View Full Version : James McCarthy M free agent b.1990
Noelys Guitar
13/08/2011, 5:21 PM
He was definetely injured against Villareal when he had to come off. I wouldn't be too harsh on him this time. Crying wolf once too often means he is not going to get the benefit of doubt but I believe he was genuinely injured and Trap accepted Wigan's explanation.
13/08/2011, 6:53 PM
Well I suppose Wigan were supposed to be without McCarthy so it could be genuine,
Crosby87
13/08/2011, 8:10 PM
How did he look today?
13/08/2011, 8:36 PM
How did he look today?some posts on the Wigan footymad site - http://boards.footymad.net/forum.php?tno=558 - say he was terrible today
13/08/2011, 8:41 PM
Such an ungrateful bunch. After James retired from international football to make the game!
DannyInvincible
14/08/2011, 1:08 AM
Hardly surprising, sure his Irish connections are only slightly less tenuous than Barack Obama's.
How do you figure that one?
Is it really so difficult for people to even consider that he might well have been injured? He did suffer a bad knock against Villarreal to the ankle which caused him all the bother last season and it would be understandable if precaution was taken with it, the Croatia game being a non-competitive fixture and all that.
tommy_c12000
14/08/2011, 8:43 AM
Is it really so difficult for people to even consider that he might well have been injured? He did suffer a bad knock against Villarreal to the ankle which caused him all the bother last season and it would be understandable if precaution was taken with it, the Croatia game being a non-competitive fixture and all that.
I agree. I don't think there was any question that he had picked up a knock and Wigan felt that it required him wrapped up in cotton wool for the wk. It would have been folly to allow him over for a international friendly a few days before the start of the season. Really can't see what the fuss is about and think it's a complete overreaction. It's the kind of sensationalism that you would associate with a tabloid like the Irish Independent, making a story where there is none, just to sell papers.
Furthermore, I think what we should be discussing is McCarthy's loss of form which Tets has pointed out. Since his 2 goals against Blackburn in Feb, I can't recall him having a good game. In fact I remember watching him in a few games towards the tail end of last season and he was perfectly awful. Judging by what Wigan fans were posting for the past few wks, his pre-season form has been awful as well, as was his performance yesterday.
I was a huge fan of him for the past few years and have been monitoring his progress closely since a little snippet appeared in the Sunday Times 5 yrs ago saying that a 15 yr old made his debut for Hamilton Accies and he had Irish connections. However, he simply has not progressed the way I hoped in the Premiership. I certainly would not have him in the Irish team on his current form. Fingers crossed he will re-discover his form soon and he will develop into the player we all hope. However, it is quite worrying at this stage.
14/08/2011, 8:56 AM
Reckon he was genuinely injured. He certainly had no influence in Wigan's game yesterday.
seanfhear
14/08/2011, 10:37 AM
Reckon he was genuinely injured. He certainly had no influence in Wigan's game yesterday.
Interesting that Martinez played him when he was injured because he must have been injured to have played as anonymously as he did today. A bad place to be hiding when (if) you are injured !
youngirish
14/08/2011, 11:19 AM
Possibly because they are.
He has more or less stated in the past that he would have played for Scotland if they hadn't ignored him at schoolboy level. His only link to Ireland is that a single grandparent was born there. He shows no obvious appetite to play for the team unlike someone like Kilbane or McGeady who whilst also not being Irish born seem genuinely proud to show up for even fairly meaningless international games.
Anyway your post seems to imply everyone's getting on McCarthy's case because he pulled out of the last squad through injury when this is not the reality of the situation at all. I'm getting on his case because he pulls out of nearly every squad with an excuse yet still manages to turn up every weekend for Wigan.
14/08/2011, 1:35 PM
I reckon Keith Fahey can feck off as well. Not fit to play for Ireland, fit enough to play and score for his club a few days later. Serious commitment issues.
Sullivinho
14/08/2011, 1:57 PM
Don't forget Kevin Doyle. Fit as a fiddle yesterday, that head bandage wasn't fooling anyone. Is there no end to that man's deceptions??
DannyInvincible
14/08/2011, 2:18 PM
Possibly because they are.
He has more or less stated in the past that he would have played for Scotland if they hadn't ignored him at schoolboy level. His only link to Ireland is that a single grandparent was born there. He shows no obvious appetite to play for the team unlike someone like Kilbane or McGeady who whilst also not being Irish born seem geniunely proud to show up for even fairly meaningless international games.
Anyway your post seems to imply everyone's getting on McCarthy's case because he pulled out of the last squad through injury when this is not the realtity of the situation at all. I'm getting on his case because he pulls out of nearly every squad with an excuse yet still manages to turn up every weekend for Wigan.
He missed three months of Wigan's season last year.
Anyway, it is my understanding that the McCarthy family are very much a Glaswegian Irish family with a strong Irish identity and a pride in their roots. McCarthy's grandfather was a Coyle from Gweedore and he must have Irish roots further back as well, considering his surname. McCarthy also happens to be Scottish - that doesn't negate his Irishness - so I'm sure he would have considered playing for Scotland, just as Ray Houghton said he would have despite having a father from Buncrana in Donegal. Didn't Aiden McGeady play for Scotland at schoolboy level?
greendeiseboy
14/08/2011, 2:31 PM
He missed three months of Wigan's season last year.
Anyway, it is my understanding that the McCarthy family are very much a Glaswegian Irish family with a strong Irish identity and a pride in their roots. McCarthy's grandfather was a Coyle from Gweedore and he must have Irish roots further back as well, considering his surname. McCarthy also happens to be Scottish - that doesn't negate his Irishness - so I'm sure he would have considered playing for Scotland, just as Ray Houghton said he would have despite having a father from Buncrana in Donegal. Didn't Aiden McGeady play for Scotland at schoolboy level?
He played for the Scotland schools team which is different to playing representative football for the National underage teams.
Didn't Daniel Kearns play for the Nothern Ireland schools team one week and played for an ROI under age the following week a couple of years ago.
14/08/2011, 2:35 PM
Sharkey played for NI schools one day and the next day he was on duty for a ROI underage friendly in Cork.
AlaskaFox
14/08/2011, 5:20 PM
Sharkey played for NI schools one day and the next day he was on duty for a ROI underage friendly in Cork.
Did he ever team up with Liam George? Crimebusters of the sea.
hehe - that post gave me a real (teenage) kick! ;)
an_ceannaire
15/08/2011, 8:12 AM
Why are ue not having a go at Doyle so lads in the same vein?
Macca had a niggle, the premiershipw as starting this weekend
why take the chance playing in a meaningless joke of a friendly and risk aggrevating it thus risk missing a large portion of the biggest season of your life so far?
Get off the stage lads
He was right. It was a nothing match.
And if ye are having a go then why not have a go at Doyle too. Doyle is like the spoiled child in here, he can do no wrong!
15/08/2011, 8:25 AM
And if ye are having a go then why not have a go at Doyle too. Doyle is like the spoiled child in here, he can do no wrong!
Must. Try. Harder.
I think many of us arent appreciating the realms in which a professional athlete works in. If not 100% fit for a friendly, should the player turn out? I would say probably not. The risk is there that they may aggreviate the injury and cause further damage. The alternative is a few extra days training/physio at their club and the reality sometimes is that 3-4 days can make the difference.
There are many times when our players, certainly less than 100% fit have turned out for competitive games. Friendlies not so, and cant say I blame them. If players are fit and dont turn up because they are tired etc (ala Stokes), then there is no excuse for that. In fairness to James, in this case there was little doubt that he picked up an injury and probably it was best to remain in Wigan to get it treated/recover rather than risk further injury in a friendly.
A player has no business playing in a friendly if he is not 100% fit. It makes zero sense for the player, country or club.
23/08/2011, 7:59 AM
McCarthy signs a 5 year deal at Wigan: http://www.wiganlatics.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10429~2428838,00.html
23/08/2011, 8:01 AM
Just heard that on newstalk. Now if he would only turn up for his national team.
23/08/2011, 9:33 AM
Interesting one, thats an investment for Wigan as they see it, especially given the other deals that were signed i.e. only 2 and 3 year deals.
2 years time if he has progressed even further still 3 years left on his contract, big money big return on investment for Wigan,if a club tries to prize him away.
If James is going to turn into the player that many believe he is capable, his agent was a dose in getting him to sign this deal.
ArdeeBhoy
23/08/2011, 9:35 AM
Hmm, no-one wants to sign 'our great white hope'...
greendeiseboy
23/08/2011, 10:44 AM
Hmm, no-one wants to sign 'our great white hope'...
That's what I thought. Then again it could be good business by Wigan who now have him tied down until he's 25 so if they do decide to sell him they'll cash in.
On another note I watched the game v Swansea on Saturday and he is way off form at the moment, he's clearly not fit - he was hauled off early in the 2nd half after an anonymous performance which included a booking.
Let's see what happens in the next few weeks when the squad is trimmed down and if he's still in it, will he'll turn up - wouldn't hold my breath.
23/08/2011, 11:25 AM
very few 20 year old midfielders are signed up by the bigger clubs, Ronaldo being the obvious exception
23/08/2011, 1:35 PM
Jordan Henderson?
23/08/2011, 1:45 PM
Jordan Henderson?
fair point
ammendment no. 1: few non-English midfielders are signed up by the bigger clubs, Ronaldo being the obvious exception
23/08/2011, 2:15 PM
reported on various sources on twitter that McCarthy has dropped to U21 squad, but remains on call for seniors
EastTerracer
23/08/2011, 4:15 PM
Full story here http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/0823/mccarthy_republicofireland.html
Officially it's just part of reducing the big squad of 32 down to 25 but there definitely seems to be a direct message from Trap here as well.
23/08/2011, 4:21 PM
What did damien delaney do then? :P
EastTerracer
23/08/2011, 4:27 PM
What did damien delaney do then? :P
He conceded 7 goals at Peterborough on Saturday - I wonder did Trap get a DVD of that sent over?
23/08/2011, 4:37 PM
Ya i was going to say that aside...:D
Sullivinho
23/08/2011, 4:55 PM
I figured Trap might do without him in this time of reckoning. Tried and trusted troops to the fore.
greendeiseboy
23/08/2011, 5:19 PM
Someone on ybig just posted that he has been omitted from the revised under 21 squad Didn't see the original one or revised one so can't confirm that
23/08/2011, 6:51 PM
Republic of Ireland squad: Given (Aston Villa), Westwood (Sunderland), Forde (Millwall),
O'Shea (Sunderland), Foley (Wolves), Kelly (Fulham), Ward (Wolves), Dunne (Aston Villa), Kilbane (Derby), St Ledger (Leicester), O'Dea (Leeds),
Whelan (Stoke), Gibson (Manchester United), Andrew (Ipswich), Fahey (Birmingham), Duff (Fulham), McGeady (Spartak Moscow), Hunt (Wolves), Lawrence (Portsmouth), Treacy (Burnley),
Shane Long, Simon Cox
Keogh (Leeds), Keane (LA Galaxy), Doyle (Wolves)
[edit] added Shane Long, Simon Cox
MeathDrog
23/08/2011, 7:56 PM
Andy Keogh?
F*ckoff.
23/08/2011, 8:13 PM
Don't blame me I didn't pick him.
cestlavie
23/08/2011, 8:50 PM
Crazy stuff. To pick Andrews, O'Dea, Keogh & Lawrence over McCarthy, Wilson, Walters, Clarke & even Wes Hoolahan is mind boggling.
Good to see Ward in the team.
Any sign of Myler coming back for Sunderland?
IsMiseSean
23/08/2011, 9:01 PM
Crazy stuff. To pick Andrews, O'Dea, Keogh & Lawrence over McCarthy, Wilson, Walters, Clarke & even Wes Hoolahan is mind boggling.
Ward will probably start the upcoming games because he showed up and done the business in the end of season friendlies.
McCarthy, Wilson & Walters didnt bother their holes.... So why should they jump ahead of Andrews, O'Dea & Keogh??
Trap knows he can trust these guys to do a job and they know the system.
I believe Hoolahan will be given his chance but these are not the games to do it.
I'd love to know what kind of team you'd start against Slovakia??
Colbert Report
23/08/2011, 10:26 PM
Republic of Ireland squad: Given (Aston Villa), Westwood (Sunderland), Forde (Millwall),
O'Shea (Sunderland), Foley (Wolves), Kelly (Fulham), Ward (Wolves), Dunne (Aston Villa), Kilbane (Derby), St Ledger (Leicester), O'Dea (Leeds),
Whelan (Stoke), Gibson (Manchester United), Andrew (Ipswich), Fahey (Birmingham), Duff (Fulham), McGeady (Spartak Moscow), Hunt (Wolves), Lawrence (Portsmouth), Treacy (Burnley),
Shane Long and Simon Cox in the squad also.
Sullivinho
23/08/2011, 10:54 PM
Shane Long and Simon Cox in the squad also.
Tricky did a Lorena Bobbitt on that squad list.
24/08/2011, 5:01 AM
Tricky did a Lorena Bobbitt on that squad list.
That was the list I copied, though it odd about the lack of strikers, maybe I copied it wrong, I forget where I got it from, I think it was from a link in this thread to the RTE site.
If it was wrong its been fixed now.
I thought to myself "that's a bit odd, but then that Trap for you!!"
24/08/2011, 9:28 AM
Any sign of Myler coming back for Sunderland?Some of your post is more mind boggling!
Andrews can't hold a torch to McCarthy in terms of ability but McCarthy has been underwhelming for his club for a while now. Andrews, for some reason, makes us a better team than when we don't have him. He played well against Italy, as did O'Dea who also played well twice against Macedonia. Clark didn't impress in his last game for us - Norway? - and faded at the end of last season. I think it's right that players who come in and do well stay in. Momentum, continuity and all that.
Wilson has never played for us. Walters should be in, no argument in my mind there. Hoolahan should get a look in soon.
24/08/2011, 10:53 AM
I cannot blame the Trap dropping em. It hopefully sends out a message to all the players who keep getting knocks on international week but are ok to play for their club on the Saturday.
Murfinator
24/08/2011, 12:02 PM
Any sign of Myler coming back for Sunderland?
Andrews and Lawrence are proven performers for us, how on earth is it "mind boggling" they would be preferred over guys who haven't proven a damn thing for Ireland like McCarthy, Wilson and Walters. And calling up Hoolihan for the tail end of a campaign he's had zero involvement with? Why, because he scored a goal for Norwich? Marvelous idea, you should look for a job at Sky with kneejerk hyberbolic reactions like that.
Drumcondra 69er
24/08/2011, 12:19 PM
Andrews and Lawrence are proven performers for us, how on earth is it "mind boggling" they would be preferred over guys who haven't proven a damn thing for Ireland like McCarthy, Wilson and Walters. And calling up Hoolihan for the tail end of a campaign he's had zero involvement with? Why, because he scored a goal for Norwich? Marvelous idea, you should look for a job at Sky with kneejerk hyberbolic reactions like that.
Have disagreed with some of your posts in the past but ypu're 100% right.
Why are people in any shocked about this? Since he took over it's been obvious how Trap operates. You show up for friendlies and traning camps and you get a chance. if you impress then you stand a chance of making the team in the qualifiers. Andrews, Lawrence and St Ledger all came into the team in the last campaign like this. Fahey, Ward and Cox have played themselves into contention in this campaign by the same route.
McCarthy only has himself to blame as does Wilson, Walters is a bit unfortunate given that there's no doubt around his injury. I expect them to be brought back for the next friendly but Trap always goes with his tried and tested method, anyone who's surprised at that by now must have had their head in the sand the last 3 and a half years.
24/08/2011, 12:32 PM
Someone on ybig just posted that he has been omitted from the revised under 21 squad Didn't see the original one or revised one so can't confirm that
just confirmed in u21 squad
greendeiseboy
24/08/2011, 1:00 PM
just confirmed in u21 squad
Let the games begin!