View Full Version : James McCarthy M free agent b.1990
dr_peepee
08/10/2008, 12:05 PM
but it would not tie him down to us, as it is not a competitive match.
It would..
If he played tommorow for example that wouldn't, or if he played in a testemonial that wouldn't either, but in official friendlies it would. Much in the same way that a red card in a club preseason can mean a suspension for the start of the league.
(The rule is a bit ambiguous, but I think the jist of it is that an official friendly is a stand alone competitive fixture, sort of. That's why it impacts FIFA ranking etc. At least that's my understanding. )
08/10/2008, 12:21 PM
I admire the lad and McGeady for these decisions. Look at the certain Man City player case, we're up in arms and disillusioned as to why he wont play for us but can you imagine what we'd be like if he declared for another country.
So ive no doubt they both get stick for their decision but fair play to them for sticking by it.
08/10/2008, 12:28 PM
Didn't Geysir post here recently that a rule chnage is being mulled where even a friendly full international doesn't tie one down?
08/10/2008, 12:35 PM
FIFA added in a few more word to clarify the criteria on what constitutes an official game in order to bind a player to that association
For players under 21 years of age
the new text states that a senior A cap at competition level is needed to bind a player, Competition level is a UEFA or FIFA qual campaign.
"He has not played a match
(either in full or in part) in an
official competition at “A”
international level for his current
Association, and at the time
of his fi rst full or partial
appearance in an international
match in an official competition
for his current Association,".
Before the change last Jaruary it read like this, not making it clear if the players first official competition cap had to be at at senior A level
"He has not played a match (either in full or in part) at “A” international
level for his current Association, and if at the time of his
first full or partial appearance in an international match in an
official competition for his current Association, he already had
the nationality of the Association’s team for which he wishes to
play."
08/10/2008, 12:41 PM
We have Tuff Paddy's inside word on the matter, that's as good as it can get :)
sHHH dont mention the war.
dr_peepee
08/10/2008, 1:26 PM
FIFA added in a few more word to clarify the criteria on what constitutes an official game in order to bind a player to that association
For players under 21 years of age
the new text states that a senior A cap at competition level is needed to bind a player, Competition level is a UEFA or FIFA qual campaign.
"He has not played a match
(either in full or in part) in an
official competition at “A”
international level for his current
Association, and at the time
of his fi rst full or partial
appearance in an international
match in an official competition
for his current Association,".
[/I]
Are you sure that's how it's interpreted?? I still think it's ambiguous... If a friendly is not official competion, then how can it affect official FIFA rankings?? My understanding is that a non binding appearance applies to the like of a "Rep of Ireland XI", like what you'd see at a testemonial.
I read somewhere that official Friendlies, like the upcoming one against Poland is treated sort of like a one off comp fixture, recognised by FIFA.
If the above is true then does this mean that for example the Celtic Cup in a couple of years time won't be recognised either???
08/10/2008, 1:53 PM
Are you sure that's how it's interpreted?? I still think it's ambiguous... If a friendly is not official competion, then how can it affect official FIFA rankings?? My understanding is that a non binding appearance applies to the like of a "Rep of Ireland XI", like what you'd see at a testemonial.
I read somewhere that official Friendlies, like the upcoming one against Poland is treated sort of like a one off comp fixture, recognised by FIFA.
If the above is true then does this mean that for example the Celtic Cup in a couple of years time won't be recognised either???
Well, ages ago we looked at the old text closely enough and dissected it thoroughly.
There was an ambiguity with that text, as I wrote in my post.
This new text removes that ambiguity.
I don't think it introduces a new ambiguity. I haven't the time now to check out your question but afair, an official competition is defined by FIFA as Euro and WC qualifiers maybe Federation cup but not Celtic Cup because it is not organised by UEFA or FIFA
A senior "A" friendly is a competative match officially recognised by FIFA and counts for FIFA rankings etc but it is not part of an official competition.
But I'll keep an open mind :)
musicinmouth
08/10/2008, 6:29 PM
I think he could still play for Scotland even if he plays against Poland... There is a distinction between friendly matches and official competition matches... It's odd that Trapattoni / Given / the FAI don't seem to know that... This is from the Fifa Statutes on the Fifa site:
If a Player has more than one nationality, or if a Player acquires a newnatio nality, or if a Player is eligible to play for several representative
teams due to nationality, he may, up to his 21st birthday, and only once, request to change the Association for which he is eligible to
play international matches to the Association of another country of which he holds nationality, subject to the following conditions:
(a) He has not played a match (either in full or in part) in an official competition at “A” international level for his current Association,
and at the time of his first full or partial appearance in an international match in an official competition for his current Association, he already had the nationality of the representative
team for which he wishes to play.
(b) He is not permitted to play for his new Association in any competition in which he has already played for his previous Association.
Official competition: "a competition for representative teams organised by FIFA or any Confederation."
08/10/2008, 6:39 PM
From tonight's Herald: http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/internationals/teen-mccarthy-in-line-for-senior-place-1492718.html
However, once he plays in a senior international, whether it is a friendly or a qualifier, he will then be forever committed to that nation.
08/10/2008, 6:44 PM
He's announced he's switching to Scotland. ;)
Good luck to you James
Official statement
http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=3677
kingdomkerry
08/10/2008, 6:50 PM
You had me going here for a while
co. down green
08/10/2008, 6:56 PM
Good luck to you James
Official statement
Better watch Nigel Worthington doesn't give him a call :)
Razors left peg
08/10/2008, 7:00 PM
Its great to see a young Irish player having the maturity to clarify his position with the National team so quickly and not keep people guessing ... others could learn from him
FarBeag
08/10/2008, 7:03 PM
Excellent. He kept to his word. Fair play to the young fellow and his grand father would be proud of him.
08/10/2008, 7:53 PM
From tonight's Herald: http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/internationals/teen-mccarthy-in-line-for-senior-place-1492718.html
'However, once he plays in a senior international, whether it is a friendly or a qualifier, he will then be forever committed to that nation'.
But compare that statement and see if it is supported by the actual text used in the FIFA amended article?
It's time for us to reach a consensus on the interpretation of the FIFA article rather that quoting other interpretations which have a questionable value.
Fergie's Son
08/10/2008, 7:57 PM
Delighted to read this.
Well done to Jamie and, in fairness, to the FAI.
He's a young kid so let's hope he develops as a payer. Great news.
08/10/2008, 10:25 PM
Good luck to you James
Official statement
Good lad James. That's knocked all the media speculation on its head in one statement, just days after it all started.
musicinmouth
08/10/2008, 10:49 PM
That's fantastic news... He's gonna get a great reception when he makes his debut. I can't wait to see him play for the senior team.
Crosby87
08/10/2008, 11:38 PM
That statement is completely meaningless. In the hockey world, 3 Years ago a similar one was issued for Malkin in Russia and within hours the Pittsburgh Penguins were smuggling him to Romania and then to the US.
Until he gets a cap it will be an issue.
I went to that terrible game in Giants Stadium two summers ago and some US kid played for Ireland against Ecuador, Joe something, but it was understood he could still play for the US (even by NY Daily News Soccer reporter Philip Bondy and thats saying something)...Maybe that wasnt an "official" friendly? How is a friendly "official"?
irishfan86
09/10/2008, 1:06 AM
I think people underestimate the relationships that form with these things.
McCarthy has been playing with Ireland at various levels for 3 years now, and no doubt has developed friendships with his teammates, and positive relationships with his managers.
He's held in high regard, and has done well for us at underage level.
We noticed him before the Scots, we played him in our underage teams before the Scots, and now he is playing for the U-21s at the age of 18, which I'm sure he thinks is a massive compliment.
He's not going to smack us in the face after all that- he'll only switch if we aggrieve him in some way.....get Givens out of there!
Drumcondra 69er
09/10/2008, 8:35 AM
Fair play to him, I'd imagine he's been put under awful pressure by his club manager and the SFA so delighted to see that. He's put himself in the firing line for the same sort of abuse that McGeady gets, sooner he gets out of the SPL the better I reckon unless he moves to Celtic.
09/10/2008, 8:59 AM
I wouldn't have any problem with him playing in the Poland game if it ties him to us without question. McGeady had a spell in the U-21's after his debut against Jamaica tied him to us, the same wouldn't do McCarthy any harm at all.
09/10/2008, 9:33 AM
Incidentally, this is the Daily Record article referred to by the Independent: http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/comment/columnists/lifestyle-columnists/john-mckie/2008/09/27/james-mccarthy-is-a-country-bumpkin-86908-20755330/
09/10/2008, 10:20 AM
Imagine anyone using the Daily Record as source. What an awful article.
The FAI (http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=3677) have used a statement or paraphrased something by Jamie made through his club which expresses his contentment with being an Irish player.
He is still only 17? but sounds a very confident intelligent lad, not afraid to talk to the media about himself, his team or his ambitions.
If he does want to go and declare for Scotland then I'd thank him for his services, wish the lad well and say goodbye.
Reality Bites
09/10/2008, 11:03 AM
From Breaking News.ie
This Kid is an example of strong and decisive decision making - Take Note Mr.Ireland
Hamilton midfielder James McCarthy has decided that his international future lies with the Republic of Ireland.
The Glasgow-born 17-year-old qualifies for Ireland through his Donegal-born grandfather and has represented the country at under-17, under-18 and under-21 level.
The Scottish Football Association were hoping to persuade him to switch his allegiance to the country of his birth.
However, McCarthy told the Scottish Sun: “I’m really flattered that Scotland were interested in me.
“It’s a huge compliment. The fact is I’d already made my decision.
“Ireland have been absolutely brilliant to me and my family and I couldn’t turn my back on them.
“I felt that if I had done that I would have embarrassed myself.
“All I want to do is play football – I don’t want to embarrass myself by chopping and changing countries.”
Brendan 82
09/10/2008, 1:24 PM
“Ireland have been absolutely brilliant to me and my family and I couldn’t turn my back on them.
“I felt that if I had done that I would have embarrassed myself.
“All I want to do is play football – I don’t want to embarrass myself by chopping and changing countries.”
Further confirmation of Stephen Ireland's gheyness
an_ceannaire
09/10/2008, 3:08 PM
am i the only one to read that and see "i would love to declare for Scotland, but at this stage i cant cos i would look like an eejit, i have made my bed and i will lie in it" ?
I am delighted to have him, but it doesnt sound like he is over whelmed by it
irishultra
09/10/2008, 3:12 PM
Yep same here BUT he's just a kid. What he means I think is he knows Scotland is where he's from and would have liked to play for them(its not like he hates scotland or isn't happy to be born there) but in the end he feels more playing for Ireland.
Remember its not like he lives here or plays football in this country so its not like he would have got any backlash for picking Scotland.
09/10/2008, 3:13 PM
I think he's being diplomatic to the Scots but seems totally committed to Ireland.
This is getting like the Stephen Manchester saga. Tiresome and distracting from the real stories.
an_ceannaire
09/10/2008, 3:18 PM
nice to see our "friendly" neighbours the scots still regard us so highly! Country Bumpkins are we :mad: ya cos Scotland is such a thriving "COOL" country!
Its funny so many people here think us and the Scots are great buddies! I lived in Scotland for 4 years and there is massive anti irish feeling over there, and no i am not confusing anti celtic with anti irish, it is anti irish.
bwagner
09/10/2008, 3:22 PM
The black Scots hate us that is true - reason being ..we are free and they are not ,also hey sold out the catholic religion in no time and a lot of low land scots consider themselves british
Drumcondra 69er
09/10/2008, 3:33 PM
am i the only one to read that and see "i would love to declare for Scotland, but at this stage i cant cos i would look like an eejit, i have made my bed and i will lie in it" ?
I am delighted to have him, but it doesnt sound like he is over whelmed by it
Yep, think you're the only one to read it like that alright. ;)
Newryrep
09/10/2008, 4:25 PM
nice to see our "friendly" neighbours the scots still regard us so highly! Country Bumpkins are we :mad: ya cos Scotland is such a thriving "COOL" country!
Its funny so many people here think us and the Scots are great buddies! I lived in Scotland for 4 years and there is massive anti irish feeling over there, and no i am not confusing anti celtic with anti irish, it is anti irish.
Upon browsing the TAMB occassionally a couple of points
The Daily Record or the Daily Retard as it is called would not be the first choice of Scottish Nationaists due to its pro union stance and the fact that it is a tabloid newspaper with the usual absence of news.
Scottish nationlists are also somewhat perplexed at the scottish pro irish celtic supporters voting for a decidely pro union party like Labour when they natural sympathies (separation form England/Britain) would be pro independence*
*There are probably historical reasons for this as the SNP may have been regarded as the protestant party and Labour would be natural allies against the establishment (Concservative and Unionist party).
However the fact that the last by election in East Glasqow elected an SNP MP in a Labour heartland may suggest that the Scots may be about to grow a set of balls.
Back on topic - if the roles were reversed we would be a wee bit miffed.
09/10/2008, 4:28 PM
Great post Newry rep you have hit the nail on the head. That numbskull in the Daily record would not be a good representative of the Tartan Army etc. The Daily Record in fact is always having a go at the Tartan Army etc. Its a rag of a paper.
Newryrep has shown a great understanding of the situation in my view.
Torn-Ado
09/10/2008, 5:00 PM
The Daily retard is in full flow again. 'Worse side'!. We'll see who'll finish higher in their group this time around.
Newryrep
09/10/2008, 6:56 PM
Great post Newry rep you have hit the nail on the head. That numbskull in the Daily record would not be a good representative of the Tartan Army etc. The Daily Record in fact is always having a go at the Tartan Army etc. Its a rag of a paper.
cheques in the post Neil :)
09/10/2008, 7:05 PM
I liked the way Newryrep spelled conservative :D
Newryrep
09/10/2008, 9:03 PM
I liked the way Newryrep spelled conservative :D
or possibly the Conservative and UNionisT Party abrieviation:)
Sligo Hornet
09/10/2008, 9:14 PM
Good post I agree.....but don't go overboard Neil....the best Newry should get is a free beer............and I will pay!!;)
10/10/2008, 7:14 AM
Anyone remember the vicious rant against McGeady 3 or 4 years ago in the Record? Poisonous stuff.
Hibs4Ever
10/10/2008, 7:28 AM
The Record is a complete rag. Worst paper ever. FACT
dr_peepee
10/10/2008, 8:14 AM
"Well the famine is over
Why don't they go home?"
Drumcondra 69er
10/10/2008, 8:45 AM
The Record is a complete rag. Worst paper ever. FACT
Nah, 3rd worst after The Sun and The Mail but there is healthy competition.
A rag of the highest order.
Incidentally, this is the Daily Record article referred to by the Independent: http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/comment/columnists/lifestyle-columnists/john-mckie/2008/09/27/james-mccarthy-is-a-country-bumpkin-86908-20755330/
Sweet suffering Jesus! Could that article be anymore anti-Irish? You'd swear Scotland were number 1 in FIFA's world rankings the way he was going on.
Hibs4Ever
10/10/2008, 9:27 AM
Sweet suffering Jesus! Could that article be anymore anti-Irish? You'd swear Scotland were number 1 in FIFA's world rankings the way he was going on.
Believe me, most Scotland fans think they are. Beating a **** France team has polished their ego's immensly. They don't discuss losing to **** teams, just beating France
10/10/2008, 10:07 AM
I hope Norway go over there and slaughter em now. Gutter journalism.
Noelys Guitar
10/10/2008, 10:45 AM
I love the fact it drives them crazy. "McGeady to Hamilton and Hamilton scores. Ireland through to the final of the world cup. And now just in front of me a Daily sweaty sock reporter is choking on his porridge!"
10/10/2008, 11:23 AM
Is this turning into a rant against the Tartan Army?
Don't mix them with the likes of the Record.
Drumcondra 69er
10/10/2008, 11:29 AM
I don't think it is to be honest. It's a bit of an odd situation with the Scots now, a lot of Rangers fans follow England these days and we all know where teh Celtic fans alleigences lie. I always wanted the Scots to do well when I was a kid in the World Cups but they always fell on their arses, can remember 78 when they thought they were gonna win it. I was only a wee lad at the time but clearly remember their draw against Peru, Willie Johnson failing his drugs test and Ally McLeod going from hero to zero in front of my eyes! Not to mention Archie Gemmells goal!
Noelys Guitar
10/10/2008, 12:32 PM
No. Definetely the Record and those that take it seriously. The TA have had some great self depreciating songs down through the years (results will do that!).