View Full Version : Séamus Coleman (D Everton b.1988)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 [45] 46 47 48

05/03/2018, 1:51 PM
was his 250th appeareance for everton at the weekend

14/08/2018, 11:04 AM
great interview with Coleman last week: ‘All I want is to bring a cup to this club’: Seamus Coleman talks Everton, Irish kickabouts and football’s wayward youth (https://inews.co.uk/sport/football/premier-league/seamus-coleman-everton-interview-ireland/)

Cheirin
14/08/2018, 9:37 PM
Great to see Coleman back on the pitch. Offers Everton alot more going forward too.

07/01/2019, 3:54 PM
Disappointed to see Coleman struggling for his place under the new manager. Time for a move ?

zero
07/01/2019, 4:13 PM
Yeah silva has gotten rid of many of the old guard, but fans had been getting on coleman's back anyway. General feeling seems to be he isn't himself since returning from injury, but these things take some time.

His stock has fallen a bit so not sure where he may end up if he did move. It's all speculation at the moment anyway.

07/01/2019, 5:18 PM
He's lost form lads, it's as simple as that. Whether it's that he's overdone it trying to get back and this is the to-be-expected kickback, or that he's just off-pace, he's off-form and it can't be ignored.

irishfan86
07/01/2019, 6:37 PM
Maybe I'm naïve but I put down him being in and out of lineup this time of year as squad rotation. I still think he's first choice.

Olé Olé
13/01/2019, 12:56 PM
Starting at home against Bournemouth today.

05/04/2019, 2:44 PM
Vote for Coleman as Premier League Player of the Month for March here: https://plpotm.easports.com/

Razors left peg
05/04/2019, 7:42 PM
Vote for Coleman as Premier League Player of the Month for March here: https://plpotm.easports.com/

Thought he was finished a few months ago and the Everton fans wanted him replaced....

Delighted for him, hes a class act

07/04/2019, 2:46 PM
He's been excellent against Arsenal today. Good chance of winning Man of the match.

(I've probably jinxed him now.)

irishfan86
04/05/2019, 10:11 PM
In case you missed it, Coleman headed home a rebound in a 2-0 Everton win vs Burnley yesterday while captaining the side. Reports of his career’s death have been greatly exaggerated.

04/05/2019, 11:23 PM
20th goal in the Premier league for Coleman, one more than Stephen Ireland

Olé Olé
05/05/2019, 4:55 PM
And what a bleeding contrast.

Olé Olé
06/08/2019, 9:46 PM
Everton looking like signing France international right back Djibiril Sidibe on loan from Monaco.

liamoo11
26/12/2019, 2:11 PM
If Ancelotti keeps firing in Coleman and sidibe like today that would be fantastic and an unexpected bonus

irishfan86
27/12/2019, 5:26 AM
It was a strong first match for Coleman under Ancelotti. Kept the armband and played as a right sided centre back in a back three, with the freedom to attack whenever he liked (which he did frequently and to decent effect).

At around the 10 minute mark he executed a full blooded brilliant/crunching sliding tackle. Later in the match, he nearly scored with a long range left footed effort.

Italians like their experienced defenders. If every game was like this for Coleman and he maintains this form, that will suit us nicely for March.

RiffRaff
27/12/2019, 6:06 AM
At times he looked to be playing a defensive midfield role and was excellent. Definitely something to consider for Mick / Kenny.

DCWA
27/12/2019, 9:42 AM
Our very own Philip Lahm

third policeman
27/12/2019, 10:27 AM
It was a strong first match for Coleman under Ancelotti. Kept the armband and played as a right sided centre back in a back three, with the freedom to attack whenever he liked (which he did frequently and to decent effect).

At around the 10 minute mark he executed a full blooded brilliant/crunching sliding tackle. Later in the match, he nearly scored with a long range left footed effort.

Italians like their experienced defenders. If every game was like this for Coleman and he maintains this form, that will suit us nicely for March.

It was a fairly obvious option for us to accommodate two of our better Premiership players as well as being a familiar model for our Sheffield Utd contingent. Obvious to everyone other than Mick of course.

27/12/2019, 1:29 PM
It wasn't obvious to me tbh. Several here suggested Coleman as a right sided centre back in a back 3 over the last couple of years but I just don't see him as having the attributes needed, and have said so. Obviously I'd be very happy to be proven wrong.

Yer man O'Connell at Sheffield United seems to be setting a good example / template of the role though - at times he's like on overlapping full back he gets so far forward in wide positions, which is rare to see in a back 3 player. So, yeah, Coleman can definitely do that part. Will an Irish third centre-back ever be given license to attack at will? Will an Irish midfield ever afford us that luxury?

On a kind of related note McCarthy must have been smoking dope prior to Geneva when he picked Stevens as the left sided third centre back in the starting XI. If you're looking for a stick to beat Mick with it's this rather than not picking Coleman in a similar (right sided) role.

irishfan86
27/12/2019, 5:03 PM
My main concern with the three centreback system is that you need time to drill it in. Not just for the back three, but also for the players further forward who will need to protect those defenders if they push forward.

As we're aware, Martin O'Neill tried to implement this system during the Nations League -- and it failed. It doesn't mean it's not an experiment worth looking at again, I just don't know when Mick would have a chance to fully get players to understand/buy in to that vision.

I do very much like the suggestion of trying Coleman at the defensive midfield position. That would also be an experiment of sorts but in my view less radical than overhauling our whole system. I'm open to any idea that allows us to play both Coleman and Doherty.

tommy_c12000
28/12/2019, 1:05 PM
Dropped (or hopefully rested) today

Olé Olé
21/06/2020, 7:13 PM
Looking great tonight so far against Liverpool
Had a good first half and has had an imperious 10 minutes versus Mane. Hope he keeps it up.

livehead1
21/06/2020, 7:25 PM
Looking great tonight so far against Liverpool
Had a good first half and has had an imperious 10 minutes versus Mane. Hope he keeps it up.
Agree, looks back to his best.

Olé Olé
21/06/2020, 7:50 PM
Man of the match, in fact.

eitoof
22/06/2020, 9:25 AM
Great to see. He was excellent last night.

22/06/2020, 9:26 AM
Great stuff looks like he needed a break from Football.

Egan and Stevens not so much.

elatedscum
22/06/2020, 10:12 AM
Honestly, can’t remember anyone ever handling Sadio Mane so well...

Bielsa´s irish
13/09/2020, 4:23 PM
Seamus has a solid game he is having the korean dude in his pocket. Best Everton player by a mile second best James R.
Very good game from Doherty as well, missed a golden chance to scored the bounced tricked him badly,... donkey richardlison is retreating next to him all the time.

Trequartista20
13/09/2020, 4:59 PM
I just love your one-eyed enthusiasm for Irish players, Javier.

If Argentina played Ireland who would you support?

Bielsa´s irish
13/09/2020, 5:12 PM
I just love your one-eyed enthusiasm for Irish players, Javier.

If Argentina played Ireland who would you support?

for Ireland , we already won the wc twice. In a friendly, a draw. we played the last time , 1-0 with a dimaria gol i think Cililan Sheridan had a good game up front and gave the defenders a torrid game. It was a Martin O'Neill team

DeLorean
13/09/2020, 5:12 PM
Coleman has been excellent. Looked like he was really going to have his hands full with Son early on, but has been more than able for him and everything else.

Bielsa´s irish
13/09/2020, 5:24 PM
Coleman has been excellent. Looked like he was really going to have his hands full with Son early on, but has been more than able for him and everything else.

A Paul McGrath performance, he even had a chance to score. Doherty was very good as well and was wrongly replaced, Spurs wasnt dangerous on the right anymore. His replacement did everything wrong.

Trequartista20
13/09/2020, 5:25 PM
[QUOTE=Bielsa´s irish;2048210]for Ireland , we already won the wc twice. In a friendly, a draw. we played the last time , 1-0 with a dimaria gol i think Cililan Sheridan had a good game up front and gave the defenders a torrid game. It was a Martin O'Neill team[/QUOTE

Good for you. I know you've good time for Sheridan.

irishfan86
13/09/2020, 5:31 PM
The commentator on my feed described Coleman’s performance as “immaculate,” and I’d have to agree. Regardless of what’s in store internationally for him, I’m delighted he’s been able to come back and perform so well at club level. As I typed out here at half time, I’d have him in at right fullback for Slovakia.

Trequartista20
13/09/2020, 5:33 PM
His form has been impressive recently. He looked very good after the restart last term; fit and close to his best again.

I think it's important he start the Slovakia match.

We need as many leaders on the pitch as possible.

Olé Olé
13/09/2020, 5:46 PM
I'm inclined to agree. I wish Doherty had been tried on the right of the front three by Kenny during the two friendlies. I think he could offer a lot there.

Bielsa´s irish
13/09/2020, 5:58 PM
I'm inclined to agree. I wish Doherty had been tried on the right of the front three by Kenny during the two friendlies. I think he could offer a lot there.

doherty cant play up front. He can play right back left back and central midfielder or right midfielder in a 4-3-3

but cant play a right forward. Place Shane Long or Obafemi there for instance. Doherty can play right mid in a 4-3-3

Trequartista20
13/09/2020, 6:00 PM

Aside from the Gibraltar match where we were awful all over the park as we laboured to a 0-1 win, he's never really been given a proper chance to combine with Coleman on the right-hand side.

He played very high up the park for Wolves - often their most advanced player and sometimes being caught offside as a result. And he got his fair share of goals and assists

I see absolutely no reason why he couldn't play further forward for us. Especially when there's no outstanding candidate for the right wing position.

When Charlton had two very good leftbacks in Phelan and Staunton available, and Kevin Sheedy's career fell into decline, he chose to play both on the left flank. Why can't we do similar?

Sometimes you've got to cut your cloth a little bit and try and get your best players on the pitch. I'm not sure we're good enough to do otherwise.

Bielsa´s irish
13/09/2020, 6:15 PM
Aside from the Gibraltar match where we were awful all over the park as we laboured to a 0-1 win, he's never really been given a proper chance to combine with Coleman on the right-hand side.

He played very high up the park for Wolves - often their most advanced player and sometimes being caught offside as a result. And he got his fair share of goals and assists

I see absolutely no reason why he couldn't play further forward for us. Especially when there's no outstanding candidate for the right wing position.

When Charlton had two very good leftbacks in Phelan and Staunton available, and Kevin Sheedy's career fell into decline, he chose to play both on the left flank. Why can't we do similar?

Sometimes you've got to cut your cloth a little bit and try and get your best players on the pitch. I'm not sure we're good enough to do otherwise.

Doherty is the better player between him and Coleman. Has a better touch, an eye for goal, clever passes with a certain accuracy and finesse as it showed today. Can hold midfield as well, versatile can cope as a right back, left back, center back, central mid, right mid in a 3 players midfield.

Coleman used to play right midfielder when younger, but became an specialist as right back and he is a leader. And he sticks with one position his.

Doherty has to play vs Slovakia but where?

DeLorean
13/09/2020, 6:21 PM
It's been suggested ad nauseam but we do seem to be crying out for a wing back formation, with Coleman right of the three. Kenny is hardly going to discard his 4-3-3 just like that though while trying to put his stamp on the team.

Bielsa´s irish
13/09/2020, 6:28 PM
It's been suggested ad nauseam but we do seem to be crying out for a wing back formation, with Coleman right of the three. Kenny is hardly going to discard his 4-3-3 just like that though while trying to put his stamp on the team.

if so.....doherty mc carthy and hendrick in midfield for me. long mc goldrick and conolly/mcclean up front .......coleman--duffy--egan--stevens...randy as gk

14/09/2020, 8:52 AM
Doherty is the better player between him and Coleman. On yesterday's evidence I think you're doing Coleman a real disservice.

I thought Coleman had a blinder yesterday. Doherty’s best moments are flashier but I think Coleman exuded quality yesterday. I was watching his communication with his CBs too and it was really good, a few times a simple word or point to a teammate to restore shape where it had been temporarily lost.

But what Doc does in the attacking third is a great asset to any team. He seemed to be starting very high up. Sky’s pundits commented on it, saying that he was becoming easier to mark because he was permanently positioned over the half way line, whereas he’d be more dangerous arriving late into the space he was attacking. I just don’t see how Ireland can get the best out of him in this way – though Kenny did say he had watched Spurs under Mourinho and that his back 4 was basically a kind of back three with one or other full back always forward. But for a team that struggles to play on the front foot I don't see us being able to adopt that approach too often.

It’s a real conundrum. I can’t stand round pegs in square holes. We have two great attacking full backs on the RHS, one a swashbuckling attacking wing back type, the other a highly accomplished all round full back. Can room be found for each?

3-5-2 with Coleman in the 3? Round peg/square hole but not an insurmountable problem. Kieran Tierney is a similar player and has the nous and awareness to do this in Arsenal’s new system.

442 with Coleman at RB, Doc RM? You can see why they didn’t gel in Gibraltar. They both like to attack the same area of the pitch. I think Mick discarded this too early though. Given time they may have come to an understanding. Same formation with Doc RB and Coleman RM? Maybe this’d allow Doc the space to attack from deep?

433 with Coleman RB and Doc tight right? Again this might allow each more room on that side. It’d require dropping Hendrick who seems to be playing well now. 4312 probably best. 4231 takes us back to the 442 problem though?

433 with Doc forward right. This’d be more of a round peg / square hole solution. I’m sure Doc could do OK here but we have specialist forwards. And starting Doc advanced takes us back to the problem that he is best arriving in that part of the pitch rather than being stationed there.

14/09/2020, 9:21 AM
On yesterday's evidence I think you're doing Coleman a real disservice......

I thought Coleman had a blinder yesterday.

he very much hasn't gone away. His performances since the start of 2020 have been very much like the Seamus Coleman of old and i said as much before SKs first team selection. We simply cant afford to be leaving out a player of his class.

Diggs246
14/09/2020, 9:46 AM
We just don't have to the players not to play both

Seamus Coleman played right wing for Blackpool, if memory servers

Doherty is an attaching wing back. Both as we know can play full back

I don't want to harp on about this but this 433 will be the death of us,

Eirambler
14/09/2020, 10:28 AM
I have the complete opposite view to most on this it seems, but here goes.

We can't successfully play both of them at the same time. And for that reason we shouldn't.

Both are right wing backs or right full backs. Once you take either out of that position you negate most of what makes them so good, so why do it? Let's look at the options.

4-3-3 or 4-5-1 (or any other variation of this formation). This either means playing one of the two of them as a right sided central midfielder, completely unbalancing our midfield, or playing one as a right sided forward. Doherty is already on record as saying he doesn't like playing in a more advanced role, his game is about taking the ball forward from right wing back or right back. Similarly (hopefully) nobody is suggesting playing Coleman as a right wing forward. So it doesn't work, you need a player up there who suits the position.

4-4-2. This means playing one of them at right midfield. Two problems here, one is that one of the two players are too advanced to play their natural game, the other is that 4-4-2 will see us overrun in central midfield anyway, like we were under Trap when we played that system. So that's no good.

Next up is the great white hope, 3-5-2. This involves playing Coleman as a centre back to squeeze the two lads in. So under this system we can forget about Coleman's attacking abilities from right back as they will not be getting used. At that point you have to ask whether it is worth changing the entire system to fit in a player who would still be playing out of position and wouldn't be able to use the best elements of their game anyway. In any case what would be the justification for picking Coleman at centre back ahead of Egan, Clark or Duffy, all three are better centre backs than Coleman is? So again it doesn't work.

Look, it's unfortunate that two of our best players play in the same position, but that's just what happens sometimes in international football. I have watched and listened to Scottish supporters and journalists spend the last two years coming up with all kinds of madcap alternative formations to get all their midfielders and left backs into their team at the same time. Finally last week Steve Clarke cracked and went for it. He played Scott McTominay at centre back. And it was a disaster. Funnily enough all the same supporters and journalists now want "players picked in their best positions or not picked at all" as though Clarke was mad to ever consider the idea.

The bottom line is that you either pick Coleman or you pick Doherty, and the one you don't pick sits on the bench. You can always start one and sub on the other I suppose. Or, at the rate Stevens is going, we might be calling for Doherty at left back before too long, and that might actually work. But aside from that, you can't successfully have both of them in the team at the same time. People really need to accept that and move on.

Personally, in the short term at least, I'd pick Coleman. If he has run himself into the ground after 65 minutes I'd sub on Doherty and get him to run at tired defenders. But if Coleman is flying I'd leave Doherty on the bench.

14/09/2020, 10:42 AM
cant agree. I couldn't see doherty offering any less than our other options in the right of a 3 man CM for example.
SC could play right of a back 3 with doherty as right wing back.

14/09/2020, 10:42 AM
https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/seamus-coleman-and-matt-doherty-the-perfect-fit-for-slovakia-playoff-39527573.html

14/09/2020, 10:50 AM
Can you copy the full article?