View Full Version : Séamus Coleman (D Everton b.1988)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 [44] 45 46 47 48

DannyInvincible
30/04/2017, 1:49 AM
Another interview with the Everton Show (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCtK4QAczAN2mt2ow_jlGinQ): http://www.evertonfc.com/news/2017/04/29/coleman-i-know-ill-be-back-like-before

“I think patience will be the hard bit,” [Coleman] admitted in an exclusive interview on Friday’s The Everton Show. “I’ve read different articles. I’ve no fear I won’t be coming back the same player, there’s none of that nonsense. I know I’ll be back, I won’t be afraid of my first tackle or anything like that - that’s not a problem for me, psychologically.

“I think the time will be the [difficult] one for me, because you’re used to playing every week and training every day. But it’s part and parcel of it and you just have to get on with it.

Video footage of that interview from 23m35s here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5bemDf2CG4c&feature=youtu.be&t=23m35s

05/05/2017, 11:59 AM
new 5 year contract with everton...
https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2017/0505/872767-seamus-coleman-signs-new-five-year-everton-contract/

DannyInvincible
05/05/2017, 5:47 PM
new 5 year contract with everton...
https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2017/0505/872767-seamus-coleman-signs-new-five-year-everton-contract/

The contract offer was made before the injury and was due to be signed after the international break, but that the offer stood in spite of the leg-break is still a real display of confidence from Everton in a full recovery. Good to see.

DannyInvincible
17/05/2017, 3:09 AM
Phil Neville had some great praise for Coleman on Monday evening's Off the Ball: https://www.balls.ie/football/phil-neville-seamus-coleman-everton-365122

He was a right winger at the time, and I used to play right-back, and if I could have had Seamus Coleman about eight years before, I think I'd still be playing football now because he used to run, run, run, he used to defend for me, back-track for me.

I marked Gareth Bale one game, and I got the man of the match award, and how I got that and they didn't give it to Seamus I don't know. I never once had a 1 v 1 because Seamus kept coming back covering for me all the time. He's a brilliant, brilliant player.

I just hope that he keeps positive, which I know he will, because he loves football and this would have hurt him and hit him hard, but I think he's come back bigger and stronger.

DannyInvincible
02/06/2017, 2:55 AM
Coleman is to be awarded the Freedom of County Donegal later today: http://www.derryjournal.com/sport/football/everton-star-seamus-coleman-to-receive-home-county-s-highest-honour-1-7989380

Everton and Republic of Ireland football star Seamus Coleman will have Donegal’s highest honour bestowed upon him on June 2 after being praised for his humility and hailed as a shining example to young people.

The full-back, who suffered a horrendous double leg break on his last international outing, will be accorded the Freedom of County Donegal at a Civic Reception hosted at the County House in Lifford on Friday, starting at 5pm.

09/06/2017, 9:27 AM
Interviewed on this week's Irishman Abroad podcast: https://soundcloud.com/an-irishman-abroad/seamus-coleman-episode-195

DannyInvincible
10/06/2017, 12:28 AM
'Ireland skipper Seamus Coleman tells how an infected blister almost ended his career before it started': https://www.thesun.ie/news/1113513/ireland-skipper-seamus-coleman-tells-how-an-infected-blister-almost-ended-his-career-before-it-started/

We’d a few pre-season games and I done very well, and I got the shout after we played — I think it was Rochdale or Bury — from the manager after the game to say, ‘You’re coming on the pre-season trip to America tomorrow.’ But I had a blister on my foot and it was a bit sore, it was a bit red and that... It must have been on the flight over there, seven or eight-hour flight over there, that it got infected, 'cause when I got off the plane on the other side it was agony.

I made [the medics] aware of it, they kept an eye on it and it got worse and worse. I remember not being fit to sleep or anything... I got stuff taken out of it over there and it was still sore. Came back after the trip and had to get a small operation on it. It wasn’t until maybe a month, six weeks after that, I was told, ‘We were concerned, you could have lost your big toe.’ That would have been the end of that.

Olé Olé
10/06/2017, 9:02 AM
That was on the Irish Man Abroad podcast which came out this week.

Great listen for anyone interest. Hour long interview of Seamus. One qualifier though is that it was recorded before the injury.

11/08/2017, 5:20 PM
"At least six months" sounds like a worst case scenario to me. He is in his late 20's so it will take a bit longer but I reckon he'll be back well inside 6 months. All depends on complexity (or lack thereof) with the breaks of course. They'll be well into pre-season 4 months from now. I wouldn't rule him out of at least joining it at some point.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/premier-league/pictures-seamus-coleman-back-running-four-months-after-double-leg-break-against-wales-36023118.html

Seamies back running. They hope to have him fully involved by November.

11/08/2017, 11:57 PM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/premier-league/pictures-seamus-coleman-back-running-four-months-after-double-leg-break-against-wales-36023118.html

Seamies back running. They hope to have him fully involved by November.

That sounds like great news , things seem to be going well.

DannyInvincible
09/09/2017, 12:58 AM
Back training with a ball: https://twitter.com/Everton/status/905840902425518080

https://media.balls.ie/uploads/2017/09/07204249/eaa2f7711aed03d58888aa968fce794d.png

09/09/2017, 7:54 PM
That is great to see.

18/10/2017, 6:34 PM
What's the latest?

It feels like a true eternity since that Welsh game

DannyInvincible
18/10/2017, 8:14 PM
'Seamus Coleman will not make wonder return to Ireland squad for Denmark play-off, says Martin O'Neill': http://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/soccer/soccer-news/seamus-coleman-not-make-wonder-11359467

Coleman is making remarkable progress from the horror leg break he suffered against Wales in March. And immediately after the win over the Dragons in Cardiff last week, O'Neill said he "couldn't call it" as to whether Coleman would be fit if Ireland reached the play-off. But any faint hopes of an unlikely and astonishing return have now been extinguished.

Quizzed first on Everton ace Coleman, O’Neill stressed: “I think it would be unlikely.”

I think Coleman is expected to return to action in December.

KrisLetang
18/10/2017, 8:18 PM
I think Coleman is expected to return to action in December.

BAsed on this crack reporting?
http://www.dailystar.co.uk/sport/football/653093/Everton-news-Ross-Barkley-Seamus-Coleman-Premier-League-Injury-Ronald-Koeman

DannyInvincible
18/10/2017, 8:44 PM
I think the projection has always been to have him back in full training in November. See here: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/seamus-coleman-working-towards-everton-comebackbut-will-he-be-back-for-ireland-in-2017-36100447.html http://www.highlandradio.com/2017/09/21/coleman-to-return-to-full-training-in-november/

Once he's back in full training, you'd expect it to take a few weeks to ease him fully back into first-team action.

KrisLetang
18/10/2017, 8:50 PM
Much more worried about McCarthy. He needs to be covered in bubble wrap. No banana peels around him, not allowed to trim his nose hairs with anything sharp, no walking under ladders, no walking down a flight of stairs in high heels while carrying coffee, etc...and no, absolutely no, opening any animated boxes marked "TNT."

13/11/2017, 11:27 AM
https://twitter.com/RTEsoccer/status/930038618902749190

Seamie doing some ball work

Olé Olé
13/11/2017, 1:10 PM
It was a great sight to see him and Jonny with the squad in Saturday night. Inspirational characters and top pros that we could really use tomorrow night.

29/11/2017, 7:39 PM
Commentator on tonight's Everton V West Ham game mentioned he spoke to Coleman before the game and he said he's expecting to be back over the Christmas period

30/11/2017, 1:00 PM
Yuss!!!

30/11/2017, 7:03 PM
Would be a nice present, but my dad promise me stuff for Xmas before that I never go so I'll have to wait and see! :p

KrisLetang
30/11/2017, 7:19 PM
As long as he's ready for the U.S. Cup. That first game vs Papua New Guinea will be crucial.

Fizzer
01/12/2017, 8:07 PM
Janey, Crosby! Stop getting banned man

DeLorean
30/12/2017, 1:37 PM
Big Sam gives an update on "guinea pig" Coleman - http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/everton-receive-injury-boosts-including-14091164

Coleman is coming on okay, he's out running with the rehab lads. He's twisting and turning, not really doing any more than that at this moment in time, but he's progressing nicely they say.

We have a new machine which is the latest in the market so he's a little bit of a guinea pig on that, but it seems to be working from that point of view, to speed up the recovery process and there's a few more players who will be testing it out in the next week or two.

30/12/2017, 9:55 PM
My broken leg healed in half the time... all because I meditated

Read more: http//www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-1387736/My-broken-leg-healed-half-time--I-meditated.html#ixzz52muCzn2V

Wonder is Seamus should try meditation?

30/12/2017, 10:33 PM
FYI tricky, I despise the Daily Mail. Bear that in mind when posting links to that rag

30/12/2017, 10:54 PM
Yes I agree the DM link is likely crap however you never know!

I can't see Seamus being back within 12 months myself, it just does not sound on to me, Luke Shaw was out for 11 months so I would say that is the bare minimum. Seamus has only been out for 9 months.

30/12/2017, 11:24 PM
Within 12 months? As in, December 2018? A few weeks ago the player himself was saying he hoped to play before the end of the month, and there have been others that have come back in a similar timeframe.

31/12/2017, 2:26 AM
Within 12 months? As in, December 2018? A few weeks ago the player himself was saying he hoped to play before the end of the month, and there have been others that have come back in a similar timeframe.

12 months from when he broke it to playing 1st team.

Sam A seems to think he has some way to go

“Coleman is coming on ok, he's out running with the rehab lads. He's twisting and turning, not really doing any more than that at this moment in time, but he's progressing nicely they say.

Sounds like some/several weeks to go at least.

EAFC_rdfl
02/01/2018, 8:32 AM
12 months from when he broke it to playing 1st team.

Sam A seems to think he has some way to go

Sounds like some/several weeks to go at least.

Not sure why you were asked to clarify the 12 months, it seemed very obvious that it related to the length of time out for the injury. The Luke Shaw reference left no room for doubt, you would have thought...!

DeLorean
23/01/2018, 3:29 PM
Set to play for Everton's reserves tonight - http://www.the42.ie/seamus-colemans-10-month-injury-absence-set-to-end-tonight-3812757-Jan2018/?utm_source=shortlink

Live on their YouTube channel - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9f2kWIAD2A0

23/01/2018, 10:53 PM
Set to play for Everton's reserves tonight - http://www.the42.ie/seamus-colemans-10-month-injury-absence-set-to-end-tonight-3812757-Jan2018/?utm_source=shortlink

Live on their YouTube channel - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9f2kWIAD2A0

Thanks for that!! I missed it but the whole game is there and so I'm watching from near the start,
not seen Coleman yet he is on the opposite side of the camera.
So I look forward to seeing him in action!!

23/01/2018, 10:57 PM
Must be tough being on the opposition side, you would not want to be putting in a crunching tackle on him really would you?

23/01/2018, 11:21 PM
1.18 to 1.30 (mins) you see a bit of Coleman, he comes off on 1.30, pretty quite game really, a few touches and a cross or two?

29/01/2018, 11:05 PM
He is in the squad for Wednesday.

It is remarkable how a bone can heal it self, I broke my collar bone, was a clear gap 1/2 inch or so, nothing was done really
bar a sling to indicated it was broken really and stop me using it to much.

Somehow it manages to get the bones *perfectly* back together all by itself.

I think it kind of builds a big lump of bone like material up to connect the gap and then gradually re-engineers
it into the perfect shape.

Seamus Coleman will return to Everton squad against Leicester for first time since recovering from horror leg break

Everton take on Leicester at Goodison Park in Premier League on Wednesday
Seamus Coleman will be called up for Wednesday's visit of Claude Puel's men
The full back has been out since breaking his leg for Ireland vs Wales last March
Everton sit ninth in the Premier League heading into their game with Leicester

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-5325099/Seamus-Coleman-return-Everton-squad-vs-Leicester.html#ixzz55cbYzNoy
Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter (http://ec.tynt.com/b/rw?id=bBOTTqvd0r3Pooab7jrHcU&u=MailOnline) | DailyMail on Facebook (http://ec.tynt.com/b/rf?id=bBOTTqvd0r3Pooab7jrHcU&u=DailyMail)

brine3
30/01/2018, 12:10 PM
A fully healed bone is actually stronger than the original bone pre-break. The difficulty comes in lining everything up properly. So the more complicated the break, the more difficult it is to piece everything back together. So somebody like Henke Larsson, who had a clean break, healed 100% and came back to play the best football of his career.

I'd be worried about Robbie Brady. Knee ligaments are a bit iffy. They never heal back to 100%. You're looking at permanently reduced knee functionality. The question is how much. 95% heal is great, 70% heal not so great.

zero
31/01/2018, 6:24 PM
starts tonight. bit surprised but fair play to him.

31/01/2018, 8:09 PM
Everton 2-0 up. Just tuned in seen a bit of Coleman, he looked fine, same as ever, not seen him do much bar a few basic passes though.

Seems to be doing well, he had some sort of run but I only heard commentary, but the commentator said he'd been excellent
down that right hand side, and that he was secondly only to Walcott, who scored 2 goals!

31/01/2018, 8:40 PM
2-1 mixed second half for Seamus had a miss hit shot but he did very well overall, he could have seal it in the
end as he ran the ball clear but he pass it instead, he should have headed for goal and had a shot, would
have been a great end to the match and beginning to his return.

brine3
31/01/2018, 9:30 PM
90 minutes and played well.

Love that man.

31/01/2018, 10:09 PM
Man of the match on his return!

DeLorean
01/02/2018, 12:16 PM
A fully healed bone is actually stronger than the original bone pre-break. The difficulty comes in lining everything up properly. So the more complicated the break, the more difficult it is to piece everything back together. So somebody like Henke Larsson, who had a clean break, healed 100% and came back to play the best football of his career.

There were exactly 313 days between Coleman breaking his leg against Wales and his return last night, so basically just over ten months. Was James McCarthy's an identical injury? I've seen both described as 'double leg fractures'. With the operation seemingly being a successful one, hopefully McCarthy will return in a similar time frame and doesn't go the way of Alan Judge instead. I wonder would the extended period of rest also help to finally clear up his groin/hamstring issues.

In theory he could be back around the time of the final Nations Cup match hopefully.

02/02/2018, 7:55 PM
Warms the cockles seeing him back.

10/02/2018, 9:20 PM
started today for Everton, withdrawn with a thigh strain at half time, but unrelated to the recovery from his broken leg

11/02/2018, 12:23 AM
Unbeaten when he plays since his return, Everton won 2 of the last 10 and Seamus started both.

IsMiseSean
18/02/2018, 11:26 AM
Came across this when looking at the Leon Bailey link from another thread.
A bit distasteful.
Tubridy jokes about Coleman's leg break (https://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/irish-people-were-furious-ryan-12041920)

seanfhear
18/02/2018, 6:15 PM
Came across this when looking at the Leon Bailey link from another thread.
A bit distasteful.
Tubridy jokes about Coleman's leg break (https://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/irish-people-were-furious-ryan-12041920)
I have never thought much of Ryan Tubridy . I think even less of him now .

The man of the People has been caught out this time . Ordinary people don’t find this cr@p funny . He is an Idiot .

02/03/2018, 2:07 PM
Coleman available for Everton's game this weekend against Burnley: http://www.evertonfc.com/news/2018/03/02/allardyce

03/03/2018, 11:49 PM
got an assist, still lost though, but Irish players on both sides, they can't all be on the winning side, but two were.