View Full Version : James McCarthy M free agent b.1990

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 [27] 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104

08/09/2010, 7:33 PM
The worrying thing around McCarthy and the call up to the senior panel was Brady's deep intake of breath when the question was thrown his way. In a way it was a pity that Dunphy interjected to save the 'dead air' moment and gave Brady time to compose himself and pay tribute to McCarthy and his promising future. I suppose there is a difference between the glowing tribute he paid to Andy Reid (a thanks for services rendered) and saying that McCarthy has a future and will (certainly) be a part of the Irish team.
But somehow at this stage, I have the feeling that time is being wasted now.

Crosby87
08/09/2010, 10:55 PM
How could he be tired? Its the first week of September.

08/09/2010, 11:24 PM
he pulled out of the end of season games against Algeria and Paraguay because he was tired after the season, he pulled out of the Cezch Republic and Turkey U21 games because of a knee strain

09/09/2010, 12:19 AM
I think Crosby was just being a bit sarcastic.

09/09/2010, 2:03 AM

im pretty tired this week in fairness...

punkrocket
09/09/2010, 2:05 PM
must be all those big hills you have to climb up and down

09/09/2010, 3:07 PM
Trapp likes both his central midfielders to be defensive minded with the danger coming from the wings. McCarthy plays in a Wigan team which prior to the Spurs came conceded what in the previous three games? Lots in fact a rake full (too lazy to look up). Not sure he's what Trapp is looking for.

09/09/2010, 4:24 PM
If you're too lazy to look up the scores in their opening two games, are you also too lazy to look up how McCarthy played?
McCarthy was voted as Wigan's best player by their own fans against Chelsea, despite the result, and narrowly missed a chance to score.

09/09/2010, 5:59 PM
must be all those big hills you have to climb up and down

i watched my dog run away for 3 days!

greendeiseboy
11/09/2010, 2:30 PM
Oh surprise, surprise he's playing today

Serb
12/09/2010, 7:12 PM
Oh surprise, surprise he's playing today

Looks like he's done with the Ireland U21 setup. He has pulled out of all four Ireland U21 games since his senior debut versus Brazil in February.

greendeiseboy
12/09/2010, 7:56 PM
Looks like he's done with the Ireland U21 setup. He has pulled out of all four Ireland U21 games since his senior debut versus Brazil in February.

No he played in the Estonia game (the one before last week) and scored - but yeah he hasn't exactly shown much commitment lately.

dr_peepee
13/09/2010, 8:13 AM
The squad for the Norway friendly is gonna be interesting reading...

22/09/2010, 11:46 PM
got the assist on Wigan's winner tonight. Wigan broke forward after a Preston corner in injury team, with N'Zogbia and McCarthy facing a defender and the Preston keeper, Andy Lonergan. N'Zogbia passed to McCarthy, who drew in the defender before returning the ball to N'Zogbia who finished past Lonergan.

23/09/2010, 1:36 AM
Yeah, I thought that was him. Sky Sports said it was Ben Watson.

theworm2345
23/09/2010, 4:33 AM
Yeah, I thought that was him. Sky Sports said it was Ben Watson.
Gingers mucking up the works!

kev mcq
23/09/2010, 6:35 AM
got the assist on Wigan's winner tonight. Wigan broke forward after a Preston corner in injury team, with N'Zogbia and McCarthy facing a defender and the Preston keeper, Andy Lonergan. N'Zogbia passed to McCarthy, who drew in the defender before returning the ball to N'Zogbia who finished past Lonergan.

Looked like he didn't want to take on the responsibility of shooting himself. He didn't exactly draw in the defender either, he just passed it back first time didn't he?

23/09/2010, 9:03 AM
Looked like he didn't want to take on the responsibility of shooting himself. He didn't exactly draw in the defender either, he just passed it back first time didn't he?Well, the defender followed the ball when N'Zogbia passed to McCarthy. He did return the pass straight away, but the defender was completely caught out by it

Paddy Garcia
23/09/2010, 7:43 PM
Two black marks for Trap so far:

1. This guys omission (esp against Andora).
2. McShanes continuing inclusion.

LFCSixty/Eighty
24/09/2010, 12:47 PM
I just don't get Trappatoni. He says that James McCarthy doesn't have a defined position for his club and that is the reason why he won't pick him, yet Paul Green has admitted himself that plays in a totally different role for Derby than the one he plays for Ireland.

When it suits Trap he says that the a player 'doesn't fit the system.....blah blah blah' but yet he cannot see that he continually contradicts himself by asking others to do things they are not suited to doing.

Colbert Report
24/09/2010, 12:54 PM
What position does Green play for Derby? I've seen him play for them twice this season but I had difficulty pinpointing his role. More advanced up the pitch like?

24/09/2010, 1:03 PM
I just don't get Trappatoni. He says that James McCarthy doesn't have a defined position for his club and that is the reason why he won't pick him, yet Paul Green has admitted himself that plays in a totally different role for Derby than the one he plays for Ireland.

When it suits Trap he says that the a player 'doesn't fit the system.....blah blah blah' but yet he cannot see that he continually contradicts himself by asking others to do things they are not suited to doing.

Perhaps, you need to read quotes a bit more carefully, then you might get Trap.
Green said he was asked to play deeper for Ireland. Pretty much the same game but just deeper.

Crosby87
25/09/2010, 1:41 PM
I just don't get Trappatoni.

The only thing to really "Get" that is very easy is we dont lose games under him. I mean we really don't. Sometimes we want more but the culture is back to expecting to win. No easy task after getting smoked by Cyprus.
I sometimes wish he gave more players like JM a look but the kid is only what, 19? I mean he has to earn his place. I can see Traps point. He needs to trust him before he puts him in. For whatever reason he trusts Paul Green and I guess his CV speaks for itself. I have come to the point where, If we win this group I dont care if he is slotting Ger Crossley in there.

Paddy Garcia
25/09/2010, 2:04 PM
I mean he has to earn his place. I can see Traps point. He needs to trust him before he puts him in. .

McShane!

25/09/2010, 2:06 PM
He's not even 21, he's 19. Still a long, long time to establish himself.

02/10/2010, 11:16 AM
Scotland keeping McCarthy "on the radar": http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/scotland-keeping-mccarthy-on-radar-2361766.html

greendeiseboy
02/10/2010, 12:00 PM
Scotland keeping McCarthy "on the radar": http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/scotland-keeping-mccarthy-on-radar-2361766.html

Dont blame them and if I were him I'd be considering it as well. For what ever reason he seems to off Trappatoni's radar at the moment.

Razors left peg
02/10/2010, 12:29 PM
If I was him Id rather quit International football than consider playing for Scotland after the disgusting amount of abuse he took while playing in the SPL

TrapAPony
02/10/2010, 12:29 PM
McCarthy might be only 19 but he is certainly good enough to be in our squad.

greendeiseboy
02/10/2010, 12:41 PM
If I was him Id rather quit International football than consider playing for Scotland after the disgusting amount of abuse he took while playing in the SPL

If he switched they'd welcome him with open arms and any abuse he took would soon be forgotten.

Razors left peg
02/10/2010, 12:42 PM
If he switched they'd welcome him with open arms and any abuse he took would soon be forgotten.

Im just saying if I was him I wouldnt be able to forget it. Was disgraceful what he had to go through

third policeman
02/10/2010, 1:22 PM
Watching McCarthy now against Wolves. cannot understand why he's not in the squad or Trapp's comments about him not having a regular position at Wigan. has Trapp or tardelli actually watched him play recently? We are a small country with limited playing resources, we are currently squandering too many useful options at the moment.

Paddy Garcia
02/10/2010, 3:13 PM
Watching McCarthy now against Wolves. cannot understand why he's not in the squad or Trapp's comments about him not having a regular position at Wigan. has Trapp or tardelli actually watched him play recently? We are a small country with limited playing resources, we are currently squandering too many useful options at the moment.

Id be interested to know how many premiership minutes he has played Vs Whelan, Andrews, Gibson & yer man at Birmingham

02/10/2010, 3:18 PM
Id be interested to know how many premiership minutes he has played Vs Whelan, Andrews, Gibson & yer man at Birmingham
At the time of writing

McCarthy 619
Whelan 236
Fahey 114
Andrews 25
Gibson 3

AlaskaFox
02/10/2010, 3:20 PM
He's still only 19, so plenty of time for Trap to call him up. I expect him to feature against Norway and then again in the Nations Cup.

02/10/2010, 3:57 PM
Exactly, lets just hold fire for now. The lad is only 19, I think there is a good chance Trap will include him the squad for the Norway friendly (he should anyways)

02/10/2010, 4:04 PM
if he doesnt then we have big problems. Him reverting back to Scotland is a danger.

Green or McCarthy? Please. Its not even up for debate.

Colbert Report
02/10/2010, 4:07 PM
I'd rather have Green in for the next two matches because of his defensive abilities. McCarthy is the future but right now we need a central midfield that can hold and break up attacks. McCarthys is great going forward but lacks in tackling and defensive awareness, otherwise Trap would have him in the squad at least.

TrapAPony
02/10/2010, 4:09 PM
McCarthy is a Premiership regular whereas Green is an average Championship player. IMO Green should consider himself lucky to be in the squad.

Razors left peg
02/10/2010, 4:14 PM
I'd rather have Green in for the next two matches because of his defensive abilities. McCarthy is the future but right now we need a central midfield that can hold and break up attacks. McCarthys is great going forward but lacks in tackling and defensive awareness, otherwise Trap would have him in the squad at least.

I dont agree with that at all, Ive seen him do very well defensively in some games

Colbert Report
02/10/2010, 4:18 PM
I dont agree with that at all, Ive seen him do very well defensively in some games

Not to come off as a *****, but Trap agrees with me, and that's all that matters!

Razors left peg
02/10/2010, 4:19 PM
Not to come off as a *****, but Trap agrees with me, and that's all that matters!

doesnt mean either of ye are right though

Colbert Report
02/10/2010, 4:21 PM
Yeah, but Trap is one of the best managers in football history, so I'll have to go with his opinion. Know'm sayin'?

Razors left peg
02/10/2010, 4:23 PM
Yeah, but Trap is one of the best managers in football history, so I'll have to go with his opinion. Know'm sayin'?

I do, and I agree with him on most things... but that doesnt mean hes infallible

greendeiseboy
02/10/2010, 5:12 PM
I'd be interested to know if any of the management team attended any of the games today given that they were in Dublin yesterday.

Wigan is about half an hour from Preston. In these two matches we had:

Wolves : Foley, Ward and Doyle
Wigan: McCarthy

kick off 12:45pm

Preston : StLedger, Treacy
Reading : Long and Noel Hunt (came on) (Also Ian Harte)

kick off 3:00pm

Could have taken in both games no bother

Total 9 players

Or even the Stoke v Balckburn match - takes less than an hour

I'd hazard a fair guess that none of them were at any of them.

co. down green
02/10/2010, 7:42 PM
I'd be interested to know if any of the management team attended any of the games today given that they were in Dublin yesterday.

Wigan is about half an hour from Preston. In these two matches we had:

Wolves : Foley, Ward and Doyle
Wigan: McCarthy

kick off 12:45pm

Preston : StLedger, Treacy
Reading : Long and Noel Hunt (came on) (Also Ian Harte)

kick off 3:00pm

Could have taken in both games no bother

Total 9 players

Or even the Stoke v Balckburn match - takes less than an hour

I'd hazard a fair guess that none of them were at any of them.

Tardelli was at the Stoke game, does that disappoint you?

greendeiseboy
02/10/2010, 7:46 PM
Tardelli was at the Stoke game, does that disappoint you?

No, I'd say it disappointed him tho' - considering that only Walters and Delap got any meaningful playtime and neither of them are in the squad.

But fair enough if he was there.

Sullivinho
02/10/2010, 7:51 PM
At the time of writing

McCarthy 619
Whelan 236
Fahey 114
Andrews 25
Gibson 3

That's one hell of a statistic.

It strikes me that the player Trap was recently 'encouraging' Darron Gibson to become...bears some resemblance to the one McCarthy already is.

greendeiseboy
02/10/2010, 7:55 PM
That's one hell of a statistic.

It strikes me that the player Trap was recently 'encouraging' Darron Gibson to become...bears some resemblance to the one McCarthy already is.

He's had more time than the 4 put together - but cant get in the squad - ridiculous.

Paddy Garcia
03/10/2010, 7:53 AM
He is our most established Premiership midfielder this season. It should be a no -brainer!!