders for his confidence !
liamoo11
21/10/2018, 12:11 PM
another full game for Crowley and an assist in Holland today
Diggs246
21/10/2018, 2:29 PM
another full game for Crowley and an assist in Holland today
We are going to regret it, if we dont get this guy on board
Diggs246
21/10/2018, 2:30 PM
In other news, Connor Wickham in named on the bench for palace today
TrapAPony
21/10/2018, 2:48 PM
Max O'Leary in goal for Bristol City yesterday, Ben Wilmot made his premiership debut for Watford v Wolves and Jack O'Connell is playing week in week out for Sheffield Utd. Also, Nathan Redmond is still eligible for us as he has only 1 friendly cap for England.
Diggs246
21/10/2018, 4:07 PM
Max O'Leary in goal for Bristol City yesterday, Ben Wilmot made his premiership debut for Watford v Wolves and Jack O'Connell is playing week in week out for Sheffield Utd. Also, Nathan Redmond is still eligible for us as he has only 1 friendly cap for England.
Do we have confirmation on Max O'Leary and Ben wilmot eligibility?
TrapAPony
21/10/2018, 4:31 PM
Some poster mentioned Wilmot's eligibility here a while back. The Bristol City groundsman mentioned to some other poster that O'Leary was eligible. Nothing written in stone though.
IsMiseSean
21/10/2018, 6:51 PM
Is Jack O'Connell eligible?
I never seen it confirmed anywhere.
TrapAPony
21/10/2018, 7:23 PM
Is Jack O'Connell eligible?
I never seen it confirmed anywhere.
https://twitter.com/RobBrennan82/status/749704938792620033
Olé Olé
21/10/2018, 7:26 PM
Redmond's mam was engaging in a lot of tweets about our team, from what I remember. And from what I remember, both her parents are Irish. Given the Rice situation, I would say Redmond is a player we should be pursuing.
Makes me think though, we haven't been aggressively complaining about the England approach for Rice. And Grealish was approached too. On the other hand, the North lose their minds over any deemed approach of an underage player of their's. Unreal.
samhaydenjr
22/10/2018, 1:15 AM
redmond's mam was engaging in a lot of tweets about our team, from what i remember. And from what i remember, both her parents are irish. Given the rice situation, i would say redmond is a player we should be pursuing.
Makes me think though, we haven't been aggressively complaining about the england approach for rice. And grealish was approached too. on the other hand, the north lose their minds over any deemed approach of an underage player of their's. Unreal.
ulster says no!!!!!!!
liamoo11
28/10/2018, 5:29 PM
Full 90 again for Crowley today. Surely he will be in squad for the north game even if paperwork isn't through
Diggs246
28/10/2018, 5:54 PM
Full 90 again for Crowley today. Surely he will be in squad for the north game even if paperwork isn't through
If mon hasnt called this guy, we have a very serious problem. We are screaming out for a 10 and he is a very good one
28/10/2018, 6:58 PM
We still don't know if the paperwork is complete, or even in progress, so I wouldn't condemn the manager for not picking a player that isn't available to him.
I'm a bit more annoyed he hasn't been questioned in a press conference about any progress in recruiting Crowley than anything else.
Olé Olé
29/10/2018, 7:21 AM
I agree. Instead of bashing their heads against the wall on Declan Rice, querying him on Crowley would be more interesting. He has been in touch Crowley previously (if he isn't now) and mentioned a few years ago to have had good conversations with him and his dad.
https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/martin-oneill-holds-talks-with-daniel-crowleys-father-and-avoids-jack-grealish-deadline-31535689.html
31/10/2018, 6:21 PM
Goal for Crowley this evening.
TrapAPony
06/11/2018, 3:01 PM
Two young lads at both Liverpool & Spurs (Liam Coyle and Jamie Bowden) both eligible for Ireland according to https://twitter.com/FutsalFinn
06/11/2018, 5:01 PM
The next Grealish/Rice/Obafemi/Crowley/etc dual nationality player is 15 and playing for West Brom: https://www.expressandstar.com/sport/football/west-bromwich-albion/2018/11/06/lethal-louie-barry-the-latest-academy-star-for-west-brom/
But the teenager also qualifies for the Republic of Ireland via two of his grandparents and, next week, he is due to represent their under-16s in the 2018 Victory Shield.
Because he is so young, Barry is able to play for both countries at this stage of his career.
The only viable option is to cap Louie Barry against Denmark.
Olé Olé
06/11/2018, 7:19 PM
Someone on YBIG saying that Dan McDonnell says MON provided an update on Daniel Crowley for the print press. I bet the paperwork is going through like with Duffy. They'll be two nice additions.
Diggs246
06/11/2018, 7:21 PM
Goal for Crowley this evening.
Apparently Mon did discuss the crowley situation and it will be in the indo tomorrow. According to Dan McDonnell
Olé Olé
06/11/2018, 7:22 PM
Apparently Mon did discuss the crowley situation and it will be in the indo tomorrow. According to Dan McDonnell
Jinx.
Cathalsmart
06/11/2018, 8:47 PM
The next Grealish/Rice/Obafemi/Crowley/etc dual nationality player is 15 and playing for West Brom: https://www.expressandstar.com/sport/football/west-bromwich-albion/2018/11/06/lethal-louie-barry-the-latest-academy-star-for-west-brom/
Someone on ybig did some digging and found a tweet he sent where he was actually cheering for England vs Ireland in the past...
liamoo11
06/11/2018, 9:10 PM
Someone on ybig did some digging and found a tweet he sent where he was actually cheering for England vs Ireland in the past...
Typical ybiger trawling through a 15 year olds twitter for a game that happened 2 years ago in Dublin I assume when he was 12 god those ybigers are losers
Olé Olé
07/11/2018, 6:48 AM
Can't see anything in this mornings Indo re Crowley.
07/11/2018, 7:41 AM
Might only be in the print edition, they don't put everything online
Olé Olé
07/11/2018, 7:56 AM
Might only be in the print edition, they don't put everything online
It was the print I checked. A lot of commentary on Dunne and Obafemi. Couldn't see anything on Crowley. Could have missed it. He even commented on McGoldrick.
Olé Olé
07/11/2018, 10:22 AM
https://twitter.com/noriordan/status/1060083234808176640?s=19
Neil O'Riordan on MON's response to being asked about Daniel Crowley.
Diggs246
07/11/2018, 11:24 AM
Hes a knob O'Neill. In one sentence he insults 2 players
IsMiseSean
07/11/2018, 1:00 PM
I always assumed confidence was a good thing - but then I haven't won two European cups and played under 'Cloughie'. :confused:
07/11/2018, 1:11 PM
I don't think he regards the type of confidence that Byrne has as a good thing
The Fly
07/11/2018, 1:13 PM
I'd like to read or, ideally, watch O'Neill's full response to the question first.
Taken at face value though what does O'Neill hope to achieve with the likes of that? (rhetorical question)
samhaydenjr
07/11/2018, 2:41 PM
Perhaps it was just a shot at the "Call Him Up MON" armchair pundits who obsess over any Irish player who strings a few passes together at a mid-table Eredivisie side/scores a couple of screamers in the LOI/plays a game in the UEFA Youth League/is mentioned in a "Irish Teenagers at Premier League Clubs" list.
Yes, Crowley seems to be doing well so far in the Eredivisie but so did Byrne, for a while. Right now the current extended transitional period for this team is coming to an end so it's time to narrow the squad down to those who will likely feature in the qualifiers proper. And the benchmark for making the cut is still primarily either 1)playing regularly in the EPL or 2)impressing both in The Championship and in the recent internationals.
liamoo11
07/11/2018, 4:24 PM
Perhaps it was just a shot at the "Call Him Up MON" armchair pundits who obsess over any Irish player who strings a few passes together at a mid-table Eredivisie side/scores a couple of screamers in the LOI/plays a game in the UEFA Youth League/is mentioned in a "Irish Teenagers at Premier League Clubs" list.
Yes, Crowley seems to be doing well so far in the Eredivisie but so did Byrne, for a while. Right now the current extended transitional period for this team is coming to an end so it's time to narrow the squad down to those who will likely feature in the qualifiers proper. And the benchmark for making the cut is still primarily either 1)playing regularly in the EPL or 2)impressing both in The Championship and in the recent internationals.
I can't agree with any of that. Crowley has already at age 21 made 42 appearances in the top flight in Holland as well as more than 30 appearances at league 1 or Dutch 2nd division. He plays in a position we are sadly lacking in and brings us a totally different midfield option than anyone else in the squad. We have just picked a centre half who has played around 10 games for hearts in a league no stronger than Holland with his only other football at league two and conference level. We deserve what we get as Irish football fans if we think overlooking Crowley is justified until he plays in the championship