View Full Version : Potentially eligible players thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 [76] 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110

Deckydee
28/01/2020, 7:36 PM
Probably not. Collins, O'Brien and Hogan are potentially ahead of him as well.

You know, Im all for getting players in but I dont want Keane. He had absolutely no notion of ever EVER playing for Ireland. He is tenth choice in my book.

When you have a brother saying this, it should not happen:

"When I was with Ireland, I wasn't good enough to play for England at that time. And I was only young and small and still developing.

"I had in the back of my head that hopefully one day I could play for England.

"I know when I switched, I felt really, really English. My dad's Irish, but I don't know any of his Irish family, so I've never really felt like I'm fully Irish.

Again I am all for the granny rule (give the benefit of a doubt if you will) but not this guy. Decky says no

Interesting article here for anyone thats interested > https://www.theguardian.com/football/2019/mar/20/societal-change-mockery-england-dual-nationality-debate?CMP=Share_AndroidApp

Olé Olé
28/01/2020, 10:01 PM
Oh God, I hate reading that article and seeing the line about his dad's shirt collection. Any time I have read it I see the image in my head of him after Declan's Ireland debut and the look of sheer jubilation in his eyes. Poor fella.

samhaydenjr
29/01/2020, 2:19 AM
According to the latest scoring report from the FAI, will Keane has acquired his passport: https://www.fai.ie/ireland/news/scouting-report-obafemi-impresses-mccarthy-at-saints

McGoldrick, Robinson, Long, Connolly, Obafemi are all playing at a higher level than league one. Parrott and Idah are probably on the fringes of the senior squad, and Curtis already has international caps, so they're ahead of him too.
So, is he the eighth choice?

Probably not. Collins, O'Brien and Hogan are potentially ahead of him as well.

Don't forget Seani Maguire! Plus Paddy Madden and Eoin Doyle have far more goals at League One level. And Joe Mason has scored more than 40 times in The Championship. So... maybe sixteenth choice, at least until we see if Afolabi does the business at Dunfermline. And we have Cassidy, Oko-Flex, Scully and Odubeko in the pipeline. Now I know Keane's career has been horribly impeded by injuries and Ipswich's implosion and perhaps he should be at a higher level but, right now, I can't see a justification for a call-up for him in the foreseeable future

Yard of Pace
29/01/2020, 10:30 AM
Don't forget Seani Maguire! Plus Paddy Madden and Eoin Doyle have far more goals at League One level. And Joe Mason has scored more than 40 times in The Championship. So... maybe sixteenth choice, at least until we see if Afolabi does the business at Dunfermline. And we have Cassidy, Oko-Flex, Scully and Odubeko in the pipeline. Now I know Keane's career has been horribly impeded by injuries and Ipswich's implosion and perhaps he should be at a higher level but, right now, I can't see a justification for a call-up for him in the foreseeable future

You'd have to assume he's just getting his Irish passport cos of The Brexit....

Unless he has a very very high opinion of himself. I don't even want to read about him, to be honest.

Isn't it great to have this luxury of all those strikers. It feels like a dream sometimes.

Strongbow10
30/01/2020, 7:06 PM
You know, Im all for getting players in but I dont want Keane. He had absolutely no notion of ever EVER playing for Ireland. He is tenth choice in my book.

When you have a brother saying this, it should not happen:

"When I was with Ireland, I wasn't good enough to play for England at that time. And I was only young and small and still developing.

"I had in the back of my head that hopefully one day I could play for England.

"I know when I switched, I felt really, really English. My dad's Irish, but I don't know any of his Irish family, so I've never really felt like I'm fully Irish.

Again I am all for the granny rule (give the benefit of a doubt if you will) but not this guy. Decky says no

Interesting article here for anyone thats interested > https://www.theguardian.com/football/2019/mar/20/societal-change-mockery-england-dual-nationality-debate?CMP=Share_AndroidApp

That article states Trent Alexander Arnold has dual nationality, but the main part of articles gives any details. Have never seen TAA mentioned as being eligible for any other nation.

Seems like lazy journalism, the mixed race lads are always presumed to be eligible for someone else.

Olé Olé
30/01/2020, 8:04 PM
That article states Trent Alexander Arnold has dual nationality, but the main part of articles gives any details. Have never seen TAA mentioned as being eligible for any other nation.

Seems like lazy journalism, the mixed race lads are always presumed to be eligible for someone else.
They have sequences the countries for which the players are eligible subsequently in that article. TAA is eligible for the US they are stating. One wouldn't imply that he is US-eligible solely on mixed race, I wouldn't think. You're reaching.

elatedscum
31/01/2020, 6:48 PM
They have sequences the countries for which the players are eligible subsequently in that article. TAA is eligible for the US they are stating. One wouldn't imply that he is US-eligible solely on mixed race, I wouldn't think. You're reaching.

in researching this, i found a us fan thread, some of the comments are cracking. i'm not one to say americans don't understand football but this gem is a beauty:

Dated 'one year ago', so i guess that means anything up to 1 year and 364 days...

“Just what we need, another RB! He's a decent player, but no better than Yedlin.”

Eirambler
31/01/2020, 6:54 PM
I see there's a Fionn Mooney in the English under 17 squad. Sounds a particularly Irish sounding name - both first name and second name - presumably there's a connection to us there somewhere.

EDIT - I see he has been involved with our under 15s in the past.

Deckydee
06/02/2020, 6:21 PM
Not sure if he has his own thread (doubt it) but Dennis Cirkin?

Wearing an Engerland shirt on his Twitterbook:

https://twitter.com/DCirkin3?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcamp%5Eserp%7C twgr%5Eauthor

cant say I like this one either:

https://www.sportsfile.com/id/1607914/

Discussion about him 'the42' > https://www.the42.ie/dennis-cirkin-profile-4966786-Jan2020/

06/02/2020, 6:42 PM
Planned for their under 17s last year as well

06/02/2020, 7:08 PM
My guess would be that's Cirkin is a non runner. Both his parents are Latvian and he has represented Latvia U13s and Baltic football school events when he was younger.

23/03/2020, 8:21 AM
Newcastle Jets playing Melbourne City this morning in Australia, in an empty stadium.
Connor O'Toole is playing left wing for Jets. According to his Wikipedia entry - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Connor_O%27Toole - he has an Irish father, and a Japanese mother, but has represented Australia at U20 level

Olé Olé
12/04/2020, 10:17 AM
https://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/soccer/soccer-news/stephen-kenny-wont-waste-time-21851916

Saw some of these quotes in the Indo so dug up a paywall-free link online. I didn't see them in any of the reporting on Kenny's media engagements this week.

Really sound perspective on the English-born players I think. Jack Grealish is one that I think falls into this category Kenny is referring to as I know his family are (or were) part of the strong Irish community in Birmingham. I saw a picture on social media of a young lad (nephew potentially) in his arms wearing a Kerry jersey (the granny that was dragged out to the FAI award charade is from Sneem).

Kenny has spoken previously about how Grealish should have been integrated into the senior side earlier. Based on these comments, I think Kenny will be open to the grey area of the dual-national and their choice.

On that point, Kenny spoke on Off the Ball yesterday about how he was travelling to Championship games recently to watch players that are on the periphery of the senior squad so that he could understand their strengths and weaknesses. I assume that Kenny knows his style of play and knows Mick's style of play and wants to see if there are players that weren't given a chance that are better-suited to the former than the latter. Eligibility issues aside, I think Daniel Crowley may very well be one of those players Kenny took a look at.

elatedscum
23/05/2020, 8:54 AM
Re Gaxha, this is positive, considering there was suggestion he would play for Albania.

Overall, hugely negative article re the state of play in Kerry

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/soccer/--1001257.html

Olé Olé
23/05/2020, 11:54 AM
Re Gaxha, this is positive, considering there was suggestion he would play for Albania.

Overall, hugely negative article re the state of play in Kerry

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/soccer/--1001257.html

What do you mean "state of play in Kerry"? Are you referring to the racial abuse he suffered there? Utterly deplorable, I agree, but I'm not sure it is representative of the "state of play" in Kerry and I don't think that the article was "overall, hugely negative" in that respect. We aren't just a shower of redneck hicks. Plenty of other young lads of different backgrounds have highlighted this type of abuse being doled out around Ireland. It is frankly despicable that these incidents occur and should be highlighted, although this lad's desire to play for Ireland is also surely a product of his assimilation in Kerry so his experience can't have been that bad?

Tralee has produced other athletes of various ethnicities. There's Rugby's Ultan Dillane and also Stefan Okunbor who was an underage gaelic footballer now on an AFL roster.

Olé Olé
23/05/2020, 12:17 PM
I also note that the original interview was given on Radio Kerry: https://www.radiokerry.ie/terrace-talk-may-11th-2020/

elatedscum
25/05/2020, 1:32 AM
Honestly, my grandfather was from Rock Street, Tralee and I love Kerry, both the place and its people. I didn’t mean to offend. Just when I read the comment “Maybe if these incidents occurred in Dublin or Cork, they would be have dealt with.“, I read it to be Kerry specific.

But you’re right, I’ve witnessed racism in football in Dublin and sadly I’ve no doubt that it exists through the country. I also know a lad from Algeria who was a first teamer for Tralee Dynamos (maybe a decade ago) and had nothing but good things to say about the club and the area.

What I’ve heard from people who have grown up in Tralee in more recent years is there’s huge problems with racism and a whole host of other issues, all tied into socio-economic depravation, not dissimilar to other parts of the country.

Diggs246
25/05/2020, 6:24 AM
https://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/soccer/soccer-news/stephen-kenny-wont-waste-time-21851916

Saw some of these quotes in the Indo so dug up a paywall-free link online. I didn't see them in any of the reporting on Kenny's media engagements this week.

Really sound perspective on the English-born players I think. Jack Grealish is one that I think falls into this category Kenny is referring to as I know his family are (or were) part of the strong Irish community in Birmingham. I saw a picture on social media of a young lad (nephew potentially) in his arms wearing a Kerry jersey (the granny that was dragged out to the FAI award charade is from Sneem).

Kenny has spoken previously about how Grealish should have been integrated into the senior side earlier. Based on these comments, I think Kenny will be open to the grey area of the dual-national and their choice.

On that point, Kenny spoke on Off the Ball yesterday about how he was travelling to Championship games recently to watch players that are on the periphery of the senior squad so that he could understand their strengths and weaknesses. I assume that Kenny knows his style of play and knows Mick's style of play and wants to see if there are players that weren't given a chance that are better-suited to the former than the latter. Eligibility issues aside, I think Daniel Crowley may very well be one of those players Kenny took a look at.

Not sure Dan Crowley is eligible tbh

Olé Olé
25/05/2020, 7:17 AM
I know what you're referring to but he may well become eligible eventually.

25/05/2020, 8:24 AM

Why do you think he isn't?
He was eligible for the U17s, albeit he only played in friendlies for them, so I'd imagine he's qualified.

Diggs246
25/05/2020, 12:13 PM
Why do you think he isn't?
He was eligible for the U17s, albeit he only played in friendlies for them, so I'd imagine he's qualified.

I thought he was in the same boat as Ryan J. From Bayern. Re no Irish passport at the time of playing for England under age?

25/05/2020, 5:41 PM
Johansson was ineligible because he had also Swedish passport, qualifying through his Swedish born father. AFAIK Crowley has no passport, other than his English one.

Diggs246
25/05/2020, 6:25 PM
He was eligible for Sweden because he had a swedish passport and his father was swedish born. He was ineligible for us as he didn't have an irish passport at the time of making his debut for under age Luxembourg. He(us) was very unlucky by the fact his irish raised mum was actually born in England

25/05/2020, 7:17 PM
Ok, but that doesn't explain why Crowley is ineligible

Diggs246
25/05/2020, 8:20 PM
Ok, but that doesn't explain why Crowley is ineligible

No Irish passport in hand when he played for England under age. Neither parent born in Ireland

25/05/2020, 8:52 PM
Did he have a passport when he played for the Ireland u17s?

Diggs246
25/05/2020, 9:12 PM
No he didnt need one. Just like Ryan J. Didnt have one when he played u19s for Ireland

Diggs246
25/05/2020, 9:21 PM
Just to clarify. You need to have the passport of the country you want to switch to. So if u qualify via a grandparent and have played for England or whatever at under age level you need to have an irish passport already. What's make this very complicated is players have switched illegally( callum Robinson) before. This is because no one knew the actual legal details ( apart from those bells in Luxembourg who ratted on Ryan to FIFA when he went to switch to us)

25/05/2020, 9:58 PM
The FAI were happy enough that he was qualified to mention him in their scouting reports: https://www.fai.ie/ireland/news/scouting-report-double-collins-impact-for-ireland

Diggs246
25/05/2020, 10:06 PM
If the FAI are an authority when it comes to regulations or governance. Then tets we are in more trouble then I thought.

25/05/2020, 10:16 PM
Right now, there's as much evidence that he has an Irish passport, as there is that he doesn't have one.

Diggs246
25/05/2020, 10:50 PM
But do u understand that Dan crowley needed to have an Irish passport when he was 15 and playing for England. If either of his parents were born in Ireland he is then automatically deemed an Irish citizen, however his lineage is via grandparents he is not automatically an Irish citizen he has to apply and be granted the passport etc by the state as opposed to it been a right.

25/05/2020, 11:24 PM
Yes, I understand that having a passport isn't enough, he needs to have had it before he played for England

27/05/2020, 7:26 PM
Right now, there's as much evidence that he has an Irish passport, as there is that he doesn't have one.

Not so, if he qualified for ireland now via having an irish passport before he played competitively for England, it is very likely his FIFA papers would have come through by now.
The evidence is slanted 95% against his eligibility for the FAI.

The FAI were happy enough that he was qualified to mention him in their scouting reports: https://www.fai.ie/ireland/news/scou...ct-for-ireland (https://www.fai.ie/ireland/news/scouting-report-double-collins-impact-for-ireland)
That scouting report preceded the doubts about Dan's eligibility (https://punditarena.com/football/oisinmcqueirns2758/mccarthty-update-crowley-future/), or should I say preceded the FAI awareness of the obvious doubts.
I'm pretty sure this has all been outlined earlier in the thread.

Closed Account 2
28/05/2020, 1:11 AM

Maybe he's related to Benedict Arnold :)

Eirambler
13/06/2020, 5:53 PM
What do you mean "state of play in Kerry"? Are you referring to the racial abuse he suffered there? Utterly deplorable, I agree, but I'm not sure it is representative of the "state of play" in Kerry and I don't think that the article was "overall, hugely negative" in that respect. We aren't just a shower of redneck hicks. Plenty of other young lads of different backgrounds have highlighted this type of abuse being doled out around Ireland. It is frankly despicable that these incidents occur and should be highlighted, although this lad's desire to play for Ireland is also surely a product of his assimilation in Kerry so his experience can't have been that bad?

Tralee has produced other athletes of various ethnicities. There's Rugby's Ultan Dillane and also Stefan Okunbor who was an underage gaelic footballer now on an AFL roster.

A bit OT but somewhat unfortunate using Stefan Okunbor as a positive example given his recent comments of life growing up in Tralee.

https://www.the42.ie/stefan-okunbor-kerry-geelong-5115283-Jun2020/

I think, as a country, we are improving in this respect but have a long way to go. Not sure why there is a particular issue down in Kerry but it does seem to be the case sadly. It possibly goes beyond racism and into the traditional nature of the place, the background to that Listowel sex assault case cause few years ago cast a very negative image of the county. Not to mention two politicians in particular that seem to have no problem getting elected by the county.

Certainly, on the sporting front, our relatively small Nigerian community has been punching way above it's weight for us in recent years, including of course Irish underage football. Hopefully this will help to continue to change opinions on a wider scale.

DeLorean
13/06/2020, 6:46 PM
Bad couple of weeks for the Kingdom alright - https://www.rte.ie/amp/1146226/

CraftyToePoke
13/06/2020, 7:20 PM
Not sure why there is a particular issue down in Kerry but it does seem to be the case sadly.

Without wishing to jump aboard an effort to tar an entire county with one brush, which would itself be a little racist ironically, it is nice, indeed refreshing to hear someone finally put in words the en masse malaise that does also in my opinion afflict that place.

Could it be their flying columns inability to get it up, much less keep it up during the struggle for independence compared to their neighbouring counties, followed by being literally taken from behind when troops were landed in Tralee in the civil war - has left a scar upon the psyche there that no amount of All Ireland's can fix & left them with a particularly inward disposition ?

liamoo11
13/06/2020, 7:46 PM
Zak gilsenan committed to Australia. The story had been that he was Irish born from what I remember but that is incorrect. Best of luck to him seems to have battled back from lots of injury https://theworldgame.sbs.com.au/irish-messi-gilsenan-opts-for-australia

14/06/2020, 11:02 PM
Bad couple of weeks for the Kingdom alright - https://www.rte.ie/amp/1146226/

In that racial slur incident "go back to the cottonfields", Franz did not report it, but a mentor with the opposing team heard it and reported it to the ref presumably after the game. The offending player received a ban.

Olé Olé
25/06/2020, 10:33 AM
Not sure if Nathan Tormey is keener to let everyone that he is leaving Arsenal or that they offered him a 3 year contract to stay:

liamoo11
25/06/2020, 5:50 PM
Not sure if Nathan Tormey is keener to let everyone that he is leaving Arsenal or that they offered him a 3 year contract to stay:

The report says he tore his cruciate before lockdown. Surely with that been a year out injury you would sign the 3 year deal even if it was only to have a decent set up to do your rehab?I wonder is he really eligible for us he never featured at championship ages under 17 or 19. He seemed to be injured for years though in fairness up to end last season and this season.

elatedscum
25/06/2020, 6:29 PM
Maybe he agreed a pre-contract deal with a German or Spanish side prior to the injury? I think he would have been eligible to sign with a non-English club from January.

Only explanation I can think of...

samhaydenjr
26/06/2020, 1:59 AM
With Rotherham getting promoted to The Championship, would Stephen Kenny's first order of business in terms of potentially eligible players be to sound out how amenable Ogbene and Kayode might be to call-ups?

Olé Olé
26/06/2020, 8:37 AM
We know we are Ogbene's second preference. Do we know anything on Kayode? Has he ever appeared underage for us? Strange if not.

26/06/2020, 8:59 AM
We know we are Ogbene's second preference. Do we know anything on Kayode? Has he ever appeared underage for us? Strange if not.

Just at U18 level - https://www.fai.ie/ireland/news/ireland-u18-squad-named-for-romania-friendlies

Olé Olé
26/06/2020, 9:09 AM
Is there a concern of his desire to play for us? Or could it simply be the case that he was victim of the log jam of centre forwards his age? He's the same age as Obafemi, Afolabi and Connolly and Keena, Idah and Parrott are in and around that age too.

elatedscum
26/06/2020, 9:30 AM
Kayode isn’t really in the same boat as Ogbene. Was playing League 2 (and doing well) at the end of the season but I’d think another loan is possible. At least he’s worked with Jim Crawford. You’d imagine there might be a few slots available up front if Idah, Obafemi and Connolly continue to progress...

Ogbene is the lad you’d really want. He’s a million miles from the Nigeria squad, unless they’re simply trying to cap him. The country is so large, they have so many attacking players operating a level above him who have never gotten a sniff of a call-up.

You’d worry about Trev Clarke. He was very unlucky with injuries but seems to have had a terrible time there. He’s now 22, so can’t really sit playing reserves (and if you believe the fans forums, playing poorly there) but he has all the attributes to be an excellent left back. Very fast, good dribbler, cracking left foot, can cross a ball, can really tackle.

Maybe it’ll be an Enda Stevens trajectory, down to league 2 and back up in a few years

elatedscum
03/07/2020, 6:14 PM
Watching the Portsmouth - oxford playoff semi. Only saw the second half but all of Raggett, Harness and Curtis have looked good. Would be interesting to see them play in the championship. All look like they’ve got the ability to move up...

03/07/2020, 10:16 PM
Liam Delap called up to train with the man city first team