View Full Version : Potentially eligible players thread
i wold like this particular door to be closed. He doesnt really seem to want to declare for us. If he did he would have done so by now - how many England squads has he been snubbed for by now?
CraftyToePoke
27/06/2011, 5:39 PM
Hang on a second -
"I want to get a pre-season under my belt, stay injury-free and have a great start to the season with Wolves. I’d love to play international football — it’s my dream."
In other words (wonders the cynic in me), put off making a decision until after the September games when it will be much clearer about our qualification prospects?
Sorry Jamie, but you can bugger right off if that's the plan. If he declares now with a view to being included v Croatia, then (with some skeptism) welcome aboard. After that he shouldn't be considered until the World Cup qualifiers.
Would love to have a midfielder of his quality in our team but its not as if we are in desperate need of him either.
I see where your cynicism arises but it could also be interpreted as 'look, I have just cost this club a lot of dollar, more than they usually lay out on a player and the first port of call in my career is to justify that''
Regarding the ongoing wait on this lad to make up his mind, well, its a bit of a myth, he wouldnt have to wait too long to decide if picked for our neighbours, the decision was made 3 years ago and I seem to recall a Twitter campaign by him to that effect. However, the best that can be said of him now is he is at least being honest and respectful to the Irish fans and people in his attempts to perform this inevitible (IMO) U-turn. He is better versed, than certain others, in the diplomacy of how to phrase it, but thats about all.
irishfan86
27/06/2011, 6:53 PM
Don't mind having him aboard but would be against him joining up to play in a tournament he had no part in helping us qualify for.
If he wants in he needs to declare now and play against Croatia, or wait until next campaign.
If England bring in an English manager after Capello, I could see a guy like O'Hara being bumped to the top of the queue as a fresh face, but ultimately I don't see him playing much of a role for England if he has his heart set on that.
Probably end up with a couple of caps in friendly matches and that's about it.
Junior
27/06/2011, 10:22 PM
The best thing that could happen is if O'Hara got called up to an England Squad very soon. He would be like a rat up a drain pipe.
Then we could get back to focussing on those that have set their hearts and souls on getting us to Poland/Ukraine.
Stutts, Im worried about your gut - what have you been taking........
Murfinator
27/06/2011, 10:32 PM
Get lost with this BS of starting the season well and talking about his family and "see what happens". If he was Irish he'd have declared when he was a teenager, I'd never support somebody like him. His very indecision is an insult to international soccer. Theres rarely any decision to be made with regards ones identity, the only decision here is a career one.
CraftyToePoke
27/06/2011, 11:05 PM
The best thing that could happen is if O'Hara got called up to an England Squad very soon.
That would settle it alright, just like it did with Zat Knight. He's not on their radar though, I think they selected Henderson and Wilshire recently, with Parker involved also, so this one might rumble on a bit. Unless of course they called him up and he declined as he hasnt made his mind up yet ... well, thats the official line isnt it? Yeah.
Scooby Doo
28/06/2011, 12:01 AM
I see where your cynicism arises but it could also be interpreted as 'look, I have just cost this club a lot of dollar, more than they usually lay out on a player and the first port of call in my career is to justify that''
Regarding the ongoing wait on this lad to make up his mind, well, its a bit of a myth, he wouldnt have to wait too long to decide if picked for our neighbours, the decision was made 3 years ago and I seem to recall a Twitter campaign by him to that effect. However, the best that can be said of him now is he is at least being honest and respectful to the Irish fans and people in his attempts to perform this inevitible (IMO) U-turn. He is better versed, than certain others, in the diplomacy of how to phrase it, but thats about all.
Ok, fair enough point, but do you really think that if Capello came calling for their friendly game in August that O'Hara would feel the need to 'consider it' or 'talk it over with his family'? Of course not. He is without question keeping his options open with Ireland. Fine, he's entitled to dual identity and maybe he feels he has a better shot at playing at a EC/WC with England, which is fair enough. However, if after the September games we are in a good position to qualify and he suddenly decides he wants to declare, then he should be told where to go.
Also, not digging at you, CraftyTP, but I really don't get this notion that O'Hara deserves some sort of credit for the 'diplomacy' not bluntly stating that England is by far is first choice. The difference between O'Hara and lads like Pennant and Zat Knight is that they are clearly both just tactless morons.
DannyInvincible
28/06/2011, 1:26 AM
Out of interest, is Zat Knight still eligible to play for us? He was capped twice by England but both times were friendlies.
CraftyToePoke
28/06/2011, 1:37 AM
Out of interest, is Zat Knight still eligible to play for us? He was capped twice by England but both times were friendlies.
Was thinking the same earlier, I think he might be. Cant see why not unless there is an age cap on switching, he is 31 I think. It all died down after they capped him, naturally enough, but he only played friendlies, and we know what that can mean, eh, James McCarthy ?
TrapAPony
28/06/2011, 2:21 AM
Yes, it looks like he is.
DannyInvincible
28/06/2011, 4:44 AM
Was thinking the same earlier, I think he might be. Cant see why not unless there is an age cap on switching, he is 31 I think. It all died down after they capped him, naturally enough, but he only played friendlies, and we know what that can mean, eh, James McCarthy ?
Yeah, he must be. There's no age-cap on switching any longer and only senior competitive games tie a player under the current rules. The age-cap used to be 21 but FIFA lifted it two years ago (http://fourfourtwo.com/news/restoftheworld/32035/default.aspx). When Knight was capped by England in 2005, he would have been in his mid-20s and FIFA had yet to scrap the age-cap, so he would only have become eligible for us again in 2009.
Junior
28/06/2011, 8:22 AM
What this does tell us is.....if Zat Knight can get a cap for England then surely O'Hara can! Capello call him up asap.
dotts101
28/06/2011, 10:12 AM
would never want knight near the aviva stadium or green jersey
Wolfie
28/06/2011, 12:30 PM
Would set a dangerous precedent if we kept the door open for this geezer.
He made his choice and that should be the end of it.
Murfinator
28/06/2011, 1:06 PM
Ok, fair enough point, but do you really think that if Capello came calling for their friendly game in August that O'Hara would feel the need to 'consider it' or 'talk it over with his family'? Of course not. He is without question keeping his options open with Ireland. Fine, he's entitled to dual identity and maybe he feels he has a better shot at playing at a EC/WC with England, which is fair enough. However, if after the September games we are in a good position to qualify and he suddenly decides he wants to declare, then he should be told where to go.
Also, not digging at you, CraftyTP, but I really don't get this notion that O'Hara deserves some sort of credit for the 'diplomacy' not bluntly stating that England is by far is first choice. The difference between O'Hara and lads like Pennant and Zat Knight is that they are clearly both just tactless morons.
I don't really see that happening, Trap isn't someone who likes to introduce people out of nowhere in the middle of a campaign. I believe Cox only got his callup because other choices didn't show. If he had his way I think he'd have liked to have had Walters, Folan, Best and Stokes there and not a newcomer Cox. If O'Hara were to make himself available right now I don't think he'd be considered unless others had injury problems or Gibson-itus.
Noelys Guitar
28/06/2011, 3:17 PM
I thought O'Hara's form dipped late in the season for Wolves. He played well for 4 or 5 games when he first signed and then his passing particulary started to suffer. Not sure he is any better than what he have at the moment so don't see him getting a call up now.
28/06/2011, 4:14 PM
I believe Cox only got his callup because other choices didn't show. I thought Cox was in the original squad. He probably only played because others didn't turn up.
Deckydee
29/06/2011, 7:38 AM
I don't really see that happening, Trap isn't someone who likes to introduce people out of nowhere in the middle of a campaign. I believe Cox only got his callup because other choices didn't show. If he had his way I think he'd have liked to have had Walters, Folan, Best and Stokes there and not a newcomer Cox. If O'Hara were to make himself available right now I don't think he'd be considered unless others had injury problems or Gibson-itus.
LOL - Whats the cure for that?
AlaskaFox
29/06/2011, 9:03 AM
LOL - Whats the cure for that?
Shots.
DannyInvincible
29/06/2011, 11:55 AM
Would set a dangerous precedent if we kept the door open for this geezer.
He made his choice and that should be the end of it.
God no; certainly wasn't advocating anything of the sort, ha. Whatever happened to chaps like Hogan Ephraim and Kyle Naughton, mind? What other names were being thrown around?
CraftyToePoke
29/06/2011, 1:14 PM
God no; certainly wasn't advocating anything of the sort, ha. Whatever happened to chaps like Hogan Ephraim and Kyle Naughton, mind? What other names were being thrown around?
I wouldnt advocate the return of Zat Knight either, just to clear that up ! I was very relieved when England token capped him and I think he is a fine example of guys alluded to in the St Ledger thread who are not as good as SSL but carving out a living as Prem players.
Adam Hamill was one, Luke Chambers another and Richard Stearman was also mentioned. Jonjo Shelvy was also approached I think. Connolly at OPR, McGugan at Forest was also mentioned.
There will be a few more as well Id imagine as the trawl continues.
TrapAPony
29/06/2011, 3:24 PM
Aside from the above - Jermaine Pennant, Anton Ferdinand, Darren Ambrose, Marc Tierney, Gary O'Neil, Alex Pearce, Andy Lonergan......
29/06/2011, 6:02 PM
..... Sunderland's new signing Connor Wickham.
the bear
29/06/2011, 9:30 PM
..... Sunderland's new signing Connor Wickham.
where did you hear that ifk101?
29/06/2011, 9:39 PM
its all over the news!
the bear
29/06/2011, 9:43 PM
hadn't heard, whats the craic has he switched?
all google can come up with is that worthington was trying to get him in 2010.
his da is from NI
CraftyToePoke
29/06/2011, 10:28 PM
hadn't heard, whats the craic has he switched?
all google can come up with is that worthington was trying to get him in 2010.
his da is from NI
I think Roy Keane spoke of it while at Ipswich, but said also it was unlikely.
Edit : Its in the text of this piece : http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/836434m-means-life-is-not-so-ruff-for-keano-2159088.html
the bear
30/06/2011, 5:13 PM
i presume paul oshea ment that him signing with sundrland was all over the news then, can't see this fella declaring for us
Paddy Garcia
30/06/2011, 5:52 PM
This is one of those threads where you just know there will be no material developments relating to the title - whatever the additional number of posts/pages.
..... yet I still click to see the latest!!
CraftyToePoke
01/07/2011, 1:20 AM
yet I still click to see the latest!!
Here it is, Paddy Garcia, the latest, and also a pretty pointless product of my bout of insomnia!
GK: Alex McCarthy
RB : Naughton
CB : Chambers
CB : Ferdinand
LB : Stearman
RM : Pennant
LM : Hammil
CM : O'Hara
CM: Noble
CF: Wickham
CF : Shelvey
Bench
Lonergan (GK)
Connolly (CB/RB)
Ephiram (LM)
Ambrose (CM)
McGugan (CM)
Some tenuous positional placements, but a semi decent eleven and bench, lined up in comparison against our own actual Irishmen, not really worth bending over backward for either though.
DannyInvincible
01/07/2011, 1:40 AM
Has Rhys Murphy declared for us? His Wikipedia says he declared last November but I don't know if he's been selected in a squad yet.
CraftyToePoke
01/07/2011, 2:05 AM
Or, alternatively, a similar assortment of Irish players who haven't been capped at competitive senior level yet, (open to correction on some of these) but who would compare favourably in most cases with the potential recruits, even if not just yet in some cases.
GK: Doyle
RB: Wilson
CB: Duffy
CB: Clarke
LB: Cunningham
LM : Ferguson
CM: Myler
CM: McCann
RM: Henderson
CF:Sammon
CF: Rooney
Bench.
Randolph (GK)
Doherty (CB)
Clifford (CM)
Hoolahan (LM)
Scannel (RM)
Scooby Doo
01/07/2011, 2:27 PM
And let us close the book on Jamie o'Hara forever. Thank God!
O'Hara sets sights on England recognition
Friday, 1 July 2011 15:21
Wolves midfielder Jamie O'Hara has signalled his intent to fight for senior international recognition with England rather than the Republic of Ireland.
The 24-year-old has represented England all the way up to Under-21 level, but found himself at the centre of speculation that he could opt to try his luck with Ireland, for whom he also qualifies, after failing to make it into Fabio Capello's plans.
However, having seen team-mate Matt Jarvis win an England cap against Ghana last season, O'Hara is now hoping to prove himself worthy of a chance.
O'Hara, who completed a £5million move to Molineux last month, told the club's official website, www.wolves.co.uk (http://www.wolves.co.uk/): 'I have decided I want to play for England.
'It's always been my ambition as a young player. I played in all the age groups through the years and now I'm looking to get off to a flying start.
'I'm looking to be a key figure for Wolves this season, and getting into the England squad is something I really want to do.
'I had a good end to last season and, coming into the new season, I want to have a cracking start and get into the England reckoning.
'I think it has been proved with this England manager that if you play regularly in the Premier League and do well, you have got a chance of getting in the squad.'
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/0701/oharaj.html
Scooby Doo
01/07/2011, 2:29 PM
Actually, I think this thread itself could be closed completely, or at least the title changed.
DannyInvincible
01/07/2011, 2:35 PM
So, we're to believe that O'Hara has only now decided to stick with England and might have turned down a call-up for a senior competitive game prior to this because he wouldn't have wanted it to hamper any potential Ireland hopes he'd have upon making his decision?...
Sullivinho
01/07/2011, 3:02 PM
Fair play to him. He could have carried on the diplomatic juggling but that's a real statement of intent and one which should be remembered if recognition evades him.
TrapAPony
01/07/2011, 3:42 PM
Not good enough to play for England so unfortunately for him he is never going to get to play international football.
Irwin3
01/07/2011, 8:29 PM
To be honest he isn't much worse than the current England midfielders. Only Wilshere stands out really now. Gerrard, Lampard, Carrick and Barry are waning and Parker never really hit the heights.
At least now the issue is put to bed and he will never represent Ireland.
01/07/2011, 11:34 PM
Lets forget about him now so.
I just hope he doesnt come out with fresh statements about Ireland in a few months time when he hasnt got a call up for England and we have qualified for the 2012 Euros.
Murfinator
02/07/2011, 6:49 AM
Not good enough to play for England
You overrate England, if hes good enough to get a starting spot for a premiership side he's good enough for England. They're desperately lacking in centre midfield relying on the likes of Gerrard, Lampard, Barry and Parker who are all over 30 and none of them especially good anymore either.
Murfinator
02/07/2011, 6:53 AM
Fair play to him. He could have carried on the diplomatic juggling but that's a real statement of intent and one which should be remembered if recognition evades him.
No not fair play to him, he brought this diplomatic incident on himself, refused to clarify his position and constantly tried to keep all doors open. He did the right thing saying what he did now but theres no excuse for not coming out and saying that months ago when these rumours first arose.
Yard of Pace
02/07/2011, 9:24 AM
No not fair play to him, he brought this diplomatic incident on himself, refused to clarify his position and constantly tried to keep all doors open. He did the right thing saying what he did now but theres no excuse for not coming out and saying that months ago when these rumours first arose.
What's the problem? He's a young guy who's only just got settled with a permanent move. He was out on loan the last two seasons. England were his first choice, we always knew that. He's signed for Wolves and wants to have a go at playing for England. He never declared for us, or joined squads or anything. He was respectful, said it was an honour and that he had a lot of feelings for Ireland. Best of luck to him.
CraftyToePoke
03/07/2011, 6:27 AM
I hope this is the last of this, I think it may not be though, but this will see it drift off the agenda for a bit anyway. If, in a seasons time he still hasnt represented England and is in a Wolves side with a few Irish in it, that will test him. He remains eligible.
What I will say for now is good luck to him, and I thought he would declare for us, but he seems a fairly honest lad and has been straight enough about it throughout.
ArdeeBhoy
03/07/2011, 4:46 PM
It's hard enough to get some Irish people who we could really do with, to play for us.....let alone :rolleyes: wondering about every other PL journeyman's who's technically eligible.
Even the supposedly vastly more 'prestigious' Ingerland are starting to struggle with this?
And they have supposedly a far bigger pool of 'quality' to draw from.
ArdeeBhoy
03/07/2011, 4:49 PM
Here it is, Paddy Garcia, the latest, and also a pretty pointless product of my bout of insomnia!
GK: Alex McCarthy
RB : Naughton
CB : Chambers
CB : Ferdinand
LB : Stearman
RM : Pennant
LM : Hammil
CM : O'Hara
CM: Noble
CF: Wickham
CF : Shelvey
Bench
Lonergan (GK)
Connolly (CB/RB)
Ephiram (LM)
Ambrose (CM)
McGugan (CM)
Some tenuous positional placements, but a semi decent eleven and bench, lined up in comparison against our own actual Irishmen, not really worth bending over backward for either though.
Maybe we should play a friendly v.this lot?
The self-righteousness meter could go off the scale though....
You could also do a 'still eligible, but never will be selected under Trap' XI, featuring Messrs. Reid, Ireland, Harte et al.
Crosby87
05/07/2011, 11:46 AM
On Kevin Nolan. Sorry if this is old news. Interesting comments from the manager.
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story/_/id/932175/alan-pardew:-kevin-nolan-didn't-deserve-five-year-newcastle-deal
ArdeeBhoy
05/07/2011, 12:57 PM
For once Pardew is probably right? Unsure what the point is you're making here??
TrapAPony
08/07/2011, 12:29 PM
Barry Maguire eyes Republic of Ireland chance
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,,12040_7028014,00.html
08/07/2011, 12:45 PM
On Kevin Nolan. Sorry if this is old news. Interesting comments from the manager.
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story/_/id/932175/alan-pardew:-kevin-nolan-didn't-deserve-five-year-newcastle-deal
I'd say he talks too much to be honest. There is no decision to make with the goalkeeper. Bye bye Harps,yet he didn't shut up about him.
Deckydee
18/10/2011, 7:03 AM
http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/ohara-rules-out-irish-2908062.html